View Full Version : TV Dexter finally coming to FTA
I'm excited, after hearing about it for ages, tomorrow I can actually get to see it, well done channel 10. :thumbsu:
Wonder if they chopped it up?
McManus2Waterhouse
5 Jul 2008, 20:36
yeah as a dexter fan id be worried about the censoring
it says on the ad its uncut but heard some really bad reviews of a censored version that went to air on a different network
FieryNayta
5 Jul 2008, 20:41
Awesome show!
You should just go right out and buy the boxset. No ads, no censoring. Higher quality. You will not regret it.
Season 2 is just as good as the first aswell!:thumbsu:
McManus2Waterhouse
5 Jul 2008, 20:45
yea i think this is one of the best shows ever
i enjoyed season 2 even more than season 1
Awesome show!
You should just go right out and buy the boxset. No ads, no censoring. Higher quality. You will not regret it.
Season 2 is just as good as the first aswell!:thumbsu:
Where do you buy it from? I looked a while back & couldn't see anyone selling it.
Wonder if they chopped it up?
Nup, it's going to air Uncut, there was word that swearing and violence would get cut from the show, but it is airing at 9:50pm tomorrow night so it is a fine time to show it.
Personally I cannot wait to watch it, I have already seen both seasons on Foxtel but there is something about it being on FTA and in HD that is making me want to watch it over again.
Where do you buy it from? I looked a while back & couldn't see anyone selling it.
The first season can be bought anywhere, it sells for around $40 in the shops.
The second season won't be available in Aus until August.
First two seasons are some great TV - I still haven't seen the first six eps of season one so C10 will at least give me the chance to see them.
Will be interesting to see how they go with the censoring, but in any event, I'm pumped for season three later this year.
Also read the first book after watching season one - was a bit of a disappointment to me.
Nup, it's going to air Uncut, there was word that swearing and violence would get cut from the show, but it is airing at 9:50pm tomorrow night so it is a fine time to show it.
Personally I cannot wait to watch it, I have already seen both seasons on Foxtel but there is something about it being on FTA and in HD that is making me want to watch it over again.
Do they broadcast the c-bomb on FTA?
Didn't censor it out on The Sopranos when Tony dropped it in season 5. If it's on late enough I can't see why they would.
Channel 9 did, will 10? Guessing they will :p (Sopranos, Kitchen Nightmares)
So far I've heard it broadcast on Weeds and Sopranos, nothing on Ten yet though, but I am guessing yes, it will all be in the Warning before the show no doubt that there is language and violence etc.
Admiral Afterworld
5 Jul 2008, 23:30
I'm excited, after hearing about it for ages, tomorrow I can actually get to see it, well done channel 10. :thumbsu:
You didn't think to download it?
dont bowl there
6 Jul 2008, 00:15
Great show but watching it with ads would kill it for me. Thank god for torrents!
midorigreenwood
6 Jul 2008, 11:19
if you're an ac nielsen family...... have a squizz for goodness sake.
and stop watching today tonight!!!! :mad:
Channel 10 are a little slow, i'm not going to watch something i have already seen. An outlandish statement i know, but Dexter didn't really set the world on fire with me (my loss i guess) and is not a show i could watch multiple times over.
Lockyer24
6 Jul 2008, 17:47
First series is great but the 2nd is when it gets real real good!
dont bowl there
6 Jul 2008, 18:12
Im the opposite I thought the first season was by far the best, was not a fan of Lila as a character.
I love how I've heard it being promoted as some brand new series. Thanks 10, you guys are only about 2 years behind on this one. Season 3 will be underway before Season 1 is even finished here.
Agreed.
Debra becomes strangely irresistible.
Isandula
6 Jul 2008, 19:59
Ripper of a series, wont mind watching it all again, lets hope 10 dont cut any of it out.
Lockyer24
6 Jul 2008, 20:29
Im the opposite I thought the first season was by far the best, was not a fan of Lila as a character.
Fair point, but it was only a matter of time for her before... ;)
OI, no spoilers for those of us poor people who only have FTA.
Just watched it & gets a big :thumbsu: from me.
FieryNayta
6 Jul 2008, 23:54
OI, no spoilers for those of us poor people who only have FTA.
Just watched it & gets a big :thumbsu: from me.
It only gets better and better aswell, Mantis.
The flashback sequences become more intricate, and begin to tie everything together.
I'd hit it. :thumbsu:
Really dislike the doe eyed blonde, so much I've watched both series and can't remember her name.
