View Full Version : Cloke out for 2
Maverick
24 Sep 2002, 21:43
Cloke out for 2 matches.
Bad luck for him...but that's the way it goes.
Justice, not bad luck Mav.
That was as crude a biff to the snoz as you are ever likely to see.
Now for the Biomechanic experts, Human Movement professors, barristers, QC's, appeals, waling and gnashing of teeth from Eddie McMedia and the inevitable "appeal dismissed".
We have had to cop it sweet in the past for important Finals (Chris Scott, Craig McRae in 1999)
Now it's someone else's turn.
One thing's for sure.
Cloke's suspension won't do us any harm at all.
Maverick
24 Sep 2002, 22:02
Thinking along the same lines as you Luthor....it will do us no harm at all.
In fact, I rate Cloke as their most important player.
With regard to wanting to beat the pies at full strength....I don't care...I just want to win.
good to see you on another board luthor welcome from tassie
go you mighty lions !! i agree on cloke has been a real backbone to there defence and they will miss him. i hear tarrent isnt fit either will they do a port and go with unfit players ???
I couldn't care less if we win the Flag because their whole team comes down with German Measles on GF day!!!!
History record Premiers, not the excuses of the Runners-Ups.
The more things going our way, the better.
NICK THE PIE MAN
24 Sep 2002, 22:29
Originally posted by luthor
Justice, not bad luck Mav.
That was as crude a biff to the snoz as you are ever likely to see.
And Lynch's coincidenal 1 week suspension in the QF last year when he decked Wakelin wasn't?
originally posted by NICK THE PIEMAN
And Lynch's coincidenal 1 week suspension in the QF last year when he decked Wakelin wasn't?
Lynch is a true legend and should not ever get suspended.
Member of the original Lynch M.O.B.
Point taken.
However, whatever Lynchy did wasn't captured in glorious living detail by 17 different camera angles.
So it basically came down to a description of the deed by the field umpire. There was a story going around that someone or other had accidently captured the "Lynching" of Wakelin on a Camcorder from behind the goalposts. I am also led to believe that the tape in question may have been burnt!!! (thank God)
Cloke's biff may or may not have been worse than the Lynch incident.
But the moral of the story is that it's not a good idea to go the biff in the centre of the ground with all those TV cameras just waiting to soak up the evidence.
NICK THE PIE MAN
24 Sep 2002, 23:02
Originally posted by luthor
Point taken.
However, whatever Lynchy did wasn't captured in glorious living detail by 17 different camera angles.
So it basically came down to a description of the deed by the field umpire. There was a story going around that someone or other had accidently captured the "Lynching" of Wakelin on a Camcorder from behind the goalposts. I am also led to believe that the tape in question may have been burnt!!! (thank God)
Cloke's biff may or may not have been worse than the Lynch incident.
But the moral of the story is that it's not a good idea to go the biff in the centre of the ground with all those TV cameras just waiting to soak up the evidence.
Actually there was video of the incident.
Its on 'That was the season it was' from last year which I tape every year.
Deep down I know Cloke probably deserved a suspension. I just feel incredibly sorry for him and the circumstances. Its only his 1st season and his dad was saying he hasn't slept since it happened and Jason broke down when giving evidence and again when the sentence was handed down. I wonder if this will leave him with some kind of mental scars.
Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
24 Sep 2002, 23:13
Originally posted by NICK THE PIE MAN
I wonder if this will leave him with some kind of mental scars.
was wondering this too :( I just could not handle something like that happening, i just hope he will be ok and that it doesn't affect the way he plays his football either.
I hope he is at least allowed in the parade on Friday whether or not that would upset him more i dunno :(
keatings_gal
24 Sep 2002, 23:59
LOVE his dad's choice of hair style....
MULLLLLLLLLETTTTT!!!!!!
now all he needs is a UNCLE PIMFELSNORK hey ripper.....
lioness
25 Sep 2002, 00:20
Originally posted by Slax
Lynch is a true legend and should not ever get suspended.
So very true.
SpecialBruce
25 Sep 2002, 01:32
He deserves it. You don't misjudge something like that. It doesn't matter if he was going for his arms, the fact is he misjudged everything and happened to break Edwards nose who happened to be having a good game. That stuff should not be done on the footy field. Its his own fault and no one elses. If he broke down then so be it. He, his father and the club can blame himself for being suspended and not the umpires or the tribunal.
couldnt really see any other option than the tribunal ruling as it has but it needs to be said that collingwood has taught its backmen, and mainly the kids in defence, that a roundhouse like clokey used is prefered to a simple punch on the ball as this would only send the pill back inside their attacking 50. clokey (and others) have used this repeatedly throughout the year with good effect. its not an excuse - as i said, he misjudged it and for a second's worth of miscalculation, he'll miss a GF. it was reckless and in line with precedent, he had to go. the disappointment cant be under-estimated though, particularly for a kid and a possible change in his approach to his game. it would be a shame if this robs collingwood and footy of the next glenn archer.
Lynch's incident was entirely different. It involved two players wrestling, from memory. Likewise, the actual 'strike' involved in that particular incident, wasn't deemed to be as willfully or recklessly dangerous as perhaps that of Cloke.
Lynch still receive a 1 week suspension, which was probably and appropriate penalty . . . especially considering many thought that he was unlucky to cop a suspension (based on the actual incident), in the first place.
NICK THE PIE MAN
25 Sep 2002, 10:25
Originally posted by Stocka
Lynch's incident was entirely different. It involved two players wrestling, from memory. Likewise, the actual 'strike' involved in that particular incident, wasn't deemed to be as willfully or recklessly dangerous as perhaps that of Cloke.
How is a punch to the head knocking out Wakelin not wilful and reckless?
NICK THE PIE MAN
25 Sep 2002, 10:48
Originally posted by keatings_gal
MULLLLLLLLLETTTTT!!!!!!
:D
Clokey snr is a legend.
Thank God he went to Collingwood in the 80's.
Its still paying dividends. We got Jason and his 2 brothers that are coming along.
I never said it wasn't (either wilfull or reckless), but merely not to the same degree as in the Cloke incident. Likewise, both players were engaging in wrestling at the time, so therefore, the situation is of a different nature to begin with.
At any rate, Wakelin wasn't knocked out. Port Adelaide reported that he suffered concussion . . . but at the same time, he remained on the ground for a period after the actual incident.
Likewise, in comparison to the two week suspension that Lynch received for his arm throw-back to Fletcher earlier this year, you could almost say that Cloke was lucky not to get more weeks for his incident (as was J.Brown for his incident in the same match against Essendon).
There is little point in trying to dissect the consistency of the tribunal. Especially so, when in this case, the penalty is probably appropriate (apart from the fact that he is going to miss the GF).
How is Lynch's incident relevant to this week's game?
Cloke is out - deserved to be rubbed out - end of story.
Another point....
In the "no rules" game against the Bombers, Lynch DID get done for 2 weeks for "striking" Dustin Fletcher.
Lynch wasn't even looking at Flecther at the time. Fletcher was directly behind Lynch and arguably was making every effort to impede Lynch from making a lead out from the goalsquare. Lynch threw his arm back and caught Fletcher a fairly harmless glancing blow which didn't even require Fletcher getting any treatment.
Yet the tribinal deemed this action "reckless" enough for Lynchy to get a two week holiday.
Having set this standard for a "reckless" action, there is NO WAY a clumsy, crude spoil that results in a guy's nose being broken and him being unable to take any further part in the game, can go unpunished.
In all sincerity, I do feel some sympathy for Cloke.
Nevertheless, the Tribunal HAD to suspend him, or it would have ended up a bigger laughing stock than it already is!! For Gawd's sake , Cloke's attempted "spoil" missed it's mark(the ball) by a good METRE!!
If the Appeals mob uphold this Cloke appeal, the Tribunal and Appeals system will lose any semblance of credibility that remains.
And players such as Lynch and Andrew McLeod would be justified in consulting their friendly local QC to seek compensation for their suspensions.
MSB ROYS
26 Sep 2002, 11:28
I would also like Cloke to play but unfortunately he did deserve the suspension. Here's hoping for a good game. Maybe it will give Jarrod a chance.
Mr Ripper
30 Sep 2002, 21:06
Originally posted by keatings_gal
MULLLLLLLLLETTTTT!!!!!!
now all he needs is a UNCLE PIMFELSNORK hey ripper..... The challenge is about to be set. Need sponsorship, though. :o
SpecialBruce
30 Sep 2002, 22:12
SB's Beauty Tip of the day.
Clokey Snr needs to shape his hair more like a MacGyver mullet.