View Full Version : Laycock signs two year contract extension

Pages : [1] 2

AndyLesPaul
7 Sep 2008, 09:14
Finally. to put an end to all haters

He is staying

Thoughts?
i'll get the herald sun source when i find it.

Windas_Magic
7 Sep 2008, 09:29
Was always going to stay but two years? I would've thought a one year deal would've been more reasonable seeing that he is well and trully at the cross-roads.

DaSawx
7 Sep 2008, 09:44
I'm happy, he does have a tonne of potential still.

We just need a veteran to make him fight for his spot and keep him honest.

ant555
7 Sep 2008, 09:44
Going to jump in with a warning here. Critisize away but remember to stay withing the rules and be a little constructive in your displeasure ;)

ant555
7 Sep 2008, 09:46
All i am going to say is lets hope he finds a bit of anger and fires up a bit.
He has the ability , he just needs to find something in his mental approach to the game and get a bit of mongrel into his game.

sausageroll
7 Sep 2008, 09:48
Pretty happy with that. Hopefully 2009 will be his breakout year.
Still think he's gonna be a star. Hope this contract extension gives him the confidence he needs:thumbsu:

BABYBOMBERS2007
7 Sep 2008, 09:51
Why is he staying. Bellchambers has shown more than Laycock.

Spikey
7 Sep 2008, 09:56

No, he hasn't.

Windas_Magic
7 Sep 2008, 09:57
Here's the article, thanks to Fraz from BomberBlitz:

Laid-Up Laycock Signs Extension
Maligned Essendon ruckman Jason Laycock has signed a two-year contract extension with the Bombers.

Laycock's manager, Anthony McConville, said the deal was signed recently and might put an end to trade speculation.

The 24-year-old, who has carried ankle and hip injuries this year, is resting after having a screw inserted into his ankle.

"If they wanted to trade him that's up to them," McConville said.
"But I highly doubt they would, given their lack of ruck stocks.

"I expect Jason will be a valuable player for Essendon for many years to come."

Laycock will go in for hip surgery next week, but is expected to be fit to start pre-season training"

EssendonPride
7 Sep 2008, 09:57

No he hasn't.
Ridiculous statement. Yes Belly is alot younger, and shows alot of potential (For what it's worth I think he'll be great, very likely he'll finish his career well ahead of Laycock).

But judging them purely on what they've shown, Laycock is miles ahead.

blitzer
7 Sep 2008, 10:04
His performances have not been up to par this season, however we do need him. On our entire list there are perhaps 4 ruck options. Hille, Bellchambers, Laycock and Ryder. Now Hille is the only one of these that we can reliably depend on to do a good job in the ruck week in week out (and that wasn't even as late as last year). Bellchambers is still very raw, will only be a second year player and its not reasonable to expect a full season from him even as second ruck, i am hoping he will play about 10 games next year but i'm not really sure what we can expect from him. Ryder has shown some good things in the ruck but really for someone with his athleticism he hasn't been real effective around the ground whilst playing in the ruck and doesn't win a lot of ball, in any case he is needed in defence.

Basically we need Laycock, we don't have enough options, the ones we do have are not physically mature enough or reliable enough. I mean what would it be like in our ruck if god forbid Hille went down round 1. It would be pretty messy. So i would argue not only do we need Laycock we probably need to pick up another ruck option later in the draft. Also as bad as Laycock has been this year, it was only last year we had everyone going on about how Laycock was going to be #1 ruck this year after Hille had a relatively poor year. On the bright side though, if it does one day occur that we have a surplus of good, mature rucks they tend to be the kinds of players that you can get good trades for, as other clubs don't want to dedicate the time needed to develop their own ruck divisions as it takes so long.

The Donners
7 Sep 2008, 10:07
He has the ability , he just needs to find something in his mental approach to the game and get a bit of mongrel into his game.

Very true, the '05 ANZAC Day game was a prime example. I don't think I've seen that aggression since, perhaps he has off-field issues we're not aware of? He to me has seemed complacent on the field.

dave_27
7 Sep 2008, 10:09
Im not bothered, we would have got peanuts for him anyway.

Laycock is going to have stiff competition though next year unlike previous years, Bellchambers looks a very good prospect and will have no worries backing up Hille.

