C: R. Shaw - Burns - Pendlebury
HF: Didak - Cloke - Thomas
F: Davis - Anthony - Medhurst
FL: Bryan - Swan - Lockyer
INTER: Clarke - O'Bree - Wellingham - Fraser

OUT: Goldsack - Wood

unplugged
6 Jul 2008, 16:41
I don't think Wood will be going anywhere just yet.

collingwood1992
6 Jul 2008, 17:36
IMO if Fraser is back then Wood is definatly out not Bryan....

AsianWithAFro
6 Jul 2008, 17:41
I see no change really but unfortunately it could be Anthony for Fraser but IMO I don't Fraser is an automatic inclusion he must earn his spot back into the side

MagpieGirl_13
6 Jul 2008, 17:49
I don't think there really needs to be a change in the line up, but it all depends on the match ups with the Crows.

smiddaz123
6 Jul 2008, 17:50
In: Wellingham
Out: Maxwell

Yes, yes, I know everyone will say that Maxwell had a good game against Sydney, which he did. But bear in mind that style of game suited him to a tee. Low scoring, scrappy, poor skills from everyone all night. It was his kind of game.

It wont be like that at the MCG on a Saturday afternoon.

WakeUpTaz
6 Jul 2008, 18:00
Wood played very well, no way in hell he gets dropped

Out; Anthony
In: Fraser

Need to play Fraser forward.

the_fresh
6 Jul 2008, 18:10

Out; Anthony

Can't drop Wood or Bryan IMO both have been in our best in the last 2 games and Fraser doesn't do enough when in the side.
If Fraser is to play it has to be as a full time forward, but then again, Peter Bell can out mark him.

Lestat
6 Jul 2008, 18:15

Out; Anthony

I agree. Anthony a little bit stiff as I reckon he really showed something last night. Great set of hands and a good kick. Really has a future.

But unfortunately I think we have to bring Fraser in and let him play Rocca's role. Straighten us up and create a contest for our crumbers to feed off.

For all Frasers faults (weak, poor over head, no heart, goes to ground to easily) one thing he is, is a clever footballer, and I reckon that if we put him permanently forward he's worth 2-3 goals just from his smart football brain..which he does have.

sharrod#21
6 Jul 2008, 18:15

Out; Anthony

totally agree with this .... even if fraser doesnt have a massive impact on the game he's prob gunna get there best tall defender instead of trav

WakeUpTaz
6 Jul 2008, 18:17
Can't drop Wood or Bryan IMO both have been in our best in the last 2 games and Fraser doesn't do enough when in the side.
If Fraser is to play it has to be as a full time forward, but then again, Peter Bell can out mark him.

Yeah the only thing Fraser can do is draw Rutten, which would mean Bock has to play on Cloke, hopefully Cloke can start well and force Bock to be more defensive. Fraser is just a decoy, who knows, if we get lucky he might get a few goals.

Lestat
6 Jul 2008, 18:18

Yes, yes, I know everyone will say that Maxwell had a good game against Sydney, which he did. But bear in mind that style of game suited him to a tee. Low scoring, scrappy, poor skills from everyone all night. It was his kind of game.

It wont be like that at the MCG on a Saturday afternoon.

I agree, however, at the risk of getting shot down, I would bring in someone like maybe Egan or Lonie for Maxwell. Someone who can provide us some run and capable of kicking a goal.

I think Wellingham needs a couple of weeks rest in the VFL. Get his form and confidence up for a tilt at the finals.

Presti_is_god
6 Jul 2008, 19:10
I agree, however, at the risk of getting shot down, I would bring in someone like maybe Egan or Lonie for Maxwell. Someone who can provide us some run and capable of kicking a goal.

I think Wellingham needs a couple of weeks rest in the VFL. Get his form and confidence up for a tilt at the finals.

