View Full Version : Eagles vs Roos: The (very) Good, Bad & Ugly

Mead
1 Sep 2002, 21:17
We did it.
It was a tough, tight, scrappy game, with, the advantage frequently seesawing between the two warring sides, but in the end we beat the umpires, thank goodness. (Their may have been some Kangaroos out there as well, I forget..)
Seriously, there had to be about four or five times where one team or the other got control, only to be overhauled minutes later. When we finally pulled clear in the last ten minutes of the final quarter, the sense of euphoria was just unbelievable. Peter Filandia should be kept well away from this team, because we are certainly not lacking in the testicular fortitude department. With the chips down, and the game in the balance, the whole team lifted it up a notch. So, deservedly, it's finals here we come!!

The Good: Maybe its the september euphoria hitting me here, but I can't help but feel there are quite a few players deserving of platitudes
First off- Ben Cousins. I've been a bit harsh on the EB in recent weeks, but in Manuka, he rebounded magnificently from a few flat weeks, doing everything a Captain should do, and more. He toiled all over the ground all day, and the link between him and Gardiner was unbelievable- seemed that every ruck knock would find Cousins' chest. Incredibly he lifted yet another notch in the final quarter, where there was barely a passage of play which he didn't figure in. For my mind, the thing which epitomised all thats good about his game happened about midway through the 4th, when we were in front by a single goal- Cousins, fighting his way clear of a pack, bouncing off a player, hitting the ground, finding the ball again and handballing it clear to an Eagle (who then kicked long to Wilson for a mark and goal!) The truly elite players in the league have the ability to step up and carry their team when it really matters, and Cousins did that today.
Incidentally, Gardiner also played what I felt was one of his best games of the season, dominating in the ruck, playing mobile, hard running footy, and (hallelujah) actually kicking reasonably accurately for a change. If its all the same, I'd prefer if we didn't trade him!
Next on the list, Cousins' midfield partner in crime, Dan-the-Man. Kerr was his usual self in the midfield, running till he dropped, getting at the bottom of every pack, getting scragged, and still getting the ball out. More to the point, he was also very damaging on the scoreboard- he kicked 4 goals including one superb snap across his body from 40m deep in the pocket.

Our forward line functioned pretty well, for a change. After a hectic week spent disciplining Dickie Taylor to try and get him back into form (incidentally, Taylor had a pretty good game) Phil Matera gave Makepeace a regularly towelling up, finishing with 6 goals. The nature of his opportunistic game means that some weeks, Fido is very quiet, and sometimes he is very active, depending on whether the ball drops his way. Gee its nice when he has days like today, though :)
Troy Wilson also had a barnstorming return to the big league, with 5 goals, as well as two excellent flyers, one falling back into a pack over Phil Matera, and one leaping clean over a Roo's shoulders to take a screamer. And Dermott still thinks he can't jump. Welcome back, Porno.
Others efforts of note were the ever dangerous Judd, a very poised performance by Hunter, a promising debut by MacDougall at CHF, and strong games from all three of the old farts, Jako courageously returning to play some of his best footy of the day after jarring his knee, Milli nailing down the FB position as per usual, and Peter Matera playing a superb game across the HB flank and in the midfield, proving that all three of these guys haven't lost their taste for finals footy. Bring on the Bombers!

The Bad: David Haynes blew what could be one of his last ever chances, with another timid performance, and (what really made me spit) missing a bread and butter shot on goal. As per usual his opponent on the HF flank tore him up on the rebound. Haynes and fellow flunkey Embley*might* get another season with the Eagles, but they've done nothing to deserve it.
I have a sense of acute deja vu when I say that Drew Banfield ruined what was otherwise a pretty good game from him with some appalling disposal, but aside from this, nearly everyone pulled their weight.