Smyth94
7 Sep 2008, 10:17
He needs to get some of Hille's aggression at the contest.

He gets too easily shoved aside for a bloke that is 200+cm and 100+ kg's

Beerfish
7 Sep 2008, 10:24
Unfortunately we do need him for the reasons already stated but two years? Doesn't that just run the risk of him continuing his seemingly complacent attitude?

I would have thought one year would have put the wind up him and put a bit more pressure on him to really knuckle down and show us something consistently next year.

Hopefully we'll see a bit more of Bellchambers next year. If his performances can put some pressure on Laycock it can only be a good thing.

This bloke has got to start performing.

boms
7 Sep 2008, 10:26
Finally. to put an end to all haters

He is staying

Thoughts?
i'll get the herald sun source when i find it.
Put a end to the haters? WTF?

He wont get rid of them until he does something useful on the field. Should of been a 1 year deal. Well we'll see how he goes next year anyways

DaSawx
7 Sep 2008, 10:32
People booing and moaning before the first ball kicked to him even reaches him can't help either.

It may not be many or even any people on BigFooty, but some fans need to wise up just a little.

Tambu
7 Sep 2008, 10:33
Maybe his ankle and hip injuries have contributed to his poor year.

Reimers
7 Sep 2008, 10:37
essendon is not going forward total disgraceful decision by Knights

Beerfish
7 Sep 2008, 10:37
I'm not so sure. Shouldn't really affect your ability to take a simple chest mark or find a target by hand.

The Donners
7 Sep 2008, 10:48
essendon is not going forward total disgraceful decision by Knights

Totally disagree. If Laycock were to be delisted we'd be left with 2 ruckman on our list, Hille and Bellchambers... forget Ryder ever playing ruck. You can't have 2 ruckman on a senior list and expect to be ultra-competitive when injuries hit... which they inevitably do.

kelvin_sheedy
7 Sep 2008, 11:02
He was going to stay anyway unless we traded for an experienced ruck and there's not many out there apart from Jeff White. I'd say Laycock would be better than White in 2009 anyway.

As for Chook, well I don't think you can be that laconic at 23 and 24 and improve sufficiently to be a really good ruckman.

Most of the good rucks around the league have intensity and a bit of mongrel and need to use their bulk. Laycock does none of those and plays more like an outside winger than ruck. I guess you can say that about a fair few of our players anyway.

Bellchambers is showing signs so I don't think Knights will have much hesitation in giving him a go next year if Laycock underperforms.

Bombers_Forever
7 Sep 2008, 11:03
Poor decision - should have been traded to get another ruckman or draft one.

The Donners
7 Sep 2008, 11:13

Trade one ruckman for another? If Laycock is so poor what club in their right mind would trade their ruckman for him? Secondly, to draft a ruckman is not a bad idea... unless you were contemplating delisting Laycock and then drafting a ruckman!

stugots
7 Sep 2008, 11:15
if he wasnt going to be offered up as part of a trade of some sorts then 2 years is the right decision because -

a) sends the message to laycock that the coach has confidence in his ability to improve on what has been a below par start to an afl career, a one year deal could have been interpreted as being undermining imho

b) next time hes up for contract he will be either worth decidedly more in $ & trade terms or worth sfa, but put him on a one year deal & he happens to have a standout 2009 then the bargaining position heavily favours laycock

overall a 2 year deal for not much money was the way to go:thumbsu:

remembering he was carrying injury for part of the season & still is only 24, worth the risk

Wahooti Fandango
7 Sep 2008, 11:18
Hopefully this instills some confidence in the big fella. He should talk to Reimers about generating some genuine hatred for the opposition, which would fire him up.

BomberAce7
7 Sep 2008, 11:40
Jason did not have a good 2008 in terms of form. But in 2007 we were all saying how much of a better ruckman he is compared to Hille! I hope Jason has a killer preseason & tears it up in 2009!

The Donners
7 Sep 2008, 11:47
Jason did not have a good 2008 in terms of form. But in 2007 we were all saying how much of a better ruckman he is compared to Hille! I hope Jason has a killer preseason & tears it up in 2009!

