View Full Version : AFL Mackay
Pages :
[
7]
John Bonney
25 Oct 2011, 18:42
Nammer pretty much coached the 2nd part of the season.
Nammer would be good in some capacity but Bakers really need a coach than can create a new imagine & atract a whole new breed of players, tuff job one feels.
I imagine you are referring to a coach who can bring a new ''image'' to the club rather than rewrite the great John Lennon Classic. :D
A prerequisite maybe keeping his clothes on and restricting the Baker's Boys from baring there bums to opposition coaches. :o
shezza74
25 Oct 2011, 18:53
Any coaching positions vacant in the Mackay AFL????
roaring tiger
25 Oct 2011, 19:37
Hawks and adergrove only 1's confirmed that i know of at this stage which leaves moranbah, Swans, Sea Eagles, Saints and maybe bakers creek.
John Bonney
26 Oct 2011, 23:08
Housing is expensive and hard to get ,make sure you factor this into your negotiations...:D
Stephen Shavedham
27 Oct 2011, 15:41
Gee you sure are asking about alot about coaching positions:confused::confused:????
Why is this so?
John Bonney
27 Oct 2011, 19:57
Gee you sure are asking about alot about coaching positions:confused::confused:????
Why is this so?
Maybe you should gobble this guy up for the Tigers little Stephen..;)
Stephen Shavedham
27 Oct 2011, 20:45
Maybe you should gobble this guy up for the Tigers little Stephen..;)
Maybe you should just gobble him...;):heart:.
John Bonney
27 Oct 2011, 23:04
Maybe you should just gobble him...;):heart:.
Oh so droll Stephen.. :(:thumbsd:
PINNACLE HEALTH
28 Oct 2011, 13:35
Oh so droll Stephen.. :(:thumbsd:
He is a Bakers boy dont 4get!
Flintstone
28 Oct 2011, 15:26
Can anyone tell me which MAFL club recently got a new coach from Tassie?
Stephen Shavedham
28 Oct 2011, 22:41
JB is just being a sook.
Can anyone tell me which MAFL club recently got a new coach from Tassie?
You keen to see what club the guy who knocked Cutters back is going to?? I'm with you on this one Flintstone, he's probably in Tassie still:).
Four vacant jobs here, so surely he'd be putting in for one of them.
Flintstone
28 Oct 2011, 23:27
JB is just being a sook.
You keen to see what club the guy who knocked Cutters back is going to?? I'm with you on this one Flintstone, he's probably in Tassie still:).
Four vacant jobs here, so surely he'd be putting in for one of them.
Being a former Mackay boy of course I'm curious.:cool:
John Bonney
29 Oct 2011, 10:34
Being a former Mackay boy of course I'm curious.:cool:
I also am curious..let's get some more information flowing through here. :thumbsu::footy:
A. N. Onymous
3 Nov 2011, 12:39
Has anyone around Mackay put any thought into an AFL 9's competition? (http://www.afl.com.au/More/PlayAFL/AFL9s/HowtoPlayAFL9s/tabid/18273/Default.aspx)
Looks like it could be a lot of fun. I only ask because I am too fat and old to play the full game :P
Stephen Shavedham
3 Nov 2011, 16:47
Has anyone around Mackay put any thought into an AFL 9's competition? (http://www.afl.com.au/More/PlayAFL/AFL9s/HowtoPlayAFL9s/tabid/18273/Default.aspx)
Looks like it could be a lot of fun. I only ask because I am too fat and old to play the full game :P
PH, you'd be wanting a piece of this action, yer??? I saw you running the other nite, PH?? Why didn't you drop in and buy a paper.......tight arse:mad::mad::mad:?? Give you last months Take5 and New Idea for half price:heart::heart:??
Stephen Shavedham
13 Nov 2011, 18:46
Peter Graham the new President!! Hhmmm not the most popular choice, but, I guess he did throw his hat into the ring. In saying that, It would've been nice to have some 'new' blood step into the position. We're in a choc bit of bother at the minute!!
