View Full Version : Fremantle Draft Policy 2008

Pages : [1] 2

Tundrawolf
8 Jul 2008, 20:29
Our draft policy IMO should be something like this:

1. Pick Natanui if available, plenty to like about him. As mentioned by other I see him developing into a Goodes/Franklin type player.
2. If not pick Rich if available. He can kick it 60 metres off a step and can make an impact straight away. Would be a dream come true to have Palmer and Rich for the next 10 years. I had Rich no. 1 pick at the start of the year but having seen the impact Natanui has had recently I've pushed him back to 2.
3. Assuming both are gone and we have pick 3 then we should look at Yarran, Hurley and Hartlett in that order. Yarran at 180cm and 84kgs can play AFL next year as a FP but is strong and quick enough to have short bursts in the centre of the ground. He could easily average a goal and a half a game in his first season, I really believe he is that good.
Hurley at 192cm and 92kgs is also a ready made player. Strong, calm and cool under pressure he should get some game time next year. He would give us that extra big body in defence that we need. Harlett at 182cm and only 74kgs would give us that immediate midfielder we crave if Rich is unavailable. Would get some game time but probably not as much as Rich.

Other players have been mentioned as being high picks but going according to the needs of our club and the fact I think these 5 guys are amongst the best 7 players in the draft I have chosen them as the best available.

Chops_a_must
8 Jul 2008, 20:39
A lot of the drafting is going to be dictated by how many relatively early picks we manage to get.

You would imagine if we didn't have many, Hartlett might be overlooked, and vice versa, as we are going to need 2-3 players from the draft to be ready to play next year.

Any you rate as highly as Hartlett this year Tundra that are ready to roll?

shiny_on_top
8 Jul 2008, 20:45
ATM in my mock draft, I have us getting a couple of ready made players. I have us getting Rich, Swift/Robinson(who i believe will continue to climb into the 1st round) and Jetta provided we get a Priority pick
May sound unlikely but i actually think this could happen:thumbsu:

Tundrawolf
8 Jul 2008, 20:47
A Rich/Swift combo would be sensational.

curry23
8 Jul 2008, 20:50
ATM in my mock draft, I have us getting a couple of ready made players. I have us getting Rich, Swift/Robinson(who i believe will continue to climb into the 1st round) and Jetta provided we get a Priority pick
I dont think that is very unlikely

shiny_on_top
8 Jul 2008, 20:50
A Rich/Swift combo would be sensational.
That is exactly what i reckon to go with Palmer. This could be a sensational middle for the next 10 years:D

MadMac
8 Jul 2008, 20:55
I've been on Yarran bandwagon for a while now. This bloke can play and is seriously good. As part midfielder, part forward he'd be very good for us.

Tundrawolf
8 Jul 2008, 21:33
Others who should be looked at after our first pick should be Neville Jetta 178cm 75kgs, Michael Walters 177cm 75kgs, Stephen Hill 182cm 72kgs, Clinton Garlett 175cm 72kgs and Keiran King 181cm 81kgs.

King has a big tank and can run all day, surprised he was ommitted from the final squad. Dominated at U16s last year while kicking plenty of goals.

The other 4 are very similar players, quick with great skills. If I had to choose in order I guess I'd go Walters, Hill, Jetta and then Garlett as a late pick.

Tom Swift at 190cm 84kgs will be an interesting one. He hasn't played alot of footy in the last 18 months but dominated at U16s level. I dont think his injuries will put any club off but would love to see him drafted by us if he was available at either pick 19 or 22, unlikely though. Great size for a midfielder.

I'd look closely at Dylan Bairstow later in the draft or maybe as a rookie. Last year at 16 was playing for the Upper Great Southern combined senior team in the WA Country Carnival. A good centre half forward. 193cm and 90kgs makes him a good size to develop into a KPP. Was in the initial WA squad.

That's of course just the WA boys. There are even more talented kids from the other states that I dont know much about. Vic Country's Jack Ziebell 188cm 84kgs is the other midfielder I hope we look at.

FREO81
8 Jul 2008, 21:45
Any player listed in the above post's is ideal but somewhere in this year's draft doesnt matter what round and if available i think Freo should draft H.Ballentyne from Peel. Just give us a nice handy replacement when Farmer decides to go.

wizard_9
8 Jul 2008, 21:46
I dont care if Yarran is a WA boy he should not be picked ahead of Hamish Hartlett. Hamish is the second best midfielder in this draft without any doubt whatsoever. If we miss Rich and Naitnui then we need to take Hartlett.

shiny_on_top
8 Jul 2008, 21:56
I dont care if Yarran is a WA boy he should not be picked ahead of Hamish Hartlett. Hamish is the second best midfielder in this draft without any doubt whatsoever. If we miss Rich and Naitnui then we need to take Hartlett.
100% agree with that. The kid will be a superstar:D

Ripper
8 Jul 2008, 22:05
Exciting times ahead.

