View Full Version : Shannon Watt

Rooboy 96
21 Dec 2000, 06:32
Just wondering if anyone had heard anything about how he is training... I expect 2001 to be a big year Shannon...

kymhodgemansmo
21 Dec 2000, 07:27
Not before time.

All of these outstanding tall timber youngsters have been disappointing for us, including him.

Granted he is only young, but he was a priority selection and our record on those has been poor.

And his performances over three years in my opinion have not measured up to the potentioal touted.

Compare him with the likes of Leigh Brown etc at Fremantle who performed just one year out and you realise how imperative it is that he performs.

I hope he does, but I was a greater believer in the likes of Hewitt and Hay.

Would like to hear how he is going though also.

DEVO
21 Dec 2000, 08:48
I hoping Shannon Watt and Adam Lange have big years nest season. Adam showed a lot of potential last season and hopefully Shannon can make the same improvement.

Why do we have so many guys in our team with the name Shannon, isn't it a girls name. My sister's name is Shannon and I'm pretty sure she's a girl, although she supports Carlton, so maybe further research is needed before I commit to that comment.

DEVO
the mean spirited Roo

Sorry sis

kymhodgemansmo
21 Dec 2000, 08:55
Lange will be an absolute cracker next season.

Smarter, harder, he has wonderful vision and scope for improvement.

As for Watt the jury is well and truly out for me.

Make or break

JUBJUB
21 Dec 2000, 09:15
Anymore Shannon's at North ?

------------------
"Absatively Posilutely"

Shinboners
21 Dec 2000, 09:37
I agree with kimhodgmansmo on Lange. He started 2000 pretty well with some very good games in defence, before his form took a downturn midyear. But when he played forward, I liked the way he threw himself into pack situations....maybe if Pagan guarantees him 3 or 4 games in a row, he'll get the confidence to be a consistent performer in our side.

Carey_is_King
21 Dec 2000, 13:20
To me, Lange is a classic case of a young player not being given adequate opportunity in a position, and therefore is becoming uncertain of his own capabilities. This would be my chief concern with Denis's coaching, great coach though he is.
Lange looks like a real prospect for CHF, if only he is given some opportunities.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

kymhodgemansmo
21 Dec 2000, 16:10
Agreed, and I think his efforts down back have proven he will be a more effective forward - they were ordinary to say the least.

But the guy has a big heart and plays like Archer, but with more size.

He looks a given for Centre Half Forward or that second forward option ala Schwarz.

Pagan needs to run with him and I did read in the HUN that he has already added 4-5kg bulk to his frame.

The boy is keen, talented, and could be a poor man's Carey, as the King goes further down forward to kick a ton or become the greatest centre half back in history.

Gonzo
22 Dec 2000, 04:47
I think Langey was a bit overawed on some occassions. He looked a bit Carey wary and didn't attack the ball as hard when the Duck was in the area.

Maybe plonk him down at CHF when the Duck moves down back and tell him to cut loose!! - all it would take would be one good game for the confidence and he'd be away!!

I still remember that game where he ran back into and crashed a pack, coming up with the mark - bought a smile to my face and a slight sense of deja vu!!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

Cheers

Gonzo

CHF
22 Dec 2000, 14:35
Lange,
A bit to short.
Way to slow.
Maybe his strength, courage and good hands are good enough to make-up for his shortcomings.
Good luck to him!

Watt,
Has not shown one sign that he will make the grade.
But good luck to him anyway!

Groucho
22 Dec 2000, 15:15
Yes,Adam's far too short to even consider as a CHF and a little too slow for a flanker. He does have good footy nous though and should find a niche, maybe as a Sholl like leading forward.

Carey_is_King
22 Dec 2000, 16:46
I must confess, I would have called him for 192cm or thereabouts, but I see from the AFL player info that he is 186cm. I am very surprised by that, but I must agree that is too short for CHF. Slow is not so important, as there are few slower than Whitnall and he is talked of as a future champion CHF.
So where to play Lange ?

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

Aussie_Roo
23 Dec 2000, 15:04
Shannon Watt was a brilliant junior footballer, so he obviously has the talent. I'd like to see him develop as perhaps a replacement for Micky Martyn when he retires. He has the height, and just needs to bulk up a bit (from all reports he is doing that anyway). Definitely a make or break year for him in 2001.

Adam Lange - play him up forward, beautiful long kick and a strong mark, the opportunity is there for him to be our 3rd marking forward (now that Sholly has retired.

What about Brady Rawlings?? Does anyone think he will get a game next year?? Like Lange, he needs the opportunity of putting a couple together.

