View Full Version : Well done, Saints

Dixie Flatline
19 Jul 2008, 22:48
Far too good for us after half-time.

You've given us a lot to think about for the rest of the season with a 63 point turn around to win the game.

Good luck for the rest of the season.

beejay
19 Jul 2008, 22:51
Thanks mate:thumbsu: always good to see supporters being gracious in defeat. i cant believe we won is this a dream?

CHBench
19 Jul 2008, 22:53
Thanks man :thumbsu:

All i can say is where the **** did that come from?

Hawk0373
19 Jul 2008, 23:06
Yep, as much as it pains me to come here, well done - you've had our measure for a while and continue to teach us a lesson on possession footy and commitment.

Your'e a contender.

Cheers.

Budgie63
19 Jul 2008, 23:07
Thanks mate:thumbsu: always good to see supporters being gracious in defeat. i cant believe we won is this a dream?

Isn't it a great feeling to be on the right side of an effort like that? I was so proud of the guys tonight, fantastic effort. Probably won't get s3x for a week after all the yelling and cheering I was doing at the TV but hey, what a great win :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

SA HAWK
19 Jul 2008, 23:08
Far too good in the 2nd half. Best i have seen from you for quite a while. Makes the race for the final 8 and top 4 very interesting.

CouchPotato
19 Jul 2008, 23:08
Congrats to the saints - your turn around after all the negative hype has been fantastic. Great to see Reiwoldt back in terrific form. All the best for the rest of the season.

Dez!
19 Jul 2008, 23:12
I bow to Nicky Dal.

*Bows down*

TassieSaint
19 Jul 2008, 23:12
Cheers Hawks fans :thumbsu: I thought it might get ugly for us after the first half but luckily we turned it around.

I'm not sure which emoticon properly sums up my thoughts on the match: :confused: or :D

I'll go with :D

sainter
19 Jul 2008, 23:13
Thanks to the Hawks fans.

You'll obviously have concerns after the game but you're still in a great position and will have more of an idea about where you're at next week.

I was listening to the game in an internet cafe in Barcelona which was really difficult but I'm just so proud of the guys. We've been strongly challenged in the last 3 games and came through which is satisfying because it was our committment that had been challenged in the past.

CARN THE SAINTERS!!! :D

Dixie Flatline
19 Jul 2008, 23:15
Cheers Hawks fans :thumbsu: I thought it might get ugly for us after the first half but luckily we turned it around.

I'm not sure which emoticon properly sums up my thoughts on the match: :confused: or :D

I'll go with :D

I'll take :confused: and :(

During the game there was a fair amount of :mad:

Teak_Pies
19 Jul 2008, 23:16
You guys will make the top 4
Riewoldt is a machine!

sauce_head
19 Jul 2008, 23:17
eard Blake had a good night. What were his stars?

Big Ronnie
19 Jul 2008, 23:20
well done Sainters.

That third quater was the best quater of footy I have seen all year:thumbsu:

Ross Lyon outcoached Clarko tonight, now it is important for you guys to respond for the last 6 rounds.

After tonight you deserve a spot in September, definitely:thumbsu:

sauce_head
19 Jul 2008, 23:21
Thanks to the Hawks fans.

You'll obviously have concerns after the game but you're still in a great position and will have more of an idea about where you're at next week.

I was listening to the game in an internet cafe in Barcelona which was really difficult but I'm just so proud of the guys. We've been strongly challenged in the last 3 games and came through which is satisfying because it was our committment that had been challenged in the past.

CARN THE SAINTERS!!! :D

indeed. Hopefully this will put some confidence in after the early season doggies match. Just what the doctor ordered. Hopes up again, let's hope we push on with it.

hawkz
19 Jul 2008, 23:21
Well done Saints :thumbsu:

You guys just stopped us completely. Glad it was a freeflowing win for you guys.

