View Full Version : Impact of a loss to West Coast Eagles.
1980GFVideo
3 Jul 2008, 18:18
How important is this game and are we certainties without Richoman and Polak in the side.
If we were to lose over then it would that be ammunition for the media, but to be honest, I think we are dropping out of thier radar a bit.
Frawley had that incompetent head that used to be a great picture for Richmonds plight whereas Wallace seems a bit more composed and there seems to be little concern over his future to really beat up a good 'Richmond on the ropes' story.
With our season shot I wont be as upset as last week but it would certainly be a concern as to our progress.
Essendon concerns me also.
How important is this game and are we certainties without Richoman and Polak in the side.
If we were to lose over then it would that be ammunition for the media, but to be honest, I think we are dropping out of thier radar a bit.
Frawley had that incompetent head that used to be a great picture for Richmonds plight whereas Wallace seems a bit more composed and there seems to be little concern over his future to really beat up a good 'Richmond on the ropes' story.
With our season shot I wont be as upset as last week but it would certainly be a concern as to our progress.
Essendon concerns me also.
essendo actually are starting to look good, BUT so did we in the first two years under Teflon or have we forgotten that, remember prior to brownys broken leg we were going to play finals, I have no doubt about that. I just hope that the polak mishap doesnt affect us in the same way.....i will reserve judgement on Essendon for a while
we should win a friend of mine that barracks for the eagles gives them only a small chance im hoping hes right.
Our record at subi is crap 5 wins from 22 matches and we have only ever beaten the eagles once there.
i reckon we are 50/50 at best - worse if richo is out.
Weat Coast have won 2 games for the year. They can win 2 more and get a PP. They will look at our game as a match that they will want to win .. it's at home ... keeps the supporters and sponsors happy for a couple of more weeks until they win another one against the bombers.
Unless of course this proud club will want to finish last which I doubt very much.
We can still beat them but dont be fooled by WC.. they are a good side still.
richcogs
3 Jul 2008, 19:57
We can still beat them but dont be fooled by WC.. they are a good side still.
Yes, a good under 18's side. We should be able to beat them, they have dropped all their senior player nearly. I'm starting to feel they'll be a better side than us in a couple years!
coughs2richo
3 Jul 2008, 21:05
Impact= season over and start tanking for watts! if we lose i might just yhave to call my iraqi friends and declare a jihad on wallace. p.s i am very gay for mark coughlan
I hope we can win. It won't be an easy game by any means. Agree with peejay with the 50/50 chance.
Got my tickets last week and have had 100% success when watching the Tigers live this year (1/1 :o)
TigerGlory
3 Jul 2008, 21:29
They have to much quality to be playing this bad. I keep thinking the Weagles will come out and belt a side, and im hoping to god its not us.
Cox who is the premier ruckmen in the competition, Kerr who is one of the best midfielders in the competition, Priddis who can get a heap of the footy when he wants too, Glass who is second only to Scarlett as the competitions best Full Back etc.
Plus Embley, Lynch, LeCras, Wirrpunda, Hunter, Seaby etc, they are all pretty handy players.
Im a little anxious. :(
Ferris_rules
3 Jul 2008, 21:37
You guys could field a reserve side and you would still win.
Make no mistake the Eagles hierarchy are tanking for some prized draft picks. They are in the prized position of snaring the first draft pick they will not be jeopardizing that for a win over the Tigers.
A lot like Carlton did last year.
Im prepared to drop a packet on the Tigers.
Make no mistake the Eagles are wrapped up for 08.
Coach_Required
3 Jul 2008, 21:37
I watched this team absolutely flog Adelaide about 5 weeks ago when they were going as bad as they are now.
Dont be fooled by their poor season to pencil this in as an easy win, if anyone is going to lose to this team it will be Richmond.
1 win on subiaco against the Eagles in 20 years says alot about our chances even in 2008 IMO.
Ferris_rules
3 Jul 2008, 21:48
To be fair to everyone their season was still in the balance.
When they lost to Sydney you could tell their season is over.
If you want to really understand the mentality of the Eagles look at their forum all they are doing now is discussing which players to draft.
I am really dumbfounded as to how not more people realise this point. Their are two to three massive players in the draft, esp a guy called Naitauni (spelling) and a local WA guy that apparently is a gun.
The Eagles won a flag only a couple a years back. They have the full support of all supporters and sponsors.
This is the last draft before the raid by GC17 and WS18.
Yes, a good under 18's side. We should be able to beat them, they have dropped all their senior player nearly. I'm starting to feel they'll be a better side than us in a couple years!
They won a Premiership 18 months ago... lost 2 quality players... they'll be back up next year
RichosGuns
3 Jul 2008, 23:26
I'm looking foward to the MASSIVE CHANGES!!!
Out: Hyde, Richo, Polak
In: Tivendale, Jackson, Pettifer
Eagles defintely tanking.
You'd expect us to win. If we don't does it really change anything? Doubtful. Last week was the season closer. It sucks to have Carlton end our season.
We will definitely win over there... firstly the eagles are tanking and secondly, the big ground really suits the way we play. We will smash them like we did Freo.
