I/C: Anderson, Edwards, Grigg, Russell
EMG: Pfeiffer, O'hAilpin, Walker

IN: Judd
OUT: O'hAilpin

CHBench
10 Jul 2008, 18:40
Gee hasn't that forward line changed.
No Gards. :(
Good to see they kept the faith in Eddy, McQualter, Allen etc. :)

SaintsSeptember
10 Jul 2008, 18:44
Whats with Fiora always getting into the emergency list?
Geary/Birss/Baker all named for doing good stuff with Casey and they pick Fiora.

TassieSaint
10 Jul 2008, 18:44
Lennnnnnnnnnnny! Dissappointing to see no Gardiner or even Bakes, X or Schneider, but Lenny in should be enough to get us over the line.

gta007
10 Jul 2008, 18:46
With Charlie out, we may see more of Allen up forward.

Nice to have Lenny back too - he was on track for 64 possies before he got injured. :D

Persevering Saint
10 Jul 2008, 18:52
After all the fluff we'd heard about Bakes, Xav, Gardiner, sheesh...!

I find that a rather frustratingly boring team announcement. Still, if we beat the Bags, I don't mind.

Look2Me4Guidance
10 Jul 2008, 18:56
Very good.

Disappointed Michael Gardiner hasn't come up, but it's good to finally have some sort of settled lineup.

SaintsSeptember
10 Jul 2008, 18:56
After all the fluff we'd heard about Bakes, Xav, Gardiner, sheesh...!

I find that a rather frustratingly boring team announcement. Still, if we beat the Bags, I don't mind.
Everything Lyon releases to the Media is complete hogwash!
In particular injuries are always played down ( Lenny would have come back on if it was a final! then he misses the following week. )

Armitage2Riewoldt
10 Jul 2008, 19:06
Har.

Our forward line is composed of 4 midfielders and 2 forwards.

Carltons backline is composed of 3 midfielders and 3 backmen.

So much for positions on a team sheet meaning anything these days, they just don't have enough room to put the midfielders in there.

Unfortunate MG didnt come up, woulda raped Carlton in the ruck if he had, hopefully King and Kosi can do enough though.

Squizzy1970
10 Jul 2008, 19:10
Will watch to see the Casey team with interest.

Obviously they think Blake can handle Cloke/Kreuzer with Kingy.

I would have preferred to try to get the full advantage with Gardi as the Blues have a good on-ball division. Maybe not the Mosquito Fleet but making me feel a little itchy.

TassieSaint
10 Jul 2008, 19:23
Arthritis or not, I hope we sneak Gehrig into the forward pocket in a Jarryd Allen suit, and then just when Carlton least expect it... SUPRISE MOTHER####ERS IT'S THE G-TRAIN!!! All 22 Carlton players would simoultaneusly shit their pants (coincedentally making Gibbsy feel a bit better about soiling his daks when he saw Milney doing his warm ups) and Gehrig would probably kick a bag of 10 thus retiring a hero :thumbsu:

Squizzy1970
10 Jul 2008, 19:34
The Blues were onto that Tassie, and got Setanta O'Palpitating the hell out of the side.

beejay
10 Jul 2008, 19:47
yeh very interesting to hear during the week that gardiner will be right and fit so obviously that wasnt the case but lenny was good inclusion although i think by taking out charlie bit more pressure on the forwards. and i dont think blake will be rucking (although he could probably beat cloke and kreuzer anyway) but kozi will prob team up and allen will have to step up and kick a few up forward.

Hopefully we can get the win good to see some stability but would of loved to see the x man back and schneids but think wise idea throwing them in the vfl get some match fitness dont want them breaking down in an important part of the yr.

Fehring
10 Jul 2008, 20:13
The longer our winning streak, the closer to our next loss to Carlton. Makes me very nervous. Disappointing that gardi didn't come back in b/c I was hoping we'd just leave Kosi at FF and he'd play the G Train role.

Still, good to see that our five senior players don't just waltz back in. I hope a few of them are playing for Casey.

CHBench
10 Jul 2008, 20:51
MGardiner, Schneider and Baker all playing for Casey. Surprised Gardiner wasn't selected, perhaps due to wet and greasy conditions? Schneider would've of been handy, provide another option.

Blueinblood
10 Jul 2008, 20:55
Rumours on 3aw Sen and Saintsational that Max wont play

CHBench
10 Jul 2008, 20:56
####ing fantastic.:thumbsd:

Armitage2Riewoldt
10 Jul 2008, 21:01
We'll lose without Max, no doubt about it.

