View Full Version : Prismall would we want him?
heard a discussion on SEN this morning that Brent Prismall is not getting enough of a run at Geelong and maybe looking elsewhere to play,
BBrownless didn't deny it , said it might be in his best intrests, he's been dropped because stokes is back, had 25+ possies the last few games, is 22, core age midfielder possibly v.good extra mature mid that we are crying out for if cogga can't get back.
thoughts?, opinions?
lids_tiger_army
4 Jul 2008, 10:52
definately mate.. the kid is a gun!! we could give them either hyde or jon!! geelong might turn them into stars:rolleyes:
W. Smithers
4 Jul 2008, 11:20
Give them pick 90
patto_man
4 Jul 2008, 11:25
Give them pick 90
they will proply give as another decent player for that pick aswell
rocklovelive
4 Jul 2008, 11:27
We need to seriously take a look at him.
In the past we've gone for the dud depth players from successful teams (Humm, Blumfield) but Prismall is absolute quality. Think we may have an auction on our hands though.
Bojangles17
4 Jul 2008, 11:46
NOPE..with collins, connors and edwards still to make their amrk , last thing we need is a fringe league player blocking their progress. It's little more than fools gold when players like prisnall sit on the fringes and the simple minded suggest he'd be a champ anywhere else...History shows us they generally go even worse when outside the sanctuary that playing alongside brownlow medalists provide....Blumfield, anyone. Rohan Burke...I could go on and on and on:rolleyes:
Bojangles17
4 Jul 2008, 12:48
Rohan Who?:p
precisely, member of carltons 82 flag, dud tiger recruit a couple of years later
Top_4_Tiger
4 Jul 2008, 12:51
If he's not good enough for Geelong's 22, then how is he going to be part of our premier 22 in a couple of years?
We want players who can win us a flag, not take us from 9th to 8th.
I only want him if there is a realistic chance he'll improve by 25% because there is no use trading for players who are currently proven to be below premiership quality (proof is by not getting a regular game with current reigning premiers).
Better chance he'd get worse at a worse club too, not better.
Depends what we'd have to pay for him, but probably not.
We should only trade for genuine quality, a particular need, or a freakishly good bargain.
Benchwarmer77
4 Jul 2008, 12:56
I would say yes if all we need to give is a late draft pick
strauchy
4 Jul 2008, 13:59
im sorry guys, but the truth is - if we get Prismall he would be in our top 3 or 4 midfielders up with Lids and Foley
he is an outstanding player at times and i have no idea why hes so unlucky at catland, deserves much more notice
When you have such an amazing midfield like Geelong has then its understandable how he would struggle to get a game in their side...Gary Jnr, Bartel, Kelly, Chapman and so on so its understandable how he would struggle. Brent Prismall is in my mind a very talented and gifted young footballer...saw him play when he was younger...killed it and i think any side who wants him will definately have to give at least a 3rd or 4th round pick to Geelong. I myself think he will be hoping to be picked up by the Kangas since he was a true blue supporter when he was younger and he would really add a lot of depth to their side. Be great to have him at the Tigers but i don't think it will happen.
I reckon we need more kids, less older players this year.
We picked up Morton and McMahon last year which were really good pickups and we scored bigtime with Cotchin, but do we really need another 22-year-old midfielder?
Deledio; Foley; Cotchin; Tambling; Polo; White; Connors; Edwards; King - all established or potential midfielders. What we need is depth in the ruck and with Polak tragically unlikely to take his place in the side until next season at best, we need some solid talls.
Haven't heard much out of Dean Putt yet (hey - he's very green and very tall, so there's plenty of time) and Cartledge apparently hasn't impressed enough to warrant selection in the senior side, so where is our ruck depth coming from if Simmonds and/or Pattison get injured?
All of that said, I haven't seen too much of Prismall, so if he's that good and going for a song (highly unlikely), I reckon if we can get both talls and Prismall (again, highly unlikely), why not?
getthefooty
4 Jul 2008, 14:38
I reckon we need more kids, less older players this year.
We picked up Morton and McMahon last year which were really good pickups and we scored bigtime with Cotchin, but do we really need another 22-year-old midfielder?
Deledio; Foley; Cotchin; Tambling; Polo; White; Connors; Edwards; King - all established or potential midfielders. What we need is depth in the ruck and with Polak tragically unlikely to take his place in the side until next season at best, we need some solid talls.
Haven't heard much out of Dean Putt yet (hey - he's very green and very tall, so there's plenty of time) and Cartledge apparently hasn't impressed enough to warrant selection in the senior side, so where is our ruck depth coming from if Simmonds and/or Pattison get injured?
All of that said, I haven't seen too much of Prismall, so if he's that good and going for a song (highly unlikely), I reckon if we can get both talls and Prismall (again, highly unlikely), why not?
You can never have enough midfield depth.