Lonie is barely making an impact at VFL level, doesnt deserve it. But i can see where your coming from with Egan. But surely the week break and missing last night is enough rest for Sharrod.

ralu
6 Jul 2008, 19:14
no change to the side.

if bryan or woody gets dropped for fraser i will be ropable. these big guys have been playing some really honest footy of late and dont deserve to be demoted.
and fraser certainly hasnt done anything this year to warrant automatic inclusion!

Keele
6 Jul 2008, 19:32
Isnt it great we are worrried which Ruckman could be dropped?

After last season we were screaming for a Ruckman to assist Josh... now look at our situation.... how can we complain with whatever decision they make

Brent24
6 Jul 2008, 19:35
Out: Anthony - Very stiff

Personally how i think it will happen (not want). If Fraser is alright to go, unfortunately i think he will take Anthony's spot. Also i feel Wellingham will have a week in the reserves (again, pretty stiff).

Snoop Dog
6 Jul 2008, 19:42
I am not convinced Davis will come up. He was not right on Sat night. Assume he does play my changes would be;

In: Fraser, Wellingham

Out: Goldsack, Wood

Whilst Wood has been good, Bryan has been better. MM would love the competitive part of his play. Anthony and Goldsack played fwd the other night and Anthony was better so he stays for me. Goldy is unlucky but there is just not a match up for him.

Wakes or Brown will get Tippett. prob wakes.
Harry will get Burton
Heath should get Goodwin
Maxwell should get Porplyzia although he will be a little slow

Brownie doesnt have a natural matchup and it wouldnt surprise to see him rested.

Paddywackers
6 Jul 2008, 19:52
I am not convinced Davis will come up. He was not right on Sat night. Assume he does play my changes would be;

Whilst Wood has been good, Bryan has been better. MM would love the competitive part of his play. Anthony and Goldsack played fwd the other night and Anthony was better so he stays for me. Goldy is unlucky but there is just not a match up for him.

Harry will get Burton
Heath should get Goodwin

Brownie doesnt have a natural matchup and it wouldnt surprise to see him rested.

I think Harry for Goodwin and Heath for Burton. Otherwise good match ups.

loki04
6 Jul 2008, 20:01

Harry will get Burton
Heath should get Goodwin

Tippett will kick a bag on old wakes, he would be giving away inches and a lot of speed so I'd go with brown.

Palmer Stoat
6 Jul 2008, 20:04
Tippett will kick a bag on old wakes, he would be giving away inches and a lot of speed so I'd go with brown.

If they have one eye on the future and prefer Brown to Wakes for that reason, then fair enough. But I don't see why you'd think Tippett would be more prone to kicking a bag on Wakes. Wakes just pantsed Hall, a far better credentialled and more in form forward than Tippett. Wakes has had a good season. Just off the top of my head, I can recall Roughead thumping Wakes, but not too many others. I think you're a bit pessimistic.

Palmer Stoat
6 Jul 2008, 20:12
I haven't seen that much of Adelaide this year, but I would think Rutten will probably go to whoever plays from the goalsquare. So if we play Trav at CHF, he'll more than likely get Bock.

Personally, I'm happy with the way our rucks have performed over the last fortnight without Fraser. I'd be very reluctant to change the mix. Bryan's aggression and the ability of he and Wood to take marks have been refreshing.

I'm not as keen on Fraser as a forward as some people are. So I'd keep playing Anthony. If Fraser's fit, I'd bring him back through the VFL.

To me, Leon looked a long way short of 100%. If he's not right, they should rest him.

EB&W Pieman
6 Jul 2008, 20:55
If Josh comes in, I reckon he'd have to ruck. Both Bryan and Wood offer a lot more than Josh as a forward. They are both MUCH better pack marks.

macleodboy07
6 Jul 2008, 21:32
i think goldsack will be out. brown has taken his matchup this year.
in will prob be wellingham if his not injuried otherwise i think we will give egan another go. had plenty of the ball in the VFL apparently.
if wood or bryan get dropped for fraser i wont be happy. fraser has to earn his spot back. his been very poor for to long to come straight back in.

