View Full Version : Hayden Skipworth
kelvin_sheedy
7 Sep 2008, 11:19
I keep reading that he's likely to get picked up by us.
Apparently Knights mentioned something in a press conference and there's been a bit of talk on some boards.
For those that have seen a fair bit of him this year what do you think.
I've only seen Bendigo once or twice on TV and he was one of the few guys that I thought could be useful at AFL level. I thought he looked better than the likes of JJ.
Maybe due to the fact we are losing so much experience this year we need some bigger bodies and depth. It would be strange to delist Pev and then recruit Skipworth.
Ferris_rules
7 Sep 2008, 11:30
lol dont do it.
lol.
lol.
It wont happen !:thumbsd:
kelvin_sheedy
7 Sep 2008, 11:38
Why?
Windas_Magic
7 Sep 2008, 11:45
No from me.
He'll be 27 early next year and is a good VFL player, but not so much at AFL level. Sure he's in and under and knows how to find the ball, but his skills and decision making are average.
We'll be playing Hocking in his role and i don't think we need anymore in and under players.
He also lacks pace which is another issue
It really would be like playing Pev or JJ next year.
Slattery_20
7 Sep 2008, 12:06
Windas- Surely you can see there's a big difference between what JJ & Pev are still capable of?
Not totally against the idea - Lovett out would open the door a little bit further (my assumption only).
BTW - born 1983. Doesn't add up to 27 for me.
lemon chicken
7 Sep 2008, 13:32
No from me.
He'll be 27 early next year and is a good VFL player, but not so much at AFL level. Sure he's in and under and knows how to find the ball, but his skills and decision making are average.
We'll be playing Hocking in his role and i don't think we need anymore in and under players.
He also lacks pace which is another issue
It really would be like playing Pev or JJ next year.
He's 26 in Feb next year and I wouldnt exactly call him an in and under player. Very good at clearances and stoppages and played as a goal kicking flanker for the crows which he is still capable of doing. Nothing wrong with he's skills at all and has consistantly racked up 30+ disposals in one of the worst teams in the VFL when every excuse is used for some of the listed kids not getting a touch. I dont see a heap of similarities between him and Hocking and pace wise Skipworth would easily have him covered.
Pev and JJ will 30 and 31 next year what are you comparing?
Windas_Magic
7 Sep 2008, 14:22
Windas- Surely you can see there's a big difference between what JJ & Pev are still capable of?
Not totally against the idea - Lovett out would open the door a little bit further (my assumption only).
BTW - born 1983. Doesn't add up to 27 for me.
I was going by this site, which sais he was born on the 25th of Feb, 1982:
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-adelaide-crows--hayden-skipworth
No chance......
Why would we want a 26 year old VFL midfielder???
Some people are saying we shouldn't target Richetelli (sp) as we have enough solid mids, why on earth would we want a 26 year old bendigo player.....
Watson/Lonergan/Welsh/ are well ahead of him and Hocking and Hislop are the kids that will put pressure on these guys.
SirJimi05
7 Sep 2008, 16:52
Not a hope in hell.
B-Bomber
7 Sep 2008, 17:00
I was very much for keeping Pev another year or two.
Imo, Skipworth may (I say may) add more then Pev if he brings the same workrate he has shown in the VFL.
I think considering the amount of delistments this year it is worth the risk. Besides, Knights and Co would know a helluva lot better then us considering he has been training with Essendon for the past two years.
Colin D'Cops
7 Sep 2008, 17:02
Wouldn't be totally against the idea, will bring some leadership and creativeness into the side, but would not pick him up before or at the 3rd round, as there is a fair bit of depth in this draft. Played quite well for Bendigo this year, in their best five, and played that HFF role at Adelaide, and I thought he played quite well for them as well, I remember he was leading the competition in goal assists at one stage.
Darealrath
7 Sep 2008, 17:22
It would be strange to delist Pev and then recruit Skipworth.
Very, not to mention the emphasis on making the most of this draft.
Couldn't we just take him in the PSD...
