View Full Version : TV TV gimmicks that make you cringe

Pages : [1] 2

Admiral Afterworld
14 Jul 2008, 19:13
1) Advertising an episode as "ADULTS ONLY!!!" when it is rated M...

Add any as they come to mind/hand.

dmc333
14 Jul 2008, 20:11
Surely you're not talking about the comic styling's of

eLkZTJczirU

SunKing
14 Jul 2008, 20:19
men men men men manly men men men..meeeeeeennnnnnnn:D love that show!

anyway hate the word encore used for what is nothing but a repeat. like we wanted it!

Bombers_Forever
14 Jul 2008, 20:19
The word "exclusive". Every news story or "current affairs" story is an "exclusive" for some reason. Yawn.

Speaking of news, using the news to cross promote shows.

Gabbie
14 Jul 2008, 20:25
"So and So" movie starring "Oscar winner" who didn't win it for that movie but the stations have to ride on the coat tails of whoever has just won an oscar and are in a movie they probably did 10 years ago which is being played on TV for the 200th time.

Dippers_Mullet
15 Jul 2008, 00:07
EVERY SINGLE add for a new episode for some pathetic show.

*pretend this is done in that stupid TV husky voice*

- it will change EVERYTHING
- the BEST episode EVERRRRR
- it will cost them EVERYTHINGGG
- will he/she make it out alive????
etc etc.

I remember one time NCIS advertised the next episode as having to catch the most evil man ever. Now I hate the show, but I was so intrigued as to what this man has done to be labelled the most evil man ever, that I just had to watch to find out.

He had killed one man. That's right, one man - who had wronged him.

This constitutes being the most evil man ever.

I hate TV.

The Sultan
15 Jul 2008, 00:33
"The following scenes may offend some people......"

Valentino Dmitri
15 Jul 2008, 01:29
"The episode no parent can afford to miss" - ie: a small child guest stars.

I remember an old episode of The Late Show when David Letterman was ripping on a US TV channel for using this gimmick on an episode of Walker: Texas Ranger

Exhale You
15 Jul 2008, 06:51
The want of tv channels (particularly Channel 10) to give tv shows a nickname, in the vain hope they become a part of everyday discussion.

They started it by shortening 'So You Think You Can Dance' to just 'Dance', and since they've tried it with every show that has more than two words in the title.
My favourite was when they shortened the title of that horrible show 'Rules of Engagement' to 'Rules'.

Newsflash, these shortened names will only catch on if the show is actually popular, you can't manufacture such things.

Bombers_Forever
15 Jul 2008, 07:59
This is again a news one but Channel 10 do it a lot. They start the Sports Tonight show with what sport they will cover and say stuff like "Find out how the Bombers went against the Lions after this break". Tell us the result you idiots! All designed to keep you watching for some reason.

JUBJUB
15 Jul 2008, 09:30
"Digitaly enhanced version" [i.e Wizard of Oz]

tucker777
15 Jul 2008, 09:40
My personal favourites are the "premier glitch", where a show especially on abc1 stars off in the second series then when the show rates they put on the 1st series
- the "from the producers of tagline", like i saw Speedracer have "from the producers of the Matrix"...they do know that they are different movies altogether don't they?
- and the fact that if you were to show rotting corpses in a show say...6...6.30...7.....then you'd have a warning before the show ie. This show is rated PG it contains blah blah blah
HOWEVER
if you show them on the news then you don't have a warning before the program all you have to do is get the newsreader to say "the following images may be disturbing for some viewers".....what makes the news exampt
oh and those stupid new film classification things like - and im not joking "suggestive humour" , "stylized violence", "battle violence" , "supernatural themes".....i like how someone has had to categorize violence lol

Delroy
15 Jul 2008, 10:36
When they package something at a BRAND NEW TIMESLOT, as though it warrants watching just because of a new timeslot.

Wallaby
15 Jul 2008, 10:41
I always hate getting the (american) stars of the latest show to pop up in the promo and say 'Watch it only on 7 (or 9 or 10)' as if it is exclusive to that channel.

