View Full Version : GC v Lions = Queensland RODEO

Black Falcon
19 Sep 2008, 18:30
GC v Lions

No derby or showdown. We're Queenslanders - give us a RODEO. You know you want to. Yeeeeehaaaah

Any other suggestions- we'll have a poll.
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/05/StampedeRodeo2002.JPG/300px-StampedeRodeo2002.JPG (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:StampedeRodeo2002.JPG)

Inciting Violence
19 Sep 2008, 18:35
hoedown

mediumsizered
19 Sep 2008, 20:40
GC v Lions

No derby or showdown. We're Queenslanders - give us a RODEO. You know you want to. Yeeeeehaaaah

Any other suggestions- we'll have a poll.
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/05/StampedeRodeo2002.JPG/300px-StampedeRodeo2002.JPG (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:StampedeRodeo2002.JPG)

I'm a bit concerned about a rodeo involving Lions. Could get a bit messy.

Stereophonic
19 Sep 2008, 21:23
http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/02_01/LionBAR0602_800x672.jpg

I fear the Rodeo!!!!!

TheBrownDog
19 Sep 2008, 22:02
The Duel?

Faceoff?

Stereophonic
19 Sep 2008, 22:05
What about the Michael Voss shield or something to that effect

or The Northern Showdown

The rumble in the tropics (The Trumble)?

The Banana Cup?

The Maroon jive?

The .... out of ideas...

TheBrownDog
19 Sep 2008, 22:07
What about the Michael Voss shield or something to that effect

or The Northern Showdown

The rumble in the tropics (The Trumble)?

The Banana Cup?

The Maroon jive?

The .... out of ideas...

What about the Meltdown?

Rowie09
19 Sep 2008, 22:08
The Rodeo?

Im a fan!

Supermercado
19 Sep 2008, 22:42
The Sun State Smackdown

mediumsizered
19 Sep 2008, 23:34
The Sun State Smackdown

Not a bad idea, although I'm not a big fan of using wrestling terminology.

mediumsizered
19 Sep 2008, 23:35
http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/02_01/LionBAR0602_800x672.jpg

I fear the Rodeo!!!!!

That is what I visualised. Would be an attractive proposition for those people who like bloodsports.

Black Falcon
20 Sep 2008, 00:40
Point taken Mediumsizered. Thats a frightening pic from JTGM. Kind of all depends on what the GC logo ends up being. Gary Clifford would be mincemeat with that Lion.

Hoedown is a possibility, but sounds too much like Showdown. Northern Rumble? :D

FootyJunkie
20 Sep 2008, 00:48
I heard "Sunshine State Duel" being mooted in the media a while back, although it will make little sense to emphasise "Sunshine" if a game is played at night at the GABBA.

Black Falcon
20 Sep 2008, 01:15
FJ yeah I've heard that too. We think Qld's pretty good up here, and on the radio, I thought they were saying 'jewel', but thats a bit wussy for a patch-scrap.

Still, they used pistols and fencing in duels, and GC is on the border fence, so it might work. Northern Duel??? Nah...shoot it

Docker Clint
20 Sep 2008, 02:26
Deliverance. With banjos playing over the PA.

Funkalicous
20 Sep 2008, 11:19
Faceoff?

Best one so far. - Southern Showdown, Western Derby, Northern Faceoff. :thumbsu:

Black Falcon
21 Sep 2008, 00:09
Best one so far. - Southern Showdown, Western Derby, Northern Faceoff. :thumbsu:

Does Faceoff have anything to do with being off your face? Could be very apt v GC :rolleyes:

If GC were the Cougars (gold colouring and red blood) then the Northern Rumble would go ok. But GC17 aren't gonna make it easy one little bit are they? :cool:

TheBrownDog
21 Sep 2008, 01:03
Does Faceoff have anything to do with being off your face? Could be very apt v GC :rolleyes:

If GC were the Cougars (gold colouring and red blood) then the Northern Rumble would go ok. But GC17 aren't gonna make it easy one little bit are they? :cool:

Would get called the Catfight :D

Tex_21
21 Sep 2008, 10:52
Rodeo, Rodeo, Rodeo, ROdeo, Rodeo, Rodeo, ROdeo.

mediumsizered
21 Sep 2008, 11:40
Rodeo, Rodeo, Rodeo, ROdeo, Rodeo, Rodeo, ROdeo.

If the Gold Coast and the Brisbane teams were known as the Broncos or the Bulls then you could call it a rodeo. I can't say I have ever seen a rodeo containing Lions, so this idea just won't work.

Tex_21
21 Sep 2008, 11:48
If the Gold Coast and the Brisbane teams were known as the Broncos or the Bulls then you could call it a rodeo. I can't say I have ever seen a rodeo containing Lions, so this idea just won't work.
True, those names would help. But, how many derbies have you seen involving an eagle and a docker? or showdowns involving crows and power? (crows and shotguns doesn't count). Imagine the half-time entertainment! Grant Wells riding bulls, could incorporate the QLD bull-riding champs into it.

