View Full Version : Cricket >>>> Soccer

Edwards27
13 Sep 2008, 12:19
I have many arguments with mates and people at school about Cricket being great than Soccer. Soccer bores me so much, 0-0 Draws....

Cricket >>>> Soccer :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

davey_magik
13 Sep 2008, 13:03
They're both equal for me.

Footy > Soccer = Cricket.

Romeo
13 Sep 2008, 13:43
Cricket's immeasurably better than soccer for me.

Headless
13 Sep 2008, 14:31
Cricket = Footy >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Soccer

Dez!
13 Sep 2008, 16:34
Cricket = Footy>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Dog crap>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Soccer

thegreenmachine
13 Sep 2008, 17:38
Agree with the OP. Can't wait to put my cricket cap on very soon.:)

thepower
13 Sep 2008, 18:25
i guess it depends what you're brought up with. lets face it, from an outsiders point of view both games are boring:

soccer
0-0 draws (for ppl who think scoring is vital)

cricket
5 day game?
stand around in the field

throw in

golf
stand, hit a ball, walk.

baseball
a bit like cricket

King Elvis
13 Sep 2008, 20:49
Cricket is like having sex with a good looking girl.

Soccer is like getting raped in prison.

OzBomber
13 Sep 2008, 23:52
Cricket just pips AFL which smashes soccer.

I still like soccer though.

TheMightyPies
13 Sep 2008, 23:59
cricket in summer, footy in winter.

simple

Admiral Afterworld
14 Sep 2008, 02:01
Soccer > cricket

lemmon
14 Sep 2008, 02:37

Genius

Blue Dimension
14 Sep 2008, 12:54
AFL >>>>>>> Cricket >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Soccer

ashley12
14 Sep 2008, 13:15
What kind of response did the OP really expect on the cricket board.

So he likes cricket over soccer. Woopdee do. No-one on the cricket board is going to bag out cricket, yet there will be people who hate soccer. Fair enough.

Why not ask this question on the soccer board. Or better yet, go down to a game and ask some of the fans there...

I love cricket, I love footy and I love soccer. All have there own pros and cons. If you dont like soccer, hey thats fine. But I dont want to waste my internet allowance finding out why without something resembling an explanation...

BluesMan
14 Sep 2008, 17:14

So he likes cricket over soccer. Woopdee do. No-one on the cricket board is going to bag out cricket, yet there will be people who hate soccer. Fair enough.

Why not ask this question on the soccer board. Or better yet, go down to a game and ask some of the fans there...

I love cricket, I love footy and I love soccer. All have there own pros and cons. If you dont like soccer, hey thats fine. But I dont want to waste my internet allowance finding out why without something resembling an explanation...

simple fix... dont go on the thread, read the title and say i dont want to go on this:eek:

AFL >>>cricket>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>soccer

not saying soccer is shit, im saying its nothing compared to cricket and afl in my books.

ashley12
15 Sep 2008, 14:27
simple fix... dont go on the thread, read the title and say i dont want to go on this:eek:

AFL >>>cricket>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>soccer

not saying soccer is shit, im saying its nothing compared to cricket and afl in my books.

Thats what I was looking for mate. I am not a psychic but I was interested to see why the OP held the views that he had... though I knew I would disagree with his views.

In response to the OP's main point, 0-0 draws. A nil all draw means the match can turn on its head at any time. This means the last 10 minutes of most matches are always tense. Compared to AFL, where very few games, maybe 1 in 10 are in the balance come time on in the 4th quarter.

The fact about lack of goals. What makes a goal, in either AFL or soccer exciting. What really gets someone going about one person kicking a ball to another person, who catches the ball, who walks back and kicks the ball through two white sticks... What I really enjoy about soccer/AFL/cricket and any sport really is the CONTEST, the passion showed by both teams trying their best to win a match or tournament. Thats what excites me about sport, not the individuals scoring moments (except the odd freak goal)

Dont get me wrong, I love my footy, and my cricket, but I love my soccer as well... If others dont, that is fine as well...

trev106
18 Sep 2008, 17:59
Aussie rules>>>>>cricket>>>>>>>>>watching paint dry>>>>>>>>soccer

SouthSwans
23 Sep 2008, 17:48
Cricket = Footy>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Dog crap>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Soccer
Seconded.

Paddy_Mac
25 Sep 2008, 19:56
Cricket is good to play but most people just like batting and that's it, can be boring to watch.

Footy is good to play and even better to watch.