We will add a No 1 pick , a No 2 pick and at best a No 2 pick and at worst a number 5 pick to our 2008 squad. :thumbsu:

shiny_on_top
8 Jul 2008, 22:09
Exciting times ahead.

We will add a No 1 pick , a No 2 pick and at best a No 2 pick and at worst a number 5 pick to our 2008 squad. :thumbsu:
I'm struggling following that???

shiny_on_top
8 Jul 2008, 22:11
What does this look like at the moment
1, MEL Watts
2, WCE Naitanui
3, FRE Rich
4, PTA Hurley
5, ESS Hartlett
6, RIC McKernan
7, NTH Trengrove
8, CAR Yarran
9, STK Ziebell
10, ADL Sidebottom
11, BRI Corneluis
12, COL Suban
13, SYD Heyne
14, HAW Lynch
15, WB Cordy
16 GEE De Boer
17 MEL Zaharakis
18, WCE Hill
19, FRE Swift
20, MEL Robinson
21, WCE Walters
22, FRE Jetta
23, PTA Cahill
24, ESS Lisle

dockshark
8 Jul 2008, 22:14
IMHO we need to do whatever it takes to keep warnock and then take the best available midfielder in the draft, hopefully if we don't finish bottom then Natnui will go number one leaving us with the first choice midfielder

raffrox
8 Jul 2008, 22:18

You need to be crap for two years straight to get a priority pick these days. We won't get one this year.

Chops_a_must
8 Jul 2008, 22:20
Any player listed in the above post's is ideal but somewhere in this year's draft doesnt matter what round and if available i think Freo should draft H.Ballentyne from Peel. Just give us a nice handy replacement when Farmer decides to go.
No way.

If he is still there at the end, perhaps.

But the fact still remains, he can't beat a decent opponent. Nuff said. :cool:

Chops_a_must
8 Jul 2008, 22:20
You need to be crap for two years straight to get a priority pick these days. We won't get one this year.
2nd round PP.

shiny_on_top
8 Jul 2008, 22:21
A second round priority pick;)

Memories
8 Jul 2008, 22:56
The first 3 picks of ours should all be midfielders, over 180cm tall. Unless for some reason there is some "next Pavlich" KPP to be picked after our first 2. Natanui over rich/hartlett? Not for us.

In our later picks we should be looking at around 190ish midfielders who can also play forward and be able to take overhead marks - similar to Mayne. The priority is FAST, TALL MIDFIELDERS, if they can't play forward we will teach them. None of this "making a forward a midfielder" crap.

As the bulldogs have shown, you don't need that many talls in a side to win games, we already have plenty and don't need any KPPs for a few years. This draft for us is 90% about the middle and the 10% is just in case there is some gun the other clubs overlook.

Nodgey
8 Jul 2008, 23:39
I hope an exciting talented Victorian or South Australian doesn't get overlooked with all this hype surrounding Naitainui and Rich.

We must select the best available talent on offer. If it's Rich or Naita, great. If it's Watts or Hartlett, then we must select that player.

I agree that our first couple of picks should generally be mids, whilst looking toward the lower picks to bolster the KPPs. Of course, there are exceptions to every rule...

My question is: Is Naitainui really as good as everyone says he is? I admit I haven't really seen him play, but I know we've been burnt before on "athletes who play football" (Croad, Clive) instead of "footballers" (such as Hase or Brad Johnson.) Is he really up to it?

I view footy nous and skill as better attributes than beep tests and vertical leap. Or am I simply old fashioned?

Lach72
8 Jul 2008, 23:44
Zebeil is worth a serious look

Bluto
9 Jul 2008, 01:21
I hope an exciting talented Victorian or South Australian doesn't get overlooked with all this hype surrounding Naitainui and Rich.

We must select the best available talent on offer. If it's Rich or Naita, great. If it's Watts or Hartlett, then we must select that player.

I agree that our first couple of picks should generally be mids, whilst looking toward the lower picks to bolster the KPPs. Of course, there are exceptions to every rule...

My question is: Is Naitainui really as good as everyone says he is? I admit I haven't really seen him play, but I know we've been burnt before on "athletes who play football" (Croad, Clive) instead of "footballers" (such as Hase or Brad Johnson.) Is he really up to it?

I view footy nous and skill as better attributes than beep tests and vertical leap. Or am I simply old fashioned?

Having seen him play, Naita has a massive amount of upside, and is currently pretty bloody good. Initially he will struggle to rack up the easy, loose touches that are currently valued in a ruckman. But he is very good inside, and if he doesn't get the ball he will make sure those who do are under a lot of pressure.

I think that we could pick up some natural footballers at picks 18 & 20 (if we get them) e.g. Swift, Hill, Walters, Jetta. Shoot for the stars with up top pick.