The star has probably spent a whole day in the studio making those - a different one for Aus, NZ, UK, Canada plus every one of the US states naming the 'local' station.

And then we fly them in for the Logies - "Oh, Austria is my favorite country in the whole world! Can I have my drugs, money and bimbos now?'.

FiveStrings
15 Jul 2008, 12:02
When they package something at a BRAND NEW TIMESLOT, as though it warrants watching just because of a new timeslot.

When in reality it's in the "brand new timeslot" because it was getting its arse kicked in its original timeslot.

"At the special time of..." is another one. The special time is generally 30 minutes or an hour later, because a sporting event or awards show is on beforehand and pushes the start time back.

lifelike_
15 Jul 2008, 12:21
Some aren't gimmicks, but they all make me cringe -

Those Today Show ads. "See you tomorrow Melbourne!", when in reality there's a similar ad on in every other city in Australia.

The flashing text on current affairs ads, like a big "Tracy Grimshaw exclusive!!!!1!!!1!one". Whoever writes the material on the ads needs to be shot.

At the end of some of Nine's ads showing the programming for the night, they'll finish off with an "Enjoy". Massive cringe.

Peter Harvey. Retire already.

Richard Wilkins.

Karl Stefanovic.

Lisa Wilkinson.

Peter Hitchener. Can guarantee he'll say "right, thanks Livinia" every night until one of the two leaves the newsroom. Then again, my fault for watching commercial news.

Newsroom banter in general.

Ben Fordham and his "exclusives".

Nine's flogging of Gordon Ramsay.

Cross-promotion.

And so on.

lifelike_
15 Jul 2008, 12:22
Surely you're not talking about the comic styling's of

eLkZTJczirU

Blasphemy!

Gabbie
15 Jul 2008, 13:20
"The following scenes may offend some people......"

and they don't !!! almost as bad as a few shows on cable now have contains sex, violence, bad language promo just before the show and I'm woohoo finally some show that's not girlie touchie feelie and they DON'T.:mad:

beez
15 Jul 2008, 13:35
and they don't !!! almost as bad as a few shows on cable now have contains sex, violence, bad language promo just before the show and I'm woohoo finally some show that's not girlie touchie feelie and they DON'T.:mad:

Its like watching SBS when they say "nudity", you watch a stupid movie in subtitles waiting for something good, and all you get is a crappy nipple shot

Cousin Jed
15 Jul 2008, 13:44
Some aren't gimmicks, but they all make me cringe -

Those Today Show ads. "See you tomorrow Melbourne!", when in reality there's a similar ad on in every other city in Australia.

The flashing text on current affairs ads, like a big "Tracy Grimshaw exclusive!!!!1!!!1!one". Whoever writes the material on the ads needs to be shot.

At the end of some of Nine's ads showing the programming for the night, they'll finish off with an "Enjoy". Massive cringe.

Peter Harvey. Retire already.

Richard Wilkins.

Karl Stefanovic.

Lisa Wilkinson.

Peter Hitchener. Can guarantee he'll say "right, thanks Livinia" every night until one of the two leaves the newsroom. Then again, my fault for watching commercial news.

Newsroom banter in general.

Ben Fordham and his "exclusives".

Nine's flogging of Gordon Ramsay.

Cross-promotion.

And so on.

Good to see you are better Mr Stokes.

Got to be "At the Special time of 9:43 and 15 seconds" because the cricket was on when it normally starts at 9:30

bassmanx
15 Jul 2008, 14:00
Its like watching SBS when they say "nudity", you watch a stupid movie in subtitles waiting for something good, and all you get is a crappy nipple shot

Not a fan of German porn?

3jimmy3
15 Jul 2008, 14:11
"America's No. 1 show/crime show/drama/comedy."

How gives a shit if it was popular in America? Doesn't necessarily mean we will like it.

Or when they use it for the first episode of a new series - "watched by 60 million people in the US." Good for you. Why don't you tell us how many people came back to watch the second episode? That might be more relevant to telling us how popular the show actually is.

