View Full Version : Defining Moment 19/7/2008

WASaintsFan08
14 Jul 2008, 12:18
I believe that St Kilda vs Hawthorn will define our season. A win or strong performance will not only see us in september action but will find us competing for the premiership.

With all our heads held high after 3 straight wins finally playing some free flowing footy. the forwards are attacking the midfield is dominating and the backline is choking up the forwards can we keep our momentium going and finally rid the burdon of being underachievers this season?

or do we go back to old ways... lose is poor fashion lose all our confidence and get the thought in our head that we cant match it the big boys. will the forward line fumble the midfield choke and the backlines allow a flurry of goals?

i do not believe its make or break but i do believe players self belief and heart and supporters faith are in the balance for the season if we dont come out and atleast challange the hawks

i know what ill be hoping for when i sit infront of my tv with a beer in one hand the remote in the other...

COME ON SAINTS SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE OF!!!!!

Persevering Saint
14 Jul 2008, 12:21
The fact is, that the three games we've won have been against teams that are below us on the ladder (although of course the Kangas and Blues were really hovering around us). Hawks are a different cup of tea, as we all know.

I think you're totally right WA. If we win this, it ceases to be about making the finals, and will become about how far we will go in them.

I'm gonna be there on Saturday night. Hopefully I'll get to put my victory hat on at the end of the game.

Squizzy1970
14 Jul 2008, 12:52
The Hawk's zoning strategy is going to be more difficult for us. Teams that beat the Hawks run hard at the man trying to block space, which hasn't been our strength.

The moves of Gram, Goddard and Fisher into the midfield have improved us in this area, so hopefully Ross has the guts to go for the win rather than containment.

If Blake can hold Roughead (rather than tying up Fisher), Gilbo on Williams, and Dempster on Cyril (assume Max gets the crack at Fuddy Duddy Buddy) we'll have a real chance - as Ball, Harvey, Montagna, Dal Santo, Gram, Fisher, Hayes form a pretty good on-ball division with support from CJ and Armo.

Think it's important to have Gardi in, so hopefully all the treatment he was getting at Casey was precuationary.

Look2Me4Guidance
14 Jul 2008, 13:01
Spot on with the title of this thread mate.

I have been doing a bit of research on this game and I wanted to get your thoughts.

Let's first focus on our defensive matchups.

Here's how I see it:

Maxy H on Franklin
Sammy Fish on Roughead *
Gilbo on Mark Williams
Goddard on Osborne
Dempster/Baker on Rioli

* denotes that I think Blake could be used in this role. Sounds a stretch, but consider this.

Clarkson knows that his rolling zone is vulnerable against run and carry, something that Sam Fisher generates a lot of. For this reason, I believe he will hope Fisher goes to Roughead and will play Roughead deep as possible. Hence I suggest Blake to play there to allow Fish a run off role, possibly picking up a player like Osborne. Blake will be giving up a fair bit of size and strength though, but a point I thought was worth considering. I wouldn't be surprised to see Franklin try and take Hudghton up the ground if Hudghton does well early.

I am hoping that M Gardiner comes into the side as I reckon this will give us a ruck edge against a very improved combination in Campbell and Taylor. This will be pivotal as if we can break even in the midfield (a real Hawk strength) we can go a long way to getting a win.

Now here is where we have an advantage. The Hawks don't have a good matchup for Roo. Croad doesn't have the motor, Brown doesn't have the height. This leaves a player like Gilham as a possibility. Watching a fair bit of the Hawks v Swans yesterday, the Hawk backline is suspect against a forward line that can take contested marks which Kosi can. I would expect Croad to go to Kosi and a player like Ladson to play on Milne. I would love for Campbell Brown to go to Milne as I expect Brown to get sucked in to being a 3rd man up in the marking duels allowing Milne to gather the ground balls.

As a side note, this is a game that I think Lyon will enjoy coaching in. He does have a few tactics that have been effective if not surprising, see Gram on Judd. I'm not suggesting he'll revert back to the old slow ball use, but I wouldn't be surprised to see a few matchups which may not be the most logical now, but may make better sense on the night.

Anyways gang, what do you think?????

MIDDO
14 Jul 2008, 13:03
I believe that St Kilda vs Hawthorn will define our season. A win or strong performance will not only see us in september action but will find us competing for the premiership.

With all our heads held high after 3 straight wins finally playing some free flowing footy. the forwards are attacking the midfield is dominating and the backline is choking up the forwards can we keep our momentium going and finally rid the burdon of being underachievers this season?

or do we go back to old ways... lose is poor fashion lose all our confidence and get the thought in our head that we cant match it the big boys. will the forward line fumble the midfield choke and the backlines allow a flurry of goals?

i do not believe its make or break but i do believe players self belief and heart and supporters faith are in the balance for the season if we dont come out and atleast challange the hawks

i know what ill be hoping for when i sit infront of my tv with a beer in one hand the remote in the other...