Wahooti Fandango
7 Jul 2008, 10:46
The first episode was great. Dexter reminds me of Goran from Criminal Intent.
Gridlock'd
7 Jul 2008, 15:21
I though the first episode was a bit dull for mine. However I was a bit seedy and probably cant make a fair judgement on it.
Will certainly keep watching the coming episodes to see if it picks up.
McManus2Waterhouse
7 Jul 2008, 16:05
yea it really picks up
for me the first 3 or 4 eps were nothing special but then it gets great
Dippers_Mullet
7 Jul 2008, 17:28
It was going good until the whole step-father on boat scenes started to happen. As if you encourage your son to kill people, albeit scum of the earth types.
The credibility died in the arse there.
Still seems like a rather interesting show though, very unique. I'll certainly keep watching it, and just pretend that 'interaction' never happened.
pinkus maximus
7 Jul 2008, 17:43
It was going good until the whole step-father on boat scenes started to happen. As if you encourage your son to kill people, albeit scum of the earth types.
yeah, that was a 'wtf?' moment
i like the end scene, that was a bit creepy
Unfortunately, I was at a wedding last night so I missed it! :(
Am looking forward to catching it next week. Loved the lead actor (name escapes me atm) in Six Feet Under. :thumbsu:
Bender571
7 Jul 2008, 18:03
Still seems like a rather interesting show though, very unique. I'll certainly keep watching it, and just pretend that 'interaction' never happened.
The dad was a cop though. So it could be plausible that the dad knows the mind of a killer and how they can't change their behaviour and so his only real option was to turn him in or to use his 'sickness' as a positive to get back at all the criminals he'd see get off on technacalities.
I've also got a theory that the flashbacks aren't completely real and they are only what Dexter thinks happened, and maybe his warped mind changed his memories to justify his actions.
Any looks like it could be a very good show, I'll be tuning in next week.
McManus2Waterhouse
7 Jul 2008, 19:33
yea bad news for you guys who didnt like dexter and his step dads flash back.
they have a lot of them in each episode and the code that he and his step dad develop is basically what the whole show is based off of
Dippers_Mullet
7 Jul 2008, 20:37
Bugger.
Well it looks like I'll be opting for the age old un-adage, 'only in America.'
Don't worry, it regains credibility when you find out why Dexter is so warped, the problem with Dexter is that he has the urge to kill, his dad being a cop knew how he could use it for good and not in a random kill anyone sort of way, the point is that nothing can stop Dexter's urge and his dad channelled it into something that is for the most part good.
Bugger.
Well it looks like I'll be opting for the age old un-adage, 'only in America.'
I'll use that other American adage...."You aint seen nothin' yet"
RobbyRoy
8 Jul 2008, 11:31
I found the whole dad encouraging murder thing pretty far-fetched but when I got over that the show became one of my top 5 favourite shows.
midorigreenwood
8 Jul 2008, 13:08
if you want far fetched....you should read the Dexter novels....especially the latest one...
that went wayyyyy out to cuckoo cuckoo land.
lucky the show isn't really 100 percent accurate to the books. They were more satirical and farcical while the tv version stuck pretty much to reality.
footylover18
8 Jul 2008, 19:45
What is this show about?
It's about this guy who's the lead singer of a rock band. The 1st season is quite good, but in the 2nd season he becomes a sell out. The 3rd season is going to be made but won't be watched by anyone.
SydneyBomber
8 Jul 2008, 21:13
It's about this guy who's the lead singer of a rock band. The 1st season is quite good, but in the 2nd season he becomes a sell out. The 3rd season is going to be made but won't be watched by anyone.
hahaha :D
isn't the lead singer from offspring named dexter?
is the show a biopic about his life/band? :p
I found the whole dad encouraging murder thing pretty far-fetched but when I got over that the show became one of my top 5 favourite shows.
See, you people aren't really watching the show, he was the Foster Father, now why do kids end up in Foster care? Because they have been through some traumatic experience, the reason the FF said, I don't know what happened to make you so damaged, but you are. So he set about using that damage for good, being a Cop sick of seeing scumbags get off with murder, rape etc., in courts. :thumbsu:
Shane_Mag
9 Jul 2008, 00:17
Saw it on Foxtel. Great show. The First season is really good. Starts off a bit slow but picks up real well. One of my favourite shows.
