View Full Version : Well done Bombers

redback
13 Sep 2002, 22:45
Considering we had our bookends out you did us proud Port wont be going anywhere after tonight & we have a lot to look forward to next year if we dont have as bad an injury run as this year.

GO BOMBERS

Patty O'Chair
13 Sep 2002, 23:32
Aye, bad luck to the Bomber laddies out there tonight - tried their guts out but couldn't quite come away with the win.

Grogette
13 Sep 2002, 23:39
http://www.sf-fandom.com/vbulletin/images/smilies/xyxthumbs.gif It was a very good effort from my beloved BOMBERS!!, it was a shame they didn't win.http://www.sf-fandom.com/vbulletin/images/smilies/mecry.gif

However - I have never been so proud of them, considering they had no Lloyd or Fletcher. James Hird tried his best to keep Essendon in the game, he played such a gutsy game!!! Good on ya Jimmy http://www.sf-fandom.com/vbulletin/images/smilies/biggrin1.gif

I just hope that Essendon, has better luck next year and that the Football Gods will give them a break ie Less Frellin' Injuries!!!!

GO THE BOMBERS!!!

YOU ARE THE BEST NO MATTER WHAT

Damn Power Puffs!!! http://www.sf-fandom.com/vbulletin/images/smilies/angryfire.gif

Stealth bomber
14 Sep 2002, 00:04
Can't be disappointed, not at all. Absolutely everything was set up for a defeat. You can't compete when your three best players are suspended or injured (Hird included; no way he was 100% healthy).

One can only wonder had Cara knocked one of those two chances through and got the margin inside 10 points that things just may have been different.

It wasn't our year.

Let's heal up, rebuild, reload, and do the whole thing over again. Surely the last month has proven that when on, we can still mix it up with the best of them. If we can address some of our ruck problems and stay healthy, we will be right there in '03.

Brisbane may very well go back-to-back, but you have to think the parity cycle will catch up with them at some point.

catattack
14 Sep 2002, 00:10
Bad luck guys. You played a very good game of footy!! Best of luck!!:)

Wally
14 Sep 2002, 00:32
Jeezuz i love this club.......

where's wally?

Penny Lane
14 Sep 2002, 00:41
Yep, proud of my boys. I love my team.

SeinDude
14 Sep 2002, 01:16
Originally posted by catattack
Bad luck guys. You played a very good game of footy!! Best of luck!!:)

All you can ask as a supporter is for your team to go out there and give everything they've got and Essendon certainly did that tonight.

Go Cats!! :cool:
SeinDude

thorntonshuffle
14 Sep 2002, 01:51
Well done Bombers, had a serious crack tonight. Proud of how far they've come in the last 6 weeks. Special kudos to Mark Bolton, has improved out of sight this year. Hard to see him as vital player in our team 4 months ago, but when he came off tonight i thought "uh oh!". There's something seriously special about this guy, his ability to come back & cement a place in this side after all these years and all the **** he's copped. Something to take pride in son.

gPhonque
14 Sep 2002, 02:17
As good a result as we could have hoped for in the end. (I only got to see the 2nd half btw...)

I still think we look smaller than a lot of teams. Not so much height, but general muscle around the ground. If we hope to challenge Port & Brisbane next year, we'll need to do it physically as well.

As much as I believe they're both great players, I could see Heffernan being replaced by somebody a bit tougher and with a bit more physical presence (don't ask me who) and possibily Caracella as well. They're both great players who I would prefer to keep, but I'm just not sure they're fitting in as well anymore, especially considering we have some tougher (literally) opposition now. But I'd love to keep them........!!!! But I'm just not sure.......!!! But I'd love to keep them.......!!!! etc etc

Also, going completely against what I just said, is Barnard really pulling his weight? I mean, he gives 100%, but I haven't been convinced of him being any real danger down forward lately. Although it's been tough without Lloyd I suppose.......

One more thing - did McVeigh get a run in the 1st half?

Anyway, I agree with redback - if we have a nicer run with injuries next year, we should still be right up there.

SydneyBomber
14 Sep 2002, 02:29
Originally posted by gPhonque
As good a result as we could have hoped for in the end. (I only got to see the 2nd half btw...)

I still think we look smaller than a lot of teams. Not so much height, but general muscle around the ground. If we hope to challenge Port & Brisbane next year, we'll need to do it physically as well.

Yep - too many skinny guys compared to the likes of Brizzie etc. Obviously you don't want everyone getting too big, but on the whole we really need to hit the weights this summer.
Once the younger guys like Welsh, Robbie FK, Bolts, Sam hunt bulk up over the next year or two, they will be primed.

As much as I believe they're both great players, I could see Heffernan being replaced by somebody a bit tougher and with a bit more physical presence (don't ask me who) and possibily Caracella as well. They're both great players who I would prefer to keep, but I'm just not sure they're fitting in as well anymore, especially considering we have some tougher (literally) opposition now. But I'd love to keep them........!!!! But I'm just not sure.......!!! But I'd love to keep them.......!!!! etc etc

Also, going completely against what I just said, is Barnard really pulling his weight? I mean, he gives 100%, but I haven't been convinced of him being any real danger down forward lately. Although it's been tough without Lloyd I suppose.......