Bluto
9 Jul 2008, 01:26

If we pick him before the rookie draft I will be very disappointed. There are going to be other small forwards left in the rookie draft if he is taken.

DOCKER MAN
9 Jul 2008, 01:32
Personally i think we should draft Rich over Naitainui (assuming Warnock stays at Freo), as our Ruck combination is dominant anyway and has a long time left to play together. This hasn't translated to clearances due to a very average midfield, so we should fill this problem first.

Anyway IMO freo should draft 2 midfielders with their first 2 picks then a fullback then a ruckman.

rgauci
9 Jul 2008, 01:36
Exciting times ahead.

Des Headland, Paul Hasleby and hopefully Daniel Rich. :thumbsu:

Postman_Pav
9 Jul 2008, 02:03
Zebeil is worth a serious look

Yep, nice and slow. Perfect for Freo.

shiny_on_top
9 Jul 2008, 08:20
Des Headland, Paul Hasleby and hopefully Daniel Rich. :thumbsu:
Yep didn't think about it that deep. Cheers for that mate:thumbsu:

Black Ball
9 Jul 2008, 10:11

I dont think that Farmer will have much say in that decision.

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 11:32
Hartlett won 3/4 of the clearances or thereabouts in that first term. Very sure hands it looks.

Lach72
9 Jul 2008, 11:45
Yep, nice and slow. Perfect for Freo.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=11596924&postcount=46

Yeah slow...idiot.

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 13:16
Hartlett won 3/4 of the clearances or thereabouts in that first term. Very sure hands it looks.
Very impressed.

Reminds me of a young Haselby. Doesn't rack up huge stats around the ground, but every pack he has his hands on it. Very damaging and good kick, great awareness, reading of the play and vision. Fantastic at keeping his arms free. Seems to be a decent mark, and has fantastic balance. :thumbsu:

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 13:37
Suban and Ziebell not doing much. Although the latter looks to have very good skills.

Sidebottom and Robinson both looking good. If we want a tall mid, Robinson might be the one - don't know where people think he will go however. Sidebottom is quite small though.

Tom Alright... also going alright.

Memories
9 Jul 2008, 13:53
Suban and Ziebell not doing much. Although the latter looks to have very good skills.

Sidebottom and Robinson both looking good. If we want a tall mid, Robinson might be the one - don't know where people think he will go however. Sidebottom is quite small though.

Tom Alright... also going alright.

Keep an eye out for any tallish 185-190 mids that can take a contested mark (means they can go forward)

Now that I think about it, the bulldogs are pretty much doing what I said earlier, they have a lot of midfielders that can play forward, like Johnson, Akermanis, Cooney, Griffin, Murphy. They don't have any decent KPPs though like us, so if we can get the same structure with our current KPPs we could dominate. We need to be able to have a lot of run, for 4 quarters, so you really need some midfielders that can run all day in a variety of positions around the ground that you can switch into the middle when you need the run. They need to be good midfielders that can win clearances, no utility types that are average at everything.

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 14:09
Keep an eye out for any tallish 185-190 mids that can take a contested mark (means they can go forward)

Robinson has been killing them in all facets contested.

Apparently he is likely to be in the second round. Perfect.

I think I'm in love ^_^

Might as well have Sidebottom and Robinson playing dog and bone in the middle. Not too many else worth watching really. Just can't see what the fuss is about Suban, getting a lot of cheap touches.

Sidebottom looks incredibly strong for his size. Some great tackles... but not up there with Hartlett from today's effort.

Bradesmaen
9 Jul 2008, 14:14
so...

Round 1 - Hartlett
Round 2 - Sidebottom, Robinson (Assuming R2 Priority)
Round 3 - ....
Round last - Max Wilson/Matthew Long (NSW Scholarships - Long was injured all season prior to NSW Selection so he didn't get into the team but has been playing good in senior footy in NSW)
etc.

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 14:33
Nah, Sidebottom will go top 10.

But geez, Robinson. Silky skills on both sides.

The words "useless lug" come to mind with big Max. Will be rookied at best. No-one will want him I don't think. Don't know anything about the other one.

Memories
9 Jul 2008, 14:58
If we do go with Robinson, might be worth getting Williams (5) as a very late pick, could be groomed into full back position. They are from same team.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-3385-0-0-0&sID=64617&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5235104&sectionID=64617

193cm tall. looks decent from what I've seen. Thoughts?

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 15:03
If we do go with Robinson, might be worth getting Williams (5) as a very late pick, could be groomed into full back position. They are from same team.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-3385-0-0-0&sID=64617&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5235104&sectionID=64617

193cm tall. looks decent from what I've seen. Thoughts?
Getting killed atm.

