View Full Version : TV Friday Night Lights
Daytripper
31 Aug 2008, 20:55
Coming soon to Fox 8.
I've heard very good things about it. Anyone seen any episodes yet ?
Demon4life
1 Sep 2008, 07:31
Yeah i've seen some but it's more about high school then football which sucks but saying that there are a few good football bits in it
blakey_10
1 Sep 2008, 09:28
One of the best tv series ever made! You will love it!
The first season that I saw was great. Kinda predictable (TV teen drama) but script and acting is excellent.
Still can't work out whether its a teen drama or not. One things for sure is that its not just about football. Hardest part to get get your head around is that the reverence for high school football is unfamiliar. At times it seems unbelievable: do people really care that much about HS football? - in some places apparently they do.
Durham Eagle
1 Sep 2008, 12:58
Am married to an American. Was in her home town, Baton Rouge a few years ago & her sister's husband , a big Cajun took me to a high school game.
There was over 10,000 people there & it was broadcast live on radio. It was an amazing experience.
midorigreenwood
1 Sep 2008, 17:26
hmmm.... must be the fifth friday nights light thread on BF.......someone should stick them together >,>
to summarise:
"great show, must watch, can't lose"
matt_897
18 Sep 2008, 20:47
The first season that I saw was great. Kinda predictable (TV teen drama) but script and acting is excellent.
Still can't work out whether its a teen drama or not. One things for sure is that its not just about football. Hardest part to get get your head around is that the reverence for high school football is unfamiliar. At times it seems unbelievable: do people really care that much about HS football? - in some places apparently they do.
Well, it's based on a town in texas, so apparently they do.
Top show, nothing on tv out there tops it even though the 2nd season was a lot weaker than the first, it did pick up back towards the end of the second season. looking forward to the 3rd season starting up in the states in a couple of weeks
crows98
19 Sep 2008, 18:08
In small country towns in some parts of America that’s what you do on a Friday night. What you see in the movies where the town shuts down is basically correct.
A friend of mine who lives in Spokane, Washington State sent me season 1 and 2 of this show last week, I am looking forward to watching it as the movie was awesome.
crows98
12 Oct 2008, 17:05
Just finished watching the first 2 season this but i believe it will be a flop on Australian free to air TV and it would be axed after 4 week. They have way too much religion for it to gain a regular following but it’s a really good show.
Teen drama with a football following – think One Tree Hill but with American football.
It already flopped on Australian Free To Air. Channel Ten had the rights and it aired on Friday Nights for a couple of weeks never to be seen again.
I think the OTH/The OC type comparasions is why it hasn't been a sucesful show ratings wise even in the states. It is so much more than a crappy teen drama.
crows98
12 Oct 2008, 21:01
It already flopped on Australian Free To Air. Channel Ten had the rights and it aired on Friday Nights for a couple of weeks never to be seen again.
I think the OTH/The OC type comparasions is why it hasn't been a sucesful show ratings wise even in the states. It is so much more than a crappy teen drama.
Serious? How long ago. It must have been quick. FFS i hate Australian FFA.
matt_897
15 Oct 2008, 12:44
Ten put it on their HD channel showed the first 6 or so eps on late on a friday night and then took it off for the ipl and then put it back on afterward on monday and friday nights. I'm not sure how any person is meant to follow that. They've showed the first season.
Watched the first two eps of season 3, this show is so much better than anything else out there at the moment.
Copernicus
17 Oct 2008, 06:32
This is a great show. It just feels real.
And yes, this is what HS Football is like, particularly in small-town America. Texas is absolutely bonkers for HS football and Georgia is not far behind. My wife works at a private school and I've been to a couple of games - bear in mind that this school is not large, by any means, but there were a good 3000 people at the game.
You can't even get to that a big suburban or country footy game in Victoria.
Thought this would be another teen drama, but finally watched some episodes the other day, great writing and acting.
Top show.
McLeodMagic
12 Jan 2009, 22:21
Anyone know where I can get region-4 DVDs of this?
