View Full Version : Re: The Silly Season
FootyEater
2 Jul 2008, 17:55
I know this is a bit early, but i just read on the AFL website an article written by Anthony Hudson, who i dont really consider to be an authority of our game but his article was i thought food for thought. it is in regards to the draft
basically hudson said that for freo to improve and push for a premiership, they need to re-build, to do that we need draft picks. with the new teams coming into the comp in the upcoming years, draft picks will be rare. or atleast good draft picks. therefore he suggested that the dockers trade Pavlich............. horrible thought i know, but there is some... i stress SOME (however little) merrit to it.Pavlich is 27 at the end of this year, and will probably not be playing when the dockers challenge for a flag, there fore trade for draft picks, try and get five of the top 20, and have a hawthorn like situation in a few years time
my theory is that the dockers would trade with Port adelaide. and this will assume that the dockers will finish third last and win less than 5 games. we would have picks 3, 19 and 22 already with the priority selection for winning under 5.5 games.
port would trade travis boak and their first pick for melbournes number one pick. and on trade the number one pick to freo, port would also have to say goodbye to danyel pearce and possibly a third or fourth round pick to someone like sydney to get a high first round pick in the area of pick 14. and theen on trade pick 14 to freo.
this would leave freo with picks 1,3,14,19 and 22. pav would end up in teal, play for five more years, dominate, and break our hearts every time we watched port play, but we would be in fantastic shape by 2011, and with the new teams entering the other clubs would be weakend due to lower quality draft picks, we could find ourselves being successful. i would think if we had those picks any of natanui, rich, deboer, yarran, swift, hurley could end up in purple. other variations of this trade could of course occur, especially if warnock decides to leave.
i dont want pav to ever leave our club, but i dont want the dockers to still be shizen in four years time because we traded all our picks for dud older players. its going to be an interesting off season for freo one way or another
Checkers Nixon
2 Jul 2008, 18:02
I think you Freo fans are more foolish than I first thought if you honestly believe that any trade can possibly compensate for the loss of Pavlich.
Pavlich is the best thing that has happened to your club.
You guys could get the No 1. draft pick for the next five years running and it is doubtfull whether you would get 1 player that is as good as Pavlich.
Pav is 27 - he still has 4 guaranteed years left in the AFL (possibly 5 or 6 given his quality).
You guys need to build a premiership tilt around Pavlich - not trade him in the hope of another younger messiah.
I thought Freo would be burned by trade week by now. You could trade Pav and end up with 5 Toby Striblings.
estibador
2 Jul 2008, 18:03
You guys could get the No 1. draft pick for the next five years running and it is doubtfull whether you would get 1 player that is as good as Pavlich.
Wise words.
Everyone bangs on about culture but what sort of club culture are we promoting if we trade the greatest player the club has ever seen, who is still in his prime and who has stayed loyal to the club during it's darkest years, for a few speculative draft picks?
http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=62539
By Anthony Hudson
11:50 AM Wed 02 July, 2008
Fremantle must trade its biggest star, Matthew Pavlich, says columnist Anthony Hudson
Wed, Jul 02, 08
THE name is Bond. Chris Bond.
This Mr Bond must save, not the free world, but Fremantle from destruction.
After disastrous seasons in 007 and 008, Bond’s role could well get dangerous. In fact, if he adopts my suggestion, he may need a license to kill.
Okay, enough of the puns already.
Bond is of course the Fremantle list manager. It’s football’s new position of power - securing what all the clubs outside the eight, and even some of them in it, are all about – the future.
It’s re-building, it’s developing the youngsters. It’s getting 50 games into him, and 100 games into him. It’s getting that operation done now so you are ready for the next pre-season.
So much for taking it one week at a time.
In the last couple of years three clubs have dared to defy this trend and live for the moment – the Sydney Swans, Western Bulldogs and Fremantle.
So far so good for the Swans and Bulldogs, but that game is up for Freo.
If ever a team needs some aggressive ‘list management’ it is Fremantle.