I'm not confident at all... Like I said they can afford to win 2 more games for the year.
Subi suits the way we like to play. I think we should win but who knows.
Ah Cheung
4 Jul 2008, 16:32
We should win, but i think the fact that its at subi where we dont have a great record, it wouldnt surprise me if the eagles went in as favourites.
might be good value on the tiges..
Doubt there will be much 'impact' if we do lose. Last week was the killer:thumbsd:
What will our approach to the remainder of the season be? Give some young fellas an extended crack (JON, Collins, Connors etc)? I think we should.
Bruce Monteath
4 Jul 2008, 18:03
We lose this one and the sword dangling above Plough's head starts to get pretty wobbly. If we can't win this one I'm jumping off the Terry Wallace bandwagon once and for all... last week killed it for me.
We're heading for that 10th or 11th (9th) no man's land once again and not gettting a look in at the last effective draft for the next couple of years, nor a chance at getting a final under the kids' belts. The clouds get darker by the day.
I'm off Richie too. Been trying to convince myself he would come good but all I see is another Anthony Banik. I hope I'm wrong because you can see he's a great human being however when you see what Deledio and the Cotch are capable of in our side it doesn't fill me with optimism.
Hey guys Is Richo definately out for next weekend?
I hope he plays coz the game doesnt matter and you just wanna see guns like him out on the field.
Like 2 weeks ago seeing Ablett Jr blitz.
I think it will be a close game either way.
I reckon either side under 15.5 is a sure thing...
Quite simply we arent tanking.
We are just playing shithouse.
Just because us supporters are talking about who to get in the draft doesnt mean we're tanking, seriously.
If Richo doesnt get up I feel we will win.
Good luck.
I'm more confident with this game than I have been all season.
Could be a scrappy tight affair with one team pulling away at the end.. I feel West Coast will come away with the win.
I'll be there cheering the Eagles on.
Good luck at any rate.
If I remember correctly LeCras cut us to ribbons last year booting a few. It seems to be fringe players doing the job on us with these lower teams: LeCras, Milne etc.
I wouldn't be surprised if they punish us over there. Sorry, but last weeks game has left heaps of doubt in my mind. You don't run with a team for three quarters and then stop - that's crap!
On a positive; we towelled up Freo over there this year so if we put four Q's together we "could" get across the line.
Have to say I reckon the Eagles will get us by thirty odd points.
Can I put money on Priddis to have 45+ uncontested possessions a less than 5 hard ball gets? We don't tackle (which also makes it hard to get hard ball gets or even contested possession), neither team likes to kick, it will be a game of european handball but we should get there in the end..
Actually, we only kick when we're really clear, which happens a lot at Subi..
boodsyboy
6 Jul 2008, 13:10
Well just read an article in the newspaper over here on Mitch Morton and he is still talking about the boys having a crack at the finals so hope they go hard at subi Eagles will be hard to beat so cmon Tigers.:thumbsu:
patto_man
6 Jul 2008, 17:38
i don't like the chances of a west coast win the way they are playing but you never know Richmond ain't playing much better
but one man that is playing well is trent cotchin!!!
jumpinjimmy
6 Jul 2008, 18:05
The Eagles are tanking and they have a wise selfless administration.
Coach_Required
7 Jul 2008, 16:13
I'm more confident with this game than I have been all season.
Could be a scrappy tight affair with one team pulling away at the end.. I feel West Coast will come away with the win.
I'll be there cheering the Eagles on.
Good luck at any rate.
I'll look out for you, Ill give you wave at halftime when your leaving :p
CoggaRules
7 Jul 2008, 16:31
I'm not confident at all... Like I said they can afford to win 2 more games for the year.
yep...this one will be pencilled in by them as a sending a message to their fans. If the shit hits the fan, we will be 5 down before we realise the game has started and then it will be the usual chase chase chase, get close enough, make the classic tiger ____ up at the worst possible time, to hit the front, and we are toast. ;)
Impact of a loss to West Coast Eagles - on me, surrounded by 35,000 odd Egirls tosser "supporters"...........Need I elaborate ???
True Thylacine
7 Jul 2008, 16:37
I am very very uncertain of what influence the Polak factor will have. Could go either way, you never quite know.
Coach_Required
7 Jul 2008, 17:15
Impact of a loss to West Coast Eagles - on me, surrounded by 35,000 odd Egirls tosser "supporters"...........Need I elaborate ???
You will be easy to spot at 3qtr time
I'll wave to you aswell. :p
Hey, don't knock us (WA Tiges). We get out in numbers (at least 2 with you and me anyway !!! :D)
Nah, seriously though. We pull one of the bigger "away" crowds of the season at Subi.
We were certainly easy to spot after 3/4 time at the Shockers match. Coz there wasn't any Shockers supporters left by then !!!
TigerGlory
7 Jul 2008, 18:28
They still have a good looking side and could really spank us if we dont turn up.
Have to be careful, i hope the players dont come thinking it'll be an easy win.
If we don't turn up, we WILL get spanked !
Ask the Koala's (Adelaide).