View Full Version : Pick 6 for Kerr. straight swap. Would we?

Tigersman
5 Jul 2008, 02:46
If this was on the table would you take it?

I would say no but would not be to far away from going for it.

He is bloody good and would still be in his prime at around 27 years old when we should be pushing hard in finals in two or three years time.

Say we finish 10th.
How about Kerr and West Coast pick 17-18 for Our Pick 6 and pick 38?

That leaves us with Kerr, Pick 17 and Pick 22. West Coast get 2 top 10 picks and two low third round picks.

For mine its getting close to a yes.

RichosGuns
5 Jul 2008, 02:52
I reckon.

Although I would say we still really need to go hard for a ruckman.

A midfield of Kerr, Foley, Deledio, Cotchin (Johnson, Tuck) is very formidable. However we are still screaming out for a dominating ruckman. I would prefer us to through our 2nd pick up for Warnock if that's what it takes to get him.

As Kerr is contracted, he cannot use the Pre-Season draft as a threat, and therefore clubs will have to pay top dollar/top pick

rfctigerarmy
5 Jul 2008, 02:54
I don't think West Coast would do that deal. They'd want more and other clubs would provide it.

Tigersman
5 Jul 2008, 03:09
If he wants to come back to Melbourne other clubs in potentially the same position would be Essendon, Carlton, North and StKilda.

I dont see any of them throwing away more than their first pick with all the hype about the Gold Coast taking the next draft.

I think West coast would only be interested in low picks or young kids as they would have to be going into rebuild mode you would think.

Wally Matera
5 Jul 2008, 03:57
You're dreaming... where do l sign?

Anyone who wouldnt take that is a moron. Hell l'd throw in Pettifer and our 3rd rounder.

:thumbsu:

oxx
5 Jul 2008, 04:42
not interested.
He wouldn't fit in at Richmond.
Little terd.
Be like having to endure Bowden in the midfield,
only difference would be Kerr gets more contested possies.
Days end they both suck pigs penis.

mhill
5 Jul 2008, 08:51
Why would Kerr want to come to Richmond?

We need to show the good players in the AFL that our club is capable of developing our own young players first.

No more tradies Greg Miller lovers

nut
5 Jul 2008, 08:55
Kerr getting Injured in the 2005 GF cost them the flag. At his best he was better than both Cousins and Judd in my opinion. Would be a andy pick up. Would cost too much though, just pick 6 wouldn't cut it. 2 top ten picks would be bout right.
So no I dont want him.

beaver fever
5 Jul 2008, 11:22
We're no where near a premiership, so why would we bring him in? He will be too old by the time we are a chance.

King_Mallee
5 Jul 2008, 12:10
one would have to do it

TigerGlory
5 Jul 2008, 12:13
Straight swap in a heartbeat. But they'd want more.

Still, our side is packed full of youngsters in my opinion, we've had enough draft picks, and now they all need to start to gel together.

Kerr would be a the icing in a very good midfield. :thumbsu:

Embers
5 Jul 2008, 12:17
We're no where near a premiership, so why would we bring him in? He will be too old by the time we are a chance.

Hes 25. Your 5 years away from being a chance?

BTW, umm, no. Pick 6 is worth nothing when you have pick 1 or 2. I wouldnt even give you Matt Priddis for Pick 6 never mind Kerr.

boodsyboy
5 Jul 2008, 12:21
forget it he wont be leaving west coast.

michael_80
5 Jul 2008, 13:29
i wouldn't trade anything for kerr. like a previous poster said, we should target players that would help our ruck deficiencies

TigerTroy0055
5 Jul 2008, 13:29
You're dreaming... where do l sign?

Anyone who wouldnt take that is a moron. Hell l'd throw in Pettifer and our 3rd rounder.

:thumbsu:Here here Wally , Any club would

coughs2richo
5 Jul 2008, 14:01
if we do such a swap i am burning my membership

rocklovelive
5 Jul 2008, 14:13
If that was offered and we didn't accept I'd burn something.

