View Full Version : Swans V Pies - worst game ever?

vinum coupe
5 Jul 2008, 21:02
Seriously, it has to be close

David_Rodan
5 Jul 2008, 21:03
Are you stupid....have a look at the awesome marks on display you idiot no where near it.

Baby Duck
5 Jul 2008, 21:04
Boring as bat shit. Two decent marks will never make it a good game moron.

Lockyer24
5 Jul 2008, 21:10
Would be a fine display of football if we could kick straight for goal

WakeUpTaz
5 Jul 2008, 21:11
Have a cry you tosser, stop watching it then. Moron

philhawk
Unfortunately, the condition of the ground doesn't help anyone.

Players aren't confident enough to fully go through with their kicks for fear of doing a knee.

MalceskiFan
Yep, shocking game. Smart coaching by Malthouse though. He's making sure when the pies attack that they leave enough numbers outside their 50 to stop us rebounding. I would have thought that after having it done to us 3 times last year Roos would have figured it out by now.

Willow_2000
5 Jul 2008, 21:12
The kicking is pretty poor from both sides but other than that how could a game be boring when Sydney are losing :D.

Kirks a bloody gun.

derro
swans suck boring ____

Shawt
You've not seen much of St Kilda's first half of the year I take it

This isn't even the worst game of the year, let alone worthy of the hefty... "ever" :o

Ron
The contested marking by the Pies forwards is the only redeemable thing about this game.

Sydney's gameplan plus the shocking state of the ground equals a boring game.

lions_den
5 Jul 2008, 21:13
Whenever Sydney is playing it's always in contention for worst game. I'm not watching anymore of this crap.

JOELY
5 Jul 2008, 21:13
Let's face it, for a neutral, this is shocker.

halfback dasher
5 Jul 2008, 21:15
The contested marking by the Pies forwards is the only redeemable thing about this game.

Sydney's gameplan plus the shocking state of the ground equals a boring game.
with ya, hay boys ,your thoughts on HALL?Is this bloke a dik?did he connect?:confused:

blues4flag
5 Jul 2008, 21:16
It seems we get a "worst game of the year/ever" thread on hear every week. With Saints taking the week off, Sydney's a perfect candidate for the tag. :)

magic.merkin
5 Jul 2008, 21:17
we are averaging 100 ppg this year are on a 6 straight winning streak? wtf do we have to do, to be classed as attacking?

Giddy Up
5 Jul 2008, 21:18
its so so sloooooooooooooooooow. i just wish we kicked straighter!

Invigoration
5 Jul 2008, 21:19
The ground condition is appalling, it has turned this game into virtually a wet weather encounter

Pie Fight
5 Jul 2008, 21:29
we are averaging 100 ppg this year are on a 6 straight winning streak? wtf do we have to do, to be classed as attacking?
Kick more than 1 goal in a half, you defensifive f*ckers.l

kirky
5 Jul 2008, 21:33

Maybe but the past 6 weeks have been against Essendon, Port Adelaide, Richmond, West Coast, St Kilda and Melbourne. Not one of the top 3 teams! Your form is over-rated.

BBBaz
5 Jul 2008, 21:35
The Sydney folk will love it - at the moment it is a reasonable score for a rugby match. Seriously though - are both these teams really in the 8?

halfback dasher
5 Jul 2008, 21:42
Maybe but the past 6 weeks have been against Essendon, Port Adelaide, Richmond, West Coast, St Kilda and Melbourne. Not one of the top 3 teams! Your form is over-rated.
yawn.....yer,what he said ,YAWN....NIGHTNEVERY ONE,IM OFF TO BED

Father Jack
5 Jul 2008, 21:43
what makes it worse is that this is it for the weekend. no Sunday redemption possible.

Duskfire
5 Jul 2008, 21:43
I can't stop watching. Its like a train wreck. My brain says no but my body just demands more torture. Please make it stop!

Caj
5 Jul 2008, 21:45
Yes - Floodingwood

kirky
5 Jul 2008, 21:46
I can't stop watching. Its like a train wreck. My brain says no but my body just demands more torture. Please make it stop!