People saying Robinson may well win the Larke medal. If he does, would be doubtful to get to the 2nd round. Really don't know how this kid was rated so lowly. :confused:

But all that it means is that some very good talent is going to slip through to the 2nd round, regardless.

shiny_on_top
9 Jul 2008, 15:03
so...

Round 1 - Hartlett
Round 2 - Swift, Robinson (Assuming R2 Priority)
Round 3 - Pearce???
Round last - Max Wilson/Matthew Long (NSW Scholarships - Long was injured all season prior to NSW Selection so he didn't get into the team but has been playing good in senior footy in NSW)
etc.
I would chang sidebottom with Swift as sidebottom will go top 10. Is Pearce is a possibility for 3rd round

Memories
9 Jul 2008, 15:12
Getting killed atm.

People saying Robinson may well win the Larke medal. If he does, would be doubtful to get to the 2nd round. Really don't know how this kid was rated so lowly. :confused:

But all that it means is that some very good talent is going to slip through to the 2nd round, regardless.

Yah but midfield seems to be killing them, and the backs are just too poor for tassie overall. But from what I saw of Williams, had decent disposal, fits the perfect height for a backman (he will grow another cm or 2), has some weight on him.... I didn't see the first half but yeah.

These types of players will typically not get picked up early when they play in such teams that get killed, but he showed some composure. We need to find 8-10 players, though will need to see more of Williams before I'm sold.

Robinson looks a gun with his speed and ability to take them on... doubt he will fall through to the second round... though he may... tassie kids usually get overlooked somewhat and the teams they can put out are rarely competitive. Have we ever had any tassie recruits at Freo?

Bradesmaen
9 Jul 2008, 15:15
He won't win the Larke, its going to a Vic Metro/WA Player like usual.

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 15:16
Brodie Holland is the only one I can think of from Tassie.

Memories
9 Jul 2008, 15:20
Brodie Holland is the only one I can think of from Tassie.

And he went back as soon as he could (to Vic). Would be worthwhile doubling up on tassie picks if we manage to get Robinson just so they don't get so homesick. Who would you take if not Williams from that team? Tom Alright? (3) looked fairly decent, and the guy taking the marks up forward would be ok if he could be converted to a midfielder/back role for us.

Cameron_K
9 Jul 2008, 15:26
God I would be happy if we got Hartlett.

Memories
9 Jul 2008, 15:28

Over Rich? Or would you prefer both.

Cameron_K
9 Jul 2008, 15:29
I would seriously look at Hartlett over Rich. Either way we would be very happy and at this stage will get one or the other.

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 15:32
So would I. He is a complete package.
Who would you take if not Williams from that team? Tom Alright? (3) looked fairly decent, and the guy taking the marks up forward would be ok if he could be converted to a midfielder/back role for us.
Alright looks alright. Corny up forward will be a late 1st round... might even slip. Salter is the one I would like at for a mid range pick if there...

Bradesmaen
9 Jul 2008, 15:42
And we have the greatest SA player still playing (Pav) at our club to help him settle in ;)

Memories
9 Jul 2008, 15:45
Jeez Rich is pretty darn good isn't he. Not only in getting the ball, but he booted it like 60m off one step down back there. 8 disposals to him 3/4 through the first term.

Bluto
9 Jul 2008, 15:50
Gee, that last play by Nat was great. Burned off an opponent at half forward, turned on a dime then fired a 25m leading handball to lucas at 40 out who kicked a goal. It's that type of move that excites me. Unfortunately he also has made some basic footy errors at other times. High risk, high reward type for sure.

Rich looks very good so far (9 first term possies and a running goal), and Yarran.

Memories
9 Jul 2008, 15:54
What is with the way Natanui jogs? When he runs it looks fine, but his jog looks like he is hobbled or something. He could be the next Franklin really, same height, same speed. Only question is his disposal/footy brain - he may not go #1 after what I've seen from Hartlett and Rich. Rich is like a modern and taller Josh Carr.

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 15:55
Jeez Rich is pretty darn good isn't he. Not only in getting the ball, but he booted it like 60m off one step down back there. 8 disposals to him 3/4 through the first term.
There is so much Luke Hodge in him, it isn't funny.

Yarran looks very flashy and highly skilled as usual... but I just can't see why we would pick him ahead of some others there.

That Watts looks great. Some enormous calls this year to be made from the bottom clubs in the draft...

Bluto
9 Jul 2008, 16:02
Yep, Hartlett was brilliant. Watts is sensational and Rich really is a footballer.

Hardest #1 pick to predict since 2001.

And there is no way that Yarran will be top 5.

Also, Jetta is going to be a steal if he slips to the second round.

Cameron_K
9 Jul 2008, 16:05
There is so much Luke Hodge in him, it isn't funny.

Yarran looks very flashy and highly skilled as usual... but I just can't see why we would pick him ahead of some others there.

That Watts looks great. Some enormous calls this year to be made from the bottom clubs in the draft...