The Ugly: The whole game smacked of the AFL considering it a bit of an afterthought as far as the 'real' season went. It was played in front of a dinky little crowd at a dinky little ground in Manuka, and one with a freaking CRICKET PITCH smack bang in the middle of the ground. If the Roos come to perth next year, what say we tell them we're going to be playing the game on a gravel road outside kalgoorlie, as part of our community outreach program?
Incidentally, I was very very sad to see Cox go down early on with an ankle problem, partly because of what it could have done to our chances on the day, but also the chance that it will carry over to next week. Dean has been a big part of of our success this year, carrying a burden as the key ruckmen with a maturity beyond his years. He deserves finals footy as much as anyone on the team, and I hope he gets the chance this year.
The Umpiring was appalling, period, and seemed to go against us all day. If we had have lost this one, I would have been very very very bitter indeed.
Final entry in ugly- Mick Martyn, who is here because a.) he is ugly, and b.) he was downright dirty all day. I had to smile watching him try to physically intimidate Wilson by stroking his pecs (didn't know Micky swung that way!). The niggling continued all day, which was okay, because Wilson continued kicking goals on the old fart all day. Troy seemed more nonplussed than anything else by poor old senile Mick's attempts to beat up on a guy twice his size, and to his credit Wilson held his temper, which is lucky given that if he had have taken Mick seriously, Wilson would have made him into an ugly, bald, smear on the ground. Having said that, the two incidents where he stepped on Wilsons kicking foot after the mark, and later gave him a thump over the ear were both dirty, pure and simple.

Well, alls well that ends well, and now the real challenge begins!

ozzult
1 Sep 2002, 21:39
Pretty spot on there.

Although I think Banfields game was very good, he only had one or two shocking disposals, but still he tried his guts out all day.

I think Braun deserves a mention as well, he really did put in 110%, I hope he stays in WA, he's a good player.

ozzult
1 Sep 2002, 21:41
Oh also, on Mick Martyn, he's just an old fart who has realised he is out of the game and couldn't control his opponent with actual decent defensive skill or tactics and tried to resort to dirty tactics.

Didn't really bother me in the end because Willo didn't have to respond with his strength or his fists, he responded with his effect on the scoreboard.

Too bad Martyn, you're an old fart that can't get over the fact that you're past it.

The only thing that really got up my nose was when he stepped on his ankle because it looked for a minute that it was a serious injury.

Au_Blue#24
1 Sep 2002, 21:47
Well done to woosha and the boys. Great game and we showed heaps of ticker when required.

I think we'd be half a chance against the bombers next week.

Just to highlight the bad, in one word "DERMIE". What a ****in spanker this guy is. Its not enough we have to put up with biased 2nd rate commentery, but also having to listen to this dickhed laugh and giggle at Mick Martyn sad display of someone who should have hung the boots up back in 1999. His performance on wilson was pathetic and full kudos to willo for not getting sucked in. Although a nice sharp uppercut to the chin was begging.

Biatch over..

Go the eagles

bunsen burner
1 Sep 2002, 21:53
Just got back from the game. One of the best games that I have seen live. Midway through the last quarter I was thinking, "This performance just might win Cousins the Brownlow". He led from the front today.

carneagles
1 Sep 2002, 21:55
It was pretty pleasing to see Wilson kick a bag on Martyn today. Martyn usually had the wood on Sumich when he played - he'd put Suma in a headlock before the opening siren and that'd be it for the day. Good on you Willo.

Mead
1 Sep 2002, 23:30
Originally posted by Au_Blue#24
Well done to woosha and the boys. Great game and we showed heaps of ticker when required.

I think we'd be half a chance against the bombers next week.

Just to highlight the bad, in one word "DERMIE". What a ****in spanker this guy is. Its not enough we have to put up with biased 2nd rate commentery, but also having to listen to this dickhed laugh and giggle at Mick Martyn sad display of someone who should have hung the boots up back in 1999. His performance on wilson was pathetic and full kudos to willo for not getting sucked in. Although a nice sharp uppercut to the chin was begging.

Biatch over..

Go the eagles

Hmm, can't believe I forgot to mention the w*nkers in the commentary box- there is something seriously wrong when Dermott Brereton is the sharpest tool in the commentary shed. In every regard, this seemed like the game the AFL couldn't care less about- second rate venue, second rate coverage (once again, they DIDN'T SHOW THE TEAM SONG in the rooms, although now I'm wondering if Manuka even has rooms), pathetic umpiring, pathetic commentatary team- none of which did justice to what was a very tight, hard game between to tough teams. It deserved better

jod23
1 Sep 2002, 23:54
Good

Daniel Kerr - the guy is a freak. IMHO i think he is now amongst some of the best midfielders in the game. Kicked 4 goals but also kicked them at important times. Was always at the bottom of packs, his tackling, his pressure, his run, his decision making. The kid is a star. As much as im excited about Judd, Kerr has impressed me even more in just his second season. That poll not long ago on the main board of Haselby or Kerr....Kerr easily!