Your lot are in no danger going back to back. Went last night and whilst very disappointed with our effort, your team was very enjoyable to watch in action. Good luck to you and enjoy.

vinum coupe
5 Jul 2008, 21:47
Lucky the AFL pumped this game up so much....

I was shattered in 81' when I played Big M footy at Moorabbin (on the whole ground) and we'd only kicked 1 goal at half time.

Sydney should get points for kicking backwards to even it up.

mediumsizered
5 Jul 2008, 21:48
It just seems that Sydney are scared to take the game on. Totally sticking to the percentages, aiming for total ball security, but as a result Collingwood are able to get players behind the ball & have plenty of time to man up when required. A couple of 50 metre kicks to contests, might help break the shackles, otherwise Sydney are going to struggle to kick 5 goals for the game.

Skeppersap
5 Jul 2008, 21:50
At half time Australia have scored 15 more points in the Union international than Sydney have!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

on a side note, did anyone see that shiner in the Union? It nearly made me sick!

BBBaz
5 Jul 2008, 21:51
Wife and I are cheering and toasting every point or out of bounds on the full. Gonna be shitfaced.......:thumbsu:

huggy_b
5 Jul 2008, 21:52
Unpossible - apparently only the Saints play boring football and we drag everyone down to our level?

Willow_2000
5 Jul 2008, 21:54
Wife and I are cheering and toasting every point or out of bounds on the full. Gonna be shitfaced.......:thumbsu:
Me and my mates did this a few weeks back for the WC Vs Cats game. We skulled every time Ablett got the ball and when ever Geelong kicked a goal, It got a bit messy towards the end.

Dave The Man
5 Jul 2008, 21:56
Nah - It's a Great Game:)

catters05
5 Jul 2008, 21:58
The only possible things to save this from the worst ever game.

1. Jennifer Hawkins streaks.
2. Barry Hall starts an all in brawl in the last quarter and knocks out two pie players.
3. Sydney learn how to go forward and get within a goal at the end of the game or win.

Dave The Man
5 Jul 2008, 21:58
Yes - Floodingwood

Have a Cry that we are just better than you and You are our Bitch:thumbsu:

Ari
5 Jul 2008, 21:59
Is rather funny. I support Essendon and this game is shit... says a lot!!

sherrinorburley
5 Jul 2008, 22:02
AD & co just sent the script.

7 goal last quarter to Sydney only to lose by a point.
Hailed as one of the games of the year. Need another Sydney side, too much heart for one NSW team.

____ the script, go pies!

OniAu
5 Jul 2008, 22:05
no goodes no sydney

catters05
5 Jul 2008, 22:06
no goodes no sydney

Yep. They are shit.

Catsace
5 Jul 2008, 22:10
Collingwood just absolutely own Sydney, they are the definitave 'bitches' that a side could ever be. Swans are as uncompetitive as they were in the early 90's. Collingwood just own the space on the ground and control the tempo.

Collingwood own Sydney and have a great record against Geelong. Can someone though please answer....HOW THE F$%# DO THEY LOSE TO CARLTON?????????????????????????????

BLPC08
5 Jul 2008, 22:14
Have a cry you tosser, stop watching it then. Moron

I think we have all stopped watching, worst game ever!

BLPC08
5 Jul 2008, 22:16
Collingwood just absolutely own Sydney, they are the definitave 'bitches' that a side could ever be. Swans are as uncompetitive as they were in the early 90's. Collingwood just own the space on the ground and control the tempo.

Collingwood own Sydney and have a great record against Geelong. Can someone though please answer....HOW THE F$%# DO THEY LOSE TO CARLTON?????????????????????????????

Sydney basically screw themselves over going into any match against Collingwood with the attitude "its going to happen", Carlton actually play to win.

vinum coupe
5 Jul 2008, 22:18
ha ha ha ha ha, and huddo has just pulled out the "and the swans have just kicked 3 in a row, could they come back like the blues did....."

