View Full Version : The Official Melbourne vs Adelaide thread
King Crow
8 Sep 2002, 21:01
:)
yes shall be a great game next saturday night. and im sure ill cop **** loads of abuse from adelaide supporters all week, but im used to it by now. and yeah they all better be prepared to cope it back when we whip their butts!
BTW im interested on any adelaide supporters thoughts on Peter Vardy??????? were they happy to let him go?
dees*gal
8 Sep 2002, 21:14
eek, if its a sat night match i wont be able to go :( :( :( :( :(
but honestly, i think it should be a really good game. the fact that it will have been the crows 3rd week of travel in a row will be a major adv. for us... hopefully we'll use it and run them out! but i think it should be a good match...
Deestroy
8 Sep 2002, 21:21
Originally posted by dees*gal
eek, if its a sat night match i wont be able to go :( :( :( :( :(
Yep, it's Saturday night @ 7:30.
The game could be a ripper, I'll try to do some potential match-ups later in the week...
dees*gal
8 Sep 2002, 21:22
Originally posted by Deestroy
Yep, it's Saturday night @ 7:30.
The game could be a ripper, I'll try to do some potential match-ups later in the week...
:( :( :(
DemonChick22_24
8 Sep 2002, 21:26
How come ya cant go mish?
SPUNKY_MONKEY45
8 Sep 2002, 21:30
Originally posted by DemonChick22_24
How come ya cant go mish?
she has to babysit!
yeah should be a good game! i'll be there:D
Deestroy
8 Sep 2002, 21:38
Originally posted by SPUNKY_MONKEY45
i'll be there:D
I'll be there as well! :D :D
Go Dees!
I was disappointed Vardy went from Adelaide particularly as we lost Robran and Jarman to boot.
How many goals has he kicked;40 odd?
Steve Bracks
8 Sep 2002, 21:54
Ah yes well it should be a good match between Melbourne and the Adelaide Crows and regardless of the result, the MCG will definately be "The Place To Be" next Saturday night!
King Crow
8 Sep 2002, 21:54
Poor Dees Gal :(
I'll be there :D
Originally posted by topjars
I was disappointed Vardy went from Adelaide particularly as we lost Robran and Jarman to boot.
How many goals has he kicked;40 odd?
More like 30 odd, he's been good when he's fit but he's missed a few games & also had a few incomplete ones. No pre-season hasn't helped his cause this year, a lot of soft tissue injuries (usually his baby cow).
He was even hobbling around for a while today as well, still ran fast when he had the ball though :D
I wasn't surprised he did well today, I had a gut feeling he'd lift for the finals.
snakebite01
8 Sep 2002, 22:30
Has the potential to be a great finals game. Only two factors which could alter this.
1)Will the Crows be too tired from the travel?
2)Which Melbourne side will turn up?
King Crow
8 Sep 2002, 22:31
Vardy was my all time favourite player at the Crows
Never felt as sad about a player being traded....not even Modra.
He is a great player, and I wish he was still with us :(
Yes, well, I'm obviously looking forward to this one.....I just think after consecutive 68 and 71 point finals losses, we're going to put in a big one on Saturday night.....the boys will be primed to give it their all and while they may not get up, they'll be extra keen to put in a performance good enough to make all Crows supporters proud :p
Should be a beauty :D all the best Dees' fans!
CowboyFromHell
9 Sep 2002, 00:30
I actually fancy our chances MORE against the Crows. Both midfields match up well, but the Crows are not too tall up forward which will be of great benefit to us.
I'll do more later in the week, and I hope to be there also! :)
footyman
9 Sep 2002, 00:36
Originally posted by Steve Bracks
the MCG will definately be "The Place To Be" next Saturday night!
Agreed Bracksy!
footyman
9 Sep 2002, 00:46
Originally posted by SPUNKY_MONKEY45
i'll be there:D
me too...it will be a belter!
Believe it or not, I am going as well.:eek:
After yesterday, I can't wait. The Crows won't play like they did against the Lions, so we have to be careful. It will be the battle of the midfield. Whoever wins that, wins the game. The backline should not be such a concern this week. I think we can win and if we do , it means Collingwood in a Prelim. That would be the biggest final in years!