COME ON SAINTS SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE OF!!!!!

I agree that its such an important game,with Eagles and Port coming up after this one can really set us up for a crack at the finals !!! PS go vote on the polls page regarding who is better Lenny Hayes or Nathan Foley !! Cheers ;)

Squizzy1970
14 Jul 2008, 13:14
Spot on with the title of this thread mate.

I have been doing a bit of research on this game and I wanted to get your thoughts.

Here's how I see it:

Maxy H on Franklin
Sammy Fish on Roughead *
Gilbo on Mark Williams
Goddard on Osborne
Dempster/Baker on Rioli

* denotes that I think Blake could be used in this role. Sounds a stretch, but consider this.

Clarkson knows that his rolling zone is vulnerable against run and carry, something that Sam Fisher generates a lot of. For this reason, I believe he will hope Fisher goes to Roughead and will play Roughead deep as possible. Hence I suggest Blake to play there to allow Fish a run off role, possibly picking up a player like Osborne. Blake will be giving up a fair bit of size and strength though, but a point I thought was worth considering. I wouldn't be surprised to see Franklin try and take Hudghton up the ground if Hudghton does well early.

I am hoping that M Gardiner comes into the side as I reckon this will give us a ruck edge against a very improved combination in Campbell and Taylor. This will be pivotal as if we can break even in the midfield (a real Hawk strength) we can go a long way to getting a win.

Now here is where we have an advantage. The Hawks don't have a good matchup for Roo. Croad doesn't have the motor, Brown doesn't have the height. This leaves a player like Gilham as a possibility. Watching a fair bit of the Hawks v Swans yesterday, the Hawk backline is suspect against a forward line that can take contested marks which Kosi can. I would expect Croad to go to Kosi and a player like Ladson to play on Milne. I would love for Campbell Brown to go to Milne as I expect Brown to get sucked in to being a 3rd man up in the marking duels allowing Milne to gather the ground balls.

As a side note, this is a game that I think Lyon will enjoy coaching in. He does have a few tactics that have been effective if not surprising, see Gram on Judd. I'm not suggesting he'll revert back to the old slow ball use, but I wouldn't be surprised to see a few matchups which may not be the most logical now, but may make better sense on the night.

Anyways gang, what do you think?????

I am but a grasshopper in your worldly presence - nay, a fly in your chopsticks.

Look2Me4Guidance
14 Jul 2008, 13:15
I am but a grasshopper in your worldly presence - nay, a fly in your chopsticks.

It's my blind faith....what can I say?

Codec
14 Jul 2008, 13:59
The Hawks came out firing after the week off & regained some form which had been dwindling away in previous weeks vs a team they haven't beating for 5 years. But more importantly no injuries/suspensions!

With the possible return of Bateman, Lewis & Dew we could potentially field our strongest 22, although there's a question mark over Crawford. It's been awhile since we had to omit performing players but it's very likely this week.

Buddy is coming off an inaccurate game so we all expect him to come out all guns blazing for redemption this week. His last effort at the Dome was the best performance of a forward for 2008. Close the roof at your own peril!

A win to the saints under these circumstances would be phenomenal as we have no hard training block/injuries/suspensions to fall back on this time. It would indeed be a season defining win for St. Kilda with Hawthorn building towards finals having secured a top 3 finish with 7 games remaining.

This post isn't meant to shake any supporters confidence but just give an insight into where the Hawks are at right now. Forget losing to the likes of the Bulldogs & North Melbourne whilst we were down on personal & form...lose this game & it would be devastating for the hawks.

Signd Sealed Saint
14 Jul 2008, 14:23
Look, Hawthorn are a far superior to Saints as of current. Stronger bodies, better skills and supreme confidence. I think Ross Lyon will need to pull one out of the hat with his coaching and every single player on the ground will need to make a sizable contribution. We can't afford 2 players to have games like Gwilt and Allen did on Friday night. Whatever weaknesses we have will be exposed on Saturday night. Like Codec said, we are playing a full strength Hawthorn side, so give ur heart and soul Saints and show the football world we are not a wasted generation.

GO THE SAINTS

HODGEYROAD
14 Jul 2008, 14:28
Hawks will win by 5-7 goals, far superior midfield and forward line:thumbsu:

Squizzy1970
14 Jul 2008, 14:30
Thanks Podgey - time to hit the road I think.