PINNACLE HEALTH
16 Nov 2011, 13:06
Peter Graham the new President!! Hhmmm not the most popular choice, but, I guess he did throw his hat into the ring. In saying that, It would've been nice to have some 'new' blood step into the position. We're in a choc bit of bother at the minute!!
l see you have made some new friends on the Cairns thread since you've been in Cairns!!!
Some huge news to be realesed from the Roos den, cant say until confirmed but will share the news b4 xmas hopefully, will benefit the league 10 fold.
Exciting times ahead for the Roos!
roaring tiger
17 Nov 2011, 18:57
l see you have made some new friends on the Cairns thread since you've been in Cairns!!!
Some huge news to be realesed from the Roos den, cant say until confirmed but will share the news b4 xmas hopefully, will benefit the league 10 fold.
You've signed Brendan Fevola!!
Stephen Shavedham
20 Nov 2011, 20:21
The Cairns lads are loving my rhymes, PH:cool:.
Give us the scoop inregards to your 'huge news':footy:??? PH, your 'Hot young studs' magazine has come in:).
Also, 'Roos Den':confused:? Don't wanna be fussy, but, wouldn't It be 'Roos Pouch'?
John Bonney
21 Nov 2011, 18:39
The Cairns lads are loving my rhymes, PH:cool:.
Give us the scoop inregards to your 'huge news':footy:??? PH, your 'Hot young studs' magazine has come in:).
Also, 'Roos Den':confused:? Don't wanna be fussy, but, wouldn't It be 'Roos Pouch'?
Some interesting info. there Stephen,was not aware you were a poet. :thumbsu:Interesting taste in magazines there and Roo's Roost may end up more applicable. :cool:
Stephen Shavedham
21 Nov 2011, 20:56
Some interesting info. there Stephen,was not aware you were a poet. :thumbsu:Interesting taste in magazines there and Roo's Roost may end up more applicable. :cool:
JB, some people think my rhymes are fly, but, I think my rhymes are super fly:).
PH loves those types of books, not for me, but, if he keeps buying I'll keep selling.............you feeling me, JB:thumbsu:.
PH, give us the scoop or JB will come at you from angles you've never imagined possible:mad::mad::mad:............full blown round house kicks and shit:eek:.
John Bonney
21 Nov 2011, 21:12
Where is your Newsagency Stephen?i can send some more business your way but perhaps a different lientele.
For example i could personally come in for my regular dose of Rolling Stone,Vogue and The Australian Womens Weekly for the recipes.
Stephen Shavedham
22 Nov 2011, 14:57
Where is your Newsagency Stephen?i can send some more business your way but perhaps a different lientele.
For example i could personally come in for my regular dose of Rolling Stone,Vogue and The Australian Womens Weekly for the recipes.
JB, stop It, we all know you're a Take 5 type of guy:cool:.
John Bonney
22 Nov 2011, 18:45
JB, stop It, we all know you're a Take 5 type of guy:cool:.
Ahh..the crosswords,puzzles and those wonderful heartwarming stories from all the freaks!Top stuff.
Speaking of that ,how are things building down the creek?
Stephen Shavedham
24 Nov 2011, 00:15
Speaking of that ,how are things building down the creek?
Can't say things are going along swimmingly:o.
PINNACLE HEALTH
24 Nov 2011, 13:28
You've signed Brendan Fevola!!
Fev's manager did phone me but l told him we are not interested in Fev's services, the fact to the matter is there wouldn't be room for Fev & the Roo's coach in the same goalsquare!
Stephen Shavedham
25 Nov 2011, 18:33
PH, a bloke that knows a bloke that has a sister, was told by her best friends aunties step son, who inturn told me, that you blokes (Andergrove) are possibly joining forces with another sporting club and will become the most viable football club in AFL Mackay????
Is that your news? Change of colours on the horizon?
roaring tiger
27 Nov 2011, 20:43
I see the eastern swans have appointed Brad Mclaren as coach for season 2012. North mackay still looking apparently.
PINNACLE HEALTH
29 Nov 2011, 12:16
PH, a bloke that knows a bloke that has a sister, was told by her best friends aunties step son, who inturn told me, that you blokes (Andergrove) are possibly joining forces with another sporting club and will become the most viable football club in AFL Mackay????
