22 31-Aug-08 4:40 PM Essendon Away Telstra Dome

Loss
Win
Win
Loss
Win
Win
Win

that would make us 13 wins. if we could jag the Hawks, then why not the Pies. None are easy games though.. well maybe except for the weagles based on form. all the others, except freo who haven't scored the points, can possibly jump up and surprise us... should be interesting.. ;)

Look2Me4Guidance
14 Jul 2008, 23:56
16 19-Jul-08 7:10 PM Hawthorn Home Telstra Dome
17 26-Jul-08 2:10 PM West Coast Away Subiaco
18 3-Aug-08 2:10 PM Port Adelaide Home Telstra Dome
19 9-Aug-08 7:10 PM Collingwood Away MCG
20 17-Aug-08 2:40 PM Fremantle Away Subiaco
21 24-Aug-08 2:10 PM Adelaide Home Telstra Dome

Loss
Win
Win
Loss
Win
Win
Win

that would make us 13 wins. if we could jag the Hawks, then why not the Pies. None are easy games though.. well maybe except for the weagles based on form. all the others, except freo who haven't scored the points, can possibly jump up and surprise us... should be interesting.. ;)

We'll give the Pies a great shake.

No Rocca will allow Max to play on Medhurst and will seriously allow us to get a win.

ChrisFooty
14 Jul 2008, 23:57
Logical choices Vaul Darkhour. However, we might win one we are not expecting and lose another we are expected to win.

If we can win 5 out of our last 7 we will be playing finals - something you would not of thought three rounds ago.

mailman4
15 Jul 2008, 00:53
Two trips to Subbie in 4 weeks is concerning...however both teams are tanking and we also get to play Port, the biggest tankers of the lot. I can't seriously believe they wanted to win on Saturday night.

SaintsSeptember
15 Jul 2008, 02:51
Two trips to Subbie in 4 weeks is concerning...however both teams are tanking and we also get to play Port, the biggest tankers of the lot. I can't seriously believe they wanted to win on Saturday night.

Pity they didn't tank against the Saints earlier on.

Persevering Saint
15 Jul 2008, 12:09
If we win the 13 you've said, Vaul, we'll be in the finals, which is great - heck, we can probably win 12 and scrape through. BUT, if we beat Hawks, Pies or BOTH, then watch other teams start to get a little bit antsy - I don't care if we finish 8th in that scenario (which we wouldn't), there will be teams like Geelong and the Doggies starting to feel VERY nervous!

AFLOnline
15 Jul 2008, 12:53
I believe we will play finals. Sydney will probably drop out I think.

Vaul Darkhour
15 Jul 2008, 16:11

thats a big call... I would have thought personally that Brisbane and Adelaide are looking shaky..

you guys are all right though... games never seem to occur the way you think... although I think we're heading into some good form finally and injuries are subsiding... should we really be thinking finals yet?!.. :)

Look2Me4Guidance
15 Jul 2008, 18:24
thats a big call... I would have thought personally that Brisbane and Adelaide are looking shaky..

you guys are all right though... games never seem to occur the way you think... although I think we're heading into some good form finally and injuries are subsiding... should we really be thinking finals yet?!.. :)

Depends mate. If we take a scalp on the way in, we're thinking we can do some damage. If we don't we think we're making up the numbers. I know it's better to make the finals than not, but I would really like to see us defeat the Hawks or Pies on the way home to give the boys some real confidence.

Brown n Gold
15 Jul 2008, 23:34
I can see you guys winning 5 of your last 7 quite easy... would like to see you whack the pies and make it 6 of 7.... hopefully that means you will win your last 6 in a row.

The Hawks looked very refreshed against Sydney on Sunday and with our side back full strength I expect us to make it very tough on Saturday night even on your home turf.

G'luck

Armitage2Riewoldt
15 Jul 2008, 23:40
Im expecting us to win at least 5. Any more is a bonus.

But its important we dont get flogged against the Hawks and Pies. We've shown we can match it with the Pies, now we gotta show we can match the Hawks.

