View Full Version : Norwood Football Club

Davo75
1 Oct 2002, 11:04
Interested in peoples thoughts on Norwoods season?

I have my own but Id be here all day if I typed in everything I believe led to our inglorious finals performances!

Some tough decisions need to be made on The Parade!

McAlmanac
1 Oct 2002, 11:16
Didn't they improve on the previous season? I would have thought, despite the finals disappointment, that would be a step forward. It wasn't so long ago that Central seemed invincible; now it's a 3 horse race.

Go South
1 Oct 2002, 11:33
Norwood were shocking in the Preliminary Final.

Leaping Lindner
1 Oct 2002, 12:03
Having followed the SANFL through websites and papers this year,I'd only heard and read of Norwood this year and not actually seen them.Last sunday was the first time I'd actually seen them (and Sturt for that matter) and Norwood looked flat.It was like they were all waiting for something to happen that just wasn't going to.Apart from Brett James who was fantastic(but would you expect less?).
That's my summation....they just looked flat!

Hollypig
2 Oct 2002, 08:17
Originally posted by Davo75
Interested in peoples thoughts on Norwoods season?

I have my own but Id be here all day if I typed in everything I believe led to our inglorious finals performances!

Some tough decisions need to be made on The Parade! ]

Just my 2 cents worth Davo, to much reliance on playing ex AFL players, & buying up of big name SANFL players, (Cotton Morton). I watched the game on Sunday with some mates of mine who go to every Legs game, they were very angry at the game Norwood served up, they were of the opinion that the 'name' players are playing for the quids & not the jumper.
Maybe some junors could be given a better go, seems that when a ressies player with a glimmer of hope has a crack at the seniors Norwood go & recriuit another player in their position. Paul James is a good example of a good young player who was given the shaft to make way for one of the highly paid 'stars'. We gave him a go at the Roosters & he`s developing into a handy midfielder for us, once we gave him a go he came along nicely. The young guys will play for the jumper, & pride.
Just my opinion Davo.

Templeton31
2 Oct 2002, 13:47
I don't want to hijack this thread or board however as a Doggies (AFL) supporter was looking for a few opinions on Peter Rohde. Any comments, things remembered from his days at Norwood would be much appreciated.

Regards
Templeton31

Davo75
2 Oct 2002, 14:35
Hollypig!! What you have said echoes my thoughts exactly!

An aging list to be honest and some players were getting a game on reputation rather than form!!!!!!!

Selection blunders apparent when it came close to finals time with quite a few playing with not much footy under their belts!

Forward Line Still a Problem!!!!!!

Ruck a Real Worry!!!!!

I think it's time to blood quite a few juniors, but I can see this happening next year!!!!!

A number of players (Harvey, Cunningham, Thiessen) could be put in the Dead Wood Category!!!!

And Holly you can have Danny Morton back also!!!!
The Club is in dire need of some Powerful On-Ballers!!!!!

From the outside looking in we seem to look at a players skill level first and foremost!!! However if you dont get the bloody thing then skills mean nothing!!!!!

Anyway I dont have the time to delve into it as much as Id like to!

As for Peter Rohde! As you requested Templeton!

When he arrived at Norwood he was able to drill in and implement a very simple yet effective game plan rather quickly!

I enjoyed the way we played under Rohdey it was honest, hard working without being mundane and boring!!!!!!

He always seemed at ease with himself and his players, but when he did actually hit the roof, he hit it hard and effectively as Aaron Keating found out at Glenelg one day!!!!!
The best thing about him was that he was approachable even from a supporters point of view......... you could always speak to him and he wasnt secretive about his ideas and didnt just give you one or two word answers to your queries (within reason).

He would know how hard a job he is taking on at Barkly St and he'll thrive on that challenge.......... Im not saying that hes going to perform miracles but believe that he will get every last drop out of the players at his disposal!!!!!!!!

Good Luck Mate......... I think you are going to need it but Peter Rohdes appointment is certainly a step in the right direction for your club!

Templeton31
2 Oct 2002, 14:41
Thanks Davo75. Will paste your comments onto the Doggies Board.

Do you think he is likely to stick with Wallaces "keep possession and chip it round" model or go a bit more Paganesque of "get some talls and kick it long"?

THanks again - will adopt Norwood in SANFL now although must confess have always had a leaning to Centrals due to common colours with Dogs...

Templeton31

Dogwatcher
2 Oct 2002, 14:53
Originally posted by Templeton31

Do you think he is likely to stick with Wallaces "keep possession and chip it round" model or go a bit more Paganesque of "get some talls and kick it long"?

THanks again - will adopt Norwood in SANFL now although must confess have always had a leaning to Centrals due to common colours with Dogs...

Templeton31

Stay with the Dogs, stay with the Dogs! Don't go to the dark side!

McAlmanac
2 Oct 2002, 15:54

Western Bulldogs and Norwood - oil and water.

naughty monkey
2 Oct 2002, 16:07

Templeton31

He will definitely make the midfield more accountable, should be very interesting to see how some of the "promising" young juniors handle this. It is easy to look good getting 20+ stats while letting your opponent do the same, much harder to get your 20 and keep the opponent to 15.
Grant will play back.

How do I Know? 'cause he said so in an interview overe here.

Davo75
2 Oct 2002, 18:28
Its been a while since Peter was here!!!!! So I am only guessing mate!!!!!

A Much more direct style was his approach while at The Parade so I dont think that will have changed too much!!!!!!

Certainly more accountable in the guts as someone previously mentioned!!!!

I absolutely hate the attitude of some coaches in that they would like their players to hold onto the ball for as long as possible, absolute bs in my opinion!!!!!!