PrideofSA
9 Sep 2002, 11:32
Atleast now we have a chance to freshen up after the travel issues because remember after playing in Perth in Rd 22, in the 3 times we have done this all 3 First up finals were bad losses, There has to be a connection there!
But in 98 we got over that one, and I'm sure we will make amenz, just depends how good Melbourne is!
Originally posted by PrideofSA
just depends how good Melbourne is!
And that depends on which Melbourne turns up!
PrideofSA
9 Sep 2002, 11:39
Originally posted by dees01
And that depends on which Melbourne turns up!
That's what I meant!
happy_in_hell
9 Sep 2002, 14:10
Sadly i will not be there as there is a birthday to celebrate (and maybe a Melbourne win?)
I believe the question that will need to be answered on sat night is:
Can the Dees string three wins in a row? Going by the season, no, however, the Finals are a different ball game (yet with the same rules:confused: )
PrideofSA
9 Sep 2002, 14:23
Originally posted by happy_in_hell
Sadly i will not be there as there is a birthday to celebrate (and maybe a Melbourne win?)
I believe the question that will need to be answered on sat night is:
Can the Dees string three wins in a row? Going by the season, no, however, the Finals are a different ball game (yet with the same rules:confused: )
Are they the same rules? AFL rules says loser 2 v 3 hosts home final vs winner 6 v 7!
Breaking the RULES!
Should be an interesting match.
It was great to hear that Melbourne won, even know I didnt get to see it :(
I will watch Saturday night live though, should be a great contest!
Go the Dees :p
Are they the same rules? AFL rules says loser 2 v 3 hosts home final vs winner 6 v 7!
Breaking the RULES!
See my 1998 example mate, WE FEEL YOUR PAIN!
Originally posted by BT
See my 1998 example mate, WE FEEL YOUR PAIN!
I was just going to bring that up! I think we can now call it even.
Breaking the RULES! Maybe that was more of a guideline? (Or one of those rules that was 'meant to be broken'?)
If this is the official Adelaide vs Melbourne thread, then what does that make the other one?
CowboyFromHell
10 Sep 2002, 01:52
I'm still confident of a win this weekend.
It will be like the old days if we can get past the Crows like we should....
Collingwood vs. Melbourne at the MCG on a Saturday arvo (hopefully) in front of over 80,000 fans. That is what football is all about! :D
Peter didnt want to continue at Adelaide so he was rightfully shown the door!
I was happy to see the back of him to be honest!
Has tons of ability but tends to be lazy and is always a risk with that Achilles which he has to see a Horse Doctor for treatment etc...........
I hope he does as much this Sat night as he did when the best Back pocket in Australia stitched him up the last time these two clubs played!!!!
Should be tight!
King Crow
10 Sep 2002, 09:23
Originally posted by madboy
If this is the official Adelaide vs Melbourne thread, then what does that make the other one?
Unofficial
Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
Collingwood vs. Melbourne at the MCG on a Saturday arvo (hopefully) in front of over 80,000 fans. That is what football is all about! :D
That would be the biggest final in years. I reckon they would push 90,000. I think I'd have to camp out overnight!
PrideofSA
10 Sep 2002, 16:02
That would be the biggest final in years. I reckon they would push 90,000. I think I'd have to camp out overnight!
The biggest final in years?? yeah right!
CowboyFromHell
10 Sep 2002, 18:01
That's right, Adelaide fans have only been around a little while.
90,000 at the G on a Saturday Arvo for Melbourne and the Pies, two clubs who have a history that spans over 100 years. Ask anyone and they will say that this will be one of the biggest finals in years!
McAlmanac
10 Sep 2002, 18:06
Let's hope it's a better game than some of the dreadful Queen's Birthday games of recent years.
Originally posted by McAlmanac
Let's hope it's a better game than some of the dreadful Queen's Birthday games of recent years.