Ben Cousins - should get the 3 come brownlow night for a great display from start to finish. I think it was 8 all early in the first and i looked at the clock in the top corner and it was down to 15 minutes left in the first. I thought, 5 minutes have gone by and i havent seen Cuz yet. I was worried....but then low and behold he turns in a BOG performance. His understanding with Gardiner is amazing and watching Gardiner jump high and plant it onto Cuz's chest a full speed and then blasting out of the centre square to deliver it into the forward line....well its beautiful to watch.

2 passages of play summed up Cousins i thought, the first was a centre bounce down, he got first hands but not clean, paddled it forward, went to ground, bounced back up for a second effort, followed it, Roos player almost got it...third effort, almost tackled, handpasses it forward....fourth effort finally gets it and releases and to an Eagles player in space. He just wouldnt quit until he got the ball and helped his team. Second was at half forward, a contest, Cuz went to ground, Roos player looked to have it but he too was on the ground, Cousins sort of leapt forward on all fours to provide a sort of on the ground sheperd which allowed Matera to run onto the ball. Just the little things that he does. He played a ripper.

Phillip Matera was back to his best with a 6 goal haul and ended the year as our leading goalkicker. Wilson is back and hasnt missed a step, embarrassed Martyn all day. Jako and Milli again standing tall in defence, Hunter and Green also through the middle and across half back. Banners, Taylor and Braun giving it everything they had....I could go on and on.

Oh and of course Gardiner, was unsighted in the first as he played mainly at CHF, when Cox went down he came into the ruck and dominated, controlled most of the taps and was very mobile, also kicked a great goal.

Bad

Only thing i could find was Haynes, who didnt play that well. Also missed a real easy shot on goal which annoyed me. Cox going down is also in the bad category. Probably good for the team in the end as Gardiner turned it on in the ruck but i hope its not serious and he can play next week. He deserves a finals game after his super human effort, covering for Gardy mid season.

Ugly

The umpiring but that's all being said. Also Martyn being an absloute dirty hack! Jako for a minute....boy was i worried! Glad he ran the game out well. Also in the ugly, 9's ****house coverage. I was so immensely happy that it didnt annoy me at the time but they wrapped it up nice and quickly so they could get the all important Funniest Home Videos on!!! :mad: We didnt see the song, some interviews. Saw a bit of the song on the news and they looked great...saw Cousins who was shaking some guys hand in the locker room, he looked like he was in heaven, saw Matera and Jako who both looked very happy yet emotional too...but all of these were just 2 or 3 second clips on the news. Channel 9 suck!

Thrawn666
1 Sep 2002, 23:58
Ive been waiting for this all day :D

Ugly

Michael Braun's new do

though im sure its a hit with the ladies ;)

carneagles
1 Sep 2002, 23:59
Originally posted by Thrawn666

Ugly

Michael Braun's new doOi! Leave MDB alone!

And remember - the "D" is for Disco!

daddy_4_eyes
2 Sep 2002, 00:02
Originally posted by Mead
Milli nailing down the FB position as per usua

Personally, I thought Milli had a poor game. Kick outs were poor, opponent too often got away from him, and he didn't do much around the ground. But I suppose everyone's entitled to an average game every 200-odd games or so ;)

On the commentators, they were crap. At one stage they said "what a poor kickout by Jakovich that was" and carried on about it for a good minute. I was sitting there scratching my head thinking how on earth you could possibly mistake Milli for Jako.(oh thats right, they only have 200+ games each :rolleyes: )

Eagle_Fan
2 Sep 2002, 04:28
Originally posted by Thrawn666
Ive been waiting for this all day :D

Ugly

Michael Braun's new do

though im sure its a hit with the ladies ;)

That 'haircut' (if you can even call it that) was the lowlight of the day as far as I'm concerned. Luckily there's time enough for him to grow it out before next season. Brauneys a champ (LOVE the avatar carneagles), but it's just not the same with the blondeness :( ;) Bring back the flowing ginger... :p

Anyway, I've been floating around the place on a massive high and grinning like a psychopath all day, so suffice to say if that was the downside, we did good :) But there is currently a 'work in progress' that I hope to post by the weekend that will put forward my thoughts on the week and the season, so I won't attempt anything now.

To the Cats fans, comiserations. I guess Geelong, Eagles and finals just don't go together? Your kids are good though.
Kangas - good tough & tight game today. Your 'outs' made it harder for you, and I just hope you guys realise why we're all so stoked and take our celebrations with a grain of salt :)
Bombres - BRING IT ON! :D

Goodnight.

carneagles
2 Sep 2002, 12:24
Originally posted by bunsen burner
Just got back from the game. Lucky bastard.