See, you people aren't really watching the show, he was the Foster Father, now why do kids end up in Foster care? Because they have been through some traumatic experience, the reason the FF said, I don't know what happened to make you so damaged, but you are. So he set about using that damage for good, being a Cop sick of seeing scumbags get off with murder, rape etc., in courts. :thumbsu:
After one episode everyone has deduced that Harry(Dexter's FF) made a weird decision to turn his kid into a serial killer of serial killers, as I said in my post earlier, you find out why he is so warped and why it seems very logical, you also see why it is more fair that Dexter does the killings, amazingly though you have to wait more than 1 episode to find it out!:eek::eek::eek:
exactly HBK, the decision of the father to mold his son this way is in the end a valid one but it takes more than one episode for everything to be revealed.
RobbyRoy
10 Jul 2008, 00:37
After one episode everyone has deduced that Harry(Dexter's FF) made a weird decision to turn his kid into a serial killer of serial killers, as I said in my post earlier, you find out why he is so warped and why it seems very logical, you also see why it is more fair that Dexter does the killings, amazingly though you have to wait more than 1 episode to find it out!:eek::eek::eek:
I downloaded and watched it before it was even on Foxtel, and as I said, it's one of my favourite shows. I know the situation exactly and I still find it hard to believe. I can't imagine a situation like the one between Harry and Dexter ever realistically happening.
grimlock
10 Jul 2008, 00:55
if you want far fetched....you should read the Dexter novels....especially the latest one...
that went wayyyyy out to cuckoo cuckoo land.
lucky the show isn't really 100 percent accurate to the books. They were more satirical and farcical while the tv version stuck pretty much to reality.
I read the first book and I didn't like it. The idea is brilliant but the author's style is just plain terrible. Barely made it through the whole book.
BUMP, don't forget to watch it tonight people. :thumbsu:
Started watching it late last year, but heaps of shit came up and haven't gotten around to getting into it until this weekend. The missus and I watched all of season 1. Love it. Dexter is so weird, but so cool. Love the twists as well.
Season 2 will be starting sometime this week i think.
S2 is out on DVD in Australia in August too.
The Sultan
15 Jul 2008, 00:28
started watcheding it two weeks ago, and alsready looking to DL season one and IQ season two eps on the foxtel. love what i am seeing so far.
Somobody please help. I watched it last night and it was a repeat of the first episode.
Can somebody please tell me if this is right or was I really high the first time I saw it. It felt like Deja Vu.:confused:
On FTA how many episodes should they have by now??
Wahooti Fandango
21 Jul 2008, 10:54
Somobody please help. I watched it last night and it was a repeat of the first episode.
Can somebody please tell me if this is right or was I really high the first time I saw it. It felt like Deja Vu.:confused:
Last night was episode 3, I think.
Gridlock'd
21 Jul 2008, 15:04
its getting better.
You must have been really high. ;)
So is anyone still watching the series on Ten?
Did anyone guess the Ice Truck Killer's identity before last nights episode?
inferno66
1 Sep 2008, 15:00
I managed to guess the identity of the Ice Truck Killer before last night's episode. :thumbsu:
Last night's episode was great... I am really looking forward to the next episode.
I read the first book and I didn't like it. The idea is brilliant but the author's style is just plain terrible. Barely made it through the whole book.
Agreed on the book. Was pretty bad. I got season 1 and 2 on DVD, and they where pretty good. Not in the catergory of brilliant TV, but still good (which is rare on comercial TV). Very predictable though. I'd figured out the killer and the twist pretty much by about a 1/4 of the way through the first season.
First season was VERY predictable, I thought the second was a lot better :thumbsu: (will avoid posting spoilers for those who don't wanna know).
Totally agree. Second season was incredible.
Stokes-Selwood-Prismall
1 Sep 2008, 21:21
Agreed on the book. Was pretty bad. I got season 1 and 2 on DVD, and they where pretty good. Not in the catergory of brilliant TV, but still good (which is rare on comercial TV). Very predictable though. I'd figured out the killer and the twist pretty much by about a 1/4 of the way through the first season.
How the hell did you figure out the twist 1/4 way through the season?
You didnt even see the ice truck killer til episode 6 which is half way through you vaginal beltch.
Admittedly the rudy character was a shady mo fo and I had him pegged as the killer after his first date with deb, but theres no way in hell you could predict the twist until at the absolute earliest next week on ten which is episode 9/12..
Im sure everyone in the forum appreciates your awesomeness though.
How the hell did you figure out the twist 1/4 way through the season?
