View Full Version : 11/7 = Carlton Vs St Kilda @ MCG

Pages : [1] 2 3

cheezey2008
8 Jul 2008, 18:18
Could be game of the round folks...can St Kilda continue their great sequence against the Blues or will the inclusion of Judd and a rejuvenated young playing list break the drought. Will be a good one.

yesblueboy
8 Jul 2008, 18:20
with judd rested for 2 weeks and walker is bak bannister was supposed to be back but agrivated his hammy again.......

should be a close one

GO BAGGERS

Hodgepodge
8 Jul 2008, 18:23
Hopefully it will be an open game, that's all i want, look for judd to get a few Contested Possessions and for the carlton assistant coaches, the media, carlton fans, etc all going on about his contested possessions and how he leads the CPs, until Geelong play Fremantle.

McCrann
8 Jul 2008, 18:55
Could be game of the round folks...can St Kilda continue their great sequence against the Blues or will the inclusion of Judd and a rejuvenated young playing list break the drought. Will be a good one.

Longest losing sequence for Carlton against any team for more than a century.

Longest Losing Streaks for Carlton

v Fitzroy (14) - Round 1, 1897 - Round 6, 1902
v Essendon (14) - Round 3, 1897 - Round 5, 1902
v Geelong (12) - Round 4, 1897 - Round 1, 1902
v St. Kilda (10) - Round 1, 2002 - Round 2, 2008
v Sydney (10) - Round 14, 2001 - Round 15, 2007
v Essendon (10) - Round 10, 1981 - Round 6, 1985

http://afl.allthestats.com/records/LongestWLSeq.php?t1=&t2=3&yrfm=1897&yrto=2008&gnd=0

Mike_blues
8 Jul 2008, 19:24

http://afl.allthestats.com/records/LongestWLSeq.php?t1=&t2=3&yrfm=1897&yrto=2008&gnd=0
its gotta end one day

BlueDW
8 Jul 2008, 19:24
Hopefully it will be an open game, that's all i want, look for judd to get a few Contested Possessions and for the carlton assistant coaches, the media, carlton fans, etc all going on about his contested possessions and how he leads the CPs, until Geelong play Fremantle.

LOL, you seriously need to go and find yourself a root mate, Judd is never going to dump Twiggs for you pal! ########!

Bay Pie
8 Jul 2008, 20:35

Come on carlton fans, gotta admit, that is funny.hahahahahahahahaha.:thumbsu:

That is ownership of the highest order. 7 years and 10 games.

Saints by 30 points. Maxy does a good job on Fevola. No Fevola no carlton. Give him his 4 years. Fev is/was good mates with Josh Kennedy and Whitnall wasn't he too. Gee, they showed them loyalty. Perhaps that is in the back of Fevs' mind of what might happen in the case of a 3 year deal, come the 4th year.

Thrawn
9 Jul 2008, 06:37

No, it isn't. Despite their recent run we still have a 77.34% winning record against them. THAT is ownership. And assuming they will win all the time against us, how long do you think this percentage will drop below 50?

The ownership of the highest order is beating your mob in grand finals. In five of them to be exact.

1915, 1938, 1970, 1979, 1981.

JeffDunne
9 Jul 2008, 08:32
"I think we've played them (Saints) a lot at Telstra Dome, which they play very well.

"History shows they have a very good record there over the last five or six seasons.

History also shows you've been crap over the past 7 seasons (and counting) Ratts.

I'm starting to see why Carlton kept blowing their cap - they have problems with basic arithmetic. :)

Thrawn
9 Jul 2008, 08:57
History also shows you've been crap over the past 7 seasons (and counting) Ratts.

Considering we're 7-7, I would say "middle of the road" rather than "crap". Oh well, at least it's better than finishing bottom four again...

JeffDunne
9 Jul 2008, 09:02
Thrawn, we're in the 8 and we're playing crap.

There's a reason why we have three teams that have hardly lost a game - there's so many crap teams going around atm.

Carlton are better now than they've been since 2002. I'll grant you that.

However I still don't think you're a good team.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
9 Jul 2008, 09:09
No, it isn't. Despite their recent run we still have a 77.34% winning record against them. THAT is ownership. And assuming they will win all the time against us, how long do you think this percentage will drop below 50?

The ownership of the highest order is beating your mob in grand finals. In five of them to be exact.

Thrawn, that is ownership of the highest order. :thumbsu::p

EddieBettsIsAChamp
9 Jul 2008, 09:11

There's a reason why we have three teams that have hardly lost a game - there's so many crap teams going around atm.

Our problem at the moment is that we're a good team on paper. Write a list and put Judd, Fevola, Stevens, Scotland and three no.1 draft picks on it, looks pretty good to me. Wont be too long before we put those names into some real action. :thumbsu:

Thrawn
9 Jul 2008, 09:13

Or how about that they're just good enough?

