In: Peake
Out: Head (Ear infection)

poshman
12 Jul 2008, 15:03
For those of us without TV/aren't at the game

In: Peake
Out: Head (Ear infection)

spewing.

also they are just showing on tv, the last five rounds for the cats, ave win margin 11 goals:eek: ave 19 more inside fifties:eek:

maybe i should have just posted :eek::eek:

if we get anywhere close I will be stoked.

Reveler
12 Jul 2008, 15:04
shit aye!

this game is making me nervous, I'm expecting to get flogged..

Bradesmaen
12 Jul 2008, 15:06
Too bad we couldn't get a heap of sumos in the team, stack them up like a pyramid infront of geelongs goal and block it up :D

Freo1995
12 Jul 2008, 15:09
I would seriously laugh if we won, and then get intoxicated lol

bomba4eva
12 Jul 2008, 15:11
Have no idea why but I have a gut feeling that this match wont be the complete walkover that everyone is predicting....hope it is a good game.

Good luck:thumbsu:

Reveler
12 Jul 2008, 15:14
fumble central at the moment.

Reveler
12 Jul 2008, 15:17
ablett is such a girl, complaing already...

grover and McPharlin read each other well don't they...

Bradesmaen
12 Jul 2008, 15:19
ablett is such a girl, complaing already...

grover and McPharlin read each other well don't they...
don't disrespect the opponent. Ablett is a champion.

Reveler
12 Jul 2008, 15:23
don't disrespect the opponent. Ablett is a champion.

no doubt he is a fantastic player, but really spending the first 5 minutes of the game complaining to the umps isn't the sign of a "champion" hopefully he lifts his game because he is good to watch..

Bradesmaen
12 Jul 2008, 15:25
no doubt he is a fantastic player, but really spending the first 5 minutes of the game complaining to the umps isn't the sign of a "champion" hopefully he lifts his game because he is good to watch..
Never saw King Carey or any of those players did you then :rolleyes:

E Shed
12 Jul 2008, 15:48
Good start. Smart gameplan. Shame we conceded 2 late ones. Ruined all the early good work.

poshman
12 Jul 2008, 15:49
most annoying things in order:

1. walls - calling it one way as far as aggression is concerned!

2. we gave away a stupid late goal again

2. missed some good opportunities.

4. did i mention that clown walls? going to have to turn the sound down i think.

poshman
12 Jul 2008, 16:03
oh dear, here comes the pain:eek:

Latro
12 Jul 2008, 16:04
Cahnnel Ten make Dwayne Russell look competent.

curry23
12 Jul 2008, 16:08
Is it just me or is Steve Johnson the most overrated thing on the planet?

cats2rise
12 Jul 2008, 16:10
Its just you.

wirra44
12 Jul 2008, 16:11
Even know you guys are losing i think your aggression to the footy is awesome, you guys are really going at it, and making geelong look like little girls. Great play fellers 1st qtr one of the most exciting qtrs of footy ive watched.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

curry23
12 Jul 2008, 16:13
Its just you.
Not im sure its not me

E Shed
12 Jul 2008, 16:15
This is just embarrassing. Where is our forward line? THere is nothing there going forward. Nothing. Where are they? Are they hiding?

Lach72
12 Jul 2008, 16:19
Geez we're just very bad aren't we? :D

Horrible

Reveler
12 Jul 2008, 16:20
IF we had any sort of skills then Harvey's game plan would work. We win the hardball then butcher it.

Time to get rid of those unskilled players who can't kick for crap.

wirra44
12 Jul 2008, 16:20
Cameron Ling possible fractured cheek bone:eek:

curry23
12 Jul 2008, 16:21
IF we had any sort of skills then Harvey's game plan would work. We win the hardball then butcher it.

Time to get rid of those unskilled players who can't kick for crap.
*coughThorntoncough* :D

E Shed
12 Jul 2008, 16:23
Truly awful.

Crowley, Dodd, Grover, Schammer, Browne, Ibbo going ok.

I don't want to see Mark Johnson play for us again.
I'm afraid I think Farmer is finished. More bad than good now.

As for Tarrant honestly what's the point if he can't kick straight when it counts, ever.

pinkus maximus
12 Jul 2008, 16:24
if solly wants to be part of the leadership group then he has to stop having these brain farts

hope he doesnt turn into another heath black

Memories
12 Jul 2008, 16:25
You guys are seriously criticizing our team? Look who we have out there, they are trying their best but are under a lot of pressure. Least the game is entertaining, no one thought we were going to win.

Though with ablet and ling down... we might be in with a chance.

Freo Shark
12 Jul 2008, 16:26
As for Tarrant honestly what's the point if he can't kick straight when it counts, ever.

For what positives he provides kicking towards the 50m. His goal kicking is absolute carp for a supposed professional.

E Shed
12 Jul 2008, 16:27
Who is supposed to leading up to get the ball coming through the midfield into the forward line? It's just a gaping black hole.

Brumbies
12 Jul 2008, 16:29
if solly wants to be part of the leadership group then he has to stop having these brain farts

hope he doesnt turn into another heath black

Nope no chance black is just well just and Solly is just hard at the ball and the man thats his game and he aint gonna change always been like it and to be honest he does it well. He just constantly plays the game on the border of legal and illegal.
Just before the ling thing did u see his hit on Mooney and then got the ball from it.

freocuz
Too many turnovers from kicks. We need to get smarter and use more handball when going forward into the breeze. The kicks are being easily read by the Geelong backs.

Freo1995
Solomon's high contact on Ling
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=msrfeVpJuUs

TOA.
12 Jul 2008, 16:30
Geez you guys are treading a very fine line. Soloman obviously gone but 2-3 other incidents probably wont quite be reportable mainly because the impact didnt have the desired effect (Carr, Johnson etc). I mean kneeing and kicking players is pretty low.

Oh and Josh Head screwed my DT. Ear infection? Please. Hopefully he plays next week. Has there been a game where Harvey has not made a late change. Every week without fail.

curry23
12 Jul 2008, 16:33
Mayne has been good again:thumbsu:

dockers_bengals
12 Jul 2008, 16:34
Match review panel will be busy.Sollies,the one against Tarrant and the player who hit Palmer when he was on the ground and thats so far.
Oh and Crowls for putting his foot under Abletts to hurt his ankle:D
Interesting how the Cats went the man when we where never going to be so agressive as last time.
Agree on Abletts sooking,has had nothing done to him thats not done to any other player.
Walls reckons Freo came out very aggressive,even over the top,I hope he watches at the game the second half.Tool:rolleyes:

Freo Shark
12 Jul 2008, 16:35
Bartels high hit on Palmer should be gone but wont be reported.

Rob
12 Jul 2008, 16:44
God this is death to watch.

Could someone in purple hit a f**king target?

You know your midfield is shithouse when Varcoe is getting clearances.

Bradesmaen
12 Jul 2008, 16:44
God Mark Maclure is a ####wit. I have to listen to ABC radio and he just won't stop bagging our young players.

Lach72
12 Jul 2008, 16:48
God awful...just shit.

Melbourne will pump us next week

pinkus maximus
12 Jul 2008, 16:50
im going to switch over to the abc and watch some wafl

should be better than this shit

Rob
12 Jul 2008, 16:50
Funny how most of the players out there that are still trying haven't been at the club more than 2 or 3 years.

Lach72
12 Jul 2008, 16:51
Mayne, Ibbo and Palmer still going well

curry23
12 Jul 2008, 16:53
Mayne, Ibbo and Palmer still going well
Palmer's been unusually quiet

Geoff
12 Jul 2008, 16:55
My highlights so far are Schammers extraordinary skill level and Scotty's defensive pressure. Outstanding !!

Lach72
12 Jul 2008, 16:55
Palmer doing well this quarter.

Pavlich has been very ordinary

curry23
12 Jul 2008, 16:58
Tazz has been good this quarter:thumbsu:

Geoff
12 Jul 2008, 16:58
My highlights so far are Schammers extraordinary skill level and Scotty's defensive pressure. Outstanding !!

Another highlight is our precision kicking to Tom Harley, hit him on the chest every time.

Lach72
12 Jul 2008, 16:59
Tarrant trying hard

DOCKER CLINT
12 Jul 2008, 17:00
The young blokes are doing OK. I think we finally have a nucleus to build on.

Shame about the blow out though, as soon as we were two goals down, it was always going to happen.

bomba4eva
12 Jul 2008, 17:01
Radio commentators having a crack at Palmer. Caught on to his inability to kick the ball properly. Being quite tough on him. They don't rate him at all.

Rob
12 Jul 2008, 17:02
Pav stopped trying halfway through the second quarter.

Even Tarrant looked like he couldn't give a shit if his opponent got the ball once it hit the ground.

Latro
12 Jul 2008, 17:03
Michael Johnson is as soft as Mundy. IF Mundy pulled out of a marking contest like Johnson did then There would be 5 pages on it already.