THE_GUN
5 Jul 2008, 14:13
no way would i give up pick 5-6-7 for kerr, our midfield isnt our problem in 2 years time. ruckman & big power foward is what we will need.
i would rather give them our first pick for kennedy.

TigerGlory
5 Jul 2008, 14:24
no way would i give up pick 5-6-7 for kerr, our midfield isnt our problem in 2 years time. ruckman & big power foward is what we will need.
i would rather give them our first pick for kennedy.

I think our midfield will still be a problem though.

We are set with forwards i think, Riewoldt, Polak and Hughes as well as Schulz. :thumbsu:

FiveStrings
5 Jul 2008, 14:38
if we do such a swap i am burning my membership

So would I.

What makes you think we'd do that trade? We're not Freo!

tugga
5 Jul 2008, 14:51
Pick 6 for Kerr? yes please. 25-year-old gun midfielder in the prime of his career as opposed to an unknown kid who would probably turn out to be another JON.

rocklovelive
5 Jul 2008, 16:08
Will our pick 6 be better than Kerr? It's a gamble. Kerr is a proven midfielder that would put the hard edge on our attack.

Foley, Deledio, Cotchin, Kerr.

Where do I sign?

Big Bad Buddy
5 Jul 2008, 16:17
Richmond dont need kerr as much as we need a ruckman

Maybe fremantle would do 2nd or 3d round pick + Oakley Nicholls for Warnock.

beaver fever
5 Jul 2008, 16:26

BTW, umm, no. Pick 6 is worth nothing when you have pick 1 or 2. I wouldnt even give you Matt Priddis for Pick 6 never mind Kerr.
He will be 26 next year. So that is 3 awesome years left and maybe 2 good years left. I don't think we will be a chance for the next 5 at the very least.

chrisjie
5 Jul 2008, 16:38

I havent' looked at the draft but if there are no KPPs high up we should trade our #1 pick for Warnock.

OR

2nd round + 3rd round maybe + schultz and some other dud that freo will take.

Big Bad Buddy
5 Jul 2008, 16:42
I havent' looked at the draft but if there are no KPPs high up we should trade our #1 pick for Warnock.

OR

2nd round + 3rd round maybe + schultz and some other dud that freo will take.

Warnock wouldn't be worth our first round pick. Maybe we could trade like pettifer + shultz or 3rd round pick for Warnock Knowing fremantle they would accept shultz + pettifer

chrisjie
5 Jul 2008, 17:07
I just can't see Freo being that dumb. one of the best ruck prospects in the league who is only 21....we'd have to give 2nd round + schultz and maybe another

TigerGlory
5 Jul 2008, 17:19
I just can't see Freo being that dumb. one of the best ruck prospects in the league who is only 21....we'd have to give 2nd round + schultz and maybe another

Mate, its Freo. They gave up Pick 1 in the 2001 Draft for Trent Croad. :thumbsu:

Tigersman
5 Jul 2008, 17:44
this keeps our second round pick to use for Warnock if we wanted.

In this draft where clubs are keen to gather picks because of the Gold coast thing there might be some decent deals around for a club who is prepared to give away picks.

Tumble
5 Jul 2008, 17:51
West Coast are going to want At Least 2 first round picks , he still is contracted.

Think Essendon are in a similiar postion to us as they have no players to trade for another low pick.
Would be surprised if Carlton looked at him.
Perhaps Essendon have an advantage having alot of WA players on their list maybe somebody might be willing to return home think they are in the best postion to make a play for him.

Wouldnt be keen on trading our first pick and dont see a player we could trade to earn another first round pick , would even struggle to get a 2nd round pick for alot of our players.

QL 21
5 Jul 2008, 18:16
I can't believe people are saying they wouldn't swap Pick 6 for Kerr. :eek:

He is contracted anyway, WC would want way more than just Pick 6.

rocklovelive
5 Jul 2008, 19:29
I can't believe people are saying they wouldn't swap Pick 6 for Kerr. :eek:

He is contracted anyway, WC would want way more than just Pick 6.

