View Full Version : Pav's Wrap up W.A Vs Vic Metro - W.A Boys profiles only

Pav for AA
9 Jul 2008, 19:10
I've included only the type of boys we are likely to take, mainly midfield talent.

W.A's KPP arent of the same Ilk as the Vics and Tassie even.

4 Stephen HILL 01-May-90 182 72 West Perth Football Club

- Likely type. Good frame for utility
- Needs to bulk up, disposal affected by frame, ie breaking tackles
- Good attack on the ball
- Nice speed
- Penetrating kick on the left

5 Matthew DEBOER 10-Mar-90 187 85 Claremont Football Club

- Fairly disappointing.
- Has had a more than reasonable carnival but a tad dissapointing
- his disposal was reasonably assured, especially by hand.
- Certainly knows where to go the find the footy but actually taking it from a contested situation is another matter
- A good carnival from a workhorse.

7 Neville JETTA 12-Feb-90 178 75 Swan Districts

- Worked hard all day
- Perhaps too small to think about playing midfield next year.
- Good disposal, ferocious tackler and certainly creative in close
- One of W.A’s better performed midfielders
- Very quick first 5 steps and runs well at top speed.'Betts like'

10 Daniel RICH 07-Jun-90 183 83 Subiaco Football Club

- 17 Possessions in the first half.
- It appeared as if both sides instructed their players no to tag in the first half.
- When the tag was placed on him in the second half he accepted it yet again
- It is a worrying trend, tends to remain stationery around a stoppage.
- For a kid without explosive pace he can’t afford to do that
- Having said that his best performance in the carnival and left foot is still damaging
- Still not sure if he should be considered ‘Elite’

17 Michael WALTERS 07-Jan-91 177 75 Swan Districts Football Club- Best on Ground for W.A along with Clancee Pearce
- Worked well around the stoppages
- Very creative
- Nice acceleration and good closing speed
- Very High Footy IQ, exceptional positioning
- Hits most of his targets

23 Clancee PEARCE 23-Oct-90 183 85 Swan Districts

- Probably the BOG for W.A along with Walters from a HBF
- Reads the play very well, chopped off a few forays forward simply by reading the ball off the boot before his man
- Moves well in traffic, good disposal
- Very good closing speed
- Well built one preseason would be enough to get him “AFL Ready”
- Hits his targets well by foot, low ball drop ensures safety with kicks but slows his disposal time, may have to be wary of this at the next level.

30 Christopher YARRAN 19-Dec-90 180 84 Swan Districts Football Club

- Silk. That’s the first word that comes to mind.
- Fantastic skills at ground level, by hand and by foot.
- Used his body well to out position direct opponents. If he didn’t take the mark, his pace ensured he was gone when he picked the ball up.
- Out marked Mckernan one on one simply by reading the flight of the ball better and using his body to good effect.
- Perhaps needs to do more further up the ground. When cast in the middle tended to lean forward of the play searching for kicks, similar to Rich in that aspect.
- Definitely AFL Ready and a fairly safe bet for a Forward Pocket HFF who could develop into a midfielder

Enjoy :thumbsu:

purpleblood29
9 Jul 2008, 19:33
hmm nice wrap up mate. Yarran looks the goods. But i reckon hes the type of player we could develop into a midfielder. Nice work

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 19:40
5 Matthew DEBOER 10-Mar-90 187 85 Claremont Football Club
- his disposal was reasonably assured, especially by hand.

You are an idiot.

He will be the biggest butcher since Haig. :thumbsu:

Pav for AA
9 Jul 2008, 19:43
You are an idiot.

You've picked out one point in a page and a half and Im an idiot.

Thats my opinion, today I thought his hands were fairly clean. Footskills are still average at best, but in my view, I didnt think his hands were too bad at all. :thumbsu:

But you go right ahead and make yourself feel tough. :thumbsu:

pinkus maximus
9 Jul 2008, 20:23
what about niknat. how did he go?

poshman
9 Jul 2008, 20:26
bit harsh chops!

interesting reading, would not be surprised to see two or three on the list at freo next season.

This carnival has cast doubts on rich as a future gun player, but dealing with a tag is something that is learnt, and often takes a few seasons to develop the strength and fitness to do consistently.

If he was to come to us you would assume hase, dez and palmer would be picked up before him, leaving him to use his deadly left peg. By the time hase has gone you would hope he had devolped the ability to beat the tag consistently.

