View Full Version : Merged Trade/Delisting Threads - Part 3

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Ben the Gooner
3 Sep 2008, 19:34
Last one has reached 1000 posts (hooray).

With the rumours about Rischitelli coming to Essendon, how would he get here (cue jokes of "by plane")?

Would we trade for him, or, seeing as we are supposedly offering 380k a year, front end it to 650k in the first year and 110k in the second, and outprice everyone else in the PSD. We must have the room with all of the veterans on big deals who have left, and the number of kids we have.

Colin D'Cops
3 Sep 2008, 19:41
Michael Rischitelli is supposedly having serious talks with Brisbane now because Vossy has entered the building. Might still want to come back home. Lovett would be what they want I would think, a goal-kicker who can help out Bradshaw & Brown, not enough people who can kick goals after them two. Adam Thomson is a bit of a chance from leaving Port, hasn't got heaps of opportunities at Port and is a highly rated youngster. Finds plenty of the pill. Scott Harding from Brisbane is a bit of a chance, said to have told Leigh he wanted to be traded at year's end a month ago, but now same with Rischitelli, seems to be having second thoughts. A pacy midfielder. Tim Notting is out of contract as well, wouldn't expect Vossy to resign him because he is their oldest player and is downhill skiing at the moment, I personally wouldn't take him, but who knows, could provide that experience through the midfield for a year or two to help out Myers, Hocking, etc. Just some of the names thrown up thus far.

HFF_07
3 Sep 2008, 19:47
He seems a very good solid player, have question marks over his disposal, as that can let him down in general play, that was the reason behind him not making it already in the AFL,

He is, 198cm, 90kg, and will be 23 in January, as mentioned, seems toi have a good set of hands, and is strong enough to play a KP at AFL level,

Alex Silvagni is 192cm, 92kg, is turning 22 next year, I would prefer him over Wall,

Lukas Markovic is a 193cm, 92kg, CHB at Box Hill, is only 21-22 y.o aswell, has shown some promise at CHB, not sure how he has gone this year, but could be a handy player maybe. played in the North V South (u23 game) i think.

Trent Shinners is another one, I cannot find any stats on him, but played in the north v south game,

Kris Shore is another who was selected in the initial squads for the u23 teams, he is another 192cm, 93kg, KPP,

Justin Hardy is another, is a 195cm, 95kg, FB from Tasmania, has held down the spot regulalrly this season,

Simon Plummer also from Tasmania, is another KPP CHB, 194cm, 87kg, 20y.o, has a nice frame, could use a little more muscle to his frame,

are their any other young KPP in the VFL that could we look at for our list,

their are a few young players, have not gone through all of them, but some that may be a look in, of the players mentioned, Silvagni would be ideal, then Wall, although young Plummer from Tasmania seems a likely type

hulld
3 Sep 2008, 19:54
we dont know what could happen with notting. who knows, he could be great mates with voss

bomba4eva
3 Sep 2008, 21:19
Anyone interested in Sylvia? Was quite a high pick but hasn't gone on with it. Not the most popular bloke amongst Melbourne fans but that comes with the expectations of a top 3 pick and his failure. Would be fairly cheap I'd imagine. Possible our 3rd rounder + Dyson?

Just a point of interest I thought I'd throw up.

Not sold on Rischitelli. Hasn't gone on with it from the past couple of years. Lacks any X factor and we do seem to have a plethora of midfielders. Class is what I want to add to our midfield. Who currently provides that? Nobody at the moment which is rather disconcerting. I'm keenly watching Hartlett and opinions on him from the experts and knowledgeable posters because he could bring the much needed class to our midfield.

Windas_Magic
3 Sep 2008, 21:32
Anyone interested in Sylvia? Was quite a high pick but hasn't gone on with it. Not the most popular bloke amongst Melbourne fans but that comes with the expectations of a top 3 pick and his failure. Would be fairly cheap I'd imagine. Possible our 3rd rounder + Dyson?
Just a point of interest I thought I'd throw up.
Big no on Sylvia, he won't be leaving anyway. We already have enough half forwards and he can be very lazy at times, and his defensive side is poor.