:( :o oohhh ummm well yeah lets just leave those where they belong. in the past. Please? :(
Originally posted by King Crow
Unofficial Of course! Stupid question, really.
Yes, the Melbourne v Collingwood preliminary final, to be played on a Saturday arvo in a couple of weeks, will be a sensational game. Traditional rivals, going head to head for a GF berth against Brisbane. I can't wait :)
Yes, In years. Bigger than anything the Crows have been in, including the GF's.
PrideofSA
10 Sep 2002, 22:25
obviously!
crowsrule
10 Sep 2002, 23:00
It would be, just a pity both have been totally unsuccessful clubs over the last 30 years.....
CowboyFromHell
11 Sep 2002, 00:35
Originally posted by crowsrule
It would be, just a pity both have been totally unsuccessful clubs over the last 30 years.....
Also a shame that both clubs have far more tradition and history than your club ever will. :rolleyes:
You guys can't even compare yourselves to clubs like ours.
PrideofSA
11 Sep 2002, 00:49
Also a shame that both clubs have far more tradition and history than your club ever will. :rolleyes:
Yeah shame that hey, Our club sux ass your club rules!
crowsrule
11 Sep 2002, 00:52
Give me 2 recent premierships over tradition anyday....
footyman
11 Sep 2002, 00:58
I know South Australians can't read too well but on the front page it says Team boards are for supporters of each team. Respect the team when you post on their board.
Hence, PrideofSA and crowsrule - P*** OFF!
CowboyFromHell
11 Sep 2002, 00:59
Originally posted by footyman
I know South Australians can't read too well but on the front page it says Team boards are for supporters of each team. Respect the team when you post on their board.
Hence, PrideofSA and crowsrule - P*** OFF!
Hear, bloody, Hear!
*picture removed*
PrideofSA
11 Sep 2002, 01:31
I expect that kind of behaviour from a Port or Collingwood supporter, but really you have let your fellow suporters down with that!
That was very uncalled for!
footyman
11 Sep 2002, 01:36
I expect that kind of behaviour from a Port or Collingwood supporter, but really you have let your fellow suporters down with that!
yawn, yawn, yawn...
What's uncalled for is you making unnecessary comments about our club. We do what the AFL say, and they have said we are playing at the MCG this week. I say I will be at the MCG this week, while you will be at home watching it on TV :D
But I couldn't care less about whether you think it's right or wrong. Why don't you fire off an e-mail to the AFL? They probably wouldn't even waste their time responding to a twit like you, so I don't know why I am...
CowboyFromHell
11 Sep 2002, 01:37
Couldn't you hear me???
<---------------------- Door is that way!
PrideofSA
11 Sep 2002, 01:40
Originally posted by footyman
yawn, yawn, yawn...
What's uncalled for is you making unnecessary comments about our club. We do what the AFL say, and they have said we are playing at the MCG this week. I say I will be at the MCG this week, while you will be at home watching it on TV :D
But I couldn't care less about whether you think it's right or wrong. Why don't you fire off an e-mail to the AFL? They probably wouldn't even waste their time responding to a twit like you, so I don't know why I am...
I haven't said anything bad about your club, in fact I respect your club. ANd it isn't what I think is wrong it actually IS wrong!
crowsrule
11 Sep 2002, 01:46
Several Melbourne supporters have posted on the Crows board this week...
footyman
11 Sep 2002, 02:01
Originally posted by crowsrule
Several Melbourne supporters have posted on the Crows board this week...
But none have started stupid threads though. You stay away from our board and our people will stay away from yours.
Lleyton Hewitt
11 Sep 2002, 14:19
The mighty Crows are gonna win for sure.
C'Mon Crows!!!!!!!!!!!
PrideofSA
11 Sep 2002, 14:33
Originally posted by Lleyton Hewitt
The mighty Crows are gonna win for sure.
C'Mon Crows!!!!!!!!!!!