Is that your news? Change of colours on the horizon?
Actually Hammy your on the money, Andergrove Footy Club were approached by & well known Sporting Club with the intention of developing an AFL ground at their exsiting facility on the condition Andergrove change their name & colours.
I can confirm that both organisations have come to an agreement & there will soon be a big media realese revealling all.
The new ground & changerooms will be developed & ready for day/night games by 2013, in the mean time Andergrove will play all its home games next season at Harrup Park.
Exciting times ahead for all involved!!
Stephen Shavedham
30 Nov 2011, 10:58
Big coup, PH, huge.
Now to let your sexuality out of the bag????
PINNACLE HEALTH
1 Dec 2011, 09:50
Big coup, PH, huge.
Now to let your sexuality out of the bag????
Im not gay but the bloke l sleep with is!
Bakers got a coach yet?
roaring tiger
1 Dec 2011, 16:09
Actually Hammy your on the money, Andergrove Footy Club were approached by & well known Sporting Club with the intention of developing an AFL ground at their exsiting facility on the condition Andergrove change their name & colours.
I can confirm that both organisations have come to an agreement & there will soon be a big media realese revealling all.
The new ground & changerooms will be developed & ready for day/night games by 2013, in the mean time Andergrove will play all its home games next season at Harrup Park.
Exciting times ahead for all involved!!
Changing name to Northern Magpies and playing at the magpies sporting club is what i hear PH. Whats wrong with your bucasia ground from this year played about 1 home game out there??
Im not gay but the bloke l sleep with is!
Bakers got a coach yet?
Ahhhh That's the term we used back in the Navy days & still did at our 40th reunion recently , all the WAG's roared with chuckles
Burning Desire
1 Dec 2011, 22:10
Looking forward to our first training session at Magpies Sporting Club this Sunday 4.30, a few new recruits are tipped to turn up, hopefully it's an easy one first up!
A great time time to get onboard & join the Greater Northern Beaches Magpies!
Go Pies!
PINNACLE HEALTH
5 Dec 2011, 09:29
Good 1st session yesterday in the rain for the Magpies!
6 of them where newbies.
About 22 turned up which is good this time of year & considering the weather the mood & vibe was pleasing.
Burning Desire
8 Dec 2011, 20:04
Saints still coachless & two off their better players, TIm Jenkins & Brodie Drwyer, may be moving interstate. If so they are big losses to cover.
Go Pies!!
John Bonney
8 Dec 2011, 21:20
Saints still coachless & two off their better players, TIm Jenkins & Brodie Drwyer, may be moving interstate. If so they are big losses to cover.
Go Pies!!
If they were to lose those two top quality players there depth would be sorely tested.
Anyone seen StevieShavedham?? :eek:
it would be good to see tim jenkins test himself in a quality football league,not one where you only play 1 decent game of football against a quality side once every round. the only decent games were hawks vs saints
Burning Desire
15 Dec 2011, 22:11
it would be good to see tim jenkins test himself in a quality football league,not one where you only play 1 decent game of football against a quality side once every round. the only decent games were hawks vs saints
You soon forget the night Saints went down against the Roos in a night game.
Pretty sure Tim would rather be a big fish in a small pond rather than have a crack at decent standard and risk being just an average player in the team plus i don't think he would handle discipline too well.
I heard Saints have picked up a 6'5 ruck man from Brizy.
mate i watched a night game where the roos played the swans at harrup park on a friday night. the standard of footy that night was the worst i had seen anywhere. i actually thought i might have been early and watching the reserves game but apparently it was the senior game.. would be interesting to see where this 6ft 5 ruckman comes from, as the last ruckman that size ,played in some premierships for nth mackay then couldn't crack it for a senior game at state league level, actually i thought struggled to keep up in the state leaugue reserves comp.
roaring tiger
16 Dec 2011, 19:04
Things shaping up well at the hawks for 2012. Kept most of the P'Ship team and with the help of a couple of good recruits things look positive for season 2012.
