DonMania#5
10 Jul 2008, 18:35
http://img56.imageshack.us/img56/5082/rnd15aw3.jpg

Bachar Houli
10 Jul 2008, 18:40
Good choices IMO.

bombersno1
10 Jul 2008, 18:42
good to see Hocking as an emergency..i sense a late change on saturday. Pev out, Hocking in.

S.C[BANKS]
10 Jul 2008, 18:45
Tom Hislop not being selected is interesting, must be injured.

Peverill to tag Black?

BRISBANE LIONS

B: Josh Drummond, Daniel Merrett, Joel Patfull
HB: Cheynee Stiller, Jared Brennan, Travis Johnstone
C: Anthony Corrie, Simon Black, Tim Notting
HF: Michael Rischitelli, Jonathan Brown, Ashley McGrath
F: Robert Copeland, Daniel Bradshaw, Mitch Clark
Foll: Jamie Charman, Luke Power, Jed Adcock
I/C: Tom Collier, Troy Selwood, Rhan Hooper, Matthew Leuenberger
EMG: Lachlan Henderson, Bradd Dalziell, Justin Sherman

In: Johnstone, Stiller, Leuenberger
Out: James Polkinghorne, Justin Sherman, Joel Macdonald (ankle)

bombersno1
10 Jul 2008, 18:49
Reimers on Black would be good to see. I'd rather Peverill not play to be honest.

Pevers-Legend
10 Jul 2008, 18:51
We need to expose their weak tal backs - Merrett is good but mad, Patfull is serviceable -

This is the week I hope Scotty lifts as with Matty and Jay we will realy trouble them.

Pevers-Legend
10 Jul 2008, 18:51
I'd rather Peverill not play to be honest.

I agree - I would prefer to see players earn their spot in the firsts - hang on....:confused:

Pawtucket Patriot
10 Jul 2008, 18:55
Peverill on Black and Welsh on Power.

Monfries to play on Drummond and stop his run from defence (Macdonald is out this week).

d-mac3276
10 Jul 2008, 18:56
I would of had Hislop in for Pev for sure.
Plus Pears should b given time at some stage.

retroparty
10 Jul 2008, 18:58
I hope Jetta plays well again this week. He was awesome against Freo. There defence will leak heaps of goals if he continues his form.

Back luck to Myers, I hope he has a speedy recovery.

d-mac3276
10 Jul 2008, 18:58
Peverill on Black and Welsh on Power.

Monfries to play on Drummond and stop his run from defence (Macdonald is out this week).
Nah other way around Pev on Power and Welsh on Black.

Pawtucket Patriot
10 Jul 2008, 18:59
Nah other way around Pev on Power and Welsh on Black.

I was thinking the same thing, but I was worried that Power may have too much pace for Pev.

S.C[BANKS]
10 Jul 2008, 19:03
Reimers on Black would be good to see. I'd rather Peverill not play to be honest.

I don't think we want Black shattering records on Saturday night. ;)

The Dustbin
10 Jul 2008, 19:22
I'd be happy for Jobe to go head to head with Black. Woosha can take Power. :thumbsu:

pazza
10 Jul 2008, 19:37
It's the Johnstone inclusion..a very good one for them given he has gotten better since making the move, that leads me to thinking that Peverill has got that job.

hulld
10 Jul 2008, 19:49
peverill playing is a bad move. achieves nothing. welsh will play on black.

pears should of been brought in to cover their tall forwards. if they have bradshaw and brown with Clark and a resting ruckman we are going to be stretched. we dont want to play lazycock in the defence again. pears would of been a good choice with clark and then nat-rat on brennan.

Ben the Gooner
10 Jul 2008, 20:05
I'm worried about the backline:

Fletch -> Brown
Ryder -> Bradshaw
NLM -> Brennan
??? -> Clark

They may change, but the fact is, we're a key defender short. Laycock? Lucas? Neagle? I'm struggling.

The Dustbin
10 Jul 2008, 20:19

Fletch -> Brown
Ryder -> Bradshaw
NLM -> Brennan
??? -> Clark

They may change, but the fact is, we're a key defender short. Laycock? Lucas? Neagle? I'm struggling.