SaintsSeptember
14 Jul 2008, 15:06
The Saints did not perform too badly against the Hawks last year, although the Hawks are a lot stronger this year.
Still if we continue to improve each week and we get a little luck we might be able to do it.

Armitage2Riewoldt
14 Jul 2008, 15:08
This is a career defining game for Lyon imo. Well not really, but if he wins, he's certainly set himself up for a long haul as Saints coach. If we go down gallantly by a couple goals, he'll win some admirers (as long as it's attacking footy, not shut down footy). If we get pumped, well we'll just be making up the numbers come September.

Squizzy1970
14 Jul 2008, 16:27
It's my blind faith....what can I say?

Good work with the avatar - can't use the chicken in the window reference any more.

Edit (Kildonan)

http://i241.photobucket.com/albums/ff140/oogac/Look2me4guidance.jpg

Sainters66
14 Jul 2008, 16:36
[quote=Look2Me4Guidance;11703733]Spot on with the title of this thread mate.

Here's how I see it:

Maxy H on Franklin
Sammy Fish on Roughead *
Gilbo on Mark Williams
Goddard on Osborne
Dempster/Baker on Rioli

I'd rather see Blake or even Fisher on Franklin. Max on Roghead might be a better match up.

Sainters66
14 Jul 2008, 16:37

Let's wait and see what happens pal..............:cool:

bubblegoose
14 Jul 2008, 16:48
PS go vote on the polls page regarding who is better Lenny Hayes or Nathan Foley !! Cheers ;)

Just done that thanks Middo. Geez, they're even.

TassieSaint
14 Jul 2008, 16:51
Personally I think our season's defining moment was in round 3 against the Bulldogs. Just for that one quarter it seemed like we were in for a ripper year, then it slowly fell apart in the remaining 3 quarters and afterwards the 2 teams went their separate ways, Dogs to the top 4, us struggling for a finals spot.

Anyway Hawthorn should win, but should we spring an upset we can lock in finals.

SaintsSeptember
14 Jul 2008, 18:49
[quote=Look2Me4Guidance;11703733]Spot on with the title of this thread mate.

Here's how I see it:

Maxy H on Franklin
Sammy Fish on Roughead *
Gilbo on Mark Williams
Goddard on Osborne
Dempster/Baker on Rioli

I'd rather see Blake or even Fisher on Franklin. Max on Roughead might be a better match up.

Yes thats what I think too. A big ask for Blake, but he has the endurance to stay with Buddy. I think Max on Roughhead would keep him very quiet for the whole game, where Franklin will probably get a few no matter who is on him. I think Franklin would run up the ground a bit to far for Max.

Osborne , Williams , and Rioli are all able to kick a few so it will be a big challenge to our defence. Need someone very quick witted on Rioli, I'm not sure if Dempster is the man.

holllywood
14 Jul 2008, 19:05
i know maxy has great closing speed.

but whats his engine like? would he have a big enough motor 2 stay with buddy??

Squizzy1970
14 Jul 2008, 19:07
Need someone very quick witted on Rioli, I'm not sure if Dempster is the man.

Harsh SS.

Dempster has taken various sneaky little turds this year, so he would be a good option. His form in the last 3 weeks has been part of the reason we have won.

mailman4
14 Jul 2008, 19:32
Blake on Franklin would end in brutal embarresment. Franklin is at least 3 classes ahead of him and would just push him aside or burn him with pace, Max is our only option really.

Armitage2Riewoldt
14 Jul 2008, 19:44
I reckon take a risk in the first quarter, cos he isnt gonna rip us apart in just 1 quarter and see whether his kicking boots are on. If they're not, persist with whomever is on him, if they are, switch Max onto him. That way Max can go to Roughead who is more accurate (I think). Well anyway, he's much less unpredictable in front of goal.

Signd Sealed Saint
14 Jul 2008, 19:44
I got an idea, how about we borrow the Geelong backline for this week? GT has a bit of cash on him after that court case, im sure he wont mind :P
Onto serious matters, Buddy can't be stopped one on one, so doesnt matter whos on him. I reckon flood is our only way out if we want to keep the score to a minimum, then hurt them on the rebound when we have it.

makemytime
14 Jul 2008, 21:45
Blake on Franklin would end in brutal embarresment. Franklin is at least 3 classes ahead of him and would just push him aside or burn him with pace, Max is our only option really.

From what I remember, Blake kept Cousins pretty quiet for three quarters last year, he could do alright against buddy.

some player will have to cover the space around the 50 to stop buddy and roughead leading and kozi and roos may become important taking marks in our back half

Gene Simmons
14 Jul 2008, 23:21
Don't kid yourselves!