Lets hope they're just rumours.

I think the rumour started from Max being the only one to not turn up to the clinic the other day. Lets just hope theres some other reason as to why he wasnt there...

St Specky
10 Jul 2008, 21:21
If Max is injured we're stuffed.

Didn't Lyon confirm M.Gardiner? Not good. Also why isn't Big Mac an emergency? Better to be on the safe side especially when Fiora is there.

Sainters66
10 Jul 2008, 21:40
[quote=Squizzy1970;11664037]Will watch to see the Casey team with interest.

Obviously they think Blake can handle Cloke/Kreuzer with Kingy.[/I]

Blake hasn't been rucking for ages.............Just staing a fact.

It just gives me the irrates that you saints bloggers can't get your facts right or do you all think Allan Jeans is still our coach!!!!!!

makemytime
10 Jul 2008, 22:28
whos gonna take chris judd...?! i wonder if ross lyon will try mcqualter again

Blueinblood
10 Jul 2008, 22:31
Couple of sites and stations: Max Out

bipolarbeaR
10 Jul 2008, 22:39
HOPE YOU SAINTERS BEAT THE PANTS OFF THEM! I will be at the game :)

ChrisFooty
10 Jul 2008, 23:58
Not a bad thing at all. Baker, Gardiner, X.Clarke and Schender really do need to play VFL and perform well. We have fallen for the trap of selecting players on reputation rather than form and fitness.

Lenny Hayes was in super form in his last match and did not have a major injury.

Charlie Gardiner was the obvious drop (two poor games in a row)

Fringe players like Gwilt, McQualter, Allen and Eddy all have the chance to show their worth on the big Friday night stage.

ChrisFooty
11 Jul 2008, 00:01
I hope Armitage gets 75% game time (rather than the 47% for 14 possessions against the Kangaroos)

dg102
11 Jul 2008, 00:57
Armo's gonna be an absolute gun. I cant wait. Check out who was ontop of him in the 06 draft. I think we did quite well picking him, looking at it 2 years on. Selwood would have to be the pick of the bunch.

2006 1 Bryce Gibbs Carlton 2006 2 Scott Gumbleton Essendon 2006 3 Lachlan Hansen Kangaroos 2006 4 Matthew Leuenberger Brisbane 2006 5 Travis Boak Port Adelaide 2006 6 Mitchell Thorp Hawthorn 2006 7 Joel Selwood Geelong 2006 8 Ben Reid Collingwood 2006 9 David Armitage St Kilda
2006 27 Brad Howard St Kilda 2006 59 Jarryd Allen St Kilda

Armitage2Riewoldt
11 Jul 2008, 01:06
My man Armo. :)

We'd easy be able to rock up and get tix at the gate tomoz yeah? What time do you reckon we should get there to make sure we're in our seats before the first siren?

Although I could buy em now and we could get in on kids tix. :D

Blueinblood
11 Jul 2008, 01:17
U can get seats on level 1 and level 4 i wouldnt leave it later than 30 mins before you are buying tickets...... dont go to the first ticket place u see as thats where evryone will go...just walk 50 meters and your time waiting in cue will be substantially less

Sir Robert
11 Jul 2008, 09:56
I hope Kosi cannons into Squibbs and he cries!

If Max is out then hopefully S Fish can get the job done on Fev. Else trouble!

Also disappointed we didn't bring back Schneider at the least! Weather might not be favourable to play both M Gardiner and King.

The Punter
11 Jul 2008, 10:04
Casey team for tomorrow

B Taylor Silvagni McDonald
HB Garrubba Wall L. Fisher
C Fiora Baker R. Clarke
HF Parker C. Gardiner Schneider
F Dunne Ferguson Rix
R M. Gardiner Birss Geary
Int McEvoy Panozza Steven Howard Mercoulia Matthews O'Bryan Campbell

Only 12 of these will play as Tasmania are stand alone. M Gardiner, Baker & Schneider all named, X Clarke still unavailable.

Blake is settled at CHB and Carlton don't really have a CHF. We need Max to be fit to take Fevola, as he consistently beats him. C Gardiner will probably get the reprieve is Max doesn't come up.

Squizzy1970
11 Jul 2008, 10:29

It just gives me the irrates that you saints bloggers can't get your facts right or do you all think Allan Jeans is still our coach!!!!!!