Big Bucks
6 Jul 2008, 21:59
If Josh comes in, I reckon he'd have to ruck. Both Bryan and Wood offer a lot more than Josh as a forward. They are both MUCH better pack marks.

Josh has stated a few times that his prefered place on the field is to Ruck, he never enjoys going forward, as he see`s himself as a ruckman, he must be the only person to believe that.

One change for this week.
In : Wellingham
Out: Maxwell.
Fraser if fit to resume in the V.F.L to try and resurrect his ailing football career.

Optimax
6 Jul 2008, 22:03
Josh has stated a few times that his prefered place on the field is to Ruck, he never enjoys going forward, as he see`s himself as a ruckman, he must be the only person to believe that.

Fraser if fit to resume in the V.F.L to try and resurrect his ailing football career.
So beating the in form all australian forward Ryan O'keefe wasnt enough for you then. Actually when is it enough

Fraser will play as a forward when he resumes and i think it will be anthony who is unlucky one to miss

checker
6 Jul 2008, 23:11
out: davis- obviously carry injury, like to have him right for finals. Goldsack- taken a big leap backwards since last year.

In: Iles Wellingham. need some runners against the crows i think.

Big Bucks
6 Jul 2008, 23:14
]So beating the in form all australian forward[/COLOR] Ryan O'keefe wasnt enough for you then. Actually when is it enough

Fraser will play as a forward when he resumes and i think it will be anthony who is unlucky one to miss

Be good if you were correct, but you are not .
O`keefe played up the ground a fair bit and had several different opponents running with him, he had Harry O`brien, Marty Clarke,Maxwell and even Didak running with him at different times.
Maxwell spent tiime on Bird,Playfair,the resting ruckman and O`keefe.

daics cousin
7 Jul 2008, 10:38
[quote=TheClokes;11619364]B: H. Shaw - Wakelin - Maxwell

HB: Johnson - Brown - O'Brien
C: R. Shaw - Burns - Pendlebury
HF: Didak - Cloke - Thomas
F: Davis - Anthony - Medhurst
FL: Bryan - Swan - Lockyer
INTER: Clarke - O'Bree - Wellingham - Fraser

OUT: Goldsack - Wood

No way would i drop Wood and Goldsac.Josh can have another couple more weeks off and so could leon davis to get themselves right.

#1 pies
7 Jul 2008, 10:44
IMO i don't think mick should make any changes, possibly wellingham back in and anthony out. But i think we had a good line-up against the swans!

Pie eyed
7 Jul 2008, 11:01

LMAO.....BigBucks.... standard response to every question regarding changes to the side any time, any opponent, any result.

I can't wait for the day you want him dropped even when he is not in....lol

Optimax
7 Jul 2008, 11:27
O`keefe played up the ground a fair bit and had several different opponents running with him, he had Harry O`brien, Marty Clarke,Maxwell and even Didak running with him at different times.
and wasnt beaten by any of them?

Playfiar got his marks on brown, neither ruckman did a thing and who the ____ is bird?

maxwell played well on saturday

Timmy from Thomastown
7 Jul 2008, 11:55

Out: Goldsack, Wood.

Agree with those and I'd consider McAffer in for Davis. McAffer has now kicked 16 goals in the past four games.

RRRooocccaaa
7 Jul 2008, 12:12

Mate, you should be changing your username to 'Petty change' - for all the associated meanings.

Maxwell was as good as any defender on Saturday night and fulfils the role his coach wants him to play. He's been in all the winning and losing sides this year and hasn't any of his opponents overly affect the outcome of any game. He aint a pretty player, but he's the glue that helps our backline stay together.

brspdt201013
7 Jul 2008, 12:17
IN: Fraser, Dawes, Wellingham

OUT: Wood, Goldsack, Anthony

The Dawes
7 Jul 2008, 13:11
FWIW I won't be surprised if Chris Egan is a chance for promotion this week.