Darealrath
7 Sep 2008, 18:09
Couldn't we just take him in the PSD...
Would mean 1 less pick in the ND though.
I keep reading that he's likely to get picked up by us.
Apparently Knights mentioned something in a press conference and there's been a bit of talk on some boards.
For those that have seen a fair bit of him this year what do you think.
I've only seen Bendigo once or twice on TV and he was one of the few guys that I thought could be useful at AFL level. I thought he looked better than the likes of JJ.
Maybe due to the fact we are losing so much experience this year we need some bigger bodies and depth. It would be strange to delist Pev and then recruit Skipworth.
Cant say i recall any mention him by Knights. In fact the only thing i have heard mentioned was that he was playing house dad to Myers, Pears and someone else (i cant currently recal , maybe Reimers) in the Samsung fitted house the club owns.
Here's a link to a dodgy looking Bendigo website that mentions it: http://bendigoweekly.ezyzine.com/ThreadView.aspx?tid=8181
But I have read the quote elsewhere, I just can't remember where. Although the heading of "WILL play" is a bit misleading, Knights is just quoted as saying (skipworth is) "in the mix to get drafted at the end of the year".
SirJimi05
7 Sep 2008, 19:26
I was very much for keeping Pev another year or two.
Imo, Skipworth may (I say may) add more then Pev if he brings the same workrate he has shown in the VFL.
I think considering the amount of delistments this year it is worth the risk. Besides, Knights and Co would know a helluva lot better then us considering he has been training with Essendon for the past two years.
You do realise that he played senior AFL football for 5 years? I reckon we all saw enough of him then to know whether or not he can cut it at AFL level. He will always be a handy player in the Mickey mouse competitions.
Knight Ryders
7 Sep 2008, 19:34
We all love Pev, but where Skippy has it over Pev is that he is actually pretty handy around goals as well. I saw a fair bit of him in Adelaide and I was really surprised he didn't get picked up.
The Essendon coaches would have seen lots of him and they are far better placed to make that decision than us. Let's just trust them.
Here's a link to a dodgy looking Bendigo website that mentions it: http://bendigoweekly.ezyzine.com/ThreadView.aspx?tid=8181
But I have read the quote elsewhere, I just can't remember where. Although the heading of "WILL play" is a bit misleading, Knights is just quoted as saying (skipworth is) "in the mix to get drafted at the end of the year".
I suppose we could do a lot worse :)
Thanks for the link :thumbsu:
Ben the Gooner
7 Sep 2008, 19:41
FWIW, it is Reimers in that house.
AndyLesPaul
7 Sep 2008, 20:00
Thats just idiotic.. why waste a pick on a 26 year old who is a has been though quite good
when we could get a star of a 18year old?
B-Bomber
7 Sep 2008, 20:01
[/b]
You do realise that he played senior AFL football for 5 years? I reckon we all saw enough of him then to know whether or not he can cut it at AFL level. He will always be a handy player in the Mickey mouse competitions.
I know this.
He may have improved into his 20s. Maturity can lead to better preparation and increased drive as the motivation to play changes.
Just look at McVeigh, Hille, Welsh all stepping up this year in Hirds absence. Skipworth has spent the past two years working his ass off at Bendigo to try to get a place on the Essendon list. I think he's shown fair commitment which may (and I use this word again...) may lead to him being better then he was when he last graced the AFL field.
Anyways, he may not be picked up. I think he would have to leave Bendigo for greener pastures if he doesn't.
Thats just idiotic.. why waste a pick on a 26 year old who is a has been though quite good
Well considering how many star new recruits have been picked last in the PSD... I don't think we'll be taking too much of a gamble. Unless you're being sarcastic :P
AndyLesPaul
7 Sep 2008, 20:34
I know this.
He may have improved into his 20s. Maturity can lead to better preparation and increased drive as the motivation to play changes.
Just look at McVeigh, Hille, Welsh all stepping up this year in Hirds absence. Skipworth has spent the past two years working his ass off at Bendigo to try to get a place on the Essendon list. I think he's shown fair commitment which may (and I use this word again...) may lead to him being better then he was when he last graced the AFL field.