Blake rucked against Essendon (this year). Wouldn't surprise that he rucks against Kruezer. We keep to keep Kosi at FF to preserve our structure.

You've watched all the games?

SaintsSeptember
11 Jul 2008, 12:33
The thing is, If Max missed a training session early in the week, and was in doubt, how did our master genius supercoacch come up with his emergency list, or is Fiora going to take Fevola?
I would have thought that Birss or even Geary or Fergason would be better to fill in the back line? Maybe the idea is for Schneider to go in the forward line and Allen to play back.

Blueinblood
11 Jul 2008, 12:54
SAm fisher!?

Squizzy1970
11 Jul 2008, 13:01
Yes.

Sam F would get Fev, Gilbo would get Fisher, and Blake on Kruezer. Is there another tall? I know Wiggins is good overhead, but I'd prefer BJ and Gram up-field (that's why Max is crucial aside from the fact he is capable of containing Fev).

Sir Robert
11 Jul 2008, 13:45
Yes.

Sam F would get Fev, Gilbo would get Fisher, and Blake on Kruezer. Is there another tall? I know Wiggins is good overhead, but I'd prefer BJ and Gram up-field (that's why Max is crucial aside from the fact he is capable of containing Fev).

I actually thought Dempster would be our best match up on Fisher (the Carlton one). He is over 190cm and I'm pretty sure Fisher isn't a big KPP himself. Just got a good tank and manages to lose his opponent (holding opponents is usually Dempsters strength).

Alpha1
11 Jul 2008, 13:58
Good luck guys hope we can get a big crowd and may the best team win. I have a feeling it will be a close game tonight and looks like the weather isnt going to be too bad with no rain on the horizon. Massive game for both clubs with big in's for both as well.

Blueinblood
11 Jul 2008, 14:12
Can soeone please list what ur likely front 6 will be tonight

thegoldenbear
11 Jul 2008, 14:32
Is that right about Max not playing?
Betting suggests otherwise - Saint's price winding in ATM.
Usually the punters have their finger on the pulse.

Blueinblood
11 Jul 2008, 14:46
Im confused..will he play or not

Look2Me4Guidance
11 Jul 2008, 14:56
Im confused..will he play or not

You're not confused....you're desperately hoping he won't play!!!!!!!!

Even if Max doesn't suit up I still think the Saints will get the job done. Fev kicked the lazy 7 against the Dons and the Dons still won by 6 goals.

Don't be surprised if Gwilt goes to Fevola in Max's absence as he did last year.

A lot will depend on the weather as it may be a tough night for big marking forwards.

Dempster to take Betts for mine.

Who from Carlton will play on Milne???

Blueinblood
11 Jul 2008, 15:31
Of course i dont want him to play althoguh then it gives u an excuse in the unlikely event of us winning but im confused to weather he is or isnt playing

Rough_Edges
11 Jul 2008, 15:32
Max the onyl player not to train on wednesday.

Blueinblood
11 Jul 2008, 15:33
I would say Carrazzo Browne or Anderson. Carrazzo would probably start on him. Scotland would be a last resort as we need his run of HB. Thronton on KOSI waite on Reiwoldt and Jamison on medium sized forward.

Blueinblood
11 Jul 2008, 15:33
Source Rough Edges

Squizzy1970
11 Jul 2008, 15:50
I actually thought Dempster would be our best match up on Fisher (the Carlton one). He is over 190cm and I'm pretty sure Fisher isn't a big KPP himself. Just got a good tank and manages to lose his opponent (holding opponents is usually Dempsters strength).

Wiggins and Fisher "play tall", which Dempster doesn't do (even though he is 192cm). Agree with LTM4G (Betts).

bigange
11 Jul 2008, 16:09
So no one knows if Hudghton is playing or not??

Looking at the betting markets, as thegoldenbear suggets, it seems as though he will be playing as the Saints continue to firm in.

Armitage2Riewoldt
11 Jul 2008, 16:30
He's been named and there's been nothing but rumours with their only source being he didnt train on Friday. And that wasn't even a proper training session I dont think, it was a clinic for kids wasn't it?

I'd say he's playing. If he's not, it will be a very late change.

Blueinblood
11 Jul 2008, 17:05
Didnt train on wednesday or friday

Armitage2Riewoldt
11 Jul 2008, 17:21
We had training today? I somehow doubt that?