It is akin to the US golf call "now he is still a chance if he pots this from the bunker"

catters05
5 Jul 2008, 22:18
Now its getting alright.

BLPC08
5 Jul 2008, 22:24
Gee Sydney are a joke!!! HOW MANY DAMN MISSES!!

hawks_time
5 Jul 2008, 22:25
5-13 plays 9-13. This is shocking in front of goal and I was at the Hawks v Tiges game.

kirky
5 Jul 2008, 22:32

Sydney are Adelaide's bitches. Adelaide have won 8 of their last 9 encounters over Sydney in the past 6 years. Look forward to our next meeting in 3 weeks.

joejoe
5 Jul 2008, 23:01
Couldn't stand to watch that garbage:thumbsd:

Whenever St.Kilda, Sydney or Collingwood play each other you're in for a long boring game of coaching tactics

Lockyer24
6 Jul 2008, 13:09

Whenever St.Kilda, Sydney or Collingwood play each other you're in for a long boring game of coaching tactics

Crows Pies will be a stinker next week too, more your teams fault though I reckon

parrot
6 Jul 2008, 13:19

Yep, it was complete ultra-defensive rubbish football. A truly painful spectacle. :)

joejoe
6 Jul 2008, 13:25
Crows Pies will be a stinker next week too, more your teams fault though I reckon

Can't wait to see the looks on them feral carni's faces when we belt you're pathetic rabble:thumbsu:

parrot
6 Jul 2008, 13:25

The reason is Carlton have a bucketload of raw talent and they know it. They back themselves to take the game on and run over ANY team in the comp rather than having to wait for their opponents to make mistakes like the Pies did last night. Malthouse knows he hasn't got the list talent to have a shootout with the top-8 sides, and so he resorts to this ultradefensive rubbish. The problem last night was that both teams resorted to the same ugly tactics, hence the painful exhibition. :)

L_J_T
6 Jul 2008, 13:30
worst game of footy i have watched in quite some time.

MACDAICOS
6 Jul 2008, 14:04

I agree, not as good as the Round 9 Collingwood V Geelong game.

Daniel Price
6 Jul 2008, 14:11

This is coming from the team that was 6 goals down in the 2nd qtr and they were kicking backwards? Crows r piss poor and will get pumped at the MCG

parrot
6 Jul 2008, 14:22
....beat an undermanned Collingwood by only 10 points on their home ground with two players off the field and unable to return, and a number of players out....

The good ol' Collingwood Supporter failure excuses. lol. They are a football institution. It's almost painful watching Collingwood supporters try to avoid the reality that their list is rubbish. Last night's painful spectacle was no surprise. Both teams will never progress playing that sort of footy. :)

Cassius_Clay
6 Jul 2008, 14:33

Collingwood?

Replace them with Adelaide and you're right.

KissStephanie
6 Jul 2008, 14:58
Seriously, it has to be closeI have not heard one commentator or journo claim it was anything like the worst game ever. It was a terrific win by Collingwood who has beaten two teams in the top-4 now, and will be within a half a game of the top-4 themselves this time next week if the favourites win. The game was marred by the length of the grass and the shifting soil of course, so instead of beginning a thread regarding the quality of the game, maybe the quality of the ground would be more apt.

As for your team, Geelong players don't give a stuff about their supporters and are only playing to win for themselves. If Geelong don't win the premiership, then that would be an under achievement. If they do win the premiership, then the supporters are not a part of it, so they have nothing to celebrate. It's a lose-lose situation for Geelong supporters this season.Wife and I are cheering and toasting every point or out of bounds on the full. Gonna be shitfaced.......:thumbsu:Not much going on in Wycheproof on a Sat'day night then?Seriously though - are both these teams really in the 8?Yes, both of them are in the eight. Collingwood beat Sydney by more than the Bulldogs did. When the Bulldogs beat Sydney, the Swans had more scoring shots. A full strength Western Bulldogs beat an undermanned Collingwood by only 10 points on their home ground with two players off the field and unable to return, and a number of players out. I look forward to a Collingwood v. Western Bulldogs rematch in September.The good ol' Collingwood Supporter failure excuses. lol.They are not excuses, but factual observations regarding the Collingwood v. Western Bulldogs match. Which part of my post are you actually disputing as not true?