ChrisFooty
15 Jul 2008, 23:48

Sydney are safe at 4th spot. Adel are looking shaky with their injuries and form issues. Brisbane has been indifferent the past two rounds as well.

dg102
16 Jul 2008, 00:20
We have a good record against Hawthorn recently. They have only beat us once in the last 5 years, which was round 8 last year. But then we beat them later in the year. See Below.

Round 16, 21 Jul 2007Telstra DomeSt Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints) defeats Hawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks) 95-78 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=3034)L. Ball (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=46) 31
N. Dal Santo (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=370) 31
L. Franklin (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=1488) 5
Round 8, 19 May 2007MCGHawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks) defeats St Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints) 72-44 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=2970)S. Mitchell (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=266) 35
J. Roughead (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=1485) 3
Round 13, 1 Jul 2006Telstra DomeSt Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints) defeats Hawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks) 125-55 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=2487)S. Mitchell (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=266) 32
F. Gehrig (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=52) 5
Round 12, 11 Jun 2005MCGHawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks) defeated by St Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints) 54-100 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=2114)S. Mitchell (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=266) 36
F. Gehrig (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=52) 6
Round 13, 18 Jun 2004Telstra DomeSt Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints) defeats Hawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks) 127-61 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=1936)S. Powell (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=62) 23
S. Milne (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=59) 5
Round 10, 1 Jun 2003MCGSt Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints) defeats Hawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks) 118-90 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=1732)R. Harvey (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=54) 40
A. Murray (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=465) 4
Round 13, 30 Jun 2002Telstra DomeSt Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints) defeated by Hawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks) 78-87 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=1571)R. Vandenberg (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=274) 34
N. Thompson (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=437) 7
Round 22, 1 Sep 2001MCGHawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks) defeated by St Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints) 87-89 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=1454)S. Greene (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=467) 33
B. Hall (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=77) 4

Vaul Darkhour
16 Jul 2008, 01:16
We have a good record against Hawthorn recently. They have only beat us once in the last 5 years, which was round 8 last year. But then we beat them later in the year. See Below.

Round 16, 21 Jul 2007Telstra DomeSt Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints) defeats Hawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks) 95-78 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=3034)L. Ball (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=46) 31
Round 8, 19 May 2007MCGHawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks) defeats St Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints) 72-44 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=2970)S. Mitchell (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=266) 35
Round 13, 1 Jul 2006Telstra DomeSt Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints) defeats Hawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks) 125-55 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=2487)S. Mitchell (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=266) 32
Round 12, 11 Jun 2005MCGHawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks) defeated by St Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints) 54-100 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=2114)S. Mitchell (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=266) 36
Round 13, 18 Jun 2004Telstra DomeSt Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints) defeats Hawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks) 127-61 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=1936)S. Powell (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=62) 23
Round 10, 1 Jun 2003MCGSt Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints) defeats Hawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks) 118-90 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=1732)R. Harvey (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=54) 40
Round 13, 30 Jun 2002Telstra DomeSt Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints) defeated by Hawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks) 78-87 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=1571)R. Vandenberg (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=274) 34
Round 22, 1 Sep 2001MCGHawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks) defeated by St Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints) 87-89 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=1454)S. Greene (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=467) 33

actually twice... :) but yes we seem to go alright against them but they are certainly playing a lot better also..

MC_9
16 Jul 2008, 02:03

I dont mean to barge on to your board here, but history doesnt mean a lot.

At the start of the season we had a lot of teams that were a boogey side, but this year we have managed to beat them all, being Sydeny (had not beatin them for 5 years), Adelaide in Adealaide (had not won there since 92) and Brisbane in Brisbane (had not won there since like 2000).

Whilst i still think this will be a tough match, this Hawks side is very different to the teams you have played in the past.

SaintsSeptember
16 Jul 2008, 09:48
I dont mean to barge on to your board here, but history doesnt mean a lot.

At the start of the season we had a lot of teams that were a boogey side, but this year we have managed to beat them all, being Sydeny (had not beatin them for 5 years), Adelaide in Adealaide (had not won there since 92) and Brisbane in Brisbane (had not won there since like 2000).