You didnt even see the ice truck killer til episode 6 which is half way through you vaginal beltch.
Admittedly the rudy character was a shady mo fo and I had him pegged as the killer after his first date with deb, but theres no way in hell you could predict the twist until at the absolute earliest next week on ten which is episode 9/12..
Im sure everyone in the forum appreciates your awesomeness though.
Sorry I don't know the episode guide off by heart :rolleyes: but I know I picked it the ep the killer first appears on screen and the twist before hand, if you can't see that twist considering Dexters back story with Harry after 2 or 3 ep’s, your average viewing schedule must include a lot of Australian Idol. It's not using any higher reasoning of awesomeness, the story was predictable and formulaic. I've read enough crime novels to spot this obvious plot structure and reheated themes. If you are feeling a little intimidated by the intelligence of the average person, maybe you shouldn’t prove you’re a simpleton by using vaginal belch in as an argument.
Season two was better, and harder to pick.
IMO the biggest twist was in the last episode of the first season, don't know if it's one that Drew is talking about as well or not, but that one shocked the shit out of me.
Isandula
3 Sep 2008, 17:20
Just get the DVD's, much better to watch ad free and the second season is the best, has a much harder storyline. Hard to say but it could be about the his kills being found and the whole Lila thing, she really had it interesting and a certain member of the squad *cough* Doaks *cough being framed for the kills and then killed by Lila
Dont highlight if you dont want to know, quite simple really :cool:
IMO the biggest twist was in the last episode of the first season, don't know if it's one that Drew is talking about as well or not, but that one shocked the shit out of me.
Yep, totally took me by surprise, I had a different scenario as to why the Ice Truck Killer was obsessed with him, once again I will say WOW, that was brilliant.
After that I can't wait to see the second series when channel 10 decide to show it, so I ordered it Monday, just have to watch it now.
This would have to be one of the greatest series on TV ever. :thumbsu:
__aria__
2 Oct 2008, 00:59
Sorry I don't know the episode guide off by heart :rolleyes: but I know I picked it the ep the killer first appears on screen and the twist before hand, if you can't see that twist considering Dexters back story with Harry after 2 or 3 ep’s, your average viewing schedule must include a lot of Australian Idol. It's not using any higher reasoning of awesomeness, the story was predictable and formulaic. I've read enough crime novels to spot this obvious plot structure and reheated themes. If you are feeling a little intimidated by the intelligence of the average person, maybe you shouldn’t prove you’re a simpleton by using vaginal belch in as an argument.
Wow.
Wow.
Do you belive him? I know I do. ;)
Shoul add it was on Foxtel ages ago, gee wonder how he knew? :D
Glad you stuck with it Mantis, just wish Ten could've done the same, I know that it was shown on Foxtel months previous to showing on FTA but I feel as though something has been missed by so many people with it getting such poor ratings on Ten, this should've by all rights been a huge hit and Ten should be able to stick with it through Season 2 and then start showing Season 3 pretty much as soon as it has finished in the States.
Instead they banished it to 10:00pm starts and didn't give it a go, not to mention sticking it after Rove, which being a 'comedy/variety' show is not going to get the same audience as Dexter.
Poor move Ten!
BTW What was your theory Mantis?
Glad you stuck with it Mantis, just wish Ten could've done the same, I know that it was shown on Foxtel months previous to showing on FTA but I feel as though something has been missed by so many people with it getting such poor ratings on Ten, this should've by all rights been a huge hit and Ten should be able to stick with it through Season 2 and then start showing Season 3 pretty much as soon as it has finished in the States.
Instead they banished it to 10:00pm starts and didn't give it a go, not to mention sticking it after Rove, which being a 'comedy/variety' show is not going to get the same audience as Dexter.
Poor move Ten!
Agreed. The show had the potential to be MASSIVE. Certainly better than the crap shit they show on primetime these days. Criminal Minds, CSI etc are all plain boring.
randyzany
2 Oct 2008, 14:57
Does anyone know when Ch 10 plans to air Season 2?
Hopefully it's not longer than 2 months 'cos if it is I might as well buy the DVD.
__aria__
2 Oct 2008, 16:22
I'm about to watch the season 3 premiere. Should be good.
Does anyone know when Ch 10 plans to air Season 2?
Hopefully it's not longer than 2 months 'cos if it is I might as well buy the DVD.
Wouldn't hold your breath.
FWIW much cheaper to rent it for a week from the video store.
