View Full Version : Have we drafted too many talls?
hwen you think about it, we have drafted heaps of talls recently, and we have talent like Gumby, Neagle, Pears and Darcy, but maybe drafted 1 too many Talls? look at this:
Gumby (CHF)
Neagle (FF)
Ryder (CHB)
Pears (FB)
Darcy (CHF/HFF)
Hooker (FP/BP/FB/FF)
Chartres (FB/BP)
Bellchamber (R)
unless we try to develop Ryder as a ruck to back-up Bellchambers, who will be our second Ruck? Who plays at CHB? Chartres is a natural FB, same with Pears, and it looks like we want to develop Darcy and Hooker in the Forward line, so why did we only draft 1 ruckman and so many KPP's? starting future line-up:
B: Chartres-Pears-Slattery
HB: Nash-Ryder-Remo
C: Lovett-Watson-Stants
R: Belly-Houli-Myers
HF: Darcy-Gumby-Davey
FF: Hooker-Neagle-Monfires
Inter (From): Winder-Welsh-Dempsey-Jetta-Magin-Hocking-Lonergan-Hislop-NLM
your opinion wanted.
Oh and Gumby->back-up Ruck?
kelvin_sheedy
7 Jul 2008, 10:02
Chartres is a less skilled and coordinated version of Kepler Bradley. He has zero chance of playing AFL.
Hooker won't be afl standard ever.
Jury is still out on Pears and Daniher but both look likely types.
To answer your question..... no, we haven't drafted enough KPP.
Why did they not draft another ruckman ?
Becasue they would have gone into this year thinking Laycock should improve on the reasonably good form he showed last year.
Becasue Hille as number one still has a good 4 or so years left.
Given we still look like having a hole for a tall defender and we also look like we could use another ruck to develop then the question should be have we drafted too many tall forwards and not have we drafted too many talls.
Chartres is a less skilled and coordinated version of Kepler Bradley. He has zero chance of playing AFL.
Hooker won't be afl standard ever.
Jury is still out on Pears and Daniher but both look likely types.
To answer your question..... no, we haven't drafted enough KPP.
While agreeing that Danny will never be good enough for AFL football your coment about him being less skilled and coordinated than Bradley is rubbish. He is a much better kick than Bradley will ever be.
The resaon DC wont make it is he is too slow and he is not tall enough to hold down a key position spot.
While agreeing that Danny will never be good enough for AFL football your coment about him being less skilled and coordinated than Bradley is rubbish. He is a much better kick than Bradley will ever be.
The resaon DC wont make it is he is too slow and he is not tall enough to hold down a key position spot.
not tall enough, he's 194 cm, and he's probably just a little too slow, but can take out slower forwards like Clark, Hawkins, and Boyle. why not play him on one of them? got the big enough build
kelvin_sheedy
7 Jul 2008, 12:59
Kicking is only one aspect of skill. He only just shades Bradley on that one but on everything else Bradley >> Chartres.
Thats why he plays VFL and doesn't dominate like Kepler did.
retroparty
7 Jul 2008, 12:59
We have got the right amount of young KPP players now we just need to draft a gun midfielder and the team will be well on the way to winning a premiership. We would have all the positions covered.
KPP forwards, Neagle and Gumbleton
KPP backs, Ryder, Pears and Daniher (Daniher can play both ends)
Players with X factor, Reimers, Jetta, Lovett and Davey
Hard at it midfielders, Lonergan and Watson
Hard running outside midfielders, Houli, Winderlich and Stanton
Useful utilites, Lovett Murray, Laycock and Myers
Add our more experienced players (Hille, McVeigh, Welsh, Rama, McPhee) and we have a good looking team for the future. Lloyd, Lucas and Fletcher probably won't be around for the next premiership so I won't include them.
loopy_cam
7 Jul 2008, 14:10
We have got the right amount of young KPP players now we just need to draft a gun midfielder and the team will be well on the way to winning a premiership. We would have all the positions covered.
KPP forwards, Neagle and Gumbleton
KPP backs, Ryder, Pears and Daniher (Daniher can play both ends)
Players with X factor, Reimers, Jetta, Lovett and Davey
Hard at it midfielders, Lonergan and Watson
Hard running outside midfielders, Houli, Winderlich and Stanton
Useful utilites, Lovett Murray, Laycock and Myers
Add our more experienced players (Hille, McVeigh, Welsh, Rama, McPhee) and we have a good looking team for the future. Lloyd, Lucas and Fletcher probably won't be around for the next premiership so I won't include them.