Golf while frustrating at times is good to play, but it's crap to watch unless you're watching Tiger Woods on the last round sinking putts from 60 ft away.

Soccer can be fun but most of the time is boring to watch and play.

So I gotta say

Footy > Cricket = Soccer > Golf

Angry_Eel
25 Sep 2008, 21:22
it depends on what you grew up with. People who grew up with Cricket are obviously going to like that.

MC_Bomba
26 Sep 2008, 21:14

:thumbsu:

DeadlyAkkuret
26 Sep 2008, 23:31

So, in conclusion, you prefer soccer?

morax
27 Sep 2008, 21:40
cricket = ( afl > soccer ) :thumbsu:

TassieSaint
29 Sep 2008, 18:55
it depends on what you grew up with. People who grew up with Cricket are obviously going to like that.
You'd think so, but I grew up playing club soccer for years and years and haven't played a proper game of cricket in my life, but still for me:
Footy>>>Cricket>>>>>(Basketball)>>>>>>>>>Soccer

Poz_Utd_V.2
30 Sep 2008, 16:14
Lol at all of you.

Cricket doesn't compare to Soccer in my eyes.

It's that fkn boring they had to bring in a shortened 50 over game because it was going stale in the 70's and now they are bringing in 20/20 because the 50 over game is boring.

The game is poorly run (The last world cup) with minimal competition for the top teams and lets face it is only the biggest sport in shitty countries like India and the terrorists paradise Pakistan.

Plus the fact the actual game is fkn boring as hell. I mean when do you ever see a thrilling test match. The only ones I can recall is the adelaide match where Warnie won it himself and the other match where Clarke took 3 wickets in like 10 min or something to win the match.

And i love people use the argument, "yeah soccer is boring with 0-0 crap." One of the best games I have ever seen was Real Madrid vs Arsenal in the champions league around 2 years ago that ended 0-0. The game was tense for the full 90 mins with plenty of chances and brilliant goalkeeping by both sides that saw Arsenal progress after winning the first leg.

VINCANITY
30 Sep 2008, 19:29
I have many arguments with mates and people at school about Cricket being great than Soccer. Soccer bores me so much, 0-0 Draws....

Cricket >>>> Soccer :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
In soccer they play for 90 minutes and draw,
In cricket they play for five ****ing days and still draw.

Dont get me wrong i like cricket but soccer>>>>>Cricket

patto_man
30 Sep 2008, 19:30
i just realised how much better cricket is than soccer lol i had sport on the last day of term and played soccer it sucked ditched it to go bowl a ball at a wall owned soccer

vinnie
3 Oct 2008, 15:43
Cricket>>>>>Bat crap>>>>>Soccer

Cricket is better than soccer in every way.

1) Cricket is huge in India and Pakistan. Soccer has no supporters there.

2) Soccer is so boring. You sit there a whole 90 minutes waiting for the game to end.

3) Cricket crowds for sheffield shield are heaps bigger than the A-league. A-league crowds are falling.

4) Cricket crowds for ODI are growing and are heaps bigger than the socceroos games.

5) There is always crowd violence at the soccer with heaps of arrests and ejections every game.

6) Our cricketers get heaps more money than our soccer players.

7) Let us true blue Aussies play cricket. All the ethnics play soccer and shouldn't play cricket - keep them away from our sport. I'm glad no Aisans, Chinese, Italians, Greeks, Somalis - you name it - don't play our sport.

8) Nobody cares about the soccer world cup wee'll never make it again so it doesn't matter. The cricket world cup has bigger following.

9) Cricket has growing womens game which soccer doesn't have.

10) More people play cricket than soccer in Australia.

Poz_Utd_V.2
3 Oct 2008, 16:15

2) Soccer is so boring. You sit there a whole 90 minutes waiting for the game to end.

3) Cricket crowds for sheffield shield are heaps bigger than the A-league. A-league crowds are falling.

4) Cricket crowds for ODI are growing and are heaps bigger than the socceroos games.

5) There is always crowd violence at the soccer with heaps of arrests and ejections every game.

7) Let us true blue Aussies play cricket. All the ethnics play soccer and shouldn't play cricket - keep them away from our sport. I'm glad no Aisans, Chinese, Italians, Greeks, Somalis - you name it - don't play our sport.

8) Nobody cares about the soccer world cup wee'll never make it again so it doesn't matter. The cricket world cup has bigger following.

I am not sure if you are serious in this post or are being sarcastic?
If you are being serious then why do you support Victory and Chelsea? And Also 8/10 points you have stated are incorrect.

ashley12
3 Oct 2008, 16:18

Do some research buddy...

