Brisbane by 37 IMO.
Amazing what a few wins can do...
Dons by 15 points :thumbsu:
Bachar Houli
7 Jul 2008, 20:14
Dons by 9
Brown to kick 8
Lucas 4 Neagle 3 Lloyd 2
Hmm, I think it will be brisbane by about 40pts, give or take.
But I hope I'm wrong and the Dons play really well.
IsDonIsGoodes
7 Jul 2008, 20:24
Bris by 5 goals, too much fire power with Brown and Bradshaw and us Fletcher-less.
Hey? Hes playing isn't he?
Windas_Magic
7 Jul 2008, 20:33
Brisbane by 29 points.
Pawtucket Patriot
7 Jul 2008, 20:37
Bombers by 15.
IsDonIsGoodes
7 Jul 2008, 20:37
My bad, i read conflicting reports. Looks like he should be back.
Brisbane by two goals.
S.C[BANKS]
7 Jul 2008, 20:43
Brisbane by a 5 goals with Black or Bradshaw to be voted best on ground.
Brisbane - 15.10.100
Essendon - 10.10.70
Goal Kickers -
Essendon - S.Lucas, M.Lloyd, J.Neagle, A.Lovett, A.Monfries.
Brisbane - J.Brown, Bradshaw, Hooper, Brendan
Best -
Essendon - M.McVeigh, A.Lovett, S.Lucas, J.Watson
Brisbane - J.Brown, Bradshaw, L.Power, S.Black, Brendan
His cleared to play.
Pawtucket Patriot
7 Jul 2008, 20:55
Are you really Nostradamus? ;)
WindyHillWatcher
7 Jul 2008, 20:57
I'm tipping a thriller and the bombers to get over the line by 1 goal or less!
Lucas to kick a bag and Lonergan to be very impressive
essendon by 16 points, jonathan brown to be reimered
Centurion
7 Jul 2008, 21:15
It all depends on J Brown. If we can keep him quiet we should win by 20 points. If not and he runs riot its curtains, it will make the job very hard.
Sqwaking Hawk
7 Jul 2008, 21:17
It all depends on J Brown. If we can keep him quiet we should win by 20 points. If not and he runs riot its curtains, it will make the job very hard.You wont get within 40 whether Browny plays or not. Laughable to think otherwise.
BomberAce7
7 Jul 2008, 22:11
You wont get within 40 whether Browny plays or not. Laughable to think otherwise.
Opinions vary!
You wont get within 40 whether Browny plays or not. Laughable to think otherwise.
Hey genious - if you have been away for the last two weeks, you might've failed to notice that Melbourne defeated Brisbane. Judging from your comments it looks like you had no idea.
Exactly^
Most would have said the same thing prior to the Melbourne game. Given our form in our most recent games against them you'd have to give us a decent chance.
Darealrath
7 Jul 2008, 23:20
Lions by 18 if I was betting.
Hard to predict if the break came at the right or wrong time for us. I think we might start slowly and that will cost us.
Bombers by 6.
GOALS.
===============
I was one point off!
Bomber32
7 Jul 2008, 23:31
Bombers by 30 points.
brisbanelioness
8 Jul 2008, 10:50
;11632948']Brisbane by a 5 goals with Black or Bradshaw to be voted best on ground.
Brisbane - 15.10.100
Essendon - 10.10.70
Goal Kickers -
Essendon - S.Lucas, M.Lloyd, J.Neagle, A.Lovett, A.Monfries.
Brisbane - J.Brown, Bradshaw, Hooper, Brendan
Best -
Essendon - M.McVeigh, A.Lovett, S.Lucas, J.Watson
Brisbane - J.Brown, Bradshaw, L.Power, S.Black, Brendan
His cleared to play.
One of our best, never heard of him! :rolleyes: But won't complain if he goals for us!:p Do you mean, Jared Brennan?
Essendon to win by 1 point.
Classic match very similar to the West Coast game from last season.
Brisbane will lead by up to 30 points during the first half before Essendon start to get their shit together.
Will take right up until the 15 minute mark of the last quarter for the Bombers to hit the front from crumbing goal by Jetta.
Unfortunately the Lions will hit back hard through JB with two quick replies.
Lovett will come through with the next two with the last one goal 5 seconds before the siren to be a serious 'goal of the year' contender.