But this is where it gets dangerous for Mr Bond. I believe he is obligated to consider trading the club’s greatest ever player, Matthew Pavlich.
I left two lines clear, just in case you are a Fremantle fan.
I should emphasise that this is simply a dispassionate outsider's view. But it is a considered one.
Pavlich has been a magnificent player for Freo, but it is worth applying that new mantra ‘will he still be around when they can genuinely challenge for a premiership’?
It is not his fault, but the answer is probably no. This group has tried and failed.
Pavlich will turn 27 in the off-season after nine years and just under 200 games. He is at the peak of his powers.
Fremantle needs midfielders, and the only place to get them is the draft. Trading Pavlich could see the club end up with five or six selections in the top 20 of the next NAB AFL Draft.
I don’t think it would be unreasonable to demand two first-round picks for Pavlich – perhaps one high and one low.
The South Australian clubs are the natural fit. Imagine Pavlich running around in the Adelaide forward-line – the panacea to a problem that has haunted the Crows for a very long time.
But Port Adelaide is the prime candidate. They need to challenge again while the Burgoynes and Cornes brothers are on top of their game, and they’ll finish low enough to be in a position to make it happen.
Having lost 12 games – seven of them by under ten points – it shouldn’t be too hard to ‘list manage’ Fremantle through the next eight weeks to ensure they have less victories than West Coast and Melbourne.
Four wins or under would also produce an extra pick at the start of the second round – and five picks in the top 20.
A wooden spoon would enable Freo to pick up exciting WA ruckman Nicholas Natanui.
If it was decided one more selection was needed then that might mean considering trading promising big man Robert Warnock. He is in high demand from the Victorian clubs – one of which might be prepared to forgo a reasonably high first-round selection.
Youngsters like Rhys Palmer, Garrick Ibbotston and Chris Mayne have already displayed their talent. But put them with a whole new group of quality 18-year-olds and suddenly the future looks bright.
This would also take the pressure off Mark Harvey whose first season has been a disaster, both on the field, and in the public relations department. Expectations would be lowered, and Harvey would be given time to develop his own team – and not renovate somebody else’s.
Of course Pavlich is in contract, but it would surprise me if he couldn’t be persuaded to go home to finish off his career with a better chance of a flag.
It is sad that football has come to the point where trading such a champion is even up for discussion. But if the game really has become a business, then consider it they must.
Never say never (again)
Sorry, I couldn’t resist one more.
I see...Huddo, you goose.
These young kids will get belted from pillar to post and we'll be worse off.
You can say Hawthorn did it...but that would be a load of shit as Jonathan Hay was never in the saqme class as Pav, and lets face it if the Roos gave up 2 first rounders for him, we should get the first 30 pick in the draft...Just a tad unlikely.
If we trade, lets trade fringe players and trust our newly expanded recruiting department to come up with the goods in a superdraft...delist any rubbish who can't be traded and aren't going to get us anywhere and put the hard yards in to the draft and our development.
But, yes, let's trade the best forward in the comp and the heart of the club for possibly the next Andrew McDougall or Aaron Fiora or Richard Tambling :rolleyes: That'll work and makes us even more the laughing stock of the comp. :thumbsu:
FootyEater
2 Jul 2008, 18:21
as i said, i dont ever want to see pavlich leave the club. he is our best player by so much it isnt funny. without pavlich our ability to be competitive would be almost non-existant at the moment.
but like i said i based this post on anthony hudsons article, and if you were to look at this draft, which is meant to be a cracker of a draft, we would gain a hell of a lot of talent. it would shatter me to see pav in other colours.
Wise words.
Everyone bangs on about culture but what sort of club culture are we promoting if we trade the greatest player the club has ever seen, who is still in his prime and who has stayed loyal to the club during it's darkest years, for a few speculative draft picks?
I am assuming that is a rhetorical question, Esti, so I wont bother to answer it but I totally agree with the sentiment you are expressing.
Unthinkable.
If this draft is so good, fringe players who are not what suits us, who can get us a pick between 20-40, eg Murphy and possibly Schammer and Mundy should be the ones to go.
