View Full Version : Best Regional League rivalries ....
mud n blood
30 Sep 2002, 23:30
Pinched the idea off the AFL board .... but this will be a steep learning curve for a northerner like myself.
Besides, I'll then be able to work out a few of you 'southerners' and where some of your comments come from when you South Aussies sledging each other.
I know the old QAFL ones, until some of these clubs got the arse that is. :(
Coorparoo v Morningside (southside derby) :)
Windsor-Zillmere v Sandgate (northside derby) :)
Both classics in their day .... usually "on" before the first bounce.:eek:
Since 1983 though - Southport v everyone !!!!
Southport v Northern Eagles has been good the last few years, and these two have battled a few grand finals now.
Everyone except Southport hate Southport .....
Leaping Lindner
1 Oct 2002, 00:01
Before I start I have to point out that I don't speak for all North Adelaide supporters but I probably speak for most North supporters of my era.
I reckon North's biggest rivals are Glenelg.Due to four reasons
(1).73 Grand Final(Broke my heart as an 11 y.o)
(2).85 Grand Final(Steve Kernahan pioneers what's now known as the "Jason Cloke Method" of spoiling on David 'malt' Wildy.
(3).86 Grand Final(What the "f***" was that?????)
(4).87 Grand Final(SWEET Revenge and SWEET Darren Jarman)
No doubt that most fans of the other 8 SANFL clubs 'hate' Port Adelaide the most,and I don't think North's are any different but when it comes to actual 'rivals' I definitely nominate Glenelg!
yep i'm with you LL definately the bays 1st port 2nd !!!!
It would have to be
East Perth v West Perth
or
South Freo v East Freo
When you think rivalry in SA football you would usually think of the Crows and the Power, but the real SA football rivalry is definitely Port Magpies and Norwood Redlegs.
Blues_Brat
1 Oct 2002, 04:47
They say Norwood v Port is the biggest rivalry, but I reckon Sturt v Port is pretty intense.
When Mark Williams was asked what side he hated the most he said straight away 'Sturt', you could see the venom in his eyes and the way he emphasised the word 'hate'. They have never forgiven us for dominating them from 66-76. 1998 was pretty sweet for Port supporters, they and even their players gave it to us after the final siren.
larrikin
1 Oct 2002, 05:04
Originally posted by wellsy
It would have to be
East Perth v West Perth
or
South Freo v East Freo
The Foundation Day Derby (East Freo v South Freo) is still one of the great traditions in WA Footy.
Mobbenfuhrer
1 Oct 2002, 07:28
Stawell v Ararat
Port Adelaide 1870
1 Oct 2002, 08:44
Originally posted by Blues_Brat
They say Norwood v Port is the biggest rivalry, but I reckon Sturt v Port is pretty intense.
When Mark Williams was asked what side he hated the most he said straight away 'Sturt', you could see the venom in his eyes and the way he emphasised the word 'hate'. They have never forgiven us for dominating them from 66-76. 1998 was pretty sweet for Port supporters, they and even their players gave it to us after the final siren.
Port forgave Sturt...we just never forgot...;)
PA1870
Port Adelaide 1870
1 Oct 2002, 08:48
The Fos Williams Jack Oatey rivalry was intense, these two men never shared a friendship...they always plotted..
Young Mark I think it was, quoted after Port were beaten by Sturt in one of those late 60's Sturt V Port G.F's.. to his Father Fos...
" Daddy why didnt you teach them better "
sobbing his heart out after the Sturt victory..Port Adelaide never rested on its laurels.......
PA1870
Port Adelaide 1870
1 Oct 2002, 08:54
Great SANFL rivalries
Norwood Versus a Club carrying the magpies logo
Sturt Versus a club carrying the Magpies logo
West Adelaide Versus a Club carrying the magpies logo
then perhaps
North Adelaide
Glenelg
Central Districts
South Adelaide
Woodville / West Torrens
in that order , though North and Glenelg are probably
inter changable
it is of little difference in SANFL which club carries the Black and white and Magpies...they all hate them as intensley as Port Adelaide prior to 1997.
therefore the tradition of hating the Black and white lives on in the SANFL...
PA1870
;)
Central Whyalla vs South Whyalla
Roopena vs Weeroona Bay
:)
Uncle Steve
1 Oct 2002, 11:46
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
(2).85 Grand Final(Steve Kernahan pioneers what's now known as the "Jason Cloke Method" of spoiling on David 'malt' Wildy.