HOLD ONTO YOUR SEATS Bomber fans, this one will be one hell of a ride!
Not a Wellman
8 Jul 2008, 12:17
It all depends on J Brown. If we can keep him quiet we should win by 20 points. If not and he runs riot its curtains, it will make the job very hard.
To be honest I am more worried about Bradshaw. Brown has been playing second fiddle to him this year and Bradshaw is a dead eye dick.
I love going to Ess vs Bris games they and West Coast are the only two interstate sides I genuinly look forward to playing, something about the Matthews Vs Sheedy games that always have me interested. And ever since 2001 there has been massive crowds at td and a great atmosphere, 40,000 Bombers just packed into td is fantastic.
And that's why we will win because there will be heaps of bombers there to get us over the line, Lovett will go nuts. 37 point victory.
B-Bomber
8 Jul 2008, 12:30
Wish I could be as optimistic as some of you guys. This game has 'reality check' written all over it. Brisbane have been a bit of a wild card of late
bombaman
8 Jul 2008, 12:39
Hey genious - if you have been away for the last two weeks, you might've failed to notice that Melbourne defeated Brisbane. Judging from your comments it looks like you had no idea.
not having a go at you mate but I think you might have meant genius? :D
EFC: 20.12.132
FFC: 20.5.125
GOALS:
EFC: Lucas 5, Lloyd, Lovett 4, Neagle, Jetta 2, McVeigh, Watson, Reimers
FFC: Bradshaw, Brown 5, Brennan, Black, Power 3, Stiller
BEST:
EFC: Lucas, Lloyd, McVeigh, Lovett, Neagle, Watson, Reimers
FFC: Bradshaw, Brown, Black, Power, Johnstone, Brennan
retroparty
8 Jul 2008, 13:00
Brisbane by a point.
Fans will be dissapointed but at the same time we know our team is getting a lot better.
bombersno1
8 Jul 2008, 13:16
This is one game that could be very ugly for us. Simon Black kills us and we have no-one to mark him at all!
DonMania#5
8 Jul 2008, 13:18
Essendon by 17, Lloyd to kick 6.
Essendon by 4 pts. Should be a good one ad I'm hoping Fletcher plays the game of his life on Brown.
SirJimi05
8 Jul 2008, 14:16
It is laughable to think that Essendon may get withing 40 points (in Melbourne) against a team who has just been defeated by Melbourne and a team which has an ordinary record in Melbourne this season. For the record i'm pretty sure we beat them by 80 odd points the last time we played them in Melbourne. The only thing that is laughable about this is you! :):thumbsu:
I think we will have issues with their two power forwards.
They have a few other options up forward with Clark and possibly Brennan (If they play him there) so it makes it difficult to drop off and chop out to who ever needs one and Corrie and Hooper are quite dangerous.
There Midfield is very good, although we could still win enough of the ball.
They have an underrated backline and players like Patful and McDonald, while not household names, do their job very well and along with Merret, Adcock (If he plays there)/Sherman and Drummond they should hold their own unless we can do well in the middle.
Brisbane and bit too balanced and experienced for mine by 25pts
The Dustbin
8 Jul 2008, 15:42
I think we will have issues with their two power forwards.
They have a few other options up forward with Clark and possibly Brennan (If they play him there) so it makes it difficult to drop off and chop out to who ever needs one and Corrie and Hooper are quite dangerous.
There Midfield is very good, although we could still win enough of the ball.
They have an underrated backline and players like Patful and McDonald, while not household names, do their job very well and along with Merret, Adcock (If he plays there)/Sherman and Drummond they should hold their own unless we can do well in the middle.
Brisbane and bit too balanced and experienced for mine by 25pts
So you won't be backing Ess this week? Juicy odds.... :D
This is one game that could be very ugly for us. Simon Black kills us and we have no-one to mark him at all!
Andrew Welsh would do alright I reckon
So you won't be backing Ess this week? Juicy odds.... :D
Sorry Dusty, will be backing Brissy this week and they are currently $1.66.
I give us a chance but i think they have a few too many options.
Bet with the head, cheer with the heart.
The Dustbin
8 Jul 2008, 15:58
Your an astute punter Merv. :thumbsu:
The $1.66 on offer for Bris is pretty good, I'd have them at $1.45....
