View Full Version : Mid-Season Player REVIEW!!

PIEd
8 Jul 2008, 17:37
Player Reviews are out of 10 : 10 being brilliant, 1 being SH11Thouse!

John Anthony - 3: Haven't seen enough of him this year to make a proper evaluation. Could be a strong KPP in a few years

Nathan Brown - 7.5: Best first year defender in league. been fantastic for us!! will be a GUN in years to come... fearless!

Chris Bryan - 6: Struggled at first, but really stepped up over the last month! improving his kicking too!

Scott Burns - 7.5: best choice for captain we had! hampered a bit by injury, but when playing is always an inspiration... never lacks courage!

Marty Clarke - 6: Slow start, picking up last year's form now. let him run through the midfield more though.

Travis Cloke - 7.5: His good games have been excellent, but has gone missing in a few... must bridge the gap between best and worst

Shannon Cox - 2: Too slow for AFL... sorry coxy

Leon Davis - 8: When playing, he has been great! stepped it up to a new gear this year, kicking goals, getting possessions... love him

Alan Didak - 9: Probably leading the B & F so far... playing near the best footy of his career. love his new midfield/forward role! dynamic and exciting, just what we need!

Josh Fraser - 3: Enough has been said on this board already

Tyson Goldsack - 5.5: Great to see him come back to the team!! he is a good defender, but just hasn't been as good as last season... will improve as the season goes on!

Ben Johnson - 6: Same ol Ben Johnson... gives good run and loves to take on opponents... keep on truckin benny

Tarkyn Lockyer - 6.5: I don't like him playing so deep in the back line or forward line. he needs to be played up field a little bit more, where he does the most damage.. a'la last year. still is a worthy contributor

Nick Maxwell - 4: Ahhh, everyone's favourite player... i admire his courage, but skills are sub par, and is often beaten soundly in one on one contests.

Paul Medhurst - 9: The most improved player in the comp! Love the way he goes about his footy. goes hard, looks to give it off to a better positioned player, and kicks bags of goals reguarly... what more can you ask for from a small forward! great overhead mark too!

Shane O'Bree - 8: Had a very underrated season. leads the team in clearances and always has head over the ball... improved his kicking immensely this season too... left foot!

Harry O'Brien - 7.5: i love Harry... he does some wonderful things down back! keep up good work Harry. just don't get to confident when running it out of defense!!!

Scott Pendlebury - 8: Same as last year. started the year slow, but has been GREAT as the year has unfolded! will finish very strongly!

Ben Reid - 4: another case of not having enough game time to properly judge... but from what i've seen, he can take a decent mark, but kicking is a little suspect

Anthony Rocca - N/A: Totally underrated by everyone who is not a Collingwood supporter... people don't realize how important he is to Collingwood! one of my all-time favourites...

Rhyce Shaw - 7.5: Playing more of a tagging role and is becomming quite good at it... first half of carlton game! but his run has been VERY important for us this season

Heath Shaw - 9: Tagged out of a couple of games, and people have suddenly jumped off!! WTF, he is playing awesome footy. not only does he rebound excellently, take great pack marks, but he can actually DEFEND! take that grant birchall, lindsay gilbee, andrew macleod and co.

Dane Swan - 9.1: IMO has been the best player at the club this year. still underrated by everyone except us supporters and opposition clubs!! maybe the only player to smash Cam Ling all game. must be approaching stardom soon......... i'm not joking, i love dane swan

Dale Thomas - 7: Started like a house on fire! slowed down a little bit. shows flashes of brilliance in every game, but needs to do it for a full game! getting better and better though. first half vs Sydney was brilliant!

Alan Toovey - 2: Maybe the fact that he has only played one game backs me up... he is a very slow player, shoddy kick (mainly because he lacks confidence... probably due to his being dropped all the time... but i can only go by the AFL games he's played!) handballs to players in trouble often... sorry toovey lovers, but there's not too much to defend here!!

Shane Wakelin - 8: How much did we need him to stay on for this season?? has been very very good! a veteran rock in defense!!

Sharrod Wellingham - 5.5: Played well for a few games, but seems to me that he lacks awareness and toughness that come with age... will be a good contributor to the team!

Cameron Wood - 5: Meh, a decent tap ruckman, but i would like to see him do more around the ground... up forward more and so forth. will also get better as he gets older and stronger!

frantelle
8 Jul 2008, 17:42

John Anthony - 3: Haven't seen enough of him this year to make a proper evaluation. Could be a strong KPP in a few years

Nathan Brown - 7.5: Best first year defender in league. been fantastic for us!! will be a GUN in years to come... fearless!

Chris Bryan - 6, 6.5: Struggled at first, but really stepped up over the last month! improving his kicking too!

Scott Burns - 7.5: best choice for captain we had! hampered a bit by injury, but when playing is always an inspiration... never lacks courage!

Marty Clarke - 6,5.5: Slow start, picking up last year's form now. let him run through the midfield more though.

Travis Cloke - 7.5, 6.5: His good games have been excellent, but has gone missing in a few... must bridge the gap between best and worst

Leon Davis - 8: When playing, he has been great! stepped it up to a new gear this year, kicking goals, getting possessions... love him

Alan Didak - 9: Probably leading the B & F so far... playing near the best footy of his career. love his new midfield/forward role! dynamic and exciting, just what we need!

Tyson Goldsack - 5.5, 5: Great to see him come back to the team!! he is a good defender, but just hasn't been as good as last season... will improve as the season goes on!

Ben Johnson - 6: Same ol Ben Johnson... gives good run and loves to take on opponents... keep on truckin benny

Tarkyn Lockyer - 7, 6.5: I don't like him playing so deep in the back line or forward line. he needs to be played up field a little bit more, where he does the most damage.. a'la last year. still is a worthy contributor

Nick Maxwell - 4: Ahhh, everyone's favourite player... i admire his courage, but skills are sub par, and is often beaten soundly in one on one contests.