Bah.
Wildy himself would have been the pioneer, but the useless sod buggered it up: gave Sticks a clout but didn't take him out.
A couple of minutes afterwards, Sticks showed Wildy how to do it properly. :D
Those 3 GFs in a row did start a good rivalry between the Bays and the Roosters. All Glenelg-North matches had a great atmosphere after the mid '80s.
Leaping Lindner
1 Oct 2002, 11:56
Originally posted by Uncle Steve
Bah.
Wildy himself would have been the pioneer, but the useless sod buggered it up: gave Sticks a clout but didn't take him out.
A couple of minutes afterwards, Sticks showed Wildy how to do it properly. :D
Mind you after hearing Malt on the radio these days I'd do it myself;)
Remember the minor round game(on a sunday) at Adelaide Oval in 1987 Uncle Steve? How much hate can you fit into one gorund??
Uncle Steve
1 Oct 2002, 12:16
Remember the minor round game(on a sunday) at Adelaide Oval in 1987 Uncle Steve? How much hate can you fit into one gorund??
Hmmm...
I remember a game at Adelaide Oval in 1986. I was up in the southern grandstand (the old one), in between the two cheer squads which were both up in that stand. The banter going back and forth was delicious! Things calmed down however when some little effwit in the Glenelg cheer squad chucked something like a full drink can in the direction of the North cheer squad. He missed the North squad completely. Instead, he scored a cute female Glenelg fan squarely in the nose. She was escorted out of the stand by her mother, blood streaming down her face, and did not return.
naughty monkey
1 Oct 2002, 13:29
PORT
PORT
PORT
PORT
PORT
north
don't know how many times the ****ers beat the tiges in finals in the early 80s onwards!
And then there was David Granger!
Buffaloes v Saints
Buffaloes v Wanderers
Buffaloes v Umpires
redi/whitei
1 Oct 2002, 19:10
North v Glenelg
That vvanker Mcdermott is adding another chapter this week.
God I hate Glenelg.
RoosterWedgie
1 Oct 2002, 19:19
Noarlunga v Port Noarlunga
Any win by the shoes over the ****ledivers is sweet.
Then:
NoarlungavMorphett Vale
(only because of Dessy ;))
RoosterWedgie
1 Oct 2002, 19:22
geezus, I cant believe we cant say c o c k l e d i v e r s on here, its their real name! lmao
Ports v Solomontown in Port Pirie
Hate is too soft a word.
Leaping Lindner
1 Oct 2002, 23:12
At the risk of being exposed as a private school "halfback flanker" the rivalry between PAC and Saints is pretty intense.When the first 18's played both schools had the afternoon off to watch and the best biffo was always in the crowd.
Don't know if Hackney High vs Kent Town High could be classified as regional though:D
Port Adelaide 1870
1 Oct 2002, 23:25
At the risk of being exposed as a private school "halfback flanker" the rivalry between PAC and Saints is pretty intense.When the first 18's played both schools had the afternoon off to watch and the best biffo was always in the crowd.
Don't know if Hackney High vs Kent Town High could be classified as regional though:D
My son goes to Saint Micks, when they played saint Peters several years ago in a soccer match , I happened to be standing next to two Saint Peters Fathers and listening into the conversation....
Picture this, tweed jackets, Caps one had a walking cane distinguished greyish hair...
a penalty went against us..and a few of our dads became slightly heated ( large Italian percentage ) These two chaps said
" Look at the Latins, becoming slightly agitated , what ! "
the other said.." They cant help it, its in their Genes "
the other replied.."Nothing like a bit of Anglo Saxon decorum, its what keeps the world civilized "
I was stunned..I asked around and the tweed fella was a Specialist of some sort..the other a Psychologist !!!!
PA1870
Leaping Lindner
1 Oct 2002, 23:31
Originally posted by Port Adelaide 1870
My son goes to Saint Micks, when they played saint Peters several years ago in a soccer match , I happened to be standing next to two Saint Peters Fathers and listening into the conversation....
Picture this, tweed jackets, Caps one had a walking cane distinguished greyish hair...
a penalty went against us..and a few of our dads became slightly heated ( large Italian percentage ) These two chaps said
" Look at the Latins, becoming slightly agitated , what ! "
the other said.." They cant help it, its in their Genes "
the other replied.."Nothing like a bit of Anglo Saxon decorum, its what keeps the world civilized "
I was stunned..I asked around and the tweed fella was a Specialist of some sort..the other a Psychologist !!!!