It seemed from the TV that there was more (or more vocal) WCE support at the ground than for the Roos. What was it like at the ground?

vicki
2 Sep 2002, 12:51
The Good: An absolute team effort. The midfield was at it's best - Ben is a marvel, Daniel played his best game and his kicking (especially for goal) was a highlight.Chris Judd is going to be one of the best ever - we should sign him now for a five year deal!Brauny was fantastic - he has always been one of my favourites.
The legends were their usual selves - legendary. Phil was fantastic. Willo was awesome - his mark should feature in Marks of the Year.The "second tier players" who, some 6PR experts say, are second rate (what the!) really stood up. The babies i.e Jeremy Humm, Andrew McDougall showed they have what it takes. And I just love Banners - his heart is as big as himself!

I think we can look forward to next
Saturday with some confidence. I think a Sunday game would have been a fairer draw - but then again, when have the AFL ever taken fairness into account when dealing with the Eagles??

The Bad: The shocking effort by those in the commentary box. Dermott Brereton is an absolute tool - his inane giggling all the time just drives me crazy! How he thought it was amusing when that old has-been Martyn deliberately put all his not inconsiderable weight on Willo's ankle, just defies description. I'm sure if the same treatment had been handed out to Lloyd, the reaction would not have been the same. Martyn's pathetic efforts to unsettle Willo were an absolute joke. If Martyn knew anything at all, he would know that Willo just ignores any of that crap and just plays his game. And Brereton should maybe put his mind into gear before opening his mouth - how many times did he say Willo can't jump - he obviously has not watched Willo very often.

The Ugly: Mick Martyn - he should give it way. He may well be a "great fella" as Dermott kept pointing out but he is well past his useby date and is merely tarnishing his career.
The television deal - what a disgrace that as soon as the game was over, we were taken off before we even were able to see the team leave the field, no interviews, no team song, nothing.

Voice of Reason
2 Sep 2002, 13:05
Originally posted by vicki

The Bad: The shocking effort by those in the commentary box. Dermott Brereton is an absolute tool - his inane giggling all the time just drives me crazy! How he thought it was amusing when that old has-been Martyn deliberately put all his not inconsiderable weight on Willo's ankle, just defies description. I'm sure if the same treatment had been handed out to Lloyd, the reaction would not have been the same. Martyn's pathetic efforts to unsettle Willo were an absolute joke. If Martyn knew anything at all, he would know that Willo just ignores any of that crap and just plays his game. And Brereton should maybe put his mind into gear before opening his mouth - how many times did he say Willo can't jump - he obviously has not watched Willo very often.

Absolutely.

As Willo took the mark of the day/week/season while standing on John Blakey's head with Old Has-Been ineffectually punching him in the face on the way down, I shouted Wilson!!!!! Can't Jump! at the TV/Dermott. This was shortly before Willo kicked a goal from 50 (again).

What I hate about Brereton is the way he pretends he's seen everything coming and rationalises what we've just seen as if he could see it all coming. eg. as the Kangaroos go ahead by a point in the 4th quarter "I tipped this" as if it was obvious that the Eagles couldn't maintain the intensity through the last quarter.

Didn't hear much of him after that!

noodle
2 Sep 2002, 13:11
Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes

On the commentators, they were crap. At one stage they said "what a poor kickout by Jakovich that was" and carried on about it for a good minute. I was sitting there scratching my head thinking how on earth you could possibly mistake Milli for Jako.(oh thats right, they only have 200+ games each :rolleyes: )

i best part about that comment was that dermie was crapping on about what a ppor kick jak was. "jako" kicked it in and it was marked by...... you guessed it Jako.

noodle
2 Sep 2002, 13:13
Good
------------

it was great to see some of the lesser players stand up today.
Humm- hard at it all day. fantastic effort.
Munro- before today i thought that he hadn't shown squat all ability.

Frodo
2 Sep 2002, 13:29
Good.

Every single player including Haynes and Munro

Bad

Mick Martyn, the umpires, the ground, the commentary, not going to the rooms after the game.

Ugly

Mick Martyn, Freo disgracing WA by being a bottom four cellar dweller again

ps I agree about Milli's kicking in, it's been terrible for years. 99% of the time it's the predictable kick to left HB where Jako awaits. Wooden is far better, but we need to work out some tactics. We seem to be stationary rather than reating space for an other Eagle to run into and mark.