U just got back from the US didn't ya Lleyton?
lol:p
roostersgal4eva
11 Sep 2002, 14:33
Originally posted by Dee
yes shall be a great game next saturday night. and im sure ill cop **** loads of abuse from adelaide supporters all week
not from me you wont, Dee - i am only gonna give *****loads to the afl as this games should of been at AMMI stadium.
forget which team it is, it is unfair for a team who finished 3rd to not get a home final when they play a team who finished below them!! Even Neil Daniher(sp plz?), leigh matthews & kevin sheedy think so!!!!
BTW im interested on any adelaide supporters thoughts on Peter Vardy??????? were they happy to let him go?
i wasn't happy to see him go :( - if he can have a blinder the crows still win at the same time id be happy :D my catch cry for him was 'come on vardy, lets go party' (like the barbie girl song :o)
ok.crows
12 Sep 2002, 22:38
Crowds at the 97 and 98 GF games were from memory about 98,000 and 97,000 (not sure which way around).
You think a PF Dees vs Pies would be bigger than those games? Where are you going to put the people?
CowboyFromHell
13 Sep 2002, 00:53
Originally posted by ok.crows
Crowds at the 97 and 98 GF games were from memory about 98,000 and 97,000 (not sure which way around).
You think a PF Dees vs Pies would be bigger than those games? Where are you going to put the people?
We are talking Prelim, not Grand Final. Everyone turns up to a Grand Final anyway mate. Not everyone does for a Prelim.
And hey, at least we can draw crowds, unlike you guys over at "AAMI Stadium!". A Pies/Dees Prelim would mean something and bring back old memories from the 50's and 60's. A Dees/Crows or Pies/Crows Prelim would just be another Prelim with one of those interstate sides that we care nothing about.
King Crow
13 Sep 2002, 00:59
And hey, at least we can draw crowds, unlike you guys over at "AAMI Stadium!". A Pies/Dees Prelim would mean something and bring back old memories from the 50's and 60's. A Dees/Crows or Pies/Crows Prelim would just be another Prelim with one of those interstate sides that we care nothing about.
What an absolutely moronic-filled post...I cant believe anyone would post somethin so stupid...
1) Adelaide has sold out AAMI Stadium 5 times this year. Get usually around the 45000 mark every game.
2) Memories from 50's and 60's?? I'll leave it at that...cause its so stupid. Maybe you should stick to VFL...but then again..isnt there a Tassie team there?? u wouldnt want them to miss around with ur history :rolleyes:
Ur post will go down in History as one of the dumbest posts ever, and isnt more than a lame attempt to poke a soft shot at Crows supporters.
CowboyFromHell
13 Sep 2002, 01:06
Originally posted by King Crow
What an absolutely moronic-filled post...I cant believe anyone would post somethin so stupid...
1) Adelaide has sold out AAMI Stadium 5 times this year. Get usually around the 45000 mark every game.
2) Memories from 50's and 60's?? I'll leave it at that...cause its so stupid. Maybe you should stick to VFL...but then again..isnt there a Tassie team there?? u wouldnt want them to miss around with ur history :rolleyes:
Ur post will go down in History as one of the dumbest posts ever, and isnt more than a lame attempt to poke a soft shot at Crows supporters.
Let me spell something out for you.
You Crows fans do not come in here and berate what we post. You don't like it, tough. If you read what is says out on the board area, it states that you must respect the opposition boards. Are can't you Crows supporters read.
And I believe these stupid memories you refer to are stupid to you, as your club has no real history. You would have to support a club that has one to understand. It's no different to the Carlton-Collingwood rivarly. The Dees and the Pies have a rivarly spanding 100 hundred years, and it's been sometime since we had a Prelim between the two. We did happen to have the biggest crowd to a Grand Final years ago, and a game like this would spark it.
And Filling out AAMI stadium? Not hard when there are onl ytwo teams in your town mate. Try filling out the G, I bet you can't do it. No, Go Away.
PrideofSA
13 Sep 2002, 12:42
We are talking Prelim, not Grand Final. Everyone turns up to a Grand Final anyway mate. Not everyone does for a Prelim.
lol what an ignorant post, we get well over 40 000 every week (expect for 1) this year and have sold out Footy Park 5 times (out of 11) We always get good crowds and if we had an even bigger ground we would get 60000 on some days!