Anyways, he may not be picked up. I think he would have to leave Bendigo for greener pastures if he doesn't.
Well considering how many star new recruits have been picked last in the PSD... I don't think we'll be taking too much of a gamble. Unless you're being sarcastic :P
yes but we'd lose a pick nonetheless?
lemon chicken
7 Sep 2008, 22:24
How many star 18yo's do you get with fifth or sixth round picks? We'd hardly be drafting him with a high pick.
yes but we'd lose a pick nonetheless?
Huh? We have passed on late picks for as long as I can remember. Clubs get as many as they need to fill their list. This season has shown that we need blokes on the list who can play senior football rather than project players who are far from being ready.
Why would we take him at Essendon when he's been out of the AFL system for 2 full seasons?
It's not like he's the best thing in the VFL either.
But that said, if we use our 5th or 6th pick on him, then so be it. I thought he was good enough to play for Essendon 2 years ago....I'm not sure now.
I'll trust Knights' judgment and if we do take him, it'll be only good for the club.
Huh? We have passed on late picks for as long as I can remember. Clubs get as many as they need to fill their list. This season has shown that we need blokes on the list who can play senior football rather than project players who are far from being ready.
There is a limit to places on the list. Unless we trade/drop someone, at the moment we have six (Johns, Mal, Lee, Pev, JJ, Rama). So using a pick on Skipworth (or promoting Atkinson) loses us a pick.
I'd not be totally against recruiting Skipworth, but I don't think he's what we need. I suppose I'm saying that in my view the coaching staff would need to rate him higher than Houli, Reimers, Hislop, Hocking, Atkinson, Myers etc. to recruit him, as currently we only have about 3 'open' midfield spots.
Longy413
8 Sep 2008, 08:59
Hard body, experience, great leadership skills, neat skills, well liked, well respected.
Makes sense to me.
He's 26 next February, so he's going to be around when we're supposed to reach our peak.
He's starred in the VFL with very little around him, his disposal's good and he's fairly natural with his clearance work. He's worth a look.
Hard body, experience, great leadership skills, neat skills, well liked, well respected.
Makes sense to me.
Could he also improve from the exposure to class players, not just on gameday, and another year under his belt from his Reco?
If so it makes sense and in a lot of ways is virtually a replacement for Pev in some ways, yet about 4 years younger.
Longy413
8 Sep 2008, 12:09
Bang on Merv.
Not to mention better skilled.
Can't see it happening. He does play well at VFL level but i would much rather see a 5th round pick on a young player.
bombersno1
8 Sep 2008, 14:29
I am not totally against the idea imo. Better than Dyson that is for sure!
Flying_dutchman
8 Sep 2008, 14:53
I'm all for it as long as it doesn't cost a decent DP. He could add a bit of depth in the mid-field the kind of player that would have been very handy towards the end of this season with the younger fragile bodys not holding up.
At the moment there is plenty of room on the list 8 delistings or retirements.
The question is would he have to go in the national draft or pre-season draft? Hopefully pre-season.
he already has a developmental role down at the club. the young kids love him so we dont want to lose his input around the club. why not draft him so he can continue his mentoring role and then he can be on the list as a depth player. therefore if we were to have another injury riddled year we would have some ready made players. rather than having to play 18 year olds that aren't even close to being ready for afl football.
it wouldnt cost us much and whats to say he wouldn't rise to the occasion of senior footy.
Darealrath
8 Sep 2008, 18:44
What position would he play?
I remember he kicked 4 goals vs the roos once, but probably not good enough as a permanent forward. Engine/pace/class good enough for the midfield? Half back?
I like him as a player from what I remember but I can't see him being anything more than depth, not that that is necessarily a bad thing, seeing that's just wha Pev was anyway.
