View Full Version : Scott Reed / U18 Champs
Snoop Dog
9 Jul 2008, 17:45
Jus finished seeing the games at TD today in the u18s. Also saw the games from the weekend.
Very pleasing to see Scott Reeds development. He is starting to fill out and has good size about him as well as good hands. Spent some time in the midfield as well and was pretty good in close so we should feel confident he will get selected come draft time.
Have the tape at home so will get a better look then but gee he was good.
More broadly the standard at the Champs seemed good today. Some players caught the eye and I think the top 20 -25 will be pretty good. Bit of everything to so notwithstanding we always seem to go for best we should get something pretty good.
Dave The Man
9 Jul 2008, 18:00
Jus finished seeing the games at TD today in the u18s. Also saw the games from the weekend.
Very pleasing to see Scott Reeds development. He is starting to fill out and has good size about him as well as good hands. Spent some time in the midfield as well and was pretty good in close so we should feel confident he will get selected come draft time.
Have the tape at home so will get a better look then but gee he was good.
More broadly the standard at the Champs seemed good today. Some players caught the eye and I think the top 20 -25 will be pretty good. Bit of everything to so notwithstanding we always seem to go for best we should get something pretty good.
So Who did you see there you would like in a Black and White Jumper Snoop?
Snag Breac
9 Jul 2008, 18:11
Is there a list of the players who attended anywhere?
Dave The Man
9 Jul 2008, 18:16
Is there a list of the players who attended anywhere?
Record Here:
http://www.afl.com.au/Development/NABAFLRisingStarsProgram/NABUnder18s/tabid/276/default.aspx
Snag Breac
9 Jul 2008, 19:27
Thanks, Dave.
popathon
9 Jul 2008, 19:35
Reed listed in the best on afl.com. Good signs for us.
Pav for AA
9 Jul 2008, 20:44
W.A Boys from today, my profiles.
4 Stephen HILL 01-May-90 182 72 West Perth Football Club
- Likely type. Good frame for utility
- Needs to bulk up, disposal affected by frame, ie breaking tackles
- Good attack on the ball
- Nice speed
- Penetrating kick on the left
5 Matthew DEBOER 10-Mar-90 187 85 Claremont Football Club
- Fairly disappointing.
- Has had a more than reasonable carnival but a tad dissapointing
- his disposal was reasonably assured, especially by hand.
- Certainly knows where to go the find the footy but actually taking it from a contested situation is another matter
- A good carnival from a workhorse.
7 Neville JETTA 12-Feb-90 178 75 Swan Districts
- Worked hard all day
- Perhaps too small to think about playing midfield next year.
- Good disposal, ferocious tackler and certainly creative in close
- One of W.A’s better performed midfielders
- Very quick first 5 steps and runs well at top speed.'Betts like'
10 Daniel RICH 07-Jun-90 183 83 Subiaco Football Club
- 17 Possessions in the first half.
- It appeared as if both sides instructed their players no to tag in the first half.
- When the tag was placed on him in the second half he accepted it yet again
- It is a worrying trend, tends to remain stationery around a stoppage.
- For a kid without explosive pace he can’t afford to do that
- Having said that his best performance in the carnival and left foot is still damaging
- Still not sure if he should be considered ‘Elite’
17 Michael WALTERS 07-Jan-91 177 75 Swan Districts Football Club- Best on Ground for W.A along with Clancee Pearce
- Worked well around the stoppages
- Very creative
- Nice acceleration and good closing speed
- Very High Footy IQ, exceptional positioning
- Hits most of his targets
23 Clancee PEARCE 23-Oct-90 183 85 Swan Districts
- Probably the BOG for W.A along with Walters from a HBF
- Reads the play very well, chopped off a few forays forward simply by reading the ball off the boot before his man
- Moves well in traffic, good disposal
- Very good closing speed
- Well built one preseason would be enough to get him “AFL Ready”
- Hits his targets well by foot, low ball drop ensures safety with kicks but slows his disposal time, may have to be wary of this at the next level.
30 Christopher YARRAN 19-Dec-90 180 84 Swan Districts Football Club
- Silk. That’s the first word that comes to mind.
- Fantastic skills at ground level, by hand and by foot.
- Used his body well to out position direct opponents. If he didn’t take the mark, his pace ensured he was gone when he picked the ball up.
- Out marked Mckernan one on one simply by reading the flight of the ball better and using his body to good effect.
- Perhaps needs to do more further up the ground. When cast in the middle tended to lean forward of the play searching for kicks, similar to Rich in that aspect.
- Definitely AFL Ready and a fairly safe bet for a Forward Pocket HFF who could develop into a midfielder
Enjoy
I'm sure he's been listed in the best for all bar 1 game. He got a bit of a grilling after that game from his coaches saying he wasn't concentrating enough.
I thought that was interesting because it wasn't that he was being beaten by a better player, but not doing well due to his own performance.