Saints are going to get thumped and Buddy will kick 12 on cry baby Maxy!

Saints were underdogs against the wooden spooners of the last 2 years and just escaped with victory!

Hawks by 68

Sainters66
15 Jul 2008, 00:01
Don't kid yourselves!

Saints were underdogs against the wooden spooners of the last 2 years and just escaped with victory!

Hawks by 68

No way. Dream on.............With an attitude like that, your Hawks will lose by 168............:thumbsu:

mailman4
15 Jul 2008, 00:43
From what I remember, Blake kept Cousins pretty quiet for three quarters last year, he could do alright against buddy.

I struggle to see how Blake doing well on Cousins would mean he will do well on Buddy, they are totally different players??:confused:

Armitage2Riewoldt
15 Jul 2008, 01:37
Don't kid yourselves!

Hawks by 68

Yeah, more like 1.12 :rolleyes:

Sir Robert
15 Jul 2008, 09:50
S Fisher on Buddy - the end. We tried other players on Pavlich and he reamed us. Fish went to him and that was the turning point. I know we'd like to use his run out of the backline - but I'm sure Buddy isn't accountable the other way so Fish is the man.

The real issue is stopping the ball getting there in the first place. or at least in good scoring positions. may well see Gram v Hodge in the middle, I'd also like to see Ball vs Hodge or Lenny. Either way the middle is going to be where it's won.

M Gardiner in, and Schneider in to teach that little **** Campbell Brown how it's done.

Squizzy1970
15 Jul 2008, 09:57

Gene Simmons or Richard Simmons? (with a gay comment like that I'm confused :confused:). You obviously didn't check our Board before the game to see how many people thought we were going to win (yeah, real underdogs). I'd love to just escape with victory every week (32 points).

And exclamation marks for no apparent reason!!! :rolleyes:

sainter
15 Jul 2008, 10:18
Don't kid yourselves!

Hawks by 68

Youīve been a member of bigfooty for nearly a year and thatīs more than enough of time to work out what is/isnīt acceptable on the team boards.

Pull your head in.

Persevering Saint
15 Jul 2008, 11:36
Gene Simmons or Richard Simmons? (with a gay comment like that I'm confused :confused:). You obviously didn't check our Board before the game to see how many people thought we were going to win (yeah, real underdogs). I'd love to just escape with victory every week (32 points).

And exclamation marks for no apparent reason!!! :rolleyes:
I am SOO SICK of opposition people seeing the best in oppositions when they play other teams, and the worst in them when they play us. If Adelaide or whoever was playing Carlton last week, it'd be against "top-8 contenders", but because they're playing us, they're "wooden spooners." Sheesh...

In regards to Blake, I'm starting to think that (with the exception of his luck with the umpires), he's actually becoming a bit like Maxy. Oppositions don't rate either (hence the ridiculous "Cry Baby" reference - at least we have players who love their club that much...). That's because they haven't got flare or dash - all they do is take players who DO have flair and dash, and make them look ordinary. Blake has shut down good players, as has Maxy. When it happens, morons from other teams say, "Oh Buddy, Fev/Goodes/Cousins/whoever-the-flavor-of-the-week-is just had a bad day... probably got a cold or something..." Smart football fans, and us Saints, know better.

Sainters66
15 Jul 2008, 11:41

Max doesn't have the pace or the engine mate.
Have some faith in Blake. He has really improved and is good down there.

SaintsSeptember
15 Jul 2008, 11:52
Blake would not be able to get the posession ahead of Franklin, but he has played in defence enough to do a good spoil. The pressure is then on Dempster or whoever else is flooding around, to get the posession. They will then be relying on the crumbers.
That is what Carlton were doing to Reiwoldt last week, and we were lucky to have someone as good as Milne to get the crumbs. Rioli will have to be watched very closely.

Buddy the Brave
15 Jul 2008, 12:25
I got an idea, how about we borrow the Geelong backline for this week? GT has a bit of cash on him after that court case, im sure he wont mind :P
Onto serious matters, Buddy can't be stopped one on one, so doesnt matter whos on him. I reckon flood is our only way out if we want to keep the score to a minimum, then hurt them on the rebound when we have it.

Is the general consensus on here that Lyon will bring on the biggest flood since Noah was a boy or will he go on the attack. I'd hate to see a game like last years, I think these two teams could put on quite a show if they are allowed to. Good luck, I hope its a cracker.

My fellow Hawks posters if you have nothing constructive to add to this thread then please bugger off.

SaintsSeptember
15 Jul 2008, 12:36
Is the general consensus on here that Lyon will bring on the biggest flood since Noah was a boy or will he go on the attack. I'd hate to see a game like last years, I think these two teams could put on quite a show if they are allowed to. Good luck, I hope its a cracker.