Stokes-Selwood-Prismall
2 Oct 2008, 16:55
Given everyone has seen it now... does anyone agree with this guy? Could you have picked that Rudy and Dexter were brothers after just '2 or 3 eps'??
__aria__
2 Oct 2008, 17:02
I didn't pick it myself but that guy is obviously pretty damn awesome
Poor move Ten!
That Dexter's father killed the guys Mum & he wanted revenge, by killing Dexters foster sister the same way.
As to Drew, my son is highly intelligent & a script writer of horror/sicko movies & he didn't pick the twist, I hate to say it, but you are FOS, saying you picked it after 2 or 3 episodes. :rolleyes:
Hopefully my DVD's arrive tomorrow, so I can watch it over the weekend, now there is no footy. :thumbsu:
OOPS, missed this bit, you read the book & then boasted about figuring out the killer when you watched the series, gee, that is some brilliant deduction work right there.
Any news when season 3 starts on Showcase?
Are you seriously that lazy that you cannot google the Dexter website to find out for yourself?
http://www.sho.com/site/dexter/home.do
Karl Pilkington
3 Oct 2008, 15:00
Are you seriously that lazy that you cannot google the Dexter website to find out for yourself?
I am that lazy.
Thanks for that.
subzerofun
8 Oct 2008, 11:31
episode 2 was loaded. loved it.
subzerofun
9 Oct 2008, 10:02
i only just realised that dexter and deb are dating irl.
i only just realised that dexter and deb are dating irl.Incest, HOT!:p
grimlock
9 Oct 2008, 12:35
Incest, HOT!:p
But he's adopted! Season 3 just as good as the first 2.
Karl Pilkington
9 Oct 2008, 12:59
But he's adopted!
Step counts, so does adopted.
I thought he was just fostered, not adopted & please people who have seen season two, don't mention anything that happens, for those of us who haven't seen it, it's called spoilers & is frowned upon.
I thought he was just fostered, not adopted & please people who have seen season two, don't mention anything that happens, for those of us who haven't seen it, it's called spoilers & is frowned upon.Dexter gets superpowers and learns to fly, he flies to an Army base and gets a tank and then proceeds to blow up the entire city of Miami.
Oh, you said NO spoilers.
Woops.;)
potatomasher
9 Oct 2008, 23:57
Step counts, so does adopted.
It's all about the genes. Step-sisters are a go-zone.
Karl Pilkington
10 Oct 2008, 08:23
It's all about the genes. Step-sisters are a go-zone.
Not according to Curb Your Enthusiasm, step counts.
Besides, if your birth parents aren't still together you're a fail family anyway. If you even HAVE a step sister, you're fail.
Failamily.
Well it hasn't been there the last three times I have checked, so thanks.
But where does it tell me when it starts in Australia? I'm blind.
dont bowl there
10 Oct 2008, 14:54
Well it hasn't been there the last three times I have checked, so thanks.
But where does it tell me when it starts in Australia? I'm blind.
I had a look around on the net for you and most seem to think it will start on showcase around December (there is nothing official though). If you can torrents are very easy.
Nah I can wait til December - cheers.
Has anyone been keeping with the US schedule? I don't think the first 4 eps of 3 have lived up to the first 2 seasons..but hoepfully the small sub plots work together towards something big. I think 5 opens it up by looking at previews.
I'm really enjoying the third season at the moment. Whilst it hasn't been up to the first two seasons in terms of *splutter gargle death*, I'm really enjoying the development of the new characters (Miguel's brother in particular). The whole thing with Deb/Yuki/the other guy is a little boring though.
From the preview at the end of Episode 4, episode 5 looks like it'll be quite interesting, can't wait :thumbsu:.
bradrowe#32
26 Oct 2008, 17:32
Season three has been building nicely towards another brilliant ending.
It's a fantastic show.
subzerofun
27 Oct 2008, 10:53
yeah i am loving these first few eps.
Belnakor
27 Oct 2008, 12:08
Jimmy Smits is doing a really good job in the new series
Black JuJu
28 Oct 2008, 00:45
yeah Jimmy Smits is a great addition to the cast, but I have noticed we are seeing a lot less of Maria this season.
jordanrobbo3
28 Oct 2008, 14:48
It's a great show, i love the way it's written. ===> Dexter and Miguel teaming up now will be interesting
grimlock
28 Oct 2008, 19:53
Can a mod change the tag from Movie to TV.