Likewise. I'm hoping Brennan spends more time on the ball or in defence. Clark is going to stretch us no doubt.

NLM will have to play tall on Clark.

Big Scottknowsall
10 Jul 2008, 20:21
I hope Jetta plays well again this week. He was awesome against Freo. There defence will leak heaps of goals if he continues his form.

Back luck to Myers, I hope he has a speedy recovery.

We'll need top get him off the wing that's for sure....deep in the forward line is the only safe place for Leroy at this stage.

cAsEy_18
10 Jul 2008, 20:21
Nash to Brennan perhaps? Not a great defensive side of his game, but neither does Brennan, could hurt him on the rebound. Would be a risk, just depends which player could hurt the other side more, Brennan or Nash.

The Dustbin
10 Jul 2008, 20:26
Just quietly I'm not sure why I'm worried about our defence, Bris will have the same problem (Match up)....

Merrett - Lucas
Brennan?? - Lloyd
Patful?? - Neagle
Hille/Laycock??

I've started praying already that Laycock can take a few grabs inside 50.

Darealrath
10 Jul 2008, 22:04
Good to see changes to a minimum. Pev wasn't bad vs Freo.

Jobe vs Black (who is troubled with osteitis), Welsh on Power and Pev on Johnstone.

I think we'll get up. Neagle could have his best game yet if they are too conscious of Lloyd and Lucas.

daniher dynasty
10 Jul 2008, 22:23
Picking Pev puts the lie to any suggstion Knights has given up on the 8. No other reason to persist with him at this stage. Although a long way from being a Dyson fan I would have persisted with him. He is one of those who I think needs to be played for at least 5-6 games on the trot. Need to know when the time comes that if we trade /delist that he cant say didn't have a chance to show his wares.

bipolarbeaR
10 Jul 2008, 22:35
I to am worried about our backline to be honest. Pears needs more games! GET HIM ON :)

Windas_Magic
10 Jul 2008, 22:38
I to am worried about our backline to be honest. Pears needs more games! GET HIM ON :)
Pears wouldn't make much of a difference and personally i don't think his Bendigo game warranted a game anyway

Ricky
11 Jul 2008, 08:22
I was thinking the same thing, but I was worried that Power may have too much pace for Pev.
Welsh ain't the quickest athlete either

Smyth94
11 Jul 2008, 09:00
Neagle could have his best game yet if they are too conscious of Lloyd and Lucas.

I would love to see "Neagz" kick 4-5 goals (or more); he's definitely got the talent

essendon2008
11 Jul 2008, 09:15
Just quietly I'm not sure why I'm worried about our defence, Bris will have the same problem (Match up)....

Merrett - Lucas
Brennan?? - Lloyd
Patful?? - Neagle
Hille/Laycock??

I've started praying already that Laycock can take a few grabs inside 50.

If ever Laycock was to really stand up the time and opportunity is this game. As you say their defense is stretched and Laycock has pretty good hands and is a great set shot so let's hope he takes a few grabs and kicks a few goals :thumbsu:

NC23
11 Jul 2008, 09:52
Who is Andrew Welsh most likely to tag between Johnstone, Black and Power?

Phat Toni
11 Jul 2008, 10:05
Pears wouldn't make much of a difference and personally i don't think his Bendigo game warranted a game anyway

THANKYOU..... I've been watching all these post about Pears should be in etc... etc.... but watching the game last week V Port he definatly didn't deserve a recall this week. Make them earn their sports in the team, if we just give away spots then we will just end up like the Tigers and be pittiful for multiple decades.

I have nothing against the kid, hope he plays well this weekend V the Bullants and gets an opportunity to play in the 1st next week.

Ben the Gooner
11 Jul 2008, 10:48
Still very worried about their forwardline.

