View Full Version : Clinton Jones
jesterwester
15 Jul 2008, 15:53
Just a quick question.
Are you guys happy with him as a player? Whenever I get the chance to watch the saints I always look out for him, being a west aussie, he seems to be a good story for you guys off the rookie list. With all that is said about his disposal, every time I see him play he generally uses it very well.
Had a good game against the blues, would have had two goals and 20 disposals had it been any other player than Milne snapping the goal in the last quarter.
I think you guys have a player for the future. (Please no *Insert Joke about telling John Worsfold about him please*) :p
This isn't supercoach or dream team motivated either..
Armitage2Riewoldt
15 Jul 2008, 16:03
Lol he's been a great story for us.
Last year he was king of the clangers and seemed lost when he got the ball. No one was really sure why he was in the team for a while, but he showed us with his exceptional courage and attack on the ball and player (fairly). His skills were fairly ordinary and he didnt seem to have much composure when he had the ball, but the pressure he exerted on other teams and courage he showed had him liked by a few.
I think that mark he took against Sydney in round 1 changed a lot of peoples opinions on him. It was very much like Johnno Brown and Roo's mark years ago, running with eyes only for the ball, I think he even looked and saw Mattner coming at him, but took the mark, and the bump anyway. I was at the game, and he basically received a standing ovation, seriously. I actually thought it was Roo running back for the mark, so I though, oh yeah, easy mark for the Roo, then I see this little kid with a 38 on his back. Massive respect for the kid.
But yeah, his skill level seems to have improved heaps over the past couple months, he's average 19-20 touches a game and he continues to impress with his 2nd and 3rd efforts.
I've been critical of him in the past, but he's become one of my fave new players at the Saints.
Shame he wasn't picked up earlier, but hell, looks like we got a decent player for 6-10 years at least.
Its good to see supporters from other clubs notice him too. He's very low key. But out of the new up and comers. He's number 1 for me. He's a great in and under player and goes hard for the ball every time.
Can I just say how shocked I was with WC on Sunday. No Offence I have never seen a team play so soft. They cost me $ lol. I needed richmond under 40. Its unbelievable how many good players (PREMIERSHIP players) you had that just didnt care. Big time tanking I reckon. I think theres gona be alot of changes to your list at the end of the year. I hope saints selectors are taking notice.
jesterwester
15 Jul 2008, 16:12
Last year he was king of the clangers and seemed lost when he got the ball. No one was really sure why he was in the team for a while, but he showed us with his exceptional courage and attack on the ball and player (fairly). His skills were fairly ordinary and he didnt seem to have much composure when he had the ball, but the pressure he exerted on other teams and courage he showed had him liked by a few.
I think that mark he took against Sydney in round 1 changed a lot of peoples opinions on him. It was very much like Johnno Brown and Roo's mark years ago, running with eyes only for the ball, I think he even looked and saw Mattner coming at him, but took the mark, and the bump anyway. I was at the game, and he basically received a standing ovation, seriously. I actually thought it was Roo running back for the mark, so I though, oh yeah, easy mark for the Roo, then I see this little kid with a 38 on his back. Massive respect for the kid.
But yeah, his skill level seems to have improved heaps over the past couple months, he's average 19-20 touches a game and he continues to impress with his 2nd and 3rd efforts.
I've been critical of him in the past, but he's become one of my fave new players at the Saints.
Shame he wasn't picked up earlier, but hell, looks like we got a decent player for 6-10 years at least.
I really hope that you do. I took a bit of notice on him on friday night, he seems to be playing a role as a roving half forward very well, he seems to be learning the game and running into the spaces. He reminds me a lot of Rowan Jones of West Coast, very maligned as a player to the supporters, but goes out on the field and gives his heart out every week, and does above & beyond what is expected of him, and thats the reason he gets a spot every week, it's often the things you don't see that makes a player.
That mark he took in round 1 probably highlights just what he can do.
jesterwester
15 Jul 2008, 16:15
Its good to see supporters from other clubs notice him too. He's very low key. But out of the new up and comers. He's number 1 for me. He's a great in and under player and goes hard for the ball every time.
Can I just say how shocked I was with WC on Sunday. No Offence I have never seen a team play so soft. They cost me $ lol. I needed richmond under 40. Its unbelievable how many good players (PREMIERSHIP players) you had that just didnt care. Big time tanking I reckon. I think theres gona be alot of changes to your list at the end of the year. I hope saints selectors are taking notice.