I think that was the dumbest comment I've heard for a while!
PrideofSA
13 Sep 2002, 12:43
You Crows fans do not come in here and berate what we post. You don't like it, tough. If you read what is says out on the board area, it states that you must respect the opposition boards. Are can't you Crows supporters read.
And I believe these stupid memories you refer to are stupid to you, as your club has no real history. You would have to support a club that has one to understand. It's no different to the Carlton-Collingwood rivarly. The Dees and the Pies have a rivarly spanding 100 hundred years, and it's been sometime since we had a Prelim between the two. We did happen to have the biggest crowd to a Grand Final years ago, and a game like this would spark it.
And Filling out AAMI stadium? Not hard when there are onl ytwo teams in your town mate. Try filling out the G, I bet you can't do it. No, Go Away.
Adelaide has the highest rate of ppl who go to the Footy per capita than any other city in Australia!
PrideofSA
13 Sep 2002, 12:45
When you get your facts completely wrong can't we correct them?
McAlmanac
13 Sep 2002, 13:06
I think you're confusing the Crows with Port. The Crows crowds are very healthy.
Unfortunately, I find Melbourne supporters one of the most passive groups of all the Melbourne teams. 53,000 for a final with two local Victorian teams could also be construed as disappointing. And with all respect, I also doubt that a Melbourne/Collingwood final will bring back any memories of the 50's and 60's for you because you weren't born. :)
That crowd has a lot to do woth the fact that we were playing North. There were A LOT more Melbourne supporters in comparison. It would not surprise me if the Crows supporters at least equal that of North last week.
As for memories of the great Meb/Coll battles, it is all about appreciating tradition, something you Crows don't know a lot about.
CowboyFromHell
13 Sep 2002, 14:19
As for memories of the great Meb/Coll battles, it is all about appreciating tradition, something you Crows don't know a lot about.
My point exactly.
PrideofSA
13 Sep 2002, 14:22
That crowd has a lot to do woth the fact that we were playing North. There were A LOT more Melbourne supporters in comparison. It would not surprise me if the Crows supporters at least equal that of North last week.
No, but we are building tradition and isn't our fault!
But we have SANFL clubs who have great tradition in the SANFL which has been around longer than the VFL, but a game isn't just big because of tradition
eg Port vs Brisbane 2 weeks ago was a huge game, not built on tradition!
CowboyFromHell
13 Sep 2002, 14:26
No, but we are building tradition and isn't our fault!
But we have SANFL clubs who have great tradition in the SANFL which has been around longer than the VFL, but a game isn't just big because of tradition
It was a big game because it was 1st vs. 2nd you idiot.
If Melbourne and Collingwood were last and second last, we would still draw a bigger crowd than any of your games. That is my point.
Care factor for that game here, 0!
PrideofSA
13 Sep 2002, 14:47
Care factor for that game here, 0!
That's your small mind, but most ppl did care!
PrideofSA
13 Sep 2002, 14:48
It was a big game because it was 1st vs. 2nd you idiot.
If Melbourne and Collingwood were last and second last, we would still draw a bigger crowd than any of your games. That is my point.
We get as many as we can fit into the statdium, as If we had the MCG as our home ground, on some occassions we would get massive crowds, but our stadium doesn't allow it.....ignorant view u have!
McAlmanac
13 Sep 2002, 15:14
Agreed about the North factor. I went to a North v Port game at the G a few years ago and there was 16,000 there. You could fire a gun and not hit anyone.
I can certainly appreciate tradition - I've been going to football for over 30 years and have a fair grasp of the great names and rivalries in two states. But it's useless if your club can't keep pace with the times - Fitzroy had plenty of tradition, but it dried up after 1944. Fortunately for Melbourne, they haven't been quite as bereft of success since their last premiership as the Roys had been, but your signature does say it all.
, but your signature does say it all.
Very true!:(
King Crow
15 Sep 2002, 19:49
WOOHOOO GO YOU CROWIES!
Bad lucky Demons...