Hodge2Franklin
19 Jul 2008, 23:29
Well done Saints ... You guys are hitting great form at the right time of the year and are working as hard as any team.

dg102
19 Jul 2008, 23:52
IM SO HAPPY I COULD CRY :D What a TEAM PERFORMANCE! Well done saints. Roo your a outright champion. Clinton Jones your gonna be a champion! TEAM TEAM TEAM!
And thanks to all the HAWKS supporters who are so gracious in defeat, giving thier praise.

BakesFan
19 Jul 2008, 23:53
:thumbsu: to the Hawks supporters in this thread.

I wish I could be so magnanimous in defeat... I tend to mope too much:o.
Best of luck next week against the Cats.

boratsagdiyev
19 Jul 2008, 23:57
Well done guys. Just got back from the game and was blown away by your third quarter. Bloody awesome.:thumbsu:

Juggalo Balla
19 Jul 2008, 23:59
Awesome game from Clint Jones tonight. What a cool head under pressure.

Dal Santo finally firing. :D

King getting jumped on all night was funny. The Hawks really wanted to ride him.

kitchendweller
20 Jul 2008, 00:02
IM SO HAPPY I COULD CRY :D What a TEAM PERFORMANCE! Well done saints. Roo your a outright champion. Clinton Jones your gonna be a champion! TEAM TEAM TEAM!
And thanks to all the HAWKS supporters who are so gracious in defeat, giving thier praise.
Told my wife that when Banger lined up for goal with 8 min to go I would cry if he got it, on target but short.
But Blake was AWESOME!
And I reckon so was FIORA!
Good strong marking and contests.
LOOK OUT!! :thumbsu:

market
20 Jul 2008, 00:03
Yep, I'm here to say "well done Saints" as well....awesome effort in the 3rd quarter....

Nicky Dal Santo chopped us up....why couldn't you have dropped him for this game:eek:....Well done Nick......:thumbsu:(great player)

thatswhatimtalkinabout
20 Jul 2008, 00:05
Well done Sainters - tremendous effort in the second half tonight that made us look decidedly second rate.

On that performance you are definitely in with a big show. :thumbsu:

TBoyleSuperstar
20 Jul 2008, 00:08
Thanks man :thumbsu:

All i can say is where the **** did that come from?

My sentiments exactly. My god that was awesome to watch (except for the fact it was against us). Couldn't believe it, you just couldn't miss. At least if you missed we might have had a chance to break up the momentum, but nup, everything went through. Incredible.

Dal Santo lived up to the hype that has surrounded him for a while, as did Riewoldt. Both were awesome and made us look second rate

makemytime
20 Jul 2008, 00:09
Was at the game, GREAT COMEBACK! LETS MARCH TO SEPTEMBER!

_Interpol_
20 Jul 2008, 00:09
eard Blake had a good night. What were his stars?

Mateeeeee. turned the game with roo and dal in the 3rd - went into the ruck and kicked 2-3 goals in 3rd term, was really really good. props to jason, he bleeds red white and black

dunno stats exactly - but 160+ SC points says something

_Interpol_
20 Jul 2008, 00:12
:thumbsu::thumbsu: To all Hawks fans in here, good luck next week.

Let's just hope the Saints keep it up and get better - we have shown what we can do when we fire, so let's keep firing and NOT GET AHEAD OF OURSELVES, that's the most important part. 1 win doesn't = finals success, or even finals. Must keep it up and get better

GO SAINTS!

Major props to Maxy, Roo, Dal, Blake and well everyone!!

JeffDunne
20 Jul 2008, 00:16
:thumbsu::thumbsu: To all Hawks fans in here, good luck next week.
Ditto.

Nice change after the reaction we saw from the opposition last week.

Good luck next week Hawks. Probably a good time for you to lose one (if there's ever a good time). Give those smart-arse Cats a black-eye. :thumbsu:

tim_saints
20 Jul 2008, 00:22
good sportsman ship from the hawkers fans :thumbsu:

i was at the game and it was one of the best wins i have seen
NICK RIEWOLDT absolute star
but i have to give credit to jason blake really stepped his game up and showed how he can perform well done to him.

Austin_McCrabbs
20 Jul 2008, 00:28
Smashed us after half-time.

Well played Saints. Getting some good momentum in the last few games.

mailman4
20 Jul 2008, 00:30
Missed the 1st half of the game watching the new batman movie (fantastic movie) but then to sit down and watch the saints but on a performance like that was just amazing...from tonights watchings i cant decide if id give an oscar to Heath Ledger or to the saints!

also to the Hawthorn supporters ive gained alot of respect for you guys in the graciousness of your defeat.

RIP HL.

Armitage2Riewoldt
20 Jul 2008, 00:50
Cheers Hawks supporters.

I actually tipped the Hawks, so if they won I'd condole myself with a tip. And if they lost I'd be happy cos my team won. Can't lose haha.

But yeah, gotta be on of the best games I've ever been to.

kosi_23
20 Jul 2008, 00:50
uuuupppp thhhhe ssaiiintttersssssssss!!!!

huge win tonight by the boys.

publicly declaring i would turn gay for nick riewoldt, just a superstar that bloke

respect for the hawkers boys, chin up

but go the sainter!

Signd Sealed Saint
20 Jul 2008, 00:55
Best win we've had since Sydney in the pouring rain in their glory days of '06. I thought in the second half we broke the Hawthorn zone really well with our run which was key to our win. Excellent games by Dal, Roo and Blake was fantastic in the ruck and kicked 3 in the 3rd quarter. Hopefully this will give us the confidence to go on and win the games we should win and give the Pies a real run for their money.

GO THE MIGHTY SAINTERS

HoldenMCaulfield
20 Jul 2008, 01:03
I actually tipped the Hawks, so if they won I'd condole myself with a tip. And if they lost I'd be happy cos my team won. Can't lose haha.

A2R - you didn't really tip against us, did you ?

I have never ever done that - could not be happy if we lost and would be furious with myself...

rdhopkins2
20 Jul 2008, 01:07
Well done Sainters- totally showed us up after half time. Enjoy the win.

Armitage2Riewoldt
20 Jul 2008, 01:07
Didn't say I'd be happy, just said I'd console myself with the fact I got a point.

You're not gonna win a tipping comp if you tip with your heart... Unless you go for Geelong.

It's not like I wanted the Hawks to win, Im happy to give up a tip for that feeling I felt tonight. There's no way in hell I woulda been sitting there watching the Saints kick 8 goals in the 3rd going "damn now I lost a tip", I was jumpin outta me seat and screaming for us...

But yeah, I tip with my head, not my heart. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't, and Im more than happy when it doesnt work out.

timos
20 Jul 2008, 01:10
holy shit, well done hawks fans, very classy of you all. I tend to be a little more jaded after a loss. Props to you guys, and enjoy the finals. cheers.

HoldenMCaulfield
20 Jul 2008, 01:30
You're not gonna win a tipping comp if you tip with your heart...

I guess you may have a point here - I have never even come close to winning a tipping competition...

holllywood
20 Jul 2008, 01:34
yeah props to the hawks fans:thumbsu:.

apart from one behind me: said hawks would win by at least 140 if game at the G :confused:

reminded me of game in 98 i think wen hawks turned around 60 point margin?

but this time it was st kilda :D

but not quite 60 points :(

great win but, thought we were gaaaaawn at half time.

Armitage2Riewoldt
20 Jul 2008, 02:14
I guess you may have a point here - I have never even come close to winning a tipping competition...

Not sure if it's a coincidence the two times I've won were in 04 and 05...

JohnD
20 Jul 2008, 03:18
We were tanking.

Well done Saints. BIG second half. Too good.

The Sim Dog
20 Jul 2008, 03:50
Just watched the second half. My god that was absolutely scintillating!

ChrisFooty
20 Jul 2008, 06:46
Amazing victory. Best game St.kilda has played since 2006. Nobody expected that. Great team effort.

halfback dasher
20 Jul 2008, 09:35
Well done saintssss:thumbsu:NOW stop teasing your supporters and give that effort for the rest of the year......you owe it to them:)

pacman
20 Jul 2008, 11:32
that third quarter is the reason you guys were second fave for the flag before the start of the season. Who knows what can happen come September? Congrats

wolvesjr34
20 Jul 2008, 12:37
You out played us brilliantly for a half... put that together every game and you guys are a real shot, well done.

Rough_Edges
20 Jul 2008, 13:36
Still would rather play 4 quarters...but it was a great comeback non the less.

Look2Me4Guidance
20 Jul 2008, 14:46
well done Sainters.

That third quater was the best quater of footy I have seen all year:thumbsu:

Ross Lyon outcoached Clarko tonight, now it is important for you guys to respond for the last 6 rounds.

After tonight you deserve a spot in September, definitely:thumbsu:

Cheers Ronnie.

Yeah I've never heard our members area get so loud.

It was an unbelievable game.

All the best for your blokes for the rest of the year.

AFLOnline
20 Jul 2008, 15:31
Thanks guys, very modest and gracious of you guys.

It's scary to think what the 2 Nicks can do, when they find their feat. Unstoppable.

AFLOnline
20 Jul 2008, 15:40
Robert Harvey keeps going about his business, doesn't he?

Another lazy 29 possessions and an almost goal to the superstar veteran.

arads
20 Jul 2008, 17:00
It pains me to say it, but well done Saints. It was a horrible, horrible match to attend, we just had no answers in the 3rd quarter, when everything you did seemed to turn to gold. It's hard to stop any team when they seem to be in the zone like you guys were. The last quarter was just punishment when it was imminent early that we couldn't come back. Your fans were terrific as well, made heaps of noise. Didn't seem to be that many Hawkers in the house.:thumbsd:

Anyway guys, good luck for the rest of the season. I hope we don't cross paths in the finals, we definately seem to be your bitches.:(

rjslcM
20 Jul 2008, 17:05
Yep. Well done to all the Saints.

Great job.:thumbsu:

HAWKS HEROES
20 Jul 2008, 18:48
as i wrote on saintsational

Well done .

was not a boring game like i think last time ,
the umps made some funny decisions for both sides , the buddy free was just like the nick free so not sure why you guys booed my guy ?

our guys just were flat when they came out in the second half and that stumped me as they were on fire before in the first half .

bet you guys thought you had lost it by half time didn't you http://www.saintsational.com/forum/images/smiles/icon_wink.gif

now the scary one for the hawks as we take on geelong on friday and if we play like the second half or maybe even the first half i don't want to even think about it .
if we play like we did for the rd 1 maybe a chance but will have to wait and see .

good luck for your guys in the up in coming weeks , we may meet again in the finals http://www.saintsational.com/forum/images/smiles/icon_cool.gif

will add the media can not complain it was not a boring match

Squizzy1970
20 Jul 2008, 20:33
Sometimes having the dark lord on your side helps, Just ask Riewoldt with 6 goals straight!!!

http://video.google.com.au/videoplay?docid=-911996437742090074&q=darth+vader+golf&ei=aQWDSITDDpjMqgPksPCaBQ&hl=en

Really it's only Fraser in his leather jacket (the beard has got a bit ugly) - but don't tell Rooey cause its working!!!

HAWKS HEROES
20 Jul 2008, 20:35
i have a chrissy card to get to fraser later this year it will be the 4th i think i have sent him

mhill
20 Jul 2008, 21:04
Well done to Hawk supporters for showing a bit of humility in defeat.

Hawk43
20 Jul 2008, 21:58
just got back to a computer after the game last night, brilliant win and performance after half time. You made us feel like the last 2 years of development was worthless with the way you stopped us after half time, shit way to go in against the cats but we can always hope. well done again:thumbsu:

BigManFromMiniTown
21 Jul 2008, 11:57
I would like to say thanks to the sainters on the weekend for two things!

One for the best game of football I've been to in a while. I go to every home game sit in my reserved seat and enjoy watching the boys win lose or draw. But Saturday night. At the first bounce of the 2nd half the saints members side of the dome was deadly slient. 10 minutes later every saints fan was on their feet and it was a great sight to see and it continued for the next hour. We even sang the theme song about 15 minutes into the final quater. IT WAS GREAT!