I completely agree. It'd be a bargain to get him for pick 6. I think people get carried away with draft picks a little too much, thinking they are going to find the next Ablett or Judd when it's likely that the player we get will be no better than Kerr.

Top_4_Tiger
5 Jul 2008, 19:58
I'd prefer Hurley or Watts for 12+ years than Kerr for 5.

Richmond isn't the right club for Kerr if he decided to move.

anti.
5 Jul 2008, 20:02
doubt he'd leave.

and the offer from the OP is laughable.

Biggie
5 Jul 2008, 23:35
Sorry guys we wouldnt do it.

Need to offer more Im afraid.

Tyger
5 Jul 2008, 23:45

A good midfielder will clear the ball from any stoppage regarless of who wins the tap. Warnock is shit. No brains and very limited ability.
We have a developing midfield and with the addition of Kerr or Cousins or in a perfect world BOTH we would have an unbeatable engine room.

Biggie
5 Jul 2008, 23:52
Actually, Robbie Warnock looks a fine player for his size.

Has poise, can get his own ball and has a decent kick.

Mop
6 Jul 2008, 01:25
If he wants to come back to Melbourne other clubs in potentially the same position would be Essendon, Carlton, North and StKilda.

I dont see any of them throwing away more than their first pick with all the hype about the Gold Coast taking the next draft.

I think West coast would only be interested in low picks or young kids as they would have to be going into rebuild mode you would think.

Uh... Back to Melbourne?

Born and bred in Perth, thankyouverymuch.

Pick 6.. you're dreaming.

Have a nice day. :)

carn tigez
6 Jul 2008, 01:48

Yeah true, I mean without pick 7 the hawks would never have got franklin but that's ok because they got roughead with pick 2

bomba4eva
6 Jul 2008, 03:27
Pick 6? That would be an absolute bargain. In fact it is a stupid suggestion as it would never happen. And you say you would not do it also? Tiger fans can be happy knowing you aren't involved with the recruiting.
Pick 6, Rance and a 2nd pick would be a fair trade for Kerr who is one of the better midfielders in the competition.

rocklovelive
6 Jul 2008, 10:46
Trade proposal.

Every Tiger who disagreed with giving up pick 6
for
Anything at all.

Top_4_Tiger
6 Jul 2008, 13:56
Trade proposal.

Every Tiger who disagreed with giving up pick 6
for
Anything at all.

This guy understands where our club is at :thumbsu:

Embers
6 Jul 2008, 13:59
I'd prefer Hurley or Watts for 12+ years than Kerr for 5.

Richmond isn't the right club for Kerr if he decided to move.

Neither of those 2 will fall to your pick. ATM its

1. Natanui
2. Rich
3. Watts
4. Hurley

You will probably end up 7-9th anyway

Top_4_Tiger
6 Jul 2008, 14:19
Neither of those 2 will fall to your pick. ATM its

1. Natanui
2. Rich
3. Watts
4. Hurley

You will probably end up 7-9th anyway

McKernan more valuable to us anyway.

What you guys don't understand is that a trade of our 1st Round Pick from 2008 for a gun from the 2000 draft is not thinking long-term and represents the culture of "Old Richmond", a cancer we have been trying to cure for the past 4 years.

Judd's value is increased due to boost in memberships etc, whereas Kerr has nowhere near the same positive reputation.

Terry has already promised to never trade away a 1st Round Pick.

Kerr will be 28 years old before we're a Top 4 threat.

McKernan/Trengrove/Hartlett/Hurley etc will be 21 years old when we're a Top 4 threat.

Who is more valuable to the Richmond football club? A potential very good 21 year old as we're entering a decade of opportunity, or a 28yo gun mid with poor attitude and a body that is more battle hardened and sore than most.