Whilst i still think this will be a tough match, this Hawks side is very different to the teams you have played in the past.

I hate to agree, because I really want the Saints to win. But he is right, History is simply what has happened in the past. Lots of teams had a good history against the Cats until last year.

Look2Me4Guidance
16 Jul 2008, 11:06
I can see you guys winning 5 of your last 7 quite easy... would like to see you whack the pies and make it 6 of 7.... hopefully that means you will win your last 6 in a row.

The Hawks looked very refreshed against Sydney on Sunday and with our side back full strength I expect us to make it very tough on Saturday night even on your home turf.

G'luck

What a gentleman.

We should toast your etiquette over a pre-game jar.

_Interpol_
16 Jul 2008, 11:14
Looking at those recent games, 1 think you can be certain on is that Sammy mitchell loves to get a heap of the ball against us...

McQualter get the job? i'd say blake but i'd rather him on Williams

dg102
16 Jul 2008, 11:35
History is confidence. Dont tell me it doesnt count for anything. Hawks were flying last year and we beat them then too.
If Roo kicks straight we win. Lets say a Roo Prayer.

May GOD shine on Roo's boot this week. Let him kick truly through the sticks. AMEN

Persevering Saint
16 Jul 2008, 15:07
History is confidence. Dont tell me it doesnt count for anything. Hawks were flying last year and we beat them then too.

May GOD shine on Roo's boot this week. Let him kick truly through the sticks. AMEN
Well, He is the One in charge of the miraculous...!

bubblegoose
16 Jul 2008, 16:01
If Roo kicks straight we win. Lets say a Roo Prayer. May GOD shine on Roo's boot this week. Let him kick truly through the sticks. AMEN

:D:thumbsu: AMEN to that!

Armitage2Riewoldt
16 Jul 2008, 16:44

the BIG sticks, getting em through the sticks is a good start though..

AMENN BTCH

Rough_Edges
17 Jul 2008, 00:39

bold = win

12 wins.

7th spot.

Armitage2Riewoldt
17 Jul 2008, 00:42
Dude, Richmond beat West Coast by 12 goals...

I reckon we got more chance of losing to Freo.

Rough_Edges
17 Jul 2008, 00:47
Yeh, i didnt take any notice to who i didnt bold.

Think we will lose one of those games.

2 perth trips in 4 weeks.

+ a six day break between on port and collingwood.

don't think we can win both.

Vaul Darkhour
17 Jul 2008, 02:18
well if we dont win against the weagles, then we might as well kiss our season goodbye..

tim_saints
17 Jul 2008, 13:27
bold = win

12 wins.

7th spot.

i have to disagree with two of them i think we can easily beat the eagles and we tend to play good footy against collingwood and i personally think if we can if we can play four quarters against them we can beat them :)

Fehring
17 Jul 2008, 23:32

Loss
Win
Win
Loss
Win
Win
Win

Win
Win
Win
Win
Win
Win
Win
Win
[week off]
Win
Win
[Mad Monday]

Got on the Saints at $51 last week.

Vaul Darkhour
21 Jul 2008, 00:54
nice one Fehring... that's one scratched... looks like I was wrong.. 6 in a row here we come.. ot at least give it our best crack.. :)

Rough_Edges
21 Jul 2008, 15:34
After Saturday night, I now beleive we will win every game except the Collingwood one..

SaintsSeptember
21 Jul 2008, 17:42
I think we can win all.
Whether the team can maintain it's focus is the issue. If we slip back into the old ways we can lose against anyone.
It would be terrific if we saw 3 or 4 quarters in one game, because as stoked as I was with the Hawks game, I can't see anyone beating the cats without 4 quarters of top level football.
I don't think the Hawks will beat the cats next week. I think the Saints have potential to beat the cats if they can play four quarters the way we played the third against the Hawks.

alo_saints_fan
21 Jul 2008, 21:32

Praise the lord. I knew the pope was here for a reason:cool:

SaintsSeptember
22 Jul 2008, 09:54
Praise the lord. I knew the pope was here for a reason:cool:
If he decides to follow Aussie rules as an outcome of his visit, the Saints would have to be the obvious choice for his support. ( And he dosn't need to banish the Demons, its a done deal ).