Not sold on Rischitelli. Hasn't gone on with it from the past couple of years. Lacks any X factor and we do seem to have a plethora of midfielders. Class is what I want to add to our midfield. Who currently provides that? Nobody at the moment which is rather disconcerting. I'm keenly watching Hartlett and opinions on him from the experts and knowledgeable posters because he could bring the much needed class to our midfield.
I wouldn't mind Rischitelli, but i wouldn't be disappointed without him either. He may not be flashy, but he is tough, quite quick, can win his own ball and his tackling is a great quality of his. Rischitelli is quite young and has got 60 odd games of experience, so his best is infront of him. He has a great defensive side and would add some toughness and accountability to our midfield.
BUT, with Welsh, McVeigh, Lonergan and Watson already in our 22 and Hocking and Hislop pushing up for spots, i don't think we really need him.

foj1
3 Sep 2008, 21:38
Rischitelli has more class than just about anyone in our midfield- perhaps McVeigh has him covered. Would take Lovett and a draft pick I reckon.
Notting- No Thomson-No Sylvia- Melbourne would ask too much for an unproven AFL midfielder.

Colin D'Cops
3 Sep 2008, 21:54
I'd certainly be interested in gaining Sylvia's services. A classy, young player that can play either midfield or up forward. I still think Melbourne rate Sylvia highly, he was a classy junior, former pick 3, and has showed patches of form which should excite Dees fans. I think we'd have to offer more than Dyson + our third rounder to be honest, has class written all over him, just hasn't been able to keep himself on the park for long periods of time.

kelvin_sheedy
3 Sep 2008, 22:01
It's a no from me for Rischitelli. I don't think his kicking is that great and we don't need another vanilla midfielder. There's a reason why the Lions were the worst kicking team in the league and he's one piece of the puzzle.

If your a midfielder that's played 60 games you should be getting it more times than 17 per game.

McVeigh, Watson, Stanton, Welsh, Winderlich, Lovett are all better than him.

The kids coming through look like they have the tools to be better also.

go_the_bombers
3 Sep 2008, 22:03
I think Rischitelli will end up staying with the Lions with Voss now coach Voss has always been a fan of him

Jonesy1987
3 Sep 2008, 23:18
I wouldn't mind us chasing Harding, can be very good but can also go missing, maybe a change in scenery would be good for him.

mick4
4 Sep 2008, 11:03
I'd certainly be interested in gaining Sylvia's services. A classy, young player that can play either midfield or up forward. I still think Melbourne rate Sylvia highly, he was a classy junior, former pick 3, and has showed patches of form which should excite Dees fans. I think we'd have to offer more than Dyson + our third rounder to be honest, has class written all over him, just hasn't been able to keep himself on the park for long periods of time.

Sylvia was meant to as sure of thing to step straight in to the AFL from the U/18 as anyone I can remember bar Cooney. He has no tank what so ever that is why he plays up forward so much. Has loads of talent but if they trade Lovett for being undisciplined, they would be hypocritical bringing in Sylvia.

HFF_07
4 Sep 2008, 11:04
What are peoples thoughts on young Jayden Attard, some talk is being bantied around that he is going to be delisted by the saints, he is described as a 'pacy midfielder-defender' could be a handy aquisition, have always thought he was a handy little player, is not such a high possesion winner, but is a solid player, and does his job.

Sigmund
4 Sep 2008, 11:46
What are peoples thoughts on young Jayden Attard, some talk is being bantied around that he is going to be delisted by the saints, he is described as a 'pacy midfielder-defender' could be a handy aquisition, have always thought he was a handy little player, is not such a high possesion winner, but is a solid player, and does his job.

We seem to already have a lot of these players HFF...:(

GoDons
4 Sep 2008, 12:47
I'm not jumping up and down about going after Rischitelli, if indeed we are.

I rate him to an extent, but he's a long way from being an elite player, and I wouldn't want to commit to paying an enormous amount for a guy that may never be more than average.

eth-dog
4 Sep 2008, 16:06
Really really want Rischitelli, as he is a class act and will be useful for our next Premiership assault

Smyth94
4 Sep 2008, 16:06
Rischitelli has more class than just about anyone in our midfield- perhaps McVeigh has him covered. Would take Lovett and a draft pick I reckon.
Notting- No Thomson-No Sylvia- Melbourne would ask too much for an unproven AFL midfielder.

I think you're overrating Rischa - definitely has some good qualities - hard worker, decent kick, gets his own ball, but to say he has more class than just about anyone in our midfield is a bit of a stretch.

For some one who is inconsistent (albiet still young), I wouldn't be paying the reported $380,000 per year for him.

I'm not jumping up and down about going after Rischitelli, if indeed we are.