Carey_is_King
23 Dec 2000, 15:47
I must say, I have never seen even a glimmer of talent in Rawlings and I do not understand why he is still on the list. Obviously better judges than me see something.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

Rooboy 96
23 Dec 2000, 21:28
CIK... don't worry about Rawlings he'll be alright... but then I think Shannon Grant is a class footballer... who had a crap 2000...

warrior
2 Jan 2001, 15:37
Shannon Watt has the opportunity of a lifetime to grab a spot in the backline of the Seniors.If he cannot do this within 11 games ,and hold his position ,he is not up to AFL football and should be given the flick!!!

warrior

Urmoe
9 Apr 2008, 08:48
BUMP!!!!!!

..................You guys should read some of this old stuff.

In hindsight there are some great calls and some cracking comments.

Anyways...Im bored, can someone say something controversial?

Devil Fish
9 Apr 2008, 09:02
Just wondering if anyone had heard anything about how he is training... I expect 2001 to be a big year Shannon...

Man, so many threads have been started on this guy over the last 5-6 years. Mostly negative, & deservedly so. But I don't blame him. I have no doubt he gives 100% on the track & out on the ground but he just ain't up to it. Never has been & never will be. I blame the NMFC heirarchy for investing so much time & effort into him when it was blatantly obvious 4-5 years ago that his current standard was as good as he was ever going to be. ie. occasionally be able to stop the 3rd best forward.

Event Horizon
9 Apr 2008, 09:25
The Watt V Leigh Brown comparison is gold, in hindsight...

To think that we've now both of them on our list for some time and they are both "loved" as they are...

Rooboy 96
9 Apr 2008, 11:23
Gotta love my call on Rawlings... one of the few I have ever got right... :D:D:D

as for Watt... he gives his all... I still would love to see him play a few games up forward... but I doubt this will ever happen now... :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

roobear
9 Apr 2008, 12:02
Not before time.

All of these outstanding tall timber youngsters have been disappointing for us, including him.

Granted he is only young, but he was a priority selection and our record on those has been poor.

And his performances over three years in my opinion have not measured up to the potentioal touted.

Compare him with the likes of Leigh Brown etc at Fremantle who performed just one year out and you realise how imperative it is that he performs.

I hope he does, but I was a greater believer in the likes of Hewitt and Hay.

Would like to hear how he is going though also.

Did Kymhodgemansmo get a job in our recruiting department?

Lidge
9 Apr 2008, 12:12
BUMP!!!!!!

That was a ferocious bump Urmoe.

Brought a tear to the eye - and memories of Choppy Pickett doing his thang.

Urmoe
9 Apr 2008, 12:17
That was a ferocious bump Urmoe.

Brought a tear to the eye - and memories of Choppy Pickett doing his thang.
Where is Brendan Krummel these days?

Morcosovich
9 Apr 2008, 12:34
I agree Watt is definately lacking hes is perfectly built, good height and a great sprint. He is physically made for his position but hes still shit, its hes never play footy before. I mean even 14 yr old can kick a drop punt because thats all he seems to do, he almost never wins out in 1 on 1 . He definately needs to be sidelined. Not sure who could drop in for him? got any ideas?

Im not overally happy with gibson also, i know alot of people think hes a decent player but hes still got some work ahead. Honestly i think Pratt/Petrie should of went to buddy on the weekend.

Falkroo
9 Apr 2008, 12:52
BUMP!!!!!!

..................You guys should read some of this old stuff.

In hindsight there are some great calls and some cracking comments.

Anyways...Im bored, can someone say something controversial?

Honestly, i'm one of watt's biggest critics, but after reading this thread, i've come to the conclusion, all he needs is a bit of time, i'm sure he's about to turn the corner and develop into a very serviceable 200 gamer.

budge11
9 Apr 2008, 13:51
lol ^

shinboner magic
9 Apr 2008, 14:56
I see the ppl that were backing Watt to have a big 2001 have disappeared in shame.

Watt has all the tools except one,footy smarts

franjon
9 Apr 2008, 15:31
[QUOTE=Falkroo;10603230]Honestly, i'm one of watt's biggest critics, but after reading this thread, i've come to the conclusion, all he needs is a bit of time, i'm sure he's about to turn the corner and develop into a very serviceable 200 gamer.[/QUOTE
Shannon Watt is 27 will be 28 in November , he has been on the list for ten years,and played 134 games.
If he was going to turn any corner he would have done it by now.
When he goes back to the VFL he looks as good as anyone, sadly the step up seems to be too high.

