View Full Version : David vs Goliath
Dear me we're in some strife this weekend and could possibly be in for the mother of all hidings.
Our midfield will consist of Palmer, Ibbo, Bogan Josh, Byron, maybe Browne, maybe Brock...Crowley if he pulls up.
Can't see any way Pav won't be playing a bit in the guts.
We're going to struggle to put it mildly. :(
However, as long as we play the kids it's a step forward I guess...Please don't play McManus....
estibador
7 Jul 2008, 20:47
It won't be the mother of all hidings - we aren't the eagles.
We'll have a crack I'm sure. I just hope we didn't make them too mad by almost beating them earlier in the year.
bigkev bleeds purple
7 Jul 2008, 20:51
Pffft, whatever. It's about time we went back to our old habit of winning games we're not supposed to. This week seems like a good time to start it up again.
chook2734
7 Jul 2008, 20:56
I'm actually really looking forward to this game. To see what Harvey throws at Geelong and to see how the players respond to the biggest challenge they will face for the rest of the season.
Belnakor
7 Jul 2008, 21:10
i reckon we'll be within about 20-30 points, the boys won't roll over and die like the weagles.
summerthebat
7 Jul 2008, 21:11
If we won I would get so drunk.
Geelong_Sicko
7 Jul 2008, 21:18
i reckon we'll be within about 20-30 points, the boys won't roll over and die like the weagles.
Yeah, you blokes showed a lot of mettle in the ANZAC day game - if you played like that more often you'd be pushing top 4!! The end margin will be a lot less than 135 points, though I really hope we aren't going to take this one as 'already in the bag' otherwise we'll (deservedly) get pantsed. At home!!:eek:
Freo are 2-12 but are we really that bad?? Last time we played Geelong it was one point albeit the Cats werent playn aswell then as they are now! We have pushed basically every top8 side this yr and it's killin me that we r so low on the ladder :mad: Upset on the cards?...or wishful thinkn? haha
dockers_bengals
7 Jul 2008, 22:54
After having them on the ropes at home they will come out more determined this time so It might well be a huge loss.
I'm just quietly optimistic. It's mad, I know but can't help myself. :)
After having them on the ropes at home they will come out more determined this time so It might well be a huge loss.
i think we will be more determined this time because we got so close.
doubt we will win, but i dont think it will be spanking :o
David v Goliath ... only an apt analogy if David (Freo) get up and win, and I seriously doubt that is going to happen unless half the Geelong team have a big Friday night and sleep in badly missing the game. Freo will put up a good show as usual, but it will be a decent loss I feel.
Freo Shark
8 Jul 2008, 09:47
I fear this could be closer to the result. I dont think the Cats are going to be taking any chances this match.
i still have memories from a couple of years ago when our players got hypothermia - it was a big factor in the loss at the time
the forecast is cold this weekend for geelong - that & geelongs skills means i can't see anyway we'll win - sorry
We've got the Goliath, we just need the David's to handle the ball neatly at his feet.
I reckon the Cats have moved up a gear so I reckon they should win, but I will be pretty peeved off if Freo doesn't give it 120% !!!. Up to 50 points might be what will happen.
But then we are are talking about Freo ........ Pav might bag 8.0, Tarrant 4.0, Palmer 4.0, Grover 2.0, Mayne 3.3 and Sandi will have 5 scalps and 5.0. You never never know if you don't have a go.
Bender571
8 Jul 2008, 14:27
The difference between the round 6 teams and the round 14 teams
Freo
OUT: Farmer, McPharlin, Drum, McManus, Gilmore, Murphy, Mi Johnson
IN: Mayne, Warnock, Peake, Ma Johnson, Tarrant, Head, Dunn
Cats
OUT: Gamble, Hawkins, Taylor, Mumford
IN: Ottens, Rooke, Varcoe, Lonergan
Things don't look good when you consider 3 of our best players from the round 6 clash could have their influence curbed. Bell had 31 disposals has retired, Crowley looks doubtful with a rib injury, and Sandilands has to contend with Ottens now.