True BA7! I recall saying Laycock was a better ruckman.

dapto
7 Sep 2008, 12:04

great decision

It gives the club some security and options and gives Jason little more than what was given Dyson, although Jason is far more deserving.

He can continue to develope and be a regular 22 and offer something gameday or offer Bellchambers the same impetus to challenge him for the spot. If the long term fear of Bendigo is not enough to separate them then little esle will but I think Jason has much value to offer the list.

We still need to draft another ruck stock and this changes naught

Ps Kelvin great post

And to Stander,
I recall somewhere, in that 'whinge thread', you were hoping for the single year extension. I appreciate the content of what you wrote then but would also say not to be too dissappointed. He does need a rod up his arse but it is better for club to insure this position going forward. That is what they have done. Bought insurance. Simon would agree i think.

And to all the neigh sayers in he 'whinge thread' without any constructive commentary, take a reality check on your posts. It was never about laycock it was always about the club

Essendonfc_4_lyfe
7 Sep 2008, 12:09
Well here's his chance to perform. I don't think we would have traded him, due to the fact that there aren't many other experienced rucks out there that could fill the spot in our side. I cant see Bellchambers taking up 2nd along side Hille in the ruck just yet.

Though, looking at Laycocks season, i really do think he played like he didnt care. Being injured may be one thing, but that shouldn'tstop him showing agression out on the feild. I would have been pleased this season he if had shown some fight, given a bit of lip, but he just lopped around the field.

2009 will be his judgement year.

The_Young_Gun
7 Sep 2008, 12:41
I hope the upcoming Pre-season will be a big slap in the face for Laycock...

This season Laycock was hugeley overlooked by Knighta as Hille started to take charge and get into brownlow medal form, last year hille and laycock would have gotten the same amount of time in the ruck as each other, 50/50. But this year it was hugely put in Hille's favour and he got a huge majority of rucktime and Laycock was pretty much forgotten.

Getting near to no rucktime would have been a huge kick in the ass for him, and I wouldn't be surprised if that's why he just didn't give a crap about playing for a good half of the season.

He's still 23, got 58 games under him, stats wise this was his best season with 14 goals...

There's no writing off this guy, it took Hille a good 100 games to get into career form, Laycocks still got a lot of developing in him, I'm strongly predicting one of his next two seasons will be his major breakout year, otherwise to hell with him.

bomba4eva
7 Sep 2008, 12:43
True BA7! I recall saying Laycock was a better ruckman.
Embarrassingly for me I also said the same thing to my mates earlier this year over pre-season. Fortunately they don't remember this and I have escaped their derision. In hindsight it seems like an awful prediction:o

I am quite content with this decision to give him 2 years as I am of the belief that Laycock has plenty of potential. I've also been saying that for a few years now.....

This decision could go down as a masterstroke by Knights or a Dysonesque failure.

Lets hope it is the former...

Beerfish
7 Sep 2008, 12:56
Trade one ruckman for another? If Laycock is so poor what club in their right mind would trade their ruckman for him? Secondly, to draft a ruckman is not a bad idea... unless you were contemplating delisting Laycock and then drafting a ruckman!

ahem.. heave ho ring any bells? :rolleyes::D

if he wasnt going to be offered up as part of a trade of some sorts then 2 years is the right decision because -

a) sends the message to laycock that the coach has confidence in his ability to improve on what has been a below par start to an afl career, a one year deal could have been interpreted as being undermining imho

b) next time hes up for contract he will be either worth decidedly more in $ & trade terms or worth sfa, but put him on a one year deal & he happens to have a standout 2009 then the bargaining position heavily favours laycock

overall a 2 year deal for not much money was the way to go:thumbsu:

remembering he was carrying injury for part of the season & still is only 24, worth the risk

Great post. Well put. Makes a lot of sense when you put it in that context. :thumbsu:

Dick johnson
7 Sep 2008, 13:19
No he hasn't.
Ridiculous statement. Yes Belly is alot younger, and shows alot of potential (For what it's worth I think he'll be great, very likely he'll finish his career well ahead of Laycock).