1) Cricket is big in 8 countries in the world. Soccer is big in EVERY country in the world. 2 billion people (1 in 3) watched the world cup final France vs Italy, and that isnt excluding those who couldnt get to a TV...

2) Soccer goes for 90 minutes... Cricket in some forms can go for 30 hours...

3) Please, you can be serious... watch a highlights package on the news of a state cricket team, then watch an A-League highlight bulletin.

4) ODI crowds are falling, there was a reason that first the Sheffield Shield got dropped from FTA, then the domestic OD Games, and now some of the ODI's in Australia are being dropped to fox, because 3 and a half men rates better...

5) The monkey taunts in India were just great werent they:rolleyes:

6) Nope, Aussies are the best in the world at cricket and when compared to the best footballers in the world, both the international ones and the Aussies overseas, the footballers rake it in... as shown here http://www.brw.com.au/viewer.aspx?EDP:%2F%2F1197457169520

These players come in ahead of the number 1 cricket earner in Gilly

Kewell #2
Neill #8
Viduka #10
Cahill #12
Schwarzer #15
Emerton #18 before Gilly in 21st...

7) Moises Henriques says hi from his birthplace in Lisbon. And you pwned yourself

I'm glad no Aisans, Chinese, Italians, Greeks, Somalis - you name it - don't play our sport.

8) We will. We just won our 2nd toughest away game and look set to head to South Africa in 2010...

9) The Womens World Cup 2007 had an average attendance of over 36,000. The mens cricket world cup 2007 had an average attendance of about 13,000 per match.

10) I would say more people in Australia would play organised soccer then cricket...

I love cricket, but these ZOMG!!! CRICKET IS TEH AWSOME!!1!1!1!!!1 people have absolutely no idea...

mushda
6 Oct 2008, 20:20
^ Sarcasm I think...

For me it's AFL>>>>>>cricket=soccer.

Johnson#26
6 Oct 2008, 20:48
Footy > Cricket > Tennis

Daz
6 Oct 2008, 20:57
Cricket. Soccer is made crap by the sooking whenever a player gets clipped on the shins (not to mention the diving).

Poz_Utd_V.2
6 Oct 2008, 21:23
Cricket. Soccer is made crap by the sooking whenever a player gets clipped on the shins (not to mention the diving).

Every sport has its unsportsmanlike behavior, players in footy dive and look frees by milking it for what its worth (Boomer Harvey)

What about in cricket when players don't walk when they know there out (Symonds, Clarke) this is unsportsmanlike behavior as well.
I thought cricket was a gentleman's game?

Even in tennis with deliberate stalling and calling for the trainer to stop the momentum.

Every sport has its ugly side, don't single out soccer.

Daz
6 Oct 2008, 21:43
Every sport has its unsportsmanlike behavior, players in footy dive and look frees by milking it for what its worth (Boomer Harvey)

What about in cricket when players don't walk when they know there out (Symonds, Clarke) this is unsportsmanlike behavior as well.
I thought cricket was a gentleman's game?

Even in tennis with deliberate stalling and calling for the trainer to stop the momentum.

Every sport has its ugly side, don't single out soccer.

I see what your getting at but out of all those examples the only one I have a major problem with is the stalling in tennis. Diving in footy doesn't even compare to soccer. In soccer it is accepted that players will milk a foul for everything it's worth, whereas in footy toughness is held in high regard. I am of the opinion that no player should be blamed for not walking in cricket as it's just a rub of the green thing. If your a defender and you handball it in the box do you stop play to let the ref know it should be a penalty? The best thing that has happened to soccer is the simulation rule and even that should be used more often (I like the idea of a MRP that suspends players for diving).

Poz_Utd_V.2
6 Oct 2008, 22:08
I see what your getting at but out of all those examples the only one I have a major problem with is the stalling in tennis. Diving in footy doesn't even compare to soccer. In soccer it is accepted that players will milk a foul for everything it's worth, whereas in footy toughness is held in high regard. I am of the opinion that no player should be blamed for not walking in cricket as it's just a rub of the green thing. If your a defender and you handball it in the box do you stop play to let the ref know it should be a penalty? The best thing that has happened to soccer is the simulation rule and even that should be used more often (I like the idea of a MRP that suspends players for diving).

Players in AFL milk for frees for everything its worth as well mate don't you worry about that. How many times do you see a 'love tap' only for the player to go down like a sack of s*** and get a free kick for it or in some cases get the player reported! It's simply part of the game to gain an advantage through a free-kick as it is in soccer.