Daniher is a forward. He won't be a defender. That gives us three tall forwards and only two backs.
Add Hislop to the hard at it mids.
We need to draft one tall back as first peference to make the list complete IMO.
bomba4eva
7 Jul 2008, 14:22
Daniher is a forward. He won't be a defender. That gives us three tall forwards and only two backs.
Add Hislop to the hard at it mids.
We need to draft one tall back as first peference to make the list complete IMO.
Daniher may well be grommed for a position in defence. Off the top of my head he played in defence when we played Port this year. Definitely a viable option as a backman. KPD is what we need. Another top-line midfielder would be great.
Phat Toni
7 Jul 2008, 14:41
Daniher may well be grommed for a position in defence. Off the top of my head he played in defence when we played Port this year. Definitely a viable option as a backman. KPD is what we need. Another top-line midfielder would be great.
To answer the thread question, no we haven't drafted enough talls.
We need more tall backman, as we have seen Mal is gone and Fletch has maybe a year left in him, which makes us a few short in the backline. Darcey maybe is the man, remember he played as a utility for the Cannons but mostley as a backman, just dosent look mobile enough to be a backman but maybe he needs another preseason to get the body working properly. Pears is another option down back but the jury is still out, looks a likley type no doubt, but we haven't seen any evidence he will be a certafied 200 game FB or a CHB, yet!
Talls who aren't going to make it (at this stage things can change) are;
Charters
Hooker
Lazycock
Johns
Lee
which leaves us with;
Forward options:
Neagle (6 Games)
Gumby (4)
Daniher (3)??maybe backline??
Back Options
Ryder (44)
Daniher ??maybe forward??
Pears (5)
Ruck
Belle (1)
All in all we desparetly need games in the young talls and need another ruckman and another backman, because whether we like it or not and no matter how good the names look not all of the above players are going to make it.
Phat Toni
7 Jul 2008, 14:45
hwen you think about it, we have drafted heaps of talls recently, and we have talent like Gumby, Neagle, Pears and Darcy, but maybe drafted 1 too many Talls? look at this:
Gumby (CHF)
Neagle (FF)
Ryder (CHB)
Pears (FB)
Darcy (CHF/HFF)
Hooker (FP/BP/FB/FF)
Chartres (FB/BP)
Bellchamber (R)
unless we try to develop Ryder as a ruck to back-up Bellchambers, who will be our second Ruck? Who plays at CHB? Chartres is a natural FB, same with Pears, and it looks like we want to develop Darcy and Hooker in the Forward line, so why did we only draft 1 ruckman and so many KPP's? starting future line-up:
your opinion wanted.
You have set that team up well bolded IMO wont ever get the chance to play in that team and with Gumby in the ruck:eek: Poor kid cant play a game due to injuries so I would keep him out of there, the question is would you ever want Nick Riewoldt playing in the ruck? Because I think Gumby has a similar stlye to his game as big Nick.
The Dustbin
7 Jul 2008, 17:58
Gumby (CHF)
Neagle (FF)
Ryder (CHB)
Pears (FB)
Darcy (CHF/HFF)
Hooker (FP/BP/FB/FF)
Chartres (FB/BP)
Bellchamber (R)
your opinion wanted.
You do know that Chartres is on the rookie list... ;) Magin will be on the rookie list next year, not sure about Dick and Chartres.
Gumby won't be used as a back up ruckman.
not tall enough, he's 194 cm, and he's probably just a little too slow, but can take out slower forwards like Clark, Hawkins, and Boyle. why not play him on one of them? got the big enough build
Have you seen him try and take on the big tall forwards in the VFL ?
I base my assesment on games i have seen him play in defence for Bendigo and not just some numbers on a page.He has not done well on the bigger blokes when he has played defence.
Always looked better as a forward in the TAC Cup and played 75% of his time there. All his better games have been on the back of him playing as a CHF.
