http://img396.imageshack.us/img396/5750/rnd18pig0.jpg

whelan=legend
2 Aug 2008, 11:28
Good luck Merv ;) Hopefully it's a good game. See you all there

Merv
2 Aug 2008, 11:35
Good luck Merv ;) Hopefully it's a good game. See you all there

You too mate.

Melbourne are better than what their record suggests and it should be a reasonable game if the weather does the right thing.

warney7
2 Aug 2008, 11:46
Let's hope Melbourne don't shut up shop after the first quarter! :)

Pipefitter
2 Aug 2008, 12:20
We have a habit of having heartbreaking losses against you mob, i sense that will happen again today.

cannons
2 Aug 2008, 12:39
Good luck Essendon fans ;)

I'm not sure what to expect from Melbourne. Their most prominent attribute is inconsistency at the moment.

WindyHillWatcher
2 Aug 2008, 14:41
Not very interesting so far hey. it's like watching a bunch of kids playing kick to kick in the park. get it together boyz

Big Blow Hard
2 Aug 2008, 14:43
Showing Melbourne no respect. Not good enough. Thank god Melbourne have sprayed their shots.

Rama is having a shocker. Shame. He will have to be dropped surely after this week unless something changes in the last three qtrs. Is the end Nigh for Rama?

Colin D'Cops
2 Aug 2008, 14:44
Valenti & Buckley causing some havoc for the Dees so far, hopefully Welsh sticks really tight on Valenti this second quarter so we can really control the match because they have no real other major ball-winners since Jones, McLean & now Bruce are out with injuries.

Blind Blink
2 Aug 2008, 14:47
Bruce back on the field.

Lloyd just kicked his 3rd :D

Big Blow Hard
2 Aug 2008, 14:48
Valenti & Buckley causing some havoc for the Dees so far, hopefully Welsh sticks really tight on Valenti this second quarter so we can really control the match because they have no real other major ball-winners since Jones, McLean & now Bruce are out with injuries.

Bruce, Hamstring? I thought he pulled up short there before.

Colin D'Cops
2 Aug 2008, 14:50
Bruce, Hamstring? I thought he pulled up short there before.

I think he tweaked his hammy, not sure if he is back on now though.

Colin D'Cops
2 Aug 2008, 14:51
Yep, Bruce just got a few touches, he's back on.

Big Blow Hard
2 Aug 2008, 14:51
Back on, and sets up a goal.

Blind Blink
2 Aug 2008, 14:55
Melbourne infront.

Colin D'Cops
2 Aug 2008, 14:58
Not for long. ;)

Blind Blink
2 Aug 2008, 15:07
Reimers not doing too well apparently. Monfries just kicked his second.

47-39

EDIT: Lovett just goaled.

53-39.

Colin D'Cops
2 Aug 2008, 15:10
Lovett goal.

Tassie27
2 Aug 2008, 15:12
Hi guys, just watching the game here. Just wondering what are the orange trimmings are on the left armholes on the Essendon jumpers today? They are about the same colour as Reimer's orange boots. :eek:

Blind Blink
2 Aug 2008, 15:14
For the call to arms cancer thing, I think.

Lloyd's got his 4th already!!! Yehhhh!!!

60-39

Colin D'Cops
2 Aug 2008, 15:14
Hi guys, just watching the game here. Just wondering what are the orange trimmings are on the left armholes on the Essendon jumpers today? They are about the same colour as Reimer's orange boots. :eek:

I think it's the 'clash for cancer' match or something along those lines TAS.

Tassie27
2 Aug 2008, 15:16
Thanks for that, I do remember something being mentioned earlier this week. Also heard Ramanaska's (sp??) name mentioned also. Enjoying the game, sometimes nice when your heart isn't involved.

essendon2008
2 Aug 2008, 15:18

I think it's the 'clash for cancer' match or something along those lines TAS.

Where have you guys been lately? Yeah it's the Call to Arms campaign. Last year Essendon wanted both the Melbourne and Essendon players to wear yellow armbands like the black ones to recognise men's cancer but the AFL wouldn't allow it. They ended up incorporating the yellow strip into the jumpers. Have Melbourne got it too this year or just the Bombers?

bomber69
2 Aug 2008, 15:24
Just got back from basketball, wheres Jetta?
0 Disposals to half time

KaaN10
2 Aug 2008, 15:26
Jetta and Wonaeamirri are missing.

TeamHurley
2 Aug 2008, 15:28
Have only seen jetta close to the ball once or twice. Not sure whats going on with him. Terrible umpiring both ways, very frustrating game to watch.

Big Blow Hard
2 Aug 2008, 15:28
Jetta and Wonaeamirri are missing.

Jetta missing yes, Wonaemaerri has done okay, had a bit of an impact. If the Fat bugger could hold his marks, he would have had a big impact early.