If Warnock goes we'll get another one, possibly two, picks.
A lot of decent kids weren't picked up in the main draft last year and were rookied...eg Arrowsmith and McGinnity....and in hindsight, actually most saw at the time, we could've used Mark Johnson's selection on one of these kids
Max Wilson is our NSW Scholarship holder, bring him over and put the work into him...Huge man who with some fitness, could be anything.
Hayden Ballantyne is kicking 8 goals a week in the WAFL...I would even look at him to slot in and we can delist those we know are not going to cut the mustard.
FootyEater
2 Jul 2008, 18:32
You can say Hawthorn did it...but that would be a load of shit as Jonathan Hay was never in the saqme class as Pav, and lets face it if the Roos gave up 2 first rounders for him, we should get the first 30 pick in the draft...Just a tad unlikely.
If we trade, lets trade fringe players and trust our newly expanded recruiting department to come up with the goods in a superdraft...delist any rubbish who can't be traded and aren't going to get us anywhere and put the hard yards in to the draft and our development.
But, yes, let's trade the best forward in the comp and the heart of the club for possibly the next Andrew McDougall or Aaron Fiora or Richard Tambling :rolleyes: That'll work and makes us even more the laughing stock of the comp. :thumbsu:
i agree, and i believe that as a club if we were to trade pav, we would lose whatever credibility we have left. you cant just trade champions. especially not us. but like i said we'd get a hell of a big carrot dangled in front of us if the dockers offered him up. ultimately it wouldnt be worth it though.
reckon your dead on the money.
What we gotta do is be crafty with our late picks. Draft kids are gonna take a few years to reach their peak unless they are gems which we wont get with later picks. We need to draft young but experienced players like Ballantyne etc (about 21 yo)that are still young but are physically and mentally more mature than 18 yo.
NiGHTFuRY
2 Jul 2008, 19:59
I think you Freo fans are more foolish than I first thought if you honestly believe that any trade can possibly compensate for the loss of Pavlich.
Checkers - don't make the mistake of lumping all fans into one group. The trade paclich people are few and far between.
For a neutral unlisted you know quite a lot more about us than the average bear. I enjoy your posts
Are you in Melbourne?
Checkers Nixon
2 Jul 2008, 20:04
Yeah, have been living in Melbourne for over 15 years now.
I am originally from Perth though (Willeton) so I always keep an eye on the West Aussie teams.
on the basis of this year if this happened i'd probably support the team pavlich was traded to rather than support the souless scumbags who got rid of him and the 21 others who seem to merely make up the numbers and seem content to watch their captain try desperately to win them games. culture, not high draft picks is the key to a successful football club.
Danlington
2 Jul 2008, 23:30
in that we effectively only get picks 1 and 14 for pav? no thanks and i think that is the dumbest idea...we rely on this bloke week in week out! the day he retires will be a very sad day for the freo footy club, one can only hope he and his girlfirend(/fiance?) get their act together soon and start making little pavs!
Pav is our club. Trading him would consign us to the bottom for 3 or 4 years.
NiGHTFuRY
3 Jul 2008, 01:17
Where things stand now - it would hurt the club enormously if he was traded. Pavlich will rightly take his place in the club hall of legends and mostly likely AFL legends one day.
As said before culture and the continuing efforts to establish a healthy winning one over soulless seeling out.
Do you want to end up like carlton. No honour.
Pav is the best player this club has ever seen.
He could play 300 games for this club, and at the rate he's going kick 600-700 goals in his career.
He could lead us to a premiership.
He won't ever be traded unless he requests it, and rightly so.
Gotta love the tools on the main board. E.g. Geelong bandwagoner putting up their 1st round and Prismall/D. Johnson for Pav! Sad, ignorant nuffies. It must be hard going through life so very stupid.
in that we effectively only get picks 1 and 14 for pav? no thanks and i think that is the dumbest idea...we rely on this bloke week in week out! the day he retires will be a very sad day for the freo footy club, one can only hope he and his girlfirend(/fiance?) get their act together soon and start making little pavs!
he does have a younger brother.. and i think he would be the age that he's up for draft this year. havent heard or know anything on how good he is though..
estibador
3 Jul 2008, 02:36
Gotta love the tools on the main board. E.g. Geelong bandwagoner putting up their 1st round and Prismall/D. Johnson for Pav! Sad, ignorant nuffies. It must be hard going through life so very stupid.