But judging them purely on what they've shown, Laycock is miles ahead.

i thought bellchambers games at the end of the year, practically leading the ruck by himself, that he put in a better game than any one of laycocks throughout the year.
not the bellchambers was amazing....but laycock didnt hav much on an impact on the comp this year.....had about as much impact as a first year rookie player.

DaSawx
7 Sep 2008, 13:24
Laycock is better in the ruck, takes marks in the F50 while Bellchambers panicks with the ball in his hands.

I can't see where people get the idea Bellchambers offers us more at the moment, it's mind-boggling.

Sure Laycock has a brain fade every now and then and we all hope he eradicates them, but he is still a fair way ahead of Bellchambers

The Donners
7 Sep 2008, 13:43
ahem.. heave ho ring any bells? :rolleyes::D

Hahaha very good! Speaking of which, I just heard on SEN they want to change their jumper (remove the anchor) and theme song! Someone over there has finally grown a brain!!! Perhaps they sacked the South Australian that came up with those gems.......

The Donners
7 Sep 2008, 13:46
Bellchambers panicks with the ball in his hands

Not from what I've seen. I think that was a harsh call.

Hirdman
7 Sep 2008, 14:27

Agreed I think he has looked quite competent with the ball in his hand. Although I must say that comparing his overall output to Laycocks is laughable, Laycock is miles ahead of big Tom and although he is frustrating we had no choice but to re-sign him and I am still a believer. Apparently he carried and ankle injury for the majority of the year....

Beerfish
7 Sep 2008, 14:46

Yeah thirded. I only saw him play one game (in fact I thought he had only played that one game :confused:) but I thought he showed no signs of panic whatsoever. He dished the ball off straight away everytime he got it but I'm fairly certain he hit a bloke just about everytime (one of our blokes too! :eek:).

Agree that Laycock is ahead of him though obviously.. for now.

The Donners
7 Sep 2008, 15:32
Agreed I think he has looked quite competent with the ball in his hand. Although I must say that comparing his overall output to Laycocks is laughable, Laycock is miles ahead of big Tom and although he is frustrating we had no choice but to re-sign him and I am still a believer. Apparently he carried and ankle injury for the majority of the year....

Agreed. All I ask of Laycock is an obvious willingness to do anything he can to help teammates and in turn the Essendon Football Club. No one questions his potential.

Slightly controversial, the words "Laycock potential" are wearing thin on me, but as we're in a development stage, to me it is almost irrelevant in certain circumstances for some late emerging players (i.e. Laycock) to take a little longer than others to mature in both mind and body. So long as Laycock is firing during a season we are realistically pushing for a top 8 position, I'm content... hence I think next season will be a time for Laycock to shine!

spike mcveigh
7 Sep 2008, 15:47
Potentially one of the most stupid deals Essendon has done. Why should Laycock get a 2 year contract. What has he done so good to get an extended contract? All I say is that if Laycock doesn't perform much better next year Essendon will look like fools.

The Donners
7 Sep 2008, 16:04
Potentially one of the most stupid deals Essendon has done. Why should Laycock get a 2 year contract. What has he done so good to get an extended contract? All I say is that if Laycock doesn't perform much better next year Essendon will look like fools.

Those will be the same people looking like fools when Matthew Knights takes us to the finals within 12-24 months.

David Hille did not set the world alight until 2008. He is 3 years Laycock's senior!

Not that statistics are definitive of a player's perfmance, can I say Laycock beat Warnock in nearly every facet of football bar disposals and Melbourne are aggressively (as Knights likes to say) persuing Warnock for his signature.

Barnes' 2000 hadn't been matched until Hille's 2008, as well as not growing on trees they, ruckman, take far longer to develop than smaller players, particularly their body.

Take Gumbleton for example, it may take another 3-4 pre-seasons for his body to fill out, people are already jumping on his back (largely because he can't get on the park), well I have to say people are perhaps asking for miracles.