At least soccer is doing something about the cheats with things you stated, whereas in footy they get away with it, largely thanks to incompetent umpires who get sucked in week after week.

To me the diving, staging etc. is as bad as each other in both sports the only difference is in soccer it will stand out more due that fact it can result in a penalty and a match defining moment that sticks in peoples minds. whereas in footy it will be forgotten about in 3mins

Daz
6 Oct 2008, 22:25
Players in AFL milk for frees for everything its worth as well mate don't you worry about that. How many times do you see a 'love tap' only for the player to go down like a sack of s*** and get a free kick for it or in some cases get the player reported! It's simply part of the game to gain an advantage through a free-kick as it is in soccer.

At least soccer is doing something about the cheats with things you stated, whereas in footy they get away with it, largely thanks to incompetent umpires who get sucked in week after week.

To me the diving, staging etc. is as bad as each other in both sports the only difference is in soccer it will stand out more due that fact it can result in a penalty and a match defining moment that sticks in peoples minds. whereas in footy it will be forgotten about in 3mins

I agree that there is staging in footy but the players that do (Lloyd) get ridiculed for it whereas it is seen as the norm in soccer (with the exception of Ronaldo who took it too far). And it's simply far more frustrating in soccer because play has to stop for a player to be stretchered off the field only for the player to jump up of the stretcher and be ready to go at the next possible opportunity. Maybe they could create a rule so that the player has to stay off for say 10 minutes or something like that.

Uhumagoo
7 Oct 2008, 23:10
For me Cricket fills the void in the few weeks between the Superbowl and the start of the NAB cup. Only watch Soccer if its an International (any countries)

vinnie
8 Oct 2008, 13:25
Cricket beats Soccer for the following reasons:

1) Cricket in huge in parts of the world where soccer doesn't rate a blip, like India and pakistan.

2) The Australian domestic cricket (PURA CUP) state games get heaps more sponsorship and crowd attendance than the domstic soccer A-league. Bushrangers get heaps more crowd support than Melbourne Victroy.

3) Cricket players get better pay than soccer players, like Andrew Symons. You get more money playing cricket. A-league players get little money.

4) More Australians play cricket than soccer.

5) Soccer always has crowd violence and ejections. Drunken crowd behaviour and ejections are always higher at soccer games than cricket games.

6) The international test matches with Australia get heaps more people than socceroos games.

7) Crowds are growing at PURA games much faster than A-league games.

8) Soccer is so boring and takes ages for a result - who would want to sit through 90 minutes of boredom.

9) The Australia cricket team has true Australian represenatives that show the real Australia with just Anglo saxon names in the team list. The socceroos are just a mix of different races with no Australians.

10) Soccer games can be decided by one bad referee decision to give a player a penalty.

The list could go on but I'm getting bored like watching a soccer match.
Cricket is heaps better than soccer.....

Poz_Utd_V.2
8 Oct 2008, 17:25
^

lol now i get it

ashley12
8 Oct 2008, 21:48
Cricket beats Soccer for the following reasons:

1) Cricket in huge in parts of the world where soccer doesn't rate a blip, like India and pakistan.

2) The Australian domestic cricket (PURA CUP) state games get heaps more sponsorship and crowd attendance than the domstic soccer A-league. Bushrangers get heaps more crowd support than Melbourne Victroy.

3) Cricket players get better pay than soccer players, like Andrew Symons. You get more money playing cricket. A-league players get little money.

4) More Australians play cricket than soccer.

5) Soccer always has crowd violence and ejections. Drunken crowd behaviour and ejections are always higher at soccer games than cricket games.

6) The international test matches with Australia get heaps more people than socceroos games.

7) Crowds are growing at PURA games much faster than A-league games.

8) Soccer is so boring and takes ages for a result - who would want to sit through 90 minutes of boredom.

9) The Australia cricket team has true Australian represenatives that show the real Australia with just Anglo saxon names in the team list. The socceroos are just a mix of different races with no Australians.

10) Soccer games can be decided by one bad referee decision to give a player a penalty.

The list could go on but I'm getting bored like watching a soccer match.
Cricket is heaps better than soccer.....

That Symons is quite a character...

Im not going to argue with an imbecile because I will get dragged down to their level and then be beaten with experience...

unstable punt
9 Oct 2008, 22:04

exactly mate, stupid thread.......Soccer is better than Cricket IMO but that is just my opinion