Pav for AA
9 Jul 2008, 20:31
what about niknat. how did he go?

I wasnt too thrilled with his game. His ruckwork was very good, especially in the last quarter when it looks as though he had been instructed simply to smash it foward clear of the congestion.

In the 1st half, half of his ruck knocks were down Rich's throat and the other half were sharked by the Vics.

Around the ground he looks a bit shakey, still doesnt look like he has fully grasped the role of a ruckman after the centre bounce or stoppage.

Played foward and kicked an awkward looking goal, but the acceleration was impressive.

Kicking action looks a bit dodgey, loops in the air. And when he bounces he goes with two hands and leans way down, not good.

Still a top 3 pick on potential alone.
:thumbsu:

pinkus maximus
9 Jul 2008, 20:32
cheers :thumbsu:

PapaJ
9 Jul 2008, 21:08
NitiNati is still going to be a topish pick on shear athletic potential I feel. As for Rich, this is the second 'report' I've read that noted his pace isn't particularly spectacular - a fast thinker and player of the game, but not explosive in the legs - sounds like another Hase type player.

Thanks for the rap P4AA.

FD369
9 Jul 2008, 21:48
Thanks for the wrap Pav for AA :thumbsu:

Yarran sounds like the perfect Wiz understudy for a year.

You are an idiot.

Class Chops.......

All class.

purpleblood29
9 Jul 2008, 21:49
Thanks for the assesment on naitinui pav... yeah he does look the goods. Just needs to work on a few areas of his game. But from what i have seen he has heaps of improvment in hi,

malpaso
9 Jul 2008, 22:12
You are an idiot.

Very intellectual Chops. Top Post.. Not!

Chops_a_must
9 Jul 2008, 22:15
Class Chops.......

All class.

It is Trump after all. :thumbsu:

Alfonz
10 Jul 2008, 00:55
I'll add my 2c worth in this thread if anybody cares.

Just finished watching the game I recorded on my IQ box.

Natanui - Don't really want to judge him on one game, but I was not overly impressed and would be very hesitant to use our first pick on him. I think there is a huge risk with him, would much prefer a midfielder. I wonder if he would even be able to use his leap against the big bodies at AFL level, they could negate him I feel. His future could be more as a midfielder-key position player, and there must be huge question marks if he will acquire the skill/knowledge to play these positions. Kicking very ordinary and at best it could only be improved to an average level.

Pearce - I actually thought his disposal was ordinary contrary to what OP said. Other than that he was certainly in the action and would have been our best player, but can't afford poor disposal.

DeBoer - very ordinary disposal. Chops keeps banging on about his disposal a bit much, but really almost every time he touched the ball he either turned it over or missed the target. Wasn't even like they were proper spinning kicks, just mongrel floaters. Had an easy chance to snap a goal in the third quarter from close range and took an eternity to get it to boot, then kicked it into the man in front of him. Commentators said before game he was our best player for the tournament ... can't argue with them as this was the only game I saw, but from what I saw, better options should be available in the top 30.

Hill - would love to pick him up, but doubt he could play next year. Too skinny, but a raking left foot. Kicked an awesome goal from 55m.

Walters - this is one guy I would love with our 2nd pick ... skills excellent, fantastic kicking action. And judging by those dates of birth he is the youngest of WA's good players ... probably doesn't really matter much but anyway ...

In summary, lets pretend we finish 2nd last ... if we keep it local then I'd hope to get Rich-Walters-Hill with #2-#18-#20. Is that within the realms of possibilities? I think it is critical we pick players with good footskills and these three for me stood out. All classical left footers.

Pav for AA
10 Jul 2008, 01:49
It is Trump after all. :thumbsu:

You must win the crowd Maximus. :thumbsu:

How about you get over that eh? :thumbsu:

Pav for AA
10 Jul 2008, 01:53
I'll add my 2c worth in this thread if anybody cares.

Just finished watching the game I recorded on my IQ box.

Natanui - Don't really want to judge him on one game, but I was not overly impressed and would be very hesitant to use our first pick on him. I think there is a huge risk with him, would much prefer a midfielder. I wonder if he would even be able to use his leap against the big bodies at AFL level, they could negate him I feel. His future could be more as a midfielder-key position player, and there must be huge question marks if he will acquire the skill/knowledge to play these positions. Kicking very ordinary and at best it could only be improved to an average level.