I see a far greater upside to Laycock than I do of Winderlich, both 24 or turning 24, both having played on a touch over 50 games, both on the list for 6 seasons. Laycock hasn't peaked, I think Winderlich peaked in '07.

yaco55
7 Sep 2008, 16:07
it is a smart move to give laycock a 2 year contract.

he will be out of contract when the gc17 enters the competition.

laycock has 2 areas to improve

- he needs to learn the correct technique to tackle. tackling = aggression.
- he needs to improve marking in his hands in frony of his eyes

TimeIsRunningOut
7 Sep 2008, 16:25
it is a smart move to give laycock a 2 year contract.

he will be out of contract when the gc17 enters the competition.

laycock has 2 areas to improve

- he needs to learn the correct technique to tackle. tackling = aggression.
- he needs to improve marking in his hands in frony of his eyes

He also needs to at least pretend he actually gives a stuff while on the field. He looks so lacklustre out there.

SirJimi05
7 Sep 2008, 16:36

No we weren't! I suggest you go back and look at all of the posts relating to this subject because i clearly recall stating that Laycock was light years away from even being compared to Hille. It was just typical BF nonsense of people rating the guy before he had even done anything. To this day he has still not done a thing except show that he doesn't posess a very big heart. Having said this i do agree it would be silly to delist him at this point in time.

SirJimi05
7 Sep 2008, 16:40
Laycock is better in the ruck, takes marks in the F50 while Bellchambers panicks with the ball in his hands.

I can't see where people get the idea Bellchambers offers us more at the moment, it's mind-boggling.

Sure Laycock has a brain fade every now and then and we all hope he eradicates them, but he is still a fair way ahead of Bellchambers

In his last game Bellchambers showed far greater composure than what Laycock shows. I agree with the rest of the post.

DaSawx
7 Sep 2008, 17:14
In his last game Bellchambers showed far greater composure than what Laycock shows. I agree with the rest of the post.

Crap, half the time Bellchambers couldn't give a handpass off quicker if he tried, putting teammates under pressure.

If people prefer Bellchambers to Laycock around the ground then they need to watch a little harder.

Colin D'Cops
7 Sep 2008, 17:19
http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:xNZKcTHnK9WVlM:http://cornerstork.files.wordpress.com/2008/05/crying_baby.jpg (http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://cornerstork.files.wordpress.com/2008/05/crying_baby.jpg&imgrefurl=http://cornerstork.wordpress.com/2008/05/16/know-why-your-baby-is-crying-8-helpful-tips/&h=413&w=413&sz=51&hl=en&start=3&um=1&usg=__KAdfAD-160r1WOrqLK1IPby1H44=&tbnid=xNZKcTHnK9WVlM:&tbnh=125&tbnw=125&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dcrying%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26rls%3DGGLR,GGLR:200 6-13,GGLR:en)

Ben the Gooner
7 Sep 2008, 17:46
| | | :D **** off caps filter.
vv v

Reimers
7 Sep 2008, 17:57
Totally disagree. If Laycock were to be delisted we'd be left with 2 ruckman on our list, Hille and Bellchambers... forget Ryder ever playing ruck. You can't have 2 ruckman on a senior list and expect to be ultra-competitive when injuries hit... which they inevitably do.

well Warnock hasn't resigned for fremantle yet we could at least have a crack at him during trade week. Fairly bad decision by Knights in my book

Darealrath
7 Sep 2008, 18:03
I like him.

Good move.

I reckon he'll prove quite a few people wrong in a couple years.

SirJimi05
7 Sep 2008, 19:21
Crap, half the time Bellchambers couldn't give a handpass off quicker if he tried, putting teammates under pressure.

If people prefer Bellchambers to Laycock around the ground then they need to watch a little harder.

Who has said that i prefer Bellchambers around the ground? Laycock is clearly the better option at this stage because he can take a grab, kick a goal and win tap outs.

I said that in his last game Bellchambers showed greater composure than what we have been getting from Laycock.

Laycock either fumbles, over runs the ball or rushes a handball without looking which always ends up going to an opposition player.

If you think that Laycock has been more composed then i would suggest you need to watch the game harder.

Ben the Gooner
7 Sep 2008, 19:30
Who has said that i prefer Bellchambers around the ground? Laycock is clearly the better option at this stage because he can take a grab, kick a goal and win tap outs.

I said that in his last game Bellchambers showed greater composure than what we have been getting from Laycock.

Laycock either fumbles, over runs the ball or rushes a handball without looking which always ends up going to an opposition player.

If you think that Laycock has been more composed then i would suggest you need to watch the game harder.