"Good" is subjective. I usually look at the top four and conclude they are a good side... tho great sides win premierships.

But I do think we're a level above from last year at the very least.

IllBeTheJudge
9 Jul 2008, 09:57
Despite their recent run we still have a 77.34% winning record against them. THAT is ownership. And assuming they will win all the time against us, how long do you think this percentage will drop below 50?

We only need to win the next 112 in a row for the percentage to drop below 50. Piece of cake. Will bring this thread up again in 56 years, give or take.

BlueDW
9 Jul 2008, 10:23

I'm starting to see why Carlton kept blowing their cap - they have problems with basic arithmetic. :)

If we are crap this year JD, and we are 2% behind you on the ladder, and may be in front of you come 10:00 on Friday night, seems as though the mighty Saints are in the same boat!

1300 72 79 81 is the number you need to call mate, ask for the membership dept, and quote the following - "10 memberships please"!

By the way, the 72 79 81 part of the membership number are the years of 3 of ouor flags pal. Wonder what numbers the Saints use?

JeffDunne
9 Jul 2008, 10:30
If we are crap this year JD, and we are 2% behind you on the ladder, and may be in front of you come 10:00 on Friday night, seems as though the mighty Saints are in the same boat!
See post #11

1300 72 79 81 is the number you need to call mate, ask for the membership dept, and quote the following - "10 memberships please"!
Why would I do that? :confused:

Big Bad Sammus
9 Jul 2008, 10:36
if We Are Crap This Year Jd, And We Are 2% Behind You On The Ladder, And May Be In Front Of You Come 10:00 On Friday Night, Seems As Though The Mighty Saints Are In The Same Boat!

1300 72 79 81 Is The Number You Need To Call Mate, Ask For The Membership Dept, And Quote The Following - "10 Memberships Please"!

by The Way, The 72 79 81 Part Of The Membership Number Are The Years Of 3 Of Ouor Flags Pal. Wonder What Numbers The Saints Use?

Lol

1300 ............ 1!

JeffDunne
9 Jul 2008, 10:38
Lol

1300 ............ 1!

Oh dear. :o

Not a bright one are you?

Bay Pie
9 Jul 2008, 10:51

What a shock to see you quote this? Living in the distant past much:confused:

I'm not going to continue on along this line, this is a Saints v carlton game day thread. Discussion is meant to be along those lines.

For me, I'd take whats happened over the last 7 years rather then results that happened during the world wars.

Fact is, Saints have the 4th longest winning streak against carlton in history at this present time.

There's no time like the present.

Big Bad Sammus
9 Jul 2008, 10:53
Oh dear. :o

Not a bright one are you?

Well sounds funnier than 1300 66! knob.

SaintsPremiers08
9 Jul 2008, 12:26

ahhh you Carlscum fans are funny....

how many have u won against us this decade?

stop livin in the past..

Thrawn
9 Jul 2008, 21:19
stop livin in the past..

Says the person who is using the last 10 games as some sort of guide to current form. :rolleyes:

Thrawn
9 Jul 2008, 21:23
Fact is, Saints have the 4th longest winning streak against carlton in history at this present time.

There's no time like the present.

And at the present time they are sitting 8th and we are sitting 9th, a win here is vital for both team's finals chances. What happened when were shitter has no bearing on this game whatsoever. As far as I'm concerned the teams are pretty evenly matched at this point of time.

So if you're going to use the "present" argument on me, at least actually use the present.

HBF
9 Jul 2008, 21:31
ahhh you Carlscum fans are funny....

how many have u won against us this decade?

stop livin in the past..

All that matters is this Friday night. Easily our best chance to beat you for a very long time.

SaintsPremiers08
9 Jul 2008, 21:32
Says the person who is using the last 10 games as some sort of guide to current form. :rolleyes:

Where have I said anything about the last 10 games u hero?

Bay Pie
9 Jul 2008, 22:01
And at the present time they are sitting 8th and we are sitting 9th, a win here is vital for both team's finals chances. What happened when were shitter has no bearing on this game whatsoever. As far as I'm concerned the teams are pretty evenly matched at this point of time.

So if you're going to use the "present" argument on me, at least actually use the present.

Presently your losing streak to St.Kilda is 10 games. Better?

Look2Me4Guidance
9 Jul 2008, 22:03
All that matters is this Friday night. Easily our best chance to beat you for a very long time.

That's what you all said when we played in Round 2.

Blueinblood
9 Jul 2008, 22:47
well we creamed you in the first qaurter.............

TheTrav
9 Jul 2008, 23:01

:eek: who won the game???? no use winning first quarters if you don't win the game is there.

Blueinblood
9 Jul 2008, 23:10
the numerous amounts of full stops indicate that the post was ment as a joke.