I would be disappointed with Yarran at 3 or 4, while I think he will be a very good talent I just don't believe he is what we need that early in the draft and can pick up a player like Jetta in the 2nd or third round.

Cameron_K
9 Jul 2008, 16:07
How good was that by Rich

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 16:14
I don't think I've ever seen someone butcher the ball as much as De Clanger does.

If we draft him, I will slit my wrists.

Will save me from doing it when he actually plays.

Memories
9 Jul 2008, 16:19
I heard Natanui only averages 13 disposals in the WAFL, so it will be interesting. If Melbourne finish below us I hope they select him. Rich has great disposal, nearly every kick is to advantage of his team mate, reminds me of Judd/Hodge in his disposal. There are a lot of good picks in this draft though, we are going to be full of midfield talent soon enough. Good year to have M Carr, Bell and MacManus to retire mid year forcing us to play the kids.

shiny_on_top
9 Jul 2008, 16:24
I don't think I've ever seen someone butcher the ball as much as De Clanger does.

If we draft him, I will slit my wrists.

Will save me from doing it when he actually plays.
That eas a good laugh;)

Tundrawolf
9 Jul 2008, 16:26
Hartlett looks the goods.

Rich having a good game. Hurley looks a good player at FB.

De Boer to me isn't a top 30 player.

So much talent this draft, I hope we make the most of it and try to trade away the players who dont want to be at the club for some reasonable draft picks.

Cameron_K
9 Jul 2008, 16:31
As big as the hype around Nick Nat I would prefer he went before us leaving us the likes of Rich & Hartlett to pick up

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 16:54
De Boer to me isn't a top 30 player.

So much talent this draft, I hope we make the most of it and try to trade away the players who dont want to be at the club for some reasonable draft picks.
There are bad kicks, and then there are bad kicks. You can't even tell where this guy is aiming, or if he does even aim anymore.

You'd hate to see what his toilet floor looks like. At least he'd save water on the flushing.

I would much rather use a speculative pick than one on De Boer. I don't think we should touch him at all. There is nothing to work with. A hell of a lot of guys around that may not be drafted this year, that would be certain 2nd-3rd rounders in previous years.

And De Clanger just ####s up again on cue...

A lot of front runners in this WA team...

dont bowl there
9 Jul 2008, 16:56
As big as the hype around Nick Nat I would prefer he went before us leaving us the likes of Rich & Hartlett to pick up

Any of those 3 would do me however I would have Nick Nat last. He has amazing potential but im not sure he will be worth a top 3 pick in the long run.

Bluto
9 Jul 2008, 17:00

Yeah I lean the same way. The way I see it, if we have pick 3 we will get which ever of those three isnt there, depending if Watts nominates or not. Would prefer us a) not to get the spoon and b) not to have to make the choice at the top of the order.

Who would you go out of Rich and Hartlett though? if the option is on.

Bluto
9 Jul 2008, 17:07
On a side note, how have those watching rated the umpires? Personally, they are a lot less intrusive than we are used to, and generally pretty consistent. Are they u18s as well?

#28 for Vic Metro is pretty good! Nice goal. Blease apparently. I need to turn the commentary on I think.

dont bowl there
9 Jul 2008, 17:08
De Boer was one of the most dissapointing players when I wached the WA v ACT match, I would not be happy if we got him with anything over pick 40. Looks like a lazy un-accountable player with crap skills.

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 17:33
That's being nice DBT. You have to actually have skills before you can call them crap. Got caught on film not bothering to chase. Very poor.

But well, well, well... Everything is really really up in the air now. Could see us now getting Nat or Hartlett with our first pick.

With most of the interest now on the early 2nd round. A heap of talent likely to go in that time which in average years may well be genuine top 10 talent. Likely to be many many sliders. An incredibly hard draft to predict, with really the only certainties to be Hartlett, Rich, Watts and Hurley to be somewhere in the top 5.

Geez... could have between 10-15 players equally likely to go in the very early 2nd round.

Would really want to be impressing if I was on the Freo rookie list, at the end of the year. Because if you don't, you can almost guarantee a line going through your name... A heap of good young talent likely to go via way of PSD and rookie draft.

Bradesmaen
9 Jul 2008, 17:41
Also before when I was talking of Wilson.. Id be happy to use our last pick on him. He might look slow and useless but at the start of the year he was playing Seniors in Sydney and in the best players.. so he's not that crap (but yes i know it is Sydney). Can't hurt putting him on the list... I mean who would you rather.. a young guy who might have it or Mark Johnson.

Bluto
9 Jul 2008, 17:41
Looking at our run home:

Geelong (A): Lose
Melb (H): 50/50
Port (A): Lose
WCE: Win
Sydney (A, obviously): Lose
St Kilda (H): 50/50
Rich (A): 50/50
Coll (H): Lose

Pretty high likelihood that we will have a Priority Pick. Good year to have it, can see us taking Hill and Jetta with those. Regardless of PP or not, we should trade for another top 25 pick or two. Could really set ourselves up this year.

