View Full Version : St Kilda - Kings of the flood
Good win on Friday night. You outplayed us.
I did notice however that your club loves to flood at every opportunity. And I mean every single team member forward of the centre.
Is that brand of football conducive to a winning culture?
Signd Sealed Saint
14 Jul 2008, 18:29
KSim mate i dont think u quite understand the game plan at st kilda. Ross Lyon is trying to get the best out of Thomas' game plan and Roos'. The players flood heavily when the opposition have it and then try to run and move it quickly when we are in possession. When the players get a bit confused it can get ugly but this is the footy that Ross Lyon has been getting the players to adhere to the plan all year and its finally working out.
Squizzy1970
14 Jul 2008, 18:30
Der - if you win, yes :rolleyes:
Carlton had some extra guys on their forward line too on Friday night with 6 goals from frees and a poster given a goal (whilst the umpire was doing "the crab").
TassieSaint
14 Jul 2008, 18:35
KSim - King of the sooks
We beat you with old fashioned running football out of the centre on friday. I noticed minimal flooding especially compared to some of our earlier games.
Signd Sealed Saint
14 Jul 2008, 18:47
He's allowed to have a sook, let him go. But KSim, Blues are on the up, Saints are going down. Im the one who should be more concerned at the moment.
Look2Me4Guidance
14 Jul 2008, 19:25
I did notice however that your club loves to flood at every opportunity. And I mean every single team member forward of the centre.
Will your side ever be associated with a winning culture again?
Sainters66
14 Jul 2008, 21:48
Why are many Carlton supporters such sore losers. You lost. Move on. I didn't hear any Saints supporters gloating.
Get rid of Fev and you might be half a chance. :D
Signd Sealed Saint
14 Jul 2008, 22:09
Guys Carlton are a team on the up. they will be a premiership contender soon, so I wouldn't be dishing it out now coz who knows where we'll be in a couple of seasons time?
TassieSaint
14 Jul 2008, 22:20
Guys Carlton are a team on the up. they will be a premiership contender soon, so I wouldn't be dishing it out now coz who knows where we'll be in a couple of seasons time?
Yeah that's the spirit mate :rolleyes:
Are you a Carlton supporter in disguise? Because if so you are doing a pretty poor job off it.
Signd Sealed Saint
14 Jul 2008, 23:15
Tassie Saint, I am a Saint Kilda supporter and a realist. We're not going to win a premiership this year, or next year, or the year after. Which is basically this generation gone, then we go into rebuilding. While Carlton's No.1 draft picks will dominate. I guess its St Kilda supporter's bad luck that injury struck us in '04 + '05 when we had our real chance. Losing all those games those years back meant absolutely nothing. This hurts me as much as every other Sainter out there. I have no faith in the side, because they really do not deserve it. We've always been let down by them.
TassieSaint
14 Jul 2008, 23:19
So we should let supporters from other clubs come to our board and hang shit on us and just sit by and take it, simply because they seemingly have a brighter future. If you really have that little faith in our club you should at least be taking the oppurtunity to bag out Carlton whilst we're still better than them :p
Kildonan
14 Jul 2008, 23:28
There was a time, not too long ago actually, where I was concerned about the mighty Saints playing unattractive football. It was against Sydney that I first felt these misgivings. Last year in particular, but again in the first match this year the matches were hardly spectacles. They were unattractive. In fact we have played a few quite unattrractive matches. The match against Brisbane was the lowlight of the season. We had to do something to turn it all around.
This was a major test for Ross Lyon as many of the St Kilda fans were turning against him, or at least questioning where he was taking the club.
The trick turned out to be an infusion of youth.
The addition of youth has added a renewed enthusiasm for all players. The kids are busting their guts in both the Saints and at Casey. The senior players are stepping just a bit more spritely because they are looked up to by the kids - and they wont take a backward step because having fewer senior players means that they're taking more responsibility on each of their shoulders.
The match against Fremantle was an unsightly affair but we were never ever going to lose that match - we won ugly but we won.
Then we came up against North at the Gold Coast. We started out playing some ordinary footy, then Ross blasted the boys and they came out and played some beautiful free flowing footy. Sure we flooded back, but then we were able to move the ball forward in packs. It wasn't continuous but there was some very attractive footy being played by the Saints.
Then we played the sooky la la's - who think it's their right to win because they've paid enough money for it. Again we played some beautiful footy - much nicer than the Blues' footy. We had several exciting clearances from the centre bounce resulting in goals, we had beautiful ball movements through heavy traffic and we had powerful contested marks. We flooded back to defend when necessary and be flowed forwards in packs. The Blues got most of their goals from free kicks. Wow - excitement plus :rolleyes:
ChrisFooty
15 Jul 2008, 00:05
The injection of youth has been great. St.kilda do have some good kids coming along. The rookie list has been used very effectivley by St.kilda in the last 1-2 years. You never know, maybe in 3-4 years time St.kilda could be seen as the leader in utilising the rookie list to the greatest effect.
MilneyLoves2Snap
15 Jul 2008, 00:08
Sour lemons...
mailman4
15 Jul 2008, 00:49
So we should let supporters from other clubs come to our board and hang shit on us and just sit by and take it, simply because they seemingly have a brighter future. If you really have that little faith in our club you should at least be taking the oppurtunity to bag out Carlton whilst we're still better than them :p
I would hardly say that saying we flood is hanging shit on us...
Armitage2Riewoldt
15 Jul 2008, 01:36
The injection of youth has been great. St.kilda do have some good kids coming along. The rookie list has been used very effectivley by St.kilda in the last 1-2 years. You never know, maybe in 3-4 years time St.kilda could be seen as the leader in utilising the rookie list to the greatest effect.
Geary, Jones, Macca, Eddy of current. And Miles looks the goods too. :eek:
From one decent player in 6 years (Milne) to 4-5 in 2 years! Amazing!
I thought my thread was quite relevant and a topic for discussion. Did many of you actually read it?
I congratulated you guys for the win. You did better than us and have had the wood on us for a while.
My apologies for trying to have a mature footy discussion with the fans of the club in question. I thought you guys would know better than anyone. Obviously not.
sainter
15 Jul 2008, 09:43
I thought my thread was quite relevant and a topic for discussion. Did many of you actually read it?
I congratulated you guys for the win. You did better than us and have had the wood on us for a while.
My apologies for trying to have a mature footy discussion with the fans of the club in question. I thought you guys would know better than anyone. Obviously not.
It was a deliberately provocative post and you were taken to task over it.
Your post was titled - St Kilda - Kings of the Flood, and you questioned our game style and club culture.
If you post a new thread on an opposition board and are not prepared to cop a couple of negative responses then itīs probably best you stick to your own board where all of your supporters can whinge about our negative tactics until your hearts are content.
JeffDunne
15 Jul 2008, 09:49
KSim, your last line gave the post it's true context.
Carlton supporters troll St Kilda boards more than any other supporters (in fact I'd say Carlton supporters outnumber the other teams 14 combined), so if you're after a genuine discussion I'd suggest you leave out the blatant troll.
Winning builds a winning culture and I'd personnaly like to thank for the Blues for their contribution in helping us build a winning culture.
It was a deliberately provocative post and you were taken to task over it.
Your post was titled - St Kilda - Kings of the Flood, and you questioned our game style and club culture.
If you post a new thread on an opposition board and are not prepared to cop a couple of negative responses then itīs probably best you stick to your own board where all of your supporters can whinge about our negative tactics until your hearts are content.
I will reiterate my point:
VALID DISCUSSION, INTERESTED IN THE ST KILDA SUPPORTERS OPINION.
I made an observation at the game (and when I do watch a saints game) and wanted some feedback. I think thats a fair call. I am sorry I bothered now.
If I wanted to provoke on this board I'd create something like:
- One premiership ever - Will there be another etc etc.
You are barking up the wrong tree. I wanted a discussion about your flood tatics. From what I have seen its used extensively. And history shows that this does not provide a winning culture which I am assuming is Ross Lyons job?
JeffDunne
15 Jul 2008, 10:04
How does history show that? :confused:
KSim, your last line gave the post it's true context.