Paul Medhurst - 9: The most improved player in the comp! Love the way he goes about his footy. goes hard, looks to give it off to a better positioned player, and kicks bags of goals reguarly... what more can you ask for from a small forward! great overhead mark too!

Shane O'Bree - 8: Had a very underrated season. leads the team in clearances and always has head over the ball... improved his kicking immensely this season too... left foot!

Harry O'Brien - 7.5, 7: i love Harry... he does some wonderful things down back! keep up good work Harry. just don't get to confident when running it out of defense!!!

Scott Pendlebury - 8, 7.5: Same as last year. started the year slow, but has been GREAT as the year has unfolded! will finish very strongly!

Ben Reid - 4: another case of not having enough game time to properly judge... but from what i've seen, he can take a decent mark, but kicking is a little suspect

Anthony Rocca - N/A: Totally underrated by everyone who is not a Collingwood supporter... people don't realize how important he is to Collingwood! one of my all-time favourites...

Rhyce Shaw - 7.5, 7: Playing more of a tagging role and is becomming quite good at it... first half of carlton game! but his run has been VERY important for us this season

Heath Shaw - 9: Tagged out of a couple of games, and people have suddenly jumped off!! WTF, he is playing awesome footy. not only does he rebound excellently, take great pack marks, but he can actually DEFEND! take that grant birchall, lindsay gilbee, andrew macleod and co.

Dane Swan - 9.1: IMO has been the best player at the club this year. still underrated by everyone except us supporters and opposition clubs!! maybe the only player to smash Cam Ling all game. must be approaching stardom soon......... i'm not joking, i love dane swan

Dale Thomas - 7, 6: Started like a house on fire! slowed down a little bit. shows flashes of brilliance in every game, but needs to do it for a full game! getting better and better though. first half vs Sydney was brilliant!

Alan Toovey - ???: need i bother

Shane Wakelin - 8, 7: How much did we need him to stay on for this season?? has been very very good! a veteran rock in defense!!

Sharrod Wellingham - 5.5, 6: Played well for a few games, but seems to me that he lacks awareness and toughness that come with age... will be a good contributor to the team!

Cameron Wood - 5: Meh, a decent tap ruckman, but i would like to see him do more around the ground... up forward more and so forth. will also get better as he gets older and stronger!

ive just put my ratings in bold

beez
8 Jul 2008, 17:47
Pretty much agree with everything there, bar Wood. He's been solid without being great, 6.5

Frankie23
8 Jul 2008, 17:47
please i want you to bother about Toovey

He's played 1 game and didnt play that bad, so rate him

Besides that pretty good sumation

WakeUpTaz
8 Jul 2008, 17:49

Nathan Brown - 7.5 8: Best first year defender in league. been fantastic for us!! will be a GUN in years to come... fearless!

Chris Bryan - 6: Struggled at first, but really stepped up over the last month! improving his kicking too!

Marty Clarke - 6: Slow start, picking up last year's form now. let him run through the midfield more though.

Travis Cloke - 7.5 7: His good games have been excellent, but has gone missing in a few... must bridge the gap between best and worst

Tyson Goldsack - 5.5: Great to see him come back to the team!! he is a good defender, but just hasn't been as good as last season... will improve as the season goes on!

Tarkyn Lockyer - 7: I don't like him playing so deep in the back line or forward line. he needs to be played up field a little bit more, where he does the most damage.. a'la last year. still is a worthy contributor

Harry O'Brien - 7.5 7: i love Harry... he does some wonderful things down back! keep up good work Harry. just don't get to confident when running it out of defense!!!

Scott Pendlebury - 8: Same as last year. started the year slow, but has been GREAT as the year has unfolded! will finish very strongly!

Rhyce Shaw - 7.5: Playing more of a tagging role and is becomming quite good at it... first half of carlton game! but his run has been VERY important for us this season

Dale Thomas - 7: Started like a house on fire! slowed down a little bit. shows flashes of brilliance in every game, but needs to do it for a full game! getting better and better though. first half vs Sydney was brilliant!

Alan Toovey - ??? -84 haha. 2: need i bother

Shane Wakelin - 8: How much did we need him to stay on for this season?? has been very very good! a veteran rock in defense!!

Sharrod Wellingham - 5.5 6: Played well for a few games, but seems to me that he lacks awareness and toughness that come with age... will be a good contributor to the team!

Cameron Wood - 5 6: Meh, a decent tap ruckman, but i would like to see him do more around the ground... up forward more and so forth. will also get better as he gets older and stronger!

Same.

PIEd
8 Jul 2008, 17:50
ive just put my ratings in bold

i do agree with your Lockyer rating... changed to 6.5 ;)

PIEd
8 Jul 2008, 17:53
Toovey - 3: Maybe the fact that he has only played one game backs me up... he is a very slow player, shoddy kick (mainly because he lacks confidence... probably due to his being dropped all the time... but i can only go by the AFL games he's played!) handballs to players in trouble often... sorry toovey lovers, but there's not too much to defend here!!

Big Bucks
8 Jul 2008, 17:54

That is about as accurate a review as you can get, Good work :thumbsu:
Your knowledge of our players thus far this year are pretty spot on.
You should have given Toovey his true appraisal!
Which is ?

PIEd
8 Jul 2008, 17:57
That is about as accurate a review as you can get, Good work :thumbsu:
Your knowledge of our players thus far this year are pretty spot on.
You should have given Toovey his true appraisal!
Which is ?

thanks mate, i edited the original post with toovey in it!

Tarkyn_24
8 Jul 2008, 18:01
i do agree with your Lockyer rating... changed to 6.5 ;)
Are you serious? You think O'Bree's been 1.5/10 BETTER than Lockyer this season!!!

I mean, sure he's underrated, but there's at least 5 blokes below him that deserve to be higher, captain Scotty included.

pendles
8 Jul 2008, 18:14
I give you a 3. Dull read.