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 17:47
Also before when I was talking of Wilson.. Id be happy to use our last pick on him. He might look slow and useless but at the start of the year he was playing Seniors in Sydney and in the best players.. so he's not that crap (but yes i know it is Sydney). Can't hurt putting him on the list... I mean who would you rather.. a young guy who might have it or Mark Johnson.
Would like to see him rookied, and another spot left for a draftee - who undoubtedly would be better. He needs a lot of work. But in general, I agree with you. :confused::eek:

DCFCFAN84
9 Jul 2008, 17:49

Hamish Hartlett looked very impressive today he had 24 touches easily the second best Mid in the draft I would love to pick him up if Rich is gone.

estibador
9 Jul 2008, 17:56
On a side note, how have those watching rated the umpires? Personally, they are a lot less intrusive than we are used to, and generally pretty consistent. Are they u18s as well?

Yep, you can tell Gieschan hasn't got his hands on them yet and sucked all their feel for the game out of them.

I agree with a lot that others have been saying this morning.

Hartlett looks like a class player - especially around the clearances which is exactly what we need. Though he might not be as ready to plug and play as Rich.

And I hope we don't use our first pick on Yarren too. With so many good options around he seems too unreliable to be worth such a high first rounder. After watching him today I'm scared he could end up being another Clarke brother. I'd much rather go after one of the other boys like Jetta with a later pick to fill our Wiz-like position.

dont bowl there
9 Jul 2008, 17:58
Yep, you can tell Gieschan hasn't got his hands on them yet and sucked all their feel for the game out of them.

I agree with a lot that others have been saying this morning.

Hartlett looks like a class player - especially around the clearances. Exactly what we need. Though he might not be as ready to plug and play as Rich.

And I hope we don't use our first pick on Yarren too. With so many good options around he seems too unreliable to be worth such a high first rounder. After watching him today I'm scared he could end up being another Clarke brother. I'd much rather go after one of the other boys like Jetta with a later pick to fill our Wiz-like position.

Me and my mates have a pretty set rule about drafting, not going to say it here but Bluto knows what im talking about.

Bradesmaen
9 Jul 2008, 18:03
Would like to see him rookied, and another spot left for a draftee - who undoubtedly would be better. He needs a lot of work. But in general, I agree with you. :confused::eek:
Well others can take him if we rookie him, not draft him onto the list.

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 18:09
Well others can take him if we rookie him, not draft him onto the list.
I doubt whether anyone would draft him though.

Me and my mates have a pretty set rule about drafting, not going to say it here but Bluto knows what im talking about.
It has to do with latin word for black.

And yes, a lot of recruiters use it if the family isn't stable. I don't think there is a problem with that. There have been far too many examples...

Tundrawolf
9 Jul 2008, 18:20
Rich - showed today why he is highly sought after. Still wasn't as dominant as he is capable of being but with that thumping left boot makes him deadly, particualrly around goals.
Hartlett 182cm 74kgs - has all the goods to be a top flight midfielder. Showed all his ability today, a class act.
Hurley - didn't have a lot to do today as WA were pretty much outclassed but he is a good size and will make a very good full back. The only part of his game i'd question is his pace off the mark because of his size. One on one he is outstanding.
Walters - fairly quiet today, did some good things though not as good as previous weeks.
Hill - I like this guy, skinny as anything but a long booming kick. Good in the air too.
Sam Blease - only got a dozen touches but there was something about his pace and kicking skills which make me think he will be special.
Jack Ziebell(Vic Country) - good overhead, with beautiful skills would be a great pick up around our priority pick if he lasts that long.
Tyrone Vickery - 202cm didnt see his ruck work but he was very dangerous resting at full forward. If we lose Warnock this guy might be worth a look late in the draft or as a rookie. Already pretty heavy for his age.

dont bowl there
9 Jul 2008, 18:22
I doubt whether anyone would draft him though.

It has to do with latin word for black.

And yes, a lot of recruiters use it if the family isn't stable. I don't think there is a problem with that. There have been far too many examples...

Basically its never get a small forward with your first pick, no matter how fancy they look. Not a race thing however all the high small forwards seem to be Aboriginal.

shiny_on_top
9 Jul 2008, 18:28
If we get a priority pick i would be stoked if we got
1, Rich/Hartlett
PP, Swift/Robinson
2, Hill/Jetta
3, Pearce
What does everyone think and the chances of this

Tundrawolf
9 Jul 2008, 18:39
If we get a priority pick i would be stoked if we got
1, Rich/Hartlett
PP, Swift/Robinson
2, Hill/Jetta
3, Pearce
What does everyone think and the chances of this

1. Hartlett would be a chance, I think Rich is a certainty to be picked up by WC.
PP. Swift I think will be gone before our pick but I think Robinson will be available. He's had a great carnival but recruiters will be looking at the fact he is a more mature player in terms of size and age(19yrs) and may think he might not have as much development left in him as opposed to some of the younger draftees. Basically I think recruiters will baulk at him until the second round.
2. I would be rapt with Hill. Jetta at this pick is too high. I'd rather go for a Clinton Garlett who is very similar to Jetta but would more than likely still be available around pick 50 - 60.
3. I like the way Pearce plays. Turned the ball over a few times today but have seen him a couple of times and think he has something to offer. Not sure whether would use our 3rd round for him though.

shiny_on_top
9 Jul 2008, 18:47
1. Hartlett would be a chance, I think Rich is a certainty to be picked up by WC.
PP. Swift I think will be gone before our pick but I think Robinson will be available. He's had a great carnival but recruiters will be looking at the fact he is a more mature player in terms of size and age(19yrs) and may think he might not have as much development left in him as opposed to some of the younger draftees. Basically I think recruiters will baulk at him until the second round.
2. I would be rapt with Hill. Jetta at this pick is too high. I'd rather go for a Clinton Garlett who is very similar to Jetta but would more than likely still be available around pick 50 - 60.
3. I like the way Pearce plays. Turned the ball over a few times today but have seen him a couple of times and think he has something to offer. Not sure whether would use our 3rd round for him though.
You dont think we will use a 3rd round pick for WA's most valuable player???

Tundrawolf
9 Jul 2008, 19:09
You dont think we will use a 3rd round pick for WA's most valuable player???

We didn't use it in 2006.

Gary Moss was WA's MVP in 2006 and Hawthorn picked him at pick 56.

Memories
9 Jul 2008, 19:10
I'd still like to see us get all midfielders with any GOOD pick (first 4), and take the gamble picks on a KPP like a fullback. I hope to god we can get some more picks for trading away some players too.

We don't really need Schammer or Mundy, both are tradeable. Maybe keep Schammer if we get rid of J Carr, both of them can't stay.

Sailor
9 Jul 2008, 22:03
So here's athought to exercise the grey matter.
If Melbourne were to take Watt as first pick, the Eagles would more than likely take Rich, then would we overlook big Nat? For whom?:confused:

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 22:13
So here's athought to exercise the grey matter.
If Melbourne were to take Watt as first pick, the Eagles would more than likely take Rich, then would we overlook big Nat? For whom?:confused:
I'm not convincd WC would take Rich over Nat. They would then have Masten and Rich, both very short, performing very similar roles. Their need for a tall mid and backup ruck is greater than their need for that kind of player.

Would be an easy call for us if we lost Warnock, but if we didn't and Nicnat was still there... huge call...

rotto
9 Jul 2008, 22:19
If Warnock goes then Nat is a no brainer. If Warnock stays better to get Hurley if Rich or Watts is not taken . A tall back is not our greatest need but the guy is a replacement for Grover in a few years and allows Michael Johnson or McPharlin to swing forward.

The other picks go for midfielders.

Lynch takes a mark
9 Jul 2008, 22:58
I'm not convincd WC would take Rich over Nat. They would then have Masten and Rich, both very short, performing very similar roles. Their need for a tall mid and backup ruck is greater than their need for that kind of player.

Yeah, tall midfielder (Butler/Hurn/Ebert/Rosa/Houlihan/Embley/Davis/Waters/Selwood/Selwood all being over 185cm) is definitely a weak point - definitely shouldn't go for the 185cm powerful outside midfielder with one of the most devistating kicks the game will see.

But I see your point - backup ruck is a vital position on the field and certainly worthy of using a top 3 draft pick on.

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 23:05
But all but 2 of them suck and you know it LTAM. They also play a lot shorter than what they are, or are flankers at best.

The many times I have seen Rich, he certainly isn't an inside mid. He is a sheepdog. :p

Nat would provide the pack busting, clearance winning, inside ball getting capacity WC needs.

coasting
9 Jul 2008, 23:13
I agree with Chops. I think WC would take Naitanui over Rich simply because he is the better prospect. In fact, I have heard Woodhouse has a massive woody for Natanui.

TOA.
9 Jul 2008, 23:14
But all but 2 of them suck and you know it LTAM. They also play a lot shorter than what they are, or are flankers at best.

The many times I have seen Rich, he certainly isn't an inside mid. He is a sheepdog. :p

Nat would provide the pack busting, clearance winning, inside ball getting capacity WC needs.

haha, who are you trying to convince ;) We need and will take Rich if available IMO. There is no problem at all with having Masten and he in the same midfield. Masten is quite quick when up and running. Rich is no slouch either, so pace wont at issue at all.

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 23:25
I agree with Chops. I think WC would take Naitanui over Rich simply because he is the better prospect. In fact, I have heard Woodhouse has a massive woody for Natanui.
Thankyou.

Why would Nicnat be training at WC? Hmmm....
haha, who are you trying to convince ;) We need and will take Rich if available IMO. There is no problem at all with having Masten and he in the same midfield. Masten is quite quick when up and running. Rich is no slouch either, so pace wont at issue at all.
Masten is quick, and I rate his kicking skills closely to Rich's, just without the length. However, Rich is definitely not fast. He can't keep up at WAFL level, and gets by with his reading of the play, and general unaccountability.

Nicnat provides something completely different to what WC have, but has what they need. Simple.

Just gotta hope that if Robbie leaves, Nicnat is there for us. ;)

TOA.
9 Jul 2008, 23:33
NicNat trained with us along with 3-4 other kids through the AIS scholarship program where these kids select a club and train with them over a short period. It is just to give them experience. Dont read anything into it, there would have been some kids at Freo aswell at the same time.

We dont need NicNat, we need Rich more. Cox is obviously a gun and is only 26/27. Seaby is struggling at the moment for confidence but has proven he is upto it, his effort last year when Cox was out for an extended period proves this.

At the moment this draft/trade period is balanced delicately. I think it would be best for all involved in Watts goes #1. I dont think he will nominate unless he gets the nod from the Dees. Next up, Rich is a good fit for us at #2 IMO, I expect us to take him if available. Freo will have a tough decision to make at #3 if Warnock stays.

shiny_on_top
9 Jul 2008, 23:39
NicNat trained with us along with 3-4 other kids through the AIS scholarship program where these kids select a club and train with them over a short period. It is just to give them experience. Dont read anything into it, there would have been some kids at Freo aswell at the same time.

We dont need NicNat, we need Rich more. Cox is obviously a gun and is only 26/27. Seaby is struggling at the moment for confidence but has proven he is upto it, his effort last year when Cox was out for an extended period proves this.

At the moment this draft/trade period is balanced delicately. I think it would be best for all involved in Watts goes #1. I dont think he will nominate unless he gets the nod from the Dees. Next up, Rich is a good fit for us at #2 IMO, I expect us to take him if available. Freo will have a tough decision to make at #3 if Warnock stays.
I would hope Freo take Naitanui if that was the case. We would certainly be able to fir Naita, sandi and warnock in the same team. Naita could be a FF or wingman

coasting
9 Jul 2008, 23:46
We dont need NicNat, we need Rich more.

In 2001 you could have said we didn't need Judd, we needed Polak more.

You gotta take the best player. To do otherwise is how you end up with Tambling instead of Franklin.

rotto
9 Jul 2008, 23:55
BPA is the best policy for a first round pick. Rich will be a good player or a star. Nick Nat seems to have a greater risk but greater reward but so was Franklin. The role of rucks is changing like wicketkeepers needing to be able to bat in cricket. Rucks need to be able to hold down another position and I have doubts about Nick Nats ability to play KP. Defensive Nick Nats is second to none but questions are over his skills and football IQ.

TOA.
10 Jul 2008, 00:07
In 2001 you could have said we didn't need Judd, we needed Polak more.

You gotta take the best player. To do otherwise is how you end up with Tambling instead of Franklin.

Agreed. Although I think Rich will be the better player long term.

Memories
10 Jul 2008, 01:02
Yeah, imagine if the best player available each year is a ruckman when it comes to your pick. Good decision making process there.

You take the best player for YOUR club, period.

Alfonz
10 Jul 2008, 01:08
I think one policy we should take is make sure we pick players with excellent disposal. Watching the game today I would say out of WA's team, in this regard I would only look at the following:

Rich - kicking is simply elite
Walters - lovely kicking action on his left boot, one of our best today
Hill - kicked a beauty from 55m, another left footer
Yarran - plenty has been said about his skills
Jetta

From the Vics I would look at Blease if he is still available late. Bottom aged I think ... you have to think of the upside with these blokes. Someone should have picked Zaharakis last year, I remember him being mentioned. Today was the first time I saw him and he looks the goods. Both these players had great pace and skills.

curry23
10 Jul 2008, 03:02
Why do so many people call him NicNat? I think we should take him if he is available at out pick:thumbsu:

estibador
10 Jul 2008, 03:10
Why do so many people call him NicNat?

Because Naitanui isn't the easiest word to spell?

Although NicNat is a little gay. If we draft him I can see him becoming just Nat.

Nat and Pav - I like the sound of that.

curry23
10 Jul 2008, 03:13
Because Naitanui isn't the easiest word to spell?

Although NicNat is a little gay. If we draft him I can see him becoming just Nat.

Nat and Pav - I like the sound of that.
Yes it is very gay, most people who know him call him Nicko, pretty simple but its better than NickNat.