He was very good in the Crows game last year and a 3 goal performance in the VFL won't have done him any harm.

Just who might make way for him, I'm not quite sure.

DaVe86
7 Jul 2008, 13:16
Only 1 change is necessary.

Out: Goldsack.

THought Goldy was ok...but the fact he played forward means he doesnt really have a settled spot in the team right now.

Crows have no talls up forward, so going in with 5 key defenders would be a mistake.

Wakes v Stevens (if forward)
Brown v Tippett
Maxwell v Porplyzia (shoulders seem to be keeping him out of the midfield and struggled against the taller Harley)
Harry v Burton

We'll need another midfielder against the Crows.

Snoop Dog
7 Jul 2008, 18:05
I haven't seen that much of Adelaide this year, but I would think Rutten will probably go to whoever plays from the goalsquare. So if we play Trav at CHF, he'll more than likely get Bock.

Personally, I'm happy with the way our rucks have performed over the last fortnight without Fraser. I'd be very reluctant to change the mix. Bryan's aggression and the ability of he and Wood to take marks have been refreshing.

I'm not as keen on Fraser as a forward as some people are. So I'd keep playing Anthony. If Fraser's fit, I'd bring him back through the VFL.

To me, Leon looked a long way short of 100%. If he's not right, they should rest him.

They actually have some issues in our fwd line and given how well we usually play the MCG it could well work in our favour.

They have Rutten, Basset and Bock all down back half and I suspect we might have only one tall in Cloke. He will run any of those blokes off their feet. If Anthony plays again he will also burn most of these blokes and should again be used to take his man away form the contest. Try and get him to Bock IMO and try and get Rutten to Cloke - even if it means starting Cloke deeper.

Ickirus
7 Jul 2008, 18:10
Out: Davis

Davis didn't look right in the Sydney game where he couldn't turn and lacked his usual speed, he is clearly still injured and should be rested until he is 100% right. Don't play injured players!

I think we have looked better with both Wood and Bryan playing in the ruck and am not a fan of 3 rucks playing. Hope they don't drop Anthony as he preformed quite well for a 2nd gamer and would prefer him up forward than Fraser.

Swooop
7 Jul 2008, 18:13
Out: Davis - Looked sleepy/injured? against Sydney, think he needs a week rest.

I don't think Wood and especially Bryan deserve to be dropped for Fraser at the moment. Goldsack/Maxwell played pretty well against Sydney. Tough to see who to drop if Davis plays, I'd prefer to have Goldy though, better match for Porplyzia.

Needless to say, crucial game if we want 4th position. I'll be watching nervously but think we can beat 'em :thumbsu:

Pie eyed
7 Jul 2008, 23:18
Mate, you should be changing your username to 'Petty change' - for all the associated meanings.

Maxwell was as good as any defender on Saturday night and fulfils the role his coach wants him to play. He's been in all the winning and losing sides this year and hasn't any of his opponents overly affect the outcome of any game. He aint a pretty player, but he's the glue that helps our backline stay together.

He can stay as "ugly" as he likes, as long as he is playing well, and he is, he is in the side for mine. He is committed and focused.
Premiership sides of the past are littered with his type of player...the ones who go unheralded in the passing years who let the elite shine...the ones like Sheedy, Malthouse Mick Gayfer, Shane Kerrison and Eade etc. etc. etc....ugly backmen.

shawthing09
8 Jul 2008, 01:07
I personally don't rate Maxwell highly but he was fine on the weekend and has been at his best over the past month or so. I hope his best is over taken by someone who is better but his been fine and shouldn't be dropped atm

I think leon will be better for the run around and don't think wood or davis deserve to be dropped.

I'd go

Out: Goldsack

In: Wellingham.