You barack for a team that you wanted to lose last season. You urged them to lose. You cheered for them to lose. Any supporter such as that has zero credibility regarding their opinion of opposition teams of course.

Do you fair dinkum think that anybody takes your opinion regarding the list of other clubs seriously? If so, then you're even more delusional than you continually show yourself to be. Your team has *won* three wooden spoons in five seasons, and is run by crooks and cheats.

Any team that has been down as long as Carlton has been and received so many top draft choices because of it, should be better than 7 wins and 7 losses by now. Why is it taking so bloody long? Instead, you are arrogant regarding this mediocrity, and their recent collection of wooden spoons.

I'm certainly grateful that Collingwood has not *won* as many wooden spoons as Carlton. I also can't see how Carlton will win any more than three more matches this season when looking at their draw, and I am a Collingwood supporter that has never urged my team to lose, so therefore my opinion means something.

crosby123
6 Jul 2008, 15:09
As for your team, Geelong players don't give a stuff about their supporters and are only playing to win for themselves. If Geelong don't win the premiership, then that would be an under achievement. If they do win the premiership, then the supporters are not a part of it, so they have nothing to celebrate. It's a lose-lose situation for Geelong supporters this season.
Exactly. Nothing worse than winning a premiership.

swiftdog
6 Jul 2008, 15:10
The good ol' Collingwood Supporter failure excuses. lol. They are a football institution. It's almost painful watching Collingwood supporters try to avoid the reality that their list is rubbish. Last night's painful spectacle was no surprise. Both teams will never progress playing that sort of footy. :)

Collingwood's rubbish list = 5th

Carlton's rubbish club and horrible, mercenary, cheating, lying, filth culture = 9th

joejoe
6 Jul 2008, 15:14
Collingwood?

Replace them with Adelaide and you're right.

Did you not watch that junk your team served up last night???

joejoe
6 Jul 2008, 15:17
This is coming from the team that was 6 goals down in the 2nd qtr and they were kicking backwards? Crows r piss poor and will get pumped at the MCG

Get over your obsession with adelaide:thumbsu:

Be sure to come back to big footy and say Hi, after we spank ya's next week

Dundalis
6 Jul 2008, 16:05
As for your team, Geelong players don't give a stuff about their supporters and are only playing to win for themselves. If Geelong don't win the premiership, then that would be an under achievement. If they do win the premiership, then the supporters are not a part of it, so they have nothing to celebrate. It's a lose-lose situation for Geelong supporters this season.
Can I ask, what the hell? I can guarantee that if Geelong win the flag this season, not one Cats supporter will be unhappy. Ridiculous comment. I'd kill for the Pies to be in their position, looking certain of back to back flags.

Brent24
6 Jul 2008, 16:49

The difference is, we only do it to win certain matches, your mob plays hideous football week in week out.

Points For:

Collingwood: 1546
Sydney: 1356
Adelaide: 1332
St Kilda: 1264

Please don't mention our club.

joejoe
6 Jul 2008, 16:53
The difference is, we only do it to win certain matches, your mob plays hideous football week in week out.

Points For:

Collingwood: 1546
Sydney: 1356
Adelaide: 1332
St Kilda: 1264

Please don't mention our club.

I expect the same tactics from collingwood next week, the only difference is you will fail, you've already had you're 1 win for the month

Brent24
6 Jul 2008, 17:00
I expect the same tactics from collingwood next week, the only difference is you will fail, you've already had you're 1 win for the month

At least be realistic when trying to insult our club.

Your side is in the exact same position as Swans, you haven't beaten anyone that matters. You'll be out of top 4 contention in the coming weeks (Adelaide, obviously Sydney will be).

joejoe
6 Jul 2008, 17:06
I am being realistic, i dont rate any club that is in the top 8 at this moment that loses to carlton...twice

See ya's next week.:thumbsu:

Cassius_Clay
6 Jul 2008, 17:12
Did you not watch that junk your team served up last night???
We won. We'll play a shit style against Sydney because thats the best way to beat them. You play that shit style every week so I dunno why you found it so hard to watch.