Have also heard the rumour that junko was off to brissy and saints had also lost another 2 or 3 of there key players from this season. Have they got a coach yet??
Has anyone heard if bakers are going to get a team yet?
Thought AFL Mackay had added another senior club, but it was the roos becoming the magpies after 1 season.
hi roaring tiger, any thruth to the rumour that there is a certain club has an outstanding debt to the league and other clubs would like to see it paid in full before re-admittance to the competition
Burning Desire
17 Dec 2011, 20:51
Things shaping up well at the hawks for 2012. Kept most of the P'Ship team and with the help of a couple of good recruits things look positive for season 2012.
Have also heard the rumour that junko was off to brissy and saints had also lost another 2 or 3 of there key players from this season. Have they got a coach yet??
Has anyone heard if bakers are going to get a team yet?
Saints still coachless but they shouldn't find it hard to get one soon, theybrvtalking to a few candidates.
Apparently Bakers have informed the league that they will have a Senior & Reserves side in season 2012!
Which I find very hard to believe considering they will struggle big time to get a SEnior team.
Burning Desire
17 Dec 2011, 20:55
Thought AFL Mackay had added another senior club, but it was the roos becoming the magpies after 1 season.
Yeah too good of an offer to refuse, Magpies are developing us a ground the size of the MCG which will rival if not better Harrup Park on the condition we change our name and colors to the Magpie, already have recruits wanting to play for us cos they follow collingwood and we are the Magpies!
PINNACLE HEALTH
20 Dec 2011, 15:09
You appear to be a City Hawks supporter, l hear young Pud is off to play out at Moranbah next season, apparently his Girlfriend has landed a job there & he is following?
hi PH, word is that he is extremely happy with his lot in life at the moment and moranbah would be on his radar. good to hear about that a aussies rules club can pick up support from magpies sporting club. i think any publicity in mackay for AFL is good for the game. i have heard young matty sondergeld and tyler jones may be back in mackay - any word on them
Whats the clubs like around this league like and the standard of footy?? Looking at moving up
the standard isn't bad, i would say tough hard footy, if your from melbourne then I would suggest probably be reserves standard in most suburban leagues. The strongest club at the moment would be the mackay city hawks (some would disagree) ,good mix of famlies and young fellas getting out ond having a bit of fun post game.The club plays and trains at Harrup park-fantastic surface - A cricket ryobi cup game was played there earlier in the year.If you google mackay city hawks you will be able get contact numbers to call from the hawks website
roaring tiger
5 Jan 2012, 09:49
http://www.dailymercury.com.au/story/2012/01/05/kangaroos-come-in-under-magpie-wings/
Article in today's local paper.
Burning Desire
5 Jan 2012, 10:31
http://www.dailymercury.com.au/story/2012/01/05/kangaroos-come-in-under-magpie-wings/
Article in today's local paper.
Yes it's all happening, official launch & media release is this Sunday followed by a training session.
A ground will be developed with the same dimensions as the MCG with the aim to attract & host a pre-season AFL game between Collingwood & maybe Gold Coast Suns.
The ground will be ready to play on by the start of season 2013 with full change rooms & lights to facilitate night games.
In the meantime the Northern Magpies will play its home games at Harrup Park.
It's a great time to get onboard the Magpies train with exciting times ahead.
A talented young group destined for success!
Go Pies!
it will take a while to get use to seeing collingwood colours out on the paddock but any publicity and funding for AFL football in mackay is good for the game. should be a very interesting season
oldschoolfooty
15 Jan 2012, 15:07
so preseason is underway, whats it looking like around the clubs? everyone getting good numbers down to training?
Burning Desire
15 Jan 2012, 20:55
so preseason is underway, whats it looking like around the clubs? everyone getting good numbers down to training?
Magpies numbers so far have been pretty solid for this time of year, we had to find an indoor venue today due to the rain which looks like its staying around for a while.
Which team are you associated with?
oldschoolfooty
16 Jan 2012, 19:03
looking at Moranbah at the moment.
the rain does look to be staying around for a while. lets hope not too long.
roaring tiger
20 Jan 2012, 18:21
Preseason going well at the hawks getting good numbers with some very handy recruits on board already.