Carlton supporters troll St Kilda boards more than any other supporters (in fact I'd say Carlton supporters outnumber the other teams 14 combined), so if you're after a genuine discussion I'd suggest you leave out the blatant troll.
Winning builds a winning culture and I'd personnaly like to thank for the Blues for their contribution in helping us build a winning culture.
Blatant troll? Pluheseeeeeeeee mate. Get your hand off it.
How does history show that? :confused:
Teams that use flooding as a tatic don't win premierships.
JeffDunne
15 Jul 2008, 10:07
lol
You have "Princess Park" as your location and I need to get my hand off it?
Typical Carlton moron.
Knows SWFA about the 'brand" they cheer for other than they used to win a lot.
JeffDunne
15 Jul 2008, 10:08
Teams that use flooding as a tatic don't win premierships.
Have you been following football for 5 minutes? :confused:
lol
You have "Princess Park" as your location and I need to get my hand off it?
Typical Carlton moron.
Knows SWFA about the 'brand" they cheer for other than they used to win a lot.
Yes Jeff. Yes Jeff.
Anyways, you are entitled to you opinion. Have a good one champ.
Have you been following football for 5 minutes? :confused:
2 mins actually mate.
sainter
15 Jul 2008, 10:13
I made an observation at the game (and when I do watch a saints game) and wanted some feedback. I think thats a fair call. I am sorry I bothered now.
You are barking up the wrong tree. I wanted a discussion about your flood tatics. From what I have seen its used extensively. And history shows that this does not provide a winning culture which I am assuming is Ross Lyons job?
No, you mean you want feedback on your own terms.
When I read your post my immediate perception of it was one of sour grapes on your behalf as well.
You know perfectly well that flooding is regarded by most people in the footy world as a blight on the game and by accusing our team of doing it what did you actually expect from us?
If we push back in numbers to defend and then push forward to attack Iīm more than happy with that. What was lacking and what I wanted to see was greater spirit amongst our players and I think the injection of youth has played a big role in that happening in recent weeks. The last thing on here I wanted to read, but fully expected, was one of those Ļcongratulations on winning but...." threads.
You didnīt get the discussion you wanted so itīs probably best you head back to the main board.
JeffDunne
15 Jul 2008, 10:17
You didnīt get the discussion you wanted so itīs probably best you head back to the main board.
Where's the fun in that? :)
sainter
15 Jul 2008, 10:20
Where's the fun in that? :)
Haha, well we have discussed ways of increasing the traffic of this board.
Setting up a St Kilda vs Carlton free for all would be a sure fire way of getting you, Joffaboy and Fireman to post here on a regular basis. ;)
JeffDunne
15 Jul 2008, 10:26
Now there's a plan.
Get Chief to change the board description from 'Saints fans, march in here!' to something derogatory about Carlton and I reckon traffic would increase 10-fold.
Maybe something like 'Proud owners of the Carlton FC since 2002'? :)
sainter
15 Jul 2008, 10:32
Now there's a plan.
Get Chief to change the board description from 'Saints fans, march in here!' to something derogatory about Carlton and I reckon traffic would increase 10-fold.
It has my support.
Got a feeling Chief wonīt approve unfortunately.
Persevering Saint
15 Jul 2008, 11:23
Look, just because you say one nice line to begin with, doesn't stop the rest of what you say being troll. If I say to you, "Say, you're sister's pretty - pity she's thicker than two short planks," something tells me you'd be offended.
If you're arguing that you weren't trolling when you said that we're flooding in a boring manner, well, the only way that could be true is if you expected us to discuss it from several angles - including that we disagree with you, even vehemently disagree with you. You seem to think we should only say, "Fair point KSim, what was Ross Lyon thinking? If only we could be playing the great brand of football Ratten has brought to YOUR club..." Dude, you can't dictate how a thread goes once you've posted it, and you CERTAINLY can't when you've done it on our own flipping board.