None taken. Trust me West Coast at the moment are soft, I can't exactly work out why, there not tanking, no player will EVER tank, but they just seemed to not show up after quarter time.
I think it is that the older players, who should be showing the young boys how to play the game aren't doing that at the moment.
There simply not working hard enough.
Watch the young guys however, in Davis, Houlihan & Ebert and you'll see that the eagles won't be down for too long.
Vaul Darkhour
15 Jul 2008, 16:17
*MOST* people thought he was crap and should be delisted although it's too much effort to dig up my threads on how much I defended CJ, it's great to see him prove his detractors wrong.. ;)
Squizzy1970
15 Jul 2008, 17:25
Darky - just re-read the CJ thread from early March (before Round 1) and he had heaps of support (including your good self). Proving once again that the Saints BF crew are ahead of the game when it comes to our players.
Signd Sealed Saint
15 Jul 2008, 17:52
I think Jones is what we need, good runner and gets in and under. Reminds me of Andrew Thompson and i think we're in need of a few more hard players @ Moorabin (soon to be Frankston). Ball and Hayes are leading our tackle count by miles which shows how much we rely on those two to go in and under. Very good to see Clint Jones coming along
SaintsSeptember
15 Jul 2008, 18:03
He has two good attributes.
Guts and Determination.
He seems to work on the area's where he has weaknesses and improve.
There are others who have been on our list longer that could follow his example.
Birssman
15 Jul 2008, 21:30
I have always been a fan of Clinton and last year I was lucky enough to meet him and talk to him a bit about his footy. He was a genuinely nice guy.
He told me he was a surprised to be drafted to Stkilda and thought he was going to end up at Freo as they had talked to him and pretty much said they were going to take him. What I could not understand is that he was actually disappointed about not going to Freo. But all he ever wanted to do is play AFL so he can down to Melbourne with his girlfriend to play for us.
At the time of meeting him I had him in my Dream Team so it was good to find out about his injury. His collar bone break was actually really bad as it had compounded at the end and may have held him back a bit last year.
This year however he does look the goods. He is what most of players are not, hard workers. Hopefully he can get rid of that horrid kicking style and become up a gun.
Ps. His girlfriend went alright :D
sainter
15 Jul 2008, 21:54
Darky - just re-read the CJ thread from early March (before Round 1) and he had heaps of support (including your good self). Proving once again that the Saints BF crew are ahead of the game when it comes to our players.
Well spotted!
I have a feeling Mad Saint Guy wasnīt one of those dishing out the compliments in that thread. :D
Andrew Thompson was never a great user of the footy but his committment or usefulness to St Kilda can never be questioned.
CJ can play his footy knowing he has the backing of the coaching staff and itīs nice to see our supporters are recognising his efforts.
ChrisFooty
15 Jul 2008, 23:15
I'm exactly the same. Was critical last year and thought he may not of made it. Been brilliant during the last 5-6 weeks. Disposal has improved.
Maybe he was a late bloomer? Might not of showed anything at ages 17-20? Do not know, just throwing it out there.
Vaul Darkhour
16 Jul 2008, 01:31
squizzy - just re-read the OP I was replying to...
'Last year he was king of the clangers and seemed lost when he got the ball. No one was really sure why he was in the team for a while...'
replying to the reference to last years detraction not anything this year.. ;)
Squizzy1970
16 Jul 2008, 10:49
OK - I'm not trolling thru last year's threads!!!
Fehring
16 Jul 2008, 14:03
*MOST* people thought he was crap and should be delisted although it's too much effort to dig up my threads on how much I defended CJ, it's great to see him prove his detractors wrong.. ;)
I've always been a big fan of his, as I'm sure some are aware. You don't give up on truly courageous players b/c their disposal is crap in their first few games. Funnily enough, courage is harder to teach than skills. (as is pace).
Squizzy1970
16 Jul 2008, 14:10
Supposedly he is one of the more diligent trainers/learners at the club (from reports), so he wants it enough to change some habits.
Most don't have it, so I'd be wary about getting too many 23 year olds to be club who don't kick the pill so well.
bubblegoose
16 Jul 2008, 14:51
HAhaha! Nice one VD, you big defender you. Here's the thread you were looking for: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=418386&highlight=panic+button
Though his courage & pressure on the ball carrier was never in question, I thought his positioning in relation to the ball when behind the play, his marking & kicking & constant tunovers were frustrating as hell.
I am very happy that he has really developed & come along in leaps & bounds as this year rolls on. He considers his disposal now rather than straight away hitting the 'panic button' upon gaining posession.
jesterwester
16 Jul 2008, 15:07
HAhaha! Nice one VD, you big defender you. Here's the thread you were looking for: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=418386&highlight=panic+button
Though his courage & pressure on the ball carrier was never in question, I thought his positioning in relation to the ball when behind the play, his marking & kicking & constant tunovers were frustrating as hell.
I am very happy that he has really developed & come along in leaps & bounds as this year rolls on. He considers his disposal now rather than straight away hitting the 'panic button' upon gaining posession.
And that is a wafl trait i reckon, all of the eagles that come from the wafl seem to do that, I think the speed from WAFL football to the AFL is very different, I can imagine that it would be a difficault task to adjust, especially as he did play in the wafl for a few years before being drafted.
Anyhow I hope you keep him, he looks to be a more than handy player, it's good to see the kid getting some support. :thumbsu:
SaintsSeptember
16 Jul 2008, 15:15
And that is a wafl trait i reckon, all of the eagles that come from the wafl seem to do that, I think the speed from WAFL football to the AFL is very different, I can imagine that it would be a difficault task to adjust, especially as he did play in the wafl for a few years before being drafted.
Anyhow I hope you keep him, he looks to be a more than handy player, it's good to see the kid getting some support. :thumbsu:
Be careful how you word things, it could be confused for a Ben Cousins thread. :D
Persevering Saint
16 Jul 2008, 15:18
Be careful how you word things, it could be confused for a Ben Cousins thread. :D
LOL... like really laughing out loud!!
jesterwester
16 Jul 2008, 15:32
thats the VFL's problem now. :o
seriously i didn't even realise.. :eek: :p :cool:
SaintsSeptember
16 Jul 2008, 15:35
Sorry Jester.
Your comment was intelligent and insightful, and I shouldn't have posted such a crappy reply - but I couldn't resist - No offence meant.:)
jesterwester
16 Jul 2008, 15:41
Sorry Jester.
Your comment was intelligent and insightful, and I shouldn't have posted such a crappy reply - but I couldn't resist - No offence meant.:)
No no I'm not offended hey, that was a watered down comment, I would have done it too.. :D You sort of get used to it after the same sort of jokes are said over and over again. You forget sometimes though, you could be writing anything and it refers to ben cousins now.. :p
Fehring
16 Jul 2008, 22:35
Hey, I started that thread. Who knew? Which reminds me - good to see a few blonds running around for us again. Maybe we could get that disco up for a farewell performance before heading to Franger (in 2025!). We could get plugger to come down and cut the ribbon using the cigarette he put in Travis Payze's (?) pocket.
Rough_Edges
17 Jul 2008, 00:33
Nice player, enjoy watching him really try.
Is he in our next premiership team tho?....
better off playing someone like geary?
Vaul Darkhour
17 Jul 2008, 02:08
:D .. yeah well thats one thread but I was referring back to last year threads.. good to see you remember though bubble.. :)
Vaul Darkhour
17 Jul 2008, 02:09
Nice player, enjoy watching him really try.
Is he in our next premiership team tho?....
better off playing someone like geary?
Yes!.. and Yes!.. Just not at CJ's expense.. :)
Armitage2Riewoldt
20 Jul 2008, 22:21
Anyone else think that was the most inspirational chase down ever?
He was getting a standing ovation from most of the members from what I could see.
Continues to rack up possessions (how many games in a row with over 19 touches is it now?) and his tackling and attack on the ball is only 3rd to Lenny and Bally imo.
MilneyLoves2Snap
20 Jul 2008, 22:35
He was getting a standing ovation from most of the members from what I could see.
Continues to rack up possessions (how many games in a row with over 19 touches is it now?) and his tackling and attack on the ball is only 3rd to Lenny and Bally imo.
YES IT WAS GREAT.
The riewoldt family must be proud to have 2 boys in the red white and black
ChrisFooty
21 Jul 2008, 00:11
Absolutely!
24 touches was a career high for him as well.
CHBench
21 Jul 2008, 00:21
Let's relive that awesomeness, shall we? :thumbsu:
ndG6_1ZFBLA
Squizzy1970
21 Jul 2008, 13:06
Extra points for wiping the arrogance off Buddy's face.
Vaul Darkhour
21 Jul 2008, 13:16
Extra points for wiping the arrogance off Buddy's face.
definitely squizzy!!... :D
Fehring
21 Jul 2008, 13:26
I was hoping someone would have posted that video on here. Thanks for that, CHB. I'm going to play it senseless.