I'm sure it seems generous to them - they think every player on their list is the best player in the AFL.
Wise words.
Word.
I think it's great that they gave Short Arse (Huddo) a column... now we know just how much of an imbecile he really is for his Pav theory...
Seriously, bar Garry Lyon (who's been given the :thumbsu: for his article the other week), can anyone name a media personality who isn't a dumbarse when it comes to our club?
I think it's great that they gave Short Arse (Huddo) a column... now we know just how much of an imbecile he really is for his Pav theory...
Seriously, bar Garry Lyon (who's been given the :thumbsu: for his article the other week), can anyone name a media personality who isn't a dumbarse when it comes to our club?
Gerard Healy
BigWardy12
3 Jul 2008, 13:25
Its up to Pav whether he stays or goes.
end of story
docker_azza
3 Jul 2008, 15:06
Silly.
Silly.
Silly.
FootyEater
3 Jul 2008, 16:05
Where things stand now - it would hurt the club enormously if he was traded. Pavlich will rightly take his place in the club hall of legends and mostly likely AFL legends one day.
As said before culture and the continuing efforts to establish a healthy winning one over soulless seeling out.
Do you want to end up like carlton. No honour.
completely agree, it would be shattering to see him go. and honestly if he was ever going to ask for a trade it would have been last year
FootyEater
3 Jul 2008, 16:11
Pav is the best player this club has ever seen.
He could play 300 games for this club, and at the rate he's going kick 600-700 goals in his career.
He could lead us to a premiership.
He won't ever be traded unless he requests it, and rightly so.
agree with everything you have said except that he will lead us to a premiership. i cant see us getting anywhere near a premiership in the next 6 years, especially with the lack of draft picks going to be available with the new teams coming in..... i really hope im wrong
How can you know that? Six years is an eternity in football. Who knows whether we will have a chance or not? But I am buoyed by the fact that we have some very very good senior players with years left in them (McPharlin, Pav, Hayden etc) and some outstanding young players who will be guns (Mayne, Ibbo, Palmer). If we can actually get 22 contributors (which means out you go Thornton, Murphy, Macca etc) then we COULD be a force as soon as next year.
Hope springs eternal down Freo way. ;)
How can you know that? Six years is an eternity in football. Who knows whether we will have a chance or not? But I am buoyed by the fact that we have some very very good senior players with years left in them (McPharlin, Pav, Hayden etc) and some outstanding young players who will be guns (Mayne, Ibbo, Palmer). If we can actually get 22 contributors (which means out you go Thornton, Murphy, Macca etc) then we COULD be a force as soon as next year.
Hope springs eternal down Freo way. ;)
Well, we're all in the hole for 14 years... what's another 6 amongst friends, eh? :thumbsu:
NiGHTFuRY
4 Jul 2008, 02:46
Well, we're all in the hole for 14 years... what's another 6 amongst friends, eh? :thumbsu:
it means I'm getting older so I will look like a goose when I celebrate like it's 1999 when we get our first premiership.
mate, even if I'm 100 (68 years from now) i'm still going to celebrate like a complete idiot when we win our first flag... sure my teeth may fall out, but it's our right as Dockers supporters, considering what we've had to deal with since 1995...
estibador
4 Jul 2008, 03:02
When I die it will probably be due to
a) a stress induced heart attack from watching Freo lose a close one, or
b) a bender induced heart attack from celebrating a Freo premiership a little too much, or
c) bleeding to death after putting my fist through the tv due to a mind bogglingly anti-Freo umpiring decision so bad that I can't contain my rage, even after years of building up a tolerance for incompetent umpiring against Freo
Either way, I know Freo will be the death of me somehow.