My fellow Hawks posters if you have nothing constructive to add to this thread then please bugger off.

That depends - did it work?

My opinion is that the Coach has done a lot of work trying to get the team to play a particular way against Kangaroo's and Blues, and he may not want to change to much. Having said that if the game plan isn't working and you guys start kicking a bag on us, a flood could be the reaction.
So that is the answer, tell Jarryd and Buddy to take it easy on us and we will play nice football.

:)

saintsownthedome
15 Jul 2008, 13:59
Although this game is important, I think the Saints v Crows game in Round 21 is going to be the most important for our season.

If both clubs win the games they should, and lose the games to 'higher' clubs, both St Kilda and Adelaide will be sitting around 6-8, and they could well be playing for a home final in the first week of September.

Cynic
15 Jul 2008, 14:20
Important Points
Riewoldt, for you to win he really has to play forward and take those big contested marks with Kozi. We'll let him run up the wing and get his kicks and marks but our zone will make it hard for you to convert these into goals

Franklin, don't play Hudgton or Blake on him for gods sake. Fisher has all the tools and the skill to deal with Buddy. Like Roo for you guys, if Franklin chases the ball and gets cheap kicks well that's a win for you if it leaves Fisher loose in the backline.

Aggression, while our midfields are both similar in that we're both largely one paced trotters who rely on our half back flankers for run the question I have of Saint Kilda is can they compete with us physically and still maintain their focus.

SaintsSeptember
15 Jul 2008, 14:54
Although this game is important, I think the Saints v Crows game in Round 21 is going to be the most important for our season.

If both clubs win the games they should, and lose the games to 'higher' clubs, both St Kilda and Adelaide will be sitting around 6-8, and they could well be playing for a home final in the first week of September.

Not so important for getting into the 8, but very important from a psycological point of view.
Getting into the finals knowing we can beat one of the top teams would be a huge confidence booster.

bungholes_premiers
15 Jul 2008, 16:07
I reckon flood is our only way out if we want to keep the score to a minimum
At least u have a realistic perspective on the only way u can beat our forwards ...

HigginsHawk
15 Jul 2008, 16:11
As long as it's nothing like that horrendous match last year. We won and I still came away thinking it was the worst game of footy I have ever seen. Both sides should have been fined for that performance!

For Saints to win you have to win it in the middle. Your defence will not stop our forward line getting shots at goal when it comes in there. The only way you can to stop the hawks is with everybody running the ball (like North) or elite foot skills so you don't turn it over. I've been impressed with King this year and he will help by winning some clearances.

Looking forward to the game, hope it's a good one.

MinerBoy
15 Jul 2008, 16:15
Don't kid yourselves!

Hawks by 68

Sorry Saints fans. We aren't all like this.

I agree in that I think we will win, but don't see the need for the carry on.

Poor form Gene. :thumbsd: Show respect when on another team's board.

You guys generally give us trouble (although you have been a better side over recent seasons too) but I think we should get the better of you this time and hopefully with some room to spare (5-7 goals). We are getting closer to our strongst side and closing in on the business end of the season. To me, this means we should start producing some of our better football over the next few games.

I think the best shot for the Saints is to really slow the game down like they have in the past (flood if you like) and cause the Hawks to go sideways and backwards and bring the ball slowly into the forward line. I am not sure why, but when this happens to us we always seem to hesitate and wait to find a perfect pass, rather than backing guys like Buddy and Rough to beat their opponents. We inevitably waste a lot of these attempted precision passes.

I think we are getting smarter though, and if we are allowed (and prepared) to move the ball quickly into our forwards, I believe we will just be far too strong on the night.

Good luck though. I am looking forward to getting to the Dome on Saturday night.

Signd Sealed Saint
15 Jul 2008, 17:36
Don't kid yourselves!

Hawks by 68

Mmmmm, is it just me or did u lose to the Kangas in Victoria? And the very next week guess who beat them on the Gold Coast where they've never lost a game?

It all depends on which Saints turn up on the day, if its the wonderful Saints on Friday night it'll go right down to the wire but if it was the saints who played Hawks last season Gene Simmons may be on the money. But We're a much better side than what we were and i reckon we'll give u a good run for the money.

At Cynic, Riewodlt is so important to our structure, i dont mind him doing a 'richo'. St Kilda have trouble getting it out of their backline at times and having someone who marks just about everything is very handy. He could turn a potiential 50-50 situation at half back to one where we have the possession and can go forward. All things aside, didn't he have 7 shots on goal last week?