Some people are just begging to be proven wrong. DS didn't say you personally, but was referring to the morons below.

i thought bellchambers games at the end of the year, practically leading the ruck by himself, that he put in a better game than any one of laycocks throughout the year.
not the bellchambers was amazing....but laycock didnt hav much on an impact on the comp this year.....had about as much impact as a first year rookie player.

sen entertainment bloke
7 Sep 2008, 19:30
Matthew Lloyd was on the radio today saying Laycock has three children and keeps to himself a lot.

To many kids at a young age is probably his problem.

SirJimi05
7 Sep 2008, 19:32
Some people are just begging to be proven wrong. DS didn't say you personally, but was referring to the morons below.

Fair enough, but he was replying to my post when he said it.

retroparty
7 Sep 2008, 19:59
Matthew Lloyd was on the radio today saying Laycock has three children and keeps to himself a lot.

Maybe Knights wants Laycock to play 100 games so he can draft his kids?:D:D

AndyLesPaul
7 Sep 2008, 21:04
Maybe Knights wants Laycock to play 100 games so he can draft his kids?:D:D
lol

I dont think people should take the "bellchambers is better" bull seriously
because we all know that they have a bias against him that will be kept until he plays well

strategy
7 Sep 2008, 21:11
He may be a good bloke but his standards for AFL level are below par .

bomberwelsh
7 Sep 2008, 21:30
Did Bellchamers take a pack mark in the couple of games he played in.:confused:

Midnight Vultures
7 Sep 2008, 21:46
Very good decision IMO. Will hopefully give him some confidence with Essendon showing him faith with a 2 year deal.

It would have been absurd to trade / delist him with only Bellchambers as our 2nd option. Hopefully he can become a cult hero!

Ben the Gooner
7 Sep 2008, 21:54
With Chook around for another couple of years, and a young ruckman in the draft, I think would have us set for our next flag tilt. However, I still think a Jeff White putting pressure on Chook for the second ruck spot would benefit Laycock, and therefore the club, into the future. The competition will do him the world of good, and him coming out on top of Jeff White would be a huge morale booster for him.

EDIT: How ironic that the post to take me to BigFooty Veteran was in a thread about Laycock. :cool:

twentytwo
7 Sep 2008, 22:19
From the outside, I've never been a fan of Laycock. It's a simple thing that draws my ire... he has a distinct lack interest on the field. Maybe he's got other things on his mind. Maybe that's just the way he goes about it. I've gone on record and said that Essendon should pick 21 players and leave a spot empty instead of naming him.

But...

A 2 year extension is not a bad decision.

For all his faults, he still has the ability to develop. He could turn it around. He could be the back-up that Hille desperately needs. And there are no other options for a ready-made ruckman. Drafting a kid won't help. Jeff White is not the answer. Warnock will go to Melbourne if anywhere at all. Everitt would be shot if he were a horse (a worthy pick up if you want someone to organise raffles though :D ).

Worst case, you end up with a guy on your list for 2 years, not even bothering to feign interest at Bendigo on 100K per year. Best case, he tones up, gets fit and becomes a competitive asset on said 100K per year.

Reimers
8 Sep 2008, 00:29

How old is he again? heard reports his incredibly stupid as well

Ludwig van Bertstare
8 Sep 2008, 00:47
He's 23.

Midnight Vultures
8 Sep 2008, 00:57

And you wonder why he's low on confidence with comments/dumb rumours like that.

silk
8 Sep 2008, 10:46
Good move by club.. Basically sticking by their man, showing they don't give a shit what some jerk fans think, that they are backing him...

Worst case scenerio if he really under performs this year, delist him and pay him out. Bellchambers next year will be able to put as much pressure on laycock for the ruck spot as anyone could next year.

Beerfish
8 Sep 2008, 12:09
I'm detecting some mild sniping creeping into this thread. I think we need to maybe lay off each other a bit just for having an opinion that differs (although the "heard reports he's incredibly stupid" post was a bit daft).

We all love the club and we all ultimately desire the same thing.

Group hug.

addog
8 Sep 2008, 13:12
possibly one of the worst decisions i've heard, here i am thinking knighter wants to move forward and develop a good young side. laycock is possibly the worst player i have seen in many years and to all you clowns sticking up for him, wake up! bellchambers has played two games and already shown more tha laycock.

