View Full Version : Son of a Bomber

cAsEy_18
6 Jul 2008, 22:33
What kids do we have coming our way through the Father/Son System in the future? We all know about Tommy Hird, imo we should be building our next premiership side around him ;) but who else is there? Fletcher i think has a daughter and i think may have a son i'm not sure on many of these, i think Lucas has a few daughters, Davey has about 3 kids already i think, who else do we have?

bomber69
6 Jul 2008, 22:43
Fletch has a son, Davey also has a few (one called Alwyn jnr)

abers47
6 Jul 2008, 22:57
Fletch actually has 2 sons

cAsEy_18
6 Jul 2008, 23:01
Ahh won't it be good to see Fletcher at Full Back and Hirdy dominating the middle in another 15 years time.:thumbsu:

bomba4eva
6 Jul 2008, 23:12
How about Lloyd? Hopefully he has been using his pre seasons wisely.

Do we actually have any coming up in the next 1-4 years?

james_omahoney
6 Jul 2008, 23:33
What kids do we have coming our way through the Father/Son System in the future? We all know about Tommy Hird, imo we should be building our next premiership side around him ;) but who else is there? Fletcher i think has a daughter and i think may have a son i'm not sure on many of these, i think Lucas has a few daughters, Davey has about 3 kids already i think, who else do we have?

Don't forget about son no. 2 - Alexander.

Fraz
6 Jul 2008, 23:41
How about Lloyd? Hopefully he has been using his pre seasons wisely.

Do we actually have any coming up in the next 1-4 years?
He only has a daughter (Jaeda) and no news of another little Lloydy yet and Lucas also only has daughters (Mia, Hannah and Meg) They're letting the team down!

Most of these have been mentioned:
Hirdy has two sons (Tom and Alex)
Fletcher has two sons (Max and Mason)
Barnes has two sons
Misiti has a son (Joshua)
Bewick has a son (Jett)
Barnard has a son (Kurtis)
Laycock has a child, I think a son
Davey has three children and I think at least two are sons
I'm pretty sure Dempsey has a young baby but I'm not sure what gender.
McPhee is expecting a son in September
Rama is expecting a baby in October.

Not sure about any older possible father-son selections though.

Nobby8
6 Jul 2008, 23:44
I reckon its unlikely that Hirdy's boys will play in the AFL.

Imagine the eyes on them in their first season in U6s at the Toorak Auskick centre? The pressure to perform like the old man will have them quitting footy at 11 or 12.

Lloyd has only daughters at the moment I pretty sure. Same as Lucas.

Bachar Houli
7 Jul 2008, 00:15
Laycocks son is prob better then him right now!

WindyHillWatcher
7 Jul 2008, 00:46
Alwyn Jr already sounds awesome!
Dunno about the lazycocks, gotta get to 100 games first, but im sure there is potential and to see another fletcher up back is gonna rock!

PaintItRedAndBlack
7 Jul 2008, 01:16
I think there's a couple more Danihers too.

bomba4eva
7 Jul 2008, 01:26
He only has a daughter (Jaeda) and no news of another little Lloydy yet and Lucas also only has daughters (Mia, Hannah and Meg) They're letting the team down!

Poor form by Lloyd and Lucas:thumbsd:

WindyHillWatcher
7 Jul 2008, 02:22
I think there's a couple more Danihers too.

surely... :rolleyes:

Centurion
7 Jul 2008, 09:16
Barnes has two sons

Not sure about any older possible father-son selections though.

Geelong would have first crack wouldn't they. Most of his career was spend at Geelong. Someone would have to confirm.

eth-dog
7 Jul 2008, 09:19
Gimme Jett Bewick

Fraz
7 Jul 2008, 09:42
Geelong would have first crack wouldn't they. Most of his career was spend at Geelong. Someone would have to confirm.
Damn. You'eright. I never realised how few games he played for us. He played 144 games for the Cats and only 58 for us.

Sir Bomber
7 Jul 2008, 13:29
Sean Denham has got a little fella called Darcy.:thumbsu:

evs05
7 Jul 2008, 13:45
I reckon its unlikely that Hirdy's boys will play in the AFL.

Imagine the eyes on them in their first season in U6s at the Toorak Auskick centre? The pressure to perform like the old man will have them quitting footy at 11 or 12.

Lloyd has only daughters at the moment I pretty sure. Same as Lucas.

yeah the weight of expectation has completely destroyed gary ablett junior's career :rolleyes:

note: don't even think about rebutting this comment with something about nathan ablett.

loopy_cam
7 Jul 2008, 14:03
Davey has twin boys.

I saw them in the rooms in Adelaide last year. They were kicking a footy around and tackling each other in front of a crowd of about 20 people. They loved it. Looked pretty good as well. Definitely keepers.

Phat Toni
7 Jul 2008, 15:36
Davey has twin boys.

I saw them in the rooms in Adelaide last year. They were kicking a footy around and tackling each other in front of a crowd of about 20 people. They loved it. Looked pretty good as well. Definitely keepers.

Fantastic! 81 games to go!

Blowfly
7 Jul 2008, 15:50
Davey has twin boys.

