View Full Version : What is the latest on Brodie's injury please

Rupert
8 Jul 2008, 21:20
Anyone know the latest on Brodie saw him in the Coaches Box at Box Hill hope he is near to a return.

Skade
8 Jul 2008, 21:59
Pretty sure he said on the radio, a couple of weeks away if every thing goes to plan. :thumbsu:

Koki Freelander
9 Jul 2008, 11:22
On a slightly related front, Danny Stanley had 32 possies for the Pies VFL side on Sunday. Boy oh boy. He is going to force his way in pretty soon. He is one of these inside mids we have spoken about in other threads and is considered pretty valuable I would think. I just have nightmares about that game (Carlton first time?) earlier this year when he was caught holding the ball cold twice after gathering and plodding like it was the VFL still.

I would love to see him succeed

Chase the Ace
9 Jul 2008, 11:51
Injury list says 2 weeks

daics cousin
9 Jul 2008, 12:07
Not too sure whether Holland can force himself back into the side.
He hasn't played much footy over the past 2 seasons through injuries and i reckon he could be close to being delisted with lonie at seasons end.
Danny Stanley could be good but has to work his way into playing at the highest level.He seems to get caught a lot at top level.I really hope he makes it too,but he has to be quick about it because if he is kept on the list next year will make it 4 years at the pies.
It's a pity malthouse doesn't persevere with the kid at top level so he can get used to the pace of the game,he would be ideal as an inside mid,especially with burns and cheesy coming to the end of their careers.

Skade
9 Jul 2008, 13:51
Are there any similarities between Danny Stanley and Scott Burns at the same age??

Stone in sock
9 Jul 2008, 14:25
http://halfbackflanker.files.wordpress.com/2008/04/brodieholland7.jpg

Optimax
9 Jul 2008, 14:28
Are there any similarities between Danny Stanley and Scott Burns at the same age??
scotty was a hard as anils back pocket in the seniors in his third year

LeonDavies21
9 Jul 2008, 14:35
brodie holland will never play senior football at afl level again!!!!!!!!!!

DaVe86
9 Jul 2008, 14:37
Wont play AFL footy again unfortunately. Amazing how quickly his career slipped away. Achilles injuries have spelt his doom. Unfortunately, he'd at best be a small forward these days and we have plenty of those. His pace for the midfield will be shot, and his disposal has never been a highlight.

On Stanley...he did get tackled a few times last time he played. I reckon he's the sort of guy that if you played for a month would adapt really quickly...its just hard when you are not overly quick to come in and keep pace.

But i agree he has huge talent and gets in there. Can play a variety of roles. I think next availability should go to Stanley or Isles. Time to get gametime into these guys fast before its too late. Unfortunately he has had 3 years now, so has to really start pushing for selection.

Kirby
9 Jul 2008, 18:26
Danny is similar too Burns in that they are both one paced players. I wouldn't say slow but they dont have great acceleration. I think he just needs a few games in a row to adjust and I agree with Dave86 on this.

Godfrey Jones
9 Jul 2008, 18:54

YES! they look identical!!

no one believes me, but i keep saying cook looks like swan and stanley looks like burns!! :thumbsu:

http://mm.afl.com.au/portals/0/Collingwood_images/2008_profile_cook.jpghttp://mm.afl.com.au/portals/0/collingwood_article_images/2008_profile_swan.jpg

http://mm.afl.com.au/portals/0/Collingwood_images/2008_profile_stanley.jpghttp://mm.afl.com.au/portals/0/Collingwood_images/2008_profile_burns.jpg

Snag Breac
9 Jul 2008, 19:30
No, Cook looks like Stanley. And Reid looks like Cam Wood.

kevind
9 Jul 2008, 20:16

Only in build and size. Burns was a very good half back when he first came to Collingwood. Played well from his very first games. Eventually due to our lack of quality midfielders and the trading of Paul Williams to Sydney, Burns was morphed into a very good midfielder. Never been an elite player, Burnsy, but always very good and dependable as far as putting your body on the line when it mattered.