I dont think so mate. I have been looking and cant find any.
Just buy a region free DVD player and you can get the Region-1 DVD's from ebay.
I think there has been 3 maybe 4 seasons of it so far.
I have only seen what Fox 8 have shown but its an awesome show and knowing Fox 8 after one season it will get dumped so I will probably buy the DVD's.
crows98
14 Jan 2009, 14:29
I dont think so mate. I have been looking and cant find any.
Just buy a region free DVD player and you can get the Region-1 DVD's from ebay.
I think there has been 3 maybe 4 seasons of it so far.
I have only seen what Fox 8 have shown but its an awesome show and knowing Fox 8 after one season it will get dumped so I will probably buy the DVD's.
Season 3 is being aired in America now.
It's finished in america now, if you know where to look.
Season 4 has just started in the US. The first episode was fantastic, looks like it should be a good season.
Anyone else watching?
Just downloaded it.
Will get to watching it on the weekend probably. Cant wait.
Busy watching "real" football at the moment though.
matt_897
3 Nov 2009, 12:08
Yeah, watched it yesterday, enjoyed very much, there are some depressing storylines but again the Taylors, especially Coach are brilliant.
djrossie
3 Nov 2009, 13:41
Loved the 4th season opener! With two teams in town should be cool. Wasn't sure how it would pull up losing key cast members but can see the possibilities with newbies and like how Coach Taylor has to start affresh with a couple of talented players/athletes (but a lot of poor players too lol) but some egomaniacs as well! Ahould make for some good viewing i'm seeing more of a football oriented season which should be good culminating in a big rivalry game between the two teams
midorigreenwood
6 Nov 2009, 07:08
2nd episode is freaking awesome!!!
probably my equal favourite of the entire series
the pirate scene was hilarious..... apparently the guy is some famous college coach or sumpfing mike leach......and when tami stuck it up to Joe Mccoll..... fug yeah!!!
We love this show, got season one and two via Amazon and just love it. season 3 was even better, cannot wait until season 4.
WWRD? What would Riggins do? Tim Riggins is the best character in the show.
Copernicus
6 Nov 2009, 08:43
Season 4 has just started in the US. The first episode was fantastic, looks like it should be a good season.
Anyone else watching?
I'm watching. Bloody brilliant start to the season so far :thumbsu:
hermaaaaan
6 Nov 2009, 23:44
I love it too!
The first 2 episodes have been awesome.
But the only thing is I don't really get how a saturday practise would work, did they also forfeit this weeks game, was it a bye in the second week, seemed strange.
I love it too!
But the only thing is I don't really get how a saturday practise would work, did they also forfeit this weeks game, was it a bye in the second week, seemed strange.
Agreed, plus it meant Tami got booed at a pep rally on Saturday as well. Weird.
It's still good though, loving that Wallace from the Wire is there.
matt_897
8 Nov 2009, 09:24
Time has always an issue FNL seems to get confused is, just look at how the characters have aged. I was assuming that both teams got a bye this week.
I love it too!
You do realise they play games on Friday nights in the US, hence the title.:D
Following on from the post above, from my limited understanding of how things work. Across America all high school football is played on Friday night, college football is played on Saturdays (afternoon and night) and the pros basically play the majority of games on Sunday (afternoon and night) and Monday night.
Clearly there is an exception to the rule (thanksgiving, public holidays ect and bowl games for college), but i believe this is how the system works.
hermaaaaan
8 Nov 2009, 12:09
Yeah that's my point, they played last Friday, had all school scenes and that, letting us know a week had past, so they should have had another game on Friday. But they didn't and they had a practice on Saturday.
Not sure why, but I had just assumed he had to forfeit that game because he had no team. Although you would think if he did they would have made mention of it.
This season has been amazing so far, can't wait for the next episode. Will be interesting to see what happens with that kid who had to swap to East Dillon. The scene with him and Mrs. Coach in the rain was great, as was the uniform burning one.
Not sure why, but I had just assumed he had to forfeit that game because he had no team. Although you would think if he did they would have made mention of it.