TheTrav
9 Jul 2008, 23:39
Yeh I gathered that after replying, just couldn't be bothered to delete my post :P

Should be a good game, closer than most of the previous ones. Still think we will get up though.

bigboyblue
9 Jul 2008, 23:43
I can never, ever be confident going into a game against the Saints. Due to a combination of growing up in country NSW and having parents who were not really interested in sport, i didn't see the Blues in person until 2001 when i moved to Melbourne. My first ever live Carlton game was the Saints game that year (the first one, at PP). Saw the second one too, so a pretty solid start against them. But then.... well you know how it goes.

The last time i plucked up the confidence to say "well, at least they won't smash us this time" was 2006 (i think) at the G. If i recall correctly, Riewoldt took 1.2 billion marks and kicked an equally hyperbolic amount of goals. We kicked four. Total.

I really, really hope we win, but i think the above tells the story of why i fear we won't.

As an aside, after relying on Grandstand radio and TV coverage since i fell in love with the Blues as a little kid, 2001 turned out to be a pretty ordinary time to move to a place were i could go see them - i reckon i'd rival Eddie Betts for the most AFL losses... I've also just realised that i have no reason to be confident against ANY team. Bugger.

ChisBlues
10 Jul 2008, 00:14
I can never, ever be confident going into a game against the Saints. Due to a combination of growing up in country NSW and having parents who were not really interested in sport, i didn't see the Blues in person until 2001 when i moved to Melbourne. My first ever live Carlton game was the Saints game that year (the first one, at PP). Saw the second one too, so a pretty solid start against them. But then.... well you know how it goes.

The last time i plucked up the confidence to say "well, at least they won't smash us this time" was 2006 (i think) at the G. If i recall correctly, Riewoldt took 1.2 billion marks and kicked an equally hyperbolic amount of goals. We kicked four. Total.

I really, really hope we win, but i think the above tells the story of why i fear we won't.

As an aside, after relying on Grandstand radio and TV coverage since i fell in love with the Blues as a little kid, 2001 turned out to be a pretty ordinary time to move to a place were i could go see them - i reckon i'd rival Eddie Betts for the most AFL losses... I've also just realised that i have no reason to be confident against ANY team. Bugger.

There will be a lot of wins in the next few years.

SaintsPremiers08
10 Jul 2008, 01:17

do you know why?

3 out of your 4 goals in the first quarter were from direct free kicks lol...

soon as the umps stopped gifting you goals, we ran over the top of u.

BLUE BLEEDING
10 Jul 2008, 02:03
Come on carlton fans, gotta admit, that is funny.hahahahahahahahaha.:thumbsu:

Saints by 30 points. Maxy does a good job on Fevola. No Fevola no carlton. Give him his 4 years. Fev is/was good mates with Josh Kennedy and Whitnall wasn't he too. Gee, they showed them loyalty. Perhaps that is in the back of Fevs' mind of what might happen in the case of a 3 year deal, come the 4th year.

josh kennedy loved the carlton football club, and we traded him, he did not leave us. whitnall did not leave us, nor never showed un-loyalty towards carlton, he was just fat.

BLUE BLEEDING
10 Jul 2008, 02:06

we made the finals in 2001.

dic head, you need to learn your substitutions

Thrawn
10 Jul 2008, 02:13

dic head, you need to learn your substitutions

Oh my. :o

BLUE BLEEDING
10 Jul 2008, 02:13

well just sit back and watch for the next couple of years and see carlton climb up the ladder while saints will be on the way down.

carlton and st. kilda are equal in betting atm at $1.85.
isn't that sad for you saints?

your grand final window has passed. sorry,

SaintsPremiers08
10 Jul 2008, 02:26
well just sit back and watch for the next couple of years and see carlton climb up the ladder while saints will be on the way down.

carlton and st. kilda are equal in betting atm at $1.85.
isn't that sad for you saints?

your grand final window has passed. sorry,

no not really...easy money for the punters :thumbsu:

JeffDunne
10 Jul 2008, 11:20
You did.

In fact you should have said "we cheated in 2001 and made finals". That would be more accurate.

And didn't it all come apart quickly after that?

In 2002, you cheated and came last. That's an accomplishment for which Carlton should be truly proud.

Cheating and coming last. That's also year 1.

2003, and four wins with a percentage of 66.72 - that's year 2

2004, 100+ point losses to St Kilda and Melbourne and a dead cat bounce - that would be year 3

2005, four wins and another wooden spoon - that's 4

2006, three wins and yet another wooden spoon. If you count this high, we're up to 5

2007, a massive four wins, a sacked coach and almost another spoon. I know the numbers are scary, but that's 6

And that brings us to 2008 . . . which in my books brings us to a grand total of 7 (and counting!)