PA1870
That was my schooling mate! BLOODY SCARY STUFF.
When I went there(late 60's - late 70's) there were no Italians or Greeks there and the only Asian kids(who started filtering through in the late 70's)were the sons of VERY rich Chinese Doctors.Anglocentric just doesn't do it justice when describing it!
Christies Beach v Port Noarlunga
and
Christies Beach v Morphett Vale
in fact any games btween the traditional clubs in the southern league are big affairs ie:
Noarlunga
Port Noarlunga
Christies Beach
Morphett Vale
Reynella
and in previous seasons
Willunga
McLaren Vale
McLaren Flat
but the 5 core teams always pull a resonable crowd
early 90s Christies Beach and Noarlunga dominated the results of the games
mid 90's Port Noarlunga
late 90's-present Noarlunga & Reynella
there generally seems to be at least 2 of these teams up the top and down the bottom, and 1 midway, they form the backbone of the comp and win their fair share of premierships.
At the moment Noarlunga are having a good run, Reynella are not too far behind, Morphett Vale and Port Noarlunga are in the mid-range and Christies is struggling a bit at the moment :(
but 5-6 years ago it was Reynella and Noarlunga at the foot, only buffered by Mitchell Park and Sullies.
All these clubs seem to have there individual success characteristics
Christies generally make a lot of grand finals eventually winning on on the 3rd-4th attempt and not repeating the success for around a decade ie prems 74, 83, 94... 03??
Morphett Vale, had a lot of success in the early 80's and havnt really done much since, often sneak into finals for a cameo appearance but little more than that
Noarlunga, have success, then go into the wilderness, suddenly come into money and then go stupid and start winning premierships again.
Port Noarlunga, much like Noarlunga, but only win flags when theres plenty of money going around.
Reynella, more inconsistant and can't really draw a pattern, have had a lot of success with their junior program in recent years and are now benifiting from it
Mobbenfuhrer
2 Oct 2002, 06:57
Forgive us ignoramuses from without the state, but would that be Prince Alfred College and Goodwood?
Port Adelaide 1870
2 Oct 2002, 09:29
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
Forgive us ignoramuses from without the state, but would that be Prince Alfred College and Goodwood?
Prince Alfred College and Saint Peters College...
Adelaides Establishment is firmly based in these two Colleges.
Saint peters is considered by many the creme de la Creme and PAC ..gulp dare I say it...a close second...Shivers ..duck for cover...
In the early 80's ( Im not 100% sure of the dates, however know the story very well )
The English Cricket team were in Adelaide to play test and one day game, for some reason they were practising at Saint Peters College, a magnificent College in the vein of those English schools with massive Grounds, stone buildings Huge halls, oak tree lined ovals and roadways..
I digress...Thre English came out onto the oval dressed in Colours to practice...Well...
They were informed by Saint Peters College that whites or Creams were only to be worn on the oval..Englands captain recognised the disgression and ordered the chaps back into the dressing rooms.....they came out attired appropriately..
Its a pearler!
PA1870
Leaping Lindner
2 Oct 2002, 10:31
Saint peters is considered by many the creme de la Creme and PAC ..gulp dare I say it...a close second...Shivers ..duck for cover...
In the early 80's ( Im not 100% sure of the dates, however know the story very well )
The English Cricket team were in Adelaide to play test and one day game, for some reason they were practising at Saint Peters College, a magnificent College in the vein of those English schools with massive Grounds, stone buildings Huge halls, oak tree lined ovals and roadways..
I digress...Thre English came out onto the oval dressed in Colours to practice...Well...
They were informed by Saint Peters College that whites or Creams were only to be worn on the oval..Englands captain recognised the disgression and ordered the chaps back into the dressing rooms.....they came out attired appropriately..
Its a pearler!
PA1870
Thats a ripper!Even I wasn't aware of that one but I am not at all suprised.