Fletcher, Ryder -> Bradshaw, Brown. Pretty self explanatory.
Slattery -> Hooper. Ditto
NLM -> Clark? Don't really like that much.
Nash -> Brennan? Not really
Welsh -> Brennan? Need him tagging
McPhee -> Brennan? Prefer him forward
Laycock -> Clark? Prefer him forward.

Not sure what we're going to do.

TheDon35
11 Jul 2008, 11:01
Who is Andrew Welsh most likely to tag between Johnstone, Black and Power?

Will get Black.

This is a dissapointing selection for mine.

Pev' is a backward choice. Hislop and Hocking both ready to go by all reports. Will get bashed for this but also not excited about Slattery and his reputation seems to have jumped a couple of notches as a player because of the Fev incident. Still an ordinary player that IMO won't become a good AFL player.

Would also liked to have seen Pears.

Rama another who dispite doing a few good things of late, i'd like to see move over for one of the kids. (will get bashed for that as well)

Merv
11 Jul 2008, 11:37
Will get Black.

Pev' is a backward choice. Hislop and Hocking both ready to go by all reports. Will get bashed for this but also not excited about Slattery and his reputation seems to have jumped a couple of notches as a player because of the Fev incident. Still an ordinary player that IMO won't become a good AFL player.

Rama another who dispite doing a few good things of late, i'd like to see move over for one of the kids. (will get bashed for that as well)

What reports do you read?

Hislop is injured and and Hocking has missed the whole year so far and played about a half of VFL and he is ready to go?

Longy413
11 Jul 2008, 12:09
Pev was better last week than Scott Lucas...

He earnt his spot.

StealthBomber
11 Jul 2008, 13:43
I think the changes are accuralety reflecting each individuals performances based on their merits.

Dyson - obvious ommission. For a midfielder he did nothing against Freo consdiering a big ground would have suited his run and carry style.
Peverill did enough to keep his spot, still a serviceable tagger and will definately be required against either Power, Black, Johnstone.
Slattery has come into BETTER from before the Fev collsion, so he coms back in.
Laycock, well....better get better or he'll be dropped, making Hille's life harder!!

I take it Houli is still injured, Merv you mentioned Hislop was injured...Was that during the game last week because from memory I watched the 2nd quarter and he was playing. Did he get injured in the second half or during training?

High Ryder
11 Jul 2008, 13:48
Pev was better last week than Scott Lucas...

He earnt his spot.That would have to of been close to Lucas' worst ever game so its not saying much to be honest...

Ricky
11 Jul 2008, 14:20
That would have to of been close to Lucas' worst ever game so its not saying much to be honest...
if he didnt kick that goal at the end we would of lost :p:p:p

but yeah probably was he worst game for the club

Longy413
11 Jul 2008, 14:28
That would have to of been close to Lucas' worst ever game so its not saying much to be honest...

Sorry, probably didn't make my point clear enough.

People want Pev out of the side and the primary reason for the is because he's taking the spot of a kid, but he's earnt his spot. His form at Bendigo and his game against Fremantle was worthy of him getting a game this week.

Yet Scott Lucas has put in a string of stinkers and no one is questioning his spot or suggesting he should make room for someone like Cale Hooker.

It's interesting to see the view some people take on certain players and how some players tend to get away with a lot more.

High Ryder
11 Jul 2008, 14:33

People want Pev out of the side and the primary reason for the is because he's taking the spot of a kid, but he's earnt his spot. His form at Bendigo and his game against Fremantle was worthy of him getting a game this week.

Yet Scott Lucas has put in a string of stinkers and no one is questioning his spot or suggesting he should make room for someone like Cale Hooker.

It's interesting to see the view some people take on certain players and how some players tend to get away with a lot more.Difference being that Scott has been an absolute superstar player for us, Peveril has always just been an average and role-player for us. I know you are not suggesting we drop Lucas but Pevas much as i admire himm, it would make very little difference if he played or not. Lucas can change the outcome of the game at his best.

Longy413
11 Jul 2008, 14:46
Difference being that Scott has been an absolute superstar player for us, Peveril has always just been an average and role-player for us. I know you are not suggesting we drop Lucas but Pevas much as i admire himm, it would make very little difference if he played or not. Lucas can change the outcome of the game at his best.