And the second big thanks is for winning me a few beers against a hawhtorn hopefull here at work! I took the gamble and it paid off. So I dedicate my beers to all the boys and their hard work. Keep it up.

mighty_fighting
21 Jul 2008, 13:16
This is the earliest that I have been able to bring myself to log onto BF. Couldn't get my head around Sat night before now!!

Congrats to the SAINTS... I am so truely happy for you - now that I can look at things rationally.

Just watching the pure joy on your fans' faces - and the players.

Totally awesome second half from your players the superb effort and skills shown by the Saints you absolutely pulled our pants down royally.

I hope that this loss above the 2 others this year will help our boys in September!!

Good luck for the rest of the year

Look2Me4Guidance
21 Jul 2008, 14:55
I would like to say thanks to the sainters on the weekend for two things!

One for the best game of football I've been to in a while. I go to every home game sit in my reserved seat and enjoy watching the boys win lose or draw. But Saturday night. At the first bounce of the 2nd half the saints members side of the dome was deadly slient. 10 minutes later every saints fan was on their feet and it was a great sight to see and it continued for the next hour. We even sang the theme song about 15 minutes into the final quater. IT WAS GREAT!

And the second big thanks is for winning me a few beers against a hawhtorn hopefull here at work! I took the gamble and it paid off. So I dedicate my beers to all the boys and their hard work. Keep it up.

Spot on brother.

I reckon that is the loudest the members has been since TS40 kicked that ripper against the Lions in 04.

I'm on Level 1 in Aisle 37 and I was high 5'ing all of my fellow Sainters. I tend to go fairly crazy at the footy. I was loving it!!!!!!!!

I have watched the replay of the second half multiple times and the roar after Blake's 3rd goal and Rooey's 6th were unreal.

boozeDragon
21 Jul 2008, 15:21
Congratulations. Fantastic win by your mob. If we're going to get beaten, I hope it's by a team that plays its heart out like this. Nothing but clapping from me.

Rough_Edges
21 Jul 2008, 15:33
Very unlike Hawhtorn supporters this thread...nice to see.

St DAC
21 Jul 2008, 17:24
Nah, genuine footy people these Hawk supporters. And it shows ... well done to them.

mighty_fighting
21 Jul 2008, 17:27

Like most clubs.................you can't tar us all with the same brush ;)

Woodside Hawk
21 Jul 2008, 17:29
At the risk of overdoing it....congrats Saints supporters.

It really was an amazing comeback, and at times I caught myself almost enjoying how good your guys were playing in that 3rd quarter (then I'd remember you were playing the Hawks). Its been a long time since a team so thoroughly dominated us out of the centre like they did in that quarter.

Best of luck, hope you make the finals!

Hawk43
21 Jul 2008, 17:35

nah mate you must pay too much attention to bay13, it is an irrational and boring board, some supporters are still keen on chatting properly about footy and giving credit where due.

Goldhawk
21 Jul 2008, 18:53
Congratulations you were just too good in the second half,hopefully the Hawks will learn from this.Although it was hard to take i realised that the sun will rise again tomorrow.
Cheers

HAWKS HEROES
21 Jul 2008, 21:03
no very hawthorn like,
maybe bay 13 they stir the pot so to speak
but they will come out and say well done to you guys etc and give credit were it's due like HAWK43 said

you will get the odd feral everywhere ;) but they keep that to bay 13 most times

Kildonan
21 Jul 2008, 21:11
Thanks Hawks - its great to get genuine congrats from down to earth footy fans - especially when you guys must be hurting a bit yourselves.

Much appreciated :thumbsu:

Donnybrook
22 Jul 2008, 19:07
Taken a while to come out of my bunker after the weekend. Be the first to admit I'm not the biggest Saints fan but well done Sainters. Played some great attacking footy to give us a real hiding in the 2nd half. Good luck in the run to September. Should be feeling pretty confident from here on in given the run of results in the last few weeks.