Bullys do have some players that hopefully for your sake take the next step!!!!!

Good Luck in 2003!

You can finish 2nd!

Davo75
2 Oct 2002, 18:33
Im ignoring the Central District Overtones!!!!!!!!

Good Luck to you lot!!!!!

I have been informed that an extra 15 Officers have been assigned to Football Park on Sunday afternoon.

I wonder why that is??????????

Its a shame that a Football Club that has got its act together over the past couple of years be dragged down by so called supporters who go to matches for one reason only!

It's amazing how some of your own supporters said to me at Adelaide last Sunday and I quote:

"Dont wear your Norwood colours if you make it to the Grand Final"

I rest my case!!!

And to add Mr Grant certainly doesnt help matters with his blahzay attitude about some of the ****ers that follow your club!

McAlmanac
2 Oct 2002, 18:35
I absolutely hate the attitude of some coaches in that they would like their players to hold onto the ball for as long as possible, absolute bs in my opinion!!!!!!

I think it's not so much a case of holding on to the ball for as long as possible, it's more a case of not kicking to a contest. Still, it makes for less attractive football.

bc bloke
2 Oct 2002, 18:59
Onya Davo, once again Centrals supporters as a whole have been judged and condemned! I don't judge all Norwood supporters by the poor record of violence at Norwood Oval in recent years involving numerous opposition teams now do I? Ask yourself this, why is it that I (as a Centrals supporter) willl be boycotting our Norwood Oval match next year? I'll tell you why: because after what happened this year, I won't be risking the safety of my little daughter at that ground.

Every club has its ********s - I can vouch for that myself having been to every game in the last 2 seasons and heaps of games in general since 1979. How many games have YOU been to? Or have you "just been informed" about what goes on?

RoosterWedgie
2 Oct 2002, 19:10
I have been informed that an extra 15 Officers have been assigned to Football Park on Sunday afternoon.

Ummm, my guess would be because there's a football game on, not to much trouble at an empty stadium normally!
lmao

Hollypig
2 Oct 2002, 19:20

And Holly you can have Danny Morton back also!!!!
[/B]

No chance Davo, don`t trust born agains, (re Darren Beadman & Lonhro, as a punting man you`ll get my drift, sack R Quinn ya fools)

He`s looked very proppy & slow lately, & I can tell you from horses mouth, he went for the money. If you go to the Granny we`ll catch up & I`ll tell you the full story over a bevy.

RoosterWedgie
2 Oct 2002, 19:22
The Norwood footy club has never recovered fully from Aish's christian adverts in the 80s.
lmao, how embarassing were they? lmao

bulldog pommy
2 Oct 2002, 22:44
Im ignoring the Central District Overtones!!!!!!!!

Good Luck to you lot!!!!!

Its a shame that a Football Club that has got its act together over the past couple of years be dragged down by so called supporters who go to matches for one reason only!

It's amazing how some of your own supporters said to me at Adelaide last Sunday and I quote:

I rest my case!!!

And to add Mr Grant certainly doesnt help matters with his blahzay attitude about some of the ****ers that follow your club!

I was told that at the 2nd semi final a Centrals fan was king hit by a Sturt at 3/4 time. Then a Sturt fan was king hit by a Centrals fan after the game.
I think every club has it's bad element and we all know that the last 6 or 7 incidents to make the press have all involved so called Norwood fans.
Personally, when i am able to make games, i never see any trouble. Did come close at the ANZAC day game when 2 adult eagles fans were shoving and hassling some Centrals teenagers.
As for Krazy Kris Grant, most of what he says is not worth listening to. Apart from today's comments where he called the afl a plastic competition.

FISH
3 Oct 2002, 00:26
Originally posted by RoosterWedgie
The Norwood footy club has never recovered fully from Aish's christian adverts in the 80s.
lmao, how embarassing were they? lmao

I liked them wedgie after being exposed to that sort of advertising it forced me over to the dark side:D :D :eek: :cool:

FISH
3 Oct 2002, 00:36
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Davo75
[B]Im ignoring the Central District Overtones!!!!!!!!

I rest my case!!

they must of said that before the start of the game cause pretty much from the first bounce you wern't in it !!!

over the years i will say we (north supporters)have had probaly more trouble at norwood oval than we ever had at elizabeth except for one particular time at doggy park for which most of my fellow supporters never returned to said oval again!!

all clubs have supporters that we are not proud of for us its hollypig and wedgie!!!

Davo75
3 Oct 2002, 01:48
He was right about The AFL being Plastic!!!!!!

I agree we have the shocking element also!!!!

I also love going to The Ponderosa!!!!!

Im commenting on what Ive heard from your fellow supporters who arent there to cause trouble..........

Most incidents at Norwood Oval have involved Central Districts!!

We dont like each other, thats fine......... I dont know what Mr Grant was on about not taking responsibility for low crowds, and his attitude to incidents involving your club have seemingly been brushed aside!!!

Those idiots who did what they did when we played you at Norwood this year are a disgrace and shouldnt be allowed entry any more although I dont know how they could police it and can clubs afford to be turning people away!!!!!

Anyway Im rambling now ............ sampling some of SA's Finest!

Hollypig
3 Oct 2002, 07:32
Originally posted by FISH

all clubs have supporters that we are not proud of for us its hollypig and wedgie!!! [/B]

Your just jealous of our immaculate dress sense when attending the football & the fact that Wedgie & myself collect monies for the staving children outside the gates before the games, while you & that pig creature are swilling lunatic soup with Grenville.
Bad bad man.