Pevers-Legend
8 Sep 2008, 13:20
Where is the article to say he has extended his contract?

There is nothing on EFC nor on the HUN nor on the AGE.

So where is it?

Here_we_come
8 Sep 2008, 15:02

So where is it?

There was a very small article in the Herald Sun on the weekend.

stugots
8 Sep 2008, 15:02
so this was all bs:confused:

got to luv bf:thumbsu:

Here_we_come
8 Sep 2008, 15:06
possibly one of the worst decisions i've heard, here i am thinking knighter wants to move forward and develop a good young side. laycock is possibly the worst player i have seen in many years and to all you clowns sticking up for him, wake up! bellchambers has played two games and already shown more tha laycock.

I suggest you have a look at some of Laycock's earlier games then.

He was excellent in some of them and earned a rising star nomination.

Your judgment is clearly clouded by Laycock's poor form this season. He was obviously playing with an injury which wouldn't have helped.

It was a good decision.

tristo
8 Sep 2008, 16:14
Very few ruckman develop and become stars early, however Jason is now at the age where improvement must start to be shown over the next two seasons.

If he can get his body right over this pre-season and can start 2009 well we might just start to see the development of a potentially solid ruckman.

Needs to work on his goal-kicking over the summer as well, adds another string to his bow and can make him a dangerous resting ruckman in a forward pocket.

jacko_boy
8 Sep 2008, 16:30
i cant beleive that he is staying, he is useless

Ben the Gooner
8 Sep 2008, 16:56
I'm detecting some mild sniping creeping into this thread. I think we need to maybe lay off each other a bit just for having an opinion that differs (although the "heard reports he's incredibly stupid" post was a bit daft).

We all love the club and we all ultimately desire the same thing.

Group hug.

*tears up*

I love you too XIDIGX.

I have no problem whatsoever with people having a different opinion on Chook. However to say that Bellchambers has been better, or to say that we should have delisted him without justifying that is what pisses me off. And saying that he had a shocker after a pretty dominant performance.

The_Young_Gun
8 Sep 2008, 17:00
And you wonder why he's low on confidence with comments/dumb rumours like that.

When he seemed to be really low on confidence I straight away thought he must be a BigFooty Member!

From your following quote it looks like your the man himself.

Ben the Gooner
8 Sep 2008, 17:22

If you're going to make insinuations about a person's intelligence, make sure that your spelling and grammar are perfect, so as not to seem hypocritical. Your post should have read:

How old is he again? I've heard reports he's incredibly stupid as well.

Spikey
8 Sep 2008, 17:28
:D:thumbsu:

The Donners
8 Sep 2008, 18:03

"he's"

Edit: Whoops, someone got in before me!

ant555
8 Sep 2008, 18:36

Well he is married with kids and is playing AFL footy and making a decent wage from it so i guess he is in front of most people ;)
As far as what he is like i would suggest you don't make comments on people you have not met and stick to just commenting on what is taking place on the field.:)

Beerfish
8 Sep 2008, 19:03
*tears up*

I love you too XIDIGX.

*slaps Ben across the face*

Get a hold of yourself woman!! :p

Ben the Gooner
8 Sep 2008, 19:08
*slaps Ben across the face*

Get a hold of yourself woman!! :p

Sexist. Men can't show emotion?:p

OK, I've composed myself.

**** off, XIDIGX.

:D

R_n_B
8 Sep 2008, 19:27
I thought Laycock would only get 1 year, so I'm quite surprised that he got 2.

IMO, I don't think anyone would have been interested in Laycock in terms of a trade.
We have very shallow ruck stocks, so is a reason I believe he was re-signed.
If we let him go for nothing, we would be left with 2 and a half ruckmen. We could pick up a veteran but I think Hille is a good enough leader and I don't really want to draft a vet ruckmen to fill in a spot for a few years.

Plus, it gives Bellchambers another year in the VFL to improve, which I think will be good for him, and us in the long term.

I have been patient with Laycock, so I really hope someone lights a fire up his a***. I really want him to be a player we can be confident in when he is on the ground in any situation. You would think Hille being a leader at the club, could help build up his confidence.

loopy_cam
8 Sep 2008, 20:13
Good decision.