This season has been amazing so far, can't wait for the next episode. Will be interesting to see what happens with that kid who had to swap to East Dillon. The scene with him and Mrs. Coach in the rain was great, as was the uniform burning one.
He forfeited the game because he was afraid of how badly his team would get injured if they continued. Based on the second episode they could have run back out and played if they wanted to. Agree that the second episode was amazing, the scene with the uniform burning made the hairs on my back stand up, especially when Luke burnt his Panthers uniform, that was a statement of commitment if ever I saw one.
One thing I hope they don't do this season is have the Panthers go through the season easily. Even with Eric as coach they struggled to make the State final, with Wade Aikman it should be even harder, plus the fact that the quarterback has shown himself to be extremely suspect under pressure.
Bond,ShaneBond
8 Sep 2010, 11:21
I just went through this show and it is a gem. I found the first two seasons a bit too soapie for my tastes, but really loved the third and especially fourth seasons. My favourite Coach speech is to Smash at his final tryout, you can see Smash standing tall during it. It was awesome seeing Wallace and D'Angelo from The Wire in the fourth season. I thought JD was going to be a really interesting character, but it was a shame to see him turn into a cardboard cut-out villain. My favourite episode is The Son, which got an Emmy nod for writing, and my favourite match is the Mudbowl. Looking forward to the fifth and final season!
One of the best tv series ever made! You will love it!
Me too. It is one of mine favorite show..
Here here - i'm a big sitcom fan normally but i just love this show.
Its my favourite "non sitcom" on TV ever.
New episode came out today apparently.... can't find it anywhere though.
download it off scenereleases.info.
Donners
29 Oct 2010, 09:13
Tempted to watch this just for Kyle Chandler. He was in my all-time favourite TV show, Early Edition.
Forthwrite
29 Oct 2010, 09:51
New episode came out today apparently.... can't find it anywhere though.
It took a while to come out but it's on all the usual places now.
Was a pretty good episode.. sad to see Julie leave.
They said Riggins only has 3 months left in prison so hopefully he's out for the last bit of the season.
it's the last season for it sadly.
most of the season 1-2 stars return at some point. except for Smash. :( they could have done a great episode about Smash's return to Dillon if he was drafted into the NFL or something.
Tempted to watch this just for Kyle Chandler. He was in my all-time favourite TV show, Early Edition.
You should, its a travesty that he and Connie Britton who plays his wife haven't got more acclaim for 2 of the best performances over the last 5 years.
Just started to get into the show, think it's brilliant and will change the way you think about football - it is quite an eye-opener to see how different American football culture is compared to ours.
Kyle Chandler is fantastic as Coach Parker, even in the early episodes you can see the pressure taking its toll.
The football sequences are incredible and brilliantly shot (I think they used some footage from actual games?) but it is the human drama that had me hooked, the Jason Street storyline in season 1 is heartbreaking at times and makes you value the life you have, because in the blink of an eye it can be taken away... truly compelling viewing.
As an aside, the (non-fiction) book on which the series is (loosely) based, Friday Night Lights: A Town, a Team, and a Dream (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Friday_Night_Lights:_A_Town,_a_Team,_and_a_Dream) by H.G. Bissinger, came in at No. 4 in Sports Illustrated's list of the best books ever written about sports.
djrossie
4 Dec 2010, 13:03
Yep great show just when I thought it was pretty average season 5 it came up with a ripper last episode in 505
rwfan83
11 Jan 2011, 20:33
still working my way through season 1, I have been careful not to read any spoilers but wow, what a series. writing and acting is on a par with Mad Men and other highly acclaimed shows. jason's story is heartbreaking but informative about the importance of learning to respect risk (phrase that I heard today), dreams can be taken away so quickly...
Forthwrite
12 Jan 2011, 03:26
Yep great show just when I thought it was pretty average season 5 it came up with a ripper last episode in 505
All of season 5 has been amazing.
It's gonna suck when it's finished.
All of season 5 has been amazing.
It's gonna suck when it's finished.