Blueinblood
11 Jul 2008, 17:29
thursday****

also rumours going round on blues board that Kruezer has dislocated his shoulder.
Hampson will come in if that is the case

Persevering Saint
11 Jul 2008, 17:52
In all seriousness, that would be a real shame if Kreuzer wasn't in. I hate to see any player injured, and I think it'd be great to see a young firebrand up against an old master like Kingy, "Come, let me show you the true way, Grasshopper..." (slot in L2M4G's avatar at this point...)

Squizzy1970
11 Jul 2008, 17:59
I'm always happy for other team's players to have one week injuries when they are playing us (never want to see long term stuff although if Alan Didak had a punctured testicle or uncontrolled diahorrea I wouldn't mind). But we've (almost every week) come up against teams with players coming back or teams with no injuries.

Look2Me4Guidance
11 Jul 2008, 18:09
In all seriousness, that would be a real shame if Kreuzer wasn't in. I hate to see any player injured, and I think it'd be great to see a young firebrand up against an old master like Kingy, "Come, let me show you the true way, Grasshopper..." (slot in L2M4G's avatar at this point...)

About time my avatar got some props!!!!

Big game tonight.....I'll be heading in shortly.

GET UP EM YOU MIGHTY SAINTERS!!!!!!!!!

Armitage2Riewoldt
11 Jul 2008, 18:16
I live around Moorabbin, little bit more south. When do you think we should leave to get there before the first bounce?

I read on SS there's gonna be limited parking, but my dad doesn't wanna take the train. If we were on our way by 6.30 at the latest we should make it yeah? Should leave closer to 6 or 10 past 6 though.

Hope everyone gets there, should be a great game. And we need our fans out in force to show we can pull big crowds.

Squizzy1970
11 Jul 2008, 18:20
About time my avatar got some props!!!!

Still looks like a chicken in a chinese restaurant window :D

Persevering Saint
11 Jul 2008, 18:59
Dude, I'd go by 6, just to be on the safe side. I used to live in Highett, so.

Actually, my suggestion is if you can, take the train to Richmond.

Armitage2Riewoldt
12 Jul 2008, 00:47
Dude, I'd go by 6, just to be on the safe side. I used to live in Highett, so.

Actually, my suggestion is if you can, take the train to Richmond.

Left at 10 past 6, Had Hungry Jacks. Got past Southland at 6.30...

Got to the ground at 7.20.

Unbelievable run in.

Persevering Saint
12 Jul 2008, 02:13
left At 10 Past 6, Had Hungry Jacks. Got Past Southland At 6.30...

Got To The Ground At 7.20.

Unbelievable Run In.
Dude!

goodie23
12 Jul 2008, 02:19
I live around Moorabbin, little bit more south. When do you think we should leave to get there before the first bounce?

I read on SS there's gonna be limited parking, but my dad doesn't wanna take the train. If we were on our way by 6.30 at the latest we should make it yeah? Should leave closer to 6 or 10 past 6 though.

Hope everyone gets there, should be a great game. And we need our fans out in force to show we can pull big crowds.
Really? No power on this earth would make me drive to the G or Phone Dome

Look2Me4Guidance
13 Jul 2008, 16:04
Left at 10 past 6, Had Hungry Jacks. Got past Southland at 6.30...

Got to the ground at 7.20.

Unbelievable run in.

You freak.

I left Keilor just before 6 and by the time I got a car park (17 suburbs away!!!!) I reckon it was close to 7.20 by the time I took my seat. Cheeeeeeez!

Did you Whopper up or go a Bacon Deluxe?

Armitage2Riewoldt
13 Jul 2008, 16:25
Whopper mate, just a regular size meal though, didn't want to take too long. ;)

Haha, yeah I dunno. We didnt run into any traffic until basically down the end of Punt Road Hill. Spent maybe 20 minutes travelling a couple k's lol.

Not sure how we managed it. Maybe just got lucky with timing and found a car park easy.

Look2Me4Guidance
13 Jul 2008, 16:53
Whopper mate, just a regular size meal though, didn't want to take too long. ;)

Haha, yeah I dunno. We didnt run into any traffic until basically down the end of Punt Road Hill. Spent maybe 20 minutes travelling a couple k's lol.

Not sure how we managed it. Maybe just got lucky with timing and found a car park easy.

Just weaving through the heavy stuff Robert Harvey style!

Squizzy1970
20 Jul 2008, 18:45

Hmmmm... :rolleyes: