View Full Version : Aussie Goes Calypso
OzBomber
17 Jul 2008, 17:34
Another one of Gus Worland's tours was filmed during the West Indians series. It should start soon on Foxtel I'd be guessing.
http://www.islandevents.com/entertainment/printer_6851.shtml
I thought I spotted him in the crowd on the highlights of the 5th ODI...
aaronm46
17 Jul 2008, 20:34
oh god not this bloke again
marto9000
17 Jul 2008, 21:19
ah **** not again anyone but him would be better
i can just take it if theres no massages in a g string by men
stmookeyj
17 Jul 2008, 22:55
It would have been better 15 years ago when the Windies actually meant something.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
18 Jul 2008, 01:53
Fair go mick. It should be a pretty good series i reckon.
the_interloper
18 Jul 2008, 15:24
In the India one, it surprised me how often he went up to people and said "G'day I'm Gus from Australia". The big yellow shirt and ocker accent didn't give it away enough? I kept waiting for some Indian bloke to say "Oh, well no shit Sherlock!"
The best thing about these series is you get to see exactly what it's like to sit in crowds in these countries. In India it was great seeing him stick up for Roy when they were paying out on him.
It's not must watch telly or anything, but if i channel surf to it i'll leave it on.
how did this guy get the job? he is such a wanker!
I'll never forget when they were in the indian families home, and he goes to the guy, "you can tell your mother that im ready to eat now"
Admiral Afterworld
20 Jul 2008, 01:15
how did this guy get the job? he is such a wanker!
He is a friend of Hugh Jackman.
In the India one, it surprised me how often he went up to people and said "G'day I'm Gus from Australia". The big yellow shirt and ocker accent didn't give it away enough? I kept waiting for some Indian bloke to say "Oh, well no shit Sherlock!"
Just a bit misleading given he's lived in England for two decades.
Will he get into the rum, souse and reefer?
shammersting
23 Jul 2008, 22:11
Bloke's a wanker. Pity at all the games there was no crowd or atmosphere so I think it'll be a flop. The carribean don't seem to care about Cricket as much as they used to.
OzBomber
10 Nov 2008, 19:51
Supposedly Gus was picked up from the airport and toured around Antigua by Viv Richards. He's on Fox Sports New and Views atm.
Starts December 3.
He wanted to mix with the locals in the tests, but ended hanging out with the tour groups because the crowds were so low. Something tells me the series is going to be boring.
That fat idiot is now doing Midas ads.
fraser25
11 Nov 2008, 14:57
I like him, I hated the English one because it was basically him with a bunch of fat unemployed losers. But when he went to India it was good to see him mix with their culture and I kept watching so I must've enjoyed it.
Hey it's better than most other things on fox 8
It'll be total rubbisher, just like the last one!
More FOXSPORTS TRASH!
Supposedly Gus was picked up from the airport and toured around Antigua by Viv Richards.
He's lucky Viv is a nice guy, otherwise he would have been pushed out of the airplane without a parachute.
OzBomber
11 Nov 2008, 17:23
It'll be total rubbisher, just like the last one!
More FOXSPORTS TRASH!
Actually, it's Fox 8 not Fox Sports.
I actually think he's alright. It's good to see him mix with the locals, but I hate it how he says to a cow "Hi, I'm Gus from Australia".
I hate it how he says to a cow "Hi, I'm Gus Douchebag from Australia and I've gone Barmy/Bolly/Calypso".
Good call! :thumbsu:
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
11 Nov 2008, 23:34
I love the bloke, his a legend, cant understand the hate for him.
Will probably watch a bit.
Juddy88
11 Nov 2008, 23:47
I didn't have Fox when the barmy one was one, but I watched the first couple of the bolly one. the first couple were OK but after that I just got sick of it.
Repeats of the barmy one have been on but I dare not watch it.
The only interesting parts are when he is at the cricket and giving a summary of the game.
Seriously a terrible show IMO, but I suppose it does give you an idea of the cultures in other countries. Could have been done so much better though, Gus really annoys me at times.
OzBomber
12 Nov 2008, 13:47
I didn't have Fox when the barmy one was one, but I watched the first couple of the bolly one. the first couple were OK but after that I just got sick of it.
Repeats of the barmy one have been on but I dare not watch it.
The only interesting parts are when he is at the cricket and giving a summary of the game.
Seriously a terrible show IMO, but I suppose it does give you an idea of the cultures in other countries. Could have been done so much better though, Gus really annoys me at times.Where is the Barmy one on? I know that they repeated Aussie Goes BOlly on FoxSports, but I didn't know about Barmy.
coke_zero
12 Nov 2008, 14:44
the blokes a gun atleast hes getting out and not typing on a computer all day. only seen a couple eps from the barmy one but saw all the bolly ones. still enjoyable the 3rd time it was on in the week.
XFactor1979
16 Nov 2008, 10:14
i couldnt help notice that in the west indies odi squad that the former queenslander has chosen to play for the windies
the question that should be posed:
who was the last white person to ever represent the west indies cricket team in a test, one day international or twenty20?
they have players of indian descent - sarwan, chanderpaul, chittergoon, deonarine, rampaul, dhanraj
but a caucasian? thats going back in the history books?
nicko99
16 Nov 2008, 10:50
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=477503&highlight=brendan+nash
Tyberious Funk
17 Nov 2008, 09:00
I remember when he first "burst" onto the domestic scene. Some Queenslanders suggested that Nash should have been selected ahead of Michael Clarke. Fortunately, the selectors were a bit more sensible. Nash's form dipped considerably and Clarke went on to become a regular fixture in the national team.
bigpapagman
17 Nov 2008, 10:44
is this the same brendan nash that took a very long time to get offthe mark in a shield game?
if so, lol @ the west indies.
i couldnt help notice that in the west indies odi squad that the former queenslander has chosen to play for the windies
the question that should be posed:
who was the last white person to ever represent the west indies cricket team in a test, one day international or twenty20?
they have players of indian descent - sarwan, chanderpaul, chittergoon, deonarine, rampaul, dhanraj
but a caucasian? thats going back in the history books?
In Test Cricket (and maybe all forms of International Cricket) I believe it would be either the fast bowler Richard Edwards or the opening batsman Geoff Greenidge (one of three Greenidges to play for the West Indies in the 70s).
They both played for the Windies in the early 70s.