True_Roo
9 Apr 2008, 15:34
Well personally, I reckon Watt has come a long way in the last seven years....
I think he's a fairly accomplished player.. always gives it his all.
Importantly, he's become more competitive in the air which was always his weak point...

geez I never thought I'd defend the guy.. but there you go... I just did... is this controversial enough?

roobear
9 Apr 2008, 15:35
[QUOTE=Falkroo;10603230]Honestly, i'm one of watt's biggest critics, but after reading this thread, i've come to the conclusion, all he needs is a bit of time, i'm sure he's about to turn the corner and develop into a very serviceable 200 gamer.[/QUOTE
Shannon Watt is 27 will be 28 in November , he has been on the list for ten years,and played 134 games.
If he was going to turn any corner he would have done it by now.
When he goes back to the VFL he looks as good as anyone, sadly the step up seems to be too high.
Need to go back over your members guide franjon
http://imagecache2.allposters.com/images/153/3825.jpg

Falkroo
9 Apr 2008, 17:05
Thanks for spelling that out Roobear:D

Zondor
9 Apr 2008, 17:13
Where is Brendan Krummel these days?I don't know about you guys but gee he was opened up like a dirty you know what that night. Was that the same night Carey kicked 8 at VFL/AFL Park?

I remember a couple of clown Hawkthorn supporters or should I just call them Hawkthorn supporters because the assumption is that they are clowns anyways? Well getting back on track, Carey went near the ball early in the match and these 2 clowns starting carrying on how Carey was "Shit". Well let me tell you that after every goal, after every mark, after every special Duck moment, The Fish and myself kept on saying in very loud voices. "Yeah that Carey is shit", "Yeah that Carey has to improve. Like 5 goals aint enough. Like that's just a shit effort for the 6th goal" , "Gee that mark was shit", "We should be winning by 150 points if it wasn't for that shit prick Carey.".

Fair to say that those Hawks supporters cracked it and had a big sook at us and finally admitted that Carey wasn't shit.:thumbsu:

The Teflon Dean
9 Apr 2008, 17:17
I don't know about you guys but gee he was opened up like a dirty you know what that night. Was that the same night Carey kicked 8 at VFL/AFL Park?

I remember a couple of clown Hawkthorn supporters or should I just call them Hawkthorn supporters because the assumption is that they are clowns anyways? Well getting back on track, Carey went near the ball early in the match and these 2 clowns starting carrying on how Carey was "Shit". Well let me tell you that after every goal, after every mark, after every special Duck moment, The Fish and myself kept on saying in very loud voices. "Yeah that Carey is shit", "Yeah that Carey has to improve. Like 5 goals aint enough. Like that's just a shit effort for the 6th goal" , "Gee that mark was shit", "We should be winning by 150 points if it wasn't for that shit prick Carey.".

Fair to say that those Hawks supporters cracked it and had a big sook at us and finally admitted that Carey wasn't shit.:thumbsu:

So what do Cryptkeeper and Frankston Rover look like in person?

Zondor
9 Apr 2008, 17:24
So what do Cryptkeeper and Frankston Rover look like in person?You asked.

http://www.calvinayrelife.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/09/inbred-patent-trolls.jpg

franjon
9 Apr 2008, 17:40
[QUOTE=franjon;10604795]
Need to go back over your members guide franjon
http://imagecache2.allposters.com/images/153/3825.jpg

I don,t consider it sarcasm, it is my opinion which I am entitled to.
If you consider it sarcasm ,thats your opinion which you are entitled to.
Cest la vie

captainbucket
9 Apr 2008, 17:42
You asked.

http://www.calvinayrelife.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/09/inbred-patent-trolls.jpg

that must be an old photo because they have much less hair these days

The Teflon Dean
9 Apr 2008, 17:43
You asked.

:D

I was expecting more drool.

captainbucket
9 Apr 2008, 17:45
geez though doesn't the bloke on the right look like Darren Jarman

Zondor
9 Apr 2008, 17:49
geez though doesn't the bloke on the right look like Darren JarmanYeah, thats before he ate one too many baked potatoes.

Devil Fish
9 Apr 2008, 18:13
I don't know about you guys but gee he was opened up like a dirty you know what that night. Was that the same night Carey kicked 8 at VFL/AFL Park?

Well I was actually there that night & those Hawthorn clowns referred to Carey as `Steroids' also. And that was the night I bought an `AFL Pie' that Steven Silvagni was advertising at the time. It was the worst $4.50 I ever spent. I may as well have taken a dump, wrapped it in toilet paper & eaten that. It was a surprise because I always rated Waverly as `the best catered ground' but now Skilled Stadium holds that title. No need to explain why I would've thought.

Urmoe
9 Apr 2008, 18:33
I may as well have taken a dump, wrapped it in toilet paper & eaten that.
Why eat Zondor's dinner?

Devil Fish
9 Apr 2008, 21:08
Why eat Zondor's dinner?

Two Shay.