Persevering Saint
10 Jul 2008, 11:34
It depends on whether we turn up. There have been heaps of games this year (Port Adelaide being the one that most quickly comes to mind) where we had all the big reasons to win, we had the team, we had the this-that-and-the-other, but we still came out and played unmitigated crap. I am really, really hoping the players actually have a go - and if they do, I think we'll win really well. But they could just as easily OD on "defensive-pills" again.

JeffDunne
10 Jul 2008, 11:37
No doubt PS.

We're not playing well enough to be confindent going into any game.

lazy
10 Jul 2008, 12:11
No doubt PS.

We're not playing well enough to be confindent going into any game.

JD, you are gonna get hammered by these Carltank trolls if your beloved Aints dont get up...

Bay Pie
10 Jul 2008, 12:56
josh kennedy loved the carlton football club, and we traded him, he did not leave us. whitnall did not leave us, nor never showed un-loyalty towards carlton, he was just fat.

I think you misread my post. The players showed carlton loyalty, carlton did not return the favour, hence Fevola may think he'll get shafted at some point if he doesn't sign a contract sufficient to take him close to the end of his career. This is his last chance with bargaining power.

If Fevola can be held to 3 to 4 goals, Saints will win. If he kicks 5 to 8 carlton have a chance.

deadoralive
10 Jul 2008, 13:02
hopefully i can get a mature response on this.

i hope carlton win and i think we have the capability to do so. but we won't if we can't stop lenny hayes who tore fremantle a new butt hole with a first quarter that was unbelievable.

however, carlton are a different team from the first three rounds. better pressure and i hope they continue this. should be an interesting game, will be there. go blues.:thumbsu::)

Look2Me4Guidance
10 Jul 2008, 13:11
No doubt Carlton playing at the G are a better side than at the Telstra Dome. I think it will be hard fought game. Max Hudghton has always played well on Fevola and if he could hold him to 4 or less that will be a big step for us. I think the added space of the MCG will help Riewoldt and Kosi. I know that Waite has done well on Riewoldt, but the added space will let Rooey get free easier. The midfield is where it will be won and lost. I'm hoping Michael Gardiner will be an inclusion as with he and King, I feel the Saints will have a ruck advantage. Lenny Hayes will be a welcome addition as will Judd for the Blues. The weather may also be an interesting point as I think the bigger, tougher bodies of the Saints will be better suited here. All in all a close fought contest, but I think the Saints to just get away to win by 5 goals. Should be a bumper crowd.

BLUE BLEEDING
10 Jul 2008, 19:31
I think you misread my post. The players showed carlton loyalty, carlton did not return the favour, hence Fevola may think he'll get shafted at some point if he doesn't sign a contract sufficient to take him close to the end of his career. This is his last chance with bargaining power.

If Fevola can be held to 3 to 4 goals, Saints will win. If he kicks 5 to 8 carlton have a chance.

well sorry,
for kennedy you are right, we did not return the loyalty.
but whitnall had it coming, he did not push hard enough to lose the weight and was lazy.

BUT AS FOR FEVOLA,
he will not think his been ''shafted'' .
if anything he has shafted us. with his bad behaviour and so forth.
we have been more than loyal to him, and most will agree.

BLUE BLEEDING
10 Jul 2008, 19:37
You did.

In fact you should have said "we cheated in 2001 and made finals". That would be more accurate.

In 2002, you cheated and came last. That's an accomplishment for which Carlton should be truly proud.

2004, 100+ point losses to St Kilda and Melbourne and a dead cat bounce - that would be year 3

2006, three wins and yet another wooden spoon. If you count this high, we're up to 5

2007, a massive four wins, a sacked coach and almost another spoon. I know the numbers are scary, but that's 6

And that brings us to 2008 . . . which in my books brings us to a grand total of 7 (and counting!)

WHAT?
years we were crap=
2002,2003,2004,2005,2006,2007. that is six buddy.

i dont know where you got the extra year from, it is either

2001, we made the finals. we were not crap.
OR
and if you are counting 2008 as another bad season, you are dum.
the season has not even finished yet, and with 8 games to go, anything can happen.
also we are not crap in 2008 because we are right in the mix for the eight (like you)

so which one is it? 2001 or 2008 that you count as a crap season?
IT IS 6 NOT 7

and for ''and counting'', your kidding yourself.
i'll talk to you in 2010.

JeffDunne
10 Jul 2008, 20:45
:D

You guys crack me up. :thumbsu:

BLUE BLEEDING
10 Jul 2008, 21:06
:D

You guys crack me up. :thumbsu:

explain how 2008 is a bad season for us, please

your explanation will be cracking me up.

parrot
10 Jul 2008, 21:11
And that brings us to 2008 . . . which in my books brings us to a grand total of....