Now, let's take you in the best possible light. Here's my response - to you, and to Nexus. I think what we're seeing here is not flooding football, it's TIDAL football. Roo explained after the game the other night that footy is a game of momentum. We know that each team in a match have times of ascendancy. We respond to the inevitable periods of opposition ascendancy by pushing a tidal wave back, to halt effective 50m entries. BUT, the emphasis, like a wave, is to not just stay there indefinitely, but rather to be using our weight in the backline to drag the ball out of the opposition 50m and shift the momentum back in our direction as soon as possible. Such a game plan relies heavily on fitness, because it demands heaps of running - our players did not have the required fitness for this gameplan until recently, and now are starting to get there, as well as understanding the subtelties of the game plan much much better.
Thanks very much for your question. Have a good day.
Squizzy1970
15 Jul 2008, 14:14
Look, just because you say one nice line to begin with, doesn't stop the rest of what you say being troll. If I say to you, "Say, you're sister's pretty - pity she's thicker than two short planks," something tells me you'd be offended.
I was thinking more like "Geez KSim - you're sister is a really nice girl, but shame her nickname is DimSim cause she's got a head that looks like one". No point making the comment at all, is there?
Persevering Saint
15 Jul 2008, 14:58
I was thinking more like "Geez KSim - you're sister is a really nice girl, but shame her nickname is DimSim cause she's got a head that looks like one". No point making the comment at all, is there?
Well, sometimes you have to spell out the obvious to Carlton supporters...
One premiership ever! Enough said my St Kilda friends.
I hope another comes to you sometime in the next 100 years.
So much for a friendly chat. Cynical nutbags.
MilneyLoves2Snap
15 Jul 2008, 16:51
One premiership ever! Enough said my St Kilda friends.
I hope another comes to you sometime in the next 100 years.
So much for a friendly chat. Cynical nutbags.
DOnt leave, We love our carlton bunny :)
Signd Sealed Saint
15 Jul 2008, 17:29
He wasn't hanging shit on our club, I am quite concerned about flooding, i mean we've played what, a handful of 'proper games' and it's a real concern. If a carlton supporter just came and started calling us all duds of course i would've started bagging the shit outta them. Right from Jordan Russel...
DOnt leave, We love our carlton bunny :)
MilneyLoves2??????? I think snap is the wrong word there buddy.
Are you one of the imbossiles that took my post to heart and can't have a proper chat about a valid topic?
JeffDunne
15 Jul 2008, 18:52
I really wish you'd fixed your location.
"Princess" Park is one of my pet hates.
If you're arguing that you weren't trolling when you said that we're flooding in a boring manner, well, the only way that could be true is if you expected us to discuss it from several angles - including that we disagree with you, even vehemently disagree with you. You seem to think we should only say, "Fair point KSim, what was Ross Lyon thinking? If only we could be playing the great brand of football Ratten has brought to YOUR club..." Dude, you can't dictate how a thread goes once you've posted it, and you CERTAINLY can't when you've done it on our own flipping board.
Now, let's take you in the best possible light. Here's my response - to you, and to Nexus. I think what we're seeing here is not flooding football, it's TIDAL football. Roo explained after the game the other night that footy is a game of momentum. We know that each team in a match have times of ascendancy. We respond to the inevitable periods of opposition ascendancy by pushing a tidal wave back, to halt effective 50m entries. BUT, the emphasis, like a wave, is to not just stay there indefinitely, but rather to be using our weight in the backline to drag the ball out of the opposition 50m and shift the momentum back in our direction as soon as possible. Such a game plan relies heavily on fitness, because it demands heaps of running - our players did not have the required fitness for this gameplan until recently, and now are starting to get there, as well as understanding the subtelties of the game plan much much better.
Thanks very much for your question. Have a good day.
You guys played well when you got the ball out of Carltons 50m quickly and then fired it into Reiwoldt. You got those take aways because of the flood your employed and hard running of Nick to go and chase the ball. That was my perception, thats all.
Armitage2Riewoldt
15 Jul 2008, 18:54
milneyloves2??????? I Think Snap Is The Wrong Word There Buddy.
Are You One Of The Imbossiles that Took My Post To Heart And Can't Have A Proper Chat About A Valid Topic?
:d :d D :d
I really wish you'd fixed your location.
"Princess" Park is one of my pet hates.