SirJimi05
8 Jul 2008, 16:00
Very true. Personally i don't think i will be touching this game as i could see it going either way but if the line margin is decent i might have a go on the dons.
SirJimi05
8 Jul 2008, 16:02
Your an astute punter Merv. :thumbsu:
The $1.66 on offer for Bris is pretty good, I'd have them at $1.45....
After losing to Melbourne last week i would say that the $1.60+ on offer is just about spot on. :):p:thumbsu:
The Dustbin
8 Jul 2008, 16:08
After losing to Melbourne last week i would say that the $1.60+ on offer is just about spot on. :):p:thumbsu:
Considering we have beaten Fre (14th) and WCE (15th) in the last 3 weeks, Bris at this stage are a better team then us, despite their hiccup last weekend. If they had've beaten Melb, I'm sure they would be $1.45 this week. :p
S.C[BANKS]
8 Jul 2008, 16:08
Are you really Nostradamus? ;)
maybe ;)
One of our best, never heard of him! But won't complain if he goals for us! Do you mean, Jared Brennan?
My bad for the typo.
SirJimi05
8 Jul 2008, 17:21
Considering we have beaten Fre (14th) and WCE (15th) in the last 3 weeks, Bris at this stage are a better team then us, despite their hiccup last weekend. If they had've beaten Melb, I'm sure they would be $1.45 this week. :p
And 5 of Brisbanes last 6 wins have been against Melbourne (16th), Fremantle (14th), Carlton (9th), St Kilda (8th) and North Melbourne (10th). Their other win was against Adelaide (6th) at home which is nothing to ride home about if you take Adelaides form into account. In Melbourne they have lost 3 of 4 games this season including a loss to the bottom team. Brisbanes form this season has been grossly overated in my opinion. :):thumbsu:
The Dustbin
8 Jul 2008, 17:57
And 5 of Brisbanes last 6 wins have been against Melbourne (16th), Fremantle (14th), Carlton (9th), St Kilda (8th) and North Melbourne (10th). Their other win was against Adelaide (6th) at home which is nothing to ride home about if you take Adelaides form into account. In Melbourne they have lost 3 of 4 games this season including a loss to the bottom team. Brisbanes form this season has been grossly overated in my opinion. :):thumbsu:
Good point. FWIW, I'm quietly confident. :thumbsu:
Ben the Gooner
9 Jul 2008, 09:52
Not as confident as the last 3 weeks, but Dons by 3 points in a thriller.
bipolarbeaR
9 Jul 2008, 18:36
Brisbane by 21 imo.
I'm coming all the way from Tassie to watch it! Going to be my 1st ever live Essendon match so I hope we can upset them! :D
Call Me Cake
10 Jul 2008, 12:54
I have some very good hopes for this game. Mainly because it's at the Telstra Dome. Other things come to my account... including the fact that I see Brisbane as an overrated team who's recent wins weren't all that spactacular.
Not to mention they actually LOST to Melbourne. And while the Lions might have copped a slap that could have brought them back on the ground... I still think it's a little too late. They'll go in wanting to win, but at the same time keeping the fear they achieved after last weeks loss to a completely shitty team.
The Bombers always find a way to manage somehow, in any condition, but this time I would have to say, our Ladder chance will play a good role in our confidence this week. Knights will most likely feel the same, and he will no doubt inject the tonic were looking for in our players come the day it begins. Mal Michael is ALWAYS a good player against the Lions (However Fletcher has been said to be Available this week, so he might not play) - and our record in beating them has been wonderful as of yet.
I'm thinking Lloydy has really shown a lot of great signs lately, and Reimers (as well as Mcveigh & Hille) will give it all they've got to put the Lions to rest.
And finally, the last three wins would be enough to make the Bombers believe they can win this. The 13 day rest will come in handy.
Optimism has taken me over, and I will predict ESS to win by 22 points. The game will be a thriller early on, only to let the Bombers get quite ahead by the late 3rd quater. Finishing in a confident win.
GO BOMBERS!
bipolarbeaR
11 Jul 2008, 01:12
I miss Houli :(
bomberz20_72
11 Jul 2008, 01:44
Essendon by 14 in a great game. Welsh to Black = Great contest.
Great to see Fletch cleared and able to play.
Dons by 17 points. Lloyd and Lucas two goals. Neagle 3 goals and McVeigh BOG