After reading the write ups on himm from the champs, definitely use our last pick on him. That's all we have to use:thumbsu:
Snoop Dog
9 Jul 2008, 20:50
So Who did you see there you would like in a Black and White Jumper Snoop?
Far be it from me to anticipate what the great man Derek Hine would do but in a word.....plenty. Seen a bit of the champs now so have better sense of whose in the mix etc. Much better when you see them all play against each other etc over a couple of rounds. i dont tend to watch a great deal of TAC until post champs.
In reality I think our pick will be somewhere around selection 10 - 13 and there is clearly plenty there. Should also obviously then get a pick around 26 - 28.
Based on my thinking at the moment (remember still early and Hine always pulls something different) and given we take best available you would be looking at maybe Hurley (solid FB type who has AFL written all over him / best FB prospect I have seen), Jetta (better than cousin and has x factor), Pearce (think Myers), Ziebell (think a player who does everything) and possibly Zaharkis (think Millane with less aggression). My preference would be Ziebell then Zaharkis then Pearce. Dont discount Sam Blease here. Type that Hine will like IMO and probably has the most upside.
Later in the 2nd round I think you are looking at maybe a Lynch, Rockliff, Sheahan, Shannon, Robinson, Stanton and with some luck someone like Cordy, Vickery or McKernan. Cant see five rucks going in first round and a half so given Trengrove and Nat will have gone you would hope one of these blokes are around and I would be happy with any of them.
Dave The Man
9 Jul 2008, 20:50
- Nice speed
- Fairly disappointing.
- Certainly knows where to go the find the footy but actually taking it from a contested situation is another matter
- Worked hard all day
- It appeared as if both sides instructed their players no to tag in the first half.
- Having said that his best performance in the carnival and left foot is still damaging
17 Michael WALTERS 07-Jan-91 177 75 Swan Districts Football Club- Best on Ground for W.A along with Clancee Pearce
- Very creative
- Reads the play very well, chopped off a few forays forward simply by reading the ball off the boot before his man
- Hits his targets well by foot, low ball drop ensures safety with kicks but slows his disposal time, may have to be wary of this at the next level.
- Used his body well to out position direct opponents. If he didn’t take the mark, his pace ensured he was gone when he picked the ball up.
- Out marked Mckernan one on one simply by reading the flight of the ball better and using his body to good effect.
- Perhaps needs to do more further up the ground. When cast in the middle tended to lean forward of the play searching for kicks, similar to Rich in that aspect.
- Definitely AFL Ready and a fairly safe bet for a Forward Pocket HFF who could develop into a midfielder
Enjoy
Do you think these are player Collingwood could Draft?
shawthing09
9 Jul 2008, 20:57
- Nice speed
- Fairly disappointing.
- Worked hard all day
- Very creative
Enjoy
Cheers for that review mate
Pav for AA
9 Jul 2008, 20:57
Do you think these are player Collingwood could Draft?
No these are the players I think are draftable. :thumbsu:
- Nice speed
Highly erratic kick. Not interested.
- Fairly disappointing.
Must have some good attribute because none were on display today.
- Worked hard all day
More like a Danyl Pearce type. Ok. Not what we need urgently.
He's near enough to elite. Got at least 5 possies from his big ruck mate who you seem to have left out.
Is he only 183cms? Made some decicions that put others under pressure. Was above average.
Solid player, I think the Shaun Burgoyne comparisons are over the top though.
Pie Legend
10 Jul 2008, 00:51
Played ok today, listed in the best, although the effort from the NSW/ACT was poor, so he was the pick of a bad bunch.
Pie Legend
10 Jul 2008, 00:51
I wonder how he would have gone in say a VIC metro or Vic country side
Pav for AA
10 Jul 2008, 01:57
Highly erratic kick. Not interested.
Must have some good attribute because none were on display today.
He's near enough to elite. Got at least 5 possies from his big ruck mate who you seem to have left out.
Is he only 183cms? Made some decicions that put others under pressure. Was above average.
Solid player, I think the Shaun Burgoyne comparisons are over the top though.
In regards to Hill, I'd agree with you to an extent. Early on he wasnt up to speed with the game, but as it wore on he got into the groove and became more influential the longer the game wore on.
That tells me he can run all day.
Im not sure about Pearce, he looks more than 183cm doesnt he. :thumbsu:
Hill made Chris Egan look silky. At least Eags has an excuse in trying to be a hero, but Hill literally showed signs of a club foot.
Oakley-Nicholls is enough proof that you'd want to have some unbelievably good skills if you are built like Gumby.
Kirk Hinrich #12
10 Jul 2008, 12:07
Although talk in the forum has drifted a bit Scott Reed looked by far NSW best player yesterday. Clean hand and finds the footy. Guys around him struggled a bit but he played just about every where from HB to Ruck to CHF.
He is a certain rookie pick up and will be in the senior list next year for sure.