Jabso
8 Jul 2008, 18:26
I rate them on expectations. I.e. young players are rated on what they promise and not on what they deliver compared to say Scott Burns.

1. Leon Davs: 8/10. Struggled a bit through injury but apart from that has been great.

2. Sean Rusling: INJ

3. Ryan Lonie: INJ

4. Alan Didak: 9.5/10 IMO easily our best this year. A shoe-in for AA if the AA was a fair selection process.

5. Nick Maxwell: 5/10. After a poor start where he didn't seem to know his role in the team he has improved a lot playing on smaller players, getting plenty of the ball and beating his oponent while helping teammates out. At the start he was too interested in being 3rd man up and being unselfish than getting the ball or stopping his oponent.

6. Brodie Holland: INJ

7. Paul Medhurst: 9/10. Brilliant imrpovement from him, we all know how good he's been this year. Gone from small leading forward to hard working HFF who gets plenty of the ball. He never got over 20 or so possies in his career now he is almost averaging close to that.

8. Harry O'Brien: 7.5/10. His "poor" start to the year wasn't too bad. He beat a lot of his opponents but he certailny has improved ever since the St. Kilda game. Starting to add rebounding and dash to his game when playing on smaller opponents.

9. John Anthony: 7/10. Has played AFL football and added a string to his bow up forward.

10. Scott Pendlebury: 8/10. I'm not so sure he has gone backwards like people think he has. If anything he's gone forwards in many aspects of his game. He is getting a lot more attention but it's not affecting him too much. When he has a quiet game it's still a 20 possie game. His good games have been more influential than last year.

11. Shane O'Bree: 7/10. Hasn't been as influential as last season which in some ways is a good thing as we can't rely on him. Has been great at the clearances again and has minimised his errors when he has the ball.

12. Shannon Cox: 4/10. Went backwards from last year. Last year he was promising as someone who can even pinch hit at CHB but his defensive work this year has been poor.

13. Dale Thomas: 7/10. His best has improved but has struggled when opportunities down forward dry up. When possible we should always try to play him on the wings/midfield.

14. Shane Wakelin: 7.5/10. Has had some poor games and some brilliant games.

15. Chris Egan: 4/10. After so much promise in the preseason he has struggled after his semi-serious injury last year.

16. Nathan Brown: 8/10. Made the step up from VFL to AFL football brilliantly.

17. Scott Burns: 7.5/10. Been solid without being great at times.

18. Martin Clarke: 7.5/10. See Thomas. Has had a poor start but he has consistently been very good since then. Underrated season IMO.

19. Cameron Wood: 6/10. Has shown us a lot, just needs to produce a lot more.

20. Ben Reid: 5/10. Same as last year really. Still very young and early to judge but last year he showed a lot too, I don't know if he's improved dramatically.

21. Sharrod Wellingham: 7.5/10. Like Browny stepped up from VFL level to AFL level superbly. I think he Medhurst and R.Shaw are the 3 most improved players for us this year. Sharrod went from struggling to make the Willy side to really adding a great edge to our AFL side.

22. Rhyce Shaw: 8/10. Been great as a full time midfielder this year. Improved his kicking a fair bit. It's pretty neat and has reduced the clanger count by a lot.

23. Anthony Rocca: 6/10. Played most of the season so far and IMO has been solid.

24. Tarkyn Lockyer: 6.5/10. Solid season. Has played interesting roles. However he has had a pretty disapointing season. He was the overwhelming favorite to win the 2007 Copeland by most good judges and now has been relegated to a support role.

25. Josh Fraser: 5.5/10. Poor season interrupted by injury. Has had some good games and poor games.

26. Ben Johnson: 6/10. Has improved from last year from on the edge of getting dropped to being solid for us. Still would like to see him show some of that early 2006 (or was it 2005?) form.

27. John McCarthy: KID 5/10. Interrupted by injury. Has been solid from reports of his games at the reserves.

28. Daniel Stanley: 4/10. Has improved his form at the reserves, but hasn't improved in the areas that have stopped him from getting a game.

29. Ryan Cook: 4/10. See Stanley.

30. Tobias Thoolen: KID 4/10. Project player. Starting to show a bit.

31. Chris Dawes: 6/10. Been good at the reserves. It's effectively his first year too.

32. Travis Cloke: 8/10. Has been god yet inconsistent. Will beat good opponents then get shaded by opponents you'd think he'd take advantage of.

33. Brad Dick: INJ

34. Alan Toovey: 4.5/10. Has been injured. Hasn't been too bad when in the side despite some histeria surrounding him. Good when playing for VFL although he hasn't played for them much.

35. Simon Prestigiacomo: INJ

36. Dane Swan: 8.5/10. Has stepped up in every area except his bloody kicking.

37. Sam Iles: 4/10 see Cook and Stanley.

38. Tyson Goldsack: 5/10 gone backwards a bit from last year and his form in the VFL hasn't impressed that much (although with our VFL backline sometimes it's hard to).

39. Heath Shaw: 8.5/10. His best has been better than ever but has had a few shockers. Still overall it has been a great season.

40. Chris Bryan: 7.5/10. Had a few poor games but since Fraser has been injured has been great. Improved every facet of his game and his kicking has gone from being dangerous for us to being a danger for the opposition.

41. Kevin Dyas: KID 4/10 has shown a bit but still a way away.

43. Jaxson Barham: INJ. Only played about 3 games.

44. Luke Casey-Leigh: KID 3/10. Has struggled a bit thrown straight in as a key defender. Injured too.

Optimax
8 Jul 2008, 18:27
Toovey - 3: Maybe the fact that he has only played one game backs me up... he is a very slow player, shoddy kick (mainly because he lacks confidence... probably due to his being dropped all the time... but i can only go by the AFL games he's played!) handballs to players in trouble often... sorry toovey lovers, but there's not too much to defend here!!
its 2 games and wasnt disgraced in either

isnt a slow player is as fast as swan, pendlebury etc

Has great endurance and can play as a shut down player.

i would of given him a four myself seeing as while he was fit he was good in the VFl and often an emergency but he has some traits.