Big Blow Hard
7 Jul 2008, 22:59
I think Cale Hooker mught surprise a few people. Toruble with most people, you expect a kid to be a gun straight away. Some players wont play AFL at all in their first season, they are not ready. Hooker is one of them. I truly think he may still turn out to be one of the steals of the draft.
james_omahoney
7 Jul 2008, 23:34
Gumby (CHF)
Neagle (FF)
Ryder (CHB)
Pears (FB)
Darcy (CHF/HFF)
Hooker (FP/BP/FB/FF)
Chartres (FB/BP)
Bellchamber (R)
your opinion wanted.
No, we haven't.
Windas_Magic
7 Jul 2008, 23:38
I think we're set as key forwards go but still lack a key defender. Ryder is coming along nicely at CHB but may change position we he has a developed body and we have question marks over our next FB. Obviously Pears is a hopeful but even he has question marks over where his perminant position will be.
The_Young_Gun
8 Jul 2008, 03:02
I think we're set as key forwards go but still lack a key defender. Ryder is coming along nicely at CHB but may change position we he has a developed body and we have question marks over our next FB. Obviously Pears is a hopeful but even he has question marks over where his perminant position will be.
Darcey Daniher, Andrew Lee, just to add to your list...
Pears would have to be our next Full Back no doubt though, he might not be tall enough for it (191cm), but his closing speed would be the factor of his game... you could compare him with Mal Michael, 190cm, 100kg, just get Tait in the Weight room for a few more years and there you have an identical Mal Michael in the Making;).
On the other hand you have Daniher and Lee, Daniher who has been known to play off half back and Lee the same case. Both could possibly play full back (Very unlikely) but anything can happen:confused:.
As for Ryder, he has pretty much the exact same characteristics as Fletcher no doubt about it (Fletch 199c, Ryder 199cm.ect), Ryder could just slide into the Full Back possition easily once Fletch retires. Thus giving Daniher, Pears, Lee Whoever???? to take the half back role.
In the end its just a jigsaw puzzle, you only have to get the pieces to fit in the end and afterwards its just smooth sailing.
Darcey Daniher, Andrew Lee, just to add to your list...
Pears would have to be our next Full Back no doubt though, he might not be tall enough for it (191cm), but his closing speed would be the factor of his game... you could compare him with Mal Michael, 190cm, 100kg, just get Tait in the Weight room for a few more years and there you have an identical Mal Michael in the Making;).
Scarlett and Glass are both 192cm - Pears' height isn't an issue I would think
Ben the Gooner
8 Jul 2008, 09:11
We need another this year, so no.
Longy413
8 Jul 2008, 09:49
I actually reckon Hooker might be alright.
I agree with Chartres not being up to it.
With Johns and Lee likely to be cut from the list, we need to draft more.
We should be drafted at least one tall in each draft period going forward.
bombersno1
8 Jul 2008, 12:05
I think we have got the balance right but we do need a GUN MIDFIELDER soon otherwise these talls will not get the supply to show their skills
The Dustbin
8 Jul 2008, 13:54
One name that hasn't been mentioned yet is Dean Dick....
Interesting player. Appears to have all the skills, yet on the field he just seems to cruise, lacks any intensity in his tackling and doesn't like body contact. Moves really well for his size (Reminds me a little of Kouta), can take a fair grab and roost the ball 50m +.
Like I said he just appears to lack any intensity and at times comes across as a lazy, not interested footballer. Having said that I've seen a small improvement in his on field application, particularly against Nth Ballarat wear he ran and tackled, had 2nd and 3rd efforts and applied some good shepards.
So we know he has got it in him. But has he left it too late? Or has Knighter seen enough to keep him at EFC next year?
I'm sitting on the fence, I wasn't convinced last year but he has shown improvment thus far and may be worth percevering for another season.
Thoughts....
Centurion
8 Jul 2008, 14:08
Interesting player. Appears to have all the skills, yet on the field he just seems to cruise, lacks any intensity in his tackling and doesn't like body contact. Moves really well for his size (Reminds me a little of Kouta), can take a fair grab and roost the ball 50m +.
Like I said he just appears to lack any intensity and at times comes across as a lazy, not interested footballer. Having said that I've seen a small improvement in his on field application, particularly against Nth Ballarat wear he ran and tackled, had 2nd and 3rd efforts and applied some good shepards.
So we know he has got it in him. But has he left it too late? Or has Knighter seen enough to keep him at EFC next year?