Look2Me4Guidance
15 Jul 2008, 18:11
Important Points
Riewoldt, for you to win he really has to play forward and take those big contested marks with Kozi. We'll let him run up the wing and get his kicks and marks but our zone will make it hard for you to convert these into goals

Franklin, don't play Hudgton or Blake on him for gods sake. Fisher has all the tools and the skill to deal with Buddy. Like Roo for you guys, if Franklin chases the ball and gets cheap kicks well that's a win for you if it leaves Fisher loose in the backline.

Aggression, while our midfields are both similar in that we're both largely one paced trotters who rely on our half back flankers for run the question I have of Saint Kilda is can they compete with us physically and still maintain their focus.

I actually could question your guys as well. Ball and Hayes are the toughest midfielders you will ever come across and was evidenced on the weekend he can give away a few free kicks.

SaintsSeptember
15 Jul 2008, 18:24
An example of competing physically and losing focus would have to be Freo Vs Cats 1st Half last weekend !

Since the coaches little talk the other week StKilda's midfield has been pretty fired up, but I have not seen any misplaced aggression or lack of direction. I think that Hayes, Ball, Dalsanto etc will manage fine. May be a good test for McQualter/Eddy/Armitage though.

Interesting comparison Buddy/Nick. Both of them will probably get plenty of it, and both of them are prone to inaccuracy on the wrong day. Could this be the deciding factor?
If either of them were as accurate as Fevola they would be devestating.

Armitage2Riewoldt
15 Jul 2008, 18:29
Just chuck Armo in there, he'd take em all.

Brown n Gold
15 Jul 2008, 23:42
An example of competing physically and losing focus would have to be Freo Vs Cats 1st Half last weekend !

Since the coaches little talk the other week StKilda's midfield has been pretty fired up, but I have not seen any misplaced aggression or lack of direction. I think that Hayes, Ball, Dalsanto etc will manage fine. May be a good test for McQualter/Eddy/Armitage though.

Interesting comparison Buddy/Nick. Both of them will probably get plenty of it, and both of them are prone to inaccuracy on the wrong day. Could this be the deciding factor?

Biggest difference between Buddy and Nick is that Buddy averages over 9 shots at goal per game... I imagine nick would be more like 4-5

Armitage2Riewoldt
15 Jul 2008, 23:44
Nick's slightly more accurate though... just slightly.

Whomever is more accurate (Kosi/Roo) or (Buddy/Roughnut) will win I think. Could be a somewhat lopsided scorecard at the end of the night if theres enough supply.

Hawks: 12.25.97
Saints: 11. 32. 98

:D

Consumed
16 Jul 2008, 10:18
But if they were as stupid as Fev we'd all be hating them:eek:

Cynic
16 Jul 2008, 10:42
Nick's slightly more accurate though... just slightly.

Whomever is more accurate (Kosi/Roo) or (Buddy/Roughnut) will win I think. Could be a somewhat lopsided scorecard at the end of the night if theres enough supply.

Hawks: 12.25.97
Saints: 11. 32. 98

Buddy 4.16 but still have plenty of Hawks fans saying that it's cool as he still got four goals :o

Re: Hayes & Ball, yes they're as tough as any two players in the league but my question is whether or not they can be aggressive back to us or keep their calm

Look2Me4Guidance
16 Jul 2008, 10:57
Biggest difference between Buddy and Nick is that Buddy averages over 9 shots at goal per game... I imagine nick would be more like 4-5

One is a FF and the other is a CHF.

beejay
16 Jul 2008, 12:12
and buddy has a shot no matter what when he has it within 55 hell take a mark out of bounds 55 out and have a crack:p

SaintsSeptember
16 Jul 2008, 12:50
One is a FF and the other is a CHF.

Nick is tending to pass it for a better shot lately. Milne and Armitage owe a few of their goals to Nick.

CAPTAINCRAWF
16 Jul 2008, 14:17
I hope its not but I have a feeling it could be a poor quality game with St. Kilda dropping players back to stop the supply to our forward 50. No doubt buddy will have alot of opportunities still put my excitement builds from the fact that Bateman and possibly Dew should be back and will strengthen our line up considerably. Interested to find out if you guys think you have a midfield that is capable of matching ours at the minute?

Squizzy1970
16 Jul 2008, 14:23
I hope its not but I have a feeling it could be a poor quality game with St. Kilda dropping players back to stop the supply to our forward 50.

Didn't you mean "I have a feeling it could be a poor quality game with Hawthorn playing the basketball zone defence strategy which is a moving flood to _uck the game up."?