Pearce - I actually thought his disposal was ordinary contrary to what OP said. Other than that he was certainly in the action and would have been our best player, but can't afford poor disposal.

DeBoer - very ordinary disposal. Chops keeps banging on about his disposal a bit much, but really almost every time he touched the ball he either turned it over or missed the target. Wasn't even like they were proper spinning kicks, just mongrel floaters. Had an easy chance to snap a goal in the third quarter from close range and took an eternity to get it to boot, then kicked it into the man in front of him. Commentators said before game he was our best player for the tournament ... can't argue with them as this was the only game I saw, but from what I saw, better options should be available in the top 30.

Hill - would love to pick him up, but doubt he could play next year. Too skinny, but a raking left foot. Kicked an awesome goal from 55m.

Walters - this is one guy I would love with our 2nd pick ... skills excellent, fantastic kicking action. And judging by those dates of birth he is the youngest of WA's good players ... probably doesn't really matter much but anyway ...

In summary, lets pretend we finish 2nd last ... if we keep it local then I'd hope to get Rich-Walters-Hill with #2-#18-#20. Is that within the realms of possibilities? I think it is critical we pick players with good footskills and these three for me stood out. All classical left footers.

Interesting, he did have a poor patch in the third quarter where he hit up a few Metro boys lace out, however, given the amount of ball he gathered I think his disposal was more than ok. :thumbsu:

The thing that stood out for me, was the difference in tackling between the two sides. Alot of W.A boys tried to get around their opponent only to find themselves lying prostrate on the ground ;):thumbsu:

In that respect, Pearce was able to find space, and generally use the ball to good effect. :thumbsu:

Chops_a_must
10 Jul 2008, 02:26
How about you get over that eh? :thumbsu:

Give me a reason to change my opinion of you. :thumbsu:

Pav for AA
10 Jul 2008, 02:29
Give me a reason to change my opinion of you. :thumbsu:

Couldnt give a toss either way.

Just thought you'd like to stop being such a bitter prick.

Each to their own :thumbsu:

Chops_a_must
10 Jul 2008, 02:31
Handbag >>>>> Mundy :D:D:D

Pav for AA
10 Jul 2008, 02:34
Handbag >>>>> Mundy :D:D:D

There's only so much a man can take. :thumbsu:

PapaJ
10 Jul 2008, 03:55
:thumbsu:

Sorry, just wanted to feel part of the conversation.

Magnum27
10 Jul 2008, 12:10
NitiNati is still going to be a topish pick on shear athletic potential I feel. As for Rich, this is the second 'report' I've read that noted his pace isn't particularly spectacular - a fast thinker and player of the game, but not explosive in the legs - sounds like another Hase type player.

Thanks for the rap P4AA.

I've watched it and he reminds me of a younger version of Priddis, his kicking is slightly better though. I think natanui is a must for any team if they have the chance, good big men are a lot harder to find than mids.

Bluto
10 Jul 2008, 16:25
I've watched it and he reminds me of a younger version of Priddis, his kicking is slightly better though. I think natanui is a must for any team if they have the chance, good big men are a lot harder to find than mids.

You have got to be kidding, that is a massive understatement. Rich's kicking will be considered close to elite in the AFL by this time next year. Remains to be seen what impact he will be able to have, but there is no doubt his kicking is superb.

raffrox
10 Jul 2008, 16:40
You have got to be kidding, that is a massive understatement. Rich's kicking will be considered close to elite in the AFL by this time next year. Remains to be seen what impact he will be able to have, but there is no doubt his kicking is superb.
Compared by some with Hodge in that regard.

Chops_a_must
10 Jul 2008, 17:22
It is exactly who he reminds me of.

I don't think he is quite as good at this stage in other aspects of his game however.

pistol17
10 Jul 2008, 17:41
Daniel Rich's 2nd half yesterday was one of the reasons WA got back into the game. The other reason was, Yarran who was marking Rich's kicks from the centre. Yarran reminds me a little bit of Franklin when he is in the forward line.

We somehow have to try get these 2 boys in purple next year. At the moment we have pick 3 which will get is one of them. What are everyones thoughts about using Warnock and possibly Mundy (reluctantly) to try snare the 2nd or 4th pick in the draft?

If we stay with 3rd pick then IMO we get Yarran. (if available) oozes class....