Dont let the extreme hate fool you he does his job

Big Bucks
8 Jul 2008, 18:33
its 2 games and was disgraced in either

i would of given him a four myself seeing as while he was fit he was good in the VFl and often an emergency but he has some traits.

Absolutely agree with you here.:thumbsu:

pendles
8 Jul 2008, 18:35
its 2 games and was disgraced in either

agreed

MagpieGirl_13
8 Jul 2008, 18:36
Toovey has played 3 games!
Rnd 3 - Richmond
Rnd 4 - Carlton
Rnd 13 - Bulldogs

I'd probably give him a 4 or 5/10

Optimax
8 Jul 2008, 18:36
Absolutely agree with you here.:thumbsu:
thanks for pointing that out:o

Been fixed now, I know you always say i blindly love toovey but you do realise i gave him .5 a mark less than Jabso yeah?

Optimax
8 Jul 2008, 18:37
Toovey has played 3 games!
Rnd 3 - Richmond
Rnd 4 - Carlton
Rnd 13 - Bulldogs

yeah forgot about the Carlton game im pretending neither of them actually happened:thumbsu:

Big Bucks
8 Jul 2008, 18:39
thanks for pointing that out:o

Been fixed now, I know you always say i blindly love toovey but you do realise i gave him .5 a mark less than Jabso yeah?

Yep, i noticed that,and that is a fair appraisal.

Optimax
8 Jul 2008, 18:42
Yep, i noticed that,and that is a fair appraisal.
I never said he was the next captain just he was never as bad as you or pendles or who ever says he has been

Big Bucks
8 Jul 2008, 18:45
I never said he was the next captain just he was never as bad as you or pendles or who ever says he has been

That is a matter of what you think you see in him, and what i don,t see in him.

EB&W Pieman
8 Jul 2008, 18:49
I loved Goldy last year, but he has LITERALLY hardly had a kick this season. You can't give him a 5 just because.

No more than a 2 in 2008 (at this stage)

Pie Legend
8 Jul 2008, 19:01
Rhyce Shaw 7.5! Thats harsh, gotta be closer to 9 then 7 I reckon. Probably 8 - 8.5 for me. Played well and would be top 3 in our B&F at this stage IMO

PIEd
8 Jul 2008, 19:35
I give you a 3. Dull read.

go ahead douchebag do something more entertaining...

checker
8 Jul 2008, 20:21
Jabso's review
rofl

MagpieGirl_13
8 Jul 2008, 20:24
...... you quoted that entire post to say "rofl" ..... :rolleyes:

EDIT: that's better :) :thumbsu:

Jabso
8 Jul 2008, 20:25
rofl

Would you like to elaborate?

Optimax
8 Jul 2008, 20:28
10 bucks says he shirks the issue

I actually rated your review there mate

Big Bucks
8 Jul 2008, 20:43
Very accurate review PIEd.
Keep up the good work.
You have to bear in mind those who come on here with rose coloured glasses, you know the ones i`m talking about, always make out that our average players are worthy of AA honours.
When we are the perrenial bridesmaid, there is always "oh well" we done well, nearly, next year.

pipeline
8 Jul 2008, 20:49
I rate them on expectations. I.e. young players are rated on what they promise and not on what they deliver compared to say Scott Burns.

1. Leon Davs: 8/10. Struggled a bit through injury but apart from that has been great.

2. Sean Rusling: INJ

3. Ryan Lonie: INJ

4. Alan Didak: 9.5/10 IMO easily our best this year. A shoe-in for AA if the AA was a fair selection process.

5. Nick Maxwell: 5/10. After a poor start where he didn't seem to know his role in the team he has improved a lot playing on smaller players, getting plenty of the ball and beating his oponent while helping teammates out. At the start he was too interested in being 3rd man up and being unselfish than getting the ball or stopping his oponent.

6. Brodie Holland: INJ

7. Paul Medhurst: 9/10. Brilliant imrpovement from him, we all know how good he's been this year. Gone from small leading forward to hard working HFF who gets plenty of the ball. He never got over 20 or so possies in his career now he is almost averaging close to that.

8. Harry O'Brien: 7.5/10. His "poor" start to the year wasn't too bad. He beat a lot of his opponents but he certailny has improved ever since the St. Kilda game. Starting to add rebounding and dash to his game when playing on smaller opponents.

9. John Anthony: 7/10. Has played AFL football and added a string to his bow up forward.

10. Scott Pendlebury: 8/10. I'm not so sure he has gone backwards like people think he has. If anything he's gone forwards in many aspects of his game. He is getting a lot more attention but it's not affecting him too much. When he has a quiet game it's still a 20 possie game. His good games have been more influential than last year.

11. Shane O'Bree: 7/10. Hasn't been as influential as last season which in some ways is a good thing as we can't rely on him. Has been great at the clearances again and has minimised his errors when he has the ball.

12. Shannon Cox: 4/10. Went backwards from last year. Last year he was promising as someone who can even pinch hit at CHB but his defensive work this year has been poor.

13. Dale Thomas: 7/10. His best has improved but has struggled when opportunities down forward dry up. When possible we should always try to play him on the wings/midfield.

14. Shane Wakelin: 7.5/10. Has had some poor games and some brilliant games.

15. Chris Egan: 4/10. After so much promise in the preseason he has struggled after his semi-serious injury last year.

16. Nathan Brown: 8/10. Made the step up from VFL to AFL football brilliantly.

17. Scott Burns: 7.5/10. Been solid without being great at times.

18. Martin Clarke: 7.5/10. See Thomas. Has had a poor start but he has consistently been very good since then. Underrated season IMO.

19. Cameron Wood: 6/10. Has shown us a lot, just needs to produce a lot more.

20. Ben Reid: 5/10. Same as last year really. Still very young and early to judge but last year he showed a lot too, I don't know if he's improved dramatically.