I rate him to an extent, but he's a long way from being an elite player, and I wouldn't want to commit to paying an enormous amount for a guy that may never be more than average.

More accurate view of Michael

Mighty_bombers
4 Sep 2008, 17:23
With Nathan Corroll on the bad list at the Dee's and not even getting a game there would you like to see him come to Bomber land to Replace Mal on the list or do you think we should wait and find our own young gun backman

Colin D'Cops
4 Sep 2008, 17:27

Not to keen on him, hasn't been able to crack the St.Kilda side, and previously couldn't crack Brisbane's either. Solid player, nothing more, do we really need anymore of them 'solid type' midfielders..? Got plenty of them solid type midfielders, time to add a bit of class me thinks during the trade period. :p

TimeIsRunningOut
4 Sep 2008, 17:30
28 years old, can't play and a bit of a headcase. I would hope not.

Colin D'Cops
4 Sep 2008, 17:31
Well, if he's being thrown out the door for a pack of salt & vinegar chips, I might think about.
Moving onto some draft picks (albeit late) or trading some of our regular players doesn't sit that well with me for him, hasn't got much more to give but could be handy, waiting for Pears, Daniher & Hooker to develop.

Ludwig van Bertstare
4 Sep 2008, 17:32
He's not a good defender, is known for indiscretions and can barely get a game at Melbourne.

The_Young_Gun
4 Sep 2008, 17:37
We should try negotiate with geelong and pick up someone like Prismall, Djerrkura or Tenace.

I've secretly always wanted Rooke to goto Essendon for years.

Colin D'Cops
4 Sep 2008, 17:46
We should try negotiate with geelong and pick up someone like Prismall, Djerrkura or Tenace.

I've secretly always wanted Rooke to goto Essendon for years.

Djerrkura I'd be very keen on, love the way he goes about his footy and hasn't had many / if any chances in the seniors at the Cats to prove himself.
You can forget Tenace, but Prismall would be worth a shot with a 4th round selection, otherwise they can keep him playing for their emergencies if they wish.

Windas_Magic
4 Sep 2008, 17:48
Hell no

KaaN10
4 Sep 2008, 17:53
A guy that cant get a game at Melbourne would of got a game this year at Essendon.

But no thanks.

DonMania#5
4 Sep 2008, 17:56
I think i will stop supporting Essendon if we get Carroll.

thebigboy
4 Sep 2008, 17:59
With Nathan Corroll on the bad list at the Dee's and not even getting a game there would you like to see him come to Bomber land to Replace Mal on the list or do you think we should wait and find our own young gun backman

I would rather not play a backman than play Carroll.

Enki
4 Sep 2008, 18:00

Heh, yeah. At least no one won't give away free kicks and get in other players way.

R_n_B
4 Sep 2008, 20:51

The perfect example of addition by subraction then?

BTW, I'm with everyone else, please keep Nathan Carroll and his crazy facial hair/hair do mix away from the Essendon jumper

The_Young_Gun
4 Sep 2008, 21:07
Carroll, 27, SICK! Hair do!

NUH!

But, Wouldn't mind Colin Garland or Jarrod Rivers to make a transition into a bombers guernsey...

Rutherbrother
5 Sep 2008, 07:56
would it be worth Hawthorn and the players time to trade say a Beau Dowler or a Mitch thorp plus pick 15 to Essendon for Pick 6. This is thus giving Essendon a KPP and another first round pick in a deep draft, and Hawthorn could pick-up Hurley who is said to be one of the best CHB in a few years?

In my opinion if essendon agree Hawthorn should do this as they have an abundance of key forward talent (Roughie, Buddy, Boyle, Williams can play FF) and Hurley could step straight into a Key backline post. This would make them a legitimate threat to Geelong next year.

Sigmund
5 Sep 2008, 09:08
would it be worth Hawthorn and the players time to trade say a Beau Dowler or a Mitch thorp plus pick 15 to Essendon for Pick 6. This is thus giving Essendon a KPP and another first round pick in a deep draft, and Hawthorn could pick-up Hurley who is said to be one of the best CHB in a few years?

In my opinion if essendon agree Hawthorn should do this as they have an abundance of key forward talent (Roughie, Buddy, Boyle, Williams can play FF) and Hurley could step straight into a Key backline post. This would make them a legitimate threat to Geelong next year.