Heard a rumor former saints forward coley coaching bakers. Will be interesting to see if the league let them back in.
Also heard the saints are struggling at present to find a coach.
oldschoolfooty
20 Jan 2012, 18:25
Preseason going well at the hawks getting good numbers with some very handy recruits on board already.
Heard a rumor former saints forward coley coaching bakers. Will be interesting to see if the league let them back in.
Also heard the saints are struggling at present to find a coach.
whats the go there did bakers have a bit of a hiccup last year and get booted from the league? also you would be expecting good numbers at the hawks in pre season wouldn't you? you guys won the flag didn't you?
Burning Desire
21 Jan 2012, 20:58
There's no doubt Hawks will be very hard to beat again this season , have heard Hawks have landed a 6'5 Ruckman from Brizy.
Big Xavier Smith is back training at Bakers which is good for them.
Saints must be abit concerned they are still coachless & presidentless considering its almost February.
John Bonney
31 Jan 2012, 18:59
Mackay City Hawks really raised the bar last year in their Premiership season.
The expectancy this year may be greater with all the other sides being aware what they will nedd to compete.
Their fitness level was far beyond that of the rest of the sides.
I spoke with one of their leadin players today and he said that they had been putting an enormous pre-season with the onus on various forms of cross-training.
He added that the footballs hadn't really come out yet and the expectancy level was very high. :cool::thumbsu:
Burning Desire
31 Jan 2012, 22:13
Mackay City Hawks really raised the bar last year in their Premiership season.
The expectancy this year may be greater with all the other sides being aware what they will nedd to compete.
Their fitness level was far beyond that of the rest of the sides.
I spoke with one of their leadin players today and he said that they had been putting an enormous pre-season with the onus on various forms of cross-training.
He added that the footballs hadn't really come out yet and the expectancy level was very high. :cool::thumbsu:
From what l hear Hawks training numbers have been no more than any other club.
Apparently they have lost a few quality players but are sprouting about already securing 11 recruits including two bigman.
Might as well hand'm the cup now!
Have also heard Saints have lost a dozen players & still coachless , maybe Saints can merge with Bakers!
Numbers have been consistent at Magpie land with a few newbies turning up plus few past players from previous seasons returning to the game, one a former league medalist.
Sweet Undies
2 Feb 2012, 13:44
What's been happenning, PH??? Tell me tell me tell me tell me!!
John Bonney
2 Feb 2012, 19:17
From what l hear Hawks training numbers have been no more than any other club.
Apparently they have lost a few quality players but are sprouting about already securing 11 recruits including two bigman.
Might as well hand'm the cup now!
Have also heard Saints have lost a dozen players & still coachless , maybe Saints can merge with Bakers!
Numbers have been consistent at Magpie land with a few newbies turning up plus few past players from previous seasons returning to the game, one a former league medalist.
Pftttt!!Ben ''Nuttsy''Hazell is twice the footballer he was...Sizewise anyway...:D
roaring tiger
2 Feb 2012, 20:38
There's no doubt Hawks will be very hard to beat again this season , have heard Hawks have landed a 6'5 Ruckman from Brizy.
Big Xavier Smith is back training at Bakers which is good for them.
Saints must be abit concerned they are still coachless & presidentless considering its almost February.
I heard Big X is/has been training with the swans.
John Bonney
2 Feb 2012, 20:52
That will be good news for Terry Bailey as he will have someone to join Jenny Craig with. :cool:
Burning Desire
2 Feb 2012, 21:32
Pftttt!!Ben ''Nuttsy''Hazell is twice the footballer he was...Sizewise anyway...:D
A few years out of footy will do that to you but if he keeps training 3 nights a week like he has been he will be fit by rnd1 and be a very handy acquisition.
Burning Desire
2 Feb 2012, 21:37
Big X was definitely at Swans training Wednesday night and has also trained at bakers this month.
It will be hard for Bakers to get a Senior team this when their former coach is now coaching the Swans is possibly trying to get a few of his former players across to Swans , l doubt very much Bakers will get a team and if so they still have to pay their league debt.
