View Full Version : Freo after a Cook

bee dee
3 Jul 2008, 15:30
Freo have made a massive offer to get Brian Cook to run the club he has 3 choices GC17, Cats or Freo. 2 weeks to decide

FootyEater
3 Jul 2008, 15:44
would be a massive coup if we were to get cook. every club he has been at has won a premiership while he was at the helm. unfortunately i cant see him coming. fingers crossed though

Lach72
3 Jul 2008, 15:44
I'd be dissapointed if we hadn't at least made contact

MadMac
3 Jul 2008, 15:51
Uncle Rick didn't mention as a candidate when he was on 6PR last night.

pinkus maximus
3 Jul 2008, 16:02
he didn't mention anyone though, apart form the guys inside the club already

this would be a huge coup for the club, i hope we throw everything at him

masai
3 Jul 2008, 16:05

Why the heck would you tell 6PR ( redneck radio ) anything ?.

Let those rednecks do their own research.

Underdog
3 Jul 2008, 16:13
he didn't mention anyone though, apart form the guys inside the club already

So he's recruiting in the same method as when he promoted Harvey? ;)

SupersonicDocker
3 Jul 2008, 16:37
Rick would want someone inside the club who is his mate that he can be buddies with...

He would hate the thought of someone like Cook coming to the club who will be the off field face of the club and more high profile than him

nurries
3 Jul 2008, 17:21
So he's recruiting in the same method as when he promoted Harvey? ;)

Rick Harts Seconds????:)

docker_azza
3 Jul 2008, 17:24
Would be an excellent pickup if it can be pulled off.

Stronzo
3 Jul 2008, 20:43
Fingers crossed.

NiGHTFuRY
3 Jul 2008, 20:48
If we could get Cook, it would indeed be a coup....

Is Cook a Western Australian ??

Rob
4 Jul 2008, 00:49
If we didn't at least put the feelers out for Cook, then the board should be hung drawn and quartered.

PapaJ
4 Jul 2008, 04:01
If we could get Cook, it would indeed be a coup....

Is Cook a Western Australian ??

Someone may be able to straighten this out with some detail, but I believe he was born in Victoria but has spent some significant time here. Studied at UWA and played in WAFL at one point I think (Subiaco??).

Certainly a move West would be more familiar than a move to Qld, can't see that being a probem for us ... I have no idea about what is going on in terms of his position, but such a successful name if really in the mix would be hard to overlook.

From a presidents point of view, I reckon Freo would be an easier Gig than GC17. The off field stuff is a big concern and he's got a running start with Freo .. depends maybe if he's looking for a job with a view to retirement or the next big challenge .. mind you Freo has it's issues too of course :o.

estibador
18 Jul 2008, 19:46
Well we can forget about Cook.

He's just signed a new 3 year deal with Geelong.

chook2734
18 Jul 2008, 20:06
esti, it was never about Cook. beedee got it wrong (who would have guessed) - it should have been Freo after chook. Expect an announcement by the end of the month ;) :D:D

Black Ball
18 Jul 2008, 20:13
Freo have made a massive offer to get Brian Cook to run the club he has 3 choices GC17, Cats or Freo. 2 weeks to decide

Brian Cook/Fremantle! About as much chance as me being the next Pope!

estibador
18 Jul 2008, 20:18
esti, it was never about Cook. beedee got it wrong (who would have guessed) - it should have been Freo after chook. Expect an announcement by the end of the month ;) :D:D

You going to be 2nd prize in the club raffle?

Black Ball
19 Jul 2008, 10:09
Had an interesting discussion yesterday with one of the original influential members of the Harbour Masters, who is still very close to the action. He is adamant that Rosich will not replace Schwab and advised me to have a small wager on Beazley getting the job.

Freo Shark
19 Jul 2008, 12:42
Schwabby is apparently pushing for Rosich. The Footy Dept is after Beasley. According to the Sat Worst.

Shame is we will probably lose the losing candidate. I think both have been excellent.

Whomever wins the job, will need to shake the club up and down til the crap is shaken out.

Seems we will have some new directors too.

poshman
19 Jul 2008, 14:06
It seems strange that all the top choices are said to be from within the club, you would have thought that there would have been some outstanding candidates from outside the club.

anyway as long as the new ceo sticks to business and keeps out of trades etc we will be doing ok

DOCKER CLINT
19 Jul 2008, 20:59
beedee got it wrong (who would have guessed)

No he didn't get it wrong.

Freo DID make an offer to Cook. Cook said it himself.

catzfan
19 Jul 2008, 21:16
Yeh that was going to happen...

Why would we go to Freo? From Geelong

He's good because he's intelligent...Intelligent and Freo, they don't work together.

chook2734
19 Jul 2008, 21:18
No he didn't get it wrong.

Freo DID make an offer to Cook. Cook said it himself.

I think you might need to re-read my post.

DOCKER CLINT
19 Jul 2008, 21:47
I think you might need to re-read my post.

Yeah took a couple of goes to work out what you meant.

Used to everyone bagging beedee, but you'd be surprised who posts on these forums.

Rosella
19 Jul 2008, 22:11
Someone may be able to straighten this out with some detail, but I believe he was born in Victoria .

Born in Scotland.

MemberSince02
19 Jul 2008, 22:50
Hi Guys,

Sorry to go off track here, but one question. I have been registered on BigFooty for numerous months, but tonight I tried to post a new thread but got a message back saying I did not have privilege to do so. Can somebody please advise how I get such authority to post a new topic?

Thanks...

Kram81
19 Jul 2008, 23:02
Yeh that was going to happen...

Why would we go to Freo? From Geelong

He's good because he's intelligent...Intelligent and Freo, they don't work together.

Maybe he hates living in a shithole?

Black Ball
19 Jul 2008, 23:13
Maybe he hates living in a shithole?

And you have lived in Geelong?

Kram81
20 Jul 2008, 01:59
And you have lived in Geelong?

No luckily:thumbsu:

Palmer
20 Jul 2008, 02:00
Would be an excellent pickup if it can be pulled off.
Go the mighty Sainters, Great win, and Max beat Buddy.