View Full Version : Cya in 2009, Dean Solomon.
Deserves 7-8 weeks.
The raised elbow and his bad record will ensure this.
Deserves everything he gets.
Thoughts?
jerry springer
12 Jul 2008, 15:33
he is stuck in 80's timewarp.
that was brutal stuff 6+ weeks easily
GrayNicolls
12 Jul 2008, 15:35
will he have to see the club psychologist this week?
yeah 4-6 weeks i reckon
Bombers_Forever
12 Jul 2008, 15:35
Ling would have something broken, a nose or cheekbone.
Solly will probably be lucky to play again this year with his record. Just brutal and ordinary.
PowerOfThePussy
12 Jul 2008, 15:37
Fremantle and Mark Harvey = disgrace.
Try playing the footy you absolute bunch of pretenders.
Smirking to the crowd after you just break a guys jaw is all class.
Total nothing of a football club.
As Buddy says better dead than red.
Oh dear:o Remember Milburn?
PowerOfThePussy
12 Jul 2008, 15:40
Yes I remember Milburn - do you?
Completely differnet set of circumstances. He had guys belting the dug out trying to get to him, hence the clapping. Lets not revisit this old chestnut again.
Back to the topic. Football will beat this mob of thugs. Thats what we will do.
Kerr4PM
12 Jul 2008, 15:40
Hahaha out of all the fans to have said that it just happened to be a geelong supporter :thumbsu:
As Buddy says better dead than red.
I thought that was Robert Menzies? Or was that reds under the bed? ;)
Skeppersap
12 Jul 2008, 15:42
Hopefully he contracts a disease in the mean time!
PowerOfThePussy
12 Jul 2008, 15:42
Hahaha out of all the fans to have said that it just happened to be a geelong supporter :thumbsu:
So does that mean that I can never comment on an incident because a Geelong player allegedly did something wrong years ago..... boring - move along.
So can someone kind of explain what happen and who did he hit from Geelong?
cbreban
12 Jul 2008, 15:46
So does that mean that I can never comment on an incident because a Geelong player allegedly did something wrong years ago..... boring - move along.
Nope... you can comment but unless you have the same opinion of Milburn as you do Solomon you are a hypocrite.
adam1302
i didn't see it, will ling be out for the whole game?
carmi99
Yes I remember Milburn - do you?
Completely differnet set of circumstances. He had guys belting the dug out trying to get to him, hence the clapping. Lets not revisit this old chestnut again.
Back to the topic. Football will beat this mob of thugs. Thats what we will do.
You seem to be very confused. The clapping and smirking was done well before the guys started belting the dug out. :rolleyes:
TheMase
12 Jul 2008, 15:47
Running towards Ling at full pace, Ling handballed the footy, then Solomon continued. Made contact with Ling's face with his elbow / forearm whilst in flight.
Gone for a while I'd say.
The Boy From Brasil
Ling handballed the ball and Solomon ran at him and elbowed him in the head.
Really ordinary performance by Solomon. You have to wonder why he does crap like this. It is 2008 not 1984.
kingcarey18
im loving this game this is what footy is all about
Ling had it at CHB, handballed it as Solomon came in.
I thought the bump was going to be fair but he raised his elbow and got him flush in the face. Ling was helped off and hasn't came out of the rooms since.
kalkavek
Look at the free kick count you ignoramous. maybe Geelong should focus on the ball a bit more.
longsuffreosupp
12 Jul 2008, 15:49
4-6 would be right, depending on if Ling gets back on the field.
skipper kelly
12 Jul 2008, 15:49
Solomon got Ling late. Elbow to the right side of Lings face. Didnt look pretty.
Late elbow right in Ling's mush, at speed. Really good camera angles too..
I personally would hope he doesn;t get 7-8.. to break out the old chestnut it just wouldn't seem right if he got more then Hall, when Ling looks likely to be back in the 2nd qtr while Staker had to miss the following week..
Having said that with his record it wouldn't surprise me.
Cheeseman
12 Jul 2008, 15:50
Solomon got Ling late. Elbow to the right side of Lings face. Didnt look pretty.
Of course it didn't look pretty, Lingadingding was involved. :p
You are more than free to comment on it.
However, I trust that you used equally scathing language in relation to your own club on the day that Milburn took out SOS (because that was just one of several snipes by Geelong players that day).
swanniez1983
12 Jul 2008, 15:51
Allegedly?? :confused:. Mate, there was video proof what Milburn did, plus the thousands of supporters saw it with their own eyes :o
PowerOfThePussy
12 Jul 2008, 15:51
Look at the free kick count you ignoramous. maybe Geelong should focus on the ball a bit more.
Yeah I noticed the free kick count - pretty ordinary performance from the pathetic little men from what I hear.
It's ok though - I've calmed down a little. I just laugh at Freo. That always makes me feel better. What a pathetic rabble of a club. Great choice of coach also - instructing your players to go the knuckle. Yep, that'll work, lol.
Yeah seriously.
Most free kicks to a team in 1 qtr since champion data... all deserved too.
mellowyellow
12 Jul 2008, 15:52
4-6 would be right, depending on if Ling gets back on the field.
Reported that he may have a fractured cheekbone so no chance off him coming back on if thats the case
THEWAITISOVER
12 Jul 2008, 15:53
Solomon late elbow to the head of Ling...Ling in rooms has not come out and Solomon reported...Josh Carr may be in a little trouble to...Ling has a siuspected broken cheekbone
Juddism
12 Jul 2008, 15:54
possible fractured cheekbone, 10 weeks for that...worse than Hall's king hit if the injury is confirmed.
How far into the first quarter?
So i can keep an eye out for it and i dont miss it
scottydeewah
12 Jul 2008, 15:56
possible fractured cheekbone, 10 weeks for that...worse than Hall's king hit if the injury is confirmed. I agree with that. If you injure someone that should be taken into account. Halls was ugly but if you crack someones skull you need to get as bad or worse.
donbooger
12 Jul 2008, 15:57
how many weeks would ling miss with a fractured cheek bone?
Will he get more than Hall got for his hit on Staker?
skipper kelly
12 Jul 2008, 15:59
Lucky for both Ablett and Farmer that Farmer missed doing nearly the same thing about 2 minutes later.
peterss
12 Jul 2008, 16:01
Dirty #### who deserves everything he gets.
#### him off.
bomba4eva
12 Jul 2008, 16:02
Ling would have something broken, a nose or cheekbone.
Solly will probably be lucky to play again this year with his record. Just brutal and ordinary.
Sounds like he got lucky and escaped with bruising only. Might even be back this match apparently.
Predictions of 7 weeks mean it would have been a real cowardly act. Similar proportions to Barry Hall's incident. Was it really that bad?
skipper kelly
12 Jul 2008, 16:02
How far into the first quarter?
So i can keep an eye out for it and i dont miss it
about 9 mins to go.
coasting
12 Jul 2008, 16:03
Lucky for both Ablett and Farmer that Farmer missed doing nearly the same thing about 2 minutes later.
I thought all you swans fans 'loved the biff'?
scottydeewah
12 Jul 2008, 16:03
Predictions of 7 weeks mean it would have been a real cowardly act. Similar proportions to Barry Hall's incident. Was it really that bad? From all reports he lined him up at speed with an elbow to the head. As bad...
skipper kelly
12 Jul 2008, 16:04
Sounds like he got lucky and escaped with bruising only. Might even be back this match apparently.
Predictions of 7 weeks mean it would have been a real cowardly act. Similar proportions to Barry Hall's incident. Was it really that bad?
I wont compare to other incidents but at first it looked like a fair bump. Replay showed otherwise. Looked ordinary.
Juddism
12 Jul 2008, 16:04
well he raised his elbow and copped him flush on the cheek after he got rid of the ball, I'd say its pretty bad, be assault anywhere else.
skipper kelly
12 Jul 2008, 16:05
I thought all you swans fans 'loved the biff'?
What are you talking about??:confused:
I made a comment that both players were lucky. Do you not understand english?
Skeppersap
12 Jul 2008, 16:07
well he raised his elbow and copped him flush on the cheek after he got rid of the ball, I'd say its pretty bad, be assault anywhere else.
Excatly right. It was every bit as bad and malicious as Halls act.
bomba4eva
12 Jul 2008, 16:09
From all reports he lined him up at speed with an elbow to the head. As bad...
Personally think Hall's incident seems worse simply because it was swift punch to the head. Will watch out for the incident when Ten's coverage begins.
Geelong official has said that it is bruising and might come back this game. Good news for Geelong fans.
boydsno1
12 Jul 2008, 16:09
if it was the other way around would people be saying the same thing? i havent seen it so trying to picture how bad it was.
scottydeewah
12 Jul 2008, 16:12
Personally think Hall's incident seems worse simply because it was swift punch to the head. I would rather a swift punch to the head rather than someone running at me full speed with their weight behind an elbow.
Halls was unlucky he connected flush on a bloke with a glass jaw.
if it was the other way around would people be saying the same thing? i havent seen it so trying to picture how bad it was.
Yup, absolutely.
The Boy From Brasil
12 Jul 2008, 16:25
No wonder Freo are last in clearances year after year, all their midfielders want to do is fight.
The Boy From Brasil
12 Jul 2008, 16:27
It looks terrible, especially on the replay. You see Solomon raise his elbow and crunch Ling in the head. Like something you would see on an 80's biffs, brawls and highlights DVD.
strategy
12 Jul 2008, 16:30
Solomon has been reported for his elbow connecting to Lings head in the first qrt.
Bartell being scragged by Carr all the game and Crowley doing the same to Ablett. Ablett has twisted his right ankle just before half time .
Ablett and Ling doubtfull for the second half and may be saved for next weeks game v/s Doggies.
Its the 6th Time Solomon has been reported and each time he has been found guilty.
He could get 4 weeks this time .
vanders
12 Jul 2008, 16:31
Dog act. Not suprised from Solomon though.
The Sim Dog
12 Jul 2008, 16:33
Filthy, gutless, pathetic act. What we come to expect from a disgraceful player and a disgraceful club. Could get as many as 5 I reckon.
boncer34
Good hit. Geelong shouldn't dish it out if they cant take it back.
Whoot. Reeled one in.
longsuffreosupp
Thanks for that update :)
macdaddio
Was his jaw actualy broken, i hope not i want the Cats to be at full strength when they play the Dogs, they seem to be playing te top sides when those sides ave injuris
W.C. Fry
12 Jul 2008, 16:34
Damn channel 10. Replayed the Hall hit 1000 times over when that happened and then won't show the Solomon one. :thumbsd:
betchsta
12 Jul 2008, 16:34
Freo are just a dirty tactic team, Hope Solomon cops a nice holiday the dirty bastard :(
strategy
12 Jul 2008, 16:35
Good hit. Geelong shouldn't dish it out if they cant take it back.
Whoot. Reeled one in.
Geelong have been brilliant in NOT retaliating . Some Fremantle players are pathetic .ie Farmer , Carr , Crowley , Solomon , Mi Johnson .Pavlich has been NOT doing the team thing .Thinks of himself .
And_ROOS
12 Jul 2008, 16:35
Some absolutely disgraceful umpiring so far, shocked that it wasnt a free to Solomon for Ling headbutting his elbow... :rolleyes:
Forum_Leader
12 Jul 2008, 16:37
Very bad.
So the offer will be at least 5 then?
:eek:
Crowley probably offered 3 for his jab on G Ablett.
boncer34
12 Jul 2008, 16:38
Geelong have been brilliant in NOT retaliating . Some Fremantle players are pathetic .ie Farmer , Carr , Crowley , Mi Johnson .
Stevie Johnson is blameless.
DeadlyAkkuret
Things got ugly for Ling during the 1st quater. He was also involved in an incident with Solomon.
Joffaboy
Absolute dog act by Soloman.
Fancy Freo trying to play tough guys :rolleyes::rolleyes:
Really pathetic.
Geelong will beat them both physically and on the scoreboard.
Freo are a pathetic football club with a pathetic coach a pathetic culture and a bunch of has been ex Essendon thugs pretending to be "hard men".
Absolute disgrace the tactics they have employed today.
BartBart
12 Jul 2008, 16:39
As a neutral - I think the umpiring in the Freo/Geelong game has been pretty good.
Deadly Outbreak
12 Jul 2008, 16:40
Very bad.
So the offer will be at least 5 then?
:eek:
Crowley probably offered 3 for his jab on G Ablett.
I don't think he will get an offer. He will have to face the tribunal and will get whatever they feel like giving him.
Typical weak as piss act from that Ricciouto/Archer wannabee. 5 weeks at least.
Collins-Langford-Ayres
12 Jul 2008, 16:43
Maybe Freo can recruit Hall?
colesmore
12 Jul 2008, 16:47
Soloman will probably get four or five, that and the Hall hit IMO are not comparable. What Soloman did was pretty poor, and there is no justifying it but there is no way it can be argued he deserves as many or more weeks than Hall, although both are deadset tossas and each deserve a fair bit of time off from the game.
Crowley's was just a little late hit on Ablett in a marking contest, went the head but I can't see him missing weeks for that, it was pretty soft.
Forum_Leader
12 Jul 2008, 16:51
I don't think he will get an offer. He will have to face the tribunal and will get whatever they feel like giving him.
Yeah New Beginning, sorry I meant that is 'my offer'....or generally putting it out to the floor for their opinion on how many weeks.
For sure it will be a 'straight to the tribunal job.
Hope Lingy is OK.
The 747
12 Jul 2008, 16:53
Don't think Crowley is in trouble for that. Not much in it.
Solomon will be gone for a long time.
Does this Fremantle team know how to actually play football? It must be embarassing watching a bunch of old hacks trying to be aggressive and being useless at the game - Farmer, Carr, Solomon, Mark Johnson etc.
The Sim Dog
12 Jul 2008, 16:54
And another one.
It's not bay 13 dimwit take your pathetic trolling there.
camsmith
12 Jul 2008, 17:03
Didn't a Collingwood player do just about the same thing a few weeks ago? Only got 2 weeks or something.
Take into account Solomons bad record.. maybe 4 weeks.
Juddism
12 Jul 2008, 17:09
frame by frame for those doubting the ugliness of the incident...
http://i35.tinypic.com/2ekrpxl.jpg
http://i38.tinypic.com/33f55x5.jpg
http://i33.tinypic.com/jiknpd.jpg
http://i33.tinypic.com/2gufwxe.jpg
http://i37.tinypic.com/2q20ba9.jpg
http://i38.tinypic.com/347zmyr.jpg
The Boy From Brasil
12 Jul 2008, 17:22
All you guys who want Solomon to get weeks, how is this a punishment for Freo?
Solomon has given away multiple goals to Geelong with mistakes/poor decision making. His football ability is the same as Pierce Brosnan's acting ability in the loreal commercial. It is a reward for Fremantle if Solomon can't play for the side.
Carn the Coasters
12 Jul 2008, 17:24
frame by frame for those doubting the ugliness of the incident...
http://i38.tinypic.com/347zmyr.jpg
Sorry I wasn't home when it happened, where is the ball?
Ben the Gooner
12 Jul 2008, 17:26
Pictures like that can make it look worse than it is. I haven't seen it, and am not commenting on this incident before anyone starts, but a YouTube video would be better for making a judgement if anyone's got one.
LifeSpan-Void
12 Jul 2008, 17:26
handballed away, was in Solomon's field of vision too.
Invigoration
12 Jul 2008, 17:27
In the bags behind the goals.... Well, nearly anyways.
So, what is the tv rule people are speaking of?
Freo1995
12 Jul 2008, 17:32
Pictures like that can make it look worse than it is. I haven't seen it, and am not commenting on this incident before anyone starts, but a YouTube video would be better for making a judgement if anyone's got one.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=msrfeVpJuUs
Juddism
12 Jul 2008, 17:43
Pictures like that can make it look worse than it is..
well the video isn't much better...
captain amazo
12 Jul 2008, 18:09
He deserves 8 weeks.
Great way to finish your career Dean, you total f**kwit.
Reveler
12 Jul 2008, 18:10
He deserves 8 weeks.
Great way to finish your career Dean, you total f**kwit.
aww poor diddums.
efl_represent
12 Jul 2008, 18:13
any vids of it?
Jimpson
12 Jul 2008, 18:16
any vids of it?
about four posts up mate
The 747
12 Jul 2008, 18:19
aww poor diddums.
You must be proud of your football "team" eh?
fishman
12 Jul 2008, 18:20
The incident was so bad I think that Solomon's kids should be suspended too. Fair dinkum, the whole side are filled with untalented snipers. The saddest thing about the whole thing is that this rabble is in the league in the place of Fitzroy - lest when they lost by 12 goals they had a go at the ball.
Reveler
12 Jul 2008, 18:22
You must be proud of your football "team" eh?
not really, they played like shit. I just can't help but laugh though at all the geelong supporters having a cry.
SouthSwans
12 Jul 2008, 18:26
What a f***ing flog.
Pretty cheap but not really surprising from Solomon.
spring6
12 Jul 2008, 18:36
The worst thing about it ,really, is you can see the second when Solomon decides to stick out the elbow. Up til then he had it tucked to his body and was going a reasonably fair bump. At the point he sticks out the elbow it becomes a pretty low act. Obviously a last second, unpremeditated action but extremely undisiplined and dangerous. He deserves 4/6 and he will get them.
Talk of his career being over is premature though, he has had a good season and will play for us next year. Needs to work on the frustration induced brain fade.
Exhale You
12 Jul 2008, 18:49
I just can't help but laugh though at all the geelong supporters having a cry.
Is it more or less funny than Fremantle supporting crying because Joel Selwood sledged Jeff Farmer?
The 747
12 Jul 2008, 18:51
not really, they played like shit. I just can't help but laugh though at all the geelong supporters having a cry.
Fair enough, I shall content myself with laughing at your team.
Lose by 74 points on a cold, windy day at Skilled Stadium, pretty hard to lose by that much down there with the opposition 2 players down. But congrats Freo if any club could do it.....:thumbsu:
freocuz
12 Jul 2008, 19:07
Fair enough, I shall content myself with laughing at your team.
Lose by 74 points on a cold, windy day at Skilled Stadium, pretty hard to lose by that much down there with the opposition 2 players down. But congrats Freo if any club could do it.....:thumbsu:
Hey, you're not telling us anything we don't already know. I agree with Reveller though. You lot cry when Ablett gets held, you cry when Ling gets hit, you cry when Mooney gets reported, you cry when Crowley gets a free kick, you cry when Farmer takes a mark, you cry when you can't find your moccasins, you cry when your mullet gets wet.
No wonder Ablett is always crying to the umpires.:D
Exhale You
12 Jul 2008, 19:20
You lot cry when Ablett gets held, you cry when Ling gets hit, you cry when Mooney gets reported, you cry when Crowley gets a free kick, you cry when Farmer takes a mark, you cry when you can't find your moccasins, you cry when your mullet gets wet.
We also cry when we win a premiership.
I hope your tear ducts haven't dried up if and when your 'club' actually wins a premiership. :)