21. Sharrod Wellingham: 7.5/10. Like Browny stepped up from VFL level to AFL level superbly. I think he Medhurst and R.Shaw are the 3 most improved players for us this year. Sharrod went from struggling to make the Willy side to really adding a great edge to our AFL side.

22. Rhyce Shaw: 8/10. Been great as a full time midfielder this year. Improved his kicking a fair bit. It's pretty neat and has reduced the clanger count by a lot.

23. Anthony Rocca: 6/10. Played most of the season so far and IMO has been solid.

24. Tarkyn Lockyer: 6.5/10. Solid season. Has played interesting roles. However he has had a pretty disapointing season. He was the overwhelming favorite to win the 2007 Copeland by most good judges and now has been relegated to a support role.

25. Josh Fraser: 5.5/10. Poor season interrupted by injury. Has had some good games and poor games.

26. Ben Johnson: 6/10. Has improved from last year from on the edge of getting dropped to being solid for us. Still would like to see him show some of that early 2006 (or was it 2005?) form.

27. John McCarthy: KID 5/10. Interrupted by injury. Has been solid from reports of his games at the reserves.

28. Daniel Stanley: 4/10. Has improved his form at the reserves, but hasn't improved in the areas that have stopped him from getting a game.

29. Ryan Cook: 4/10. See Stanley.

30. Tobias Thoolen: KID 4/10. Project player. Starting to show a bit.

31. Chris Dawes: 6/10. Been good at the reserves. It's effectively his first year too.

32. Travis Cloke: 8/10. Has been god yet inconsistent. Will beat good opponents then get shaded by opponents you'd think he'd take advantage of.

33. Brad Dick: INJ

34. Alan Toovey: 4.5/10. Has been injured. Hasn't been too bad when in the side despite some histeria surrounding him. Good when playing for VFL although he hasn't played for them much.

35. Simon Prestigiacomo: INJ

36. Dane Swan: 8.5/10. Has stepped up in every area except his bloody kicking.

37. Sam Iles: 4/10 see Cook and Stanley.

38. Tyson Goldsack: 5/10 gone backwards a bit from last year and his form in the VFL hasn't impressed that much (although with our VFL backline sometimes it's hard to).

39. Heath Shaw: 8.5/10. His best has been better than ever but has had a few shockers. Still overall it has been a great season.

40. Chris Bryan: 7.5/10. Had a few poor games but since Fraser has been injured has been great. Improved every facet of his game and his kicking has gone from being dangerous for us to being a danger for the opposition.

41. Kevin Dyas: KID 4/10 has shown a bit but still a way away.

43. Jaxson Barham: INJ. Only played about 3 games.

44. Luke Casey-Leigh: KID 3/10. Has struggled a bit thrown straight in as a key defender. Injured too.

You need to get out more on Sundays Jabso, say down around MC labour Park. You give Stanley, iles, Cook, Cox 4/10 and then the same rating to Thoolen (played one game for the year 2 weeks ago)and Dyas (who actually still has NFI), and then 5 and above to Thoolen, Dawes, McCarthy who've been collectively ordinary except for isolated games here and there. All of Stanley, Cook, Iles and Coxy have been consistently good over the season, not just a handful of games, Stanley in particular has been in outstanding form averaging around 30+ in his last 4 games and culminating in an absolutely dominating game last Sunday, the best by any Collingwood two's player this year. Rowdy's opinion below courtesy of CFC Site:

A final term fadout cost Collingwood dearly in its round 13 VFL match against Frankston on Sunday at Princes Park, with the Magpies going down by seven points after leading by 28 points at three-quarter time.

The Pies led from the early stages of the second term, and appeared set to record their fourth win of the season, but conceded eight goals in the final quarter and lost 16.9 (105) to 15.8 (98).

After the sides traded majors early in the final term, Frankston took hold of the game and converted their 28-point deficit into a 14-point advantage. With a tick over five minutes to play, Chris Egan’s third goal for the day drew his side back to within two straight kicks, but a desperate Dolphins outfit staved off their AFL-affiliated opponents to record their sixth win of the season.

Despite the loss, the Collingwood coaching staff would no doubt be content with their side’s efforts in the second and third quarters, which saw the Pies slam on 10 goals to three, controlling the tempo of the match with relative ease, with a number of their VFL-listed players again filling the breach for their absent AFL teammates.

With John Anthony promoted to the senior side to tackle Sydney the previous evening, it meant that the defence was to be stripped to its bare minimum. Fortunately, Simon Prestigiacomo returned to the side after missing the previous week’s victory over Box Hill, combining well with Kris Pendlebury (14 kicks, nine handballs, seven marks) and Tim Walsh (seven kicks, 11 handballs, three marks) in holding down the key defensive posts.

Danny Stanley was again prolific in the engine room, using the Sherrin 32 times and laying four tackles, using his upper-body strength to make light work of the stoppages and the centre breaks. He was well supported by Sam Iles and Paul Licuria (26 touches apiece), who provided forwards Brent Macaffer and Chris Egan with a number of opportunities in attack, the pair booting three goals apiece, their job made even tougher when Chris Dawes left the field late in the third quarter.

Frankston began the day full of the intent stand-alone sides appear to engender when they face an AFL-affiliated opponent. They made the most of their opportunities, breaking away to an early 14-point lead before the Magpies began to click into gear, the home side beginning to make waves late in the quarter through goals to Egan and Jaxson Barham, trimming the Frankston lead to 13-points at the first change.

The second quarter was one of Collingwood’s best for the season, seven goals to the Dolphins two opening up a handy 17-point buffer at the long break. Stanley opened the term with a wonderful roost from the boundary line on the wrong flank for a right footer, before Tobias Thoolen inked his first goal at VFL level into the record books minutes later, a goal born from a strong tackle inside the Pies attacking 50-metre arc.