I agree with you that Kerr is worth more than Pick 6.

But he is not worth that to us.

Prem87
6 Jul 2008, 16:35
Lol Kerr + 18 for Pick 6 & 38...do i even need to say anything. You're all in a dream land.

Top_4_Tiger
6 Jul 2008, 16:54
Lol Kerr + 18 for Pick 6 & 38...do i even need to say anything. You're all in a dream land.

We know he's worth more than that, but he's not wort much to us therefore we're not willing to part with as much as he's worth.

Otherwise we wouldn't do the trade - the likely scenario :thumbsu:

kaipwn
6 Jul 2008, 21:15
west coast > richmond. Their season this year has been out of left field in my opinion and will be a much better outfit next year. Kerr would definately rather stay at the team he is settled in and in a team that will win more games next year.

Their core group of players are still exceptional but just havnt found their feet this year. watch out for a much stronger eagles team next year

CoggaRules
7 Jul 2008, 13:20
I don't think West Coast would do that deal. They'd want more and other clubs would provide it.

no they wont...why? because a player like Kerr will only be looked at by sides that are around our level of above. He is a player you take when you are in and around "window" time. You cant take a player like Kerr if you are in initial rebuild mould, i.e. us when Aka came onto the market. I would suggest that Kerr will also want to be in a team that is mixing it in September action along with having a midflield around him that doesnt rely totally on his output. We tick most boxes for him, if we can get him lets do it. But i would suggest pick 6 isnt going to be in the deal. ;)

Tigersman
7 Jul 2008, 18:19
west coast > richmond. Their season this year has been out of left field in my opinion and will be a much better outfit next year. Kerr would definately rather stay at the team he is settled in and in a team that will win more games next year.

Their core group of players are still exceptional but just havnt found their feet this year. watch out for a much stronger eagles team next year

I think you have overated them.

Its rebuild time at west coast and I think they have even said so.

TigerGlory
7 Jul 2008, 18:21

West Coast are 15th on the ladder, they can only claim to be > than Melbourne.

Obeanie1
7 Jul 2008, 20:35

Back to Melbourne:eek: OMG you Victorians are already claiming him as home grown FFS, he's a WA product.:o

Back to Melbourne.........

Pick 6 plus Tambling and you'v got a deal:thumbsu:

TigerGlory
7 Jul 2008, 20:39
Back to Melbourne:eek: OMG you Victorians are already claiming him as home grown FFS, he's a WA product.:o

Pick 6 and Tambling for Kerr i would probably accept.

Anymore though, and i'd reject it. :thumbsu:

Obeanie1
7 Jul 2008, 20:40
We know he's worth more than that, but he's not worth much to us therefore we're not willing to part with as much as he's worth.

Otherwise we wouldn't do the trade - the likely scenario :thumbsu:

Are you speaking English?

Lets try and keep it simple, he's in the top 6 mids going around............ but he's not worth as much as he's worth to Richmond?:cool::o:(

I am confused............

Obeanie1
7 Jul 2008, 20:41

I'll give the club a call and send over the paperwork:thumbsu:

beaver fever
7 Jul 2008, 20:50

Lets try and keep it simple, he's in the top 6 mids going around............ but he's not worth as much as he's worth to Richmond?:cool::o:(

He is referring to the state of the list. We are no way near winning a flag, so in terms of list management trading away our picks for older players will not help us long term.

TigerGlory
7 Jul 2008, 20:51
I'll give the club a call and send over the paperwork:thumbsu:

Your kidding arent you?

Kerr is probably in the Top 5 midfielders in the competition.

And you'd take Pick 6, which could be anything (a potential Jokely Nicholls) and Tambling?

Your nuts. :D:thumbsu:

TigerGlory
7 Jul 2008, 20:54
He is referring to the state of the list. We are no way near winning a flag, so in terms of list management trading away our picks for older players will not help us long term.

Just remember that Hawthorn come from nowhere 2 years ago and got into the finals.

