View Full Version : I feel dirty............

wizard_9
8 Jul 2008, 16:14
But go the Eagles this week. I want them to win a few games and get a bit clear of us so when we win the Derby in a few weeks time we can stay below them and get the #2 pick.
This leaves the ball in our court come draft day. If Natanui falls then we get a choice of Rich, Natanui and Hartlett. If he doesnt then we still get to pick the best mid from the draft without having to worry about Rich being taken before we get a shot at him.

I want to win the Derby but i still want the Eagles to finish above us in conclusion.

pinkus maximus
8 Jul 2008, 16:22
i am happy to remain where we are

1. Watts
2. Nait/Rich
3. Rich/Nait

or

1.Nait
2.Rich
3.Hartlett

i'd be happy with either scenario

wizard_9
8 Jul 2008, 16:26
If we keep Warnock i will be pissed off if we get Natanui. The more i look at it Hartlett looks a really good option if we cant get Rich though. maybe even if we can.

Belnakor
8 Jul 2008, 16:26
Nait could either be fanastic or could have topped out already. I reckon he might have topped out already, so i'd prefer Rich or Watts.

wizard_9
8 Jul 2008, 16:28
Nait could either be fanastic or could have topped out already. I reckon he might have topped out already, so i'd prefer Rich or Watts.

No to Watts, he will stay in Melbourne for the 09 season and go home as soon as his Rookie contract expires.

pinkus maximus
8 Jul 2008, 16:32
If we keep Warnock i will be pissed off if we get Natanui. The more i look at it Hartlett looks a really good option if we cant get Rich though. maybe even if we can.

i wouldn't. i think we would be crazy to pass on him. i don't see him as a full time ruckmen at afl though, more a utility type

Pav for AA
8 Jul 2008, 16:35

Topped out?

Explain :thumbsu:

wizard_9
8 Jul 2008, 16:43
This is a few text msgs i just got from the head Fitness Trainer at Westies re: Hamish Hartlett.

Light on, courageous, capable of playing forward or midfield, super pair of hands, kicks plenty of goals.

I then asked him to compare him to Gibbs as they have been compared:
Gibbs isnt as mobile, also doesnt have the skills and marking ability of Hartlett.

PapaJ
8 Jul 2008, 16:51
I think we're totally lacking imagination if we see Natanui only as a Ruckman. Imagine something of a cross between Lance Franklin, Goodes and D.Cox ... that's what I see, if he's available I would be surprised if we pass up, but then again a true midfielder would be nice. In that sense, I'm not too worried if we finish above the Weasels.

Kram81
8 Jul 2008, 16:53
Take the best player available, we'll get someone good wherever we finish. 2nd round PP would be handy if that eventuates.

chook2734
8 Jul 2008, 16:55
I think it's pretty safe to say that regardless of whether we have pick 1, 2 or 3 we are odds on to be getting a very, very talented player. If we can find another two who can contribute like Mayne and Palmer have this season then I'll be happy.

Belnakor
8 Jul 2008, 17:02
Topped out?

Explain :thumbsu:

He isn't going to get any better. Those Islanders tend to mature early.

Pav for AA
8 Jul 2008, 17:03
I think we're totally lacking imagination if we see Natanui only as a Ruckman. Imagine something of a cross between Lance Franklin, Goodes and D.Cox ... that's what I see, if he's available I would be surprised if we pass up, but then again a true midfielder would be nice. In that sense, I'm not too worried if we finish above the Weasels.

No.

All of the above had/have a natural sense of the game. It's obvious to any observer that his knowledge isnt instinctive.

He doesnt read the play as you would like yet, but when the ball is in his area he makes it his own.

I see him more as a Kouta, eventually.

A very tall midfielder/Ruckman, who once he can read the game a bit better will be unstoppable around the ground. His leap, tackling and one percenters are all there, he's still lacking that awareness.

Id say you were spot on when you said Goodes.But he'll never have the foot skills of Cox, nor marking and goal kicking ability of Buddy :thumbsu:

Pav for AA
8 Jul 2008, 17:04

I think you are so far off the mark, it's not funny :thumbsu:

wce4premiership
8 Jul 2008, 17:20
So you're happy to lose every game as long as you beat the eagles?

edgehead47
8 Jul 2008, 17:27
So you're happy to lose every game as long as you beat the eagles?