JUBJUB
15 Jul 2008, 14:19
One for shows like ACA & TT - "A story no family can afford to miss"

Bosun
15 Jul 2008, 14:21
The biggest gimmick I have seen recently is on channel 10. I actually dont watch a lot of TV (dont have cable and simply nothing really good on public) but there are select shows I love, South Park, Footy etc etc.

I like to watch the Simpsons on channel 10 and before an ad break comes on a little channel 10 exclusice pop up comes on saying along the lines of "dont rush off, no time for a toilet break/coffee break its only a 60 second ad break".

**** you channel 10!! If I want to take a leak or grab a beer Im ****ing getting one and it is blatantly obvious that you lengthen every other ad break so you can have your little "60 second" break" right at the end of the show, when you dumb bastards actually think no one realises what your up too.

Gabbie
15 Jul 2008, 14:21

as a gal i have no comment on that, but I hear you.

Magnum
15 Jul 2008, 14:47
Ads for dramas like that shitty all saints where the guy will say something like:

"The episode not to be missed" and then a shrill female voice whispering something like "will they survive!?" or some other garbage.

Makes me want to puke how dumb the average FTA viewer must be.

Delroy
15 Jul 2008, 14:56
Another one is being cheap ass and not letting the credits finish properly.

stephen_bayne
15 Jul 2008, 17:22
"America's No. 1 show/crime show/drama/comedy."

How gives a shit if it was popular in America? Doesn't necessarily mean we will like it.

Or when they use it for the first episode of a new series - "watched by 60 million people in the US." Good for you. Why don't you tell us how many people came back to watch the second episode? That might be more relevant to telling us how popular the show actually is.

I find this to be one of the most annoying ones. How many times has a show come to Australia backed by massive hype just cause it's big in the states only to be met with apathy from Aussie audiences? As much as people like to say it we're not American clones.

Some that haven't been mentioned yet...

Fastracking. Yeah, that's great. Now try playing the episodes in order and not cutting shit out and then maybe I'll give you a cookie and a pat on the head.

Exaggerating to outright lying. Ads that say "The controversial new series", "See what everyone is talking about" or "The hit new series" when usually there's no controversy, people are talking about how crap it is if at all and delivered disappointing numbers in the ratings.

Cookie cutter promos for shows. Has House finally lost it/gone too far? Will this be the case that finally stumps/brings <Insert name here> undone? It's the same shit every freakin' week!

Playing up celebrity appreances in shows to the point they overshadow the the show itself. Case in point Britney in How I Met Your Mother and Paris Hilton in My Name Is Earl. Seems so desperate especially as those shows do quite well in the ratings.

JUBJUB
15 Jul 2008, 18:54
Playing up celebrity appreances in shows to the point they overshadow the the show itself. Case in point Britney in How I Met Your Mother and Paris Hilton in My Name Is Earl. Seems so desperate especially as those shows do quite well in the ratings.

Just on celeb appearances,whenever Ferris Bueller is on PayTV they mention in the ads the stars in it.One they mention is Charlie Sheen.He's in in for around 30 seconds.

stephen_bayne
15 Jul 2008, 19:01
You're right. Most of the time a star is hyped as being in a movie like that they're a co star at best. That shits me as well.

They did this with Fran Drescher in Saturday Night Fever during the Nanny's heyday. How long was she even in that for?

Howard Littlejohn
15 Jul 2008, 19:21
"Special movie length episode" which is in fact made up of back to back regular length episodes of something that is failing miserably, and that the network simply can't afford not to show because they've paid so much for it.

Cross-promotion in general, especially in news products and sporting events.

"See you tomorrow". Unlikely, Ms Newsreaderperson. I might see you, but you probably won't see me.

Running programs overtime into something I actually want to watch. There's precious little I want to watch; you can at least end your so-called "reality" shite on time.

Repeating the same ad in the same break. OK, that's advertising buyers more than the networks; but Telstra, please go away and die.

Ads after every goal. Southern Cross don't do it in Tas, why does the rest of the country - even on Sthn Cross - have to put up with it?