Although Frankston, through Tory Dickson and Marcus Marigliani returned fire at the other end, it was Collingwood who had all the answers, two goals to the ever-accurate Macaffer and singles to John McCarthy and Daniel Frost keeping the Dolphins at bay. The run from defence generated by Shannon Cox and Ryan Cook was complimented by the work of ruckman Justin Crow, who often selflessly filled space in the Frankston attack.

Collingwood’s good form was not left in the change rooms at half time, continuing into the third quarter with goals to Pendlebury, Cox and Macaffer countered by only one Frankston major, creating what appeared to be an unassailable 28-point lead with a quarter to play. Cox’s goal, in particular, was one of the highlights of the afternoon, keeping his feet following a marking contest before snapping truly from an acute angle.

Unfortunately, the Woods were left flat footed by Frankston in the final term, early goals sparking the Dolphins – and the game – into life, that intangible yet critical factor, the momentum, running the way of the visitors in the last stanza, eight goals to two gifting Frankston the win, and breathing life into their finals aspirations.

The fact that the Pies appeared powerless to halt the Frankston flush was certainly a disappointment for coach Gavin Brown, who lamented his side’s inability to ice what appeared to be a certain four points.

“(We said to them) that we were really disappointed after we’ve had a couple of really good weeks in the two matches previous, but today we were in that position to win, but with eight goals to two in the last quarter…as I said, the last two weeks have been really good, but to fall back in the hole late was just disappointing,” Brown told collingwoodfc.com.au.

“We moved them around a fair bit, actually, we changed the structure of our forward line, we changed the midfield, we changed a number of positions, match ups and that, but they just wanted it more than us, simple as that.”

Brown was pleased with the efforts of Danny Stanley, and also made note of the efforts of Pendlebury, Macaffer and Thoolen.

“Stanners was probably (our best), he worked really hard, Crowy (Justin Crow) always has a go, there wasn’t much, really, which was pretty disappointing. Penders down back was ok, and he went into the middle but was quiet.

“Stanners was the only one to put his hand up, I reckon (pushing for selection). He worked hard and got a bit of the footy, and was hard at it. Macaffer kicked three goals, so I guess he held his head high, and was probably another one.”

“Toby (Thoolen)’s another one who had a bit of a stint in the ruck again today, so again he was ok both there and up forward, as a bit of a target, so the fact that he played well is another positive. It’s certainly the fact that he has a bit more confidence, and feels that he belongs and knows that he can play good footy at this level.”

The task doesn’t get much easier for the Pies, who are set to clash with the third-placed North Ballarat at Princes Park next Sunday afternoon at 2.00pm, however with competition for a place in the senior line up now hotting up in the race to September, the VFL representatives will want to leave their coaches in no doubt of their claims to a role on the biggest stage of all.

Collingwood: 3.3, 10.4, 13.7, 15.8 (98)
Frankston: 5.4, 7.5, 8.9, 16.9 (105)

Goals – Collingwood: Macaffer 3, Egan 3, Barham, Stanley, Thoolen, McCarthy, Yaman, Frost, Pendlebury, Cox, Licuria.
Frankston: Murray 3, Dickson 3, Berry 3, Morris 2, Winterton, Keeley, Marigliani, Barry, Lourey.

Best – Collingwood: Stanley, Crow, Macaffer, Licuria, Cook, Iles, Pendlebury, Cox.

2008 collingwoodfc.com.au VFL MVP Award
* A total of 10 votes can be allocated each match

Round 13 votes:
2 – Stanley
1 – Crow, Macaffer, Licuria

Progressive
11. Macaffer
9. Iles
8. Crow, Stanley
7. Cox, Nicholls
6. Anthony
5. Licuria
4. Wellingham, Cook, Frost, Dawes
3: Toovey, Bryan, McCarthy, Pendlebury
2: Walsh, Lonie
1: Carmody, Clarke, Holland, Jurrah, Reid, Dyas, Egan

checker
8 Jul 2008, 22:08
was about to sorry but if you read 'pipeline''s review he explains it beautifully.

Jabso
8 Jul 2008, 22:52
You need to get out more on Sundays Jabso, say down around MC labour Park. You give Stanley, iles, Cook, Cox 4/10 and then the same rating to Thoolen (played one game for the year 2 weeks ago)and Dyas (who actually still has NFI), and then 5 and above to Thoolen, Dawes, McCarthy who've been collectively ordinary except for isolated games here and there. All of Stanley, Cook, Iles and Coxy have been consistently good over the season, not just a handful of games, Stanley in particular has been in outstanding form averaging around 30+ in his last 4 games and culminating in an absolutely dominating game last Sunday, the best by any Collingwood two's player this year. Rowdy's opinion below courtesy of CFC Site:

I don't expect much out of Thoolen, Dyas and co and even Dawes. However Iles, Stanley and Cook are all 3rd year players and I have expecations that they'd play some good football for out seniors or at least be bloody unlucky that they're not in the side. I'm afraid I don't see much great improvement out of any of them. Sure they've been better in the VFL especially IMO Stanley and Iles who consistently get the ball, but in the end I don't think they're doing that much to stop them being on the chopping block.

pipeline
8 Jul 2008, 23:31
I don't expect much out of Thoolen, Dyas and co and even Dawes. However Iles, Stanley and Cook are all 3rd year players and I have expecations that they'd play some good football for out seniors or at least be bloody unlucky that they're not in the side. I'm afraid I don't see much great improvement out of any of them. Sure they've been better in the VFL especially IMO Stanley and Iles who consistently get the ball, but in the end I don't think they're doing that much to stop them being on the chopping block.