Paul Cole was appointed coach but something happen and he isn't doing it now so they are out looking again.
With rnd1 starting at the end of April you would think Bakers, and Saints for that matter, would want to appoint a coach sooner rather than later.
Sweet Undies
2 Feb 2012, 22:50
So are Saints even close to appointing a coach and why are they taking so long?? Saints as a rule are usually stable in the coaching department.
JB, care to comment young fella?
PINNACLE HEALTH
3 Feb 2012, 11:51
What's been happenning, PH??? Tell me tell me tell me tell me!!
Been busy at work & recruiting for the newly formed Magpies!
Its like Burning Desire is keeping every one informed on here on whats going on any way, just hope he doesn't give too much away, especially the Guns ive got coming!
PINNACLE HEALTH
3 Feb 2012, 11:55
So are Saints even close to appointing a coach and why are they taking so long?? Saints as a rule are usually stable in the coaching department.
JB, care to comment young fella?
yeah im surprised Saints are still coachless, you would of thought they have alot of appeal for a potential coach.
They lost some quality players but still have time to replace some of them.
Sweet Undies
3 Feb 2012, 12:44
Been busy at work & recruiting for the newly formed Magpies!
Its like Burning Desire is keeping every one informed on here on whats going on any way, just hope he doesn't give too much away, especially the Guns ive got coming!
Burning Desire's posting is an embarrassment to society:o
Sweet Undies
3 Feb 2012, 21:50
I'm hearing Bakers Creek 2012 Premiers.
Sweet Undies
6 Feb 2012, 19:18
Paul Cole was appointed coach but something happen and he isn't doing it now so they are out looking again.
With rnd1 starting at the end of April you would think Bakers, and Saints for that matter, would want to appoint a coach sooner rather than later.
Coley can play don't get me wrong. Probably shouldn't have sought him as coach in the first place given his living arrangments. The link to the club isn't the best circumstances either.
Good luck to Coley and may his ego grow like a crop of Indian
hemp:)
*why doesn't he coach Saints?
Sweet Undies
6 Feb 2012, 20:31
PH, I had a look at you blokes run around tonite and noticed an absentee......YOU!! What gives there???
roaring tiger
6 Feb 2012, 20:33
1st round 21st April with preseason carnival 31st march from what I hear. Will there be a reserve comp this year? Maybe a 4 team comp.
Burning Desire
7 Feb 2012, 22:28
PH, I had a look at you blokes run around tonite and noticed an absentee......YOU!! What gives there???
Dave was at the hospital for the birth of his 4th child, a big boy apparently!
Burning Desire
7 Feb 2012, 22:31
1st round 21st April with preseason carnival 31st march from what I hear. Will there be a reserve comp this year? Maybe a 4 team comp.
From what I understand Hawks, Saints , Swans, Eagles and Magpies will have reserves side.
I'm no accountant but that adds to a 5 team comp.
roaring tiger
8 Feb 2012, 12:19
From what I understand Hawks, Saints , Swans, Eagles and Magpies will have reserves side.
I'm no accountant but that adds to a 5 team comp.
I doubt all those clubs will get a reserve side unless it is 14-16 a side. Swans struggled last year for numbers, Eagles pulled the pin half way through and you guys didn't even have a reserve side.
Sweet Undies
8 Feb 2012, 12:27
LOL at Burning Desire's deluded state.
Burning Desire
8 Feb 2012, 22:24
I doubt all those clubs will get a reserve side unless it is 14-16 a side. Swans struggled last year for numbers, Eagles pulled the pin half way through and you guys didn't even have a reserve side.
Reserves is only 16 a team this season.
Eagles had 31 on the track the other night at this early stage.
Bakers won't get Senior team so a few will go to Swans which will bolster their numbers.
Magpies have had over 40 players already train on different days so we will definitely have a reserves side & pretty good one too I may add.
With still a few months to go til rnd1 you will find a lot of people will relocate to Mackay soon & amongst them will be footballers which will increase every clubs numbers.