Yeah it is out grandfinal:rolleyes:
No of course not, we just don't want to win as many games as you do

ONE EYED EAGLE
8 Jul 2008, 17:49
So you're tanking??

Memories
8 Jul 2008, 18:02
So you're tanking??

No no.. of course not. Some of our players were required by law to go to a nursing home since they are so old... nothing we can do about it really, the law is the law.

You dud.

edgehead47
8 Jul 2008, 18:05
So you're tanking??

You're right. I guess we would have to tank to finish below you

tripple1zero
8 Jul 2008, 18:06
So you're tanking??
Just coz a Freo fan says they want to lose games doesnt mean that they can answer that question, or that the team is tanking for that matter.

edgehead47
8 Jul 2008, 18:14
Just coz a Freo fan says they want to lose games doesnt mean that they can answer that question, or that the team is tanking for that matter.

I don't advocate the Dockers losing, but I would love the Eagles to pick up a few wins towards the end of the year, support the other WA team and all;)

smkwd
8 Jul 2008, 18:53

Highly likely that Warnock is leaving, so we'll have a hard choice to make as to who our first pick will be...

juszko
8 Jul 2008, 19:01
I've got numerous amounts of bets on Freo finishing above the Eagles this season, so i hope to god we don't finsihed below them...talkin a couple of hundred dollars worth here!

Jafa
8 Jul 2008, 19:15
I've got numerous amounts of bets on Freo finishing above the Eagles this season, so i hope to god we don't finsihed below them...talkin a couple of hundred dollars worth here!

I have a sneaking suspicion that you lot are going to end up with the spoon this year.

There was a thread going around here just before the season that asked the question "will Freo finish above West Coast" (along those lines). The consensus was yes (myself included) but the expectations where that we would be 6,7,8 and Freo a little higher. You where probably right to make those bets.

curry23
8 Jul 2008, 19:59
No mention of Hurley?:confused::eek:

shiny_on_top
8 Jul 2008, 20:39
No mention of Hurley?:confused::eek:
I would take Naita, rich and Hartlett before Hurley.
Personally i would prefer to finish above WC as we will then take Hartlett as i fell he will be a superstar. Only negative is PP and 2nd round picks where they may steal a De Boer or a Swift or a Hill or a Jetta off us. So i will be happy with what ever outcome:)

curry23
8 Jul 2008, 20:47
I would take Naita, rich and Hartlett before Hurley.
Personally i would prefer to finish above WC as we will then take Hartlett as i fell he will be a superstar. Only negative is PP and 2nd round picks where they may steal a De Boer or a Swift or a Hill or a Jetta off us. So i will be happy with what ever outcome:)
Im not saying we should take Hurley but Im surprised no one even mentioned him coz we clearly need another Key Defender.

Ysaye
8 Jul 2008, 21:37
Im not saying we should take Hurley but Im surprised no one even mentioned him coz we clearly need another Key Defender.

We need better midfielders a lot more. If we have a good midfield team then the ball won't go down to the defence that much and the defender will be redundant.

Key defenders are what later picks and trading players are for. If we think it is really urgent, then Id rather trade for one that isn't getting a go at another club.

chook2734
8 Jul 2008, 21:42
We need better midfielders a lot more. If we have a good midfield team then the ball won't go down to the defence that much and the defender will be redundant.

Key defenders are what later picks and trading players are for. If we think it is really urgent, then Id rather trade for one that isn't getting a go at another club.

Exactly. Look at west coast the last few years. A good midfield can hide a multitude of problems elsewhere.

wizard_9
8 Jul 2008, 21:43
Highly likely that Warnock is leaving, so we'll have a hard choice to make as to who our first pick will be...

If thats the case then i think we still us the first pick on a midfielder and trade for a back-up ruckman. Not a top level one as we dont need one just a #2 to back Sandi up and good enough to cover incase he goes down.

shiny_on_top
8 Jul 2008, 21:59
I'm starting to believe he will be in purple next year:thumbsu:

smkwd
8 Jul 2008, 22:42
I'm starting to believe he will be in purple next year:thumbsu:

I hope so too mate... But...
Did anyone else stand next to him in Llama Bar on Sat night at all?

Chops_a_must
8 Jul 2008, 22:48
Is Llama bad?

PapaJ
8 Jul 2008, 23:03
No.