I'm sitting on the fence, I wasn't convinced last year but he has shown improvment thus far and may be worth percevering for another season.
Thoughts....
I totally agree Dusty with your post. This kid has the potential to be anything but has to improve his intensity, concentration and consistency levels before we can take him seriously. I think Knighta has seen something in him like we all have, but his patience levels will be the crucial factor on Dicks future at the club. Personally, i would love to see the kid perform and be a good player for this club, because obviously it would be great to watch. :D
kelvin_sheedy
8 Jul 2008, 15:43
Thoughts....
He played Bendigo reserves on the weekend. It may be a sign of where he is at.
One of the worst players I've seen in the red and black. Has absolutely no idea what to do with the football and is as soft as they come.
The Dustbin
8 Jul 2008, 16:12
One of the worst players I've seen in the red and black. Has absolutely no idea what to do with the football and is as soft as they come.
I was saying that last year. Christ if he played Bendigo reserve's last weekend, then he has taken a massive step backwards.
I remember Sheeds was pumping him up a bit last year, wonder if he has changed his opinion.
Thanks for the update Kelvin. :thumbsu:
kelvin_sheedy
8 Jul 2008, 16:28
I was saying that last year. Christ if he played Bendigo reserve's last weekend, then he has taken a massive step backwards.
I remember Sheeds was pumping him up a bit last year, wonder if he has changed his opinion.
Thanks for the update Kelvin. :thumbsu:
Sheeds wrote an article about a month back about how we are developing young kids and we'll be fighting with Melbourne for the spoon.
He said that Dick will get his chance by the end of the year. I almost spat my coffee out when I read that.
The Dustbin
8 Jul 2008, 16:29
Sheeds wrote an article about a month back about how we are developing young kids and we'll be fighting with Melbourne for the spoon.
He said that Dick will get his chance by the end of the year. I almost spat my coffee out when I read that.
Sheeds loves Dick. :D
dont ride off hooker his only been at the club for somthing like half a year, he will take something like 2-3 preseasons before he will be ready. his a bit like westhoff from port. this year we should be looking to pick up another ruckman with either our 3rd or 4th pick or maybe even rookie, since they take 4-5 years to come on. As for taking tall's in the draft i think that we are taking a good mixture of talls and midfielders because in 2-3 years we will loose lloyd, lucas, fletcher, micheal (maybe this year) and our younger players eg gumby neagle pears ryder will have to step up and take ok a bigger role in our team.
Longy413
8 Jul 2008, 18:33
The 12/10 rule was in force, we had our listed quota.
So he was stiff.
Would have got a game ahead of every Bendigo listed player bar a couple.
That said, don't see him making it.
Windas_Magic
8 Jul 2008, 18:38
Thoughts....
Dick will never be a KPP and will be lucky to ever get an AFL game.
More than lucky it will be a bloody miracle!
reincarnated
8 Jul 2008, 21:07
Draft Selection: 23, Tayte Pears from East Perth
Draft Selection: 39, Darcy Daniher father/son Calder Cannons
Draft Selection: 54, Cale Hooker from East Fremantle
Pre Season: 8, Tom Bellchambers from Tassie Mariners
Draft Selection: 2, Scott Gumbleton from Peel
Rookie: 18, Danny Chartres from Peel
Pre Season: 2, Mal Michael from Brisbane Lions
Draft Selection: 7, Patrick Ryder from East Fremantle
Draft Selection: 39, Jay Neagle father/son selection from Gippsland
Draft Selection: 66, Austin Lucy from Suncoast Lions
Rookie: 4, Lachlan McKinnon from Coberg Tigers Draft
Rookie: 47, Tim O’Keefe Bendigo Bombers Draft
Draft Selection: 30, Andrew Lee from Tassie Mariners Draft
Draft selection: 6, Kepler Bradley from West Perth Draft
Rookie elevation: Courtney Johns from East Fremantle
Draft selection: 10, Jason Laycock from Tassie Mariners.
Draft selection: 28, Tristan Cartledge from North Ballarat Rebels.
Looking at it in the last three years, we went mad with drafting talls. So answer to your question is, yes. Since 2002 look at how many ruckmen we have drafted in, and with our early picks as well...
Hence our weakness in the midfield department and small defenders for a long period of time.
we need tall defenders, looking at our list, we have enough midfielders, obviously if we cannot pick up hurley with our first pick then we need an in and under midfielder, we have enough out side mids. we should also look tro pick up a ruckman with our 2nd pick possibly.
1st pick Hurley - if not, DeBoer, Jay Shannon (SA)
2nd Pick Ruckman - Tyrone Vickery, Andrew Browne maybe.
3rd pick, Midfielder
4th pick, defender, small
Ben the Gooner
9 Jul 2008, 09:34
dont ride off hooker his only been at the club for somthing like half a year, he will take something like 2-3 preseasons before he will be ready. his a bit like westhoff from port. this year we should be looking to pick up another ruckman with either our 3rd or 4th pick or maybe even rookie, since they take 4-5 years to come on. As for taking tall's in the draft i think that we are taking a good mixture of talls and midfielders because in 2-3 years we will loose lloyd, lucas, fletcher, micheal (maybe this year) and our younger players eg gumby neagle pears ryder will have to step up and take ok a bigger role in our team.
What, he was a vital contributer in his team making the Grand Final in his first season? Can't see any similarities whatsoever.:confused:
And HFF, we don't need another ruckman. A balanced list has 4 of them, plus a couple who can pinch hit. We've got Hille, Laycock (who won't leave, unless Warnock comes, which he won't), Ryder, Bellchambers. Fletch and Gumbleton can play there if we're desperate.
A key defender, a small defender, and two mids.
loopy_cam
9 Jul 2008, 13:15
What, he was a vital contributer in his team making the Grand Final in his first season? Can't see any similarities whatsoever.:confused:
There are similarities.
- Both are late and somewhat speculative draft choices.
- Both are skinny key forwards.
It's just that Westhoff surprised everyone with what he did. Hooker hasn't as of yet.
Phat Toni
9 Jul 2008, 14:37
And HFF, we don't need another ruckman. A balanced list has 4 of them, plus a couple who can pinch hit. We've got Hille, Laycock (who won't leave, unless Warnock comes, which he won't), Ryder, Bellchambers. Fletch and Gumbleton can play there if we're desperate.
:eek: please noooooooooooooooooooooo.....................................
Westhoff and Hooker have a simular body shape and take a long time to develope.
While paddy isnt a ruckman we need to develope him as a chb and not keep throwing him were ever we need him. so thats why we need one more ruckman
Westhoff and Hooker have a simular body shape and take a long time to develope.
While paddy isnt a ruckman we need to develope him as a chb and not keep throwing him were ever we need him. so thats why we need one more ruckman
agreed, Vickery seems a likely type from today. what do you wreckon.
bomberz20_72
9 Jul 2008, 23:36
The slow improvement Laycock has shown the last 3-4 games is encouraging but it is make or break for him. He needs to prove to himself he has what it takes to succeed at this level for an extended period of time, become a dominant force in the ruck for the bombers and prove all his doubters wrong.
Trouble is, I can't see him taking those steps up to be that elite player.
We need another young ruckman to learn and develop under Hille so if Laycock fails he can be readily replaced of heaven help us he succeeds then we have another back up ruckman to learn under Laycock.
Our KPP's are young but you have to start somewhere, enough has been shown from Neagle to prove he will be a very useful forward and when Gumby gets his body right he too will prove to be a great player, Ryder is a gun and will smash the competition in years to come. Daniher will hopefully provide us with years of service so i don't think we need to be drafting anymore young talls.
Big Blow Hard
9 Jul 2008, 23:43
The slow improvement Laycock has shown the last 3-4 games is encouraging but it is make or break for him.
I must have overlooked it. He has barely got a possesion in his last few games. And his ruck work has been nothing to write home about. Bar for a late goal against Carlton and a couple of marks last week, what has he done that has shown you improvement?
Ben the Gooner
10 Jul 2008, 10:28
:eek: please noooooooooooooooooooooo.....................................
Note the bit that says if we're desperate. Say Hille goes down in the first quarter, we can rest Laycock with those guys in the ruck for 5 minutes or so.
bomberz20_72
11 Jul 2008, 01:40
I say slow for a reason, a man in his position should be showing rapid improvement but i think at times against Carlton and Freo he has shown a commitment that wasn't always there.... but he still has a long way to go. And myself like most on here can't see him making a vast improvment
I would liken it to petrol prices.. we are all meant to get excited on "cheap" tuesday.. oh wow $1.65 rather than $1.80.. I'm still getting screwed either way!!
laycock has improved over the last 3 weeks.. he is almost at TAC level.. so theoritically at this pace he may be an AFL level ruckman in around 10 seasons..