Let's relive that awesomeness, shall we? :thumbsu:
ndG6_1ZFBLA
This is just magnificent. :D
Rough_Edges
21 Jul 2008, 15:26
some of the very best stuff there.
Squizzy1970
22 Jul 2008, 11:31
Way cool crowd reaction - Robert Walls was finally right about something!
Juggalo Balla
22 Jul 2008, 11:46
I already love Jones. How can we steal one of the best from the west? :)
Just got his right arm around buddy and that was it he was gone!!
Then even better a pinpoint chip kick to Fisher to get things moving again.
Silky smooth skills there. The future looks in safe hands.
Persevering Saint
22 Jul 2008, 14:39
And it wasn't just the tackle (although that was just incredibly stupendously fantastic!!!), his DISPOSAL was pretty darn good imo. I remember he fired a really nice spearing pass into the centre square somewhere in about the 3rd quarter with a little bit of heat on him - really nice disposal generally I thought. That's especially important for him, because we've all known he could run and tackle, but his disposal is what he's been hacked for in the past.
AFLOnline
22 Jul 2008, 17:28
Hahaha, magnificant chase down and tackle, only to finish off with that unco kicking style. (Got to be truthful, it's quite ugly)
Great young player, hope he improves his disposal, because we all know, you can't improve your style when you're close to 24 years old.
Not a lot wrong with his disposal at present, efficiency is high, and he can usually kick pretty straight.
It sure looks ugly, but it works as long as he isn't under a large amount of pressure. But who can pinpoint targets under that sort of pressure anyway? Nobody is expecting him to be a Dal Santo or Goddard in the footskills department.
ChrisFooty
22 Jul 2008, 23:02
What is the go with his history? Was he over looked for the national draft when he was 17-19 years? Was he not rated as a junior to play at the highest level? Did he just rapidly develeped late?
Or was it just a punt St.kilda took? A punt that has reaped some very great rewards.
SaintsSeptember
23 Jul 2008, 10:35
What is the go with his history? Was he over looked for the national draft when he was 17-19 years? Was he not rated as a junior to play at the highest level? Did he just rapidly develeped late?
Or was it just a punt St.kilda took? A punt that has reaped some very great rewards.
Found this article though it doesn't go into specific reasons.
http://www.saints.com.au/Season2008/News/NewsArticle/TabId/5315/default.aspx?newsId=61409
My personal opinion is that drafting at such a young age tends to favour kids who have grown quicker. Some kids are still growing until 21 or so.
Armitage2Riewoldt
23 Jul 2008, 15:10
I love how he says that the development team helped him improve on his deficiencies like pressure and tackling over the off season...
I thought that was the reason he was in the team lol. He's one of our best tacklers and pressuririserers'
Vaul Darkhour
23 Jul 2008, 16:20
I was gonna say that I've hardly noticed a bad disposal form him in the last so many games... he really seems to have gone up a notch in all areas but specifically his kicking.. and goals!!.. :)
bubblegoose
23 Jul 2008, 18:01
I was gonna say that I've hardly noticed a bad disposal form him in the last so many games... he really seems to have gone up a notch in all areas but specifically his kicking.. and goals!!.. :)
Absolutely! Everyone owes me & Vaul huge respect for being right & sticking up for CJ when the rest of you mugs were handing him a right royal bagging!
C'mon .... ;)
His tackle was absolutely one of the most inspirational, amazing chase downs I've seen in a while, certainly got the blood flowing!
That tackle, and that mark he took againts the Swans have been arguably the two biggest St Kilda "moments" for the year.
Armitage2Riewoldt
23 Jul 2008, 21:11
You could argue they were both match winners as well.
Franklin woulda gone on to most likely kick a goal, reducing the margin to 3 points and giving the Hawks a decent shot. Jonesy turns him over, pumps up the Saints, deflates the Hawks and we go on to kick the next 5 goals pretty much.
That mark against Sydney, he gave the hands off to Schneids who kicked the winning goal, it wasmt' really the wining goal, but we didnt kick another goal for the rest of the match and ended up only winning by 2 points... so arguably, yeah.
Vaul Darkhour
23 Jul 2008, 22:30
Absolutely! Everyone owes me & Vaul huge respect for being right & sticking up for CJ when the rest of you mugs were handing him a right royal bagging!