Stanley will possibly never make it because he is too slow and his skills are a little suspect. Both these deficiencies are real probloems in the modern game. 20 years ago he probably would have been a reasonable AFL player.
People on this board often ask why Malthouse has never used him in the midfield at AFL level. Well it's probably his lack of pace, and I think MM will always be reluctant to play him in the midfield unless he picks up a metre in pace and improves his skills. There was no secret as to why Carlton ran him down twice earlier this season.

Burns at the same age was a far better player.

Ickirus
9 Jul 2008, 20:27
I hope Holland can make his way back from injury but his future surely must be in doubt.

On Stanley I don't get why everyone seems to think he won't make it just from the Carlton game where he got caught twice, people say he lacks awareness but every player will get run down sometime, Marty Clarke got run down 3 times against Fremantle in Round 1 for an example. Stanley may not be the fastest player but he also ran down Gibbs against Carlton, he wouldnt be any slower than say O'Bree or Burns and he performs the same role, a clearance player.

People saying his skills are a worry is bemusing as he is probably one of the best kicks in the VFL side. People have written him off after one bad game where he injured his ankle and had to play on it for the rest of the match. I have high hopes for Stanley and believe he just needs a chance in the midfield in the AFL.

Godfrey Jones
9 Jul 2008, 20:39
No, Cook looks like Stanley. And Reid looks like Cam Wood.

you're nuts

i think one eyed vision is affecting the lot of ya!

Kirby
9 Jul 2008, 21:18
Well said Ickerus.

The only reason he is not playing in the midfield is because Burns and O'Bree are in there. You cant have three one paced in and unders playing at once.

pipeline
9 Jul 2008, 23:56
I hope Holland can make his way back from injury but his future surely must be in doubt.

On Stanley I don't get why everyone seems to think he won't make it just from the Carlton game where he got caught twice, people say he lacks awareness but every player will get run down sometime, Marty Clarke got run down 3 times against Fremantle in Round 1 for an example. Stanley may not be the fastest player but he also ran down Gibbs against Carlton, he wouldnt be any slower than say O'Bree or Burns and he performs the same role, a clearance player.

People saying his skills are a worry is bemusing as he is probably one of the best kicks in the VFL side. People have written him off after one bad game where he injured his ankle and had to play on it for the rest of the match. I have high hopes for Stanley and believe he just needs a chance in the midfield in the AFL.

He also has elite (and I use the word deliberately) handball skills. He's lightning fast with his clearances by hand and his effectiveness rate would be the highest in the two's. (It actually is in the seniors too but off limited games obviously). He's also a reliable strong mark and can take a hanger. On Sunday he deliovered a 40 metre handball onto a team mates chest.

Then there's this - he is the only young player who is genuinely tough, who has a real physical presence on the field and who can genuinely intimidate the opposition - just ask Setanta O'Halpin and the Frankston Ruckman he ironed out (legitimately) on Sunday. And check the mark he took running 30 metres back into the pack.

Hmmm, he can kick, mark, intimidate an opponent, win the clearances and average 25+ possessions a game - sounds reasonably skilled to me. I suspect that if any of Dyas, Thoolen, McCaffer or Dawes was piling up his performances, we'd be talking them up like the second coming. For whatever reason, this board marks Danny very hard.

And by the way, he ain't slow. He's a big strong framed boy and he's never going to look like a sprinter but he's in the top 10% at the club in acceleration over 30 and he can move fast when he has to. Don't forget, he's got to do all the midfield muscle work and run all day with that big frame so he sensibly doesn't run everywhere like a rabbit. He tends to lope between contests but as a couple of other posters have noted, he can turn it on at need. And in the Carlton game, one of those run downs was a result of a suicide handpass from a seniot player who should have known better.

Unfortunately, a lot of Bigfooty opinion is derived from other Bigfooty opinions, some of which have no basis in fact.

He will play, and he will play midfield - when the space is there. He obviously isn't a better player then Burnsy yet so he equally obviously isn't going to push him out yet - but the time will come, and instead of crying "woe is us, we have no tough in and under mids", we'll have Stanners right under our noses!

PS If you want to check his handball skills in particular, have a look at his draft tape on Dave the Mans youtube thread - awesome.

nihh
10 Jul 2008, 15:28
^^40m hand Pass, sure you are not exaggerating a little there?