CAPTAINCRAWF
16 Jul 2008, 14:35
Didn't you mean "I have a feeling it could be a poor quality game with Hawthorn playing the basketball zone defence strategy which is a moving flood to _uck the game up."?
Easy tiger!! If anything the Hawk zone lends itself to a very exciting brand of football either way. Obviously Its designed to allow us to rebound the ball into our forward line but when its broken then it nearly always leads to fast, hard running football that moves VERY QUICKLY into the opposition forward line. I have seen every Hawks game this year and every one of our supporters will tell you that once that ball is moved passed our zone it nearly always results in a forward 50 entry for the opposition. So no, it is absoutely nothing like most floods I have seen applied this year.:confused:

Squizzy1970
16 Jul 2008, 14:47
Just a different way of trying to suffocate the opposition.

We've flooded at times, but supporters who come onto our board and overcook the flood line don't tend to get very far.

Start a thread over on the AFL board if you must try it on.

CAPTAINCRAWF
16 Jul 2008, 14:52
Just a different way of trying to suffocate the opposition.

We've flooded at times, but supporters who come onto our board and overcook the flood line don't tend to get very far.

Start a thread over on the AFL board if you must try it on.

No dramas here Squizzy:). Just always like to get a feel for where the opposition stand on these types of things. I was actually more interested to here Saints supporters take on the midfield battle and if you think you can shut us down (or if we can shut you down for that matter?) cause I think alot of the game will be spent between the arks.

Squizzy1970
16 Jul 2008, 14:59
OK.

If we don't run and carry, and kick straight for goal, we won't get up.

But I think the Saints are (slowly) realising this and bolstered the midfield with some run.

For mine we are still a couple short with X Clarke, Schnieder, Baker not currently in the team but Steady Eddy, Clinton Jones and McQualter have helped in this area.

If Gardi and Schneider are fully fit and come in for Allen and Gwilt, I'll be a little more positive about the game.

CAPTAINCRAWF
16 Jul 2008, 15:18
OK.

If we don't run and carry, and kick straight for goal, we won't get up.

But I think the Saints are (slowly) realising this and bolstered the midfield with some run.

For mine we are still a couple short with X Clarke, Schnieder, Baker not currently in the team but Steady Eddy, Clinton Jones and McQualter have helped in this area.

If Gardi and Schneider are fully fit and come in for Allen and Gwilt, I'll be a little more positive about the game.
Exactly right! teams must run and carry to beat our zone, but more importantly leave your forwards one out where we often get exposed. However, I think thats exactly what we can do to you on the rebound which is why I think the most switched on midfield will win and win comfortably because both forward lines have the ability to smash teams on the scoreboard if they are getting quality opportunities.

halfback dasher
16 Jul 2008, 19:32
The Hawk's zoning strategy is going to be more difficult for us. Teams that beat the Hawks run hard at the man trying to block space, which hasn't been our strength.

The moves of Gram, Goddard and Fisher into the midfield have improved us in this area, so hopefully Ross has the guts to go for the win rather than containment.

If Blake can hold Roughead (rather than tying up Fisher), Gilbo on Williams, and Dempster on Cyril (assume Max gets the crack at Fuddy Duddy Buddy) we'll have a real chance - as Ball, Harvey, Montagna, Dal Santo, Gram, Fisher, Hayes form a pretty good on-ball division with support from CJ and Armo.

Think it's important to have Gardi in, so hopefully all the treatment he was getting at Casey was precuationary.
We didnt "zone" against the swans,which i found odd:rolleyes:and we won the contested possies as well,add to that the lowest possie count this year for us ,and im not sure what our game plan is now:confused:but SHOULD be a rippen game.Good luck all:thumbsu:

Fehring
16 Jul 2008, 22:23
As long as it's nothing like that horrendous match last year. We won and I still came away thinking it was the worst game of footy I have ever seen. Both sides should have been fined for that performance!

For Saints to win you have to win it in the middle. Your defence will not stop our forward line getting shots at goal when it comes in there. The only way you can to stop the hawks is with everybody running the ball (like North) or elite foot skills so you don't turn it over. I've been impressed with King this year and he will help by winning some clearances.

Looking forward to the game, hope it's a good one.

Sorry Saints fans. We aren't all like this.

I agree in that I think we will win, but don't see the need for the carry on.

Poor form Gene. :thumbsd: Show respect when on another team's board.

You guys generally give us trouble (although you have been a better side over recent seasons too) but I think we should get the better of you this time and hopefully with some room to spare (5-7 goals). We are getting closer to our strongst side and closing in on the business end of the season. To me, this means we should start producing some of our better football over the next few games.