JETTA#07
8 Sep 2008, 18:54
use pick 71 on him
i could cop it if skipworth is willing to sign a one year deal. skipworth probably would be on essendon's list right now if it weren't for his knee injury last year. he is a good leader, hard at the contest with reasonable skills. generally against recruiting older players but i was amazed no-one picked him up when adelaide dumped him.
if it doesn't work out on a one year deal then nothing much is lost.
At Essendon, there is a vacuum of 25-29 years olds that was created when we drafted poorly from 1999-2001 and were penalised in a couple of drafts for salary cap breaches. We could do worse. You can't just fill your team with kids and expect them to perform on a consistent basis week-in, week-out ... especially with having aspirations to play in September next season.
Is Goaner Tutlan available? Or Dwayne Armstrong perhaps? We should pick them up! :p
I'm all for it as long as it doesn't cost a decent DP. He could add a bit of depth in the mid-field the kind of player that would have been very handy towards the end of this season with the younger fragile bodys not holding up.
At the moment there is plenty of room on the list 8 delistings or retirements.
The question is would he have to go in the national draft or pre-season draft? Hopefully pre-season.
Three of the spots will be rookie selections however. We have only 6 senior spots (5 if Atkinson is promoted).
If this happened, you would think we couldn't afford to keep Atkinson as well. Which one would people prefer?
Johnny Utah #9
8 Sep 2008, 22:31
Can't see it happening. He does play well at VFL level but i would much rather see a 5th round pick on a young player.
I watched Skipworth closely in the SANFL in 2006 and he totally dominated and IMO was very hard done by to get delisted from the Crows.
I liken his situation to that of Josh Mahoney a few years back. Most wrote him off as ever being a chance to get back to AFL level, heck he even trained week in week out with Essendon for two years and you still weren't interested in him! But the fact remains that once he got his chance he more than proved himself, played a very handy role in a flag and topped Port's goalkicking.
i think atkinson should be kept on the rookie list to give us the best chance of drafting new talent, whether that includes skipworth or not. odds are good someone will go down to injury and give atkinson a chance at being promoted. he is only (at the moment) a depth/reserve player anyway.
if there is nobody that the bombers are completely sold on with their last pick (which doesn't include a project player like hooker last year), they should save it for skipworh in the PSD. he definitely fits the bill with his age and experience, and if you believe what you read, he is having a great influence on developing our young players.
i think atkinson should be kept on the rookie list to give us the best chance of drafting new talent, whether that includes skipworth or not. odds are good someone will go down to injury and give atkinson a chance at being promoted. he is only (at the moment) a depth/reserve player anyway.
if there is nobody that the bombers are completely sold on with their last pick (which doesn't include a project player like hooker last year), they should save it for skipworh in the PSD. he definitely fits the bill with his age and experience, and if you believe what you read, he is having a great influence on developing our young players.
Atkinson is too old be be kept on the rookie list next year.
well, there goes that theory :p
he's a decent player. you could do worse.
sort of guy, who really needs an opportunity and I think he'd take it.
Longy413
9 Sep 2008, 09:10
Three of the spots will be rookie selections however. We have only 6 senior spots (5 if Atkinson is promoted).
If this happened, you would think we couldn't afford to keep Atkinson as well. Which one would people prefer?
Skipworth, by a street.
He could play a variety of roles, no doubt he'd take one year, he's desperate to return to AFL footy and no doubt Essendon would be his first choice.
Skipworth, by a street.
Yeah, nah.....
He could play a variety of roles, no doubt he'd take one year, he's desperate to return to AFL footy and no doubt Essendon would be his first choice.
That does it then. He is desperate to play AFL again and Essendon is his choice! :D:thumbsu:
letsgobombers12
9 Sep 2008, 13:06
Hey all,
This is my first post ever after joining today so we will see how this goes!
coming from adelaide and being a proud bombers supporter,
i think gaining Hayden Skipworth would be potentially a good move.
Although he is no star, he is a very handy player.
When he played in the sanfl over here,
he played in the middle and racked up the stats and also chipped in with a
goal or too. When he got his chance at the crows, most people thought
he played pretty decent footy and had some great games.