Chook will excel.

AndyLesPaul
8 Sep 2008, 20:20

So where is it?
It was in Craig Hutchisons column of the Sunday Herald Sun

Sam the RAMA fan
8 Sep 2008, 21:37
Should of kept Pev.

Laycock...
I used to stick up for him,but lately I just havent been able to do so.

Lets see what he can bring to the club in 09...
But at the moment, I'm not excited with this deal. :mad:

Hopefully he can make me eat my words.

Midnight Vultures
8 Sep 2008, 23:04
When he seemed to be really low on confidence I straight away thought he must be a BigFooty Member!

From your following quote it looks like your the man himself.

Yep, I'm Jason Laycock. :p

The Dustbin
9 Sep 2008, 13:15
All I'll say is, I hope he can repay the faith shown in him by Knighter.

BacharHouli_43
9 Sep 2008, 14:55
Good decision to keep laycock, the guy has talent, ruckmen arent that skilled and laycock can take a mark, kick reasonably and is okay below his knees. He is simply not a forward but good to see he is gonna be there next yr

Knight Ryders
9 Sep 2008, 15:40
I think Laycock has shown the most amount of potential when Hille has been down and out. To suggest he would get no interest at the trade table is ridiculous IMO as he is able to play forward and his tap work is pretty solid. The standard of ruckmen across the AFL is pretty low atm moment as well, so I think there would be some definite interest.

I think fitness is the key for Laycock. I think he has only had one good pre-season to date (last year) and it does usually take a couple of years for the young guys to build an adequate tank for AFL football. If he gets super fit, we might actually see the potential fulfilled. It's a big if, but you just never know...

Plus I would hate to see him get traded to someone like Carlton and tear us apart. That would suck d... balls!

ant555
9 Sep 2008, 16:54
Should of kept Pev.

Laycock...
I used to stick up for him,but lately I just havent been able to do so.

Lets see what he can bring to the club in 09...
But at the moment, I'm not excited with this deal. :mad:

Hopefully he can make me eat my words.

Why even bother bringing up Pev in a thread about Laycock. It is not like Pev could take the ruck for us next year is it (although there would be some that would suggest he could do a better job).

Tony Delaney
9 Sep 2008, 18:50

Just saw the moderator thing good work ant55.

Agree with your post - looks like he doesn't care at times but this can't be right - needs a rocket up him to fire him up.

stander
9 Sep 2008, 19:24
He's the modern day version of Greg Perry.

howiehowie
10 Sep 2008, 15:53
I would love to wake up in a few months time and see that Laycock has been traded to Freo for Warnock or a signed Pavlich jumper.

Bomber Stu
10 Sep 2008, 17:26
I would have hoped for a one year contract, would be great if his contract is heavily performance based.

If he was punted it would leave us with only two ruckmen going into the trade / draft period so it was never going to happen.

Sam the RAMA fan
10 Sep 2008, 17:33
Why even bother bringing up Pev in a thread about Laycock. It is not like Pev could take the ruck for us next year is it (although there would be some that would suggest he could do a better job).

Would of rather spend money on a player who gives a damn.

Laycock probably does,
but half the time doesn't show it.

God I hope I'm proved wrong next season.

ant555
10 Sep 2008, 17:59
Would of rather spend money on a player who gives a damn.

Laycock probably does,
but half the time doesn't show it.

God I hope I'm proved wrong next season.

Even if he does not play the same position ?
Try comparing apples with apples.;) Exactly who was going to play ruck next year if we kept Pev and dumped Laycock ? you planing to go into the year with Hille and Belchambers with just Ryder as back up.

addog
10 Sep 2008, 21:09
he's a dud and will only get worse. ben the gooner, you are an absolute joke.

Spikey
10 Sep 2008, 21:20
You have made 24 posts, most of them have been about bagging Laycock. I wouldn't be calling anyone a joke

Dick johnson
10 Sep 2008, 21:27
You have made 24 posts, most of them have been about bagging Laycock. I wouldn't be calling anyone a joke
in his defence....laycock is pretty bad
hahaha:p