You can never have enough midfield depth.Even at the expense of having Jake King in the ruck?
getthefooty
4 Jul 2008, 15:11
Ruck and midfield are separate issues. Obviously the ruck situation is dire, but I think we are in agreement when we say that Lids, Foley and Cotch can't do it all and we need more midfielders as well as rucks.
pace to freeze
4 Jul 2008, 17:32
Have watched him closely and does some very good things at times that only that elite do, don't reckon Geelong will let him go, maturing nicely and might be a smokey come finals time. If available yes !!
Peter SasseGum
4 Jul 2008, 18:01
Not sure if he'll provide too much value, or be able to find a place in our developing list of players
Well done to TW and the recruiting department for spotting the gaps in our list early, and taking steps to rectify them so that we're not chasing every available player :thumbsu:
precisely, member of carltons 82 flag, dud tiger recruit a couple of years later
:DLMAO Jangles. Rohan Burke. There's aname I ain't heard in a long, long time! What a shocker.
You sure he played in the 82 grand final?
Was simply woeful for us!!!
corporal
4 Jul 2008, 18:21
We should have chased him last year when Geelong had to shed a number of players in their fire sale.
I would have much preferred for the McMahon pick go for Prismal which would have allowed Geelong the possibility of getting Scott Selwood,
But hang.. Thats right we only recruit muppets..
My bad!
Realistic Tiger
4 Jul 2008, 18:35
If he's not good enough for Geelong's 22, then how is he going to be part of our premier 22 in a couple of years?
We want players who can win us a flag, not take us from 9th to 8th.
I only want him if there is a realistic chance he'll improve by 25% because there is no use trading for players who are currently proven to be below premiership quality (proof is by not getting a regular game with current reigning premiers).
Better chance he'd get worse at a worse club too, not better.
Who would you drop our of Geelongs midfield to slot him in?
Ablett? Bartel? Corey? Enright? Kelly? Ling? Selwood?
To pick up a player like Prismall, who has seen what it takes to make the grade at a premiership club and would have a point to prove, would be worth it for the right price. Given that the Cats are likely to be right up there in terms of their salary cap again this year, there is a good chance we could snare him for as little as a 3rd round pick.
mattdwyer
4 Jul 2008, 18:49
I would say yes if all we need to give is a late draft pick
didnt u say the other day that you wouldnt even give tivendale to geelong for him because tiv is real good .. kinda like a young gaz !!
TigerPower
4 Jul 2008, 18:58
Hell F___ing No, Trading Away Picks Again!!!!!!!!!!!, Dont Fall Into This Trap You Fools.
TigerPower
4 Jul 2008, 19:00
Who would you drop our of Geelongs midfield to slot him in?
Ablett? Bartel? Corey? Enright? Kelly? Ling? Selwood?
To pick up a player like Prismall, who has seen what it takes to make the grade at a premiership club and would have a point to prove, would be worth it for the right price. Given that the Cats are likely to be right up there in terms of their salary cap again this year, there is a good chance we could snare him for as little as a 3rd round pick.
Or we could nurture our own talent and stop trading away our picks for half-rate players withthat 3rd round pick. NO PREMIERSHIP CONTENDING SIDES CURRENTLY DO WHAT YOU ARE PROPOSING.
Realistic Tiger
4 Jul 2008, 20:48
Or we could nurture our own talent and stop trading away our picks for half-rate players withthat 3rd round pick. NO PREMIERSHIP CONTENDING SIDES CURRENTLY DO WHAT YOU ARE PROPOSING.
Geelong won last years flag and are favourties to win the flag again this year.
Can you tell me what these Geelong players have in common: Ottens, Harley & Mooney.
Sydney played in 2 of the last 3 Grand Final.
Can you tell me what these players have in common: Hall, Jolly, Everitt, Mattner & Richards.
There are 2 teams that are right in the mix for this years flag & have played in the last 3 Grand Finals between them, that have traded away draft picks in recent seasons to add players to their lists that have helped them win premierships.
TigerPower
5 Jul 2008, 00:15
Geelong won last years flag and are favourties to win the flag again this year.
Can you tell me what these Geelong players have in common: Ottens, Harley & Mooney.
Sydney played in 2 of the last 3 Grand Final.
Can you tell me what these players have in common: Hall, Jolly, Everitt, Mattner & Richards.
There are 2 teams that are right in the mix for this years flag & have played in the last 3 Grand Finals between them, that have traded away draft picks in recent seasons to add players to their lists that have helped them win premierships.