I to am loving it - i believe there is going to be a season 6, is this correct?
Looks like Matt is going to be brought back into it for a few weeks it ep 8 is anything to go by, which is great.
Can't say i'm all that impressed by the Vince storyline at the moment - seems very similar to something we seen with Smash a few seasons back now.
Forthwrite
12 Jan 2011, 06:14
I to am loving it - i believe there is going to be a season 6, is this correct?
Nah, this is the final season.
Looks like Matt is going to be brought back into it for a few weeks it ep 8 is anything to go by, which is great.
Yep it was awesome seeing him in the end of the last episode. Riggins is also listed as being in a few episodes so I think he'll get out of jail either next ep or the one after.
Can't say i'm all that impressed by the Vince storyline at the moment - seems very similar to something we seen with Smash a few seasons back now.
Yeah it is a bit similar but it has still been pretty good. I went from loving Vince's dad when he beat that guy up to hating him again when he's getting too involved with the college stuff.
I hate characters like him, its like Lilly on HIMYM. The character legitimately annoys me and makes me dislike parts of the show.
Wasn't Crash injured or on drugs which is why he struggled to get to College? Its clear Vince isn't going to go that way but obviously he's going to be the centre of a draft rigging type scandal and fall out with his father again and come back to Coach to save his arse. It may be that Coach becomes a College Head Coach at the end of the season and is the only one who will take Vince.
djrossie
30 Jan 2011, 16:36
A resentful Tim Riggins is back. The show is back to the football somewhat. Will the Lions win state and survive? :cool:
Forthwrite
30 Jan 2011, 20:00
I don't know but if Coach doesn't take the job I'm gonna be pissed!
flight23
2 Feb 2011, 17:47
bit of a struggle to "find this" but am getting it now
need a new show, so heres hoping this one sticks
Its in the last season bro so not gonna stick for long.
flight23
2 Feb 2011, 18:57
looks like i wont have to live through the dreaded week to week living, that is "getting onto a show early"
flight23
5 Feb 2011, 19:59
7 episodes in, great show
coach Taylor is fantastic (loved him in early edition as well)
best quote so far, coach to wife "i think i told that boy to get our daughter in the back of a car"
great tension
watching Buddy recite the winning play from their old championship win, word for word was just brilliant, you could tell he'd listened to it a million times, great subtle touch
djrossie
6 Feb 2011, 16:13
Another fine episode the tension between coach and his wife is great. With a super team being formed next season, and coach being tempted to take over it, I can only really see the coach going one way stepping down from the team and following his wife to Philly. Especially since the show is wrapping up.
Bond,ShaneBond
8 Feb 2011, 08:27
It is a shame this show is finishing, season 5 has been really good. I am loving the cameos, especially Matt. I really liked that character. Vince is awesome, Michael B Jordan has two ripping characters in his pocket now.
Forthwrite
8 Feb 2011, 08:31
I never thought it'd be possible but this season is actually better than any other, including the 1st.
Apparently the finale is longer than a normal episode, too. It'll be interesting to see if anyone else comes back.
I can't see any ending other than Coach moving to Philly with his wife for her job, which sucks as I wanted him to take the College job.
If you've read any spoilers don't post them, please.
I hope coach tells her to stick it and they end up moving to Florida, hes to good not to be coaching.
Copernicus
9 Feb 2011, 00:48
It's going to be a bit sad watching tomorrow night.
Fortunately I'll have the DVDs to fall back on...
Bond,ShaneBond
9 Feb 2011, 06:04
I never thought it'd be possible but this season is actually better than any other, including the 1st.
Apparently the finale is longer than a normal episode, too. It'll be interesting to see if anyone else comes back.
I can't see any ending other than Coach moving to Philly with his wife for her job, which sucks as I wanted him to take the College job.
If you've read any spoilers don't post them, please.
I agree, that is the only outcome for me as well. The guy is just too good, doesn't take the college gig for Dillon, and now will leave Dillon for his wife. Finale needs some Lyla Garrety action.