Geoff
12 Jul 2008, 17:04
Radio commentators having a crack at Palmer. Caught on to his inability to kick the ball properly. Being quite tough on him. They don't rate him at all.

Not a surprise. Melbourne media have never rated anything in purple.

Rob
12 Jul 2008, 17:10
Michael Johnson is as soft as Mundy. IF Mundy pulled out of a marking contest like Johnson did then There would be 5 pages on it already.

You see that last contest Mundy put up? Don't insult Johnno like that.

Lach72
12 Jul 2008, 17:13
You see that last contest Mundy put up? Don't insult Johnno like that.

That Wojninski one? That was awesome...way to be piss weak :thumbsu:

Latro
12 Jul 2008, 17:13
I didnt say Mundy wasnt soft. But he cops he a heap on here for it where Johnson is untouchable for some wierd reason.

DOCKER CLINT
12 Jul 2008, 17:23
Very disappointed in Johnno's progress as a player. really rated him a couple of years ago.

curry23
12 Jul 2008, 17:27
Anyone hear Walls say that Cloke and Roughead are bigger and stonger than Tarrant? What is he on?:confused:

gravy
Development at the club is piss poor.

Lach72
I didnt say Mundy wasnt soft. But he cops he a heap on here for it where Johnson is untouchable for some wierd reason.

Johnson is there with Peake as the worst hand baller I've seen :mad:

Lach72
12 Jul 2008, 17:31
UUUUUUUUUUUUurrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrggggggggggggggggghhhhhh hhhhh

gravy
12 Jul 2008, 17:32
This club is a rotten joke. #### it.

Rob
12 Jul 2008, 17:32
Now an interchange error. Looks like our steward is about as competent as the rest of the team.

DOCKER CLINT
12 Jul 2008, 17:33
Development at the club is piss poor.

There's something horribly wrong in this area. I just cant fathom how so many blokes can go backwards when they come to Freo.

DOCKER CLINT
12 Jul 2008, 17:34
I'm not sure what the point is in having a forward who cant kick for goal.

Lach72
12 Jul 2008, 17:34
They're not even trying now :o

Lach72
12 Jul 2008, 17:35
I'm not sure what the point is in having a forward who cant kick for goal.

and who would that be?

DOCKER CLINT
12 Jul 2008, 17:35

I think we should be the first team to say "**** it" and just walk off the ground.

Rob
12 Jul 2008, 17:37

You watching a 90 minute delayed telecast?

Lach72
12 Jul 2008, 17:39
They were just shit before...now they're shit and not trying

PalaceGun
12 Jul 2008, 17:41
There's something horribly wrong in this area. I just cant fathom how so many blokes can go backwards when they come to Freo.

and look what happens when they leave.

Medhurst is thumping the Crows today...

Kram81
12 Jul 2008, 17:42
We are shit.

gravy
12 Jul 2008, 17:42
We just have to accept that our club is rotten. And that's that.

Bradesmaen
12 Jul 2008, 17:43
and look what happens when they leave.

Medhurst is thumping the Crows today...
Yeah but it is the Crows.

DOCKER CLINT
12 Jul 2008, 17:43
and who would that be?

I didn't really narrow that one down eh.

DOCKER CLINT
12 Jul 2008, 17:45

I'm worried about being the next St Kilda. This is garbage..

I don't mind suffering through 14 years of crap if there's some hope at the end of it, but so far there's nothing.

Chops_a_must
12 Jul 2008, 17:46
Johnson is there with Peake as the worst hand baller I've seen :mad:
I was going to make a thread about that.

WTF is with it?

It seems his mind goes about 2 clicks slower than what the rest of the world runs at.

Rob
12 Jul 2008, 17:50
Not quite nothing, but when you lose like that playing blokes that are so obviously not going to be on the list next year, its morale sapping. O'Brien might have learned something, what's Thornton going to learn?

Memories
12 Jul 2008, 17:50
Without a decent midfield providing options our players have nowhere to put the ball. Quite simple.

wirra44
12 Jul 2008, 17:52
Well least you didnt get beaten by 135pts on subi. 70 odd at skilled is not the worst outcome.

freo grover
12 Jul 2008, 18:03
Totally shithouse!

Mayne, Ibbotson, Sandilands and Crowley had decent games. The rest were terrible.

After today I think we can safely assume that Farmer will not be playing next year. And why peake and thornton still get games is beyond me

Reveler
12 Jul 2008, 18:07
time to clean out some of the boys lockers.. put up a fight for a quarter then bend over and get reemed is just not acceptable

Memories
12 Jul 2008, 18:09
Double post

legitimatic
12 Jul 2008, 18:36
Not surprising, just don't understand how one week we can show heart and the next go to water so easily, pathetic to be honest.