Sweet Undies
11 Feb 2012, 06:47
Was told by someone in the shop why I didn't see you at training, PH.
Congrats (smile face).
John Bonney
12 Feb 2012, 19:04
Reserves is only 16 a team this season.
Eagles had 31 on the track the other night at this early stage.
Bakers won't get Senior team so a few will go to Swans which will bolster their numbers.
Magpies have had over 40 players already train on different days so we will definitely have a reserves side & pretty good one too I may add.
With still a few months to go til rnd1 you will find a lot of people will relocate to Mackay soon & amongst them will be footballers which will increase every clubs numbers.
With all of the vagaries including injuries and player availability through work rosters a club really needs between 60-70 registered players to ensure they can come up with 2 full teams each week.
This to avoid the dreadful scenario where players double up or playe short and cop a drubbing each week.
This is fact based from my own grim experiences. :confused:
PINNACLE HEALTH
13 Feb 2012, 13:29
With all of the vagaries including injuries and player availability through work rosters a club really needs between 60-70 registered players to ensure they can come up with 2 full teams each week.
This to avoid the dreadful scenario where players double up or playe short and cop a drubbing each week.
This is fact based from my own grim experiences. :confused:
u need about 200 players registered in Mackay to allow for work rosters, injuries, players that go walkabout, loose interest etc...!
So far Magpies have 60 on the list, & 42 of them have trained on different days, which is good for this time of year.
John Bonney
13 Feb 2012, 13:58
u need about 200 players registered in Mackay to allow for work rosters, injuries, players that go walkabout, loose interest etc...!
So far Magpies have 60 on the list, & 42 of them have trained on different days, which is good for this time of year.
Your numbers are looking really good PH...lets hope ALL other clubs are travelling ok and we can have a hotly contested season for a change.
Not sure whether the later start this season will help or hinder the cause!
Sweet Undies
15 Feb 2012, 06:37
Your numbers are looking really good PH...lets hope ALL other clubs are travelling ok and we can have a hotly contested season for a change.
Not sure whether the later start this season will help or hinder the cause!
JB, our numbers aren't so flash at the moment:thumbsd:. But we will battle along as best we can:(
PINNACLE HEALTH
20 Feb 2012, 11:30
JB, our numbers aren't so flash at the moment:thumbsd:. But we will battle along as best we can:(
Hey Sweet Undies , if your Gay , dont reply to this.
PINNACLE HEALTH
20 Feb 2012, 11:34
Word on the street is Saints have splashed some cash for an assistant coach from Tazy but still coachless.
Speedyunit
20 Feb 2012, 12:00
Word on the street is Saints have splashed some cash for an assistant coach from Tazy but still coachless.
is austin lucy heading up there/
Burning Desire
20 Feb 2012, 21:32
Apparently he starts a job up here the end of March, our couch has spoke to him but he's not sure if he will be available to play due to his job, y u ask?
John Bonney
20 Feb 2012, 22:44
What the hell is an ''austin lucy''?
Is it like an Austin A30 or more like a Morris Minor..??
Speedyunit
21 Feb 2012, 06:52
What the hell is an ''austin lucy''?
Is it like an Austin A30 or more like a Morris Minor..??
probably the best player to ever play in your league if he does..... not a morris minor think more of a rolls royce:D
John Bonney
21 Feb 2012, 07:23
probably the best player to ever play in your league if he does..... not a morris minor think more of a rolls royce:D
I would very much doubt if he would be anywhere near the best player to play in this league and that is a very weird assumption to make about some unknown who has never pulled on a jumper.
Speedyunit
21 Feb 2012, 08:12
I would very much doubt if he would be anywhere near the best player to play in this league and that is a very weird assumption to make about some unknown who has never pulled on a jumper.
who is the best player to play up there?
Is Mark Mooney ready to hand over the rains as the best to play in the comp? But in all seriousness, Lucy would certainly challenge!
Speedyunit
21 Feb 2012, 13:05
Is Mark Mooney ready to hand over the rains as the best to play in the comp? But in all seriousness, Lucy would certainly challenge!