Reputation should not come into selection, ever.

If you want to set an example to players that hard work, dedication and good form gets you a game at AFL level, then Pev's inclusion is the right one.

High Ryder
11 Jul 2008, 14:50
Reputation should not come into selection, ever.

If you want to set an example to players that hard work, dedication and good form gets you a game at AFL level, then Pev's inclusion is the right one.
Not disagreeing with that but it does happen.

marcuz
11 Jul 2008, 15:11
Pev is just keeping the spot warm for a match fit Hocking or Hislop. Until then he's servicable.

eth-dog
11 Jul 2008, 16:55
Will get Black.

despite beating some class small forwards? he's beaten a lot of very good small forwards in the past month

Ben the Gooner
11 Jul 2008, 17:38
Will get bashed for this but also not excited about Slattery and his reputation seems to have jumped a couple of notches as a player because of the Fev incident

I can understand people who have reservations about Slats, but saying that his standing has increased because of the Fev incident is nonsense. He had a very good month prior to that.

WindyHillWatcher
11 Jul 2008, 18:10
Pev was fantastic against the dockers. added a lot of experience, grunt and in and under type stuff. Earned his place. Hey man, i'm all for playing the kids too, but the kids also need that kind of expertise around and it's no secret that our midfield is rather shabby.

TheDon35
11 Jul 2008, 19:02
What reports do you read?

Hislop is injured and and Hocking has missed the whole year so far and played about a half of VFL and he is ready to go?

Geez sorry mate, don't sit on the net all day every day reading every report on every site. what's wrong with Hislop? Wasn't on the bombers website injury list.

I must be an idiot!

TheDon35
11 Jul 2008, 19:07

It's interesting to see the view some people take on certain players and how some players tend to get away with a lot more.

Firsty, putting Lucas in the same catagory as Pev' is ignorant at best.

Secondly, My point was that there's ready made replacements for Pev - Hiss, Hocking, Pears - though doesn't play the same roll.

To suggest that Cale Hooker replacing Scott Lucas is akin to Tom Hislop replacing Damian Peverill is insane!

Pevers-Legend
11 Jul 2008, 19:26
Geez sorry mate, don't sit on the net all day every day reading every report on every site. what's wrong with Hislop? Wasn't on the bombers website injury list.

I must be an idiot!

That or lazy. If you checked the Essendon website you would see the Bendigo team minus Hislop. And as Merv said - Hocking has missed the whole season - a game or two will not cut it fitness wise.

S.C[BANKS]
11 Jul 2008, 19:30

I must be an idiot!

I think he hurt himself in training. Went limping mid-way on the session.

Dude_01
11 Jul 2008, 19:44

Fletch -> Brown
Ryder -> Bradshaw
NLM -> Brennan
??? -> Clark

injury prone Courtney Dempsey.. but his injured :(

TheDon35
12 Jul 2008, 09:06
That or lazy. If you checked the Essendon website you would see the Bendigo team minus Hislop. And as Merv said - Hocking has missed the whole season - a game or two will not cut it fitness wise.

Ha ha. Tool.

Yea i'm lazy because I take the updated injury list from the bombers website as being close to right.

MilhouseVanJohn
12 Jul 2008, 11:19
Pev has niether the pace, nor the skills to play modern AFL footy...does well at VFL level...but so do a lot of players who aren't quite good enough.
When Pev first started as a hard tagger and nothing else, he was effective, largely because his poor skills, and even worse decision making weren't exposed coz most of his touches were in close.
The last 4 years there would not be many AFL sides that would've given him a game.
Finally we've got a vibrant midfield, with a lot more flexibility and a very different structure to what we've had in the last few years, and people are suggesting they want Pev in there? Some even seem to think it's a good idea to have both Pev and Slattery in there. Wow.

Ben the Gooner
12 Jul 2008, 12:57
Slats hasn't played in the midfield for a long time, and despite what people say about him, he's our best small, shut-down, defender. Not sure what relevance he's got to Pev.