Incidentally, I think our coaching is also weak in the ruck/ on ball area. We win the tap so many times and end up being sharked and losing posession

TheRealBuzz
2 Sep 2002, 14:59
Good

I'm with Frodo, every player (except perhaps Hunter) contributed yesterday.

I thought Haynes did some good things, but let himself down with his decision-making and foot skills. He always seems very eager to play-on as quickly as possible. I think he should settle down a bit after a mark and think his way through his next move.

Humm is a favourite of mine, and I was very happy with his contribution. I think he could eventually become part of the midfield and lend a hand to Dan Kerr at the bottom of packs. It would complement blokes like Cuzz, Fletcher, Judd, Chambers and Wirra who like doing the flashy stuff more then winning the ball.

Bad

I thought Hunter, at times, was very weak in the one-on-one contests with his opponent, and cost us a few goals. He's still had a great season though.

Cox's injury. Poor bloke will probably miss out next week, which is a real shame for him.

Ugly

The umpiring. I never usually complain about the maggots, but yesterday it was poor.

bunsen burner
2 Sep 2002, 15:32
Originally posted by carneagles
Lucky bastard.

It seemed from the TV that there was more (or more vocal) WCE support at the ground than for the Roos. What was it like at the ground? I was sitting close to the scoreboard and there seemed to be more Eagles supporters. I think a heap of ex-pat sandgropers went down from Sydney.

bunsen burner
2 Sep 2002, 15:35
I thought Jako was pretty ordinary. He seemed to make a lot of mistakes yesterday. I will have to wait til tomorrow so I can watch the game on Fox. You seem to see the game from a different perspective when you are at the game. Maybe Jako made all his mistakes when he was playing near me!

Jafa
2 Sep 2002, 18:54
For the proposed Roo`s v Eagles game in Kalgoorlie. Can we have it on the paddock outside my workshop in West Kal?

I’ll hook up the Web Cam and post pictures as the game progresses. The boys can use the shed for their change rooms.

We are right next to the airport so every one can just stroll across and meander back when they have finished.

Very rarely get the chance to come down to Perth to see the guys play. I’ll even reserve some seats on the roof for any one that wants to come up.

carlyp
2 Sep 2002, 18:58
Originally posted by bunsen burner
I thought Jako was pretty ordinary. He seemed to make a lot of mistakes yesterday. I will have to wait til tomorrow so I can watch the game on Fox. You seem to see the game from a different perspective when you are at the game. Maybe Jako made all his mistakes when he was playing near me!

Yeah like when he marked it in defense and proceeded to run when there was about 5 North players ready to jump! He ran..they tackled..turnover and voila..they had a goal!

nearlyblonde
2 Sep 2002, 19:35
Must say that Troy Wilson impressed the hell out of me the way he handled Dermie`s Good Bloke friend. Talk about self control!! Fantastic!!

Were they great or what????

WA
2 Sep 2002, 20:22
Pretty much ditto to what everyone else has said. I'm one very happy Eagles supporter.

No point saying anything more on Martyn, it's all been said. He's an idiot. Wilson had the last laugh anyway. :D

Dermie usually makes the odd reasonable comment, but was nothing short of embarrassing during yesterday's game. I had the same thought as VoR on him 'tipping' everything.

Wilson showed a heap of self restraint and that, topped with his performance, should hopefully be enough for the media to get off his back about him 'probably' not being given another contract. Not only his five & a couple of good marks, but he was responsible for another couple too. :D
He's not stupid, any form of retaliation and sure enough he'd have been the one suspended, not worth the risk of missing FINALS action - omg, I can't believe I'm actually able to mention us & finals action together in one sentence!

Raelene
2 Sep 2002, 21:10
Re the commentators - Dermie was having a field day with all his 'funny' remarks, because Cometti was sick and was not there to bring him into line.
It was marvellous hearing so much cheering for the eagles in an away game. Keep it up eastern state supporters!
It is very apparent that when the Captain plays well, he stirs the whole team up and they react to it. Good to see. Really everyone did some good at some time during the day.

carneagles
2 Sep 2002, 21:32
Originally posted by Raelene
Re the commentators - Dermie was having a field day with all his 'funny' remarks, because Cometti was sick and was not there to bring him into line.All the Kerr wisecracks seemed a bit rehearsed, didn't they.

I suspect that the infamous BF Cometti thread and its email/press imitators may have created a monster - seems like every commentator's trying to be a goddamned comedian.