Ruther -- Essendon are not in the business of attempting to help their rivals become legitimate threats to Geelong. Essendon would lose massively in this trade... We will keep pick 5 thank you very much:)

bombersno1
5 Sep 2008, 15:37

Remind us why would we need ANOTHER KPP FORWARD..we have Gumbleton, Neagle, Daniher, Hooker already. And we are not giving away pick 6 for a bloke who is a)injury prone and b) not in the first string side. No chance whatsoever. You want to trade then offer something we NEED, not something we have excess of (KPP forwards). We are not going to give up our shot of getting Hurley to benefit Hawthorn!

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
5 Sep 2008, 16:38
Putting some things out there, as Kerr is one step closer to being on the market, and WCE are looking at Lovett, a potential deal could be done there. Also a key backman would also be great to pick up in the. I also think looking some Geelong player would be interesting, due to the fact that they have about 30 or so players that could play in the side, yet are not given the chance, Prismal being just one.

A defender from Fremantle would be too bad either.

bombersno1
5 Sep 2008, 16:49
No thanks to Kerr. Would cost too much for a ill-disciplined player both on and off the field. I'd rather Cousins and that is saying something. No to either of them!

Ben the Gooner
5 Sep 2008, 17:06
No thanks to Kerr. Would cost too much for a ill-disciplined player both on and off the field. I'd rather Cousins and that is saying something. No to either of them!

It's not often I agree with you, but absolutely spot on.:thumbsu:

Hislop200
5 Sep 2008, 17:25
What if we could pick up Kerr and Pick 18 for Pick 5 and Lovett.

Windas_Magic
5 Sep 2008, 17:29
What if we could pick up Kerr and Pick 18 for Pick 5 and Lovett.
Dreaming

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
5 Sep 2008, 17:42
Watching Footy Show last night, was reported that Kerr missed out on a team meeting (again), looks like he's on the go, anything could be possible...?

3 Teams were interested in Lovett (as he is also on the skidz at Windy Hill due to his problems). They were WCE, Freo and someone else who i cant remember.

A fast midfielder is something we also lack, maybe because of injuries but lets face it, Stanton is a great play but isn't the fastest unfortunately. The only problem is that many players are due to come back for 2009, the like of Davey and Winderlich, Dempsey, houli just to metion a few.

Prismall is my bet for a top midfielder we could Trade for.

Hislop200
5 Sep 2008, 19:13
Personally I hope we dont trade for Kerr or Prismall, unless we get a bargain
I would prefer us to draft our own champions

The_Young_Gun
5 Sep 2008, 19:33
Wouldn't mind Lovett to Geelong for Prismall + 2nd rounder.

DaSawx
5 Sep 2008, 20:06
Personally I hope we dont trade for Kerr or Prismall, unless we get a bargain
I would prefer us to draft our own champions

I agree, Kerr will cost too much while Prismall is a little overrated

HFF_07
5 Sep 2008, 23:07
We seem to already have a lot of these players HFF...:(

Attasrd is a small defender-cum midfielder (Shane Crawford, Jason Gram) type player, played 20 games in 2007 but was crittically struck down with a knee injury last year, is a strong bodied small defender, am only throwing it out thier guys, just seeing what people think of it, has talent, he has plaed good solid footy in the back half for the saints, but may need to look elsewhere for chances,

GoDons
5 Sep 2008, 23:40
Attasrd is a small defender-cum midfielder (Shane Crawford, Jason Gram) type player, played 20 games in 2007 but was crittically struck down with a knee injury last year, is a strong bodied small defender, am only throwing it out thier guys, just seeing what people think of it, has talent, he has plaed good solid footy in the back half for the saints, but may need to look elsewhere for chances,

For starters, Shane Crawford was a rover from day dot and Jason Gram could run the 100m twice before Jayden Attard ran 50m. There are no similarities between those two and Jayden Attard.

Attard's a poor man's Henry Slattery. He's not quick, he's not skilled and by no means is he a ball magnet. However, he's willing to do a job and has the discipline to stick to it.

We don't need those types, we've already got them.

Besides, depending on how he's knee's come along this year, I wouldn't be at all surprised if St Kilda kept him either. It wasn't poor form keeping him out of the side.

HFF_07
6 Sep 2008, 00:33
Well, To be honest, I have said thid before, I am willing to back in our draft picks,

so unless we can get more high draft picks, why trade,

R_n_B
6 Sep 2008, 10:59
Yep, for what West Coast would want, we would have to give up too much including high pick(s) and young talent, which goes against Knight's plan of building the club within with the young guys. So NO to Kerr for me.