Thats only 3 players WHO GEELONG GOT FROM OTHER CLUBS who are good, we already have troy simmonds, polak, macmahon, morton, Brown, and sugar................. geelong have 3 dude. Besides the ones i mentioned we drafted kent kingf__k, mark graham, and probably more FFS who are duds. Hall has been at sydney for years, and the ONLY HAVE 5. Can i make my argument any clearer to you? we have 10+ in recent years. Can you name me any other premiership contending clubs who have marginal amounts of recycled players? no you cant as they nurture their own talent.
p.s. We do THIS TOO much. F__k prismal, his shit and he will be the same as the others we have. Although the only other player we should recycle this year is cousins, because he is the quality we need.
You can never have enough midfield depth.
I'd hope we have a crack at him, is very young but still older than Deledio and co.
Geelong will be under pressure again to get under the salary cap , Agree if you could get him with a 3rd round pick would be silly not to look at it. Think thats probably what his worth is anyway anything more than that would be too much.
Think the tigers need to off load a few players to gain extra picks themselves so they can bargin with geelong as they will not want players they will want draft picks.
If you look at Tim Callan at the Dogs formally Cats has preformed okay this year and probably not as good a player as prismall when both at the cats.
Problem is us getting extra picks so we have bargining power and not just forced into giving our 3rd round pick away , if we could obtain an extra 3rd round selection and perhaps a low 4th round we could perhaps just offer that and see how it plays out with the extra 3rd round there if we needed to move on him.
Although i am not keen on giving away picks well not 1st or 2nd round picks anyway we should be in the market for players as we were supposed to be able to fit judd in the salary cap so there should be a load of room to chase some players or at least make some other clubs pay extra for players.
If we could somehow manage to grab say Prismall and Cousins for 3rd round selections would be rapt.
Tigersman
5 Jul 2008, 02:22
NOPE..with collins, connors and edwards still to make their amrk , last thing we need is a fringe league player blocking their progress. It's little more than fools gold when players like prismall sit on the fringes and the simple minded suggest he'd be a champ anywhere else...History shows us they generally go even worse when outside the sanctuary that playing alongside brownlow medalists provide....Blumfield, anyone. Rohan Burke...I could go on and on and on:rolleyes:
Spot on.
Its no sure thing that he will come over and pick up 25 touches every week.
Tigersman
5 Jul 2008, 02:23
Geelong will be under pressure again to get under the salary cap , Agree if you could get him with a 3rd round pick would be silly not to look at it. Think thats probably what his worth is anyway anything more than that would be too much.
Think the tigers need to off load a few players to gain extra picks themselves so they can bargin with geelong as they will not want players they will want draft picks.
If you look at Tim Callan at the Dogs formally Cats has preformed okay this year and probably not as good a player as prismall when both at the cats.
Problem is us getting extra picks so we have bargining power and not just forced into giving our 3rd round pick away , if we could obtain an extra 3rd round selection and perhaps a low 4th round we could perhaps just offer that and see how it plays out with the extra 3rd round there if we needed to move on him.
Although i am not keen on giving away picks well not 1st or 2nd round picks anyway we should be in the market for players as we were supposed to be able to fit judd in the salary cap so there should be a load of room to chase some players or at least make some other clubs pay extra for players.
If we could somehow manage to grab say Prismall and Cousins for 3rd round selections would be rapt.
Thats probably what he is worth but I bet he goes for a second round pick if traded.
Not interested, why would we want an 8th-9th string midfielder from another side?
He's made to look better by the class around him taking all the heat, exactly why Selwood walked straight into the side and looked as good as he did.
Stop looking at the guy behind GAJ, Bartell, etc, etc and look to draft players who can be as good as them, not the next level down
Realistic Tiger
5 Jul 2008, 11:10
Thats only 3 players WHO GEELONG GOT FROM OTHER CLUBS who are good, we already have troy simmonds, polak, macmahon, morton, Brown, and sugar................. geelong have 3 dude. Besides the ones i mentioned we drafted kent kingf__k, mark graham, and probably more FFS who are duds. Hall has been at sydney for years, and the ONLY HAVE 5. Can i make my argument any clearer to you? we have 10+ in recent years. Can you name me any other premiership contending clubs who have marginal amounts of recycled players? no you cant as they nurture their own talent.
p.s. We do THIS TOO much. F__k prismal, his shit and he will be the same as the others we have. Although the only other player we should recycle this year is cousins, because he is the quality we need.
Hawthorn - Dew, Guerra, Gilham, Croad
Bulldogs - Akermanis Welsh Hudson McDougall Eagleton Callan Street
Adelaide - Thompson Moran Stevens Symes Massie
North - Thompson Grant Brown Sinclair Power Edwards Davies
Saints - Gardiner x2, King, Dempster, Schneider, Gram, Fiora, Gehrig
Pies - Bryan Wood O'Bree Holland Medhurst Wakelin
That is pretty much the entire top 8 that have gone after recycled players, some of them had been considered no good at their previous clubs because they couldn't get games yet are vital parts of their current teams line up.