Like you say, this has been a really top shelf season. It is such a shame that the show is ending, it is definitely going out on top.
flight23
9 Feb 2011, 16:41
just finished season 1
coach is just great in his role
Saracens friend trying to hit on Tyra has also been a highlight
and so far Riggins is just the man
at the roast "how funny was it when saracen slept with coaches daughter"
season 2 tonight
Forthwrite
10 Feb 2011, 18:57
That was so ****ing good.
I can't believe it's over. :(:(
Suzuki Swift
10 Feb 2011, 19:19
No spoilers. How'd you get it so fast?
Forthwrite
10 Feb 2011, 19:25
All TV shows are online like 30 minutes after they air.
Although, I just looked for it where I got it and it seems to have disappeared for the moment. :confused:
Suzuki Swift
10 Feb 2011, 19:30
FNL always seems to take ages to come up. And when they do they take ages to pick up speed.
hermaaaaan
10 Feb 2011, 19:35
Is it a double episode?
Brilliant sums that finale up!!!!
Its like something special is going to be missing each week now.
Lots of the actors are showing up in the other shows now. The younger actors anyway.
flight23
10 Feb 2011, 19:44
just finished season 2
RIGGINS!!!!!!!!
wherever they put him, the guy just owns the show
loved him listening to coach taylor saying he wanted to kick the other coaches ass
thought there was another episode based on the finale, it just seemed to be a bit of a nothing kinda episode
season 3 here we go
Forthwrite
10 Feb 2011, 19:52
Is it a double episode?
Nah it's longer than a normal episode, though. 1.05 hours.
The file should be about 700mb.
hermaaaaan
10 Feb 2011, 20:13
Nah it's longer than a normal episode, though. 1.05 hours.
The file should be about 700mb.
Ahh K, yeah I started downloading it and it is about 700mb, so I assumed it would be like 1.5 hour movies that are about 700mb.
So keen for watching the finale; but so disappointed that it will be the last time I get to watch a new episode.
Suzuki Swift
10 Feb 2011, 20:41
lol @ matt & julie.
Copernicus
11 Feb 2011, 01:31
Pretty happy with that finale. Wish we'd gotten to see that final Hail Mary though!
Going to be hard to fill the space taken by this show each week.
bok_party
11 Feb 2011, 01:40
is the finale ep 12 or 13?
bok_party
11 Feb 2011, 01:42
I also have to say, this show probably has one of my favourite intro songs ever along with the Wire. They should really use more Explosions in the Sky for the AFL.
Bond,ShaneBond
11 Feb 2011, 08:32
Good finale, though State was disappointing.
Will be missed!
3rd Grade Maggy
11 Feb 2011, 19:33
Good finale, though State was disappointing.
Will be missed!
Fantastic finale. The way they showed the final game as a slow mo montage without actually showing the result was fantastic. Skipping to eight months later and showing people moving on with their lives was a nudge to the fact that there is more to life than one game of football.
Favourite part - interviews at the start of the ep which was a direct throwback to S1E1. Smash and Vince asked if State was a promise "that's a fact'.
Awesome show. Sad to see you go.
bok_party
12 Feb 2011, 02:31
Final episode was great. The whole State championship montage was fantastic. Let's the audience just bask in the night themselves. Music is just always perfectly suited.
Really sad to see this finish.
flight23
17 Feb 2011, 04:48
season 4 is underway gentleman
6am sharp
and by 6am i mean quarter to 6
go lions
buddy needs to switch over
landry to quarterback
djrossie
17 Feb 2011, 11:55
Geez no more Friday Night Lights. One of my favourite shows. I felt it could have gone on forever especially with strong core characters like Coach Taylor Tami and Buddy.
Still it was good to see a decent finale. Great show! :thumbsu:
flight23
18 Feb 2011, 13:35
season 4 episode 8
buddy garrity to the commentary box
inspired move
flight23
27 Feb 2011, 08:48
final episode
i dont want to watch it
can't really see a real "FINAL" episode, just end of another season (football and tv)