Fantastic! 81 games to go!

We'll only be able to take one of them under F/S!:(
:D

WindyHillWatcher
7 Jul 2008, 15:59
are there any Salmon's in the mix?

Big Blow Hard
7 Jul 2008, 20:56
Don't forget about son no. 2 - Alexander.

Which one of Hirdys sons was rthe one kicking the shit out of Mark McVeigh in the rooms last year? I lkied the mongrel in that one.

Though, whoever said we should be building our next premiership side around him has me worried. I hope he meant, premierships no 19 - 20.:D
I don't want to, nay, CAN"T wait that long!

bomberstomake8
7 Jul 2008, 21:16
at the rate the afl are going there will be no father son rule in 10 years. so little tommy hird will go to carlton/collingwood in the national draft, for pick 1 of course and unfortunatly as bombers will have a first round pick of 18 when that occurs :D

Big Blow Hard
7 Jul 2008, 21:20
at the rate the afl are going there will be no father son rule in 10 years. so little tommy hird will go to carlton/collingwood in the national draft, for pick 1 of course and unfortunatly as bombers will have a first round pick of 18 when that occurs :D

BITE YOUR T:mad:NGUE!!!!

Kit146
7 Jul 2008, 21:34
Gavin Wanganeen has a son Tex

cAsEy_18
7 Jul 2008, 21:35
Someone should really make a side of all our future Father/Son pick ups.

cAsEy_18
7 Jul 2008, 21:36
Must admit from those names mentioned earlier, would love to have little Bewick.

Grey Smith Bar
7 Jul 2008, 21:43
I live near the Hirds & every time I see the boys they are in an essendon jumper.

Ryder Is God
7 Jul 2008, 21:47
Gavin Wanganeen has a son Tex

Would probably want to play at Port, if he did play.

retroparty
7 Jul 2008, 22:10
I hope Dean Rioli has kids. Sheeds wanted him to get to 100 games so Essendon could feast on his talented sons. That family is full of freakish football ability and Essendon need to get as much of it as we can.

WindyHillWatcher
8 Jul 2008, 10:54
I hope Dean Rioli has kids. Sheeds wanted him to get to 100 games so Essendon could feast on his talented sons. That family is full of freakish football ability and Essendon need to get as much of it as we can.

Nah mate, word on the street up here in Darwin is that Deans lazy sperm only created daughters. However... there are a couple of Cyril's cousins who look promising.

The Donners
8 Jul 2008, 14:22
I believe there's another Daniher son currently playing u/15s, I think however it might be Neale's son and therefore, correct me if I'm wrong, does not qualifiy for F/S as Neale played <100 for the Bombers. Can someone confirm this?

wasupwidat
8 Jul 2008, 15:48
are there any Salmon's in the mix?
pretty sure he's got a boy around 13-14

wasupwidat
8 Jul 2008, 15:50
I believe there's another Daniher son currently playing u/15s, I think however it might be Neale's son and therefore, correct me if I'm wrong, does not qualifiy for F/S as Neale played <100 for the Bombers. Can someone confirm this?
Neale played 82 games

The Dustbin
8 Jul 2008, 15:55
pretty sure he's got a boy around 13-14

Yep, goes to Carey Grammar. Fish is on the committee for Carey Grammar's football team.

Fish played 100 games for Tassie, so that will make things interesting if the kid is any good.

mustard
8 Jul 2008, 15:57
How Funny Would It Be If A Bomber Player Had A Son And Called Him Jet!!!??!?

pazza
8 Jul 2008, 16:08
Plenty already in system.

Anything up to 6 Danihers, a Van Der Haar, A Foulds, at least 1 more Neagle....

SydneyDon
8 Jul 2008, 16:31

Seriously? If we got a Vanda and a Foulds to add to our Watson, Neagle and Daniher I would soil myself (in a good way:D).

S.C[BANKS]
8 Jul 2008, 16:33

Now all we need to do is get Essendon to develop this players early and we're set!

pazza
8 Jul 2008, 16:42
Seriously? If we got a Vanda and a Foulds to add to our Watson, Neagle and Daniher I would soil myself (in a good way:D).

Some at the Cannons:

Ned Daniher (that's Anthony's 2nd) - 196 and 80 - Aberfeldie - 17yo
Sam Ezard (Ezard's boy?) - 179 and 71 - Broadford - 17yo
Jake Foulds (I'm led to believe he could be taken this year) - would be 18.

Vander's boys is 14 I think and in a squad with the Eastern Ranges so one for a couple of years time...as is Neagle's up Mildura way.

And Dean Hartigan's other boy, Kyle, is 194 and 82 from Keilor, but at the Western Jets.

KING-JAMES
8 Jul 2008, 16:53
Some at the Cannons:

Vander's boys is 14 I think and in a squad with the Eastern Ranges so one for a couple of years time...as is Neagle's up Mildura way.

And Dean Hartigan's other boy, Kyle, is 194 and 82 from Keilor, but at the Western Jets.

I heard he didnt make the squad for the cannons. Regardless thats a nice list of players coming through the TAC for possible F/S selection

marcuz
8 Jul 2008, 17:18
Everybody is forgetting about micky Long's boy, he'd be in his teens by now.