However, Prismall is younger then Kerr and we wouldn't have to give up as much. I like the trade suggested of Lovett for Prismall + 2nd rd pick, don;t know if will happen tough.

I won't be upset if we don't make any trades and just keep all our draft picks.

Reimers
6 Sep 2008, 11:23
Yep, for what West Coast would want, we would have to give up too much including high pick(s) and young talent, which goes against Knight's plan of building the club within with the young guys. So NO to Kerr for me.

However, Prismall is younger then Kerr and we wouldn't have to give up as much. I like the trade suggested of Lovett for Prismall + 2nd rd pick, don;t know if will happen tough.

I won't be upset if we don't make any trades and just keep all our draft picks.

Would love to get Kerr but don't want to trade young kids or draft picks for him

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
6 Sep 2008, 12:00
Lovett looks gone, so as much as we would like to keep picks, a deal is going to be struck up somewhere?

I think Prismall is underrated, good hard and fast midfielder.

Ludwig van Bertstare
6 Sep 2008, 12:30
He's an outside player with iffy skills. People overlook his flaws because of how much of the ball he gets.

Spikey
6 Sep 2008, 12:32
Under-rated? :eek: The way people talk about him here you'd think he has won a Brownlow

GoDons
6 Sep 2008, 13:02
He's an outside player with iffy skills. People overlook his flaws because of how much of the ball he gets.

I'm not on the Prismall bandwagon by any means, but I think his skills are a fair bit better than iffy.

The guy can play, he'd be in just about any other side's 22 if he wasn't at Geelong. He just wouldn't be amongst the first rotation of midfielders.

If he comes cheap, he's worth pursuing.

Windas_Magic
6 Sep 2008, 13:05
I'm not on the Prismall bandwagon by any means, but I think his skills are a fair bit better than iffy.

The guy can play, he'd be in just about any other side's 22 if he wasn't at Geelong. He just wouldn't be amongst the first rotation of midfielders.

If he comes cheap, he's worth pursuing.
Prismall does have good skills but that's about it.
Lacks pace, is very outside and goes missing in pressure games. He's also unnacountable and pushes forward a lot, definitely not what we need.

GoDons
6 Sep 2008, 13:12
Prismall does have good skills but that's about it.
Lacks pace, is very outside and goes missing in pressure games. He's also unnacountable and pushes forward a lot, definitely not what we need.

I don't think he's what we need either, but he would be a handy depth player.

He's not a disaster as a footballer, guys that find the ball and deliver well aren't all that easy to find.

If he came extremely cheap, as in a 4th rounder, I think we'd look at it.

Windas_Magic
6 Sep 2008, 14:10
I don't think he's what we need either, but he would be a handy depth player.

He's not a disaster as a footballer, guys that find the ball and deliver well aren't all that easy to find.

If he came extremely cheap, as in a 4th rounder, I think we'd look at it.
If he does leave Geelong at all, then they would demand something higher than that. Probably a second rounder, early third. As i said i'm not interested in him but he will draw some good offers from clubs.

reincarnated
6 Sep 2008, 19:17
Does anyone think that we might be able to get a late first round picks or early second round for the following players?

A.Lovett
A.McPhee
J.Widerlich
J.Nash

I think Lovett, McPhee and Winderlich are worth late first round...if Jordan McMahon is worth pick 19 then Nash and Winderlich should be able to get early second round.

I think it's crucial we look to deal for these picks in this draft.

Ludwig van Bertstare
6 Sep 2008, 19:43
Richmond were stupid enough to give up the 19th pick for McMahon though.

In this draft I doubt you'd get a late first for any of them.

toddy104
6 Sep 2008, 19:48
Hate to change the subject.

But who thinks we can get Kerr? Lovett and top draft pick?

He would ad the class we need to get near finals action.

I need finals:(

Help me. PLEASE

Colin D'Cops
6 Sep 2008, 20:18
Richmond were stupid enough to give up the 19th pick for McMahon though.

In this draft I doubt you'd get a late first for any of them.

Late first for McPhee & Lovett you would think. McPhee former AA, Lovett Anzac Day Medallist, proven performer on the big stage.
Winderlich worth a 2nd rounder, Nash 3rd rounder.

Wahooti Fandango
6 Sep 2008, 20:56
Would anyone be interested in trading for Winderlich? I think he is a good player, but have doubts as to whether he will ever be fully fit.