Blind Blink
2 Aug 2008, 15:59
Monfries got 3. 10 points the difference.

EDIT: Apparently Lloyd just got the mark of the year. He's got 6 goals now.

essendon2008
2 Aug 2008, 16:04
Anyone know if there is likely to be a torrent of todays match? If yes what site? I just heard Lloyd's mark sounded pretty special :thumbsu:
Thanks guys

Dr Moose
Matty - what a grab!
6 goals so far

KaaN10
Need a video of that Lloyd mark!

gdaytiger2001
2 Aug 2008, 16:24
McPhee needs to learn to keep his feet.
He keeps his feet he wins the footy nine times out of ten.
He doesn't keep his feet the ball gets turned over.
This hurts us the most because he is our hit up forward.
He is my favourite player but gee he frustrates me at times.

Blind Blink
2 Aug 2008, 16:30
Reimers corked hammy.

EDIT: Lloyd kicked his 7th!

gdaytiger2001
2 Aug 2008, 16:40
Lovett-Murray, LLyod & Aitkinson are having blinders!

Blind Blink
2 Aug 2008, 16:41
Lloyd kicked his 8th!!! WOOT.

Big Blow Hard
2 Aug 2008, 16:53
McPhee needs to learn to keep his feet.
He keeps his feet he wins the footy nine times out of ten.
He doesn't keep his feet the ball gets turned over.
This hurts us the most because he is our hit up forward.
He is my favourite player but gee he frustrates me at times.

Your joking, McPhee was instrumental in keeping us in front all day. the only reason he is not keeping his feet is beause the kicks are sent in low for him most of the time. That he can mark alot of them speaks volumes for his ability. McPhees low marking is probably the best in the league.

Wahooti Fandango
2 Aug 2008, 16:56
We played badly today, but still managed to win, which is a good sign. Many players played poorly today.

Big Blow Hard
2 Aug 2008, 16:58
Agree. So many players were down today. Leroy had a shocker, but it was probably due, he has been great. He was not alone though. Credit to Melbourne also, Their ruckman being on to all day was the critical reason for their great game. Hille and Laycock were soundly beaten IMO. We were being killed from the centre.

gdaytiger2001
2 Aug 2008, 17:20
Your joking, McPhee was instrumental in keeping us in front all day. the only reason he is not keeping his feet is beause the kicks are sent in low for him most of the time. That he can mark alot of them speaks volumes for his ability. McPhees low marking is probably the best in the league.

After that statement i am not even going to bother with a reply.

stants_24
2 Aug 2008, 17:49
Anyone know if there is likely to be a torrent of todays match? If yes what site? I just heard Lloyd's mark sounded pretty special :thumbsu:
Thanks guys

http://www.fr333dom.com

EVERLAST
2 Aug 2008, 18:06
All I have to say is - Old heads prevailed today - ordinary day by our kids collectively.

marcuz
2 Aug 2008, 18:14
Lloyd is a star, has turned back the clock these last 8 weeks.

Morton will be one soon once he finds an AFL body.

Unfortunately the rest of the day was made up of shit weather, shit crowd, shit atmosphere, shit skills, shit game.

The Dustbin
2 Aug 2008, 18:21

Unfortunately the rest of the day was made up of shit weather, shit crowd, shit atmosphere, shit skills, shit game.

Pretty uninspiring game, thank goodness for Lloyd. :thumbsu:
I felt flat going to the game, during the game and even after the game.

Peverill continues his good form, NLM, Monfries, Nash, Lonergan and McPhee were excellent.

Great win with Jobe, Stants, Hille, Welsh and Jetta having quiet games. :thumbsu:

Windas_Magic
2 Aug 2008, 18:21

Yep, was a pretty dull and boring atmosphere. Wasn't impressed with how we played but at the end of the day, we came home with 4 points

hugorune
2 Aug 2008, 18:29
Yep, was a pretty dull and boring atmosphere. Wasn't impressed with how we played but at the end of the day, we came home with 4 points

Yeah we were down from how we've played the last few weeks, but got over the line. If we had been up against a better side it might have been different.

marcuz
2 Aug 2008, 18:33
Yeah we were down from how we've played the last few weeks, but got over the line. If we had been up against a better side it might have been different.

It may give knighter the chance to get stuck into them with another danger game this week. If we turn up to subi with that kind of defensive effort this week then we will cop the same punishment the saints copped last week.

Hopefully this was just a flat spot in what has been a very good last two months.

The Great Barry Besanko
2 Aug 2008, 20:39
Pev has earnt another 1 year deal. Just puts his body on the line, doesn't stop, great effort.

Lloyd's leap reminded of his first couple of seasons when he was lighter and had a pretty good spring.