I know he was pursuing a career in the afl and asked to be traded when he wasnt required at the crows and nobody picked him up. didnt realise he went to bendigo though.
If i was essendon, i would see if we could trade out maybe dyson?
or a player not as needed by the club for a late 4th or 5th pick,
and see if we can pick him up.
He has the hunger and determination and experience to succeed at afl level.
possibly handy as a half forward doing a few minutes in the middle when we need clearances.
Just curious into what anyone else thinks of my idea
and whether it is plausable.
cheers guys:thumbsu:
The Dustbin
9 Sep 2008, 13:29
No from me.
Has performed admirably in a weak team, but I would prefer him to continue his mentoring/development role with the kids on (Bendigo) and off field.
The games I did see him play at Bendigo were certainly good, but not outstanding. Will probably be a deserving winner of the B & F.
I'd rather us draft a mature aged (20-23) defender/ruckman with one of our late picks.
letsgobombers12
9 Sep 2008, 13:39
The dust bin,
in reply,
you said you would rather draft a mature 20, 23 year old ruckman or defender.
What do you think of the likes of scott harding, from the lions?
rumour has it that he is seeking to be traded to a melbourne club.
i think he is in his early 20's and about 192 cm
any thoughts anyone?
The dust bin,
in reply,
you said you would rather draft a mature 20, 23 year old ruckman or defender.
any thoughts anyone?
Welcome mate.
I think you have your wires crossed there somewhere as Harding is a midfielder.
Longy413
9 Sep 2008, 13:49
Has performed admirably in a weak team, but I would prefer him to continue his mentoring/development role with the kids on (Bendigo) and off field.
I reckon you'll find that if he isn't drafted, he'll head back to SA.
That shouldn't be a consideration in us potentially drafting him, but I doubt he'll be at Bendigo next year unless it's as an Essendon listed player.
any thoughts anyone?
Harding is a very limited footballer and a turnover merchant.
We have better options in Hislop, Lonergan, Welsh, McVeigh and even Slattery who all play a similar role.
The Dustbin
9 Sep 2008, 14:01
I reckon you'll find that if he isn't drafted, he'll head back to SA.
This will be a shame, and that's what I'm worried about. He has been sensational for the kids...
Knight Ryders
9 Sep 2008, 15:19
Let's look at the positives:thumbsu::
Ball magnet
In and under player
Good skills and handy around goals
Probably in our best 22
Older, harder body
Versatile
Well known to the Essendon Football Dept.
Adds genuine midfield depth
Team leader, respected around the club and great with our kids
26 y/o - in his prime / fill a void in that age group for our club
Inexpensive pick up
Keen as mustard
Let's look at the negatives:thumbsd::
26 y/o
possible list clogger
pace? (little unsure of)
similar to Welsh and Watson - do we need another?
may not be around for our next final series (I hope not, but you never know)
May want a multi-year deal
I think he may be worth a chance, particularly being at the prime age for AFL footballers. I think it is important that our youngsters get a go, but it is equally as important that they do not get put to the sword too early like what happened occasionally this year. Pick 71 or pre-season draft wouldn't do any harm, although I'd like to see him taken with pick 71 in case someone else opens up for the pre-season draft.
What are his chances of getting picked up?
Does Knights rate him? Has he mentioned him as a possible recruit?
Ben the Gooner
9 Sep 2008, 17:15
He seems like a really good bloke from the way he has taken Myers, Reimers and Pears under his wing, and would be a benefit to have at the club.
Definitely worth a look in.
essendon2008
9 Sep 2008, 20:57
He seems like a really good bloke from the way he has taken Myers, Reimers and Pears under his wing, and would be a benefit to have at the club.
Definitely worth a look in.
It's great for players to have these great personality traits, however we should be careful taking players purely for mentoring and development roles.
In saying that, I can't say I have seen a lot of the guy so I can't comment on his footballing ability.
Ben the Gooner
9 Sep 2008, 21:12
It's great for players to have these great personality traits, however we should be careful taking players purely for mentoring and development roles.