I'd consider playing Maxwell in the role goldsack played and letting JA have a run around the back half

Pie eyed
8 Jul 2008, 01:40
I agree that Goldie did not really do a lot but he would match up well on some of the Crows small forwards.
I'd give him a run.
My only concern last week was Leon not really getting into the game at all.
That said I am torn, do you give another run and a chance to get back in the rhythm or see if he can pick up a bit in the Magoos. It' a tough one.
We need him firing in the run home.

I reckon either Davis out for a Mackaffer type to have a look or no change.

Athomas
8 Jul 2008, 01:40
Why was Wellingam dropped in the first place?

I speculated last week that he would be dropped and many assured me he wouldn't! :p:confused:

loki04
8 Jul 2008, 01:44

I speculated last week that he would be dropped and many assured me he wouldn't! :p:confused:

Groin injury.

Godfrey Jones
8 Jul 2008, 01:45
^its a lie, he's fine...

same with wakelin's virus.

FOOT OF GOD
8 Jul 2008, 15:55
Every week I see the same name Maxwell.... why people dont get it he isant going to miss a game, he played well and dose his job better then most in the team. I love his heart and is always going to put his body on the line... He proved himself in the finals last year..

-CG-
8 Jul 2008, 17:36
Crows have no talls up forward, so going in with 5 key defenders would be a mistake.

Wakes v Stevens (if forward)
Brown v Tippett
Maxwell v Porplyzia (shoulders seem to be keeping him out of the midfield and struggled against the taller Harley)
Harry v Burton

Given our tall backline in Rutten, Bock and Basset, expect Stevens to go up forward.

So with Stevens (194cm), Tippett (201cm) and maybe Gill (193cm) all up forward, that's hardly a short forward line. Although Gill will most likely be dropped, which could bring Jericho (190cm) into contention.

Athomas
9 Jul 2008, 00:55

Groin injury.

^its a lie, he's fine...

Now i'm confused. ;)

I was thinking he was just dropped as well and they needed to cover up.

Pie eyed
9 Jul 2008, 11:48
Every week I see the same name Maxwell.... why people dont get it he isant going to miss a game, he played well and dose his job better then most in the team. I love his heart and is always going to put his body on the line... He proved himself in the finals last year..

Maxwell is targeted by a small minority with a personal dislike for him.
Apart from this dislike they can very rarely justify why they want him dropped and always revert to past, perceived indiscretions.
His form this year has been consistent and solid.
Just what you want from a backman.

MAKESHIFT
9 Jul 2008, 11:53
^its a lie, he's fine...

Honestly why would they drop Wellingham if he is fine and not play him in the VFL last week. Especially having the week off before that. I don't think so !!!!!!!!!!

RRRooocccaaa
9 Jul 2008, 11:58
Honestly why would they drop Wellingham if he is fine and not play him in the VFL last week. Especially having the week off before that. I don't think so !!!!!!!!!!

First year of AFL footy - I know they train for this but I'm sure nothing really prepares them for the grinds, bumps and hits. MM has talked about this in years past, where he understands that the 'kids' stepping up to AFL level also need some time to freshen up or they'll burn out pretty quickly.

He'll step back in the side no worries - they're just managing his fitness and making sure he's playing within his physical capabilities.

Snag Breac
9 Jul 2008, 20:04
I'd love to see Wellingham back in the side. He's exciting to watch.

Pie eyed
10 Jul 2008, 00:30
I'd love to see Wellingham back in the side. He's exciting to watch.

I have to agree. I watched the Pies v Geelong game again today and it is hard to reconcile the fact it was his third game with his performance.
While he was definitely not the BOG he has all the key indicators in spades.

Confidence, poise, courage in the packs, the air and tackling, second and third efforts, the ability to measure his kicks under pressure and hit targets.

The more I focused on him the better he looks...a very, very exciting prospect for the next 10 years.
However, if he is a bit underdone then don't burn him out.