All of the above had/have a natural sense of the game. It's obvious to any observer that his knowledge isnt instinctive.

He doesnt read the play as you would like yet, but when the ball is in his area he makes it his own.

I see him more as a Kouta, eventually.

A very tall midfielder/Ruckman, who once he can read the game a bit better will be unstoppable around the ground. His leap, tackling and one percenters are all there, he's still lacking that awareness.

Id say you were spot on when you said Goodes.But he'll never have the foot skills of Cox, nor marking and goal kicking ability of Buddy :thumbsu:

Yea you're probably right there, but buy Cox I was thinking of his athletic ability to roam the field and be a big ball winner not so much foot skill, as for Buddy, I was just thinking of iconic status more than a on going goal threat (though he could be a menacing pinch fwd as he develops skill wise). Goodes is also who I had in mind really when it comes to comparison with yes the athletic ability of Kouda ... OK done deal, I'll take him :).

estibador
8 Jul 2008, 23:06
I'll happily concede the no.1 pick to the eagles to see them win a spoon.

Nodgey
8 Jul 2008, 23:22
Seconded...

dockers_bengals
8 Jul 2008, 23:38
Me too Esti. in fact it would be sweet if the derby is the game that drops them further down

Bender571
9 Jul 2008, 00:05
From the sounds of it (reading the draft and trading board) there is just as much chance of getting the best player with pick 3 as there is with pick 2. In other words the draft continues to be some what of a lottery.

So I'll stick to cheering for Freo and against West Coast :D

estibador
9 Jul 2008, 00:16
I have a sneaking suspicion that you lot are going to end up with the spoon this year.

Unlikely.

The eagles would have to win the derby for that to happen - and you know as well as we do that the eagles can't win derbies.

chook2734
9 Jul 2008, 00:26
As much as I have no desire to lose any week or finish on the bottom of the ladder, I would be more than happy to see Melbourne go flying past us in the next few weeks. More for insurance in case Warnock decides to go home or something. If it comes down to losing one more game to ensure we don't get screwed over, I think it's probably worth it.

Jafa
9 Jul 2008, 00:31
Unlikely.

The eagles would have to win the derby for that to happen - and you know as well as we do that the eagles can't win derbies.

I have factored the Grand Final into the equation.

FreoAzz
9 Jul 2008, 11:26

Nope, what happened in the Llama bar?
:confused:

masai
9 Jul 2008, 12:55

Tell Peter Ware that.

I think Naita has alot to learn, so I don't think he has topped out yet.

It is well proven that picks 1 - 3 don't always get you the best player, where ever we end up we will get the best player available.

I want to finish off the season strongly, rather than waddle to the end of this season. Let's build some pride back into the boys.

E Shed
9 Jul 2008, 13:06
I have factored the Grand Final into the equation.

Of all the lame justifications I'm hearing for why it's ok for the Eagles to be crap (even though worsfold predicted a top 4 finish with the current squad) nothing tops this ongoing furphy. Eagles fans concede the derby in advance now because somehow your guys don't really care about winning it anymore. The 4 points that every coach wants every week is somehow not important any more so you guys just let this one go as you have your eye on the bigger picture. Well you won't be going anywhere near finals this year so what's the excuse now?

Memories
9 Jul 2008, 13:46
Don't worry, with our second best midfielder now gone in Bell we shouldn't be winning too many more from here on out. Time to bring back Macmanus and Thornton to ensure victory..... in October.

Jafa
9 Jul 2008, 16:17
Of all the lame justifications I'm hearing for why it's ok for the Eagles to be crap (even though worsfold predicted a top 4 finish with the current squad) nothing tops this ongoing furphy. Eagles fans concede the derby in advance now because somehow your guys don't really care about winning it anymore. The 4 points that every coach wants every week is somehow not important any more so you guys just let this one go as you have your eye on the bigger picture. Well you won't be going anywhere near finals this year so what's the excuse now?

Just a little joke champ. I`m sure esti cottoned on.

Fear not - I shall add a ;) in future to accomodate yourself.

;)

Jackfrost
10 Jul 2008, 15:31

Bit of a racist generalisation! Sociology expert on Islanders are you?

wce4premiership
11 Jul 2008, 19:14
Well the way i read it it seems it is your grand final.

Why not want to let the eagles win so you can finish below them?