Fraz
8 Jul 2008, 20:17
How Funny Would It Be If A Bomber Player Had A Son And Called Him Jet!!!??!?
As mentioned before, Darren Bewick has a son called Jett.

Darealrath
8 Jul 2008, 21:52
As mentioned before, Darren Bewick has a son called Jett.

Is he ging?

I'd do anything to see a Bewick clone kicking goals on the run...

Ryder Is God
8 Jul 2008, 22:14
Some at the Cannons:

Van Der Haar is apparently married to an olympic high jumper too :eek:

loopy_cam
8 Jul 2008, 23:45
Here's a Hirdy.

http://i253.photobucket.com/albums/hh73/loopy_cam/hirdjr.jpg

nomad
9 Jul 2008, 11:36
Some at the Cannons:

Unfortunately Sam is a nephew of Alan, so he doesn't count.

Walesy
9 Jul 2008, 12:28
Van Der Haar is apparently married to an olympic high jumper too :eek:

Van Der Haar Jnr is one I'm really looking forward to! Hopefully he shows a bit over the next few years.

The Donners
9 Jul 2008, 15:08
Neale played 82 games

I meant whether it was Neale's son or not playing in the u/15s, thanks anyway mate :thumbsu:

Spikey
9 Jul 2008, 15:37
Van Der Haar Jnr is one I'm really looking forward to! Hopefully he shows a bit over the next few years.

Heard he's a golfer...:(

bipolarbeaR
9 Jul 2008, 17:40
I'm pretty sure Dempsey has a young baby but I'm not sure what gender.

Nah, my Ex-GF knows him, this is untrue.

Kit146
9 Jul 2008, 17:43
Here's a Hirdy.

http://i253.photobucket.com/albums/hh73/loopy_cam/hirdjr.jpg

:thumbsu: legend in the making

Fraz
9 Jul 2008, 17:48
Nah, my Ex-GF knows him, this is untrue.
Actually, I just flicked through the June Bomber Magazine and there is an announcement that Dempsey and his partner, Danielle, welcomed their first child (a girl named Chenae) in March this year. Knew I'd heard something about him having a baby somewhere!

The Dustbin
9 Jul 2008, 17:49
Actually, I just flicked through the June Bomber Magazine and there is an announcement that Dempsey and his partner, Danielle, welcomed their first child (a girl named Chenae) in March this year. Knew I'd heard something about him having a baby somewhere!

That doesn't help us.

boncer34
10 Jul 2008, 19:27
Yeah Fraz keep it relevant mate. :D

Longy413
11 Jul 2008, 10:08
Heard he's a golfer...:(

I heard the same thing.

Bomber Thompson has a nephew running around for the Cannons at the moment.

Nobby8
12 Jul 2008, 00:38
yeah the weight of expectation has completely destroyed gary ablett junior's career :rolleyes:

note: don't even think about rebutting this comment with something about nathan ablett.

It was a joke mate...

Nathan IS a perfect example of what can happen to a famous player's son...

Big Blow Hard
12 Jul 2008, 10:37
It was a joke mate...

Nathan IS a perfect example of what can happen to a famous player's son... .....if that son is an off balance wierdo, with a poor me complex.

simonfamularo
19 Jul 2008, 13:15
Not sure if Simon Madden Had any Boys but if he did that would make some sort of footballer

longytap
19 Jul 2008, 13:48
2 hirds running around in the same team sounds soooo good. I think i've gotta go relieve myself:eek:

pazza
20 Jul 2008, 14:19
Not sure if Simon Madden Had any Boys but if he did that would make some sort of footballer

He did...in fact Simon coaches young Josh at St. Bernards. Josh is a lazy footballer really. Runs around like his heart isn't in it at times.

Ben the Gooner
20 Jul 2008, 19:57
I heard the same thing.

Bomber Thompson has a nephew running around for the Cannons at the moment.

I played under 12's with Bomber's son Michael, but I don't remember him being freakishly good, or anything like that. He'd be up next year or the year after, if he were good enough.

We need to get the Hirds, VDHs, Riolis and Maddens breeding, so that we create the elite footballer. Get Tom and Alex Hird to marry the Rioli girls, and get their kids to marry the kids of the little Maddens and van der Haars. Imagine 22 players on the Dons list descended from Hird, Rioli, Simon Madden and van der Haar. :eek: :D

Ants
20 Jul 2008, 23:36
Well, there are four more Neagles (with a different partner).

But Foulds was eligible last year and from what I gather just did not come on from 2006 to 2007 (in 2006 he was meant to be looking very promising), so the boat has probably passed on that one.

colts4life
21 Jul 2008, 15:13

wouldnt be hard !!!!! ;)

colts4life
21 Jul 2008, 15:18
He did...in fact Simon coaches young Josh at St. Bernards. Josh is a lazy footballer really. Runs around like his heart isn't in it at times.

Josh doesnt work hard enough, Libbas kid is in that team too (no good for bombers but)
Josh has "potential" (i hate that word)

d-mac3276
22 Jul 2008, 19:53
LMFAO. Thats some funny shit right there.