I do know of instances where 'chaps' playing in the school's first 18 have been considered good enough to play league(SANFL)football.They were threatened with(at the very least) loss of their school colours(prefects) or (at the extreme) expulsion from the school if they chose to play SANFL over the school:rolleyes:
One 'certain' Adelaide FC manager comes to mind;)
Uncle Steve
2 Oct 2002, 10:45
I do know of instances where 'chaps' playing in the school's first 18 have been considered good enough to play league(SANFL)football.They were threatened with(at the very least) loss of their school colours(prefects) or (at the extreme) expulsion from the school if they chose to play SANFL over the school:rolleyes:
This also happens at the "lower end" (read: Catholic) private schools. I'm aware that Sacred Heart College expects its students to play for the college in preference for SANFL. There have been exceptions to the rule, but special permission must be sought. In years past I've suspected that there has been a correlation between Glenelg's junior grade on-field performances and the incidence of school holidays, when the Bays get occasional usage of a few SHC players.
Where in reality, most people that come out of those two schools wouldn't know a social conscience if it knocked them on the head.
Born to rule posers.
with of course, some exceptions.
naughty monkey
2 Oct 2002, 11:32
Originally posted by Jars458
Ports v Solomontown in Port Pirie
Hate is too soft a word.
back to the question at hand....
Sollies vs. anybody!
Jars, do you know the story of Grave Danger playing for Sollies and getting his jaw broke. If you do, please tell!
(I will declare my hand, I'm a Bulldogs man - the red and white ones)
Originally posted by Blues_Brat
1998 was pretty sweet for Port supporters, they and even their players gave it to us after the final siren.
It was more sweet due to the fact that we scraped into the finals and noone expected us to go as far as we did. But we thumped Centrals, Norwood and West by over 10 goals each in the three finals leading up to the granny. I certainly gave it to the "Sturt Supporters" (i use that term VERY loosely) at the ground. Most of them didnt even know their players names. Was the same as Centrals in 1995 where about 15,000 non-supporters came just to support Centrals/Sturt.
After all the crap Carman said during the week prior to the match and all the crap he did at the ground that day and all the whinging by these "sturt supporters" after the match made it a very sweet grand final win indeed.
Im gonna go even further back and claim Fulham North Primary School vs St Francis/Fulham Gardens Primary School as a ripper rivalry.
From between 1989-1994 this was the biggest rivalry in junior football. We absolutely HATED each other. In fact HATE is too soft a word to describe the feelings between these two clubs.
Out of all the football ive played - those primary school games were the toughest, hardest games of football ive been involved in. There were some ripper encounters.
It all started in Under 10s when in the Grand Final of the lightning Cup they played the man and ended up winning by 9 points due to the fact that we ended up with about 7 injured players on the field. Thats what started it.
The next year in the Year 4/5's we had wo classic encounters. We both one a game each, both by under a kick. In fact out of all the games we played against each other, the biggest winning margin was only 16 points.
We played them in the Year 4/5's Lightning Cup semi final and with some great second half goals we got across the line. They then beat us in the Grand Final by 14 points.
The toughest match wasnt even a proper match...it was a pre season game when i was in Year 6. Everyone threw their body in and we came up winners by 4 points after StF/FG came charging home with 6 or 7 last quarter goals. They hit the front with not long to go...probably about 2 minutes, but a soccer goal to one of the girls (Sally...she was pretty damn good too) on our team put us back in front and we won.
Later that year we had our best win. Our usual ruckmen Adelaide Crows player Ken Mcgregor was out for some reason...sickness i think...so we had to have a player called Chad Heinze ruck for us. Now Beans wasnt the most skillful player. He looked unco, couldnt really jump, had an average kick and was bloody slow...but he was our next tallest player. He absolutely DOMINATED against Freo star Matthew Pavlich (who always killed us) and we got up by a kick or two. That was our best win.
The last game we played against each other was probably the best game of all. The Year 6/7's Lightning Cup Grand Final. They killed us in the semi but we got another chance by disposing of Grange Primary in the 'prelim'. The game was a ripper. A low scoring but tough match. Somehow, we found ourselves a goal up. Anyway...in the dying seconds a StF/FG player had a pot shot at goal but it went on the full. I ended up with the kick back into play. I kicked it as hard and as far as i could down the boundary line. The ball found its way to Pavlich, who typically...goaled from the run from about 40 metres out to tie the scores as the siren went while the ball was in mid air.
We ended up losing the extra time by 15 points. Heartbreaking.
We never won a grand final. We lost 3 in 5 years.