Utopia is any better Joffa?
Princess Park is the last of the old suburban grounds. I wish we never moved. I have been there many a time and enjoyed it immensley.
Do you hate it so much cause we towled you there over the years?
Squizzy1970
15 Jul 2008, 18:55
You guys played well when you got the ball out of Carltons 50m quickly and then fired it into Reiwoldt. You got those take aways because of the flood your employed and hard running of Nick to go and chase the ball. That was my perception, thats all.
Whatever - can we kill the thread off now? :confused:
You can't even have a decent chat eh champ?
What better things have you got to talk about? I am not sure what Saints supporters would have idle banter over? It couldn't be success could it?
My topic is valid and all I wanted was a discussion. Most of you on here didn't even think of having a reasonable chat.
Later Squizzy. Good luck for the future. Keep the floods rolling in.
Look2Me4Guidance
15 Jul 2008, 18:59
Don't worry KSim would have left with 10 mins left to go because like other Carlton supporters it's against the code to watch a losing game until the final siren.
I was there until the end. I am not one to leave when we get done. Many other Blues people did leave which was disappointing.
Look2Me4Guidance
15 Jul 2008, 19:04
That is a totally inaccurate statement and you wonder why we're getting into you. Check yourself before you wreck yourself pal.
Look2Me4Guidance
15 Jul 2008, 19:05
Now there's a plan.
Good to see you here Jeff. How come I only see your work on Bay13?
That is a totally inaccurate statement and you wonder why we're getting into you. Check yourself before you wreck yourself pal.
That was what I observed on the night?! It was up for discussion and all I got was abuse. I may look through rose color glasses but I thought St Kilda flooded whenever possible.
Wreck my self eh homie??
JeffDunne
15 Jul 2008, 19:07
Princess Park is the last of the old suburban grounds.
It is?
I've never heard of it
It is?
I've never heard of it
Nice comeback Joffa.
Anyways thanks for the chat.
JeffDunne
15 Jul 2008, 19:09
Good to see you here Jeff. How come I only see your work on Bay13?
No reason really.
Usually just busy posting & pissing off mods elsewhere. :)
JeffDunne
15 Jul 2008, 19:11
Nice comeback Joffa.
Anyways thanks for the chat.
Joffa? :confused:
Anyhow tosspot - it's called PRINCES PARK!!
FFS, Princess Park.
You goose. :D
Armitage2Riewoldt
15 Jul 2008, 19:13
Ah why'd you let him know? It was getting entertaining as he dug that hole deeper and deeper.
Joffa? :confused:
Anyhow tosspot - it's called PRINCES PARK!!
FFS, Princess Park.
You goose. :D
Fair call Joffa. I never even noticed. I get on at work in between meeting etc and it never even twigged.
I feel like a goose right now.
TassieSaint
15 Jul 2008, 19:15
Deciding Factors in the Game
1. Ruck dominance: King and Kosi gave Cloke and Kreuzer a whooping, with King in particular giving our midfielders an armchair ride. Most of our attacks were set up from stoppages.
2. Carlton's weak backline: A fully fit Riewoldt dominated Waite, Milne on Carrazzo was a disaster for the Blues and I don't even know who was on Kosi but unless it was Gibbs they got beaten badly. Put simply Carlton had no one to cover our forwards.
3. The Fev: Hudghton beat Fev, as per usual, and Carlton can't win without him. His sooking and poor attitude was detrimental to your team moral and momentum and without him your best option up forward was suddenly Betts.
4. Midfield depth: St Kilda's good midfield performances: Hayes, Gram, Goddard, Ball and to a lesser extent Dal Santo and Montagna. Carlton good midfield performances: Gibbs... and eventually Judd. Stevens and Murphy unsighted.
Things that had nothing to do with the outcome of the game
1. Flooding
Deciding Factors in the Game
1. Ruck dominance: King and Kosi gave Cloke and Kreuzer a whooping, with King in particular giving our midfielders an armchair ride. Most of our attacks were set up from stoppages.