1Percenter
10 Jul 2008, 13:24
Sounding like Reed is a sure pick up in this years draft.
Here's something Jason McCartney wrote on him a few weeks back...
Scott Reed – Scotty is a Collingwood scholarship holder. He was very prominent early, starting at centre half-back and then changed through the midfield. He's a really good size at 193cm and can play a variety of positions.
There is no doubt at the end of the year, from what I have seen over the last couple of years, Collingwood will look very closely at giving him a spot on its list.
He had 17 disposals, three hard-ball gets and four inside 50s. Against Tassie, it was one of the best games I have with his kicking. He had really good penetration. His flexibility is great, being able to hold down a key position or push into the midfield. Scott also carries the ball and reads it well. He has zoned off a bit, but that's something he's aware of, but he's had a very consistent carnival.
By Jason McCartney 1:36 PM Sun 15 June, 2008
popathon
10 Jul 2008, 16:26
Something Geoff Walsh said today in the SUN which i thought was quite interesting.
He was saying that when he went to watch the games he wasn't looking at who to draft with the no 1 pick but more-so the second and third round picks. It could just be me but i think this is a good way to prepare for the draft.
Anyone else read it?
Dave The Man
10 Jul 2008, 16:28
Scott Reed – I've been really impressed by Scott. He got 16 disposals, but 12 were contested. I know Alan Richardson from Collingwood has been working with him, as Scott is a scholarship holder there. I spoke with Alan and he said they've been very happy with Scott across the carnival. His disposal by foot has improved and I see him as a perfect fit for Collingwood. There is no doubt they will list him at the end of the year
Sounds like Reed could be a Tall Inside-Mid.
Story Here (http://www.afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=63040)
campbell023
10 Jul 2008, 16:30
In playing in a team that was under done, Scotty was pretty good. The NSW/ACT boys were always going to struggle in that match with a few players out and S.A are a pretty good side. They were men against kids really. Anyway my thoughts on Reed. I watched him pretty closely and there are some good signs there. The one thing i noticed most is he wrapped people up consistantly which was good. Good size, just needs to fill out a bit more and has good pace and tank. Disposal is above average even though he missed a couple of targets but that is probably understandable with the extra pressure that was going on in the game. Just my 2 cents there. Would take him with our last pick in the ND.
Hmm, it's looking like a certainty he'll be our last pick.
smiddaz123
10 Jul 2008, 17:24
He's much better than anyone else who'd slide to us in our final pick tbh.
Question - which scholarship holders are available next draft?
TheBigUnit
10 Jul 2008, 18:11
While he's primarily an outside type, he's a LOT more physical than Danyle Pearce - very willing to put his body on the line in contests when needed, loves to get involved with big bumps/hits/1%ers and is a very good tackler too.
The Royal Sampler
10 Jul 2008, 18:21
Question - which scholarship holders are available next draft?
My understanding is... none. Thomas Young would have been eligible as he's born in April '92, but the AFL have lifted the draftable age to help out the new clubs entering the competition. I believe that the cut-off for next year's draft will be Dec 31, 1991.
smiddaz123
10 Jul 2008, 18:25
So would Thomas Young and Nick Perry be eligible in the one draft? Or is Perry looking at the 2011 draft?
The Royal Sampler
10 Jul 2008, 18:28
Well, if the cut-off birthdate for the 2010 draft is 31st Dec, 1992, all three of Young, Perry and Witts would be eligible.
ChipDouglas
11 Jul 2008, 13:29
Hill made Chris Egan look silky. At least Eags has an excuse in trying to be a hero, but Hill literally showed signs of a club foot.
Oakley-Nicholls is enough proof that you'd want to have some unbelievably good skills if you are built like Gumby.
Your comments here are way off the mark. Don't make the common mistake of judging a player on one performance. I've seen Hill half a dozen times including the game where he played midfield and stitched up Harlett who will go top four. He's an excellent prospect and only a poor judge would suggest otherwise.
You are judging me on one post, so does that make you a poor judge?? :p
FWIW, I obviously wouldn't make a judgement on one performance. That said, Hill isn't what we need in terms of type, so I may have sounded more brutal and definitive than I was of De Boer (who was ordinary).
ChipDouglas
11 Jul 2008, 15:12
Hill can play midfield, halfback, wing and half forward, he is the type any club could use. Against Metro he played with an injury sustained at Casey fields on Saturday which shows a bit of ticker and he'd be one of the quickest players on offer in the draft and his kicking is normally top draw. If we used our first round pick on him it wouldn't bother me at all as I've seen him play quite a bit and rate him highly. Having said that there are other midfielders I would take ahead of him like Swift and Sidebottom but if the'yre gone you can't pick them.
smiddaz123
11 Jul 2008, 15:25
Get a midfielder who wins his own ball and can kick.
Not one who wins his own ball that can't kick.
Not one who doesn't win his own ball but has elite disposal.
One who does both (aka Steele Sidebottom).