View Full Version : Disgraceful
Ben the Gooner
16 Aug 2008, 17:58
Absolutely embarrassing.
Shameful, even.
I don't care how poorly someone is performing (even though Chook played well), to boo or Bronx cheer your own player is disgusting.
I'd be ashamed if it was me.:thumbsd:
I have a confession to make.
I have not booed the Chook but i am responsible for yelling out for ****s sake Stanton bblooooddddyyyyyy shepherd !! numerous times during a game.
kelvin_sheedy
16 Aug 2008, 18:05
When a player doesn't put in the required effort then they probably deserved to get booed.
If you put in the effort but make a mistake ala McPhee then you do not deserve a bronx cheer.
Laycock is a lucky man to be playing AFL at the moment.
A couple of non efforts today - Stanton all day, Nash in the first was non competitive but redeemed himself.
Ben the Gooner
16 Aug 2008, 18:05
I have no problem whatsoever with criticising individual efforts which aren't up to scratch. Lovett-Murray gets mine.
However, to Bronx cheer a player who is playing a decent game with a sore back and blurred vision, when he takes a good mark running back with the flight is embarrassing.
At the end of the day, he is an Essendon player. Boo an Adelaide player, not our own.
OzBomber
16 Aug 2008, 18:10
I went today and we were pathetic. Smashed all over the ground, especially the clearances. There was no forward or defensive pressure and we turned the ball over far too easily. McPhee was good early then kept on turning the ball over, I was happy with Dyson, Peverill Stanton and Nash. Good to see Lloyd kick 3(All at the end I was sitting :D).
And then 2 more injuries and pathetic umpiring.
kelvin_sheedy
16 Aug 2008, 18:11
People are booing because they are frustrated at the non competitiveness.
This isn't schoolyard footy were you can run past and take a few steps with your head in the air after missing the ball. You have to compete at every opportunity.
Laycock doesn't and I don't think he ever will.
dave_27
16 Aug 2008, 18:26
Oh poor Laycock got a bronx cheer.
Please.
And yes I bronx cheered Mcphee earlier this year.
bombers2011
16 Aug 2008, 18:56
Let's face it... I think we were getting ahead of ourselves when they won all those games!
I was there today and we looked undercooked. We all agree we have alot of talent out there. I think Lovett is a star and any talk of him leaving the club should be abandoned immediately!
Mal Michael was gallant and solid as ever, Pev is in great form and should definitely play on! Paddy almost took a few screamers but he had a patchy day.. Gus and Jetta were quiet. Gee we have really missed the drive of McVeigh and Reimers.
McPhee was awful today, I counted 5 mistakes that he made basic skill errors that directly resulted in Adelaide Goals. He just doesn't cut it. He plays hard and i like that, but for a player that is a senior and a role model... Well, he isn't getting any younger, nor is he gonna get any better. we should use him as a trade while we still can.
Laycock is digging himself a hole. I really hope for his sake these last 2 weeks without Hille in the team, that he can rise to the occasion or else i am not sure how he will be feeling after this, a really poor year for him.
The other two players with a Big cloud over them are Dyson and Lovett Murray
both of them disappoint me week after week.
I think these last 2 games are gonna be great in the sense that some kids like hooker and hocking and bellchambers and magin are gonna get a run, but they aren't gonna be pretty!
bipolarbeaR
16 Aug 2008, 19:07
I would bronx cheer out of blatent jealousy of his salary and the amout of effort he puts into it. He is luckier than a government call centre worker.
hugorune
16 Aug 2008, 19:13
Gee we have really missed the drive of McVeigh and Reimers.
You got it, those guys give us the punch in the midfield, without them its like we just don't have a clue what to do with it.
Other than usual stuff about injuries, I think we just came up against a better side that are fit, confident, and preparing for a strong under-the-radar September campaign. Knights will have got a good experience today :)
bipolarbeaR
16 Aug 2008, 19:17
It seems to me that we lose when we don't have Lucas. Even if he doesn't play well!
King Elvis
16 Aug 2008, 19:49
Chook is Laycock right?
I can understand why some of your supporters would've given him stick - looked pretty disinterested and completely lacked any intensity.
OzBomber
16 Aug 2008, 19:53
When was the bronx cheer? I left at the 20 minutes mark (People I was with wanted to "avoid the rush", I would've wanted to stay and clap off Lloyd, but I guess that didn't happen).
I hated having to sit with all the crows supporters. :(
stugots
16 Aug 2008, 20:02
It seems to me that we lose when we don't have Lucas. Even if he doesn't play well!
my guess is that mcveigh is the new barometer for the side & to a lesser extent reimers, since theyve gone out the energy has disappeared
poor effort but to just beat melb & lose to wc & come up against the inform crows, is anyone honestly surprised at the result?
as for the booing, dont like it but understand the frustration
Ben the Gooner
16 Aug 2008, 20:34
During the third quarter, Sean, when he took about three marks in as many minutes.
:mad::mad:
OzBomber
16 Aug 2008, 20:38
Yeah, I remember that. Didn't hear the bronx cheers though. I heard them for the umpires when they finally gave us a free kick. That's when I was bronx cheering. :)
Ben the Gooner
16 Aug 2008, 20:40
Yeah, I remember that. Didn't hear the bronx cheers though. I heard them for the umpires when they finally gave us a free kick.
:D:D
That's how Bronx cheers should be used.
Thought they where a bit harsh on the chanel 10 tonight. Now i dont mind Luke Darcey having a crack at his form because it is obvious to all that Chook is struggling but they used the clip of him failing to jump for the ball and bagged him for that. The only trouble was he should not have been on the ground at that time because just before he had copped a wack in the eye and he could not see properly. He went straight to the bench after that and he could not read the scoreboard properly when they asked him to.