Every other match we play a free, attacking style of game.

joejoe
6 Jul 2008, 17:16
We won. We'll play a shit style against Sydney because thats the best way to beat them. You play that shit style every week so I dunno why you found it so hard to watch.

Every other game we play a free, attacking style of game.

:Dhmm ok...:rolleyes:

Like i said in the post above see ya's next week:thumbsu:

parrot
6 Jul 2008, 19:15

Every other match we play a free, attacking style of game.

lol. The Pies tried that against the Blues and got thumped a few weeks ago. Remember? The problem is the Pies just don't have the list talent to play that way and win. Malthouse knows that, and that's why you'll see a lot more of that ugly ultradefensive rubbish that we saw last night. :)

Brent24
6 Jul 2008, 19:51
lol. The Pies tried that against the Blues and got thumped a few weeks ago. Remember? The problem is the Pies just don't have the list talent to play that way and win. Malthouse knows that, and that's why you'll see a lot more of that ugly ultradefensive rubbish that we saw last night. :)

Still having nightmares about the Bombers ending your finals chances?

Lockyer24
6 Jul 2008, 19:59
Ha ha. I began to respect the Blue boys for a moment there and then they lost against the 'might' of Essendon. 2 game wonders.

Jak_24
6 Jul 2008, 23:57
The reason is Carlton have a bucketload of raw talent and they know it. They back themselves to take the game on and run over ANY team in the comp rather than having to wait for their opponents to make mistakes like the Pies did last night. Malthouse knows he hasn't got the list talent to have a shootout with the top-8 sides, and so he resorts to this ultradefensive rubbish. The problem last night was that both teams resorted to the same ugly tactics, hence the painful exhibition. :)

neck up parrot, your a fu#$en blow fly.

i have said it before ill say it again so please ask someone to help you read this, if Collingwood is so shit, then what decent teams have the blues beaten this year?

Witts
7 Jul 2008, 01:42
St. Kilda v Hawthorn, a year back?

Swanstar
7 Jul 2008, 02:15
The game matched the surface :o

dalethomas13
7 Jul 2008, 04:03
From a neutral perspective, I can understand it wasn't highly entertaining (free-flowing, high scoring) albeit for a few cases of individual brilliance, particularly contested marking by Collingwood but any side, supporter and coach would be overly thrilled with the ability to restrict a well respected top 4 side such as Sydney to just 2 goals for 3qtrs.

Worst game ever? Not even close. It's pretty clear that title belongs to games usually involving St Kilda or Hawthorn.

Cyclops
7 Jul 2008, 09:16
Ridiculously bad surface. Dewy conditions. High pressure game.

There was good footy to be enjoyed but it wasn't often pretty.

Full marks to DT (2 speccys) Cloke (clean grabs and 50+ metre goal) and Didak (some cheeky taps and kick-ons) for making it look like a dry day from time to time.

Daniel Price
7 Jul 2008, 14:19
Get over your obsession with adelaide:thumbsu:

Be sure to come back to big footy and say Hi, after we spank ya's next week
Trust me its not a obsession. Adelaide are being shown for what they really are, a 5th-8th side in the league.
Collingwood will kill them.

unplugged
7 Jul 2008, 17:47
Trust me its not a obsession. Adelaide are being shown for what they really are, a 5th-8th side in the league.
Collingwood will kill them.

I hope for your sake especially that we do just that lol

patto_man
7 Jul 2008, 18:00
just because dale thomas played

Daniel Price
7 Jul 2008, 18:33
I hope for your sake especially that we do just that lol
I know, im watching the game with my old man who is a Crows supporter so its going to be a long day.

Jak_24
7 Jul 2008, 19:27
we really need to win this game to gain some respect of non respecting clubs, because apparently we havn't beaten enough decent teams.

Can't wait to watch this one, go the pies :rolleyes::thumbsu: