View Full Version : Peter Bell retires
fat wombat
7 Jul 2008, 19:01
http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/tabid/7009/Default.aspx?newsid=62829
What a champ! Came as a it of a surprise though!
Send a farewell message to him by emailing freohero@fremantlefc.com.au
pinkus maximus
7 Jul 2008, 19:08
looks like it's effective immediately?
sad that we won't get to say farewell, but i think that's the way he would want it
chook2734
7 Jul 2008, 19:09
Poor by Bell if he's not even going to bother with a farewell match. He's physically capable and surely he owes it to the supporters. Could be a good thing if that's his attitude.
Massive surprise to me to.
Congratulations on a great career, a true champion:thumbsu:
fat wombat
7 Jul 2008, 19:13
I guess it's a pretty big opportunity for Browne to get a run in the side sooner rather than later. It will be interesting to see if they stick with Johnson for the full year or they start putting game time into Obrien.
Great footballer but a better person. Anyway, time to bring in the kids and also, give the likes of Browne a last go at it.
The big ROObowski
7 Jul 2008, 19:21
Poor by Bell if he's not even going to bother with a farewell match. He's physically capable and surely he owes it to the supporters. Could be a good thing if that's his attitude.
Knob.
A champion of two clubs and true servant to yours especially, he 'owes' nothing. It hurt when I saw him in a freo top for the first time but he really did love your club.
shiny_on_top
7 Jul 2008, 19:25
What a legend!!!:thumbsu:
Congrats on a great career Peter. :thumbsu:
But now we breath a sigh of relief. No more bloody bell man! I hope you dont have anymore Bell's comming through the ranks. ;)
Bender571
7 Jul 2008, 19:27
Congrats on a great career Belly. You were a true clubman :thumbsu:
lion4ever
7 Jul 2008, 19:27
Great player and will be missed. Congratulations on a fabulous career:thumbsu:
Sad to see him retire :(
(Also, goodbye to the people that ring bells when he gets the ball:p)
prattsta
7 Jul 2008, 19:28
Knob.
Agreed.
Belly was a champ, if we had more players like him he'd be retiring with more than 2 premierships next to his name.
pistol17
7 Jul 2008, 19:29
Sorry chook I dont agree... Peter Bell owes the supporters nothing. He put everything he had into the club. He goes out a champion and on his terms. Congratulations on a wonderful career Belly your a star.
chook2734
7 Jul 2008, 19:31
Knob.
A champion of two clubs and true servant to yours especially, he 'owes' nothing. It hurt when I saw him in a freo top for the first time but he really did love your club.
You don't think the supporters deserve an opportunity to farewell probably one of the greatest players of this club? It's certainly not unexpected, but I do think it's poor for him to not at least give some acknowledgement to his fans.
Thought he had another year or two in him? Hasn't he been playing some pretty good footy this year?
Been a great player for Fremantle, wish him all the best in the future. :thumbsu:
Surprised not to see him have a farewell game, he does deserve it. A fantastic player at two different clubs. All the best for the future. :thumbsu:
pinkus maximus
7 Jul 2008, 19:35
Thought he had another year or two in him? Hasn't he been playing some pretty good footy this year?
Been a great player for Fremantle, wish him all the best in the future. :thumbsu:
there is no doubt he could have played another season, but why bother?
he has nothing more to gain or achieve and unlike a lot of footy players, he looks to have a pretty good career planned out post footy
The big ROObowski
7 Jul 2008, 19:37
You don't think the supporters deserve an opportunity to farewell probably one of the greatest players of this club? It's certainly not unexpected, but I do think it's poor for him to not at least give some acknowledgement to his fans.
What the name of that thing where someone walks around the boundry of an oval before a game in front of the fans?...sometimes to applause...eh nevermind.
Freo Shark
7 Jul 2008, 19:39
Congrats Belly on a fantastic career! We'll miss the inspirational leadership and passion you gave to the club.
Didn't expect to hear that!
Congrats on your footy career.
chook2734
7 Jul 2008, 19:40
What the name of that thing where someone walks around the boundry of an oval before a game in front of the fans?...sometimes to applause...eh nevermind.
A lap of honour? Will be interesting if he can manage even that.
He has no doubt been a great servant of Fremantle, and as I have said above, at this point probably our best ever. People talk about the lack of culture etc at Freo, and this is something that involves that. Look at the send off for Hird last year. That's what Bell deserves and so do Freo's supporters.
Thanks for all the good times Belly.
Good to see He was sensible enough to go out on his own terms, rather than play on for too long. :thumbsu:
dont bowl there
7 Jul 2008, 19:51
Man I really didnt expect this, his love for the game must be completely gone not to play out the season. Champ of the club and champ of the game.
Keyser Soze
7 Jul 2008, 19:51
I always admire players who are brave enough to call it quits while they are still playing good footy, rather than hang on until they have to be pushed out the door.
Not surprised that he made the decision not to continue next year, but am surprised that he is pulling the pin mid season.
Great career for the little guy.
Well done champ.
Well that's two gone.
samseenee
7 Jul 2008, 20:06
What does the bell ringer do now on game day @ Subi?
Sensational player and bloke. A gentleman of the game. Glad he is going on his own terms and in his own way. If he been the type of bloke to do things for the sake of doing them (eg stay for a send-off game) he would never have even made it to WAFL level. Therein lies his greatness.
Cameron_K
7 Jul 2008, 20:10
Congrats on a great career Belly.
Will be a shame we don't get to see him play that one last time at Subi but you have to respect the guy for going out on his terms.
A true purple warrior, whose desire and pure guts made up for any limitation.
Thank you for everything.
Thankyou and congrats to Belly. Would have liked to have the opportunity to farewell him at Subi but that's not to be.
Enjoy life after footy... I'm sure there will always be a place for him in an advisory capacity if or when he decides that is his path.:thumbsu:
Checkers Nixon
7 Jul 2008, 20:24
Guys, has Peter Bell betrayed supporters by not playing a farewell game?
I dont want this post to appear as an attack on his legacy, but it just seems like Bell has taken a really selfish option with the circumstances of his retirement.
Bell is a former captain of the club, an original member of the first FFC squad, and an absolute legend of the club.
I think he kind of owes it to supporters to let them see him one last time.
He is a little champion and can do whatever he wants as far as how he wants to go out. It was always going to be his style, I guess most thought it would be in the off-season.
Thankfully Pagan knew a bit better than Neesham, funny how things work out. In hindsight you have to be happy for him that he didn't get stuck here all his career and was able to win a few premierships with North Melbourne.
Fantastic career!!
Farewell champ.
estibador
7 Jul 2008, 20:44
He's probably done what's best for the team by retiring mid season. That's one more spot we can use to try out a younger player. I just hope we don't waste it by bringing Macca back in.
And to anyone worried that the fans won't get a chance to say goodbye - I'm sure a lap around the boundary will be a far more intimate farewell with the fans than running around in the middle would be. Let's just hope the club doesn't ruin it with a halfhearted effort like they gave Parker and Cookie.
Congrats on a great career Belly. Definitely one of the top two players this club has ever had.
I dont want this post to appear as an attack on his legacy, but it just seems like Bell has taken a really selfish option with the circumstances of his retirement.
Bell is a former captain of the club, an original member of the first FFC squad, and an absolute legend of the club.
He doesnt owe me a ____ing thing.
he has bled purple and will allow him to do as he chooses - 280+ AFL games, means he can go when and how he chooses.
bigkev bleeds purple
7 Jul 2008, 20:48
No way. Just because the man is too humble to go and parade himself around like the hero we all think he is does not mean that he is selfish. Quite the opposite in my opinion.
Peter Bell has always been quiet and uninterested in the glamour and accolades that come with football. I don't expect that to change now that he's giving the game away.
Congratulations on an excellent career Peter. Best of luck in your new career and life outside of football and thankyou for helping to pull my club out of the mire. Love you long time.
Deadset Champion of the Game. One of the greats!
Rabbitoh
7 Jul 2008, 21:04
So.... ah....Belly retires and its all about you Checkers.
Chops_a_must
7 Jul 2008, 21:07
No way. Just because the man is too humble to go and parade himself around like the hero we all think he is does not mean that he is selfish. Quite the opposite in my opinion.
Peter Bell has always been quiet and uninterested in the glamour and accolades that come with football. I don't expect that to change now that he's giving the game away.
Exactly.
He has never been the type of person who sought that attention. Just because someone doesn't do things in a manner that is typical for us, doesn't mean they don't respect/ care about the fans etc. I expected him to retire quietly at the end of the year, as is obviously his way. But the speculation from fuddy duddy Hart et al. pushed his hand.
Nothing I or anyone here writes can describe what an out and out champion Belly is and has been. And he goes out of his sport close to his peak. Not a lot of people can say that. Well done.
Congrat's Belly.....
Now if only Mcmanus would take the hint and realise what the team really needs(which isnt him) and retire aswell....
ahhhhhhh if only.
Dead set legend. Will be missed (unless he goes straight to CEO:thumbsu::thumbsu:).
I think it says a lot about our club at the moment. Champions don't leave in this manner when a club is going ok.
Warrior
Champion
Leader
...shame he couldn't suit up 1 last time, but he's always shied away from the spotlight. Like previous Dockers posters have said...he doesn't owe us anything...good luck to him in the future, hopefully plays some sort of role with the club.
CEO?????
Headless
7 Jul 2008, 21:36
Are you kidding me? Is this some kind of joke?
Peter Bell has given all he can for your club, he's captained your club and played 181 games for your club (286 all up).
Every week he committed himself to your club, trained long hours for your club and come match day put his body and well being on the line continuously for your club.
If he can't hang up the boots whenever he feels necessary, then what kind of supporter are you?
You'll be able to show your thanks and gratitude, he'll no doubt have a lap of honour at some stage.
He owes your club nothing, your club owes him.
Sorry for intruding your board, congratulations Peter Bell on the fantastic career and good luck for the rest of the season.
docker_azza
7 Jul 2008, 21:36
Deserves to go out his way. Has been our heart and soul player over the last five years.
In his press conference, he said something like he had played this season in the hope of helping the team to play finals, something which is clearly now not going to happen. He had to do what was best for the Club, and it was time for the Club to get rid of the deadwood - his words.
Belly, well played both today and throughout your career. You don't owe me a final game, as much as I would selfishly love you to have one. Unselfish right to the end.
In 50 years time, Peter Bell will still be a champion of our Club.
Was there a State pre-selection vacancy opened up today that I didn't hear about?
RoJo Junior
7 Jul 2008, 21:44
The attitude and character of Peter Bell should be instilled into every player down that at Freo. His actions and manor in how he went about it today show why hes regarded as such a great.
And Im an eagles supporter saying i have the utmost respect for the guy, he is a true champion!!
Conducted himself superbly, a great player who was passionate for the club and an intelligent bloke too (and theres not too many guys in the AFL who are both) If you had a few more blokes like Peter Bell down there you would surely have a premiership or a two or more to your name by now.
thanks & best wishes Belly!
you are a champ and will be missed.
linchpin
7 Jul 2008, 22:16
Great career form the little fella.
Premiership player and a great ambassador of the game.
Underachieved this year with the side on the park, may be a sign of newbies introduced to 'guarantee' quality kids at the end of the year.
But this is about Belly....
Congrats!
Memories
7 Jul 2008, 22:21
If Bell doesn't want to say goodbye to the crowd, surely how much does he respect us as fans? People say he was a leader at the club and I'd like to know exactly what he led.... maybe their stock portfolios, I guess that would make most of them happy.
But seriously, he had to coerced to play for us this year, he played pretty well, but for him just to leave like this in a "____ the fans" type way... I donno, he does owe us, because we paid his wage for a while now. In a way, with the way this has gone down, I will be very interested how some players in our club react to this.
If Bell doesn't want to say goodbye to the crowd, surely how much does he respect us as fans? People say he was a leader at the club and I'd like to know exactly what he led.... maybe their stock portfolios, I guess that would make most of them happy.
But seriously, he had to coerced to play for us this year, he played pretty well, but for him just to leave like this in a "____ the fans" type way... I donno, he does owe us, because we paid his wage for a while now. In a way, with the way this has gone down, I will be very interested how some players in our club react to this.
Do you feel the same way about Matt Carr?
RoJo Junior
7 Jul 2008, 22:28
I really dont see how he owes the fans anything. Hes brought your club further than any other bloke down has achieved. Isnt that thanks enough.
Give him your own sendoff, as previously mentioned surely he will do a lap of honour and all that. Theres no point him going on theres nothing to achieve at Freo this season. And him not playing might help you guys in the long run at seasons end if you catch my drift ;) See toldya hes a smart man. Hes doin whats best for the club. You might end up thanking him more in a few years time.
dockers_bengals
7 Jul 2008, 22:31
A Champion who gave his all for both clubs.
One of those players that proves you don't need to be a set size and build to be a champion in the AFL,who you would never thought would be a great captain.
I respect his decision to not play a final game and not surprised.
All the best for the future Peter Bell.
I thought that, by now everyone knew that Belly is that type of person. He doesn't like the spotlight and attention. That's just the way he is. He doesn't owe anyone anything. Having said that, I personaly, would love to see him play his farewell game.
dockers_bengals
7 Jul 2008, 22:38
With stupid posts like this,I wouldn't blame him if he says that.Why don't you ring him/Freo and ask for some of your money back then?
Kenny_01
7 Jul 2008, 22:39
What a champion. Putting the team ahead of himself like always.
Thumbs up to him and Matt Carr as well.
Memories
7 Jul 2008, 22:43
I don't mind him not playing a farewell game so much, but it was implied he isn't coming back at all. If he does a crowd send off pre game or something then that is fine in my book. My only issue is if the last we see of him was against his old club there.
Why else do we as supporters give the Freo club up to a few thousand each year? It's to have our say and watch the games, we do pay for the players wages and they should really care somewhat about us, in my opinion. At least on a superficial level like everyone has with their boss.
chook2734
7 Jul 2008, 22:48
Do you feel the same way about Matt Carr?
Matt Carr is not a former captain nor is he one of the greatest players to have played for Freo.
I don't go for the 'we paid his wage so he owes us' line, but as I said above, I think it's about doing the right thing for everyone, the club, his teammates, the supporters and in the end also Bell himself. He may not think he wants it now, but I'm sure in years to come it would have been something that he could have looked back on. I don't think any of us are surprised to see him go this way but I also don't think there is anything wrong with supporters being disappointed in it.
toenail11
7 Jul 2008, 22:49
sad to see him go. but its a bit of a relief for me. i sit a row behind the bell ringin bloke.
Power King
7 Jul 2008, 22:51
All the best to the champion.
Had a fantastic career.
dominguez
7 Jul 2008, 23:02
Thanks Belly, all the best!
Jackfrost
7 Jul 2008, 23:14
Champion player. Dumped by his club and goes on to play in 2 premierships and then goes back to the club that dumped him. He gave so much to your club and all you could do was ring a stupid bell everytime he got the ball. He was probably so sick of it, he couldn't play even one more game
Maximus76
7 Jul 2008, 23:46
congrads bell.. i always had the feeling that footy became a "JOB" for you a few years back..the way you retired just reinforces that you did you job but your very happy to walk away and never look back...good luck in whatever you go on to do.
the only pity is that freo still havent got that champion that wants to move into the media to keep plugging and selling the club..bell will be a far away from footy as possible
All the best, Belly. Thanks for everything.
Although I (selfishly) would have loved to see him play just one more time, I don't reckon you can really force him to put the boots on again if he's made up his mind.
We did it to him in the off-season and he was gracious enough to acquiesce, but not again.
I'll be cheering loudly, all misty-eyed, if/when he parades around Subi Oval on the back of a ute.
One of the absolute best.:thumbsu:
fat wombat
8 Jul 2008, 00:15
A lot of people forget already that he ran around this year for little more than what a rookie gets paid. He owes the club and fans ABSOLUTELY nothing. Get your head out of your arses those of you who think he owes you something!
chook2734
8 Jul 2008, 00:23
I don't think having an opinion that Bell should consider farewelling his teammates, club and supporters is having your head up your arse.
How many other players of his standing at any other club have just walked away, in the middle of the season, when they are still physically fit and still playing good football?
Are you kidding me? Is this some kind of joke?
Peter Bell has given all he can for your club, he's captained your club and played 181 games for your club (286 all up).
Every week he committed himself to your club, trained long hours for your club and come match day put his body and well being on the line continuously for your club.
If he can't hang up the boots whenever he feels necessary, then what kind of supporter are you?
You'll be able to show your thanks and gratitude, he'll no doubt have a lap of honour at some stage.
He owes your club nothing, your club owes him.
Sorry for intruding your board, congratulations Peter Bell on the fantastic career and good luck for the rest of the season.
I agree with the sentiment of your post, but next time before having a little rant check the details. The bloke you quoted is one of those mysterious "unlisted" supporters. Therefore I will thank you not to refer to it as a Freo supporter.
I don't think having an opinion that Bell should consider farewelling his teammates, club and supporters is having your head up your arse.
How many other players of his standing at any other club have just walked away, in the middle of the season, when they are still physically fit and still playing good football?
Why does he have to have a farewell game? I am sure the club will honour him.
He did the selfless thing by walking away now while there is still time to get some games into others, as well as get used to playing without him. If he had retired last week then Browne would have played...I bet he has thought about that and decided he would rather Browne (or similar) play. Truly selfless.
If you don't see it as a selfless act then you are seriously small minded.
dont bowl there
8 Jul 2008, 00:49
Personally if Belly doesnt have the passion to play AFL I would hate to see him go through the motions in his last game just so we can clap him off. Best thing for the club and himself.
congrats belly. champ. retired at the right time too.
Congrats to Peter Bell on a wonderful career.
Well done a pulling the trigger when he thought was right.
DOCKER CLINT
8 Jul 2008, 01:03
Oh get stuffed, he doesn't owe anyone anything. He was dumped by the club without being given a chance and then hauled back after he proved that he was a champ
I'm just stoked we got him back to our club at all. He gave it everything and got bugger all in return.
Has every right to walk away now if he so chooses.
Thanks for the memories Belly.
I hope the players go the pout after a goal this week in his honour.
pistol17
8 Jul 2008, 01:05
Memories, what Bell did today was typical of his career. We would all like to send him off with a farewell game but thats not belly. He never has been a guy who craves attention or accolades.
I personally think it is disrespectful to Peter Bell to accuse him of not respecting his fans. He knows he will not be playing in 2009, he has made way for someone to gain some experience or maybe save their career eg. browne and webster.
Poor form I think on your behalf to question his leadership, i think a bit of respect for a champion of the FFC is needed. We owe Peter Bell, he DOES NOT owe us one thing.
DOCKER CLINT
8 Jul 2008, 01:05
I really dont see how he owes the fans anything. Hes brought your club further than any other bloke down has achieved. Isnt that thanks enough.
Ignore the muppets who think like that. Many supporters agree with your point of view.
chook2734
8 Jul 2008, 01:12
Memories, what Bell did today was typical of his career. We would all like to send him off with a farewell game but thats not belly. He never has been a guy who craves attention or accolades.
I personally think it is disrespectful to Peter Bell to accuse him of not respecting his fans. He knows he will not be playing in 2009, he has made way for someone to gain some experience or maybe save their career eg. browne and webster.
Poor form I think on your behalf to question his leadership, i think a bit of respect for a champion of the FFC is needed. We owe Peter Bell, he DOES NOT owe us one thing.
If Bell owes the FFC and it's supporters nothing now that he has walked, how is it that we owe him anything anymore? He has done some wonderful things during his time here and we have supported him, cheered him and applauded him through it all (he's also done ok out of it financially too, not that I care about that). I respect him for all he has done in his time here, but I won't say I'm not disappointed in the way he has chosen to leave.
Memories
8 Jul 2008, 01:22
If Bell can't even be bothered to say goodbye in a PREGAME type thing then my post sums it up quite well really. You can't just "play the game", without knowing :-
A) Supporters pays your salary
B) We have supported you whilst you do your job
If you had people at your work cheering you on to do your job wouldn't you thank them after you retired? To think it is "over the top" to even question Bell possibly not caring about the people who were WITH HIM in the good and bad times is ludicrous, especially with something rather emotional like a sporting team.
It's funny I'm the one here defending the emotional side to the game when I'm the least emotional person here..... what happened to all the emotion you guys show when see a "tank" post from me? Yes Bell was a great player but if he just leaves like he doesn't give a shit about the game and the fans (and likely never has if that's the case) then he has tarnished his career imo. Your career includes the way you go out.
thebaxters
8 Jul 2008, 01:39
Sorry to see our former Captain and the only genuine midfield star the Dockers have ever had leave us, but thanks for your efforts, your second efforts and the way you flew the flag for us.
Thanks Belly.
RoJo Junior
8 Jul 2008, 02:29
Listening to stupid shit from guys like Memories and Chook symbolise why all other teams and media dont respect you. Its stupid comments like that makes you wonder if you blokes are true supporters you're probably the ones not turning up to the games or leaving early when they arent goin well. Go jump back on your freo bandwagon when you string a few wins together.
He didnt want to play this season, you lot dragged him back he played for peanuts and was still one of your best players. What more can you ask for?? If he plays this hyped up farewell game and loses (which is more than likely on current form) he would go out on a downer, hardly what he deserves.
Turning on your best player ever for doin yet another countless selfless act for the benefit of the club. Hes the one whos been pretty much individually raising the "stock" in Freo over the years.
fat wombat
8 Jul 2008, 02:33
If Bell can't even be bothered to say goodbye in a PREGAME type thing then my post sums it up quite well really. You can't just "play the game", without knowing :-
This does not mean supporters have ownership over you, nor does it mean they can dictate what you do and don't do. Peter Bell chose to do what he feels is in the best interest of the supporters and the club by stepping down and allowing the next generation of dockers to get some game time and take over. It's so important that they get this game time now.
Listening to stupid shit from guys like Memories and Chook symbolise why all other teams and media dont respect you. Its stupid comments like that makes you wonder if you blokes are true supporters you're probably the ones not turning up to the games or leaving early when they arent goin well. Go jump back on your freo bandwagon when you string a few wins together.
He didnt want to play this season, you lot dragged him back he played for peanuts and was still one of your best players. What more can you ask for?? If he plays this hyped up farewell game and loses (which is more than likely on current form) he would go out on a downer, hardly what he deserves.
Turning on your best player ever for doin yet another countless selfless act for the benefit of the club. Hes the one whos been pretty much individually raising the "stock" in Freo over the years.
Agree with the rest of what you say, but if you're suggesting that everybody who pays out on Freo does so based on what people like Memories and Chook have said, well that says a lot about 'everybody else' being fairly stupid and worthy of ignoring.
To the point, very surprised that Bell has done it so instantly. Was half expecting an announcement Braun style, but I guess that's not Bell's way - a team player of integrity right to the end. A champion and terrific sportsman and football player. Focused when playing the game, disciplined, intelligent, skilful, hard worker, able to run out games almost as good as he started ... a player that will be sorely missed.
Bells decision to retire immediately is to free a spot in the team for a younger player and displays his humility in not needing a vanity game. To somehow construe it as selfish is beyond bizarre. I presume this is from the same people who demand weekly that McManus give up his spot to a younger player?
The_Young_Gun
8 Jul 2008, 03:44
So who comes IN for Bell???
NiGHTFuRY
8 Jul 2008, 07:56
Can't agree with you there Chook. He dosent owe us anything. He has given us plenty over the seasons.
I'm reading what some of you have typed on this thread. Your either keyboard warriors or deadset bellends in real life..
Good luck for the future Belly...
A true Warrior Of the Horde..
Magnum27
8 Jul 2008, 08:25
Very good footballer and top bloke by all reports, what would you expect from a Sth Freo boy though :D
Well done on a top career Belly :thumbsu:
So who comes IN for Bell???
Probably Andrew Browne now that He is up and about for the moment.
Hopefully for his and our sake the moment is a long one.
chook2734
8 Jul 2008, 10:56
Been a member since day 1 and I don't abandon the team just because they're having a rough season.
Headless
8 Jul 2008, 11:10
I agree with the sentiment of your post, but next time before having a little rant check the details. The bloke you quoted is one of those mysterious "unlisted" supporters. Therefore I will thank you not to refer to it as a Freo supporter.
My bad, gotta hate them Unlisted supporters. :p
Dock_king
8 Jul 2008, 11:30
Personally if Belly doesnt have the passion to play AFL I would hate to see him go through the motions in his last game just so we can clap him off. Best thing for the club and himself.
Can`t agree more.
Belly has giving all he can, is a legend of our club and deserves the right to go out on his own terms.
Not wanting the spotlight on himself in playing a farewell match, he`s showing true character and selflessness as he`s always shown on and off the field. He knows he doesn`t have the passion for the game to play on for another year so is stepping aside to free up a spot for someone else to step into.
For the record...he wasn`t talked into playing on this year as keeps getting `reported`. He was offered a role with helping the young guys develop and to push towards making the finals. There was never a `Pleases play on Belly cause we`re gonna win the flag` clause.
The best player we`ve ever had played for match payments this year to try to help this club back up the ladder.....still getting heavily tagged which would`ve greatly helped the likes of Ibbo, Palmer, Hinkley.
Well done on a great career Belly...All the best!!:thumbsu:
FarmersWife
8 Jul 2008, 11:39
We wish you all the best Peter Bell!
Great call Dock King, you have put it into perspective a little bit better also!
Memories
8 Jul 2008, 11:59
Mate if you could actually read, then you might be a dangerous weapon.
Memories
8 Jul 2008, 12:08
This does not mean supporters have ownership over you, nor does it mean they can dictate what you do and don't do. Peter Bell chose to do what he feels is in the best interest of the supporters and the club by stepping down and allowing the next generation of dockers to get some game time and take over. It's so important that they get this game time now.
In my first post I said "farewell game", I wasn't directly meaning him come back and play one more game for us. This is why a few posts down I corrected this by stating if he came for a pre/post game send off then it would also be fine. This way he's still doing the club right, and he's doing the supporters right.
Anyone who thinks that bell not coming back for some kind of farewell is FINE and dandy, well I have to question your status as supporters. It's a 100% selfish act if he doesn't - which you guys mask with "that's just how Bell is". Supporters like me might like to fly back to see one of our old captains for the last time.
Memories
8 Jul 2008, 12:11
Can`t agree more.
Belly has giving all he can, is a legend of our club and deserves the right to go out on his own terms.
Not wanting the spotlight on himself in playing a farewell match, he`s showing true character and selflessness as he`s always shown on and off the field. He knows he doesn`t have the passion for the game to play on for another year so is stepping aside to free up a spot for someone else to step into.
So is it fine in your mind if he doesn't even come back to a game in a non playing role for some kind of send off? Is that what you mean in "his own terms"?
Congrats to Belly for a wonderful career.
I like the way he's going out, the same way he's always done things, trying to keep out of the spotlight and putting the team first.:thumbsu:
BUT, I have one regret on how he went. (IF that was it!)
Our clubs short history has had more lowlights than highlights. It would've been good to farewell Mr Peter Bell, Premiership player, former Captain and selfless legend of the game in a manner that would be remembered by all as an 'event'. People remember when Hird, Voss, Neitz, Loewe, Burke and the like retired. Fremantle need to have memories like these in their history to remember moreso than a press conference.
HoHoJnr you pillock! Have you seen the yellow stream(pun intended) of your supporters flowing out of Subiaco early recently???????
Let's hope if he was to have a farewell game we'd be playing your team!
Incidently, I was at the farewell game(WC home game) for Ashley MacIntosh which was played against us. We won. After the game when they did the little thankyou to him there were more Fremantle supporters there than there were west coast. They left early because they got spanked.
Go back to your own board.
Memories
8 Jul 2008, 13:03
Congrats to Belly for a wonderful career.
I like the way he's going out, the same way he's always done things, trying to keep out of the spotlight and putting the team first.:thumbsu:
BUT, I have one regret on how he went. (IF that was it!)
Our clubs short history has had more lowlights than highlights. It would've been good to farewell Mr Peter Bell, Premiership player, former Captain and selfless legend of the game in a manner that would be remembered by all as an 'event'. People remember when Hird, Voss, Neitz, Loewe, Burke and the like retired. Fremantle need to have memories like these in their history to remember moreso than a press conference.
100% agree, and an earlier poster made reference to it. I suspect Pavlich will be the first guy to do this for us.
One issue with the whole Bell saga though is he was one of our "first mistakes", dropping him after our first season and getting him back after he turned gold. Though who knows if he needed the change or not to get where he is today..... a lot of outside people look at it like another "freo mistake". Going to be good when all those have gone from the game so people can move on from it.
I tuned in to 6PR last evening to hear the coaches on such a big day in Freo history. Brad asked Worsfold if he would be talking to Belly about a role at Toastland.:eek:
I didn't hear the answer as I was frantically trying to find someone to perform the Heimlich manoeuvre on me.
pistol17
8 Jul 2008, 13:09
If you had people at your work cheering you on to do your job wouldn't you thank them after you retired? To think it is "over the top" to even question Bell possibly not caring about the people who were WITH HIM in the good and bad times is ludicrous, especially with something rather emotional like a sporting team.
It's funny I'm the one here defending the emotional side to the game when I'm the least emotional person here..... what happened to all the emotion you guys show when see a "tank" post from me? Yes Bell was a great player but if he just leaves like he doesn't give a shit about the game and the fans (and likely never has if that's the case) then he has tarnished his career imo. Your career includes the way you go out.
He only retired yesterday memories! Our next home game is in 2 weeks time, i'm pretty sure the club and Bell will have something planned for that game. Just because he said he isnt playing again doesnt imply he doesnt care about the fans.
You really have to look at the other side of the picture. What Bell has done is made way for someone to have and 8 game period to establish themselves in the 22 for next year. As he said he could have just gone through the motions for the rest of the year, instead he does something very unselfish.
Guys like Webster, Browne, and Hinkley are likely to be given the chance now to either save their career or in Hinkleys case, get some experience into him.
I tuned in to 6PR last evening to hear the coaches on such a big day in Freo history. Brad asked Worsfold if he would be talking to Belly about a role at Toastland.:eek:
I didn't hear the answer as I was frantically trying to find someone to perform the Heimlich manoeuvre on me.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=462863
Memories
8 Jul 2008, 13:16
He only retired yesterday memories! Our next home game is in 2 weeks time, i'm pretty sure the club and Bell will have something planned for that game. Just because he said he isnt playing again doesnt imply he doesnt care about the fans.
You really have to look at the other side of the picture. What Bell has done is made way for someone to have and 8 game period to establish themselves in the 22 for next year. As he said he could have just gone through the motions for the rest of the year, instead he does something very unselfish.
Guys like Webster, Browne, and Hinkley are likely to be given the chance now to either save their career or in Hinkleys case, get some experience into him.
I was advocating playing all these guys over Bell and MacManus earlier in the year when I was called a "tanker". Are you now suggesting it is ok to want this as supporters 8 games from the end of the year? Interesting.
Either way my issue isn't with his retirement, I think that it is good he has made way for the youngsters. It is just the way he MAY go out, from what others have said here and his interview it sounds like he may not be coming back at all. He NEEDS to have some fairwell type thing at a game, and probably a dinner type event. We need some freo history that isn't all bad as others have mentioned.
Eagles!!!
8 Jul 2008, 14:53
JUst wanted to congratulate Bell on a wonderful career..............and richly deserving so!
Dock_king
8 Jul 2008, 15:10
So is it fine in your mind if he doesn't even come back to a game in a non playing role for some kind of send off? Is that what you mean in "his own terms"?
I expect Belly will do a lap of honour.. the club will honour a true club/AFL champion!
But, if he chose not to because he doesn`t see our great game as an individual pursuit deserved of individual recognition, then I would be happy with his decision.
Don`t take it personally that he doesn`t like the limelight Memories. Would you prefer he showed some arrogance by parading around saying look at me FIGJAM
I find it hard to fathom that anybody could have a bad word to say about Peter Bell. For a man whom the club turned its back on, to come back and breathe some life into Fremantle was one of the greatest things that ever happened to the club. Farewell game or not, Peter Bell and ONLY Peter Bell should get to decide how he goes out. He has earnt that respect. The club will put on something for him in his honour, but only the way Peter would like it to be. Peter Bell gives it everything every week. I would put my money on him for most possessions every week and come away with a win most weeks. Those who dont recognise his contribution to the team will soon see a team without Peter Bell take on Geelong on the wknd. An extra tagger for Rhys or Garrick will be the direct result. The indirect result will be the loss of a great player and the tradition and proffesional culture he brought to the table.
The club should focus not only on farewelling Belly in the best way possible, but making sure the younger boys take on his legacy, and put their bodies on the line for the club each and every week. Just as little Belly, burrowing into the packs, did week in and week out. You will be sorely missed Belly, you are a champion.