View Full Version : Woods Marking and Tackling
Dave The Man
5 Jul 2008, 23:55
I thought they were both Great Tonight and the Last Few Games,
Wood has show that he is really good Contested Mark for a Young Still Skinny Ruckman. Shot for Goal from a Decent Distance still needs a bit of work.
Tackling was great espically that one on Leaping Leo in the Goal Square:) that resulted in a Goal.
Been Impressive without getting heaps of Tap Outs
smiddaz123
6 Jul 2008, 00:12
Can we make a Cameron Wood thread just for Dave?
UltraMagnus
6 Jul 2008, 01:17
I love Cam Wood too, i have watched every game he has played and he seems to be going from strength to strength. Very underrated player and has shown alot more so far than luenberger who was very pumped up and taken much higher in the draft.
Cam Wood looks like one of the few good trades that collingwood has made.
aaronm46
6 Jul 2008, 01:18
a great mark just needs to work on kicking
nice gloves on him, if he can get hes accuracy up he'd be very useful. But then again not really anyone could kick well tonight.
pongo_3931
6 Jul 2008, 05:20
I love Cam Wood too, i have watched every game he has played and he seems to be going from strength to strength. Very underrated player and has shown alot more so far than luenberger who was very pumped up and taken much higher in the draft.
Cam Wood looks like one of the few good trades that collingwood has made.
Medhurst... Buckley... Shall I go on...?
You're welcome to add Wood to the list if you'd like... What a champ!
Thommo 42
6 Jul 2008, 09:49
Clement, Rocca, Licuria - add him to the list.
Kicking needs work, but his marking is far superior to what I thought it would be.
he was good in hitouts too, although Spida seemed to have him covered - which is ok seeing as he is possibly the best tap ruckman of the last decade.
I think his kicking is generally good. Last night obviously wasn't the greatest example, but he's coming along well. Has eclipsed Guy Richards in output already, so we're in front on that score. What has impressed me most is the fact that he's been able to take good strong pack marks at both ends of the ground.
Thommo 42
6 Jul 2008, 10:27
what I find even more interesting is that Bryan had another exceptional game last night.
Fraser was allegedly close to being fit this week, so I assume he will be fit next week.
Who goes out?
King Woodie
6 Jul 2008, 10:36
Wood or Fraser will play as a forward, with the other changing with Bryan in the ruck. I am so impressed by Wood this year - his pack marking is terrific, hs ruck work is very good, his foot skills are very good, and he is improving around the ground.
A poster compared him to a Jamie Charman style ruckman before the season started, and was shot down by people saying Wood was too skinny and not physical enough, but I actually think that Charman is the ruckman that Wood is most like. He is a physical player - he just needs the body weight to support his style of play (which will come)
what I find even more interesting is that Bryan had another exceptional game last night.
Fraser was allegedly close to being fit this week, so I assume he will be fit next week.
Who goes out?
Chris Scott(or is it Brad I forget) said Fraser was going to be a forward for the Sydney game if he came up alright, but didnt come up.
Jackhammer might go out
Alex Naumovski
6 Jul 2008, 11:26
Yeah he's a reasonable player. Doesn't dominate the ruck but he's good around the ground. I personally like him playing his forward role.
MagpieGirl_13
6 Jul 2008, 13:09
Maybe needs to work a bit on his awareness (if it's possible to work on that.....:confused:), he was run down once but I'm not about to shoot him for that.
Really needs to work on the goal kicking though. With a number of forwards out at the moment, if he is put in to the forward line he needs to be able to capitalise. His over head marking is very good & probably enhanced by his height. his first kick for goal..... well it was a bit cringe-worthy & probably should have kicked it. the goal he did kick was good but I think most of us could have kicked it. I find him, when lining up for goal, one of those players I tend to watch out of one eye because there is a great chance that he might miss it (a bit like Cloke sometimes last year).
He can work on that.
Timmy from Thomastown
6 Jul 2008, 13:15
He won the game with his tackle in the goalsquare that forced a throwing the ball decision. The Swans had momentum and could have pinched a win. That snuffed them out.
sneakydaycrawler
6 Jul 2008, 13:41
3 contested marks bloody sensational.
Frederlick
6 Jul 2008, 15:31
Maybe needs to work a bit on his awareness (if it's possible to work on that.....:confused:), he was run down once but I'm not about to shoot him for that.
Really needs to work on the goal kicking though. With a number of forwards out at the moment, if he is put in to the forward line he needs to be able to capitalise. His over head marking is very good & probably enhanced by his height. his first kick for goal..... well it was a bit cringe-worthy & probably should have kicked it. the goal he did kick was good but I think most of us could have kicked it. I find him, when lining up for goal, one of those players I tend to watch out of one eye because there is a great chance that he might miss it (a bit like Cloke sometimes last year).
He can work on that.
Your right MG13, if he is going to be as good a ruckman as some people rather optimistically hope, he needs to get his footy intuition working. Kicking and getting rid of the footy under the pump are bread and butter skills for any ruckman worth his salt, that lack of intuition by another young ruckman arguably cost us a GF berth last year. Woods does look sound but will quickly follow in footsteps of Richards unless he sorts his kicking, which is a non negotiable must have for a big man.
Dave The Man
6 Jul 2008, 16:57
. Woods does look sound but will quickly follow in footsteps of Richards unless he sorts his kicking, which is a non negotiable must have for a big man.