McPhee cops a lot, but I reckon he's presented well up forward this season. Decent 1st half.

Moving Ryder to CHF in the 3rd was not a good a move. Cost us at the back, he was excellent at CHB in the 1st half.

Some of Lovett's touches were crucial. This bloke is too talented to let go.

Overall rapt to get the 4 points.

Windas_Magic
2 Aug 2008, 21:03
Pev has earnt another 1 year deal. Just puts his body on the line, doesn't stop, great effort.

Lloyd's leap reminded of his first couple of seasons when he was lighter and had a pretty good spring.

McPhee cops a lot, but I reckon he's presented well up forward this season. Decent 1st half.

Moving Ryder to CHF in the 3rd was not a good a move. Cost us at the back, he was excellent at CHB in the 1st half.

Some of Lovett's touches were crucial. This bloke is too talented to let go.

Overall rapt to get the 4 points.
Peverill has been pretty good but there's no point really having him on the list next year, only getting a run because of unfortunate injuries.

Big Blow Hard
2 Aug 2008, 22:59
[/b]

After that statement i am not even going to bother with a reply.

Why not? Tell me another player who consistantly marks the ball as regularly at ground level, be it lunging or diving forward on the lead.

gdaytiger2001
3 Aug 2008, 00:37
Why not? Tell me another player who consistantly marks the ball as regularly at ground level, be it lunging or diving forward on the lead.
To be honest i would prefer McPhee not to take more marks than anyone else in the league as you say "be it lunging or diving forward on the lead"
Each and every time he does these things he leaves his feet in the contest. (Which was my original point if i am not mistaken)

At no stage did i say that Mcphee did not play a good game today, i would be actually very suprised if he didn't figure in Essendons best.
But if you go back and watch today's game you will see that McPhee is a much more effective player for us when keeps his feet in the contest.

Especially being our hit up forward beacuse not going to ground means he can play on quickly or give a second effort if the defender spoils the ball.(All of which things when he did resulted in goals for us today)

But when he does Lunge or dive forward on the lead he is effectively out of the contest if the ball hits the ground and can't apply pressure to the rebounding half backs.

Good sides are going to really hurt us on the rebound if he is out of the contest or by slow play of the ball by going to ground in the marking contests especially in the position that he is playing.

gdaytiger2001
3 Aug 2008, 11:56
To be honest i would prefer McPhee not to take more marks than anyone else in the league as you say "be it lunging or diving forward on the lead"
Each and every time he does these things he leaves his feet in the contest. (Which was my original point if i am not mistaken)

At no stage did i say that Mcphee did not play a good game today, i would be actually very suprised if he didn't figure in Essendons best.
But if you go back and watch today's game you will see that McPhee is a much more effective player for us when keeps his feet in the contest.

Especially being our hit up forward beacuse not going to ground means he can play on quickly or give a second effort if the defender spoils the ball.(All of which things when he did resulted in goals for us today)

But when he does Lunge or dive forward on the lead he is effectively out of the contest if the ball hits the ground and can't apply pressure to the rebounding half backs.

Good sides are going to really hurt us on the rebound if he is out of the contest or by slow play of the ball by going to ground in the marking contests especially in the position that he is playing.

Just to add to these thoughts after listening to the Matthew Knights press confrence.
Knights actually said that Matty LLyod form turn around can be partially attributed to Matty now keeping is feet in the contest.
If he belives that keeping his feet in the contest (which doesn't just include around the ground but marking as well) has been an influencing factor in the recent form of Matty.
Do you honestly believe that he does not not share the same thoughts about McPhee when he looses his feet in the marking contest?

HFF_07
3 Aug 2008, 12:11
Most pleasing thing was the continuing development of Monfries as that hit up third/fourth forward, is really starting to repay the faith that essendon put into him, has finally found a position in the AFL, Jay Nash is starting to use the footy we know he can, 87% for his 23 touches sureal, Lovett has shown why we cannot let him go, I was all for letting him go, but is too valuable to let go, got us going in the 2nd or third quater when it was tight, every team needs them, every team has them, Paddy Ryder is our CHB, he cannot play forward, seemed lost at times, NLM, will become a star if not already an underated one. And as for the old timers in Peverill, Lloyd and Fletcher, awesome they were, absoultely awesome, IMO, that if we go into next year without Pev, it will be shattering, he is past 30 and as Crawf and Lucas are doing, over him a one year deal so he can keep going, one bad year then let him go, seemed depressed and distraight when the triple M team interviewed him after the game, seemed sad his AFL career is almost over, as he said, 'just have to go out their, and have fun with the boys'. And Lloyd, never forget that one day in 1999 when we (Lloyd) tore Sydney to shreads, was reminiscent of that game, everything went right,