Daniel Kerr into our midfield could see us climb that extra step. Remember hes only 24/25 so he'd have minimum 5 years left as well.

Potential wise, we could really fly depending on whether our list can blossom together.

Tigersman
7 Jul 2008, 20:54

We want to swap second rounders though.

You have to squeeze for everything you can get!

Obeanie1
7 Jul 2008, 21:40
Your kidding arent you?

And you'd take Pick 6, which could be anything (a potential Jokely Nicholls) and Tambling?

A bit of home town nepatism with Tambling being from Darwin.:D

I rate him and think the next 4-5 years we will see the best of him.

Pick 6 the Eagles could pick up a Yarran or another highly rated mid / half forward, we really need to work on our midfield depth to carry us into the next premiership window 2010 > 2013, Kerr is 25, Tambling is what 22-23.

Together with pick 1-3 and a Kerr trade would basically mean three quality first round mids on top of picking up Masten and Ebert last year.

Richmonds window is closer than people think.

LOZWILDA
7 Jul 2008, 22:22
:cool:Sounds very enticing! but I think we should get away from trading for second hand players, look at Fremantle this year,they have gone backwards 2/3 years in developing players by recruiting possible handy/good players and it has back fired! Surely we have learnt the same lesson by now? Don't lose a year of potential for short term gain.
I'm glad we did not get Judd! at the expense of Cotchin!
There is some great potential in this draft, who knows? but if their any good they have a lot more years to offer!!!!!

Top_4_Tiger
7 Jul 2008, 22:43

Simple minds... :o

Your kidding arent you?

You're thinking about it the wrong way. You're thinking about 2009.

What about when Deledio is leading the club to a flag in 2015?

Kerr will be long gone while Pick 6 + Tambling could be the difference between a flag and finishing 7th.

Long term.

Long term.

Long term.

Say it again!

Daniel Kerr into our midfield could see us climb that extra step. Remember hes only 24/25...

I keep hearing this but here is the reality.

Kerr is 26/27 next year.

Will take a year to gel before he really fires (see Chris Judd, Nathan G. Brown, Akermanis etc, etc).

Therefore we have Daniel Kerr on our list playing elite football for 2 years while he's 27-29 with his form beginning to decline right when our youngsters start to fire.

The brutallity he's copped since he was 19 playing in the midfield means he won't be an elite player after he's 29. Just remember, when Kane Johnson was 25 we paid Pick 2 for him because he was a superstar back then.

At least now he is a great leader despite being worn out last year at 29 years old!!

Kerr may be better than Kane Johnson at 29 years old, but without the off-field leadership if he loses form.

Tambling is what 22-23.

23?

Try 21 :D

Bling will be a gun, and at worse will be Leon Davis mk 2.

Eagle Ant
8 Jul 2008, 04:34
Correct

AAHHH NO Obeanie!:mad:

Look you want Kerr It would be IMO pick 6+ Rance+Gourdis.

Anything less then that and your dreaming is a nice way of putting it.:cool:
You can Keep that Crab Tambling hell you can have fletcher as well just to sweeten the deal and we will take JON:thumbsu:

Obeanie1
8 Jul 2008, 14:07
Correct

You can Keep that Crab Tambling hell you can have fletcher as well just to sweeten the deal and we will take JON:thumbsu:

EA, I don't want Kerr as I'm not a Tigers supporter:o, I'm an Eagles supporter mate.

As to Kerr = pick 6 plus Tambling on our site we are saying two first round picks, well pick 6 + Tambling(pick 2) is techically 2 first round picks is it?

The only difference is I rate Tambling as a first rounder and you and probably most others don't. Remember the guy is only 21 (thanks for the clarification above:thumbsu:). He's got his best ahead of him and so far he's shown a bit.

CoggaRules
8 Jul 2008, 14:48
EA, I don't want Kerr as I'm not a Tigers supporter:o, I'm an Eagles supporter mate.