Ludwig van Bertstare
6 Sep 2008, 20:58
No point trading him if his value is at its lowest.

Colin D'Cops
6 Sep 2008, 21:03
Would anyone be interested in trading for Winderlich? I think he is a good player, but have doubts as to whether he will ever be fully fit.

Well, they would, but not what we would be after. Hasn't been able to string 2-3 good seasons together and hasn't got complete confidence in his body. Besides, we know he has got the talent, but can't put it together as of yet. If he can, he could be a star with his pace and creativeness. I see a light at the end of the tunnel with this guy, but the light is slowly disappearing, so he better make an impact before the light disappears fully, because people's patience is getting thinner by the month.

Windas_Magic
6 Sep 2008, 21:11
Well, they would, but not what we would be after. Hasn't been able to string 2-3 good seasons together and hasn't got complete confidence in his body. Besides, we know he has got the talent, but can't put it together as of yet. If he can, he could be a star with his pace and creativeness. I see a light at the end of the tunnel with this guy, but the light is slowly disappearing, so he better make an impact before the light disappears fully, because people's patience is getting thinner by the month.
And to add to that, with Lovett gone that would make 7 departures to the list, which is more than enough. You just can't get rid of everyone in one season.

If Winderlich can't stay on the park for a majority on next year, then he may find himself in trouble but at the moment he is comftorably in our best 22 and adds a lot to our side through the midfield and up forward.

Colin D'Cops
6 Sep 2008, 21:14
Yep, agree with that.

Wahooti Fandango
6 Sep 2008, 21:19
And to add to that, with Lovett gone that would make 7 departures to the list, which is more than enough. You just can't get rid of everyone in one season.

If Winderlich can't stay on the park for a majority on next year, then he may find himself in trouble but at the moment he is comftorably in our best 22 and adds a lot to our side through the midfield and up forward.

Fair call.

eth-dog
7 Sep 2008, 08:41
What do people think of trying to get Andrew Raines? he's fast, young, good skills and could be the HB we've been looking for. thoughts?

Another one is Michael Rischitelli. he can play in the midfield or up on the HFF, and could be a useful pick-up for Lovett.

we need a HBF, Rischitelli is just too good to give up this chance for, and 2 more ruckmen: Jeff White and Bart McCulloch

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
7 Sep 2008, 09:21
7 departures, more like 9 (including rookies): Peverill, Michael, Rama, Johnson, Johns, Lee, Charters, Dick and looks like Lovett.

How DO you replace that many players with quality?

bombersno1
7 Sep 2008, 12:44
What do people think of trying to get Andrew Raines? he's fast, young, good skills and could be the HB we've been looking for. thoughts?

Another one is Michael Rischitelli. he can play in the midfield or up on the HFF, and could be a useful pick-up for Lovett.

we need a HBF, Rischitelli is just too good to give up this chance for, and 2 more ruckmen: Jeff White and Bart McCulloch

Agreed on Raines. Would love him at Essendon, but at what cost? No more than a 3rd rounder please!

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
7 Sep 2008, 12:54
Little bit out of the blue, but what do people think of Dodd as a defender?

bomba4eva
7 Sep 2008, 14:06
Decent list. Few problems though..Tom Swift will go first round (Geelong are the ones I recon though). Yarran is too high for mine. Cordy will go 2nd round (no-one will bid a 1st rounder for him)
Cordy is an interesting one. Read someone from the Doggies talking about their interest in Lovett, and they mentioned that they are keen on a father/son with their 1st rounder (Cordy obviously) so that might pose a dilemma as to a fair trade. If Cordy wasn't nominated by a club with their 1st rounder, the Dogs might be happy then to give up their 1st rounder for Lovett. They will probablyhave a pick around 13-14 which in my view is Lovett's market value. Personally this is what I am hoping for.

Hirdman
7 Sep 2008, 14:41
I woule love Chaplain or maybe Frawley then we could use pick 5 on Vickery (if port dont get him), or the best midfielder. I really dont think we need Richetellie or Rains, we have good clearence players and (if fit) good creative running backs - Dempsey, Myers, maybe Houli

Big Blow Hard
7 Sep 2008, 15:31
Brent Primsall has done his ACL (possibly). Would seriously hurt the chances of us considering him as a recruit.