Stereophonic
21 Sep 2008, 12:17
True, those names would help. But, how many derbies have you seen involving an eagle and a docker? or showdowns involving crows and power? (crows and shotguns doesn't count). Imagine the half-time entertainment! Grant Wells riding bulls, could incorporate the QLD bull-riding champs into it.

or Grant Denyer, if he keeps having accidents there will be nothing left of the poor fella soon:p

SwampCreature
21 Sep 2008, 12:29
I'm sure the marketers think of some name for it to plug the shite out of in the precedcing weeks leading up to it, i just hopes it not gay. And I def think a name should be CHOSEN this time...

Black Falcon
21 Sep 2008, 14:08

So if we end up with a Lion v Gary Clifford , does this mean we should call it the Northern Circus ??? Get Gary to juggle while riding a monocycle, with a big red nose and funny hair? :p

Gibbke
21 Sep 2008, 14:10
Well, I'd add the AFL Expansion Wankfest, but that's already taken for when the Gold Coast takes on West Sydney...

Lions and humans in speedos...the last time anything resembling this happened on a regular basis was when Christians were fed to the lions at the Colosseum in Ancient Rome...it'll probably look like that for the first few seasons, too...pity GC17 didn't use the name Gladiators, there's a promo poster right there...

Calling it a Rodeo makes Qlders look like hicks...so pun away...doesn't worry me, I moved here...!

Black Falcon
21 Sep 2008, 14:36
Gibbke, I believe you've just coined the perfect nickname for them, the Gold Coast Gladiators. Kind of beefs up Gazza from gay beach bum to something more noble ...........not that there's anything wrong with that.................

So then GC v Lions would the..........Northern Slaughter....:)

Team Mo'
21 Sep 2008, 15:42
Shindigg

fishmonger
21 Sep 2008, 17:18
DEMETRIOU DERBY ?

sort of like demolition, where the code of AFL that is being smashed into pieces by soccer and league

Subprime
21 Sep 2008, 17:21
DEMETRIOU DERBY ?

sort of like demolition, where the code of AFL that is being smashed into pieces by soccer and league

It will be good to see you disappointed in years to come.

fishmonger
21 Sep 2008, 17:23
It will be good to see you disappointed in years to come.

Sorry mate. I don't know about you, but I won't be alive in 100 years when Gill and Andy's plans start to come to fruition. :rolleyes:

Maybe I could go into carbon freeze or something. :o

Subprime
21 Sep 2008, 17:40
Sorry mate. I don't know about you, but I won't be alive in 100 years when Gill and Andy's plans start to come to fruition. :rolleyes:

The AFL commissions plan is to spread the game and this includes developing the game outside its heartland. Good on them I say.

If that plan peeves you, so be it.

fairdinkum
21 Sep 2008, 19:34

:thumbsu::D:thumbsu:

CarltonFan
21 Sep 2008, 20:39

R:DF:thumbsu:!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Monty of the Shire
22 Sep 2008, 15:01
- Sunshine State Superbowl
- Battle of the Queens
- The Sunburn Skirmish

Black Falcon
22 Sep 2008, 16:16
- Sunshine State Superbowl
- Battle of the Queens
- The Sunburn Skirmish

LOL If only GC called them Cougars then we'd have a Catfight, as someone else suggested. Or perhaps that would suit Gary Clifford as well............;)

TheBrownDog
22 Sep 2008, 18:41
I still like the Meltdown myself. I'm sticking with that.

PDJohnson
22 Sep 2008, 19:51
Faceoff?

Face-off is a very good idea - modern, tough - kids will love it!:thumbsu:

hot_pies81
22 Sep 2008, 21:52
DEMETRIOU DERBY ?

You're just a little ray of sunshine there, aren't you Fish?:D

Personally, I'm looking forward to going to the very first Faceoff in Rd1 2011.

TheBrownDog
23 Sep 2008, 00:16
Personally, I'm looking forward to going to the very first Faceoff in Rd1 2011.

Actually, that raises an interesting question. Will the AFL go for the Face-Off in the first round?

I can't be bothered looking, but did they schedule Freo against the Eagles and Port against the Crows in their first game?

Actually, Rivalry Round is normally round 3, so ti would probably happen then.

Also worth noting is that during the period between the Gold Coast joining and West Sydney joining... Sydney won't have a rival for rivalry round, and will get the bye I imagine.

Stereophonic
23 Sep 2008, 09:02
Im not sure Brissy and GC will play in rivalry round as you have to have some sort of rivalry to begin with not some manufactured pop band rivalry.