He is already 100000% better than Richards. His kicking is good not great but good. I don't know what games you been watching but I must be watching something else
MagpieGirl_13
6 Jul 2008, 17:03
He is already 100000% better than Richards. His kicking is good not great but good. I don't know what games you been watching but I must be watching something else
I wouldn't say he's 100000% better than Richards but he is definately a lot better than him.
Wood isn't a perfect ruckman yet but will improve in due time. Just has a few aspects of his game that he needs to work on but I'm sure he will.
Dave The Man
6 Jul 2008, 17:09
I wouldn't say he's 100000% better than Richards but he is definately a lot better than him.
Wood isn't a perfect ruckman yet but will improve in due time. Just has a few aspects of his game that he needs to work on but I'm sure he will.
Well he is 21 and he does still have things to improve on but he has already improved this year, Since he has come back I thought he has been involved in games more that the start of the year
bradrowe#32
6 Jul 2008, 17:23
Wood has been very good this year. I think he can turn into a very productive ruckman.
Bryan has been good too.
Sad to say, but Fraser has been my most disappointing ruckman this year.
Frederlick
6 Jul 2008, 18:00
He has played 10 games for us and in none of them has he been a dominant ruckman. Wasn't trying to compare him to Richards, just saying that he has a lot of improvement to do and some of the stuff on here about him is way off, eg someone said he was great?! He has a total of 26 games to his name so I don't expect miracles, but MG13 was right, he still has a way to go. The one thing he seems to have going for him beside some skill overhead is his body seems tough enough to hack the position. Is not anywhere near Fraser yet.
i think his strongest asset is his ability to get back in defence, and take a big pack mark, stopping any forward thrusts from the opposition, he did this very well last night.
and as for his kicking, i think I'd almost want him to kick instead of johnson =D
have a bad feeling JA will be dropped for Fraser. Fraser is not fit at all though, so I wouldn't be suprised seeing him left out for another week,
his knee and back are stuffed.
frantelle
7 Jul 2008, 12:13
I think his kicking is generally good. Last night obviously wasn't the greatest example, but he's coming along well. Has eclipsed Guy Richards in output already, so we're in front on that score. What has impressed me most is the fact that he's been able to take good strong pack marks at both ends of the ground.
i gotta admit i was very very pleased to see that
not many ruckmen his age are capable of doing that at both ends of the ground so thats a real positive
the one and only thing i can criticise him to this point that every now and then in the ruck he just needs to smash one forward to mix it up a little, other then that hasnt really put a foot wrong
anybody out there that thinks fraser could of done what wood done on the weekend?...........yeh i didnt think so
Has great hands on him the big unit! Just needs time to develop his game, he has only played 20 odd games of league footy remember.
Once he settles and gains confidence in his abilities he will be fine, hence why he is a little indecisive but is something that should go after time.
Still years away from his best, but at the moment is giving enough to whet the collingwood supporters appetites.
Go Pies!:thumbsu:
The Dawes
7 Jul 2008, 13:21
His contested marking is top notch and I wouldn't criticise his kicking too much - from what I've seen this year it has usually been fine, but the whole team struggled with their goal kicking on Satdee night, so it would be unfair to single Cam Wood out.
He has shown he can go forward take a big pack mark and kick a goal or two and being 21 should only get better.
Helfarch
7 Jul 2008, 13:46
Cam could take a dump in the centre of the ground and it would be a better ruckman than G. Richards.
He can work on that.
Was anyone at the game or seen a wider shot of what his options were when Cam was run down? He seemed to get a call and pulled the ball rather than going for his kick. It just seemed to me that giving away the free with a stop in play was one of a number of crappy options. I could easily see the ball spilling and adv. Swans if he didn't hold onto the ball once he knew contact was coming.
Cam could take a dump in the centre of the ground and it would be a better ruckman than G. Richards.
Was anyone at the game or seen a wider shot of what his options were when Cam was run down? He seemed to get a call and pulled the ball rather than going for his kick. It just seemed to me that giving away the free with a stop in play was one of a number of crappy options. I could easily see the ball spilling and adv. Swans if he didn't hold onto the ball once he knew contact was coming.
Dont know about getting a call, but he did seem to stop mid-kick. You call is pretty optimistic IMO. Quick thinking if your right though.
Helfarch
7 Jul 2008, 14:20
Dont know about getting a call, but he did seem to stop mid-kick. You call is pretty optimistic IMO. Quick thinking if your right though.
Just trying to figure out the stop mid kick, it's not like he was trying to fake anyone out.
Just rewatcged the replay of the collingwood game.
camerons marking and ruckwork actually remind me of a young luke darcy, Darcy could play inside the forward fifty at a pinch and take a strong grap just like cam can.
Hopefully cam deveolps into that style of ruckman as Darcy was a ripper
Just rewatcged the replay of the collingwood game.
camerons marking and ruckwork actually remind me of a young luke darcy, Darcy could play inside the forward fifty at a pinch and take a strong grap just like cam can.
Hopefully cam deveolps into that style of ruckman as Darcy was a ripper
I'm on my way to take one of those now.
???
careful too much of that will make you blind
Dave The Man
13 Jul 2008, 00:08
Got some really Good Contested Marks Today:)
chirpymagpie
13 Jul 2008, 12:07
:rolleyes:yay woodesy