Moons was pretty good same with Price, but Lucy - listed Essendon, capt Zillmere Eagles,B&F Zillmere - QLD Under 18s, QLD senior rep - 2 x Senior QAFL premierships (not sure if he won a B&F at Panthers) plus i am sure there is more.... would be a great aquisition to the league.
chikka ferguson
21 Feb 2012, 16:35
Moons was pretty good same with Price, but Lucy - listed Essendon, capt Zillmere Eagles,B&F Zillmere - QLD Under 18s, QLD senior rep - 2 x Senior QAFL premierships (not sure if he won a B&F at Panthers) plus i am sure there is more.... would be a great aquisition to the league.
Pretty sure didn't win Zillmere B&F.Was unstoppable though on return from Essendon,kicking 8 last qtr against Redlands with a cracked jaw.Very hard to match up on last 3 years at Morningside.
roaring tiger
21 Feb 2012, 20:30
The best player i have seen up here over the last few years was Jon Price 3 League medals in 3 years a couple of premierships queensland country rep.
Interesting to see who this Lucy signs with. Perhaps the club offering the most money.
Also see on the afl mackay website Bakers creek have a new coach.
John Bonney
21 Feb 2012, 20:54
I agree with the poster above that John Price is probarbly the stand out player in the past decade with 2 of the better players still going around being Craig Dowdell,who has played with great verstility as a wingman and a leading 100 goal season full forward and Swans evergreen utility Ivan Walker.
Impossible to compare players from different eras and body sizes but i will put forward a few.
I must add most of the earlier players named are by reputation and achievment rather than my eyewitness accounts. :cool:
from 1970's......Merve Stevens[BC] 1971 League B&F ,also leading goalkicker 6 times including 3 100+ seasons.
1980's...Anthony Baker[BC]..brilliant full forward..kicked 100's of goals in Premiership teams including 216 in 1989.
Also mentions to Peter Filler[EM] ,Gary Lewis[BC] Dual MJMiller medalist and Neville and Graham Allan from Hawks.
1990's...Andrew Prause [BC],Peter Sharp[MC]-the best mark seen in the League,and Whitsunday guns;Wayne Aspland,Jeff Mackey and Nigel McCarthy.
The silkiest skilled player i have seen personally was creekers Bruce Gillingham and the toughest was red-headed assasin Wayne ''Shaker''Stevens from Bloods 1993-1996 Premier teams.
This is an impossible task but just some ''food for thought''.
:D
Speedyunit
22 Feb 2012, 07:55
I agree with the poster above that John Price is probarbly the stand out player in the past decade with 2 of the better players still going around being Craig Dowdell,who has played with great verstility as a wingman and a leading 100 goal season full forward and Swans evergreen utility Ivan Walker.
Impossible to compare players from different eras and body sizes but i will put forward a few.
I must add most of the earlier players named are by reputation and achievment rather than my eyewitness accounts. :cool:
from 1970's......Merve Stevens[BC] 1971 League B&F ,also leading goalkicker 6 times including 3 100+ seasons.
1980's...Anthony Baker[BC]..brilliant full forward..kicked 100's of goals in Premiership teams including 216 in 1989.
Also mentions to Peter Filler[EM] ,Gary Lewis[BC] Dual MJMiller medalist and Neville and Graham Allan from Hawks.
1990's...Andrew Prause [BC],Peter Sharp[MC]-the best mark seen in the League,and Whitsunday guns;Wayne Aspland,Jeff Mackey and Nigel McCarthy.
The silkiest skilled player i have seen personally was creekers Bruce Gillingham and the toughest was red-headed assasin Wayne ''Shaker''Stevens from Bloods 1993-1996 Premier teams.
This is an impossible task but just some ''food for thought''.
:D
youve got me if Peter Filler played in Mackay he is the best, isaw him play in the QAFL absoulute gun!!! least we got you blokes talking
John Bonney
22 Feb 2012, 08:20
When asked,local stalwart Josie Rogers has always insisted Filler was the best we have seen here.We can also boast a 50 game AFL player in St Kildas David Armitage.He played his first game in seniors at 14 !