"Live" coverage on delay; or where the studio presenter, is live but the action and commentary is not. Nine, I'm looking at you and your Wimbledon coverage.

"Special encore presentation" - in TV-speak this seems to mean "it rated crap first time around, and we don't know why; so we're giving the public a chance to ignore it again". Mark Loves Sharon the latest to have this particular trick tried out.
News flash - if a show bombs badly, its probably because it sucks; and it will certinaly bomb second go around.

Bombers_Forever
15 Jul 2008, 20:09
This is a great thread! And I agree with ALL of them!

Jabso
15 Jul 2008, 21:45
On Home and Away/Neigbours last episode of the season SAD MUSIC "One of your favorites ..." Scary music "WILL DIE" sad music with shots character "which one will it be?".

The Simpsons have had two "adults only" episodes that have rated through the roof with new times. The one where Homer smokes medicinal marijuana and the one where Homer and Marge try to spice up their sex life and end up running through the town naked.

Now a lot of episodes are more raunchier than that (especially new ones) and the repeats of the above ones are shown at regular times.

Anyone remember "Black-Label Seinfeld"?

Jabso
15 Jul 2008, 21:50
Just on celeb appearances,whenever Ferris Bueller is on PayTV they mention in the ads the stars in it.One they mention is Charlie Sheen.He's in in for around 30 seconds.

TV1 are a bit tongue in cheek with their ads though. For Wayne's World they advertised starring "Mike Myers....and that other guy".

Ebert80
15 Jul 2008, 22:07
Network premiere :o

Cleavy
15 Jul 2008, 22:13
Fastplay/direct via satellite.

Dippers_Mullet
15 Jul 2008, 22:27
'Direct' from the US.

lifelike_
16 Jul 2008, 11:49
'Direct' from the US.

Or those other two words - 'fast tracked'.

Oct19
16 Jul 2008, 22:42
Where seven adds phony sub headings to tv series such as:

Prison Break - On The Run

&

Prison Break - Countdown to The Great Escape

They did one for 24 once as well.

Monkey Worshipper
17 Jul 2008, 05:59
Other than 7's, "Premiere of New Season of Prison Break" ads a few weeks ago, the following:

Shows like border patrol, where they "flick" between stories ever few minutes. Each time they flick between the 5 stories on in the episode, they have re-explain and summise the story to date before getting on with new info on a story. 30 seconds later its time to flick again.

Going to an ad break, it's time to explain what's coming up. Coming back from an ad break, its time to explain what just preceeded.

It's all about stretching the show out. "Shows are just filler around ads".

JUBJUB
17 Jul 2008, 09:17
Other than 7's, "Premiere of New Season of Prison Break" ads a few weeks ago, the following:

or the other way where they say "Season ending" episode when it's not really.Ch9 did that this week with Cold Case.There's 3 episodes to go,plus they skipped 4 or 5 episodes.

Father Jack
17 Jul 2008, 09:42
Has there ever been a wedding on a TV show that has proceeded smoothly without the bride/groom/best man or priest having to commandeer a motorbike/racing car/kangaroo/horse/jetski/USS New Jersey or the Starship Enterprise to get to the church on time?

Bosun
17 Jul 2008, 12:22
Has there ever been a wedding on a TV show that has proceeded smoothly without the bride/groom/best man or priest having to commandeer a motorbike/racing car/kangaroo/horse/jetski/USS New Jersey or the Starship Enterprise to get to the church on time?

Dont get married on Ramsey Street............matter of fact dont have a baby, work, go to school, have a party, play footy, have a beer on Ramsey Street just stay the **** away!!:thumbsu:

Mop
17 Jul 2008, 13:47
Basically that whole 'I believe' campaign that Ten had.
**** me dry that was annoying.

Dippers_Mullet
17 Jul 2008, 15:31

Haha.

I expect to see something involving the pope-mobile in the near future on the adds for Neighbours.

Howard Littlejohn
17 Jul 2008, 18:48

"It was supposed to be their perfect day. But [who/what] runs it for them? Find out tomorrow at [insert time here] only on [insert channel here]."

Valentino Dmitri
18 Jul 2008, 01:55
Basically that whole 'I believe' campaign that Ten had.
**** me dry that was annoying.
Haha yes that was ordinary.

A bit like 9's SMILE! thing they are doing now. Tonight I was paying attention to a promo. They had three presenters from Getaway hamming it up on the beach: Two men made a big loveheart together with their arms, and a third man jumped through it, and they were all giggling and having a great time. WTF?

stephen_bayne
18 Jul 2008, 01:57
Crapping on a show at every opportunity until there's a chance you can buy it and then it's all praise. Not exactly a gimmick but very apt with 7 and 9 in regards to Big Brother atm.

estibador
18 Jul 2008, 03:43
Any soccer lovers with ESPN will relate to this...

The soccer starts and we have the usual pregame rundown of teams and pregame analysis. Then the commetator say 'We'll be back with the kick-off right after these messages'

Cue 3 minutes of ads before we finally rejoin the telecast with a long shot of the stadium and the voiceover 'Welcome back to Old Trafford. It's Man U vs Liverpool... join us for kick-off right after this'

And so we cut to another 3 minutes of ads - literally 5 bloody seconds since the last lot. And this gets repeated another 2 or 3 times before we really get to see the kickoff. It's 15 minutes worth of ads with 15 seconds of the soccer telecast spliced in between.

Even worse is sometimes they'll do the same for the delayed repeat the next day, only for the second half to be started with the message 'Due to time constraints we now jump ahead in this telecast' and they start the 2nd half with 15 minutes already elapsed.

Gee... I wonder why you have time constraints?

The Sultan
18 Jul 2008, 04:55
Cutting Sport of to go to the news

- warnie is one wicket away from a record in a test and ch 9 finish up and go to wheel of forntune

- two hole into the play off for the Australian open and ch7 go to the news

Father Jack
18 Jul 2008, 07:48
Back when I was a security guard many years ago, I was parked outside an abattoir late one saturday night listening to a very close semi final between (I think) Sydney and St Kilda, it was near the end, a few points in it, and the ABC decide to maintain their schedule and go to the bloody Country Hour Evening or some such nonsense. Couldn't believe it. It was the radio and not TV, but still very annoying.

Crumpler83
23 Jul 2008, 15:58
"World Premiere" advertising for an Australian produced tele-movie or documentary when we are the only country who'll be getting it on our TV screens FFS.

"Oh wow it's a WORLD PREMIERE....only shown in Australia..."

Peter Sidorkiewicz
23 Jul 2008, 21:00
The worst gimmick is deliberately extending TV shows past there scheduled time in order to fit the required ads in. I reckon Rove started it. If your scheduled time for the show is only meant to be an hour in a half and you have poorly managed your time and haven't done everything that was scripted then you shouldn't get an extra 5 -15 minutes to complete the show. It pisses me off when its 8:45pm and the scheduled 8:30pm show hasn't started yet.

estibador
23 Jul 2008, 22:30
The worst gimmick is deliberately extending TV shows past there scheduled time in order to fit the required ads in. I reckon Rove started it. If your scheduled time for the show is only meant to be an hour in a half and you have poorly managed your time and haven't done everything that was scripted then you shouldn't get an extra 5 -15 minutes to complete the show. It pisses me off when its 8:45pm and the scheduled 8:30pm show hasn't started yet.

The Footy Show used to go an hour overtime before Rove was even a twinkle in the producers eyes.

Admiral Afterworld
26 Jul 2008, 01:52
Seven are aware that Anh Do is Vietnamese, not Chinese?...

Dippers_Mullet
26 Jul 2008, 16:36
Seven are aware that Anh Do is Vietnamese, not Chinese?...

Yeah, he even says so in one of the adds. Looks like the most pointless show, which is a shame seeing as I love China and will probably end up watching it for the scenery.

'... could show you what the opening ceremony might be like.'

Rediculous.

tucker777
27 Jul 2008, 00:02
Haha yes that was ordinary.

A bit like 9's SMILE! thing they are doing now. Tonight I was paying attention to a promo. They had three presenters from Getaway hamming it up on the beach: Two men made a big loveheart together with their arms, and a third man jumped through it, and they were all giggling and having a great time. WTF?

Channel 9 presenters/celebrities + dropping acid = Channel 9 promos

lifelike_
28 Jul 2008, 08:55
Currently indulging in my first episode of Today for about six months.

So far there have been around 700 references to the story of "Hoges and the tax man".

Funnily enough the same thing was on 60 Minutes last night.

JUBJUB
28 Jul 2008, 09:46
Currently indulging in my first episode of Today for about six months.

So far there have been around 700 references to the story of "Hoges and the tax man".

Funnily enough the same thing was on 60 Minutes last night.

and funnily enough there just happened to be a story on Hoges and the tax man bit on the ch9 6pm news last night.At least this time they didn't make it the first story on the news.

stephen_bayne
28 Jul 2008, 12:57
Channel 9 presenters/celebrities + dropping acid = Channel 9 promos

Towards the end "You better smile" starts to sound like a threat. :p

Butane
28 Jul 2008, 14:13
The want of tv channels (particularly Channel 10) to give tv shows a nickname, in the vain hope they become a part of everyday discussion.

They started it by shortening 'So You Think You Can Dance' to just 'Dance', and since they've tried it with every show that has more than two words in the title.
My favourite was when they shortened the title of that horrible show 'Rules of Engagement' to 'Rules'.

Newsflash, these shortened names will only catch on if the show is actually popular, you can't manufacture such things.

Yes, that gives me the shits as well. 'Greys' 'housewives' are 2 others that make me want to punch a hole in the TV.

Exhale You
28 Jul 2008, 17:49
Yes, that gives me the shits as well. 'Greys' 'housewives' are 2 others that make me want to punch a hole in the TV.

Ah, so Channel 7 do it as well.

Almost makes me glad we don't get 7 on Foxtel satellite (which, btw, is ****ing ludicrous).

Father Jack
28 Jul 2008, 18:48
The first 'nickname' show I can remember was Ally.

Never watched it, just didn't like the wimpy bloke from Ned and Stacey.

Whatever did become of Ned?

estibador
28 Jul 2008, 21:00
Whatever did become of Ned?

He turned into some sort of sand monster.

scooterb
28 Jul 2008, 21:18
If I hear Wisteria Lane, Ramsay Street or Summer Bay again, I will punch a hole through my TV.
It's like the paparazzi magazines referring to celebrities by only their first names, eg. Nicole's heart break.

lifelike_
29 Jul 2008, 11:09
If I hear Wisteria Lane, Ramsay Street or Summer Bay again, I will punch a hole through my TV.
It's like the paparazzi magazines referring to celebrities by only their first names, eg. Nicole's heart break.

Or throwing the name 'baby' or 'little' in front of every kid's name to try and pull at the heartstrings.

Jabso
30 Jul 2008, 00:08
This is probably indicative of the quality of the shows but I hate it when the ads just foreshadow the plot. For example in Neighbors from what I saw in the ad some chicks new boyfriend is a murderer. Why not keep it as a mystery and build up some intrigue around the character rather than "CHICK X'S NEW LOVE IS A MURDERER! HOW/WHEN WILL SHE FIND OUT?".

tucker777
30 Jul 2008, 00:15
My fave hate is when the ad goes "and an event that will change them all"...cue an edited bit where a character is screaming, saying omg, or saying "nooooo!" etc

then show comes around and there is no event, just an ad with a character taken out of context altogether

Prolix
30 Jul 2008, 01:10
My fave hate is when the ad goes "and an event that will change them all"...cue an edited bit where a character is screaming, saying omg, or saying "nooooo!" etc

then show comes around and there is no event, just an ad with a character taken out of context altogether

"Funny story, the script called for me to say, "Yes", but I improvised."