I would like to see Danny get another chance for what it's worth perhaps give the captain a break approaching the finals. Rnd 21 is another possibility as we could probably go in against the Swans with 3 slowish midfielders. FWIW I reckon the slowness is more in the mind than in the body as he probably needs time to adjust to the tempo of the game (as well as the noise of the crowd etc).

I am pretty sure he will be given another year anyway so it's probably not a make or break year for him so long as he keeps turning performances in like he did on the weekend.

Snag Breac
10 Jul 2008, 16:46
He also has elite (and I use the word deliberately) handball skills. He's lightning fast with his clearances by hand and his effectiveness rate would be the highest in the two's. (It actually is in the seniors too but off limited games obviously). He's also a reliable strong mark and can take a hanger. On Sunday he deliovered a 40 metre handball onto a team mates chest.

Then there's this - he is the only young player who is genuinely tough, who has a real physical presence on the field and who can genuinely intimidate the opposition - just ask Setanta O'Halpin and the Frankston Ruckman he ironed out (legitimately) on Sunday. And check the mark he took running 30 metres back into the pack.

Hmmm, he can kick, mark, intimidate an opponent, win the clearances and average 25+ possessions a game - sounds reasonably skilled to me. I suspect that if any of Dyas, Thoolen, McCaffer or Dawes was piling up his performances, we'd be talking them up like the second coming. For whatever reason, this board marks Danny very hard.

And by the way, he ain't slow. He's a big strong framed boy and he's never going to look like a sprinter but he's in the top 10% at the club in acceleration over 30 and he can move fast when he has to. Don't forget, he's got to do all the midfield muscle work and run all day with that big frame so he sensibly doesn't run everywhere like a rabbit. He tends to lope between contests but as a couple of other posters have noted, he can turn it on at need. And in the Carlton game, one of those run downs was a result of a suicide handpass from a seniot player who should have known better.

Unfortunately, a lot of Bigfooty opinion is derived from other Bigfooty opinions, some of which have no basis in fact.

He will play, and he will play midfield - when the space is there. He obviously isn't a better player then Burnsy yet so he equally obviously isn't going to push him out yet - but the time will come, and instead of crying "woe is us, we have no tough in and under mids", we'll have Stanners right under our noses!

PS If you want to check his handball skills in particular, have a look at his draft tape on Dave the Mans youtube thread - awesome.

I'd bet you know what you're talking about Pipeline. Why do you think Stanley hasn't had more chances?

The Royal Sampler
10 Jul 2008, 18:35
With the rookie list extended to six for this year, I wouldn't be surprised if a couple of guys on our list were delisted and then rookied to give them more of a chance.

I find it hard to see Brodie getting a contract extension though at this point in time. He and Presti are both really up against it to get over their injuries and play some footy this year.

pipeline
10 Jul 2008, 22:41
I'd bet you know what you're talking about Pipeline. Why do you think Stanley hasn't had more chances?

Don't put the house on that Snag! Just a bit of background - I don't go to the seniors much because I don't like what it's become so I watch the kids and the old timers running around. So I see a lot of them. I thought the 2005 draft was a beauty for us. Pendlebury for silk and snake dancing, Daisy for magic and pantomime and Stanley driving the engine room. Collectively I think it's a midfield that could rival the Judd, Kerr, Cousins combination in a year or two.

Well Pandles and Daisy got in early and pretty much cemented their places but they're only part time mids really. We still rely mainly on our old(er) stagers. The generational change won't really come until Sir Scott gives it away and I think he will, and should, play on next year. So the Stanley spot doesn't exist until then. He'll get the occasional game as a pinch hitting half back or half forward (he can play pretty much anywhere) and probably fill in for SSB if he's rested or injured. He may serve a gradual apprenticeship next year as SSB bows out towards the end but in the short term his opportunities are necessarily limited.

The coaching staff however rate him highly so I think they'll manage his expectations so that we don't lose him. It's a possibility though and it would be a real shame - as I said he completes a puzzle for us and even though 75% of the experts on this board will howl off chasing after the next big thing of the moment, I doubt the club will be quite so cavalier. They see his off the ball work and his clearance ability and shepherding at the ball-up that most mug punters don't.