Vaul Darkhour
23 Jul 2008, 16:17
all the saints supporters need to do is keep the faith!!... I know it's hard but come on...

Lyon is right though.. West Coast is a must win game.. we lose this one and the Hawks game might as well be for naught...

Armitage2Riewoldt
23 Jul 2008, 17:07
all the saints supporters need to do is keep the faith!!... I know it's hard but come on...

Lyon is right though.. West Coast is a must win game.. we lose this one and the Hawks game might as well be for naught...

How is it hard? This is the most faith I've had in the team and Lyon since 06!

Vaul Darkhour
23 Jul 2008, 22:35
How is it hard? This is the most faith I've had in the team and Lyon since 06!

I was referring to being a St Kilda supporter.. :rolleyes:

but yes I lost faith after the Melbourne elim in 06 defeat.. I really thought GT would pull out the real st kilda come finals time.. didn't happen...

I had faith all last season but we left it too late for the charge home.. this year same thing.. but it seems *hopefully* we're in a better position to charge home.. :)

Persevering Saint
25 Jul 2008, 13:57
So, thinking more broadly, the ideal results for this week are:

- Geelong beating the Hawks = LIKELY (every time the Hawks lose, we're more likely to get THIRD spot - don't laugh! They've only won 13, so if we win all 15, and they drop 4 or 5 of these last 6 games, then we're in at 3rd - it's unlikely, but preferable)
- Bombers beating Collingwood = UNLIKELY
- Richmond beating Brisbane = PLAUSIBLE
- Adelaide beating Sydney = POSSIBLE, BUT PROBABLY UNLIKELY
- Who cares about Port and Freo (no really, who actually does...?)?
- Kangas beating Melbourne = LIKELY (This might be a surprising choice, but think about it - Kangas are playing to get 8th spot, we're looking to go higher. And if they take 8th, and Collingwood take 6th, then... :) )
- Doggies to slaughter Carlton = LIKELY (not technically the ideal, but we'll never catch up to the Doggies, and besides... it IS Carlton...).

Therefore, the only real dark horses we need that matter are the Bombers and Adelaide. Not a bad week.

Armitage2Riewoldt
25 Jul 2008, 17:24
Carlton are useless, they'll never get closer to beating a team we need them to beat for the rest of the season than they did last week... Grr. Coulda just about put the house on us making the 4 if they didnt choooooke.

beejay
25 Jul 2008, 18:13
wouldnt we want melbourne to beat kangas so if we (touch wood) do slip up on a game we should win we dont have the pressure on us from all these teams. i think syd adelaide similarly doesnt matter if syd win cos i did a ladder predictor and syd got some tough games coming up and if we win the games we should we could simply jstu be competing for 4th spot with pies. oh and id like to add port and freo it is SLIGHTLY interesting because ther the next two teams we play so maybe freo win then they lose the week after 2 eagles haha and port lose this week so both teams comin off losses....

Otiman
25 Jul 2008, 19:37
If these things happen, we will make top 4.

a) We only lose 1 game (or none)
b) If we lose, it's against anyone except Collingwood
c) Sydney lose two games (they have Collingwood, Geelong, Bulldogs to come).

HoldenMCaulfield
26 Jul 2008, 00:07
Geelong beating the Hawks = LIKELY (every time the Hawks lose, we're more likely to get THIRD spot - don't laugh! They've only won 13, so if we win all 15, and they drop 4 or 5 of these last 6 games, then we're in at 3rd - it's unlikely, but preferable)

Wow, I like that mindset !

Nexus would refer to rose couloured glass and would probably even have a point regarding thoughts about 4th spot, yet alone third.

But why not dream with the run of wins over the last weeks ?

Geelong have done their part - now it's up to us !

CARN THE MIGHTY SAINTS !