Well, you're getting your wish there! However Thoolen, and Dyas in particular, are nowhere near where Iles, Stanley, Cook, and Cox were at the same stage of their development. Frankly, the only thing Dyas has going for him is the success of Marty Clarke. There would be 20 thousand young footballers around this country who have as much potential and if he was running around here he'd never have been noticed by any club. The other boys, with the possible exception of Cox, are essentially mids and who the hell are they going to push out yet regardless of 3 years on the list? And as to being "unlucky" not to get more game time, Iles and Stanners would have to take the gold for that! Last week Mick himself admitted as much and even made the point that Stanners was dropped last year AFTER A GOOD GAME against the Swans. How lucky is that?

Anyway, to each his own, I watch these kids almost every game and I don't think any of them will be dropped, and further, I think all will have careers - again with the possible exception of Cox who I think will have a career, if he has one, somewhere else - and that's a bloody shame because he's got the goods and it'll mean the club failed to get the best out of him.

Jabso
9 Jul 2008, 02:05
Well, you're getting your wish there! However Thoolen, and Dyas in particular, are nowhere near where Iles, Stanley, Cook, and Cox were at the same stage of their development. Frankly, the only thing Dyas has going for him is the success of Marty Clarke. There would be 20 thousand young footballers around this country who have as much potential and if he was running around here he'd never have been noticed by any club. The other boys, with the possible exception of Cox, are essentially mids and who the hell are they going to push out yet regardless of 3 years on the list? And as to being "unlucky" not to get more game time, Iles and Stanners would have to take the gold for that! Last week Mick himself admitted as much and even made the point that Stanners was dropped last year AFTER A GOOD GAME against the Swans. How lucky is that?

Anyway, to each his own, I watch these kids almost every game and I don't think any of them will be dropped, and further, I think all will have careers - again with the possible exception of Cox who I think will have a career, if he has one, somewhere else - and that's a bloody shame because he's got the goods and it'll mean the club failed to get the best out of him.

I agree that Cook, Iles and Stanley did show more than Thoolen and Dyas at that stage in their career and I would have rated them a 6-8/10. I still don't agree that they've been knocking down the door as much as they could have. I don't think they'll all be delisted, I especially rate Stanley and Iles but they haven't done anything to really say that they shouldn't be seriously looked at for delisting.

bucksisbest
9 Jul 2008, 02:36
I'd be marking Didak at around 8 rather than the 9 , 9.5's he has received. He has got a lot more ball this year , but hasn't stung compared to 06 when he was playing deeper , and has been quite sloppy for such a polished player at times.

dak004
9 Jul 2008, 12:28
I think Chris Bryan and Rhyce Shaw have been the big improver's for 2008. I love the way Chris is playing at the moment. Hope he keeps it up and Rhyce is close to where he was in 2006.

MAKESHIFT
9 Jul 2008, 12:30
I agree that Cook, Iles and Stanley did show more than Thoolen and Dyas at that stage in their career and I would have rated them a 6-8/10. I still don't agree that they've been knocking down the door as much as they could have. I don't think they'll all be delisted, I especially rate Stanley and Iles but they haven't done anything to really say that they shouldn't be seriously looked at for delisting.

Stanners, Isles and Cooky are being groomed for Midfield positions. They are all knocking at the door but MM won't let them in. You tell me who MM would drop for any of them. It certainly isn't due to poor form on their behalf. He will continue to play the old favorites. It is not a reflection on any of the young players it is a reflection on the coach. I honestly despair that he keeps these players along with Toovs and Coxy as under studies and then every now and then he puts one in the team to fill a gap of a position they may not even play and then drop them the next week. Obviously as I have said before alot of you do not even go to the games if you did and watched the game as a whole and see how these boys play on and off the ball you would change your tune. Cream always rises to the surface and that is exactly what happens week in and week out in the VFL with Cooky Coxy Isles Toovs Anthony and Stanners. All of the above have played much better footy than Burns, Holland, Johnson etc ever did in the VFL this year. They all deserve their chance to string a few games together in the AFL. Also it is in effect Stanners first year playing in the Midfield as he was never given that luxury so it is not as if he has always played there don't forget. Same with Cooky.

brspdt201013
9 Jul 2008, 13:54
I am not just going to list the regular senior players. Im am going to list the complete playing list and judge them on what I expexted of them this year.

1-LEON DAVIS-8 He has been superb so far. Although he is injured he needs to be superb for the rest of the season to become a genuine star.

2-SEAN RUSLING-4 Obviously he is out for the year. But he was looking sharp during pre-season. I think he will over come his injuries and be in our best 18 by round 1, 2009.

3-RYAN LONIE-2 Hasn't played a game and doesn't look like playing a game. Still cant understand why he wasn't delisted last year.

4-ALAN DIDAK-8.5 Has gone to another level with also the next level (superstar) close in sight. Will be a perminate midfielder next year.

5-NICK MAXWELL-5 This might be a bit generous but I think he is never going to go past this level and always gives his all. I think others will go past him soon.

6-BRODIE HOLLAND-2 I think this might be the end for Brodie.

7-PAUL MEDHURST-8.5 Close to the best small forward in the comp now.

8-HARRY O'BRIEN-7 Although he has been beaten a couple of times he is getting better. Will turn out to be as good as Clement.

9-JOHN ANTHONY-5 Starting to get some senior experience now. Is a defender and will be in the future. Like others will be in our best 22 by 2009.

10-SCOTT PENDLEBURY-7 Although he started slow he has worked his way back into form. You can tell he is still learning the game and I don't think he realises yet how much skill he has and how good he could be.

11-SHANE O'BREE-6.5 Just keeps on battling along. Will finish top 10 in B&F.

12-SHANNON COX-3 Undoubted talent just dont think his head is screwed on right. Needs to take his chance once back in the seniors.

13-DALE THOMAS-7 He's a funny one to judge. People will say he has been poor but he has only really had 2 - 3 bad games. Still 1 - 2 years before we see the best of Dale. It will be worth the wait though.

14-SHANE WAKELIN-7 Has been fantastic his experience has be so valuable to our young defence.

15-CHRIS EGAN-2 I had big expectations for him this year. I thought he would be in our best 18. I still think he can be but his time is running out fast.