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
7 Sep 2008, 16:45
Yeah just saw that, it would be a gamble. I think Geelong would try and see how much they can get for him, and depending on offers, either trade or keep him. They've got so many good players in their side, they could just keep him for another year. Really depends if he thinks they can win another Premiership the year after next.

Cant wait till we get Davey and Houli back :D. All we need is a solid defense!

Colin D'Cops
7 Sep 2008, 17:33
Little bit out of the blue, but what do people think of Dodd as a defender?

Not totally shit, but Duffield I quite like the look of, would trade a 4th round draft pick for him. 23 years old, need a few more in that age bracket, and he is one that is a little underrated I feel, looks pretty good with the ball in his hands.

Darealrath
7 Sep 2008, 17:58
Brent Primsall has done his ACL (possibly). Would seriously hurt the chances of us considering him as a recruit.

I'd still offer a 4th rounder.

Big Blow Hard
7 Sep 2008, 18:00
I'd still offer a 4th rounder.

Maybe. I guess he might be gotten at a reduced price. Would just have to wait to see the benifits.

GoDons
7 Sep 2008, 18:14

I don't mind the idea of having a crack at Andrew Raines to be honest. Whilst Henry Slattery no doubt improved as the season went on, Raines could be the type that gives us more than just a shut down job.

How much he'd cost is hard to say; we wouldn't want to pay over the odds. And after his Dad...

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
7 Sep 2008, 18:18
haven't paid much attention to Raines..

Trade week is start of October?

bombersno1
7 Sep 2008, 18:24
Cordy is an interesting one. Read someone from the Doggies talking about their interest in Lovett, and they mentioned that they are keen on a father/son with their 1st rounder (Cordy obviously) so that might pose a dilemma as to a fair trade. If Cordy wasn't nominated by a club with their 1st rounder, the Dogs might be happy then to give up their 1st rounder for Lovett. They will probablyhave a pick around 13-14 which in my view is Lovett's market value. Personally this is what I am hoping for.

Won't happen. Lovett is not worth more than a 3rd rounder. Fair dinkum some people on here overate him. Flashes of brilliance but is worth no more than Akermanis (pick 34). Cordy will go 2nd round, if the Dogs want Lovett then we may get their 3rd rounder which is about right.

bombersno1
7 Sep 2008, 18:26

Feel sorry for the bloke, but if there is one positive it is that he won't be at Essendon then I will take it. Very outside and a frontrunner.

Big Blow Hard
7 Sep 2008, 18:29
Feel sorry for the bloke, but if there is one positive it is that he won't be at Essendon then I will take it. Very outside and a frontrunner.

It might guarantee he stays at Geelong. They might not want to look like the bad guys if they trade him off after hurting himself in their finals cause.

Hislop200
7 Sep 2008, 18:30
Won't happen. Lovett is not worth more than a 3rd rounder. Fair dinkum some people on here overate him. Flashes of brilliance but is worth no more than Akermanis (pick 34). Cordy will go 2nd round, if the Dogs want Lovett then we may get their 3rd rounder which is about right.

And you would Know?

bombersno1
7 Sep 2008, 18:33
And you would Know?

Why on earth would you offer a first rounder for Cordy. He is good, but he isn't that good. As for Lovett, he is worth a mid to low 3rd rounder, and that is plenty for a outside player with off field problems.

bombersno1
7 Sep 2008, 18:35
Which is good as the LAST thing we need is another frontrunner who is outside.

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
7 Sep 2008, 18:37
It's more likely everyone will feel sorry for him, than start burning Geelong. I'm not too sure anyone will want him, because he will miss the whole 2009 season if its confirmed ACL.

bomba4eva
7 Sep 2008, 18:46
Why on earth would you offer a first rounder for Cordy. He is good, but he isn't that good. As for Lovett, he is worth a mid to low 3rd rounder, and that is plenty for a outside player with off field problems.
And how would you know how good Cordy is? He has been injured this year and if I remember correctly you were found out to be a complete fraud when it comes to knowledge on potential draftees. Forgive me for not paying much attention to your opinion...:o

We shall see what Lovett can net us and I will come and apologise for overrating Lovett's value if all we receive for him is a 3rd rounder or later.

Tough to take you seriously when we all know you are a fraud.

ant555
7 Sep 2008, 18:46
Which is good as the LAST thing we need is another frontrunner who is outside.