In saying that, I can't say I have seen a lot of the guy so I can't comment on his footballing ability.
True, but if it was a 50/50 decision whether to draft him, that would be the sort of thing to be considered.
AndyLesPaul
9 Sep 2008, 21:33
True, but if it was a 50/50 decision whether to draft him, that would be the sort of thing to be considered.
isnt that what we said last year about jason cloke? lol
Ask Ant if he thinks it is viable to draft Skipworth.
I personally wouldn't have a problem drafting him with our last pick as he has the attributes to play AFL football.
Vince Van Mackay
10 Sep 2008, 01:17
Skipworth should have gotten a trade in 2006 instead of being delisted, he is better than alot of players on varying AFL lists and I thought he was decent and deserved to remain at the Crows.
He's the kind of guy who if Fremantle do clean out 8 odd players they might look at. Adds a hard body who might be around a few years if he works out, and who cares if he doesn't make it at pick 100 odd.
Scott Harding is ok, but i wouldn't give up that much to get him. Skipworth is not worth it, and if we picked him up (which we won't) it'll be a mistake.
SirJimi05
11 Sep 2008, 11:17
Let's look at the positives:thumbsu::
Keen as mustard
No one is as keen as that dude!
The work he does on the main board keeps me well and truly entertained. :thumbsu:
Hirdman
11 Sep 2008, 18:02
With all due respect to Hayden, I really wouldnt have thought this would be wise decision he would be the very definition of a list clogger.
FandangoDingo
12 Sep 2008, 11:24
We all love Pev, but where Skippy has it over Pev is that he is actually pretty
Edited for accuracy! ;)
lemon chicken
13 Sep 2008, 03:40
With all due respect to Hayden, I really wouldnt have thought this would be wise decision he would be the very definition of a list clogger.
I think your looking for the Dyson thread. It's in Bomber Spotting.:thumbsu:
Hirdman
14 Sep 2008, 12:18
I think your looking for the Dyson thread. It's in Bomber Spotting.:thumbsu:
Yes, very true.
Slattery_20
14 Sep 2008, 14:30
Makes sense to me.
And able to play midfield and forward, which he definitely has over Pev or Rama. Should be able to walk in and immediately start pushing for a spot at the very least. Experience will come in handy as well, mentoring Lonergan & Reimers et al
Wonder what the average dons fan would consider a success from him - 20 games? 50?
Interesting comparison to Rodan, although Rodan never dropped out of the AFL he had a similar shocking run with injuries, delisted & blossomed the last two years. Similar builds & style of players
eastaugh36
15 Sep 2008, 22:26
Heard a rumour on the weekend that he is heading back to play for the eagles(his original club) in the SANFL next season, unless he is drafted of course but I doubt that very much.
dirtywhitepacker
16 Sep 2008, 17:53
Heard a rumour on the weekend that he is heading back to play for the eagles(his original club) in the SANFL next season, unless he is drafted of course but I doubt that very much.
But who will do the boys' laundry and do the dishes? Won't SOMEBODY think of the children?!
Not entirely against it but if its a mature age player we're after surely we look at Cousins first.
Slattery_20
17 Sep 2008, 19:31
Cuz is 30, issues, plus would command $$$
Skipworth is 26 or so, evidently well regarded, would probably cost a lot less
warney7
17 Sep 2008, 23:09
I'm of the opinion that you get what you pay for.
Cousins > Skipworth
Longy413
18 Sep 2008, 15:16
Not a rumour, he'll be back in SA if he isn't drafted.
I actually posted that earlier in the thread.
eastaugh36
18 Sep 2008, 20:56
Not a rumour, he'll be back in SA if he isn't drafted.
I actually posted that earlier in the thread.
Thanks, actually didn't read the early pages of this thread. Interesting to see if any other guys from Bendigo follow him over here in 2009.
Longy413
19 Sep 2008, 08:40
Thanks, actually didn't read the early pages of this thread. Interesting to see if any other guys from Bendigo follow him over here in 2009.