I think the best shot for the Saints is to really slow the game down like they have in the past (flood if you like) and cause the Hawks to go sideways and backwards and bring the ball slowly into the forward line. I am not sure why, but when this happens to us we always seem to hesitate and wait to find a perfect pass, rather than backing guys like Buddy and Rough to beat their opponents. We inevitably waste a lot of these attempted precision passes.

I think we are getting smarter though, and if we are allowed (and prepared) to move the ball quickly into our forwards, I believe we will just be far too strong on the night.

Good luck though. I am looking forward to getting to the Dome on Saturday night.

I'm loving that our opponent's supporters are living back in May. Let's hope their coaches are as well. All of a sudden, we have possibly the most potent forward set-up in the league. Roo is unbelievable, and which one of Hawthorn's 5'10" defenders is going to stop Kosi in his current mood? Four awesome contested pack marks on Saturday night. Milne is on fire post-dropping, Armo, Clint Jones etc. We look very good in there. At the other end they'll kick a lot of goals, but I don't think they have a negative defender in the class of Maxy, who is unquestionably in career best form at the moment. If it wasn't for Scarlett, he'd be a show for AA. Absolutely DESTROYED Fev on Friday.

CHBench
19 Jul 2008, 21:41
28 pts down at half time.
Our disposal is very poor and we have reverted back to our old ways. We really need to run the ball fast to allow Roo and Kosi one out with their opponents otherwise it will be the same story with the hawks running the ball out of our 50 in droves.
C'mon Saints show some guts and determination.

Joffa 5
19 Jul 2008, 21:51
What a start to the second half! 4 points in it now :thumbsu:

Joffa 5
19 Jul 2008, 21:54
Blake in the ruck a master stroke.

TheTrav
19 Jul 2008, 21:56
Lets keep it going, CMON SAINTERS

hawks_time
19 Jul 2008, 22:06
Tell your boys to calm down:(

Joffa 5
19 Jul 2008, 22:09
When was our last 8 goal quarter? Brilliant!

hawks_time
19 Jul 2008, 22:36
Congrats Sainters, you earned the win. They don't call it the Grand Final quater for nothing.

igt22265
19 Jul 2008, 22:48
Don't normally post on the other side,

but you blokes dished out a perfect 3rd quarter,
and nailed the last bit.

Well done, very impressed.

CHBench
19 Jul 2008, 22:50
28 pts down at half time.
Our disposal is very poor and we have reverted back to our old ways. We really need to run the ball fast to allow Roo and Kosi one out with their opponents otherwise it will be the same story with the hawks running the ball out of our 50 in droves.
C'mon Saints show some guts and determination.

These half time rants are becoming a good luck charm :cool::thumbsu:

TheTrav
19 Jul 2008, 22:59
Maybe Ross reads them to the players at half time?

CHBench
19 Jul 2008, 23:03
Maybe Ross writes them ;)

Highlight of the night...CJ's run down of Buddyyyy. ****ing awesome!!!!:D:thumbsu:

igt22265
19 Jul 2008, 23:13
xxxx
xxxxx
xxxx

HoldenMCaulfield
20 Jul 2008, 01:34
Highlight of the night...CJ's run down of Buddyyyy. ****ing awesome!!!!:D:thumbsu:

That was just brilliant.

If you had only ten seconds of video to explain the new Saints - this is it !

MilneyLoves2Snap
20 Jul 2008, 02:00
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,6154636,00.jpg

MilneyLoves2Snap
20 Jul 2008, 02:01
Maybe Ross writes them ;)

YES!!!.. How ****ing good was it? I NEED VIDEO OF IT.. DID ANYONE TAPE THE GAME?

Armitage2Riewoldt
20 Jul 2008, 02:12
Who wants to guess what I had for dinner tonight.

HoldenMCaulfield
20 Jul 2008, 02:23
Who wants to guess what I had for dinner tonight.

Mate, I don't know you, but I think you'll be really, really fat by the end of September !

Keep up the good Hungry Jacks work !

saintsownthedome
20 Jul 2008, 03:04

come on our board and make statements like this ?? you need to hide for a few weeks.

CHBench
20 Jul 2008, 11:18
If anyone needs/wants a torrent link, PM me. This one's a keeper. :thumbsu:

Armitage2Riewoldt
20 Jul 2008, 16:33
Mate, I don't know you, but I think you'll be really, really fat by the end of September !

Keep up the good Hungry Jacks work !

I dont mind being obese if me Sains can win a flag!

Squizzy1970
20 Jul 2008, 18:41
quote WASaintsFan08 (edited)
I believe that St Kilda vs Hawthorn will define our season.

after 3 straight wins finally playing some free flowing footy.

or do we go back to old ways...
[quote]

Very good thread as it turns out - incisive.

Seems you got both St. Kilda teams in one game.