Chops_a_must
10 Jul 2008, 18:23
No way.

We will get one of Nat, Rich or Hartlett. I don't think there is much doubt about that.

DCFCFAN84
10 Jul 2008, 18:32

Hodge is who I first thought of when I saw Rich kick and I rate Hodge very highly.

Checkers Nixon
11 Jul 2008, 16:00
I think that Rich is totally overrated.

I would not waste my No.1 or No.2 pick on the guy.

Does Freo really need a shortish, slow, midfielder?

In fact, the only above average trait that Rich has is his raking left boot. He is a poor man's Heath Black (but without the agro).

Angus McFuttock
12 Jul 2008, 00:19
He's not as overrated as Matt Priddis - that's a laughable comparison if you value effectiveness of possessions.

TOA.
12 Jul 2008, 01:08
He's not as overrated as Matt Priddis - that's a laughable comparison if you value effectiveness of possessions.

Bit harsh, Priddis efficiency last year was one of the highest seen for a player who won as much of the ball as he did. His disposal has fallen down lately but its not a massive issue. He is just lacking confidence like our whole side.

Either way, I agree Priddis isnt a great comparison with Rich. Their kicking isnt as good but I also think Priddis is better at clearance work and defensively. Priddis is a massive tackler, Rich's tackling is non existent from what I've seen.

Ysaye
12 Jul 2008, 10:29
Bit harsh, Priddis efficiency last year was one of the highest seen for a player who won as much of the ball as he did. His disposal has fallen down lately but its not a massive issue. He is just lacking confidence like our whole side.

Either way, I agree Priddis isnt a great comparison with Rich. Their kicking isnt as good but I also think Priddis is better at clearance work and defensively. Priddis is a massive tackler, Rich's tackling is non existent from what I've seen.

Jeepers its funny how different accounts of Rich are.

Based on his footy for Subi I would have said tackling was one of his strong areas. I distinctly remember a Rich tackle in a WAFL game I was watching on TV where he came from off the screen edge and nabbed a guy who was not doddling himself.

Anyway - maybe what it says is that he is proving to be a bit inconsistent mentally. I am still convinced he has all the attributes of a superstar if he puts his mind to it.

jgb99
12 Jul 2008, 18:08
Jeepers its funny how different accounts of Rich are.

Based on his footy for Subi I would have said tackling was one of his strong areas. I distinctly remember a Rich tackle in a WAFL game I was watching on TV where he came from off the screen edge and nabbed a guy who was not doddling himself.

Anyway - maybe what it says is that he is proving to be a bit inconsistent mentally. I am still convinced he has all the attributes of a superstar if he puts his mind to it.

Good tackler from what I've seen too - some very impressive run down tackles for Subi and U18 last year.

I think you maybe right re: the mental aspect. He doesn't really have anything to gain from going all out this year (all the recruiters will already know how good he is and the 2008 U18 Champs won't change their perceptions) and with his big workload this season for an 18 yr old - U/18 Champs + Subi in WAFL seniors - it would be tough to maintain a consistent high level of performance week in week out for the entire season - possible he could break down (O.P./other overuse injuries if not already) if he pushes too hard.

Angus McFuttock
12 Jul 2008, 20:37
You'd expect Priddis's efficiency to be OK because he's usually handballing to someone 3m away or chipping sideways to a free teammate. He knows where to go to get the ball but there is a reason why no opposition clubs bother tagging him.

Pav for AA
13 Jul 2008, 14:30
Daniel Rich's 2nd half yesterday was one of the reasons WA got back into the game. The other reason was, Yarran who was marking Rich's kicks from the centre. Yarran reminds me a little bit of Franklin when he is in the forward line.

We somehow have to try get these 2 boys in purple next year. At the moment we have pick 3 which will get is one of them. What are everyones thoughts about using Warnock and possibly Mundy (reluctantly) to try snare the 2nd or 4th pick in the draft?

He had 17 possesions in the first half, and four in the second.

What game were you watching? :thumbsu:

And to the fella who said he was shortish, he's 185cm :thumbsu:

Freomaniac
13 Jul 2008, 23:12
So there are some good young WA kids willing to impress. I think common sense for us right now is to recruit as much good players of this WA squad as possible. It would be an excellent effort if we get at least 4 or 5 players. Realistically all we need is a few in side midfielders with pace one tall defender and possibly a ruckman if Warnock leaves.