rename it a b&f night

this bloke is amazing.

so courageous to comeback to play footy after what he has been through

We'll miss you Adam
:thumbsu::thumbsu:

centurion
27 Aug 2008, 11:22
Thats actually a dishonour to Adam..

What he went through twice and to still get up and play AFL football the bloke deserves the award to himself forever.

No one will ever deserve the that title with adams name, unless they have gone through similar circumstances.

Gus2Gumby
27 Aug 2008, 11:35
Good idea!

It would add more meaning to the award and it would become something the players would really strive for and be proud to win.

A great way to honour Adam.

On ya Rama!

SirJimi05
27 Aug 2008, 14:45

What he went through twice and to still get up and play AFL football the bloke deserves the award to himself forever.

No one will ever deserve the that title with adams name, unless they have gone through similar circumstances.

JC I really do enjoy your work on this site but i have to disagree with you on this point.

I think it is a great idea and i am sure that Rama would feel honoured to have the award named after him.

It would be a great way to have his legacy live on well after he is gone. All of us will remember him but kids down the track will see that player 'X' won the Adam Ramanaskuas award and will be keen to know more about him. It may even inspire people in the future who are faced with similiar circumstances.

centurion
27 Aug 2008, 15:37
JC I really do enjoy your work on this site but i have to disagree with you on this point.

I think it is a great idea and i am sure that Rama would feel honoured to have the award named after him.

It would be a great way to have his legacy live on well after he is gone. All of us will remember him but kids down the track will see that player 'X' won the Adam Ramanaskuas award and will be keen to know more about him. It may even inspire people in the future who are faced with similiar circumstances.

Ok i stand down.. :thumbsu:

Just want people to know i didn't mean any disrespect i just think what Rama has done no one can compete with on the footy field.

SirJimi05
27 Aug 2008, 16:21
Ok i stand down.. :thumbsu:

Just want people to know i didn't mean any disrespect i just think what Rama has done no one can compete with on the footy field.

No worries mate i knew exactly what you meant and i can see where you are coming from. I also agree with the latter point.

BomberGal
27 Aug 2008, 16:57

Do you consider the EJ Whitten Cup a dishonour to EJ Whitten?

I think an award so named would be about recognising someone striving to be courageous, not someone who has to have shown the same amount of courage as Adam. I mean, I know cancer is not goal kicking, but players who are awarded the Coleman for kicking 70 odd goals in a year is not exactly a disservice to John Coleman. It's just a recognition of an effort. And really the person who made the most effort, i.e. the player it is named after, is keeping the title forever.

loopy_cam
27 Aug 2008, 22:07
Great idea.

If there's anyone on here close to the club they shoud suggest it.

efcboy
27 Aug 2008, 22:42
i'm all for it - his name should never be forgotten at windy hill.

centurion
28 Aug 2008, 08:15
Do you consider the EJ Whitten Cup a dishonour to EJ Whitten?

I think an award so named would be about recognising someone striving to be courageous, not someone who has to have shown the same amount of courage as Adam. I mean, I know cancer is not goal kicking, but players who are awarded the Coleman for kicking 70 odd goals in a year is not exactly a disservice to John Coleman. It's just a recognition of an effort. And really the person who made the most effort, i.e. the player it is named after, is keeping the title forever.

I know what you're saying but its different circumstances.

But yes it is a good idea.

daffo
28 Aug 2008, 13:22
I agree, although i don't think they'll do it this year since Rama will most likely win it.

Oh here's a thought, when he is accepting the medal they break it to him that from now on it will be named the rama medal.

Ludwig van Bertstare
28 Aug 2008, 14:40
It's an excellent idea and I wouldn't be surprised if it came to fruition.

Bombs Away
28 Aug 2008, 15:10
Great Idea. Lets hope they name it next year after him.

Ricky
28 Aug 2008, 15:24
I agree, although i don't think they'll do it this year since Rama will most likely win it.

Oh here's a thought, when he is accepting the medal they break it to him that from now on it will be named the rama medal.
why not? that way he can be name the inugeral winner of the award

eth-dog
28 Aug 2008, 17:01
why not? that way he can be name the inugeral winner of the award
inaugural :thumbsu:

Ricky
3 Feb 2011, 09:52
bump.

just looking through this and thought I would bring to everyone's attention that someone must be close to the Essendon Football Club on the board :D

daffo
3 Feb 2011, 10:23
I agree.