Ive seen a few Fulham North v Fulham Gardens/St Francis games since and theyve all been just as intense.
Leaping Lindner
2 Oct 2002, 12:32
Where in reality, most people that come out of those two schools wouldn't know a social conscience if it knocked them on the head.
Born to rule posers.
with of course, some exceptions.
In all due modesty Jars458 I can assure you I am one of the exceptions!
Saints are worse than PAC
I can accpet that on face value.
I actualy have friends from both schools, but only a few!!
Leaping Lindner
2 Oct 2002, 13:04
Saints are worse than PAC
I can accpet that on face value.
I actualy have friends from both schools, but only a few!!
I should point out though that I like to "Darnce and Prarnce in Frarnce"(sic) as opposed to "Dants and Prants in Frants"(sic).I also spell Hawthorn with an "aytch" not a "haytch"!
This makes me stand out particulary in Victoria(bloody convicts;) )
Seriously how many old Saints boys do you know that Vote Green,are involved in social work and members of Australians for Native title and Reconciliation?
I should point out though that I like to "Darnce and Prarnce in Frarnce"(sic) as opposed to "Dants and Prants in Frants"(sic).I also spell Hawthorn with an "aytch" not a "haytch"!
This makes me stand out particulary in Victoria(bloody convicts;) )
Seriously how many old Saints boys do you know that Vote Green,are involved in social work and members of Australians for Native title and Reconciliation?
The ones on scholarships?????;)
Leaping Lindner
2 Oct 2002, 16:10
The ones on scholarships?????;)
Not in my case ,but well said!!!!!!!!!:D
Port1978
2 Oct 2002, 17:13
Port vs Norwood is the best rivalry IMHO. Good to hear Norwood lose on the weekend! :D :D
Wayde Petersen
2 Oct 2002, 22:15
In the Diamond Valley Football League, in Division One, it would have to be Heidelberg vs North Heidelberg, this is a great rivalry no only because they HATE ONE ANOTHER, but like most great rivalries, it goes along class lines as well, Heidelberg is a middle-class, tree lined suburb, but North Heidelberg is located smack bang in the middle of the old Olympic Village Housing Commission site in West Heidelberg, this hatred has gone on since 1957 (when North Heidelberg was formed) and it's still going strong.
But, there's also, Greensborough vs Montmorency, Montmorency vs Lower Plenty, Epping vs Lalor and Bundoora vs Lalor.
In division two, by far the greatest rivalry exsists between Mernda and Whittlesea, I fecking HATE THE WHITTLESEA FOOTBALL CLUB WITH A PASSION, this hatred has its origins over a century ago, when South Yan Yean (now Mernda) and Whittlesea would play stratch matches between one onther, that would end in a bloodbath, and although the matches have been cleaned up over the years, the hatred burns just as strong (the Qualifying Final was a torrid affair, with Mernda winning in controversial circumstances, Whittlesea will sware revenge next year).
Mernda also had great grudge matches between Reserch and Keon Park, but sadly these two teams have folded, and now Mernda has to content ourselves with hating only one club.
there's a great rivalry between Panton Hill vs South Morang/Hurstbridge & Kinglake, Eltham vs Macleod and Watsonia vs Macleod.
In the Goulburn Valley League, Shepparton and Shepparton United is the best rivalry, followed by Echuca vs Rochester and Kyabram vs Tongala, followed by Tatura vs Mooroopna.
And in the Kyabram League, Rushworth vs Stanhope is no. 1, followed by Rushworth vs Murchison, Nagambie vs Avenel and Girgarre vs Stanhope.
FattyLumpkin
2 Oct 2002, 22:24
Risdon Park Primary and Pirie West - after the baarstards beat us by 1 point in the GF 2-6 to 1-11 !!!!!
Port Vs Sollies - yeah, would agree with that
Broadview Vs Anyone in the A'1 Ammos (particulary when Simmo was playing for Broadview). God I hated them, but loved playing them......if you get my drift!
As for Saints and PAC - bunch of nancies who squealed when hit. Biggest comeback was threat of lawsuit from Daddy.
Fatty
Originally posted by Macca19
Ive seen a few Fulham North v Fulham Gardens/St Francis games since and theyve all been just as intense. [/B]
well macca that takes me back i also went to fulham gardens but in the early 70s but our rivalry was with kidman pk as fulham nth had not been built as a school at that stage!!!;) ;)