Sorry, couldn't resist.

The traditional soap ad tactics have always annoyed me, but the new "make every show a one word title" is fast overtaking it on the all-time hate list.

do you know george?
31 Jul 2008, 00:59
I don't like the ads for tv shows when they take quotes out of context to make the show seem like its about one thing, when you KNOW that it's not going to be about that at all.

Dippers_Mullet
31 Jul 2008, 20:09

Yes, this in particular annoys me.

I remember when they even had the audacity to say 'it will change everything you've ever believed.'

That's right, a fictional piece of shit show is going to change everything I've ever believed. There was no superlative that could've possibly represent not only how angry I was, but how much I wanted to destory the world at that point in time.

tucker777
31 Jul 2008, 23:24
Yes, this in particular annoys me.

I remember when they even had the audacity to say 'it will change everything you've ever believed.'

That's right, a fictional piece of shit show is going to change everything I've ever believed. There was no superlative that could've possibly represent not only how angry I was, but how much I wanted to destory the world at that point in time.

love the influx of ads that say "that will rock them all", "that will rock Ramsay St/Summer Bay", "that will change everything"

Firstly there is only 2 thing that can rock someone or something:
- An earthquake
-AC/DC

and secondly let the viewers be the judges of what is rockable.....a new character thats come into the season is related to one of the characters??:eek: OMG.....thats not rockable, its almost a given

lifelike_
12 Oct 2008, 18:51
Networks referring to a premiere as 'all new'.

No shit, Sherlock.

Admiral Afterworld
8 Dec 2008, 00:12
I've noticed of late that when a show is rating less than Ten would hope they put out ads showing the alleged similarities between the lead male character and Homer Simpson.

DeadlyAkkuret
8 Dec 2008, 00:47
Networks referring to a premiere as 'all new'.

No shit, Sherlock.

"An all new, movie premiere, making it's debut television appearance for the first time"

GPW1
8 Dec 2008, 08:29
"tell us what you think at todayshow@ninemsn.com.au"

that way we can just read your ramblings for 15 minutes rather than actually producing anything vaguely interesting.

disclaimer: i only watch the today show between 7.25 and 8.35 while i eat brekky to get a weather/news/sport update.

scooterb
8 Dec 2008, 09:28
Ten is now advertising 'Bold'.
Everyone I know has been calling it Bold for years now....

Admiral Afterworld
8 Dec 2008, 13:26
disclaimer: i only watch the today show between 7.25 and 8.35 while i eat brekky to get a weather/news/sport update.

No excuses, you should be watching ABC News Breakfast :p

Exhale You
8 Dec 2008, 13:45
When TV stations blatantly lie about tv shows.

Channel 9 recently started airing a sitcom, claiming it was a 'brand new', 'premiere comedy' and an 'hilarious new series'.
The only problem was that they aired the show last year.

Warwick
8 Dec 2008, 14:04
"The show everyone is talking about"

"Australia's favourite comedy / drama"

:rolleyes:

lifelike_
8 Dec 2008, 15:00
Peter Harvey.

Noddy Holder
8 Dec 2008, 15:27
When shows like A Current Affair, not that I watch them all that often, say "After the break this story" then after the break it's then "Tomorrow on A Current Affair". You know it's going to happen but it's still annoying.

Exhale You
8 Dec 2008, 15:32

That one does my head in.

It's not just tv stations either, every form of advertising does it, and by god it's annoying.

When shows like A Current Affair, not that I watch them all that often, say "After the break this story" then after the break it's then "Tomorrow on A Current Affair". You know it's going to happen but it's still annoying.

I've often wondered how they get away with that.

stuart27
8 Dec 2008, 19:23
When TV stations blatantly lie about tv shows.

Channel 9 recently started airing a sitcom, claiming it was a 'brand new', 'premiere comedy' and an 'hilarious new series'.
The only problem was that they aired the show last year.

Hahaha yes, 'Til Death I think that was.

It was neither brand new, nor hilarious.