I could be quite wrong with my prognostications but I'm right in my assessment of Danny's ability. I still think he'll be as important long term as either Pendles or Daisy. Outside SSB and your beloved Big Ant, we have no real hard men with the strength and will to impose themselves - legitimately too you'll note. And their time is limited.

If Danny goes, I'll acknowledge I was wrong but if he makes it, I'll enjoy watching the springs on the bandwagon creak as all those who "loved him all along" jump aboard. That's a good part of the fun of this board - the "I told you so" factor - although there are some sophists on it who could give a Jesuit lessons in hair-splitting!

BTW If you read a somewhat harsh assessment by me of young Kevin in another thread, I'm sorry but despite wishing him all the best in the world, I'm a bit doubtful - a big bit.

Godfrey Jones
10 Jul 2008, 22:48
you really dont watch the seniors?

you're name is very apt....

Godfrey Jones
10 Jul 2008, 22:51
and lets make it clear ive been on stanley and cook's bandwagon for well over a year - just so when they do make it you dont call me a johhny come lately

i really think they'll both make it. and its got nothing to do with the fact that stanley looks like burns and cook like swan :p

pipeline
10 Jul 2008, 23:54
you really dont watch the seniors?

you're name is very apt....

I do watch God...........frey, I just don't go too often. Don't like weak beer in plastic cups, $50 pies, bag searches, not being able to sit where I like, heavy handed security, looking down at the game from the heavens, crap traffic, crap parking, crap umpiring and other teams supporters in bulk. Apart from that, it's great! See, the two's are great - you'll see a couple of current players in the crowd, always a few old champions, sit on the fence if you like, listen to Rowdy's Ramblings at 1/4 time, buy proper beer in a can, get a sausage with sauce and onions for $2 and see a pretty good standard of footy.

By the way, I'd never noticed the Burns/Stanners resemblence before but you've got something there. All adds up!;)

RRRooocccaaa
11 Jul 2008, 00:49
Don't like weak beer in plastic cups, $50 pies, bag searches, not being able to sit where I like, heavy handed security, looking down at the game from the heavens, crap traffic, crap parking, crap umpiring and other teams supporters in bulk.

Drink beforehand, get lunch at a cafe in Melbourne, bring your coat, reserve a seat, stop starting fights, take the train and... oh, wait there's nothing can be done about the last two :D

Have to say for the sheer joy of watching football there's nothing quite as satisfactory as pulling up to the boundary line in the back of a ute at a country footy ground. Go the DMB Bombers!

Snag Breac
11 Jul 2008, 20:04
Lovely posts, Pipeline. I must say I've been addicted to VFL footy since we went to Princes Park at the start of the year. I loved the intimacy of it, and the casual approach. And I love it when everyone piles onto the ground at half-time. But I can't usually find time to go to 2 games a week, so I don't get to go very often. Would it spoil some vast eternal plan if they had the VFL games before the seniors games every week?

I know what you mean about Kevin, but I can't let common sense, disinterested observation and reason get in the way of sentiment.:p

joefootylover
11 Jul 2008, 23:01
Dyas is a long term experiment, I still hold out hope. Stanners is a tank, and hopefully his time will come. It's Iles that looks likely to be the Davies of this years VFL side, and Holland would be just about curtains you would think, even if he makes a recovery they probably wont offer him another year, so with Wakes, Iles, Holland going, Wellers promotion and Reeds selection, we still need one more delist to have three live picks (including Reed as a live pick I think).

We can and I think should consider re-rookie-drafting Maccaffer, then add Keefe for Wellers, but who else gets let go? They will look at Rocca, Presti, Burns(depending on the state of his body), Lonie, Cox, Egan, Toovey, Cook and Stanley, sad but true, I suspect that Lonie would be at risk, which is a shame as he has not been able to get on the track to press his claims.

I don't know that we will neccesserilly be drafting deep this year, pick 16 :) pick 32 ;) and Reed for pick 48ish plus Wellers promoted and Keefe added to the rookie list might be all we do, with Wakes, Holland, Lonie and Iles making way and Maccaffer being delisted then re-rookied.

Stanners needs to really cement his role as the VFL teams number one clearance player and maintain his very good form tho, or who knows, if they have thier eyes on late pick smokeys in the draft it will come down to how many they want to free up and who they see as in the firing line.