Slattery_20
12 Jul 2008, 18:24
I think Cale Hooker mught surprise a few people. Toruble with most people, you expect a kid to be a gun straight away. Some players wont play AFL at all in their first season, they are not ready. Hooker is one of them. I truly think he may still turn out to be one of the steals of the draft.
Has looked OK from what I've seen
I have a feeling if he'd been well-hyped & taken in a higher round, people would somehow be less disappointed with what they're seeing
Whether he eventually makes it or not, he's still a year or two away
Slattery_20
12 Jul 2008, 18:27
I actually reckon Hooker might be alright.
I agree with Chartres not being up to it.
With Johns and Lee likely to be cut from the list, we need to draft more.
We should be drafted at least one tall in each draft period going forward.
Agree with all of that
Although I think it's a bit bleeding obvious that we'd take a tall every year regardless, can't remember a year where we haven't
I thought at draft time last year we should have put a ruckman on the rookie list, & still think we're one short, but the numbers of KPP seem to be about right
Alex Silvagni anyone. get on him, 22 y.o from Casey Scorpions VFL, 191 FB, 90+kg. would not look out of place next to fletcher.
loopy_cam
13 Jul 2008, 16:27
Alex Silvagni anyone. get on him, 22 y.o from Casey Scorpions VFL, 191 FB, 90+kg. would not look out of place next to fletcher.
Your obsession with this man is becoming quite scary.
I am becoming increasingly annoyed that every one is saying Cale hooker this Tayte Pears that, why dont we get someone that is not injured that can come through the ranks, look at Andrew Lee, we need another one of them, 3 years or whatever on the list for hardly anything, Courtney Johns to a lesser extent. I have seen Silvagni play and he is a very, very good young player. but hey, what would I know.
Ryder Is God
13 Jul 2008, 16:39
He has the name Silvagni, anyone with that name would look at out of place at Essendon.
Would you have said that about Sheedy, hey look another Richmond ex-pat, Matthew Knights, seems to be warming to the job too. Story in the paper a few weeks back, Koutas boy follows Collingwood and Daicos' boy follows Carlton, are they gonna stop them cause they played for the arch rivals, no, worst excuse ever.
Ryder Is God
13 Jul 2008, 16:52
Would you have said that about Sheedy, hey look another Richmond ex-pat, Matthew Knights, seems to be warming to the job too. Story in the paper a few weeks back, Koutas boy follows Collingwood and Daicos' boy follows Carlton, are they gonna stop them cause they played for the arch rivals, no, worst excuse ever.
Relax. I was joking.
cranky pants.
To answer the Op firstly, no we have not drafted too many talls but also have not drafted enough out and out midfielders. With small forwards perhaps we are replete.
But, Ben, to think our ruck stocks are sufficient is madness.
Hille is 27 and killing them at the moment. His game is sooooo useful across the park we need to be supporting him when deployed outside of the ruck position he has held so well. Laycock is handy at best and warrants retainment but he could support Hille and the team a little better in the ruck. Laycock is probably better around the ground than in the ruck strictly speaking which warrants ruck drafting given this may well be proven 'truer' as we move in to knighters game plan even further.
True rucks take a long time to develop, particularly if drafted late second come third round plus. Take one now. There is no patch for a team who are suddenly deficient in this area. It puts serious and subsequent drafting contingencies if the first and second round picks are midfielders.
This talk about Ryder being a 'ruck stock' blindsides the team setup. Okay he can ruck but his attributes and abilities are best served as a CHB or defender. Rotating him from this role is fine but to count him as a ruck stock tranfers team deficiencies elsewhere similarly as weak. Draft ruck insurance now.
And counting bellchambers as a ruckman at this point is like counting the eggs in coop before the rooster has even sighted the chickens.
And all of this is not even considering injury. We are left with what???
Problems.
We are not secure in ruck stocks
Sorry to all, things have been a bit hectic around here atm, like i said, to all, i am sorry.
Not sure why you are sorry. Posed a reasonable forum question for discussion.:thumbsu:
yeah, so did i.