TheBrownDog
23 Sep 2008, 09:40
Im not sure Brissy and GC will play in rivalry round as you have to have some sort of rivalry to begin with not some manufactured pop band rivalry.

We've been playing Sydney in Rivalry round for years. Manufactured beyond belief!

phurry
23 Sep 2008, 10:54
How about calling it....
The Battle of the Titans!!
Would fit in well on the Gold Coast! ;) hahahaha!!

Ant_
23 Sep 2008, 15:43
The Smackerdown ;)

Black Falcon
23 Sep 2008, 15:53
Northern Faceoff seems to be gaining some traction. Doesn't matter then what GC decides for a nickname.

A Lions v GC rivalry, what else can there be in Rd 3?

Build the case for Swans having their own rival in that city. (WS knockers vent your spleens on the many other threads on that issue.:cool:)

Black Falcon
23 Sep 2008, 15:57

It will be deadset rivalry from the first year- media will demand it (circus that it is)- even though it may take years before the fans feel sufficiently rivalrous............:p

Professor Knowall
23 Sep 2008, 15:58
How about calling it....
The Battle of the Titans!!
Would fit in well on the Gold Coast! ;) hahahaha!!
In Greek mythology, the Titans are the ultimate bunch of losers, who got crushed by the younger, stronger Olympean gods, who then banished the hapless Titans to bottomless vaults below the bottom of the ocean.

So how about
The Battle of the Olympeans!!

Monty of the Shire
23 Sep 2008, 16:30
We've been playing Sydney in Rivalry round for years. Manufactured beyond belief!

Yeah but the whole notion of creating a 'franchise' then naming a fixture it plays in from the first year is manufactured beyond belief. This is marketing at its purest (and shallowest). faceoff/meltdown sound like american wrestling programs on main event! :)

Pisstake suggestions aside, why is there a need to invent a name for the fixture? Seems very contrived...

Black Falcon
23 Sep 2008, 18:07
Because if others don't try to invent a name, then the news sports teams including Fox will manufacture one for us, deep from within their vaults of Americana experience. So if we aint happy with hoedown and hootenanny, we'd better be the inventers, before it all happens!

Titans or Olympeans...............pleeeasssseeee :(

Monty, isn't "State of Origin" NRL MARKETING

Tex_21
24 Sep 2008, 08:25
Because if others don't try to invent a name, then the news sports teams including Fox will manufacture one for us, deep from within their vaults of Americana experience. So if we aint happy with hoedown and hootenanny, we'd better be the inventers, before it all happens!

Titans or Olympeans...............pleeeasssseeee :(

State of Origin was a AF concept, which RL then turned into a more successful one. It was first implemented in 1977 with Tasmania defeating Victoria, and the RL boys then used it first in 1981 I think.
Anyway-go the RODEO! Lets get us some bull ridin', calf ropin, buck jumpin fun!

Monty of the Shire
24 Sep 2008, 12:29

certainly is these days mate - although its a pale version of its former self. it used to be a way for interstate rivals to settle scores, in the 80's/90's these games were unmissable, everyone had BBQ's/parties on origin night. now there are hardly any fights or massive hits and the players dont seem to play with the same passion - they used to tackle and fight like their life was on the line, i used to be mesmerised as a kid watching it. all's changed now and as a result its not as big an event. its a crying shame, but thats modern sport in general. origin nowadays is no longer a passionate hard fought contest, it is now a product sold to television stations so they can stuff it with as much overt advertising as possible and we fans just have to bend over and cop it...arent we lucky! :thumbsu:

back to the thread - why do they have to name an AFL fixture anyway? 'showdown' is bad enough but some of the serious suggestions on here are worse. why not call a local rival games a 'derby' like normal instead of employing yank phrases? why not let a name develop (if it has to have one) instead of having to give it a bloody brand name? i weep at the state of modern football in this country :(

51st state here we come.....

Black Falcon
24 Sep 2008, 19:23
The marketeers won't just 'let a name develop'. They along with the clubs involved will plug it for all its worth. Ask Freo, who always play their best against Eagles. Ask Crows after Port smashed them this year in the Showdown.

Admittedly the Bris-Sydney games haven't reached the same level of SOS brutality, but thats because there's over 600km between them, plus its not really SOS as so many players come from Vic.

Better if we explore naming possibilities, before an executive does it for us. I'm all for Ozzie stuff. How about Northern Corroboree?

Monty of the Shire
25 Sep 2008, 17:00
The marketeers won't just 'let a name develop'. They along with the clubs involved will plug it for all its worth. Ask Freo, who always play their best against Eagles. Ask Crows after Port smashed them this year in the Showdown.

Admittedly the Bris-Sydney games haven't reached the same level of SOS brutality, but thats because there's over 600km between them, plus its not really SOS as so many players come from Vic.