Im not sure how you are supposed to make a contest if you can not really see the ball coming in properly ?
At the after match press conference Knights was questioned about the fans booing Laycock during the game.
Knights pointedly stated that Laycock needs to play with more intensity and that he is a big boy who needs to take care of himself.
Lloyd in a post match interview with MMM stated that he sometimes wanted to shake Laycock up during the game.
It appears that laycock is under pressure from within the club.
I actually liken Laycock to Minson of the WB, although Minson has a bit more presence about him.
Big Blow Hard
17 Aug 2008, 16:39
Yeah, I remember that. Didn't hear the bronx cheers though. I heard them for the umpires when they finally gave us a free kick. That's when I was bronx cheering. :)
Allways been fascinate by that saying, Does anyone know it's origins? I assume it's a Yankees thing. I might go and look it up.
mustard
17 Aug 2008, 16:57
we will never win a flag with laycock.
we need to offlad him to richmond
he plays like a richmonder
BomberAce7
17 Aug 2008, 17:14
Nah they have Cartledge. What a star he was today vs Hawthorn.
And you post like one...
We'll never win a flag with you supporting us. Better go support Richmond
Reckon it'll work guys?
Ludwig van Bertstare
17 Aug 2008, 17:25
Pretty poor effort to boo a player. WHat's more depressing is that they did it to Lloydy earlier in the season.
Laycock's been out of touch lately, but he wasn't bad yesterday.
mustard
17 Aug 2008, 17:26
why is it poor form to DEMAND excellence
aintplayin03
17 Aug 2008, 17:44
Don't care how bad you perceive a player to be, no supporter should ever boo or bronx cheer their own player. Give shit to the scum opposition, punch on with the wanker Adelaide supporter sitting behind you but booing and bronx cheering is as low as it gets.
It has nothing to do with demanding excellence either. I don't think anyone can say that there was one Essendon player out there yesterday who was excellent, yet you all chose Laycock as the scapegoat yet again. Getting a bit sick of it, it's a slur on the club.
un_eggs
17 Aug 2008, 18:09
There's something very base about a person who feels they are so qualified to bronx cheer one of their own. They can never be called a true 'supporter'. But merely a 'follower'. The day I realised that a great champion of our club (Paul Salmon) was being bronxed by our followers was the day i realised that a part of my Essendon soul had died... i was disgusted... i might even save a bronx cheer for those of you who bag Laycock if you ever find it in you to compliment him when he delivers for the club.
Valve Bounce
17 Aug 2008, 20:49
Before you guys go any further, did you know that we had 4 guys injured in the third quarter and Laycock could only see out of one eye? This was reported by the doc Larkin who is stationed at the interchange bench, not the commentators.
Thought they where a bit harsh on the chanel 10 tonight. Now i dont mind Luke Darcey having a crack at his form because it is obvious to all that Chook is struggling but they used the clip of him failing to jump for the ball and bagged him for that. The only trouble was he should not have been on the ground at that time because just before he had copped a wack in the eye and he could not see properly. He went straight to the bench after that and he could not read the scoreboard properly when they asked him to.
Im not sure how you are supposed to make a contest if you can not really see the ball coming in properly ?
I saw those and was bitterly disappointed not with the jumping for the ball incident, but for that chasing effort. Disgrace. As they said there are some things which you can't control but one thing you can control is your effort.
I was at the game and didn't bronx cheer but was so disappointed with some of our decision making and some mistakes, just thought it deserved silence. In particular the time when McPhee was 3rd man up and completely missed the ball which fell straight into Stiffy's arms. That moment really told a story about our day.
Panna Witchy Salitou
17 Aug 2008, 22:13
He subtitutiously sabotaged the play with skitting and mazza type errors in contests. Must pay attention and concentrate on tasks and execute the attempts with care. Donzal!
ben and ant, every week you do your best to pump chook up.. I congratulate you but "may well we say god save the chook cause no one else will!" (and for you young posters.. see great australian prime minister quotes)
agree with your argument though.. bronx cheers should be reserved for opposition and umpires..
Here_we_come
17 Aug 2008, 23:57
why is it poor form to DEMAND excellence
Why cant you see the bigger picture? How is a player who has potential and is way down on confidence supposed to improve when his own supporters bronx cheer and boo him. Disgraceful effort by some bomber fans on saturday!
SydneyBomber
18 Aug 2008, 08:28
weak as piss and was very disappointing to hear.:thumbsd:
everyone (me included) might make a few comments under their breath ("ffs mcphee hit a target!" being a favourite), but to actually boo our own players is disgraceful.
I actually am one of the few around here who seems to rate laycock - yes, obviously he is way down on form/confidence, but if he gets the chance to get it together and starts playing well, I hope all of the heroes that booed him remember how badly their treated one of their own.
Ben the Gooner
19 Aug 2008, 18:47
ben and ant, every week you do your best to pump chook up.. I congratulate you but "may well we say god save the chook cause no one else will!" (and for you young posters.. see great australian prime minister quotes)
agree with your argument though.. bronx cheers should be reserved for opposition and umpires..
All I want is credit where its due. To bump the whinge thread saying "someone had to" after the West Coast game where he kicked three is what pisses me off.
stander
19 Aug 2008, 19:07
I
At the end of the day, he is an Essendon player. Boo an Adelaide player, not our own.
I have only ever sh*tcanned two players in my life at a game.
G.Raines and M.Richardson.
Even Laycock the laggard is off limits.