2. Carlton's weak backline: A fully fit Riewoldt dominated Waite, Milne on Carrazzo was a disaster for the Blues and I don't even know who was on Kosi but unless it was Gibbs they got beaten badly. Put simply Carlton had no one to cover our forwards.
3. The Fev: Hudghton beat Fev, as per usual, and Carlton can't win without him. His sooking and poor attitude was detrimental to your team moral and momentum and without him your best option up forward was suddenly Betts.
4. Midfield depth: St Kilda's good midfield performances: Hayes, Gram, Goddard, Ball and to a lesser extent Dal Santo and Montagna. Carlton good midfield performances: Gibbs... and eventually Judd. Stevens and Murphy unsighted.
Things that had nothing to do with the outcome of the game
1. Flooding
Thanks for the first, reasonable reply. Much appreciated.
A pretty good reply actually. I thought Waite getting smashed set the tone and after half time we struggled until the start of third. We relied on Judd way too much. After he was buggered then that was it.
Squizzy1970
15 Jul 2008, 19:25
3. The Fev: His sooking and poor attitude was detrimental to your team moral and momentum
Tassie - nailed it again.
It now explains the Princess Park reference, with the high pitched voice to the umpires, the rolling on the ground squealing for a free, and the hugging opposition players.
MilneyLoves2Snap
15 Jul 2008, 21:25
MilneyLoves2??????? I think snap is the wrong word there buddy.
Are you one of the imbossiles that took my post to heart and can't have a proper chat about a valid topic?
No No.. Snap is the right word.. 5 i think it was against yur rabble.. what are you going to do when judd breaks down and fev knocks up a tramp? Rely on betts last quater goals when the game is long gone?
Fev - For Himself
Judd - Groin is like a timebomb
Gibbs - bound for south australia
Murphy - ?? lol
Sultana - WTF?
Kreuzer - Worst Number 1 in History
WE WILL BEAT CARLTON ATLEAST 35 MORE TIMES IN A ROW PERHAPS MORE.. MARK MY WORDS
You gotta love the carlton bunny
ChunkyDuckling
15 Jul 2008, 22:35
That was what I observed on the night?! It was up for discussion and all I got was abuse. I may look through rose color glasses but I thought St Kilda flooded whenever possible.
I stumbled upon this thread looking for something on this weeks Saints game against us...
You're an idiot. :thumbsd: How you can call your OP anything but a troll is bullshit, get off your high horse. In almost every post you state you're just after a chat an then invariably follow that with another subtle troll.
I'm not sticking up for the Saints or saying you are wrong as I didn't see the game, but its their board and arrogant, trolling Blues fans just piss me off, thats all.
Armitage2Riewoldt
15 Jul 2008, 22:43
and arrogant, trolling Blues fans just piss me off, thats all.
Don't worry, it's not just you. :D
Sainters66
15 Jul 2008, 22:49
So what's your point? How do you know for a fact that we will be down the bottom in two years time mate. WE WILL NOT BE. I'm standing up for my club that I have been a member of on and off sine 1981 so don't tell me..........................:(
Armitage2Riewoldt
15 Jul 2008, 22:52
SSS, you can't have an attitude like that on a footy forum lol.
Specially not when it's Carlton.
Kildonan
15 Jul 2008, 23:17
It's not Carlton, it's Carton ---> that's where their money comes from so they might as well rename themselves.
I stumbled upon this thread looking for something on this weeks Saints game against us...
You're an idiot. :thumbsd: How you can call your OP anything but a troll is bullshit, get off your high horse. In almost every post you state you're just after a chat an then invariably follow that with another subtle troll.
I'm not sticking up for the Saints or saying you are wrong as I didn't see the game, but its their board and arrogant, trolling Blues fans just piss me off, thats all.
Gotta say CD some pretty good work right there ... :thumbsu:
goodie23
16 Jul 2008, 00:41
The timing of this post and the preferred team of the poster would indeed point to this being a troll. If he'd actually watched the game properly Friday night, he would realise there were only a few instances of flooding to the extent he described. If he'd watched us on a regular basis this year, he would notice the difference between when we over-apply the flood to the ebb and flow of offense and defence applied against Carlton.
Do your research properly next time, boyo.