Your compasion is simply outstanding :rolleyes:
You don't have to say everything you think ;)

Colin D'Cops
7 Sep 2008, 19:00
Won't happen. Lovett is not worth more than a 3rd rounder. Flashes of brilliance but is worth no more than Akermanis (pick 34). Cordy will go 2nd round, if the Dogs want Lovett then we may get their 3rd rounder which is about right.

Who do you think is the better player ; Lovett or McMahon?

McMahon got the Doggies a top 20 pick, so if you have to think about that answer even for thirty seconds, than he is definitely worth an early second round pick.

Windas_Magic
7 Sep 2008, 19:03
You do realise the Lovett is 25 at the moment and at the time when Akermanis was traded, he was around 29.

Lovett isn't worth a first rounder but if we packaged him with pick 23 then we should get something decent for him.

Ben the Gooner
7 Sep 2008, 19:05
ant, what are your thoughts on Prismall? I'm not the biggest fan, but I'd be interested to see what you think.

ant555
7 Sep 2008, 19:05
I don't think you can really compare different years when looking at values as there are some very uneven results from year to year. In the end it comes down to what clubs are willing to pay each trade period.
This year they may even struggle to get a second round pick for Lovett.

ant555
7 Sep 2008, 19:08
ant, what are your thoughts on Prismall? I'm not the biggest fan, but I'd be interested to see what you think.

Not really a fan . Reasonably good player but i think there are better prospects in this years draft. Before he injured himself i would not have been looking to give up a second rounder for him.

bomba4eva
7 Sep 2008, 19:08
You do realise the Lovett is 25 at the moment and at the time when Akermanis was traded, he was around 29.

Lovett isn't worth a first rounder but if we packaged him with pick 23 then we should get something decent for him.
It is something that I have been thinking about over the passed couple of days. Would we be able to snare a no. 10 pick if we were to combine Lovett + 2nd rounder. Hopefully Knights is looking at all these options.

ant555
7 Sep 2008, 19:11
It is something that I have been thinking about over the passed couple of days. Would we be able to snare a no. 10 pick if we were to combine Lovett + 2nd rounder. Hopefully Knights is looking at all these options.

Personally i don't think there is any chance of it happening. If someone offers a early to mid third rounder i think we would be wise to take it.

Enki
7 Sep 2008, 19:11
Who do you think is the better player ; Lovett or McMahon?

McMahon got the Doggies a top 20 pick, so if you have to think about that answer even for thirty seconds, than he is definitely worth an early second round pick.

I'm not saying Lovett is only worth a third rounder, but I should point out your logic is flawed.

The fact that Richmond gave the Dogs a top 20 pick does not neccessary mean McMahon was actually worth that, all it means is that Richmond payed that (perhaps the Dogs are simply better negotiators).

We payed around 23 (?) for Cole a while back, and there is no way he was worth that. So while Lovett may be worth more than a third rounder the fact that other players who were arguably worse players have gone for higher picks does not demonstrate Lovett is worth that much.

Maybe he is or maybe teams have payed over the price they should have for worse players.

Ben the Gooner
7 Sep 2008, 19:22
Before his injury would you have traded a 3rd or 4th rounder?

ant555
7 Sep 2008, 19:24
I would like to know exactly what Lovett has done that makes people think he is an attractive option for a high pick. Apart from 3 or 4 really good games he has been a disapointment.
In 66 games he has averaged only 16 disposals , 1.1 goals per game and 2.3 tackles per game. This year his average disposals was up slightly to 18 but his goals per game dropped to 0.8 and he had 9 games that he did not kick a goal in out of 17 games.
If he is this game breaker that everyone thinks he is would it not be unfair to be expecting to average 20 disposals and kicking 25 to 35 goals a season and also be averaging around 5 tackles per games with his pace to run down players ?

Ludwig van Bertstare
7 Sep 2008, 19:29
It's because he does one awesome thing a game and it sticks in peoples heads

Enki
7 Sep 2008, 19:31
If he is this game breaker that everyone thinks he is would it not be unfair to be expecting to average 20 disposals and kicking 25 to 35 goals a season and also be averaging around 5 tackles per games with his pace to run down players ?

That's a fair assessment. Mine has always been a little simpler, if he is the game breaker that everyone thinks he is, why do I never see him break games open (and no, an ANZAC game 3/4 years ago no longer holds any currency and going for a flashy run through the center of the ground every few game doesn't either).

ant555
7 Sep 2008, 19:31
Before his injury would you have traded a 3rd or 4th rounder?

I would have thought a third rounder but i belive Geelong would have been looking second rounder.