One more thing - did McVeigh get a run in the 1st half?

Anyway, I agree with redback - if we have a nicer run with injuries next year, we should still be right up there.

Disagree about Heff - hes got the incessant niggle in him that annoys the hell out of other teams no end (like slash), and tackles really well. Had an ordinary year, but must be kept.

Cara IS soft, but has always been a classy finisher/receiver - no point trying to get him to be something he's not. He'll never bulk up either. Having said all of that, I reckon it'd be a very BAD mistake to get rid of him.

On the other hand....
Blumfield - bait
McVeigh - bait
Henneman - bait
Mercuri - bait - sorry Mercs!:(

for starters anyway....

coxon
14 Sep 2002, 02:30
yes, damn proud of my club.. :)

take a good long rest... cant wait for 2003...

hmm.. mcveigh didnt get much of a run.. but did a few nice things in a short spurt...

m.johnson was fantastic

gPhonque
14 Sep 2002, 02:39
Originally posted by SydneyBomber
Disagree about Heff - hes got the incessant niggle in him that annoys the hell out of other teams no end (like slash), and tackles really well. Had an ordinary year, but must be kept.

Cara IS soft, but has always been a classy finisher/receiver - no point trying to get him to be something he's not. He'll never bulk up either. Having said all of that, I reckon it'd be a very BAD mistake to get rid of him.

I agree with all that. (I did say I'd love to keep them. :) ) It was just a thought......

mic59
14 Sep 2002, 18:27
Originally posted by redback
Considering we had our bookends out you did us proud Port wont be going anywhere after tonight & we have a lot to look forward to next year if we dont have as bad an injury run as this year.

GO BOMBERS

Christ, this must be the 20th post you have made with this same complaint. Accept it, you lost and injuries are no excuse

BomberGal
15 Sep 2002, 16:28
Disappointing result, but I guess it's what I expected. Which is good, this one isn't really hurting as much because I guess I conceded some time ago that this year just wasn't going to be the year we wanted it to be.

Good game though, I'm very proud of the way they stood up, and they certainly weren't disgraced. Also pretty proud of their season, a large part of it played without many of our stars.

Good effort boys. I'm damn proud of this club and love it no matter what. See ya next year! :)

Go the Mighty Bombers!!

Port1978
15 Sep 2002, 20:15
Originally posted by redback

GO BOMBERS
Can't you just admit Port were better than you & not blame your loss on injuries?? Oh, & we will be going somewhere.....we'll be playing in the preliminary finals. then hopefully in the GF if we beat Brisbane, which there's no reason why we can't.

windyhill
15 Sep 2002, 20:38
How many coins do you have in your piggy bank ? get them all out, count them up and then we can have a bet.

redback
15 Sep 2002, 21:40
Originally posted by port1978

Can't you just admit Port were better than you & not blame your loss on injuries?? Oh, & we will be going somewhere.....we'll be playing in the preliminary finals. then hopefully in the GF if we beat Brisbane, which there's no reason why we can't.

OH like the week before when your coach said the Pies didnt win you lost, yeah right truth hurts hey guys, Brissie will bash you from here to next week.

Pornstar
16 Sep 2002, 08:43
It was a good effort by the boys but disappointing to see us squander so many opportunities at goal. We really needed to get the first couple of goals of the game and to kick 0.3 when we should have been at least 2.1 was frustrating. Dean Wallis would have been invaluable in that game as we needed somebody to club the sh*t out of Chad Cornes. Jacobs has been good this year but he needs a bit of mongrel in him to upset his opponent a bit. Cornes just did as he pleased.

This may sound wierd but one of the highlights of the game for me was Welsh's tackle on Dew in the second quarter near the boundary line. It was a crucial play because had Dew broken the tackle it would have been a certain goal. Welsh is still a skinny kid and he showed fantastic strength and determination with one hand sending Dew (bloody solid bloke) arse over t it. Well done young fella.

James Hird has a bit to answer for i think. I don't agree that a half fit Hird is better than fully fit fringe player. He shouldn't have played in the grand final last year and he shouldn't have played against Port. It's time he stopped being selfish and thought about the team.

Finally on Port - even though they beat us by 4 goals i still think they choked. Kicked 17 points, and really only beat us in one quarter on their home ground and we were without Fletcher Lloyd and Mercuri and had a useless James Hird out there. Brisbane will get 10 goals up on them this week and then take the foot off the pedal in preparation for the granny. Brisbane by 37 points. Port to take the 'underachiever' tag from us.

Cyclops
16 Sep 2002, 10:39
Well done the Bombers for a hard fought season. Most sides are competitive with their best 22 out there, but free fall to spoon land with key injuries (eg Saints and Blues). You blokes get decimated and you "plummet" to fifth. This despite perceived weaknesses in the rucking and pace departments. Someone down there is doing something right.

Dave
17 Sep 2002, 09:24
Good effort, ran the game out when it looked like Port were going to steamroll us. Just not enough run when it was needed.

NYMets
17 Sep 2002, 20:05
I love this team.
The pressure must be immense. Other teams and players like Hawthorn or Everitt fro example can be fairly ordinary all year and still have a reputation but the Dons are expected to do not the ordinary but the extraordinary each time. I hope I never see injuries like this year ever ever again.
Good on 'em