Memories
8 Jul 2008, 14:28
Watching the Hawks and Geelong is fun, so combined with Freo it should be even better. We're in for a chance.... just a small chance.
vinum coupe
8 Jul 2008, 14:28
Well no doubt it will be windy and raining, so 60 points is about the most you can get beaten by at the cattery
dockers_bengals
9 Jul 2008, 00:30
The difference between the round 6 teams and the round 14 teams
Freo
OUT: Farmer, McPharlin, Drum, McManus, Gilmore, Murphy, Mi Johnson
IN: Mayne, Warnock, Peake, Ma Johnson, Tarrant, Head, Dunn
Cats
OUT: Gamble, Hawkins, Taylor, Mumford
IN: Ottens, Rooke, Varcoe, Lonergan
Things don't look good when you consider 3 of our best players from the round 6 clash could have their influence curbed. Bell had 31 disposals has retired, Crowley looks doubtful with a rib injury, and Sandilands has to contend with Ottens now.
I thought I heard they will play
You can add the fact that Ling will be on Palmer again but for the whole game this time and would of learnt more from the last time.
Bender571
9 Jul 2008, 01:43
^^^ I had a feeling my post wasn't clear enough.
The difference in teams is based on the round 6 game and the round 14 games, so for us its the team that played essendon and for the cats its the team that played adelaide. I did that because I wasn't sure of this weeks in's and out's
longsuffreosupp
9 Jul 2008, 02:21
I think it will be the same old story away. Get close for 3 quarters, and then they'll put on the afterburners and blow us away in the 4th.
Jimmy 2 Shoes
9 Jul 2008, 03:50
Yeah me too
Baby Duck
10 Jul 2008, 01:03
And hey, if you lose you could still get drunk to drown the sorrows!
Heres hoping for a great match! :)
Gaz_Brownlow
10 Jul 2008, 09:20
We've got the Goliath, we just need the David's to handle the ball neatly at his feet.
I reckon the Cats have moved up a gear so I reckon they should win, but I will be pretty peeved off if Freo doesn't give it 120% !!!. Up to 50 points might be what will happen.
But then we are are talking about Freo ........ Pav might bag 8.0, Tarrant 4.0, Palmer 4.0, Grover 2.0, Mayne 3.3 and Sandi will have 5 scalps and 5.0. You never never know if you don't have a go.
Never underestimate a side with no pressure on them with everything to gain nothing to loose!! I think Geelong match up pretty well to Freo - as evident by our last 4 or 5 games against you, but although i doubt we will loose, i think Freo could give it a good crack.
It will be cold, wet and miserable - perfect for the hardnuts and tough bodies. Fortunately the two sides have got plenty of both. Ruck duals will be important and of course, Sandipants has the clear edge hear (although with Ottens back, i would expect us to be more competitive).
If pavlich plays in the middle he could be very dangerous, but i imagine he would cop Max Rooke, who is the equivalent of a human cannonball and very dangerous in the wet. Was very impressed with both Ibbotson and Palmer last match, but dont imagine they will get the luxury of much space in this round.
Should be a good test for us - especially considering a number of bigger bodies to come up against (shame that Bell is not playing, would have been great to see him one last time). I would predict a tough match until 3/4 time, with the Cats running away by 20 odd in low scoring conditions. Expect big things from Stevie J, Bartel and our new resident hardnut Joel Selwood...(oh and i think young Gary jnr might set it upon himself to really give Crowley the run around this time)
Should be a good watch!
DCFCFAN84
10 Jul 2008, 18:41
You can add the fact that Ling will be on Palmer again but for the whole game this time and would of learnt more from the last time.
I can't wait for that match up will be great for Palmer's development to try and shake the best tagger in the AFL.
Geelong_Sicko
10 Jul 2008, 19:05
Expect little Gaz to be fired up with his brother's impending return to Geelong's VFL squad.
It won't be the mother of all hidings - we aren't the eagles.
We'll have a crack I'm sure. I just hope we didn't make them too mad by almost beating them earlier in the year.
Agreed. Geelong actually find it difficult to really give teams a hiding at Skilled Stadium. Why? It's a long narrow ground (easier for opposition to stop our run through the corridor) and weather conditions usually play a part, which will happen tomorrow. Freo generally have a crack against us anyway.. I'm not expecting a big win. I think a 3-6 goal win by Geelong is likely.
haywood jablome
12 Jul 2008, 10:38
As Flex said, it's rare to see a flogging at SS. Especially in the weather today. I expect Freo to put up a bit of a fight and Geelong to get over the line by 10-20; any more and Freo should be dissapointed.