As to Kerr = pick 6 plus Tambling on our site we are saying two first round picks, well pick 6 + Tambling(pick 2) is techically 2 first round picks is it?

The only difference is I rate Tambling as a first rounder and you and probably most others don't. Remember the guy is only 21 (thanks for the clarification above:thumbsu:). He's got his best ahead of him and so far he's shown a bit.

dude, forget Tambling he is a hack and the tigers are far to polite to offload hacks to other clubs...I will go out on a limb here, knowing that quite a few tigerheads will bag me for devulging the top secret info, but with a home ground of Subi, the players you need to compliment the new breed and lead by example are Tivendale and Pettifer. This would address your lack of runners,Tivendale, and lack of scorers Pettifer.
Take tip, Kerr + Number 1 pick for Pettifer, Tivendale & we can even throw in the steeak knives in 2 absolute champion taggers in Johnson and Hyde.

Its the leadership group that the WC is hanging for, all in one deal. ;)

Obeanie1
8 Jul 2008, 18:47
dude, forget Tambling he is a hack and the tigers are far to polite to offload hacks to other clubs...I will go out on a limb here, knowing that quite a few tigerheads will bag me for devulging the top secret info, but with a home ground of Subi, the players you need to compliment the new breed and lead by example are Tivendale and Pettifer. This would address your lack of runners,Tivendale, and lack of scorers Pettifer.
Take tip, Kerr + Number 1 pick for Pettifer, Tivendale & we can even throw in the steeak knives in 2 absolute champion taggers in Johnson and Hyde.

Its the leadership group that the WC is hanging for, all in one deal. ;)

Wow.....gee thanks for that:)

:cool:OK, honestly.....you sell used cars, real estate or life insurance .....DON'T you?:D

THE_GUN
8 Jul 2008, 21:37
Correct

You can Keep that Crab Tambling hell you can have fletcher as well just to sweeten the deal and we will take JON:thumbsu: man you must be on some really good sh!t there , so you are saying that potentially
watts or mckernan + rance + gourdis in exchange for that little #### that has 4-5 years left if lucky..................

get a life.

Tigers4premiers
8 Jul 2008, 21:43
we dont want kerr, we dont want to trade draft picks for old guys to ruin our premiership chances like the saints have

CoggaRules
9 Jul 2008, 10:33
Wow.....gee thanks for that:)

:cool:OK, honestly.....you sell used cars, real estate or life insurance .....DON'T you?:D

ahhh, but the pay off will come year after next and the year after that.... money back guarantee of getting number 1 draft picks both years....;)

Get out clause for guarantee - number 1 picks after GC have their dip..

Mop
9 Jul 2008, 19:10
Simple minds... :o

You're thinking about it the wrong way. You're thinking about 2009.

What about when Deledio is leading the club to a flag in 2015?

Kerr will be long gone while Pick 6 + Tambling could be the difference between a flag and finishing 7th.

Long term.

Long term.

Long term.

Say it again!

I keep hearing this but here is the reality.

Kerr is 26/27 next year.

Will take a year to gel before he really fires (see Chris Judd, Nathan G. Brown, Akermanis etc, etc).

Therefore we have Daniel Kerr on our list playing elite football for 2 years while he's 27-29 with his form beginning to decline right when our youngsters start to fire.

The brutallity he's copped since he was 19 playing in the midfield means he won't be an elite player after he's 29. Just remember, when Kane Johnson was 25 we paid Pick 2 for him because he was a superstar back then.

At least now he is a great leader despite being worn out last year at 29 years old!!

Kerr may be better than Kane Johnson at 29 years old, but without the off-field leadership if he loses form.

23?

Try 21 :D

Bling will be a gun, and at worse will be Leon Davis mk 2.
Don't you just have a vivid imagination.
Kerr > pick 6.

By a mile.
Top 5 mid in the AFL, and your idea of fair is pick 6?

Hah.
Yeah.
No thanks.