Andrew Lee.
eastaugh36
20 Sep 2008, 20:26
Andrew Lee.
Is that something you have heard?
Slattery_20
21 Sep 2008, 15:08
I'm of the opinion that you get what you pay for.
Cousins > Skipworth
For a year or two, yeah
Anyway, Cuz is back with Mick. Where he (and Mainwaring, and Gardiner, Didak, Ben Johnson...) started
FootyEater
21 Sep 2008, 15:21
while your looking at skipworth maybe you should look at gettinng chris ladhams back :thumbsu:
honestly though, essendon and freo are in similar positions in that we both are having massive cleanouts, and while you dont want to throw the younger guys to the wolves, you do have enough experience in lucas lloyd fletch, mcveigh etc etc to protect them. you'd be better off going for a kid i would have thought. picking up skipworth is a freo idea and we are the proof that it just doesnt work
Longy413
22 Sep 2008, 08:53
Is that something you have heard?
It is.
eastaugh36
23 Sep 2008, 19:16
It is.
Interesting. He doesn't want to go to the eagles though, he can come to a side a bit higher up the ladder. ;)
The Donners
23 Sep 2008, 19:36
For a year or two, yeah
Anyway, Cuz is back with Mick. Where he (and Mainwaring, and Gardiner, Didak, Ben Johnson...) started
The proprietor of the cafe Mick Malthouse and Ben Cousins were allegedly at together said that they were there at separate times, they did not even see each other let alone talk about Cousins during Collingwood.
Slattery_20
23 Sep 2008, 22:07
The proprietor of the cafe Mick Malthouse and Ben Cousins were allegedly at together said that they were there at separate times, they did not even see each other let alone talk about Cousins during Collingwood.
Still an interesting connection though, IMHO
I guess there's a wide range of attitudes to off-field behaviour amongst coaching ranks. Mick seems to back his players in. And it's come back to bite him a few times just this year
The Donners
24 Sep 2008, 13:59
Still an interesting connection though, IMHO
I guess there's a wide range of attitudes to off-field behaviour amongst coaching ranks. Mick seems to back his players in. And it's come back to bite him a few times just this year
True on both counts. Pies NEED a big name player, a marquee player... the Dons could just about do with one too, unless Lloyd is still considered marquee, could be I guess.
deano the hawka
24 Sep 2008, 21:35
he has been in our bests in the VFL basically every game
Ben the Gooner
24 Sep 2008, 21:53
he has been in our bests in the VFL basically every game
With all due respect, I could be in Bendigo's best the way they went this year.:p
Little Birdy
25 Sep 2008, 15:44
Currently on Holidays in WA's southwest with Pears and Myers
The Donners
26 Sep 2008, 10:05
Currently on Holidays in WA's southwest with Pears and Myers
Dean Solomon was holidaying with other Essendon players and James Hird likewise. I'm not quite sure if you're suggesting that because he's on holidays with Pears and Myers that he would be sticking with the Bombers, Bendigo or Essendon?
Little Birdy
26 Sep 2008, 14:38
Don't read anything into my statement. He's just simply on holidays catching up with the guys he mentored this year in the Club's house.
Quality VFL/SANFL player, knows how to get the footy but cant kick over a jam tin. Not AFL quality as proven with his crows stint. Think Michael Doughty.....(shudders that he is still on our list)
I'm not sure what I've said in this thread already.
But giving Skipworth a spot on our senior list would be very sheedy-esque!
AndyLesPaul
1 Oct 2008, 22:09
I'm not sure what I've said in this thread already.
But giving Skipworth a spot on our senior list would be very sheedy-esque!
And we all know matthew knights almost assured us that would never happen again.
Quality VFL/SANFL player, knows how to get the footy but cant kick over a jam tin. Not AFL quality as proven with his crows stint. Think Michael Doughty.....(shudders that he is still on our list)
Err Doughty has been one of our best players this year :confused:
Skipworth on the other hand was mediocre 3 years ago, cant see him being anything but a list clogger and am astounded that Essendon are considering this