Bombers_Forever
9 Dec 2008, 06:29

"Australia's favourite comedy / drama"

:rolleyes:

Agree.........9 is the worst at that.

Agree with the one comparing a Simpsons character to a B Grade show. Memo to 10: Rules of Engagement has never been funny, associating it with the Simpsons does nothing.

Exhale You
9 Dec 2008, 07:30
Hahaha yes, 'Til Death I think that was.

It was neither brand new, nor hilarious.

The show i was thinking of is 'The Big Bang Theory'.

I watched it last summer on Nine and enjoyed it, but when it returned a few weeks ago, it was apparently a 'brand new' program.

RooBuoy
9 Dec 2008, 14:15
The show i was thinking of is 'The Big Bang Theory'.

I watched it last summer on Nine and enjoyed it, but when it returned a few weeks ago, it was apparently a 'brand new' program.

I think it may have aired on TEN?

And to contribute to this thread. TV Networks advertising something as the season finale when in actual fact it's not even half way through the season, and because ratings season is over.

Exhale You
9 Dec 2008, 14:41
I think it may have aired on TEN?

Nah, it was definitely on Channel 9.

This is from an article on TV Tonight from a month or so back:

Nine is bringing the sitcom The Big Bang Theory back to screen this month, despite it being dropped from the schedule earlier this year.

And this is the thread started about the show at this time last year which mentions that it was airing on Nine:
[/URL][URL]http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=9604101 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=9604101)

Howard Littlejohn
9 Dec 2008, 18:20
"An all new, movie premiere, making it's debut television appearance for the first time"
Is that the one that's never been seen before on network television?

Swift15
9 Dec 2008, 18:35
when your watching a new episode of city homicide one week, then the next week at the same time ur watching what you think is a new episode of city homicide, to only realise half-way through that it is a repeat:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

DeadlyAkkuret
9 Dec 2008, 18:38
You watch half of it before you realise it's a repeat?

SunKing
9 Dec 2008, 18:48
Not sure if it's been mentioned but I cringe when networks promote crap shows during sporting events. 7 are the worst when tossers like McAvaney prattle on about some crud like Desperate Housewives but 9 also do it during the cricket

emuboy
9 Dec 2008, 20:49
They aren't so common now, but back in the 1980s & 1990s many comedy shows used to produce "very special episodes" dealing with serious issues.

Some of the results were cliched, others depressing and in the case of such shows as Diff'rent Strokes at times downright frightening.

GPW1
10 Dec 2008, 08:14
i'd be surprised if no one has mentioned it yet (and i cbf re-reading the whole thread again to find out), "celebrity" wheel of fortune/millionaire/5th grader/whatever, where they wheel out celebs such as that girl with the huge cans from big brother 4 years ago, whathisname who hosts the morning show on hicktown fm and johnny no-neck the rugby league player from the 80's.

Falchoon
10 Dec 2008, 09:51
Talking Heads eg during the Olympics- get the friggin basketball back on and shut up.

The USPGA habit of giving us a scoreboard over the top of a postcard shot every 2 minutes, between Tigers shots. Show us some action.

Dodgy promotions, who would you rather see play golf John Daly or Geoff Ogilvy - seriously

Exhale You
10 Dec 2008, 19:05

I have a new favourite.

Was watching Ten News earlier tonight, and heard an ad say "Don't miss new 'Lyrics'"

Now come on, that is taking it too far.

Shinboner '07
10 Dec 2008, 19:14
Fast-Tracked!

bwahahahahaha

Bomber32
10 Dec 2008, 21:32
Speeding up the credits at the end of a movie so the stations can promote their garbage.:thumbsd:

Warwick
10 Dec 2008, 22:15
Speeding up the credits at the end of a movie so the stations can promote their garbage.:thumbsd:
Who watches the credits? :confused:

soupaman
10 Dec 2008, 23:07
One that isn't really a TV gimmick as such, but is still bloody annoying, is when during sports telecasts they switch to a replay of a coaches reaction during a boundary throw in or something similiar, and you miss a bit of play because Alistair Clarkson grimaced briefly.