View Full Version : Finals at Adelaide Oval

redi/whitei
30 Sep 2002, 17:47
Being a North supporter I wasn't at Adelaide Oval on Sunday (hehe) , but I had a bit of a look on the telly. It looked great. A 3/4 full Adelaide looks so much better than a 3/4 empty Football Park. A mate at work went and he said the atmosphere was fantastic. Hopefully next year they will play all finals at Adelaide Oval and the GF at Football Park.

And the Roosters are there.

Blues_Brat
30 Sep 2002, 17:49
It was an odd sight being a final and not at Footy Park.. but it looked bloody great from what I could see. :)

FISH
1 Oct 2002, 00:24
yep its definately the place to hold all sanfl finals including the GF the atmosphere is second to none at adelaide oval and hopefully the roosters can find there way into the finals series next year!!!

Go South
1 Oct 2002, 11:44
It was a fantastic atmosphere, and looked great with packed stands, compared to the week before at Football Park which looked almost empty, because of the sparseness of the crowd due to the size of the stadium.

It didn't feel like a Preliminary Final though, because it wasn't at Football Park. Should be good after a few years though. I love Adelaide Oval.

naughty monkey
1 Oct 2002, 12:23
does anyone know what the CURRENT (and future, when they build the new Eastern Grandstand) capacity is for Adelaide Oval?

McAlmanac
1 Oct 2002, 12:26
Originally posted by naughty monkey
does anyone know what the CURRENT (and future, when they build the new Eastern Grandstand) capacity is for Adelaide Oval?
Has all that development been approved/funded? McLachlan was waxing disappointed at the lack of government support in the SACA Annual Report.

Go South
1 Oct 2002, 12:31
Originally posted by McAlmanac

Has all that development been approved/funded? McLachlan was waxing disappointed at the lack of government support in the SACA Annual Report.

I'm pretty sure 'Part 1' has been approved... not exactly sure which parts of the development that entailed, but I think a permanent superscreen was part of it.

portland_boy
1 Oct 2002, 17:48
I can update you with the details on Stage 1 which I believe has been approved:

- SACA Museum will be relocated to bigger rooms.

- New 300 seat Dining area for Members in the 3rd level of BRadman Stand.

- Extension of the members area to the BRadman Stand (so the gate where the edge of the bradman stand meets the hill on the south-east will become members. There will be no general admission to the bradman or smith stands any longer to make way for more SACA members on the waiting list. This is what I believe.

- More catering facilities behind the smith stand

- Renovation & Expansion of PLayers and Umpires rooms

- Renovation of commitee and match offices.

- installation of new PA system.

- Construction of 8 under mount storage byunkers under south-east mound.

- South-East Mount Stand - hold 950

- New Eastern Grandstand (permanent) covered to hold 4700.

- new eastern gatehouse and entrance

- installation of new video replay screen.

Still Crowing
2 Oct 2002, 11:04
This is great if it has been confirmed. I am a Provisional Member of SACA, waiting for full membership (about 5 years now).

Also, Adelaide Oval really needs this upgrade. The plans are very impressive, and I would hope that all of it (eventually) would could be accomplished. It just really sh|ts me when the State Govt holds out on a lousy $10mil, when over here in Victoria, the MCG is being redeveloped with ample funding from the State and Federal Govts. Then , the 'tiser has some carping whining fools blowing hard about how the redevelopment is all about the members. Hello, the first parts of the project all involve the outer! How many times have I seen people come out of the Suncancer stand infront of the Vic Richarson Gates looking like they've fallen in a pot of red paint.

Got my tickets already for the England Test!

screech
3 Oct 2002, 14:16
Originally posted by Still Crowing
This is great if it has been confirmed. I am a Provisional Member of SACA, waiting for full membership (about 5 years now).

Also, Adelaide Oval really needs this upgrade. The plans are very impressive, and I would hope that all of it (eventually) would could be accomplished. It just really sh|ts me when the State Govt holds out on a lousy $10mil, when over here in Victoria, the MCG is being redeveloped with ample funding from the State and Federal Govts. Then , the 'tiser has some carping whining fools blowing hard about how the redevelopment is all about the members. Hello, the first parts of the project all involve the outer! How many times have I seen people come out of the Suncancer stand infront of the Vic Richarson Gates looking like they've fallen in a pot of red paint.

Got my tickets already for the England Test!

You also gat all the whingers complaining about govt money being spent on sporting stadiums after Hindmarsh Stadium and Footy Park, the current Labor idiots have said that no more funds will be spent in this region, the fact that there are heaps of jobs created through construction and engineering, not to mention the added staff required on match day for the larger stadium (security, catering etc) is not taken into consideration.

McAlmanac
3 Oct 2002, 15:24
Streuth! A Sheffield Wednesday supporter! That's very admirable.

screech
4 Oct 2002, 01:27
Originally posted by McAlmanac
Streuth! A Sheffield Wednesday supporter! That's very admirable.

Its like supporting sturt through the first half of the 90's all over again.

I must be a sucker for punishment