Memories
12 Jul 2008, 18:42
Not surprising, just don't understand how one week we can show heart and the next go to water so easily, pathetic to be honest.

You think? It's called Essendon 2 weeks ago, Geelong today.

Not to mention Hayden our second best player not being there (though he missed 3 quarters last game too) and Peter Bell retiring.

legitimatic
12 Jul 2008, 18:48
That's what I meant, we showed heart and almost won with 2 players on the bench, if that, and today showed nothing at all, I don't give a damn about the opposition, today was heartless pure and simple.

bomba4eva
12 Jul 2008, 18:51
Gutless performance today by the Dockers. Sstupidly thought you'd put up a real fight today. Guess I was right in one sense:rolleyes:

You will probably have 3 picks in the top 20. Use them wisely.

mcwilrob
13 Jul 2008, 15:08

When your coach admits the game plan before the match is basically to rough up the opposition rather than focus on playing football and then one of your players (Solomon) commits one of the weakest acts you could see on a footy ground, :thumbsd: yes, there is something rotten going on... Big changes (including coach) look to be necessary?... :confused:

Chops_a_must
13 Jul 2008, 16:12
When your coach admits the game plan before the match is basically to rough up the opposition rather than focus on playing football and then one of your players (Solomon) commits one of the weakest acts you could see on a footy ground, :thumbsd: yes, there is something rotten going on... Big changes (including coach) look to be necessary?... :confused:
Oh piss off.

You would have to be blind not to have seen Geelong trying to square up with Crowley from the very beginning. And what was with him being booed right from the start?

And what is your opinion of Mooney taking a swing at Palmer pinned on the ground? Dog act much?

Apart from one act, there was absolutely nothing wrong in what we did.

PalaceGun
13 Jul 2008, 18:58

What about the act of giving up, I thought that was wrong...

Chops_a_must
13 Jul 2008, 19:11
In terms of the physicality everyone seems to be whining about. :rolleyes:

poshman
13 Jul 2008, 19:54
tarrant tried har i thought - palmer kept getting the ball, very good player, will be better next year (first game without bell) - mayne good - sandi good - crowls the same.

the rest need to do some depth perception training, and learn how to handpass firstly to the desired target and secondly into the actual path of the desired target! :mad:

Ripper
13 Jul 2008, 22:44

They didn't give up. They actually matched the Cats in contested possession (which contradict the only one team was playing the ball line) and promptly turned it over.

Agaist the Cats turnovers are killers.

The backline actually did well to restrict them to what they scored, despite the weight of ball coming in.

mcwilrob
14 Jul 2008, 02:56
Oh piss off.

You would have to be blind not to have seen Geelong trying to square up with Crowley from the very beginning. And what was with him being booed right from the start?

And what is your opinion of Mooney taking a swing at Palmer pinned on the ground? Dog act much?

Yeah, right. :rolleyes: Read this quoted directly from The Australian newspaper report following the game:

The Cats kept their eyes on the ball, put their heads over it, wore the physical punishment and won the ball.

In contrast, the clearly out-classed Dockers scragged their opponents; tagger Ryan Crowley attempted to rough up Gary Ablett; serial offender Josh Carr, who was outed for kneeing Ablett off the ball during the round six clash in Perth, niggled Brownlow medallist Jimmy Bartel, and the out-of-form Jeff Farmer showed his immaturity while trying to put Joel Selwood, a decade younger, off his game behind the play.

As the article correctly points out, there was a lot of Freo sniping - not just "one incident" as your post suggests. Face it, your team preferred thuggery to football this game and will stay near the bottom of the table as long as that culture prevails... If there hadn't been some attempt to "push back" physically by some Geelong players you would have been calling them weak because they didn't respond. If Mooney (or anyone else) is guilty of an offense, however, he should also suffer the consequences. Object all you like but Solomon's gutless act summed up the Freo effort and he should pay dearly for it...

E Shed
14 Jul 2008, 03:04
Just because a "real" journalist wrote it doesn't make it true. He sounds like he's following the Melbourne media approved script. Big bad dockers against the hard fair cats part 24. Yawn.

Gees build a bridge guys, anyone would think we were the first team to try a bit of niggle against a team with better skills.

No I don't condone or approve of what Solomon did. It was not footy and he deserves everything he gets. But Crowley played a tough fair tagging game against the best in the business and played a very good game of his own account too.