...26 Spoons. That defines the StKilda football club. And lets be honest here - spoon number 27 is a lot closer than flag number 2 isn't it. lol The Saints got massive AFL draft handouts, and repeated financial bailouts, and still managed to stuff it all up somehow. Now they're located somewhere between Moorabbin and Frankston is search of a council that will give them the poker machine licenses they need to survive. Meanwhile ex-coach and ex-president slug it out in court. What a disaster. So back to the game. The Saints have a remnant list with a lot of top-ups and a bit light on for midfield talent depth, and an ultraflooding Swans coach at the helm. By contrast the Blues have a talented, although inexperienced young list, still playing very inconsistent footy, but managing to string a few wins together and have a very bright future. Predicting a close game, with the Blues winning by about 45 points. :)

Big Bad Sammus
10 Jul 2008, 21:20
...26 Spoons. That defines the StKilda football club. And lets be honest here - spoon number 27 is a lot closer than flag number 2 isn't it. lol The Saints got massive AFL draft handouts, and repeated financial bailouts, and still managed to stuff it all up somehow. Now they're located somewhere between Moorabbin and Frankston is search of a council that will give them the poker machine licenses they need to survive. Meanwhile ex-coach and ex-president slug it out in court. What a disaster. So back to the game. The Saints have a remnant list with a lot of top-ups and a bit light on for midfield talent depth, and an ultraflooding Swans coach at the helm. By contrast the Blues have a talented, although inexperienced young list, still playing very inconsistent footy, but managing to string a few wins together and have a very bright future. Predicting a close game, with the Blues winning by about 45 points. :)

LMFAO - I love it Parrot!

St Specky
10 Jul 2008, 22:03
well we creamed you in the first qaurter.............We creamed the Bulldogs in the first quarter. We were ahead of Geelong (4.7, poor conversion rate) at quarter time. It means s--- all.

Blueinblood
10 Jul 2008, 22:08
For the 2nd time. IT WAS A JOKE

mediumsizered
10 Jul 2008, 22:23
WHAT?
years we were crap=
2002,2003,2004,2005,2006,2007. that is six buddy.

i dont know where you got the extra year from, it is either

2001, we made the finals. we were not crap.
OR
the season has not even finished yet, and with 8 games to go, anything can happen.
also we are not crap in 2008 because we are right in the mix for the eight (like you)

so which one is it? 2001 or 2008 that you count as a crap season?
IT IS 6 NOT 7

and for ''and counting'', your kidding yourself.
i'll talk to you in 2010.

I wouldn't be counting 2004 as a crap year. 10 wins, including beating 4 of the top 8 sides, with wins over Geelong by 9 goals & the Eagles by 8 goals, translates to a below average year. IMO, a bottom 4 finish equals a crap year, 9-12 on the ladder = a below average year, 5-8 = an average year, top 4 equals an above average year, with a premiership = to a sensational year.

BLUE BLEEDING
10 Jul 2008, 22:27
I wouldn't be counting 2004 as a crap year. 10 wins, including beating 4 of the top 8 sides, with wins over Geelong by 9 goals & the Eagles by 8 goals, translates to a below average year. IMO, a bottom 4 finish equals a crap year, 9-12 on the ladder = a below average year, 5-8 = an average year, top 4 equals an above average year, with a premiership = to a sensational year.

yes, i know.
i realised that after i posted.
good statistics on that year,

i dont know how we were good in 2004, in between years where we went horrible. it might not be the smartest idea, we could have picked up franklin (instead of russell)

JeffDunne
11 Jul 2008, 00:18
If you get beaten twice in a season by over 100 points you are a crap team. Pinching a few wins doesn’t change that fact.

You know you follow a crap team when you embrace that sort of mediocrity - even more pathetic is a supporter lamenting that sort of 'performance'. :rolleyes:

Blueinblood
11 Jul 2008, 00:22
Crap team = 1 premiership

parrot
11 Jul 2008, 00:31
....You know you follow a crap team when you embrace that sort of mediocrity -...

You mean like 26-spoon-1-flag mediocrity? :)

Barry Zuckercorn QC
11 Jul 2008, 01:06
Would love to see the Blues get up but one gets the impression that the best list in the history of sport is about to enter overdrive on its tilt for flag number two (2).

Saints by 48.

Riewoldt to take 16 marks (including 14 on the wing).
Hudghton to keep Fev to 4 and have a teary.
Ball to get 30 touches despite nobody at the ground seeing him.
DalSanto to gather 20 kicks (2 of them to travel over 25m).
Kosi to get cleaned up high fiving Steven Milne.
Milne and Montagna to have a huge Friday night (after the game).

SaintsPremiers08
11 Jul 2008, 01:23
Would love to see the Blues get up but one gets the impression that the best list in the history of sport is about to enter overdrive on its tilt for flag number two (2).

Saints by 48.

is that supposed to be funny? or......

Barry Zuckercorn QC
11 Jul 2008, 01:26
is that supposed to be funny? or......

Well it's not as funny as your user name, but yeah, I see where you're coming from.

SaintsPremiers08
11 Jul 2008, 01:33
Well it's not as funny as your user name, but yeah, I see where you're coming from.

bit rough, coming from u :o

Barry Zuckercorn QC
11 Jul 2008, 01:37
bit rough, coming from u :o

Maybe. Lets just agree that both our user names are fictional :)

j-ham
11 Jul 2008, 01:50
Maybe he means the St Kilda City Saints Barry? :o

Wiggo4PM
11 Jul 2008, 02:29

Saints by 48.

haha gold :thumbsu: go Aints Wwwwwwwwwwooooooooooooooooooo hh

We only need to win the next 112 in a row for the percentage to drop below 50. Piece of cake. Will bring this thread up again in 56 years, give or take. + 15 more cups

See ya

ChisBlues
11 Jul 2008, 10:15
You did.

Hey Jeff,
Thanks for the history lesson. I do find it funny when supporters like to point to a small part of history like 2002-2007 & conveniently forget the full 110 years of the VFL/AFL.
History is quite important so here's a little bit more history for you to digest. Enjoy..... I know you will enjoy it as you seem to a bit of a history student.
Please note that WS means Wodden Spoon, you have a lot, we have few.
Premiers means a fairly good year. We have a lot, you have few.
F means made finals, We have plenty, you have a few

StKilda
1 1897 8th WS
2 1898 8th WS
3 1899 8th WS
4 1900 8th WS
5 1901 8th WS
6 1902 7th WS
7 1903 5th
8 1904 8th WS
9 1905 5th WS
10 1906 6th
11 1907 4th
12 1908 3rd F
13 1909 10th WS
14 1910 10th WS
15 1911 9th
16 1912 8th
17 1913 2nd F Runner-Up
18 1914 7th
19 1915 7th
20 1918 4th F
21 1919 7th
22 1920 9th WS
23 1921 8th
24 1922 7th
25 1923 6th
26 1924 9th WS
27 1925 6th
28 1926 9th
29 1927 7th
30 1928 6th
31 1929 4th F
32 1930 8th
33 1931 9th
34 1932 11th
35 1933 9th
36 1934 7th
37 1935 5th
38 1936 7th
39 1937 6th
40 1938 8th
41 1939 3rd F
42 1940 11th
43 1941 11th
44 1942 7th
45 1943 WS
46 1944 9th
47 1945 12th WS
48 1946 11th
49 1947 12th WS
50 1948 12th WS
51 1949 11th
52 1950 9th
53 1951 10th
54 1952 12th WS
55 1953 9th
56 1954 12th WS
57 1955 12th WS
58 1956 11th
59 1957 9th
60 1958 8th
61 1959 8th
62 1960 6th
63 1961 4th F
64 1962 6th
65 1963 4th F
66 1964 6th
67 1965 F Runner-Up
68 1966 1st F PREMIERS
69 1967 5th
70 1968 4th F
71 1969 7th
72 1970 3rd F
73 1971 2nd F Runner-Up
74 1972 3rd F
75 1973 4th F
76 1974 10th
77 1975 6th
78 1976 9th
79 1977 12th WS
80 1978 6th
81 1979 12th WS
82 1980 11th
83 1981 10th
84 1982 11th
85 1983 12th WS
86 1984 12th WS
87 1985 12th WS
88 1986 12th WS
89 1987 10th
90 1988 14th WS
91 1989 12th
92 1990 9th
93 1991 5th F
94 1992 4th F
95 1993 12th
96 1994 13th
97 1995 14th
98 1996 10th
99 1997 2nd F Runner-Up
100 1998 6th F
101 1999 10th
102 2000 16th WS
103 2001 15th
104 2002 15th
105 2003 11th
106 2004 3rd F
107 2005 3rd F
108 2006 8th F
109 2007 9th