TigerPower
5 Jul 2008, 13:53
Hawthorn - Dew, Guerra, Gilham, Croad
Bulldogs - Akermanis Welsh Hudson McDougall Eagleton Callan Street
Adelaide - Thompson Moran Stevens Symes Massie
North - Thompson Grant Brown Sinclair Power Edwards Davies
Saints - Gardiner x2, King, Dempster, Schneider, Gram, Fiora, Gehrig
Pies - Bryan Wood O'Bree Holland Medhurst Wakelin
That is pretty much the entire top 8 that have gone after recycled players, some of them had been considered no good at their previous clubs because they couldn't get games yet are vital parts of their current teams line up.
Once again we have more than any of the clubs you have mentioned and out of those you have said saints are not contenders, nor are north who have marginal amounts. Hawthorn and bulldogs out of those only have 4 who are any good playing, and adelaide only have 3. The pies are nearly out of the 8 too. Yet we have more recycled players than any of those clubs and look where it has gotten us in the past. WE MUST NOT KEEP DOING IT. Fremantle have gone down that path and so have the saints and look where they are.........................
Thats only 3 players WHO GEELONG GOT FROM OTHER CLUBS who are good
Mooney, Harley and Ottens?
Moons and Harley barely played a game for their previous clubs, Harley played 1. And when you think about it who else have we picked up from another club?
On topic, Prismall will be like a much better tim callan, starved of opportunities because the team's strength is where his is, last ear it was our defense, this year more so our midfield, obviously it would be hard for anyone to get a gig behind Ablett, Bartel, Corey, Ling, Selwood. Theres good midfielders out there who i would take behind those 5.
astro_toby
6 Jul 2008, 04:16
so you suggest we only go for drug addicted, hamstrung, arrogant self rightous 30 year olds - whose best footy is behind them & haven't played a game in 12 months - over a 22 year old quality kid who has shown a lot (without being burned out with too many games) with still lots of miles in his legs - whose best footy is definitely in front of him - and could play for another 10 years / 200 games for this club.
....Right.:o
Bojangles17
6 Jul 2008, 23:33
:DLMAO Jangles. Rohan Burke. There's aname I ain't heard in a long, long time! What a shocker.
You sure he played in the 82 grand final?
Was simply woeful for us!!!
nah he didnt actually GD I researched it after, was emerg I believe :p, Mark Eustace was another
Give them pick 90
pfft. Geelong would proberly still make them into the next Ablett or J.Brown.
TigerPower
8 Jul 2008, 00:36
so you suggest we only go for drug addicted, hamstrung, arrogant self rightous 30 year olds - whose best footy is behind them & haven't played a game in 12 months - over a 22 year old quality kid who has shown a lot (without being burned out with too many games) with still lots of miles in his legs - whose best footy is definitely in front of him - and could play for another 10 years / 200 games for this club.
....Right.:o
I love the way you use negative connotations to make cousins look bad, and then do the reverse to make prismall look good. This combined with the smiley at the end really makes your response persuasive.
BUT the simple fact of the matter is that cousins is a very talented premiership player who will come clean of drugs who has another 3-4 years ahead of him due to being rested for pretty much two years, who has the slight bit of arrogence we lack, who will play good footy and owns prismall. On the other hand prismal is not a premiership player and cant even make the geelong premiership team, why would he make ours then F__k wit when we want one just as good. the simple fact of the matter is we have enough recycled players and the only one we should be targeting is cousins due to his fantastic football ability which he can use to teach the youngsters to nurture their development. END OF STORY.
People will say we have recycled too many players in the recent future. But the problem is not how many it is the quality and type of player we have picked up. IMO we would be crazy to not to at least see what Geelong would take from us for Prismal. Sure he is struggling to break into there side, but lets face it, Geelongs midfield is so far ahead of anyone else's its not funny. Prismall would be playing at any other club. He has an impact almost everytime he plays for the Cats and the upside is he is only 22 and has a mature body with 4 preseasons under his belt.
You can never have enough midfield depth, he would play for us Rd 1 next year and be a good player.
If the price is right we would have to look at him.
rocklovelive
8 Jul 2008, 11:15
People will say we have recycled too many players in the recent future. But the problem is not how many it is the quality and type of player we have picked up. IMO we would be crazy to not to at least see what Geelong would take from us for Prismal. Sure he is struggling to break into there side, but lets face it, Geelongs midfield is so far ahead of anyone else's its not funny. Prismall would be playing at any other club. He has an impact almost everytime he plays for the Cats and the upside is he is only 22 and has a mature body with 4 preseasons under his belt.
You can never have enough midfield depth, he would play for us Rd 1 next year and be a good player.
If the price is right we would have to look at him.
Perfect.
Thread closed.
Just checked his stats and his game agaisnt Port showed what he can do. 32 Touches at 91% Efficiency.
I would welcome him to the team if it only cost a third rounder.