Better if we explore naming possibilities, before an executive does it for us. I'm all for Ozzie stuff. How about Northern Corroboree?

top idea mate, indigenous names would be great - anything that doesn't copy the yanks gets the thumbs up with me :thumbsu: so sick of names like power/roar/storm etc

bears2lions
3 Oct 2008, 16:07
Vegas versus the Coast

Tripwire
4 Oct 2008, 02:10
The Brisbane Lions and Gold Coast will be the best Rivarly imo, Perhaps better than Collingwood and Blues, to make things more interesting, try and come up with any names that would fit into the Rivarly i.e Fremantle vs West Coast= Western Derby. My pick is for the rivarly is the "battle of the jungle":D Another thing, What is the stadium that is the Gc "home ground?"
Also do any of you Gc supporters think the West Sydney is rubbish?

TheBrownDog
4 Oct 2008, 04:12
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=496467
:p

krisholio14
4 Oct 2008, 04:55
Deliverance. With banjos playing over the PA.

Works for me :thumbsu:

TheBrownDog
4 Oct 2008, 05:13
Works for me :thumbsu:

Geelong supporter. ;)

Stereophonic
4 Oct 2008, 08:46
Poll has now been added:thumbsu:

LIONOFZION
4 Oct 2008, 23:53
The "South East Queeensland Stink"

Time to get the stink on!! :D

Draw a line in the sand:mad:

Sorry - just had Roy and HG in my head for a second there. :o

peas_and_corn
7 Oct 2008, 14:03
I'm personally not a big fan of naming the derbies- I don't see it as amazingly necessary (well, originally Showdown was a West End sponsorship thing...). The Showdown in SA looks dumber and dumber as they continue numbering the things with roman numerals- Showdown XXVIII etc etc just makes people roll their eyes.

SwampCreature
7 Oct 2008, 15:07
I'm personally not a big fan of naming the derbies- I don't see it as amazingly necessary (well, originally Showdown was a West End sponsorship thing...). The Showdown in SA looks dumber and dumber as they continue numbering the things with roman numerals- Showdown XXVIII etc etc just makes people roll their eyes.

Agree. It's not like WA own the term 'derby'. It should just be the Queensland derby.

sausageroll
7 Oct 2008, 17:13
Close the thread.

Since both teams are from Queensland there's only one name that will fit this derby...

BATTLE ROYALE

Lion_Time
8 Oct 2008, 20:03
I dunno why there should be a rivalary:D
i go for lions and im not changin sides:confused:
but cant we just get along:cool:
Sheesh:o
Ps:if there was a showdown it would be called the bloodbath, litteraly

KingsCrow
8 Oct 2008, 21:28
I actually like how we have the roman numerals after each Showdown. Its great to refer to Showdown '11' and so forth.

Perhaps the Queensland Duel?

mojon95
11 Oct 2008, 00:18
The North East Derby

ghostdog
18 Oct 2008, 09:28
The burnout

ghostdog
18 Oct 2008, 09:42
I reckon we should call it The Burnout... It's hot up here, plus it implies that both sides will go flat out.

B-Bomber
18 Oct 2008, 17:10
Something simple is better.

I think it should just be called "The Battle"

It can be extended to "The Battle in the North!" when they want to market it that way.

Besides, they love their cliches and with a name like that... "<team x> may have won The Battle but they haven't won the War..." just as one example.

sausageroll
18 Oct 2008, 17:41
Something simple is better.

I think it should just be called "The Battle"

It can be extended to "The Battle in the North!" when they want to market it that way.

Besides, they love their cliches and with a name like that... "<team x> may have won The Battle but they haven't won the War..." just as one example.

Battle Royale

seysearles
19 Oct 2008, 06:48
The Queensland Quarrel

The Stoush

The Skirmish

TheBrownDog
19 Oct 2008, 16:17
Sticking with Meltdown.

Power King
19 Oct 2008, 20:14
I don't like rodeo.

Of the given names I chose rumble... purely because rumble ---> jungle ---> lions

BuntonRules
6 Aug 2010, 17:55
If things don't improve, play it in round 19 as 'Fight for the wooden spoon'.

Gibbke
8 Aug 2010, 10:37
State of Origin...was first implemented in 1977 with Tasmania defeating Victoria...

I wish! This Tassie ex-pat counts the 1990 Origin win at North Hobart as one of his favourite footy matches, but unfortunately we can't claim it as the first...

It was WA beating Victoria by 90-odd points at Subiaco...

Gibbke
8 Aug 2010, 10:43
It'll be Saturday night every time, so how about:

"The Viable Alternative To The Blockbuster All-Vic Matchup On The Other Channel" Cup...

Especially appropriate after that Brisbane tv scheduling travesty last night...just as well the Subi match was close, because it fit the bill as a spoon battle every other way...