16-NATHAN BROWN-7.5 Has been outstanding for his age. CHB for the next 10 years

17-SCOTT BURNS-7 When he has been on the park he has been very good.

18-MARTIN CLARKE-6.5 Poor start but once again improving with every game. Starting to make the HBF his own.

19-CAMERON WOOD-6 Has shown glimpses of what he is capable of. The start of something special.

20-BEN REID-5 This guy excites me the most out of all on the list. So raw but has the talent to be so good. The injury may be a hidden blessing. He can spend extra time in the gym. A massive chance for Rising Star in 2009.

21-SHARROD WELLINGHAM-6 Looks a special talent still very raw though.

22-RHYCE SHAW-7.5 Has been consistant all year and has finally improved his kicking. Love the way he takes off everytime he gets the ball.

23-ANTHONY ROCCA-3 Has struggled to get on the park, but when he does he makes a huge difference to the side. Will play on next year.

24-TARKYN LOCKYER-7.5 Mr consistant once again. Always goes unnoticed but still gets his 20 touches a game on a HFF or HBF. Close to our best tackler.

25-JOSH FRASER-5 Still don't think he has reached his full potential. Every time he gets close he gets injured. Can still play a big part this year.

26-BEN JOHNSON-5.5 See Lockyer. Gives his all and always takes them on.

27-JOHN MCCARTHY-4 Haven't really seen much of him but all signs look promising.

28-RYAN COOK-5 Has shown a bit in the AFL I think he has a future with the club.

29-DANNY STANLEY-4 Very good VFL form. But struggled with the pace of AFL. Should get another go to prove himself.

30-TOBY THOOLAN-3 Haven't seen him play so can't say.

31-CHRIS DAWES-5 Looks impressive will hopefully get a few games by the end of the year.

32-TRAVIS CLOKE-7 Not as good as last year but his best is very very good. Fast becoming our most important player.

33-BRAD DICK-3 Hope he makes it. Should put on some weight over the next year which will help.

34-ALAN TOOVEY-4 Has done ok but nothing special. A bit like Maxwell. I think he is a favourite of Mick's so he will get retained next year.

35-SIMON PRESTIGIACOMO-2 Bad luck with injury. If he can get back this year he will be a handy addition.

36-DANE SWAN-8.5 Mr consistant now. Will be leading our B&F. The comp is starting to take notice.

37-SAM ISLES-2 Good VFL player but others have gone past him. Such as Wellingham, Cook, Stanley.

38-TYSON GOLDSACK-4 Struggled with injury. Working his way back into form.

39-HEATH SHAW-8 Although down on numbers recently. He rarely gets beaten. The best running defender in the comp. Will be top 3 in B&F

40-CHRIS BRYAN-6 Not as talented as others on the list. Gives his all and crashes the packs. Kicking has improved

41-KEVIN DYAS-4 Still learning. Looks like a long term prospect.

43-JAXSON BARHAM-4 Looks like he has some nice tricks. Shown a bit in the VFL games he has played.

44-LUKE CASEY-LEIGH-3 Haven't seen him play so cant really comment.

45-BRENT MACAFFER-6 Been good the last 4 - 5 weeks. Not sure if he will get elevated next year due to sililar types such as, Rusling, Medhurst etc.

shawthing09
9 Jul 2008, 20:27
I'd agree with Jabso except

I would rate Stanley a 6 and Dawes a 4

Dawes has struggled at Vfl much of the year, not writting him off but i just hope he is learning a fair bit form this year.

Stanley is still preforming well at VFL, I agree he hasn't really improved his weakness's a great deal but i don't think we can judge his AFL preformances when he is never played in his actual position

Parallel Andy
9 Jul 2008, 22:28
John Anthony - 4
Nathan Brown - 7
Chris Bryan - 5
Scott Burns - 7.5
Marty Clarke - 6
Travis Cloke - 7.5
Shannon Cox - 1
Leon Davis - 8
Alan Didak - 8
Josh Fraser - 4
Tyson Goldsack - 6
Ben Johnson - 5
Tarkyn Lockyer - 7.5
Nick Maxwell - 6.5
Paul Medhurst - 8.5
Shane O'Bree - 6
Harry O'Brien - 7
Scott Pendlebury - 7
Ben Reid - 3
Anthony Rocca - 7
Rhyce Shaw - 8
Heath Shaw - 9
Dane Swan - 9
Dale Thomas - 7.5
Alan Toovey - 1
Shane Wakelin - 7.5
Sharrod Wellingham - 6
Cameron Wood - 5.5

bradrowe#32
10 Jul 2008, 02:09
Agreed with most of the OP, except for...

Anthony: 5, has shown some promising signs and was a good player up forward when we need one against the swans.

Bryan 7. A 6 is too low. He has been very good this year.

Fraser 6. A 3 is very harsh. Has been excellent at times, but has obviously suffered from his injury.

Lockyer 8. Solid contributor again.

Wellingham 6.5. Good pace and creates something. Will get better, but has shown a lot of promise.

Wood 6. Very impressed with him. He was never going to come in and dominate. He is building slowly.

Mars II
10 Jul 2008, 06:23

dale thomas 7? his started off okay still wasnt winning enuf of the ball. the when collingwood started losing he was still getting the same stats and his in a form slump. he has stuffed up a lot this year in crucial moments in matches.

i'd give him a 4.

Somebody
10 Jul 2008, 13:50
Absolutely agree with you here.:thumbsu:Wow big Bucks positive about a woods player - toovey of all players! - I agree btw, jury still out on Tooves but could become a valuable asset.

Edit: woops no, should have known better, never a positive comment about a Woods player from the Big Bucks pretend supporter!

(didn't see the sarcastic highlighting of the typo until now)

I'm guessing you're a CArlton supporter and Big Bucks refers not to the legendary retiree but to how yoru club cheats its way to success by large bundles of notes passing under the table.