C'mon .... ;)
His tackle was absolutely one of the most inspirational, amazing chase downs I've seen in a while, certainly got the blood flowing!
lol.. yeah nice one ;)
the only thing he could've done better though is to have planted buddies smug face into the turf also.. :D
bubblegoose
24 Jul 2008, 15:44
lol.. yeah nice one ;)
the only thing he could've done better though is to have planted buddies smug face into the turf also.. :D
You're right it would have been nice, but Vlad would have seen to it that CJ got life, with no chance of parole
sainter
25 Jul 2008, 08:27
Just thought I'd mention that I've always been a fan of CJ. Couldn't be bothered doing a search but he's the kind of guy I love. Gives you absolutely everything.
Thanks for posting the tackle as well. It's hard getting any footy news over here and it's killing me. Loved seeing our supporters on their feet after it too. If that can't fire you up go and support netball.
I think our supporters were looking for a scapegoat unfortunately. You don't want to be seen blindly supporting every player so because he had a weakness that was slightly more obvious than the next player he very quickly became a target. Hopefully he's won over the faithful these days.
HoldenMCaulfield
25 Jul 2008, 23:45
It is amazing what confidence to can do to an AFL player - there were quite a few who wanted to delist him last year and look at him now.
(let's hope that we'll see another nice suprise like that again next year - someone like Raph Clarke maybe ?)
SaintsSeptember
26 Jul 2008, 01:03
It is amazing what confidence to can do to an AFL player - there were quite a few who wanted to delist him last year and look at him now.
(let's hope that we'll see another nice suprise like that again next year - someone like Raph Clarke maybe ?)
He might be more confident, but I think he has worked very hard improving his weaknesses. Even last year when his skills let him down he was a very gutsy sort of player.
I will be amazed if next year Raph plays as good as CJ last year.
McCrann
28 Jul 2008, 11:13
Good as his endeavour is, his kicking skills are still woeful.
Who cringed when he ran through 45m directly in front and had a shot at goal against the Eagles on Saturday? Scores were 71-71 at that stage, and the Saints still had a bit of momentum, having tied the scores up.
I was giving it only a 50-50 chance of being a goal, which turned out to be too optimistic as Jones blazed away and didn't even register a score.
When players up the ground do the hard work to get someone in a goal-scoring position and they can't even slot a goal on the run from 40m out directly in front - you unfortunately are going to get a bit of deflation in the rest of the team.
What is the point in working so hard if the guy who has a shot at goal can't even register a score!
After that out of bounds on the full by Jones, I really thought we wouldn't win. They're the shots you simply have to bury son.
sainter_girl
28 Jul 2008, 11:16
if my memory serves me correctly .... Lenny missed a few too.
SaintsSeptember
28 Jul 2008, 14:04
Good as his endeavour is, his kicking skills are still woeful.
Who cringed when he ran through 45m directly in front and had a shot at goal against the Eagles on Saturday? Scores were 71-71 at that stage, and the Saints still had a bit of momentum, having tied the scores up.
I was giving it only a 50-50 chance of being a goal, which turned out to be too optimistic as Jones blazed away and didn't even register a score.
When players up the ground do the hard work to get someone in a goal-scoring position and they can't even slot a goal on the run from 40m out directly in front - you unfortunately are going to get a bit of deflation in the rest of the team.
What is the point in working so hard if the guy who has a shot at goal can't even register a score!
After that out of bounds on the full by Jones, I really thought we wouldn't win. They're the shots you simply have to bury son.
If our big name goalkickers ( Reiwoldt and Kosi ) start kicking much better than 50:50 in their kicks at goal I will start worrying about Jones' kicking.
As far as letting down the team, more often than not Jones is one of those doing the hard work up the ground.
Squizzy1970
28 Jul 2008, 14:20
Milney had 2 misses plus two big misses (no score).
Fiora missed another one on the run.
Grammy missed a very gettable set shot.
Can't remember Dals and Schneiders (might have been out the back of the pub screaming).
All seemingly good kicks who all missed opportunities along with Roo and Lenny.
So wouldn't be focussing too much on CJ in this regard.
XFactor1979
29 Jul 2008, 16:18
he looks like modra, except hes a bit more barrel chested than modra was
with that mop of blond hair the bloke wouldnt have any problems with the ladies now would he?
not sure about his football playing ability though
Scotland
29 Jul 2008, 16:55
He's a solid unit. I don't seem to remember him being that big when he played in the WAFL, but lining up in the forward line at Subi on Sunday he's certainly been eating his Weeties. Can't seem him ever being more than a 18th-25th player (every team needs those), but he has a crack and it's always pleasing to see a 'mature' age recruit do well.