CARLTON
1 1897 7th
2 1898 7th
3 1899 6th
4 1900 6th
5 1901 7th
6 1902 6th
7 1903 3rd F
8 1904 2nd F Runner-Up
9 1905 3rd F
10 1906 1st F PREMIERS
11 1907 1st F PREMIERS
12 1908 1st F PREMIERS
13 1909 2nd F Runner-Up
14 1910 2nd F Runner-Up
15 1911 4th F
16 1912 3rd F
17 1913 6th
18 1914 1st F PREMIERS
19 1915 1st F PREMIERS
20 1916 2nd F Runner-Up
21 1917 3rd F
22 1918 3rd F
23 1919 4th F
24 1920 3rd F
25 1921 2nd F Runner-Up
26 1922 4th F
27 1923 7th
28 1924 7th
29 1925 9th
30 1926 6th
31 1927 4th F
32 1928 4th F
33 1929 3rd F
34 1930 4th F
35 1931 3rd F
36 1932 2nd F Runner-Up
37 1933 4th F
38 1934 5th
39 1935 4th F
40 1936 4th F
41 1937 5th
42 1938 1st F PREMIERS
43 1939 5th
44 1940 5th
45 1941 3rd F
46 1942 5th
47 1943 4th F
48 1944 5th
49 1945 1st F PREMIERS
50 1946 6th
51 1947 1st F PREMIERS
52 1948 6th
53 1949 2nd F Runner-Up
54 1950 8th
55 1951 7th
56 1952 4th F
57 1953 5th
58 1954 8th
59 1955 7th
60 1956 5th
61 1957 4th F
62 1958 7th
63 1959 3rd F
64 1960 7th
65 1961 8th
66 1962 2nd F Runner-Up
67 1963 6th
68 1964 10th
69 1965 6th
70 1966 6th
71 1967 3rd F
72 1968 1st F PREMIERS
73 1969 2nd F Runner-Up
74 1970 1st F PREMIERS
75 1971 5th
76 1972 1st F PREMIERS
77 1973 2nd F Runner-Up
78 1974 7th
79 1975 4th F
80 1976 3rd F
81 1977 6th
82 1978 4th F
83 1979 1st F PREMIERS
84 1980 4th F
85 1981 1st F PREMIERS
86 1982 1st F PREMIERS
87 1983 5th F
88 1984 4th F
89 1985 5th F
90 1986 2nd F Runner-Up
91 1987 1st F PREMIERS
92 1988 3rd F
93 1989 8th
94 1990 8th
95 1991 11th
96 1992 7th
97 1993 2nd F Runner-Up
98 1994 5th F
99 1995 1st F PREMIERS
100 1996 6th F
101 1997 11th
102 1998 11th
103 1999 2nd F Runner-Up
104 2000 3rd F
105 2001 6th F
106 2002 16th WS
107 2003 15th
108 2004 11th
109 2005 16th WS
110 2006 16th WS
111 2007 15th

JeffDunne
11 Jul 2008, 10:58
. . . conveniently forget the full 110 years of the VFL/AFL.

Huh?

Just because I didn't pick a team to follow based on results from decades ago (let alone centuries) doesn't mean I'm not aware of the results back then.

I'm still spitting chips over that 1899 spoon. That one hurt. :o

skipper kelly
11 Jul 2008, 11:10
Feels like a GF for these 2 teams.

JeffDunne
11 Jul 2008, 11:16

Be fair Skip.

For Calton supporters it's probably the first time in 7 years they have actually WANTED to win this late into the season.

skipper kelly
11 Jul 2008, 11:20
Be fair Skip.

For Calton supporters it's probably the first time in 7 years they have actually WANTED to win this late into the season.

It does have this strange aura about it. You get used to sides just playing out the season and now they have a slight sniff. Its weird.

JeffDunne
11 Jul 2008, 11:23
You won't have to worry about that feeling much longer Skip.

Even if the Blues get over us tonight they'll probably struggle to win another game for the rest of the year.

I imagine in 2 or 3 weeks they'll be cheering losses again.

ChisBlues
11 Jul 2008, 11:31

GF is a bit beyond these teams this year. Just the sniff of finals.
One team needs finals for thier credibility & to not be seen as under achievers. The other team have been rubbish & are deperate to be a finals team.
Should be a good game & pretty hard to pick a result. I can't see it being any more than 4 to six goals at the end.

ChisBlues
11 Jul 2008, 11:33

Even if the Blues get over us tonight they'll probably struggle to win another game for the rest of the year.

Cheering losses is a stupid statement.
Not winning too many more is probably accurrate. i think carlton will only win two or three more this year & miss the finals but they are playing good footy thank god.
2002 to 2007 have been horrible.

Bosun
11 Jul 2008, 12:16
Read this in The Age this morning

"A great recent record, that is. Overall, the record stands at 156 wins for the Blues, 45 for the Saints, and two draws. That means that if St Kilda beat Carlton twice every year from 2008, it would take until 2063 for the ledger to be squared."

I actually didnt realise the win/loss record was that big, that has got to hurt.

SaintsPremiers08
11 Jul 2008, 12:18
Read this in The Age this morning

"A great recent record, that is. Overall, the record stands at 156 wins for the Blues, 45 for the Saints, and two draws. That means that if St Kilda beat Carlton twice every year from 2008, it would take until 2063 for the ledger to be squared."

I actually didnt realise the win/loss record was that big, that has got to hurt.

no it doesn't actually, because Carlscum supporters are the only ones that care what happened in the past :o

Bosun
11 Jul 2008, 12:42
no it doesn't actually, because Carlscum supporters are the only ones that care what happened in the past :o

Well true because our past is something to be proud of:D

Blueinblood
11 Jul 2008, 13:02
1 premiership..heheheheheh

Thrawn
11 Jul 2008, 13:23

So I suppose you don't care about your one premiership?

Very well then.

You're treating it like caring about the past is a bad thing. :confused:

Embers
11 Jul 2008, 14:28
Carlton should wipe the floor with St Kilda surely.

1. The games at the MCG

2. Judds back

3. Hudghtons been a crab all year. Fev will eat him alive

4. St Kilda still arnt that good

5. Have you seen St Kildas bench :eek:

Look2Me4Guidance
11 Jul 2008, 15:01

1. The games at the MCG

2. Judds back

I suppose just like he did in Round 2????

West Coast bench looks good. I heard that stingray had been brought in for some hardness.

Embers
11 Jul 2008, 15:10

West Coast bench looks good. I heard that stingray had been brought in for some hardness.

We havnt even named a bench yet? It will probably be

WCE: Adam Selwood, Tyson Stenglein, Ben McKinley, Will Schofield

Saints: Gwilt Blake Allen Milne

Selwood > Milne
Stenglein > Blake
McKinley > Allen
Schofield > Gwilt

FevolasFox
11 Jul 2008, 15:17
I'm still spitting chips over that 1899 spoon. That one hurt. :o

HAHAHAHA, oh dear, that made me laugh out loud.

SaintsPremiers08
11 Jul 2008, 15:24

1. The games at the MCG

2. Judds back

are you really that stupid?

Pretty sure Maxy is the only one to keep Lloyd goal-less in I don't know how many years.

Schofield > Milne ? HAHAHAHA

Selwood > Milne? HAHAHAHA

parrot
11 Jul 2008, 15:32
We havnt even named a bench yet? It will probably be

WCE: Adam Selwood, Tyson Stenglein, Ben McKinley, Will Schofield

Saints: Gwilt Blake Allen Milne

Selwood > Milne
Stenglein > Blake
McKinley > Allen
Milne < Schofield

Weagles: 2 wins, 12 loses 66.5%. :)

Blueinblood
11 Jul 2008, 15:41
U listed Minlne twice downer.
That wont be ur starting bemch. Thats like ur best players. Certainly Selwood and Stenglein will start onthe field.
Saints > Eagles
Infact
Casey Scorpions would beat Eagles

Embers
11 Jul 2008, 15:44
U listed Minlne twice downer.
That wont be ur starting bemch. Thats like ur best players. Certainly Selwood and Stenglein will start onthe field.
Saints > Eagles
Infact
Casey Scorpions would beat Eagles

St Kildas starting 18 is VERY good and would cream Eagles but their lack of depth is mind boggling. McQualter on a wing. Why they persist with Jones is beyond me. The guy is barely good enough for WAFL never mind AFL.

Saints are lucky they have stars like Ball Hayes Riewoldt that dont expose their lack of depth as much

240volt
11 Jul 2008, 16:05
My 20 bucks is on the blues for over 39.5, at 8 bucks it's a chance if Fev is on his game.

BlueDW
11 Jul 2008, 16:10

Hudgton is out from reports!

Hodgepodge
11 Jul 2008, 16:13

this is your longest losing streak against a single team since 1897 . . . penicillin wasn't invented yet . . . i think that qualifies as some sort of ownership.

BlueDW
11 Jul 2008, 16:13

Hmmm, you are a dill JD. 1300 72 79 81, have it in your speed dial mate! Not that I expect that you are a man of your word!

siamang
11 Jul 2008, 18:31
Your season ends tonight filthy tanking carlscum.:D

Shame Juddy the messiah couldn't propel you into top 4 like you were all proclaiming.

Smokey_22
11 Jul 2008, 18:43
Does anyone know what time this game will be on fox sports?

I swear it said live at 730...

patto_man
11 Jul 2008, 18:46
mark murphy's 50th good luck to him great player carn the blue's

Scruff83
11 Jul 2008, 18:57
Your season ends tonight filthy tanking carlscum.:D

Shame Juddy the messiah couldn't propel you into top 4 like you were all proclaiming.

Anyone who thought Judd was gonna put us in the top 4 this year is an idiot. In 2 or 3 years time tho... :thumbsu:

lynchy23
11 Jul 2008, 19:20
Any late outs? rumours?

saints by 32

Bartram_Class
11 Jul 2008, 20:08
Blues for me.

Give us a free-flowing game of football please Mr. Lyon

TheTrav
11 Jul 2008, 20:09
Blues for me.

Give us a free-flowing game of football please Mr. Lyon

You aren't the only one hoping for that, we play better that way anyway.

PendlePie
11 Jul 2008, 20:20
Blues by 20. Hope the Saints win though.